Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Blanco's Hotel 3 stars

Green Park, Port Talbot, SA12 6NT, United Kingdom

#1 of 6 hotels in Port Talbot

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 830 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Good value at short notice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in room 24 was the worst I have ever slept on. It was a very cheap construction and not appropriate for a hotel. This isn't representative of normal rooms here which I have always found to be excellent

    Always bright and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Made our celebration of our mothers 80th birthday so much easier to enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Roll-in Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet connection didn't reach all the rooms consistently. It didn't take long for the breakfast items to run out in the mornings (bread, bacon and sausage). The bedrooms and some of the public areas look tired and, although clean are often worn (carpets, door woodwork, furniture)

    Really enjoyed the relaxed and friendly atmosphere. All the staff were helpful and proactive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.5
    Avarage - glad to leave
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poor breakfast selection, no croissants, only white bread for toast, no continental selection lots of outside noise

    the rooms were ok, a little jaded - I stayed here years ago and it has definitely gone downhill

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff were superb friendly, helpful and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing wouldn't change anything

    The staff were superb friendly, helpful and very welcoming. the food in the restaurant was brilliant and very reasonable. Rooms were a good size with everything we needed. Location was a little far from train station but taxis were available.Entertainment at the hotel fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An area of the room smelt of heavy sweat. Not sure the wall had be cleaned where maybe someone was leaning on it. Breakfast was okay but not much choice if you preferred not to eat a cooked breakfast.

    Comfortable bed had a good sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable stay . Would definately stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast although tasty there wasnt alot of variety x i had to ask for a glass for juice abd waited a while for my tea . It was quite busy though and i was sat in a secluded spot .

    Bed was very comfortable . The room was lovely and the staff were all very polite and helpful including the house keeping staff .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Bed, staff ,food room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair in bathroom blue substance behind taps on sink and no one did a roll call after the fire alarm went off and we gathered in the muster point front of hotel

    Bed, staff ,food room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant, comfotable, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We never did get the newspaper we had requeusted,

    The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, A samll mantenance issue was fixed within a few hours. Parking was convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Excellent for overnight business trip
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like

    Exceptional value for money. Business trip. Large very spacious room. Huge bed Lovely big fluffy white bath towels. Pleasant courteous staff The evening meal(steak and barbequed ribs ) was delicious and under £14!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value and would return again if in the area
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food potion size was huge - way too big - I did not manage to finish my meal and I hate waste.

    The room was a good size and it was very quiet even though we were facing the main road.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Staff and bar staff run of there feet need more staff they are always smiling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tables in reception should of been cleaned more we sat on chair with table had not been cleaned next day chairs need replacement very shabby

    The room was lovely reception very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    little gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not much, that is why i keep coming back when working in the area., there are other options around, but this one ticks my boxes.

    great place to stay, plenty of parking on site, food great, Ideal for work in the Swansea area,, I've stayed before, and will again, I can always expect the same friendly reception, and the bar and restaurant staff are exceptional . Now the winter is on its way, they have Football on in the bar, for all to watch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    Best in the area?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bland industrial unit in a car park on a ring road. Staff disinterested apart from one lady at breakfast, 2 funeral wakes taking place didn’t add to ambience.

    Convenient for my trip

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Good solid hotel if you need to stay in Port Talbot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    outdoor seating area would have been nice.

    Surprisingly large hotel. Sound hotel. Breakfast served until 10am and was of good quality. Quiet location close to the town centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Decent, but could be lots better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the outside, it does a look a bit outdated and drab and rather uninviting. I upgraded to the executive room, but i really don't know what extra i was actually paying for. The room decor was again drab, and could do with brightening up, although throughout the hotel, i couldn't fault the cleanliness. Upon check out i did mention to the receptionist, that they could do with upgrading the pillows, as these were terrible, although she did was smirk and shrug her shoulders. But if i was down there on business again, i would consider staying again. And they do need to change their sausages at breakfast, they were terrible and tasteless.

    Lovely bar and restaurant area. Half decent food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    A restful and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Found the staff on all duties extremely helpful and pleasant. Although there was a wedding celebration going on and we stayed on ground floor the insulation from the noise was incredible. The air conditioning worked extremely well and allowed for a very pleasant nights sleep. Dinner from staff again was pleasant and accommodating and breakfast itself was very good. On returning to our room to get our bags we were greeted with a pleasant good morning from the cleaning detail. Would stay again no problem at all. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    The room was great comy apart from the dust.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No explanation where we was going for the abba tribute didn't know where we was going for food so we thought it was poor communication. We found the rooms were really dusty. On the trays where the kettle is situated on the Tele on the back and unit and above the head board was dusty. We was also told the doors opened at 7 to which they food was served at 8 and the band was on at 9 but didn't come until 10. Because we was last table to have food felt rushed to finished especially with the desert, food was amazing but found the toasters took ages to cook the bread plus had to hold the one handle down for it to work.

    The room was great comy apart from the dust.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable and spacious with excellent air conditioning. Great modern bathroom. The restaurant was good value for money with a varied menu. Breakfast was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Immaculate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed to be out early and could never get a breakfast because it didn't start until 0700. It would be good if a continental was available earlier by arrangement

    Very good quality room. The food choice was excellent and well presented

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Ticks all the boxes for a business stay, just wants a little TLC.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Starting to feel its age, some carpets in corridors joined in doorways with duct tape. Decor a little dated but still serviceable. Wifi kept dropping out in the evening. Food was good but felt the cut of meat was a little cheap. breakfast was a typical buffet affair. Filter coffee brand needs swapping - its over roasted. (bean to cup machines will give a better brew) and the caramelised biscuit is a little cheap - there is no replacement for the Lotus ;) . "Environmental tips" notes in the bedrooms: save water, turn off lights etc. do people really struggle with this? if you want to reduce your water footprint - replace the baths in single and double rooms for just a walk in shower! it also gives a higher quality feel rather than a shower over bath (which tend to be small anyway). Leave the baths for large or family rooms. Don`t misunderstand me, this was good stay and i have no real gripes, Its just that there was nothing that lifts Blancos apart from a Premier or Holiday Inn.

    Bedroom was spacious and clean, the air-con worked and was quiet! bathroom was in good order, shower curtain clean a fresh. Walls and floors well tiled and grouting clean and sealant edges crisp - clearly care was taken when suite originally installed. Shower water pressure was great. The main bar is well stocked with good selection of whiskys and Gins. Plenty of beer and cider on tap. All staff were friendly and helpful during my stay. It is well priced and ticks all the boxes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing and pleasurable 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and had air condtioning and comfortable and clean

    The room and facilities and staff all round it was a pleasurable stay and I would recommend a stay there ,the food was lovely to 😀

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and convenient hotel for a short work trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed could have been more comfortable, and the window opened on to a main road so I couldn't keep it open through the night.

    Really good restaurant with good range of dishes; I stayed on the World Cup semi final night and there was a friendly atmosphere in the bar where the match was screened. Breakfast was served till late. The room was ideal for one night; clean with good air con.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a Jr suite.....only difference and 50% more expensive was two chairs in the room.....really.....just a bedroom with en suite and two extra chairs...... Door staff on the door to reception should have said it all. ...rough is the best way to describe almost everything except the prices. .....which were premium....plus no sleep one night due to an extremely noise and drunk glfamily from 12.30.....to 5am......but when highlighted to staff. ..apologetic....but not offer oc compensation for lack of sleep selling room which was not as advertised . ..I think the comment was you should have looked at the photos more closely. .won't need to again. ....never staying there. ..not recommended .....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Fine for a short stay and we would use it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better. Limited choice particularly in relation to eggs - scrambled only.

    Dinner was good with generous portions. Room was large and air conditioning much appreciated. Plenty of car parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast food was great and the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletries and there was a dirty towel left in the room and it was still there after the room was cleaned.

    The breakfast food was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Clean friendly welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..

    Clean friendly welcoming.. breakfast was good and all staff were great. Not a lot to do in Port Talbot.. but it was only a stop over.. would stay again if travelling..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    A perfect location , place to completely relax and unwind .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only slight thing that put a dampener on the whole visit , was at the end of the evening while watching the cabaret . I left a pint glass with drink in on the table we were sat at , after returning too the table from the dance floor , which was less than 10 yards from our table . The drink which I wanted to finish had been removed by the bar staff clearing empty glasses . A bit more customer care would be appreciated .

    Very enjoyable pace to stay , the staff were very helpful . Could not fault the room and the facilities are good . We did not eat in the restaurant , but there is a good menu choice for breakfast . Added bonus was the entertainment on which we did not know about until our arrival .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the toasters - despite our best efforts we could not toast the bread.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating . Good selection at the breakfast buffet- looked and tasted much better than the usual hotel buffet. The fruit salad was particularly tasty. Very close to the bus station and incidentally if you cross the road to St Mary's churchyard you will find the grave of Dic Penderyn together with an information board giving details about him and the Merthyr Riots.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    very good value for money it feels like a 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing not to like, thanks

    The room was excellent, clean and had everything needed, it felt like a 4 star, the food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Gone down hill since my last stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast...it was awful! Took ages to be replenished when running low. Sausages and bacon was cheap and nasty. Toasters took an age to toast bread, and because of this the toast wasn’t hot so by the time you got it back to the table it was cold. No fruit other than a fruit cocktail.

    Comfortable room and a good size. Nice bar and lounge area for family to sit and get together.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Brill
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact there were no spare pillows in the room

    2nd time of staying at Blanco’s and again first class. Good value, good food, good service, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant stay, could you move the hotel to London!
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enormous bed,very comfy. Air con was very welcome. Breakfast,delicious and the member of staff who looked after us was extremely diligent and obviously took great pride in her work(constantly tidying and cleaning)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    If you go for a Tribute Night and room combination you will not be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only reason it doesn't get a 10/10 is because I love a swim in the morning and I can't honestly give a perfect score on facilities if a hotel doesn't have one and there's not much else near the hotel to do so i can't give a perfect on location either. Petty maybe but it's how i do reviews and I like to be honest.

    We went for the Tribute night and the tribute act, food, room and staff were amazing, I will 100% be returning again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, excellent staff, delicious breakfast, will definitely return in the future!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault I could find was that the cold tap in the bathroom was faulty and kept turning round. At times couldn't get it to turn off. Wasn't really a big problem, just used the bath tap if we needed cold water. Wouldn't prevent me from returning again.

    Lovely hotel, very stylish. We stayed in a family suite which was very spacious and comfortable. Bed was huge and very comfy. Loved the fact that the room had air con as we stayed during a heatwave, this was a big bonus. Room facilities were very good, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, kettle etc. Great value for money, the breakfast was delicious. Had a good variety of cooked, cereals, yogurts, toast and pastries etc, all of which you could help yourself to. Staff in the restaurant were excellent and very accommodating, happy to supply plenty of tea and coffee and with a smile! Will definitely return in the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Stay at hotel Blanco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fixed head shower most people prefer one you can adjust. Also the matress didn't have a cover on. Not hygenic.

    Friendly staff comfortable large bed. Large room nice and quiet good breakfast except no fried or poached eggs only scrambled. value for money..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    It was fantastic. Thank u apart from as be for x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like 1 one of the night shift receptionist Being disabled and having been out to a family party i was very tired,I asked for a little Milk and a couple extra t bags I did get them but walking with a stick and I had a hand bag and had to go up in lift , to room I think it was 85 . The milk they gave me was in a jug how I got to the room I don’t know. Also the lift was great but it was so so slow .

    The room was fabulous the air con made are stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.5
    not very good this time , need to stop people smoking out side the window as it makes the room smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was in Room one & it was very Noisy with people out side the window smoking & taking loud ,at11.30 in the night, & the second night very loud music playing up to 12.30 in the night, so we didn't get much sleep .

    We like the place it easy to get to

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    great stay ,port talbot has nothing to offer except shops, over -2 miles to beach but could not park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    really needs a small fridge in room ,, bottle of cold water from bar was almost £2,, robbery for water , asked for more milk and was told it would be sent to room, 2 hours later went down and asked again,, she had forgotten even though she wrote it down

    bed big and comfy , air con in room was fantastic as it was so hot out , everything else was great , breakfast brill, did not book for evening meal but that was not a problem ,had a lovely evening meal

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was excellent and large and comfortable - couldn't fault it. The breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Would recommend; staff are welcoming and polite and nothing is too much trouble. An epic stay!
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the pillows were too soft for me personally

    Helpful staff; room was very spacious with air conditioning. Lovely view outside and positioned very conveniently with a couple of minutes walk to the town center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Love it
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't really anything we can complain about

    Our room was brilliant. So much better than we was expecting. Brilliant value for money. Will definately be booking there next time we visit family down in wales

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant - staff couldn't do enough, room was lovely. Would stay again and recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very soft and not many plug sockets in the room (three of us in the room)

    Friendly and approachable staff - wonderful breakfast too! Room was much bigger than I'd expected and the staff even gave me some milk for my son as the shops had closed before I could get some. Very accommodating and welcoming. Brilliant amount of tea and coffee located in the room too and you couldn't hear anything from other rooms at all. And breakfast was lush! Well worth the money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Roll-in Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a twin room although my friend's bed was comfy mine wasn't. The pillows were awful, I should have asked to have them changed but as it was only one night I didn't bother. Would still go again.

    The food we were served for the function was very nice and the staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant atmosphere, lovely staff. Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything.

    The atmosphere in Blancos was fantastic. Both evenings we stayed the hotel was busy with birthday and wedding parties. There was entertainment which was brilliant. Everything was so well run, the staff work very hard keeping the bar, restaurant and tables nice and clean. The receptionists and all staff are very friendly and efficient. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was excellent. An excellent choice at breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. The railway is a 10 minute walk. We were going into Cardiff for a concert.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable, good value and convenient but wouldn’t return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grubby remote control in the room and staff didn’t seem especially interested in me during check in or check out.

    The remote control in the room was very grubby which put me off - the rest of the room was clean. The staff didn’t seem especially attentive, though were helpful when asked a direct question.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Great room, nice towels/ linen.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room, nice towels/ linen. Staff were very friendly. Food and drink sensibly priced and very good quality. Given the chance would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    A very nice atmosphere which enhanced our evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could there be a soap dispenser in the bathrooms instead of unwrapping a small bar of soap which is no doubt thrown away after only a small use

    Food excellent. Plenty of choice excellent manner of staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not find any negative experiences

    The hotel was clean, staff Welcoming, friendly, and could not do enough for you. Beds really comfy. Rooms spacious and shower was lovely. Breakfast was amazing and food in general was exceptional. Overall first impression of the hotel was modern and very relaxing and a great atmosphere. Can absolutely recommend and would definitely return for another visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    would recommend this hotel great location and good atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more staff at the bar when it's busy

    the hotel staff were very accommodating, the room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was good, lots of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay 1 or 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned design and furniture. Mattress too soft.

    Very friendly staff. Good food. Clean. Spacious car park. Great location to visit Gower Peninsula and Brecon Beacons.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable but room for improvement
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room due to traffic and booking facilities through booking.com was poor seemed to be lack of communication between them and hotel. We were asked twice to pay when we already had through booking.com.

    The food cleanliness and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    A good hotel with good breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. However we experienced difficulty returning to hotel in evening due to road closures nearby. On chec king out reception were aware. It would have been helpful to have been told on advance to avoid lengthy detours.

    A good hotel with good breakfasts. Good facilities and good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely stunning food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and outside doesn’t do the inside any justice.

    Absolutely stunning food. Hotel lobby and bar very nice and bedroom was clean etc and I had a great night sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    a very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    possibly a tea or coffee machine instead of staff doing top ups

    room was excellent and very comfortable bed and chairs. food presentation was excellent and quality matched the presentation. all the staff were happy and a small query over my bill was sorted quickly and nicely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    A good and comfortable hotel with excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a very tiny quibble- that magnifying section of the bathroom mirror was placed so high we couldn’t see in it.

    A warm welcome and a clean and comfortable room. Helpful and pleasant staff. Good restaurant and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    could be better, replace the mattresses and some carpets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was well past its best, springs stuck in my side every time I moved. Carpets were worn, the shower outlet was blocked with hair, I managed to unblock this or the shower would've overflowed .

    The staff were friendly,food was good and plentiful. Room was clean.The fresh flowers in the bar and restaurant,and the primroses in pots v nice touch.💐😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel, only came into contact with 3 members of staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, only came into contact with 3 members of staff during our stay and 2 (receptionist and lady in restaurant area) were very abrupt and couldn’t be less bothered about engaging in conversation, eye contact or even trying to be pleasant. Such a shame considering it was such a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant place to stay if visiting or on business, nice bar/lounge area and large busy restaurant.
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buffet breakfast had little cold selection, and the hot food was dry and not fresh. Leaking tap reported on arrival still not fixed after 2nd nights stay.

    Room was large, very clean and extremely comfortable beds. Ample tea and coffee provided. Value for money .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quick check in,hotel clean and tidy,room clean and tidy with everything you need available. Great location for port Talbot bus station and aberafan shopping centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WI FI not working, at the desk on arrival they could not supply a usb plug to charge my phone but the morning staff was able to provide me with one straight away, I was told breakfast was at 7.30 when I checked in but the morning staff actually told me it started at 7. So overall, the morning staff was clearly more efficient.

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Another good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot and couldn’t see how to control. Guest nearby on a call at 6 in the morning!

    Good breakfast and dinner. Good location for my business visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Great stay considering the snow blizzard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room took a while to warm up, it was very cold to begin with.Flush didn't work properly in the bathroom. More plug sockets in the room would have been very handy.

    The decor of the room was lovely and the restaurant food was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    4.6
    good portions of food with evening meal, reasonable price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mattresses in bedroom where badly worn and uncomfortable. No pillow protectors. No extra blankets just one thin duvet per single bed. Bathroom was not clean with hair in the bath. Breakfast was not the best

    good portions of food with evening meal, reasonable price for meal and drinks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Will definately use this hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress did not appear to be very well sprung (sitting on the bed) but was comfortable enough when sleeping.

    The bedroom was cool and fresh, slept very well, woke up feeling refreshed. Dinner was excellent, went for the Sirloin. Best steak I have had for a very long time (years) Breakfast was very good too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Good as always but there is something to improve!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant wasn't good this time. Very long waiting time (30 minutes for main course + missed starter...). Staff was acting like they don't really care when you place the order... Very loud Room Service in the morning... Miss from the Room Service opened the doors without knocking before...

    Good as always. Nice and clean hotel. Champions League games on the Tele (BT Sports)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    If it wasn’t for the loud noise from discos . You would have got 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Roll-in Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed at Blanco’s a lot over the past 9 years. Every time our evening has been spoilt by the loud noice from discos and parties. It isn’t pleasant shouting at friends you haven’t seen for a while. This time I requested a table in the restaurant, other wise the evening would have been spoilt with us shouting at one another.

    The breakfast was lovely both mornings

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Convenient for town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed no larva bread on offer. Bread for toasting was stale. Coffee came in small cup. No sugar free muesli. Mushrooms tasted like they were tinned.

    The bed was comfy and larger than usual. Liked the fact there is a Bath. Good location for access to town centre. Liked the fresh fruit selection. Grateful for free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    OK for a one night stopover
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were unable to raise the room temperature by means of the control unit, so it was rather cold. We also asked for a morning newspaper but they ordered the wrong one.

    Plenty of on site parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Good food .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault but some guests were rather noisy in the wee small hours and I had an early start for business. The only thing that marred a otherwise pleasant stay .

    Good food . Clean and spacious rooms .Staff pleasant and helpful.Good value for money . Well placed for my business trip .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant just a couple of niggles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only issue is at breakfast most of the staff seem more interested in talking to each other rather than paying attention to the guests. To try and catch someone’s eye for a second pot of tea or coffee is a real effort generally ending up having to go to the bar and ask someone there. And the toasters even though they have been changed they are still terrible half of one is broken all together and as for the other it takes an eternity for the bread to toast and any guest that happens to be at the toaster the same time as you says exactly the same thing. Your not the cheapest hotel in the area so please invest in some decent toasters. And explain to the breakfast staff ladies to put the customers before their general chit chat on what was on tv last night

    Location cleanliness of the hotel we’ve used on several occasions and generally speaking have had mainly good experiences

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    My stay was most pleasant and enjoyable and I would be happy to return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me a Hotel Shop selling Magazines Souvenirs etc was the only thing missing

    The food was excellent and reasonably priced The staff were friendly and helpful The room was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not serviced on first morning. Security key kept failing. Had to go down to reception to get reinstated. On leaving we were informed that we owed £25 for restaurant meal dinner, we never had a meal.

    Comfort of the hotel. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable clean rooms, good english breakfast, helpful staff and ample parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room temperature was cold when I returned in the evenings - thermostat was turned off. There did not appear to be any instructions on how to program the heating.

    The (very) comfortable bed, the good full english breakfast, the ample parking and helpful welcoming staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    not the best stay we have had there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the entertainment and food they stopped serving food at five thirty has a result we had to settle for a mc,donalds don't think we will attend another new years day at this hotel very disappointed this year

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    The proximity to the M4 was ideal for a short visit to visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The proximity to the M4 was ideal for a short visit to visit friends. Hotel staff were pleasant, and warned us of the early closure of the restaurant. Restaurants food was wholesome, filling and competitively priced. All normal facilities one would expect from a conference hotel, lots of coffee available. There was a Christmas party taking place on the first floor, which concerned me a little but I could not hear the music from the room

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: