Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Gather Inn

330 Kingsway, Brighton & Hove, BN3 4LW, United Kingdom

#58 of 67 B&Bs and Inns in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 620 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    2.5
    I am not coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced hotel. Very old and not clean. I stayed there for the triathlon race and I could not get enough sleep due to the noise. I will never stay there again and I will recommend people not to book a room in this place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is a bit isolated and dilapidated, well away from the main drag of Hove. It’s basically a pub with accommodation thrown in or added on.

    Breakfast was very good. The room was spacious. The transport is easy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Perfect little stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to note

    Staff were really friendly and welcoming especially the lady that checked us in and served us in the bar, very chatty and friendly, shall definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    Short trip to Hove
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom in our room was small, cramped and in need of a little tlc. Walls and ceilings were not very soundproof - could hear people in adjacent rooms.

    Was close to the beach front and a good bus service to Brighton and the centre of Hove. They appear to have started work in updating it as part of the bar area was being painted during our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    2.9
    The room we stayed in was not the one I thought I booked on line, good job we didn’t bring the cat.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No net curtains in room as it is directly on the street. Noise all night long. Shower very weak. Went into the bar first night for a drink, COMPLETELY IGNORED by THREE FEMALE MEMBERS OF STAFF STANDING AT THE TILL TALKING. They all saw us waiting but carried on talking. Being a retired publican I found that unacceptable, rude and very unprofessional. We did not use your bar at all during our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.2
    Totaly not what we hoped and expectet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Room (3 Bedroom), no Bath/Toilette in the Room, small Room, much to expensive for what you get.

    It is near the beach. Good for workman on travel, but not for holiday,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    For me the perfect place to stay for our annual bank holiday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me the perfect place to stay for our annual bank holiday visit to Brighton, as always a warm welcome from our hosts, quick check in parking is free and right outside, we had room 8 with a sea view, nice and clean but basic and that’s the thing it’s not a luxury hotel with lights that turn on as you approach or a television that says welcome mr best or fruit teas waiting for you, it’s a nice pub with nice rooms, but then it’s not claiming to be luxury so don’t expect it, but everything works and the beds are comfy, the pub itself is Literally as I type this being decorated and upgraded and looking very nice, the drink range is excellent as is the food. I like the Gather Inn I’ve stayed their many times now and hopefully will stay many times again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.8
    The food is lovely and the staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pokey the bathrooms need some TLC and there was am awful smell on the corridor. The free parking is only for 4 hours at a time then you have to move your car so stops you from going far

    The food is lovely and the staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.6
    Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked and felt shabby, noisy with outside traffic and at night it felt like the floorboards of an old galleon ship that kept us awake..It has great potential and needs a total refurb.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sticky tables in the restaurant. Lack of privacy in the street facing rooms... Nets would help. Glad we bought our own hairdryer! Shower was weak and temperamental.

    Comfortable. Good food. Ironing board useful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    A great location. It’s ok for 1-2 days stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the inside and outside garden area and balcony.

    A great location. Walking distance to Brighton pier and town center. The staff friendly. There is a great cafe across the street for breakfast, breakfast at Tiffany’s. We ate their both mornings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    Hmmm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    Nice rooms Shared bathroom was bit grim Lovely breakfast Staff where friendly but kept asking for money (four times) for room after we’d paid And breakfast twice after emwed paid. Problems booking through booking.com Children where taken off so price doubled after paying Booking.com done absolutely nothing to help and see yet to respond to my numerous emails gather inn tried to help but getting booking.com to help was a no go

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Good, hearty breakfast but must book day before in order to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention by cleaners in the room - didn’t spot exposed wires in bottom of kettle. This casts doubt on safety in general in the property.

    Good, hearty breakfast but must book day before in order to get discount.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    They did lie about parking? That was our main problem they...
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did lie about parking? That was our main problem they don’t have their own parking and you can only stay outside for two hours before 9pm it ruined our whole time we could go to our festival until 7pm when it started at 1 due to parking and wasted £40 ticket it ended at 10pm I’m fuming if I’m honest you can’t park anywhere we moved the car 4 times so we didn’t get a ticket then after going to a festival we had to get up at 7am hung over to love the car AGAIN then go back to sleep for nearly two hours and move it again I feel like I wasted my money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Food was fantastic and the staff were very polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the road and you can here people chatting in other rooms and expensive

    Food was fantastic and the staff were very polite and cheerful and was really enjoyable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.5
    Something good is gathering
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My regular stay when I head to Brighton but the first time with the family to be honest I’m always a little wary of pubs with accommodation when traveling with family but everyone was superb the locals were on their best behaviour and the staff as friendly and welcoming as ever, the gather inn doesn’t try to be something it’s not, it’s a pub with rooms, the rooms are basic but basic was all we needed, it was a flying visit everything we needed was available, the food is above average pub grub, the location perfect for our stay, each time I stay at the gather inn it just gets better, they are building the foundations of something good, and good is exactly what it is, I’m going back in 2 weeks , why because i like it and it’s perfect for my needs and requirements.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    Great location, cheap accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy at night, near an industrial park and lorries driving past all hours.

    The location was beautiful and the free parking was a big bonus in this area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit greasy, still good but could have been better. Room 3 was very hot, but it was around 30 degrees outside. A fan was provided, but the Gather Inn is between two busy roads so if you open the window you will get traffic noise.

    Room 3 was exactly like the image I had seen online. It was very clean, although worn in places. The beds were very comfy. The evening meal was superb, quantities were generous and quality and freshness were outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    It was fine for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and extremely hot with no ventilation but it was just about the hottest day of the year so maybe that was unavoidable.

    It was really close to the beach, which was fairly quiet even though it was very sunny and it was school holidays. It was easy to use the bus to get to Brighton and not overly inconvenient to leave the car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    The room was very clean and the staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the weather was unusually hot so we opened the window. Our room faced the main road to the port so it was very noisy. The bathroom was compact which made it a little difficult for a larger person standing at the basin

    The room was very clean and the staff were very friendly. When we stayed an apprentice chef was on duty and the meal he prepared was delicious. The traditional English breakfast was excellent value for money. We only stayed one night as we were in the area for a funeral. The dining room looked onto a water sports area which for anybody staying for a longer period and was interested could be a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    place looks dated from outside but friendly and helpful staff and clean and comfy room was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    squeaky floorboards meant we heard other guests walking around

    clean and comfortable. Fan in room was really welcome in the hot weather good sound proofing of road noise

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Ideal for a short budget stay near Brighton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only complaint is that when we were checking out we asked the lady at reception if we could leave our luggage somewhere, as our train was not till the afternoon and we wanted to go back into Brighton for the day. We were told we could leave it in the hallway, but as reception is not always staffed we asked if it was possible to put it in the office. She said this was ok and put our luggage in the office. When we returned in the afternoon we found our luggage had been taken out of the office and put into the hallway. We were not happy with this as although we had taken all valuables out there was a handbag and suitcases and anything could have been taken. We would have rather the staff had been honest and told us they could not accommodate our luggage in the office, then we could have taken it with us. Other than that our room (triple room) is at the front of the building at street level, it was quite noisy particularly in the morning with the pedestrian crossing going off might be worth bringing some earplugs!

    Great value property. About an hours walk to Brighton and good bus links, the bus stop is more or less over the road. Very basic but I wouldn't expect more for the price! Staff on the whole friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice people, easy location, place needs a bit of love!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds very uncomfortable Healthy breakfast options would have been welcome Room looks out onto a really busy road Sink tap difficult to turn off Shower but grubby and unloved

    Staff friendly and helpful Very close to beach and bus routes Away from the craziness of Brighton

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, good food and beer
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exceptionally hot weather during our stay and, understandably, not possible to open ground floor windows, which are directly on to the street. Very thoughtful to provide a fan and the hotel can't be considered responsible for the unusual weather.

    Comfortable, good food and beer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    We came and stayed to take our 8 year old daughter to see little mix at a local cricket ground.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our bathroom was very dusty and the ledge in the shower hadn’t been cleaned for months, the water pressure was really bad and trying to wash hair was a nightmare. The bedroom way too small to be a family room with 3 single beds.

    The staff in reception were very friendly and helpful, the gentleman who served breakfast were efficient and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Cheap, clean and cheerful.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time too early.......we arrive early evening and had to check out by 10am. We could of done with checking out a little later.

    Very comfortable bed and cool with the fan. Very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    The price was put up £20 when we got there as apparently I...
    • Group
    • Sextuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was put up £20 when we got there as apparently I booked it for 5 instead of 6?? But when I booked it, showed two sets of bunk beds and a double? I think they should of let it go really, we had already spent £214 , it was very basic .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly, great location, food very good and staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletries in bathroom, no free drink on arrival as stated on booking, room very hot but so was the weather, still value for money.

    Very friendly, great location, food very good and staff very helpfull, easy parking and booking very easy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    It was a great weekend 2 night stay was long enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That is wasn't bed and breakfast and it wasn't quite sea view more like lake view you could see the sea but not what I expected.

    I like the comfortable beds and that a fan was available

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Very happy with our stay at the Gather Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at night outside

    The bed was lovely and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent, lovely shower and the cleansiness was brilliant. The Caretaker was great, so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Proximity to the beach, good local amenities and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside of the kettle was dirty, fan didn't work so had to have the window open the whole time we were there and where our room was located on the building, yes it had a sea view but there was constant HGV going past due to the proximity of the docks. The fan never got replaced.

    Proximity to the beach, good local amenities and the staff were all very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    The place was quite handy to Brighton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very squeezy room with window at footpath level. Had to stand on a table to access the power outlet to charge our phones.

    The place was quite handy to Brighton. Nice setting. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.2
    room cleaning is efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed is only a mattress and is too soft. our room is on a low floor facing a road with busy vehicles and people walking outside can see us inside the room. there isn't a desk or table and chair in the room so can only sit on the matress and put the cup of coffee or tea on the floor. toilet is very small, have to put on clothes outside the toilet.

    room cleaning is efficient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love it everything about the property nothing to fault!

    The property was very clean and comfortable! Had the best time and sleep ever! The staff were so friendly, it’s nice that there is a pub, so had a few pints, really enjoyable. Would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, great food but bring earplugs!
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise! Our room was very hot due to the weather and we had to sleep with the window open, the noise from the street below and people sitting outside at the tables was almost unbearable. There are signs up to ask people to be quiet but no one enforces it at all. I expected a little noise due to staying above a pub but not to the level that I was awake pretty much until 2am. Unfortunately this would affect my staying here again.

    The staff were super friendly and the breakfast was great value for money and good quality. The room was basic but comfortable. If I could rate this place on staff and food alone it would've been a 9.5.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    It was helpful being on 700 bus route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A basic property. A top sheet instead of a duvet.

    room temperature 24 to 27 degrees No extractor fan working in shower room. A light bulb was replaced over shower no light for shaver. faced south sun above 20. Lagoon view. Sunday lunch excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were clean - bit small but nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you do stay here I would advise you to avoid rooms 2 & 3 , I have never heard floorboards creak so loudly in a hotel before.We were woken up at 2 in the morning with people walking about. The rooms above probably avoided this,

    Rooms were clean - bit small but nice view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Hassle free relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise at night but because I live in the very quiet area and I mean quiet you can hear a pin drop after 11pm this is probably not a problem to most

    Good location ample parking good clean property food choice excellent great friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.2
    The location by the lagoon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen dirty (as if bed hadn't been cleaned, grass and debris in it) Staff not liasing well with deals offered and accepted by. That was embarrassing at breakfast time

    The location by the lagoon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    The staff was friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could litteraly hear every step in the room above us,. There is no place to park the car for more then overnight and there is not much to see around the hotel. Pour WIFI connection.

    The staff was friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice place, value for money and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking locally has changed recently into parking time zones - no car park onsite. There is a parking directly outside - £1p/h on meter. The staff were great through and explained after 7pm to 11am - you can park across the street in residential area - which suited us, as we were out all day and I was driving.

    Very close to Brighton City Centre and close to our friend - whos birthday it was. Very easy to book and an check out. Nice bar area with range of drinks - did not try food so cannot comment. Stayed with friend in twin room 6 and even though next to main road - very quiet place considering a large hen do was staying same time! Staff were very nice and I would recommend it for the price paid of £1777 for 2 nights through booking.com. The room was exactly what we needed - 2 twin beds, tv, shower and toilet. Room was cleaned very well too. I would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Definitely would stay again in fact I would visit other than business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was excellent

    This was an excellent place and I was treated like royalty. Lovely place like home from home and I will go back to visit with my family

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.8
    Want a refund will never stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny wasn’t aware of shared bathroom building work was going on which we also wasn’t aware of beds were creaky and noisy room was tiny and balcony out of use

    Nothing apart from the bar lady

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    Not impressed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very basic indeed. Lots of noise from sides and above, including banging and crashing above and snoring from another room. Clean enough but extremely basic. No breakfast option at all. For the price I could have stayed in a Premier Inn and had an acceptable room and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Stopped over for two nights to take part in the Brighton...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stopped over for two nights to take part in the Brighton Marathon. Room was basic, but had everything we needed. Staff were fabulous and friendly and the food at the restaurant was lovely!! Regular buses down to the pier, or a lovely 3 mile walk along the beachfront if you are feeling energetic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.8
    It was somewhere to sleep . And convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for no stairs We got stairs. We were told breakfast was included BUT it was wasn’t. They say about parking you can only park at certain time of day.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    2.9
    Couldn't wait to check out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt dated, old and dirty. No one greeted us at reception even though staff saw us standing there for at least 10 minutes. We finally checked in at 3:30 and found our room was still being cleaned. Had to go for walk and return 30 minutes later. We paid £120 for a family room crammed with 5 beds. Check in at 3 and check out at 10 which i thought was rather stingy. Didn't dare use towels. No soaps or shampoos just a half full manky old bottle of supermarket hand wash. Deplorable for the price.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    2.9
    The worst hotel I have ever stayed in !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid £120 for small room for 3 .No ensuite but shared bathroom ,toilet door didn't close. Very dated room, noisy with peeling paint and mould. Window didn't open and top bunk bed mattress so uncomfortable my son had to sleep on the floor !! I have used booking.com for years and found you to be very helpful but can not believe you would advertise the room at such a high cost.My search was for a couple and our son,I didn't see any alert that I had booked 3 single beds with no bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Average room but not bad for price in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet roll ran out in the night because you cant tell how much you have as its in a dispenser. Coffee ran out only enough for one cup each .

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.4
    paid £100 for the night would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the almost constant noise of the floor boards they made racket in our room, the bathroom on the landings and in adjoining rooms (believe me they have to be heard to be believed) so didn't get any sleep. when you opened windows the stench from the lagoon was disgusting, The full English breakfast that we paid extra for was tiny,(1egg 1bacon 1 sausage 1 small hash brown spoonful of beans in a tiny ramekin) egg not cooked (really snotty white inedible) I ordered toast which came 10 mins after the breakfast brown on one side white on other

    bed and pillows were very comfortable , staff very friendly,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Good weekend but at £140 a night overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Several Beers run out - No draught Bitter available Rooms clean but dated and need of refurbishment No free parking - On road time restricted or meter payment £140 a night - Fair price would be £80 in my opinion

    Good Bar / Restaurant Friendly Staff location to beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Very welcoming and , doubtless will be worth a return visit , or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the breakfast had matched the main meals , all would have perfect

    We just had toast, my son has issues and wanted to return home which was a shame as we were booked for two nights . The staff were excellent , with a special mention to Jessie who was so very welcoming . My son felt really happy and chatty , which was all due to Jessie making him feel relaxed , as did the rest of staff we met . The food was really lovely and plentiful . All in all a very good visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Come on brighton and hove council sort your selves out !!.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault but no longer free parking outside hotel. Council want every one to use public transport.

    Food was amazing and staff very helpfull. Even offered to move there car so we could park for free in there own space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold, we had to sit by the radiator for a while to warm up

    Great place to stay for a night or two. Lovely location and friendly staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful, stress free overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two large soft bath towels were provided but no hand towels which I thought odd and only one plastic water glass not two.

    The extra large bed was extremely comfortable and the full English breakfast was delicious and nicely presented. Also the staff went the extra mile and although they don't provide room service served a wonderful burger and yummy chips to our room in order to allow my partner who had come direct from work to wash change & eat before attending a surprise party for our friends daughter held in the function room, which was a wonderful evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.8
    For our needs it was a good place to stay. Just a pity it was so cold.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was freezing. The bathroom was warmer although it was separate from the room. Very draughty room. Small radiator which didn’t give off much heat. To be fair we went in February.

    Good clean accommodation. Friendly staff. Great views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    It was a great base for the weekend, good facilities with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sextuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a great base for the weekend, good facilities with the bar and pool table. It was the perfect location for us as it allowed us to have free parking and quite quick journey into the city centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    2.5
    The worst hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hotel ever We couldn’t sleep all night because of the noise upstairs and when we went to the reception he told us to go to bed I pad 150 pounds for nothing 😡

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Great near the beach, lovely friendly staff & tasty pub...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a noisy main road & crossing. Ok if you can sleep through the beeps of the pedestrian crossing, otherwise you'll need ear plugs. Inconsiderate guests not using door handles & leaving the doors to bang shut throughout the night when accessing the bathroom. (Non on-suite rooms). 3 single beds felt a bit cramped in the room, a bit claustrophobic. No bedside tables were a bit annoying. Room lamp on the window ledge didn't work. Unable to open the windows. Noisy bathroom fans meant they are heard loudly in neighbouring rooms.

    Great near the beach, lovely friendly staff & tasty pub food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    2.9
    Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception stank of disinfectant. Ban on takeaways in room; no idea why. Room old and tired and cold. No hot water to the shower and no plug for the sink. No one on reception to report this to.

    It was cheap and close to where I was working.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Close to the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of loud banging noise late from upstairs. Must have been staff as we were on the top floor room number 13. But there was door to private part.

    Close to the town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    We went to a party in Shoreham and this was the nearest accomodation to the venue. Cheap but tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise that woke me up in the morning. Having bunk beds. Breakfast could have been better.

    A bit cramped in the room. I ended up going into the top bunk (at 50+ years old). The space was reflected in the reasonable price however. The food was OK. We had a meal in the evening and I paid £6.50 for a glass of wine. We had breakfast in the morning. No gluten free bread and £6+ was a bit of a rip-off. The room was warm throughout the night, but I was woken at 7am by a noise which must have been a boiler and it continued throughout, so could not get back to sleep. So don't stay in room 16 if you are a light sleeper.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Exceptionally friendly staff, made us feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptionally friendly staff, made us feel very welcome. Generously gave us a whole lot of ice for a party we were to attend, basic but well-cooked breakfast too. We will be back - thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.0
    Cheap but hardly cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy with no double glazing. The bed covers and towels have seen better days,the bathroom was sparse, only provided hand wash, no towel rail and bulb out in ceiling.

    The location was convenient as it was a few minutes walk from my son. The evening meal was tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    3.3
    Terrible, back to the 60's
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy place, the rooms on the street side are awful. Cigarette smell, no one at the reception for check out. No breakfast served.

    Good communication on the phone prior to our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Softer pillows!

    Very accommodating and friendly staff, excellent food including great vegie options. Have stayed in many 5 star hotels but this hotel has a personal touch that transcends its less than 5 star qualities! Highly recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    3.3
    They need to work on this place.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't really like anything about this place. They charge to much for what it was and there was no breakfast included only stayed one night not two as i went somewhere else and i won't be going back.

    Nothing much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Very clean and staff were great would defo stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no wifi code in the welcome book and I only discovered free wifi at the reception when we left. As we left the room the maids were to eager to clean the room before we even shut the door behind us. Didn't like the fact the bathroom was across the hall would have been better in the room or next door.

    Me and my friend stayed for new year. We liked the location right by the beach and it was very direct to the centre of brighton. Parking wasn't great however I have relatives that live near by so I was able to park near by. The staff were very helpful and friendly including the room maids and a kitchen worker. Bathroom was again very clean. Would recommend and stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    Four-night stay over Christmas period.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old-fashioned heating with no thermostat or timer, and there was no heat when I got back on a cold Boxing Day evening. Weak shower. Creaky floorboards above, causing a lot of noise late one night.

    Helpful, friendly staff. Decent bathroom (apart from weak shower). Not bad value for the Brighton & Hove area. Good gluten-free breakfast in a pleasant room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    I stayed at this accommodation to meet up with friends near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at this accommodation to meet up with friends near by. It was okay for a night, but I would not book this for anything else. Very basic, old fashioned, but clean and the staff were lovely. A lot of money for one night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    3.3
    Awful after that event as shook me up terribly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place should be reported to health & safety. I used the bathroom facilty in the morning & was trapped for 45 mins as there was no door handle on the inside. When I eventually freed myself & left there was no-one at reception to report this too. If there had been a fire or if I had needed medication I would have been in grave danger & so would a woman or child trapped in there. I have emailed the hotel but they haven’t the decency to reply. See email below: Hi I stayed in your Guest room last night room number 16. I booked through booking.com & got a late deal. I had a terrible experience in your establishment this morning. I used the shared bathroom & obviously closed the door. After finishing in the bathroom I discovered that the inner door handle was missing & I was trapped in there. I shouted & banged on the door to no avail as no-one heard me. After being in there for ages I was on the verge of breaking the door down but avoided that as used a towel to help twist the inner bar that the door handle would normally fit over. With much difficulty I managed to twist it enough to pop the door open. If I had been a woman or child I would have been stuck in there for possible hours & if a fire had broken out in the building then God knows what would have happened. Upon leaving this morning I left the key in the key box but could not see anyone to report this issue to. My phone number is: XXXXX XXXXXX Regards Mark Wright

    Food was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Inexpensive, clean, comfy friendly! 👍🏻
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked late. Last room was ground floor room on front street. Traffic was noisy. But bed was comfy

    Friendly staff made for a great reception. Clean functional rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Adequate for short stay but would not go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No head board so the beds had a gap of about 8-10 inches where the pillows kept slipping off the bead. Very noisy on the street so could do with triple glazing. Was very disappointed to find after pre paying for breakfast, that it did not include tea or coffee. Some of us ordered another drink, only to find we owed another £15.00 on top of the £14.00 per couple already paid for breakfast. Floorbaords squeeked badly, so whoever was in the room above us, were late coming in and up very early in the morning. Did not get a good night's sleep!

    Beds were comfortable and rooms were adequate for a short overnight stay. Staff very friendly. Breakfast food was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.6
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So noisy, lots of noise from road and other rooms, and terrible location - it is not in brighton as advertised but in portslade, half an hour's bus from brighton. shower was very low pressure. overpriced. reception was often left empty and had to shout to get anyone's attention to check out, even though it was meant to be open. my request to change rooms due to being right next to the road on ground floor was denied, they said i could pay extra to go the family room but i thought that was ridiculous. my friend who i was meant to share the twin room with had a family emergency, but i still had to pay full rate- but thats not their fault. picked this hotel because it looked homey from the pictures. it is not. avoid avoid unless its an emergency.

    Staff are sweet and tried to be helpful, though weirdly they all seem to be 20-something year old women only. I worry the owners have a habit of only hiring pretty girls as opposed to people who can get the job done. the view might have been lovely in summer but in the winter it's terribly bleak. room has tea and free wifi works fine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.0
    fine for one night, we used it to shower and sleep, had nice bar, food looked good, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no soap in bathroom, awful furniture , smell of cigarette smoke in bathroom

    very very tired decor but it was clean and the staff were all lovely. right down by the beach. it was fine for a quick bed for the night but a little depressing.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: