Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boathouse Hotel 2 stars

Newry Beach, Holyhead, LL65 1YF, United Kingdom

#11 of 20 hotels in Holyhead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 605 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stopover before getting ferry home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room (16) didn’t have a wardrobe nor chair, other than that it was clean and comfortable

    Staff were friendly and food was excellent very generous portions

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable, cosy hotel with delicious home cooked meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish the stay had been a little longer as it is a nice, homely hotel with very pleasant staff.

    The meals at this hotel were incredible. Delicious home cooking. The room was a little small but very cosy with a comfortable bed and private, spotlessly clean bathroom. Perfectly located for those needing to catch an early morning ferry to Dublin.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm . Nice view overlooking the marina but window too small and very unclean . Needed a stool to look out through the window as it was rather high .

    Comfortable and clean . Breakfast and evening meal good value for money and served with a smile . Staff fabulously friendly and gave us a warm welcome . Thank you for a most enjoyable stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Silver lining on a dark cloud
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a stressful day traveling, delayed ferries and rowdy passengers was delighted to have booked in last minute to the boat house. clean comfy room with friendly and helpful staff 💯 be back again.

    Staff and location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    I feel this was miss-sold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I feel this was miss-sold. I paid £140 for 3 x B&B yet their standard rate for this season up to September is £115 £25 less. When I asked them about this they said I had to pay extra for booking through Booking.com. This was not transparent when I booked, there was not warning that I was paying extra due to the mode of booking. This is not fair practice and I suggest a refund to £25 is in order and either do not allow booking through booking.com or be transparent that is more expensive. I would like feedback on this issue please.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Lovely Family Run Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal wasn't always great in the rooms. I didn't particularly mind this but other guests might.

    The staff were absolutely lovely and accommodating. The breakfast was great. Very tasty and plenty of choice. The hotel has a lovely friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    A peaceful spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double/Twin room Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work anywhere in the hotel on either of my devices. I would have liked some healthier breakfast options. Fruit, granola c etc.

    Reasonable albeit small room for the price. Peaceful. Bar & restaurant were ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Very good will book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated a choice ie just bed and no breakfast for a reduction

    Love the quirkiness of the building-have stayed before and always a good experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Check in staff were so kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All great.

    Check in staff were so kind. I arrived after the restaurant had closed and they took the trouble to arrange some take away for me so I wouldn’t miss dinner. Just really thoughtful, caring and welcoming. Would 100% stay again! Also has a lovely view over the harbour. Good breakfast in the morning too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay on seafront, food in restaurant very good too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertises a "coffee shop" but not, coffee available but no cakes, biscuits etc.

    Lovely bedroom, almost a suite with extra room for our daughter. Lovely white bedding & fluffy white towels. Delicious plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Just a nice place to take a break before we cross over to Dublin.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The payment. I Always book with my creditcard but we pay at the venue. This hotel starts asking 2 days before we arrive to pay by card. When you are on your way you don't like this kind of questions. We don't like that.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    I stayed here with my parents before taking an early morning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here with my parents before taking an early morning ferry over to Dublin. The location was fabulous overlooking the harbour. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Food was good. I wish we had a little longer here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Convenient location for the Welsh coastal walk, ferry to Ireland and harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor thing. It would have been nice to have a comfy chair to relax in bar area rather than hard wooden ones.

    The view from our room across the harbour. Lovely lamb shank and fresh crab.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Convenient car drive to Irish Ferry terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Well located to the Irish Ferry terminal & hire car drop off. We had a hire car & there was good on site parking. Was good basic accommodation prior to the ferry crossing to Ireland. Food was okay & is located opposite a marina.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    close proximity to the harbour and view over it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    can't think of anything!

    close proximity to the harbour and view over it. friendly and helpful staff. could eat outside in lovely weather and enjoy the view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.6
    Served the purpose, Ferry to Ireland the following morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a lingering smell of dogs, dark and dated, could have only managed one night in it,

    The bar and restaurant where fine staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Bright, comfortable room in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location on the marina. Beautiful walks were close to the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very bright and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT VERY HAPPY WITH LOCATION AND HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to dislike its what you make of your holiday that makes it enjoyable with a good hotel and staff.

    the room was lovely and the staff were very polite, and the food was very nice we had a room with a view. although it rained the whole weekend l would recommend this hotel, We had a lovely time. THANKYOU

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, five minutes drive to the ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good location, five minutes drive to the ferry port. Nice clean room. Plenty of parking. Good breakfast cooked to order. friendly staff. Checkout was very easy. hotel located in a fairly isolated part of town but close to the water.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent situated and comfortable for catching the ferry to Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On our trip to Ireland this hotel is well situated to catch the ferry in the morning. Lying just outside of Holyhead on the harbour, it offers comfort and a nice restaurant. Notably well, as visited by locals. The room are non-standard with a personal touch. Breakfast personally served in the morning was ranging from full English to simple eggs and toast. We loved it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Clean rooms, close to Holyhead ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was old fashioned, could do with refurbishment and expensive compared hotels in other areas. Breakfast on Saturday mornings was too late for early ferry (check in at 8:00)

    Clean rooms, close to Holyhead ferry port. Nice location opposite the sea. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    The heat demanded ventilation, therefore we had our window...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat demanded ventilation, therefore we had our window open as often as possible. Unfortunately, 90% of the people (guests and employees) sitting on the patio area were smokers, so that wafted into our room on a regular basis. I closed the window when I smelled cigarette smoke. And we got hot. Not good. Other than that, very pleasant stay. Aaah yes—nothing to do with the hotel, but Booking.com had my name listed incorrect (not including my surname!) so I was startled at first when they said there was no room under my name. Shame on you, Booking.com ...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Fine for a stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls very thin, room very small but I have stayed in worse single rooms.

    Clean, room seemed newly decorated and although small was comfortable. Only stayed for one night but everyone seemed friendly. Needed to leave for early ferry but was told to come down to breakfast before official start time and grab some cereal. Lady in the breakfast room brought me a pot of tea and offered to get me a bacon or sausage sandwich to take with me (I declined as I had to leave but it was very good of her to offer).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn’t go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception lady was very unhelpful and miserable when we arrived. Beds uncomfortable with very cheap linen. Very dated decor.

    Breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Good nice one-night stay-over to be able to catch the morning boat to Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses on the bed we slept are due to be replaced. I was sleeping in quite a big dent... Everything was cleaned up very nicely, except for the air vent in the bathroom above the shower. I probably wouldn't have noticed it if the rest hadn't been so clean though, but yeah, that made this stand out which was a shame if you ask me.

    This is a great family hotel. The service is very good, with friendly staff and good food (both the breakfast as the dinner in the Bistro).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    A great place to stay in Holyhead, Wales!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location right near the beach was good and a short walk into the town centre - beautiful seaside walks nearby. Excellent, hearty food in the restaurant and wonderful service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea & coffee making in the room. The water had to be boiled on the floor no electric point near kettle location.

    Did what if said on the tin. Warm friendly helpful food good for standard hotel would use again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable ,only about 6minutes away from treaddur bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt fault it staff very friendly nothing too much trouble

    Room very nice ,shower absolutely spotless bedding pure white immaculate ,towels pure white ,made everything seem extra clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable but disappointed about the late service fair breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to have a proper breakfast (which was included in the price ) as the kith hen didn’t open until 0730 abs we had to be at our ferry by then . It opens at 0700 through the week. It advertises how close it hsvyo the ferry do you think it would serve breakfast at a time to suit customers going to the ferry

    Proximity to the ferry

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    It was a short distance from the port so we could catch an early ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been a little earlier to reduce the stress of catching an early ferry.

    Pleasant Welcome. Clean room. Good food. Comfortable bed. sensible price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    The property is beautifully located by the harbour, so very convenient for ferries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at breakfast

    Loved the location - as we were catching the ferry we were only 5 minutes' drive away, so no fuss getting there. Breakfast was a little slow in service, but staff friendly and evening meal enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly and helpful the property was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished we could have stayed longer.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful the property was located near the local boat yard had nice views of the sea the local people were lovely as well, we booked 2 rooms 1 for our boys and 1 for us both were lovely the evening meal was very delicious generous size as well and the breakfast that came as part of the booking was also very delicious I would definitely recommend this property to all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    The property was lovely and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, only the heavy rain spoiled it for us

    The property was lovely and clean. Great decor. Good that we had our own door from Outside directly into our room as we’d taken our little dog Marley with us. Difficult to find a dog friendly hotel but it was great could even eat our meals in the conservatory and have Marley with us 🐶Staff very helpful & friendly. Meals delicious! Excellent choice of breakfast included in the price. We opted to pay for evening meal which was on the large size ! But again excellent home cooked food. Definitely recommend 👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    would stay again as location ideal for my meetings at the port
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room slightly small and single bed. An observation rather than criticism

    Very clean and friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent. Didn't need to eat until the evening as plenty of it and bacon perfectly cooked

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    The rooms were nice and the food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting served was difficult as the staff spent more time in the back room talking rather than attending to customers. Service was very poor apart from one young lad who was clearly trying his best.

    The rooms were nice and the food was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    The friendly staff who were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say there was anything we didn't like. All went well.

    The friendly staff who were very helpful. Food was good rooms clean and comfortable and a lovely location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed the stay. Good location & value for money. Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was average - not much choice. Décor a bit dated and no lift

    We stayed one night on the way to the ferry to a holiday in Ireland. The evening meal offered in the bistro excellent. The steak and ale pie was delicious. Friendly and helpful staff made the stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Dog friendly hotel, with amazing views and great food!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    - Family and pet friendly - Clean room with no dog smell (considering they take dogs) we were very impressed - Food in the restaurant at dinner was amazing, home cooked and large portions - Great location, beautiful walks, our dogs loved it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing, hope this is not the best Holyhead has to offer.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far too expensive for the facilities offered, It is NOT "Pet-Friendly", they charge far too much for pets to stay. They made charges on my card without my permision. Food poor and quite expensive. Generally run down and dingy.

    The members of staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, brilliant staff a happy pleasant stay & eager to return.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished there had been a bar of soap for the shower.

    Cleanliness & decor/colours uncomplicated & beautiful. Food good portion/tasty family menue. Cedrick my Westie stretched out comfortably on his blanket placed on the carpet. He slept very well too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    The Food and staff make this the best hotel in Holyhead.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi is very unreliable.

    The staff are friendly, the hotel is 'homely' and the room was massive and well equipped. The food is truly fantastic,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    Good breakfast and room was clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security light at the back of the property lights up room 16 all night as the curtain are away from the window, so don’t block the light. Radiator pipes made a lot of noise the night I stayed so trying to sleep was not good.

    Good breakfast and room was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owner and staff were very helpful and friendly, room clean and comfortable although a little dated, but did not mind that at all. Bathroom extremely clean. Will definitely go back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay there again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good. Even the weather! I have stayed in some expensive hotels but none could be cleaner or more welcoming! To be critical, the English breakfast was deep fried in the main... not very healthy!

    The staff were superb and the cleanliness was outstanding. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Brief but Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bed were a little on the small side with a view of the parking lot.

    The hotel had a restaurant in it which always makes travelling a little easier. The location is right on the water. I would have like to explore the are a little more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Ferry stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it's great for the ferry, it's a bit isolated from anything else.

    It was close to the ferry terminal. The staff were very helpful and ordered pizza in for us, as we arrived too late for the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought rooms were very clean but could do with an update. Not much sound proofing between us and room above. People were smoking and chatting after 10pm outside our room which had a dedicated plant holder for cigarette ends! Seemed a bit strange in this day and age.

    The staff were friendly and polite. The location is very handy for the ferry. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Room was not cleaned after the first night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned after the first night. Breakfast the second night, there were no vegetarian sausages (okay, can happen) but the information was given while the plate was put in front (why not before so that I might have decided for something different???).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.8
    Never again will I stay there, I was made to feel like it was my fault.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the hotel because I was arriving after midnight. If I booked directly with them I could check in but because I had booked through booking.com I couldn’t. Four phone calls later they relented but it’s totally unprofessional to make a guest feel anxious and uncomfortable about their stay, both the hotel and booking.com were happy to take my money but not let me check in. The person I spoke to in booking.com was useless.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small. The food whilst good could be greatly improved with some fresh vegetables and salads.

    We got stuck in Holyhead during Storm Emma. We had our dog with us. The hotel team were extremely welcoming and kind. It is very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Very positive spoilt only by minor issues. Would definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No information booklet available. Was informed this was because they were updating them. Had to go downstairs to get WiFi code as result. TV didn't work - batteries in remote control at fault?

    Room was generally clean, warm and very comfortable. Breakfast good. WiFi connection good. Location brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    2.5
    Awful and overpriced hotel with disgraceful service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel management was rude, unprofessional, unhelpful and utterly offensive. I spoke to the manager about a complaint I had and his response was:- “I DON’T HAVE TO JUSTIFY MYSELF OR MY BYSINESS TO YOU!!!.” My understanding of running a business especially in hospitality is that’s exactly what you are required to do in the most professional and diplomatic way possible. I think they must have watched Fawlty Towers and mistakenly thought it was best way to run a hotel. I will never stay here again and I will ensure none of my businesses use this premises ever again.

    The restaurant and the restaurant staff were terrific.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold took a while for the heating to kick in. Would have been nice if it had been turned in before we arrived. Food was quite expensive. Towels were very small!

    Great location, quite old fashioned but very homely. Room nicely decorated, nice ensuite. Staff were friendly. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.4
    Stay was ok but staff wasn’t over friendly or helpful and good and drink over priced. Location was g
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food looked over priced so didn’t eat in the place other than breakfast which wasn’t anything special and drinks expensive. Soda and Lime £3.50... outrageous

    Hotel was clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Lovely spot, location was great. Wish we could have enjoyed it in daylight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold when we arrived, however this was rectified when brought to the attention of reception.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. The restaurant was welcoming and the food was lovely. Good menu choice. Breakfast was great, a good start to the day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    The fact that it was close to the ferry terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double/Twin room Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    That the desk where you sat to use your laptop, there was no power point. In fact, part from the TV and the bed side lamp, there was only 1 more power point and that was on the other side of the room near the bed for doing everything. Charging appliances, coffee making & hair drying.......

    The fact that it was close to the ferry terminal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    Will never cross into this place again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff where rude and very un helpful , i was 3 mins late for breakfast which is my own fault but was even refused a cup of tea, outrageous to be fair very poor service.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location for ferry and great for walks too. Lovely setting overlooking the harbour. Lovely staff. Very comfortable bed. Quiet. Clean and has everything you need. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful relaxing break near the marina
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One tiny thing: no towel rails in the bathroom (except for a flimsy hook attached to the top of the bathroom door and the towel kept falling off).

    Fantastic location in a quiet area opposite the marina with a great view through our window. The room was clean, bright and comfortable. The bathroom was pristine with a nice large shower cubicle with proper sliding door. Plenty of fluffy white towels and extra pillows. WiFi worked fine. The staff were pleasant and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Good value hotel ideal location for ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine for our overnight stay.

    Easy to find, good location for catching the ferry to Dublin. Room was clean and looked like it had recently been refurbished.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel close to the ferry with great food and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit small and not amazingly comfy

    Great location for getting the ferry the next day. Food was delicious and huge portions! It is also a pet friendly hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    The Boathouse was the ideal place for us to say as it was very convenient for the ferry port.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is a little bit old fashioned, but added to the charm!

    Bed comfy. Staff so friendly. Stayed for one night before we took ferry.....very convenient. Our boat was early and we did not have time to have a complete breakfast....the staff were worried about this and gave us bacon sandwiches to take with us!!!! Would definitely stay there again if taking the ferry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Great location for a quiet break, views & comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff couldn't do enough for you. Excellent location for a quiet break. Safe car parking. Food was served quickly, and was delicious - couldn't fault it. Theres a bar with a great selection of drinks. Room had everything you needed and was very clean. Fab location if you want to pop over to Dublin as its a ten minute walk from ferry terminal. The view from the hotel is the marina, and also the Breakwater - which is surrounded by some lovely walks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.0
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite expensive for a 2 star with no breakfast £75 And Then Hotel Charged £30 For 2 Little Dogs in their own beds for the night. Meal in the evening not great £4.40 for a garlic bread is too expensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.6
    Totally disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should have been included as per booking .com website.Was refused when requested. Confrontational staff. Full ammount was taken on booking. Not as per website. Food was appalling and sent back.Refund given.To

    Nothing regrettably.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    comfortable, suitable with the dogs and convenient for the ferry, would stay there again
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    due to early ferry, breakfast was rushed.

    the room was quite spacious and the dogs were well accommodated for. there was also lovely walks for them from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Good overnight stay to break journey to Ireland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from room above and road at the back of the hotel.

    Food was very good and staff attentive and friendly. Location very good for the ferry to Dublin.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant enough place, room was fine although Internet was non existant. Breakfast really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception lady seemed very unfriendly and unhelpful in general. The lady who served breakfast was a gem and absolutely lovely - couldn't do enough for us - major contrast to reception staff.

    The room was absolutely fine with a lovely view towards the marina. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was a bit tight and awkward but it was nice and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    the room was small but nice, with a good bathroom and shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double/Twin room Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV remote control did not work, and the only way to control the TV was by standing on a stool and pushing switches on the set, mounted high on the wall. BAD for a short person in her 70s!

    the room was small but nice, with a good bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi connection ( but that applies to the whole of Anglesey )

    Absolutely superb location and yer very convenient for train or ferry transport - We have been staying here when visiting family in Holyhead for many years - It has been improved - Is spotlessly clean , comfortable. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The food is excellent - Highly recommended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Catching a ferry...or coming in late this hotel is a great location for you....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double/Twin room Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel isn't a modern hotel but does reflect the website description well....

    Staff extremely friendly and lovely location a short walk to the break water with spectacular views, allowed me to stay on in the morning and work from the bar area using free wifi.....excellent. Great location for ferry terminal (5mins)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely use the hotel again, staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town was about a 10 minute walk, and very dissapointing it was dirty and there are no clothes shops or big shops. There is a bus that takes you to a small outlet centre, with a nice pub ( the standing stones) cost €5.00 to return to the hotel.

    The area was very quiet and relaxing. The ferry for Dublin is just down the road if you fancy a day trip. The menu is good and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    After the insufferably long and late boat trip from Dublin,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After the insufferably long and late boat trip from Dublin, the staff was friendly, accommodating and helpful. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    pleasant place, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    it is a very pleasant place to stay, we always stay there the night before catching the ferry. initially it was just avoid the stress of being late for ferry, but now we treat it as a very pleasing part of our holiday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    A very clean hotel, will certainly go again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of swimming pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub.

    First time at this hotel and I do not think it will be the last, the staff are very friendly and the hotel is very clean, parking is easy and it is ideal for taking your dog for walks with plenty to go at, we would certainly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: