Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Blue Ball Inn

Sandygate, Exeter, EX2 7JL, United Kingdom

#11 of 18 B&Bs and Inns in Exeter

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 465 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.6
    Lady at bar did try putting bleach down plug hole.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yet again the shower was blocked. We could not use it. This happened last year in November when we stayed. Room was to hot. Towel rail was on all the time. We couldn't turn it off.

    Lady at bar did try putting bleach down plug hole.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. The room was spotless and comfortable. Just what we needed. The food was also lovely. An ideal place to stay before going on to the airport. Will defo be back again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletries or soap provided. Only 2 regular tea bags (would have to ask for more. ) No window only sky light.

    Very comfortable bed and duvet pillows etc. Excellent powerful hot shower. Excellent meal in pub.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Didn’t realise we had been here before as the photo on website looked much better than reality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had been there without my husband, I wouldn’t have been able to get the door open!! Staff on leaving quite offhand. Didn’t even ask us if we had a good time. He was too busy reading his paper!

    Room basic but comfortable. Biscuits were delicious

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    pretty much everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pretty much everything!!!!! Chips and onion rings were the best I have ever tasted and I worked in the pub and restaurant trade for many years as both manager and proprietor. The only criticism that I can put forward is that the building is painted blue and white-the colours of the hated Manchester City rubbish. Superb. Keith Tuohy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Excellent pub and accommodation - a real diamond.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extremely good and well furnished; the bed was very comfortable, the ensuite was excellent and excellent tea & coffee facilities. The food overall in the pub however was fantastic; I ate there in the evening and for breakfast and couldn't fault it at all. Will gladly stay there again in the future.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    A fun first night in the UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window cover (drapes, blinds etc) need to be more of a blockout style, Was pretty light all night in the room. (not that it mattered after quite a few pints....)

    Fun cosy pub, Great ales, and good pub food, especially liked the hospitality from the staff. Room was reasonable size, with a nice skylight, Very clean, good sized ensuite as well. Car parking right at teh room door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    The location was excellent for our overnight stay as we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room 1, the facilities were excellent with a particularly comfortable bed. The one thing that let it down was the strong sewer smell in the bathroom. Friends stopped in room 2 and had no such smell.

    The location was excellent for our overnight stay as we had a lovely day out in Topsham, good parking facilities. The pub/restaurant was very busy due to Exeter Chiefs playing at home. The breakfast was excellent, well cooked local ingredients, the toasted bread was awsome

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    British breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double bed with shared blanket was not the great experience due to weather conditions.

    British breakfast ... standard. Cooperative staff trying to help as much as possible.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    Adequate apart from landlady
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was fine although it does open directly onto a car park. The landlady however is a bit of a dragon, she was rude online when I made the booking and sour faced and unwelcoming on arrival.

    Room was fine, what I expected for the money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    A lovely find, with the peace of the countryside but close to the M5 - Just great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The satnav kept telling us our destination was on the left when it was clearly on the right!

    I loved that the room was not directly above the pub so there was little noise interference. I also liked that you could order breakfast on a daily basis as we had a couple of very early starts before breakfast service started. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location , excellent food , very friendly staff & room good apart from the cleaning problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned in the three days we were there , we had to ask for fresh towels Shower door did not close & had nowhere to put soap or shampoo in shower other than the floor ( perhaps cleaner should have been aware of this ) & no toilet roll holder ! & no spare toilet rolls We did ask if cleaner would sort room and was told they will only pop there head if to see if anything needs doing ! But clearly that didn't happen

    Location , and bar & restaurant staff in evening

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay and eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a very minor point I felt the furniture in the pub looked a bit old and could have done with updating which made it feel a little grubby. That is a minor point on what was an excellent stay. Food was excellent though and would definitely stay and eat there again.

    Great staff and a good room at an excellent price. Couldn’t hear the motorway at all which was surprising. I can’t praise the staff highly enough. They were all excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    Ok for a 1-2 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very noisy. Very hot in rooms. Rooms were ground floor and one window opened to the road and the other to a pub entrance so couldnt really open widows and have blinds closed all the time dark and hot. Room could have done with a small armchair to sit on and a better lighting.

    The staff were friendly and the rooms were spotlessly clean. Nice tea/coffee in rooms and decent hairdryer. Good size room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay will be going back next year hopefully
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a shelf in shower and temperature knob was a bit temperamental

    Friendly staff fresh cooked breakfast that kept us going all day. Clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money. Staff very friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think off.

    Room was very spacious and modern. Might only be a small thing but the first time we've found an ironing board and iron in the room. Excellent idea especially for those attending a function such as a wedding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are somewhat small with no outlook.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Nice traditional atmosphere in the bar/restaurant. Great location for Exeter and Sidmouth.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Very accommodating to our child.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t very well ventilated. It got very warm and the skylight window was difficult to open.

    Very accommodating to our child. The pub had high chairs and a children’s menu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Make sure you book a double room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to every other hotel we stayed in over the 3 week period prior to Blue Ball, the continental breakfast was sadly lacking and overpriced for a small packet of cereal and toast/croissant. We travelled with friends. The room price was the same so we weren’t fussy about which room either of us got. Our friends room had a very comfortable double bed and was airy. The twin beds in our room were narrow and uncomfortable. The pillows were not much better. We opted to have dinner at the Blue Ball and the food was outstanding.

    The cooked breakfast was fantastic. Location great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.6
    Perhaps the owners could show a little more interesrt in their business??
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General comfort and enjoyment of stay, marred by 1) appallingly unreliable WiFi with help unable to be given by Staff 2)Having ordered Supper for 7.30 , being jocked off for a party of 20 Cyclists - who, it turned out out were not even booked in until 7.45. If you want to insult a long-established customer, there cannot be a better way to do it. 3) returning to our room on our second day to find that the cleaners had completely overlooked it.

    Food as good as ever. General Staff attitudes -as good as ever.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.0
    Our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the weather really a bit overcast but no rain . Exeter town center was a bit of a let down . Parking areal issue and expensive to boot .

    We went there for family reasons . Obviously nice to see them , they were'nt good on there feet .so finding somewhere to park closeby was a real issue . Having said this we really enjoyed our stay . People were really friendly . Back to the Blue ball We ate on saturday evening , lovely meal and nice beer .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    very dissapolnting an exspenive breakfast which made the room dear for what it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed updating the beds were not very good the matresses needed replacing very uncomfortable

    Food was very good comtortable bar and well stocked

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    I would probably go there again if was making a repeat visit to the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The meals were far to big for us to finish them, so we had to leave part of each meal!

    Accommodation was compact but had all the facilities you need very fresh and clean with new towels every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    friendly staff, lovely bar meals, better housekeeping might make it a returner
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention to detail in rooms, shower dangerously hot, shower gel only replaced once during week, room too hot because towel rail permanenly on,bins not always emptied. 4 light bulbs not working meaning dangerous if needed loo in night. Wanted more money than menu suggested for meal at till which I refused to pay. Continental breakfast lacked variety if you are staying for a few days.

    Good location, v good bar meals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Friendly approachable staff in comfortable surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal , to travel there by car , unless you are a fan of public transport , not much to see round about actual pub , but wonderful if you like privacy

    Atmosphere & staff friendly & helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff, food and beer and the proximity to Exeter and the Exe estuary was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing for us that could have been better was a good live band!!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The real ale was great and the food both for dinner and for breakfast was excellent. Very near the bus stop for our journey in to Exeter and a very good walk along canal and river with a good pub in the middle for our return for dinner. Nice location for our trip to Kenn and Dawlish Warren the next day....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    The family room wasn't huge for three people, but it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our main issue was the internet was completely unreliable. It was almost impossible to get online. Of the three in our party, only one was every able to get online and that was very early in the morning.

    The family room wasn't huge for three people, but it suited us just fine. Lots of parking, which we appreciated, and no road noise even though you are close to main roads. Very good breakfast, but the lack of internet was problematic for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Cheerful,comfortable and conveient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had one meal ,the service was very slow but cheerful .we were Tod all rooms had disabled access .we booked 2 rooms for 3 people ,1 of whom was in a wheelchair .1 room it was impossible to get the wheel chair into the bathroom ,the second room we rearranged the furniture .

    Bed very comfy ,room pleasant .only had one meal the service was very

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable....if we can't stay in future only 3 mins off motorway for a quality luncheon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some noise from adjacent motorway but could live with that for the other benefits

    only 4 rooms....ours recently renovated......perfect.....electric blind on velux window worked O.K. Restaurant basic for pub but cuisine brilliant...chef has flair and it showed in quality....sensibly priced and courteous staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    A great alternative to a motorway service stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It was a traditional pub, really friendly service, comfortable accommodation and just off the M5. A lovely alternative to a service station stop over hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic staff great facilities in a wondeful location of which was very easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not have been any better.

    Evening meal and the atmosphere within the restaurant was outstanding along with a fanstaic full english breakfast before we left on the sunday morning. Staff were outstanding. We will be visiting again soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    An excellent choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No chair in the room. Had to sit on the bed. The continental breakfast could have been more continental rather than the British version of cereal, one croissant and toast.

    Excellent location. Room very clean and nicely decorated in modern style. Daily room service v good. Surprisingly quiet despite proximity to M5 and pub car park. Standard English and Veggie option enormous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Happy to be there - food was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple of light bulbs blown!

    The beds were very comfortable. I work for Dunelm and most things in the room are from that store from bedding to bedside lamps - home from home ! 😀

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Exccellent room and great pub for a short stay or for the rugby ground
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very busy on rugby match day as expected but I do not like plastic glasses.

    Comfortable room with good facilities and the staff were very attentive in the pub. Excellent food too with reasonable prices and great staff. Would definitely use again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Great little connection. Lovely English pub experience with clean modern accommodation, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were helpful and engaging. Great chance to get some information on our quick stop off af Exeter. Food was fantastic. Parking easy. Great piece of history.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    A great little pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was well but needed an export lager. Not everybody likes the Cornish stuff !!

    Friendly,helpful staff. Good food and drink (needs Stella though) great location especially for the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    We will be staying again!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a small wardrobe, but understand room small, but perhaps a rail, rather than hooks to keep clothes off wall. But not a deal breaker.

    Staff were friendly, food excellent, location handy for us. Nicely decorated, plenty of parking. Good choice of drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Marvellous. Although near the busy main road the room was very well insulated against the noise and
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee sachets in our room were decaf only.

    The room was delightful. Beds and bedding really comfortable and very good quality. The interior design/ layout of the room and furniture was beautifully done.....a thoroughly comfortable night! Our meal at the Inn was all home cooked, tasty and we'll presented. Thoroughly recommend it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Great fish and chips, didn't get to taste the breakfast as the Chef didn't turn up, nice room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a really nice fish and chips the night before I was really looking forward to the full English breakfast the next morning - only to be told there was no chef, so no breakfast. I was told there was no booking even though I had booked it the night before with one of the staff, so I assumed as I was probably the only one wanting breakfast it wasn't worth bringing in a chef just for 1 person. There was no soap at all in the ladies in the restaurant, very unhygienic. One of the windows in my room was right underneath the pub sign which was lit up all night, the vertical blinds let a lot of the light through so didn't get a very good night's sleep.

    After a long journey I arrived in the evening and ordered fish and chips which was one of the best I had ever had! The room was comfortable and clean. Staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Hapoyto stay again but i twin room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited space for two elderly guests with mobility issues. Bed on small side & we requested twin room but managed in the event.

    Nearness to Sandy Park, good food & welcoming staff. Their attn to our requests were immediate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant Pub with rooms for an excellent day at Chiefs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this occasion...nothing

    Friendliness, cleanliness,excellent food, great beers, comfy good size rooms and good shower.. Added bonus, close to Sandy Park...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Pub Food, comfortable beds,friendly, helpful Staff
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi totally with a mind of its own: drop in quality of towels: Leather Bacon for breakfast

    Excellent Pub Food, comfortable beds,friendly, helpful Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Great for a one night to watch rugby at nearby Sandy Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room quite basic with poor quality mattress. Very cold bathroom.

    Great big breakfast that we got included in the price of the room - don't think that's always the case. Good beer in pub & ideal for trips to sandy Park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't able to get a vat receipt from work. Not sure how I get one through booking.com either??

    Pleasant and comfortable stay, nice food and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value, welcoming staff with very good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in an outbuilding so it meant that you had to brave the elements to go for breakfast and dinner. However, the room itself was cosy and warm.

    Very welcoming staff, good value, cosy pub and great food. The room was well heated and carefully furnished with nice bedding and towels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Good food, great staff, room was adequate, shame about the bed and road noise in room 1
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was a small double and room 1 could do with sound proofing as it's within 10 feet of the road.

    It's close proximity to Sandy Park for the Rugby, very engaging staff and good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Ideally located for a business trip between Cornwall and Somerset.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold when I arrived as the radiator had been turned off. Laminate on the un-insulated floor meant it was very cold underfoot. Super helpful bar staff came and sorted out the heating for me.

    Staff super helpful, evening meal wonderful ! Bathroom immaculately clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Perfect start to any holiday flying from Exeter Airport. A must do, dont miss out.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    The fact we stay here a couple of times a year when flying from Exeter Airport should be recommendation in itself. The added bonus is the rooms are quiet, modern, clean and comfortable, attached to a great pub and restaurant with really friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    The battery was dead on the smoke detector so it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The battery was dead on the smoke detector so it was chirping every minute and there was nobody available to sort it out (however it was Christmas Day). The detector could only be reached with a ladder which made it very difficult to access. Fortunately the son I was visiting had a suitable ladder.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.1
    We hope for better things!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General slipping of standards ;- room not cleaned (although we had not required clean towels, the cleaner took this as a sign not to replenish the coffee, make the bed, empty the waste-bin....). Choice of breakfast is too limited - from either a "Continental" to a Full English, with no apparent in-between. WiFi connection again was a problem, but Bath towels still the best we have had. Sad to see a lovely old pub let itself down from its normal standards.

    Location, general standards normally good and better than our recent visit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Convenient for one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was very confused. Overly complicated and arduous.

    Good being close to m5 j 30 Good parking facility. We booked all four rooms for our staff party.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.7
    Felt it was o.k for a nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a couple of chairs to sit on. Had to sit on the bed which wasn't really a comfortable solution.

    Nice clean room and supply of towels. Warm thanks to a radiator. Also a good shower and T.V.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no actual storage for clothes, etc. i.e. no wardrobe or drawers.

    The room was very clean, modern and decorated to a very high standard. Ideal location if you're going to Sandy Park. The breakfast was excellent, with the chef coming out of the kitchen to check that I was happy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    The rooms are lovely, spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not fault the rooms, food or the staff

    The rooms are lovely, spacious and comfortable. The staff are always cheerful and very friendly and always go that little bit extra, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast and evening meals were fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable , good value for money just need a few tweaks to improve & would be great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No options for cooked breakfast at all, not even how we would have liked our eggs. Need better curtains in room 1 at the lit sign is outside the window and left on all night. Can also hear the road from the room but that is expected for the location.

    Very comfy bed, good facilities in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Everything as expected = Superb value for money PLUS we...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard to fault unless one is ultra picky.

    Everything as expected = Superb value for money PLUS we heard a whisper that Grace may be recovered soon and back in harness. WiFi now seems to be operative, but needs occasional rebooting ( jack plug) in rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Great Value rooms close to Sandy Park!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really cannot fault it! No road noise like last time, bathroom has been refurbished. If you need to be close to Sandy Park or Exeter City Centre for that matter, you honestly cannot do better at the price!

    Well located, incredibly clean, helpful and accommodating staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Excellent breakfast. I stayed in room one again and was pleasantly surprised to see that the bathroom has now been refurbished. Ticks all the boxes now!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Fun friendly family birthday celebration :-)
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the staff are always so friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. I was delighted that they have a large choice of scrummy gluten free options, a real treat to be able to have fish and chips !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Staff were excellent from arrival and made for a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They ask if you'll be having full English or continental breakfast the night before... I ordered full English then really didn't feel like it. Let people decide on the morning

    Staff were excellent from arrival and made for a great stay. Also the food in the pub was amazing and certainly great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Good food and location. Very disappointing nights sleep.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived all of the windows were open. This meant that room was cold. We closed windows and put heating on before heading into pub for dinner. When we came back after eating the smell of paint in the room was quite over powering. We opened the windows again but the road outside was noisy and people leaving the pub walked right by the open window. Eventually we closed window as it didn't feel secure on ground floor with windows open right next to road. We got very little sleep as there was a light right outside bedroom window which shone straight through the thin blinds. At 6am I got up to open windows again as we both had sore throat from fumes. At this time a delivery lorry arrived right outside window and slammed doors whilst unloading. On departure I took keys back to bar and spoke to land lady. She said room had recently been painted and that windows had been left open to get rid of fumes. She apologised and said she would look at a refund for our disappointing stay. This has not materialised. I'm sure these rooms will be very nice once renovations completed but in my opinion, this room should not have been let.

    The location was good as taking my daughter to Exeter University and it was a 10 minute onward journey in the morning. Room was aesthetically pleasant and the food in the pub was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    we enjoyed our stay ,even though we had those hiccup,s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First we had no heating in our room,I said that my husband needed heat it to be warm as he had thin blood,The manger came to our room 2 on the 3 time he said he would get a heater for us,,He never did,.Shower did not work,all the show,s to the room,s had gone off,,..

    The bed was very comfortable,.our room was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Love to give 10/10, but good internet connections looked on as essential basic these days.
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible WiFi, otherwise they would have got straight 10s from us. We hope for better next time we visit in 6 weeks, but need to be able to check and possibly amend travel arrangements, check family, pets, home in Spain are all OK, etc. Pub needs better signage to find it from main road. But it is worth finding!

    Excellent Towels, beds and general comfort.Superb Pub Food. Staff willing and cheerful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed the meal in the pub, good food and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in room 1 needs attention, mouldy grouting and dirty extractor fan. Unfortunately no hot water was available in the morning which was inconvenient!

    Enjoyed the meal in the pub, good food and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Convient, comfortable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived to check in the bar staff ignored me and it was about 10 minutes before someone checked me in. I then went back to ask for some hot chocolate for the room and there were no customers waiting apart from me and again another member of staff ignored me. However, they did bring some additional biscuits and the hot chocolate to the room for us.

    It was close to where we were going for the evening and therefore could walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Characterful pub with a warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the room outside the pub,off he car park

    Very friendly staff,continental breakfast was excellent. Choice and quality of beers and ciders in the pub was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    It felt like home. I was waited on and enjoyed my stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the Blue Ball Inn could have done about it but I did find the proximity of the Motorway a bit troublesome in that the drone of the traffic never stopped.

    The continental breakfast was excellent. The croissants and toast were warm and tea was delicious. The food in the evening was superb and I wish I could have eaten more of it.The service was first class.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    The blue ball in is a lovely old coaching inn so the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom finishes were getting a a bit ropey in room 4, I suspect this is down to ventilation not being up to the job.

    The blue ball in is a lovely old coaching inn so the main pub has a lovely ambience to it. The rooms are in a separate outbuilding. The menu in the pub was excellent and the food delicious. I had pork rolled in a herb crust and it was very nice. The chef even came to ask personally how the food was, though it wasnt busy as it was mid week early evening. As each room is separately accessed from outside and near the carpark access is easy. Its also in a quiet location away from the motorway and main road. Much better than stopping in a travel inn given how close to the motorway. Great for an overnight stay. Breakfast was very tasty and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was tastefully decorated and pleasant with a good 3rd bed for a child. The rooms had some nice led reading lights which were great for dimmly lighting the room while my daughter went off to sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, friendly place right off the m5 so easily accessible. A little noisy at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the room right next to the road so quite noisy throughout the night. The shower gel had not been filled up (totally fine to not provide amenities but then just remove the empty bottle so visitors don't feel like it should have been there).

    Rooms were delightful - clean and comfortable, spacious and a lovely strong walk in shower. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soap in dispenser ...no toiletries....had to ask and eventually they found some. Room was ok but the 300 year old pub was in great need of some TLC, broken light fixtures...missing lampshades,cobwebs everywhere....at breakfast tables and floor still uncleaned from night before. generally in poor condition.

    Easy access

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.3
    Food and staff were great but we would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room backed onto other buildings it was noisy! We had to open windows as it was so hot. The shower was held together with a hair band and full of black mould. It was dark and dingy smelt of damp.

    Only the pub itself and the food that was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    The waiter brought me wine which was not even the same...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The waiter brought me wine which was not even the same colour as that which I had ordered ( promptly rectified ) , and followed this up with by bringing me baked camembert when I had ordered crab and prawns ( I had waited long enough and ate what I had been brough - it was quite good ) Breakfast is extra - I did not try it .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Pretty good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not find a mini-shelf in the shower cubicle for putting soap on. Finally, jammed the handy small supplied tablet in a nook on the plumbing!

    Situated in a lane with the nearby M5 out of sight one is scarcely, if at all, aware of any traffic. There is a good evening menu. The accommodation is in a separate block by the car park but totally quiet inside, the temperature similar to that of the mild outdoor August weather, the bed comfortable and slept well. Main daylight lighting from a skylight, with remote control shutter to use at night if required. Tea/coffee making facilities. Everything was clean and the shower/toilet/ hand basin worked fine. Could not get the TV working (not bothered about that). Plenty of towels. Full breakfast charge seems high at first, but one gets practically everything and it lasted me most of the day. Charge for one night was, for me as lone occupant, pretty reasonable. Not an experienced traveller, my regret was remembering, after departure, that I perhaps should have left modest tips at least for the cleaner and the friendly bar staff (every little helps is my motto). Happy to come again if holidaying in the area (preferably by train to Exeter, bringing my electric bike with me to cut out too much walking!) and next time remedy that omission.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Convenient stopover with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the need to set up an account to use wifi. Advertised as free but having to do that pissed me off.

    Convenient stop over coming from West Country, with good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small but manageable.

    Great location as we drove around the area each day rather than going into the main town. Dinners at the Blue Ball were fantastic, catering for gluten free too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Close but not too close.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the hot weather, aircon would have been nice, but the fan in the room helped.

    This is a Motel I guess with the accommodation separate from the main building. This could be a bonus. Parking was ample. Food was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: