Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bodysgallen Hall and Spa 4 stars

The Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno, LL30 1RS, United Kingdom

#18 of 38 hotels in Llandudno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 50 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Hotel heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included!!

    The staff, the setting, the gardens, building and everything about the place exudes class and a charming quality. Would highly recommend a stay here to anyone!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room itself was lovely inside it was in a cottage with a view of a gravel car park and to get to the main building required a walk up a very steep hill. It was very disappointing and by far the worst view we had in our 10 days in Wales.

    The garden was beautifull

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    This hotel is simply fantatic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    This hotel is simply fantatic. Beautiful getaway. We had a cottage close to the Spa with a very large room. The garden and park around the house is very nice. Simply romantic and relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.5
    This was a very special Anniversary for us, our stay at Bodesgallen made it a very happy memory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having coffee and tea facilities in the room would have been nice and convenient.

    The friendly and helpful staff. The beautiful Garden and views, we are looking forward to our Spring break The rooms throughout were warm and cosy. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing, lovely house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cottage we stayed in was great just a little far from the main house, this meant we had to walk up a steep hill to go for dinner in the evening and it was raining.

    Food was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    We celebrated our Golden Wedding with relaxed style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gardens are beautifully kept and there is a lovely view of Conwy Castle from the terrace at the end of the woodland walk. The cottage room that we had was extremely comfortable and quiet. The dining room is very relaxed but has friendly, attentive service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful room in a completely hopeless hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not book a table in the restaurant as it was full. The information pack described a bistro. When we phoned to book we were told that it closed down 3 years ago.The gate across our drive to the car park for our cottage was locked at 9,30pm. Breakfast was hopeless unless one desired a fully cooked breakfast. We had breakfast in the Spa on Sunday at 8.45 served by a very good member of the hotel team. When we were went to the Spa on Monday we were told that breakfast was at 9.30 by a very glum member of staff.

    The room was well furnished and comfortable. Very clean and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    A superb experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was generally excellent (fruit juices, fruit salads, muesli etc were all excellent). The service was very friendly and attentive, again excellent. Most of the standards. service etc throughout the stay were very high quality. However, the full English breakfast, whilst very nice, was not of the standard experienced in lower standard hotels.

    We had a cottage located in the grounds of the main hotel building. This was extra special and very quiet and private. The main hotel was only 5 minutes walk which was not a problem to us, although may be tricky for disabled guests.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    A peacefull break away from it all, a Quiet place for a well earned rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Cottage (1 adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The garden was beautiful with sheltered benches to sit and enjoy the view The Spa was excellent The cottages were private and very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Very quiet with large award winning gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are lots of steps, old latched doors, and creeky floors but it is a building which is from the 17th century and if it was changed the magic would be lost.

    Very quiet with large award winning gardens. Luxurious and historic public rooms make you feel you are in a different , privilidged era for a few days. Wonderful views to Conway Castle and Snowdonia particularly if you ask to be taken up the tower.!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.3
    Stunning property with excellent garden maintenance as you...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late after a long journey and day-Fairly abrupt receptionist- being charged £20 for breakfast because we booked on Booking.com whereas it would have been included had we booked direct with the hotel- so £80 extra using booking .com!!!

    Stunning property with excellent garden maintenance as you would expect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel not very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cottages are a long way from the restaurant and it's not a great path to walk in heals or fro breakfast. The staff except simon and the restaurant staff were very unhelpful and unfriendly. The alarm went off in the middle of the night but no apology

    Bed was comfy. It was clean and a good size. Diner staff were lovely especially front of house who kindly lent me her glasses and was very polite. We had a great table for diner with a lovely view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.7
    NO TRUST IN NATIONAL TRUST
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was ridiculous and typical of a non professional organisation like The National Trust.Restaurant was half-empty on a Saturday night. A perfect case for last minute deals....

    The food was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in need of decoration, walls badly marked. Prices have risen by approximately 30% since a previous stay in 2015 standards have not. Restaurant menu limited and extremely expensive. Does not offer value for money.

    Staff helpful, sociable, polite and attentive. Beautiful gardens with wonderful views of North Wales.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    beautiful shame it is totally unsuitable for the infirm and saw fit not to mention that on website
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cleanliness settees and cushions needed replacing lastly but most important the fact that it was NOT suitable for anyone infirm and that it did not state that on its website and was one of the reasons we left after one night!

    the staff were all lovely the scenery was breath taking the food in the main din ing room was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    2.5
    Don't be disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel. Musty,unclean no where to relax do not go Mr Roberts the managerhasn't bothered to return our call says it alll

    The grounds where well kept.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.3
    Very relaxing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gravel path up steep incline a bit on the dangerous side, came down in dark after rain and handrail was too slippery to help arrest your momentum,

    Breakfast wether full or continental should be included in cost , not everyone feels like a £20 breakfast but going down to breakfast makes the break all more enjoyable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The atmosphere was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No beer on draught

    The atmosphere was wonderful Everywhere was spotlessly clean Excellent service great food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    hope to return again and gain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights

    everything was perfect-but the friendly and efficient staff were the really special feature

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful historic country home - stunning gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been nice to have A/c in the room.

    We were on the Three Castles classic car rally - the hotel was great as our base.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    We hope to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A TV which shows the full picture

    Comfort with peace and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.0
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Infested with ladybugs. We were crawled on all night!

    Good size room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    most relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One or two mosaic tiles were adrift in the pool

    Could not really find anything wrong, cottage suites excellent, food staff and facilities top class.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Therapeutic, much needed after family bereavment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very professional staff and beautiful historic hall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Exquisite gardens, acvommodation and service in an old baronial home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Cottage (1 adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Located in what was once a beautiful old home. Exquisite gardens. Griendly staff. Real porridge with real cream and brown sugar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dinner service a bit slow

    style

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    A very relaxing, enjoyable break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    A unique stay. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger bathroom

    Great historic property with all modern amenities and oodles of charm. Excellent service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Diana who gave us our treatments was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Diana who gave us our treatments was amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    Very nice time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food especially breakfast could of been better for the money.

    Staff excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    6.7
    not warm enough , need extra ,low and high cleaning , make extra spaces for guests in spas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    that the spas were unavailable didn't like blankets prefer Duvets with throws

    location scenery

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.5
    The room was pretty poor for the price we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty poor for the price we paid

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Beautiful building with remarkable views, every comfort had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful building with remarkable views, every comfort had been given thought, décor was beautiful and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent spa facilities and the service was very good

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel and grounds, spa staff extremely friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception staff were a little unhelpful re: a dinner reservation that had been cancelled, and manager has to help sort out

    Lovely hotel and grounds, spa staff extremely friendly

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    7.9
    The area is beautiful and has beautiful gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bar did not open until 6:30 and the atmosphere was a bit under whelming. also we stayed in a cottage which to be fair was not inexpensive but the breakfast was extra and at £19 each was a bit steep considering the price of the room.

    The area is beautiful and has beautiful gardens. Good location for walking into Llandudno.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    8.3
    The cottage was very well equipped and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cooking of main course meat particularly the tasteless duck.

    The cottage was very well equipped and warm. The assistance from the staff in getting closer to the main building by car - disabled - for meals.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.6
    This was a wonderful property, with great character and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole place is very pricey and I think worth it on the whole - BUT - BE AWARE - if you book through Booking.com it is room only and breakfast is £19 - as the cost of the room is high I think this was not really a classy thing - and I was not reminded of the fact at check in or at breakfast - so I felt it left a bad taste after what was a very very good stay. The manager and I worked something out.

    This was a wonderful property, with great character and lovely spa, and grounds. The food was excellent and the staff were superb. We were in a cottage away from the main house but near to the spa - it was very well appointed and we liked the ability to get away from everyone else in the main building - it was near to the spa - but a 'steepish' walk back the the main building

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    The personal attention of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa could have been open longer

    The personal attention of the staff. The quality of the food. The location with its easy access to the Conwy Valley and to Snowdonia.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.5
    Nice room,great location, beautiful gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant expensive for breakfast and dinner.Service at breakfast slow and on one day inattentive.

    Nice room,great location, beautiful gardens.Very helpful Manager.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.9
    Fabulous grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi is horrendous. Guest expectation is a strong signal throughout the Estate. Its an inexpensive investment for guest convenience.

    Fabulous grounds. Fabulous Manor. Very attentive conceige.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    9.6
    This is a very well kept country hotel in a very convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very minor but Wifi was hit a miss - however we were staying in a cottage away from the main hotel reception.

    This is a very well kept country hotel in a very convenient setting for exploring North Wales. It have high standards of: Comfort Friendly, helpful staff Facilities: Spa, second to none Gardens and country views

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    10
    The whole place is like a dream come true.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing...

    The whole place is like a dream come true. A stunning location, with amazing views, and grounds. The house itself is a beautiful property with lovely little outbuildings/cottages for you to stay in. The spa was stunning, very clean. The staff were superb. Very helpful, kind and made the experience very enjoyable. Can't wait to go back!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.3
    Wonderful location, fine views and a beutifully kept garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    better for older visitors, quite formal.

    Wonderful location, fine views and a beutifully kept garden. Spa facilities good

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    10
    The whole ambiance was exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TV stands were not in keeping.

    The whole ambiance was exceptional

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Evry thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Evry thing

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Phantastic view overlooking the beautuíful garden and valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Phantastic view overlooking the beautuíful garden and valley. Spaceous cottages. Excellent retaurant.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    9.2
    The spa center, the restaurant, the lobby and classic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast can be improved a little.

    The spa center, the restaurant, the lobby and classic English style of servants.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Staff friendly and attentive at all times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff friendly and attentive at all times.they were helpful and informative and always went the extra mile.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    The grounds, staff and Spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One meal was served cold.

    The grounds, staff and Spa.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    Private cottages were perfect for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Found cottage a rather warm, but kept door open to cool down.

    Private cottages were perfect for us.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    Beautiful grounds, first class staff and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful grounds, first class staff and excellent food. Spa very inviting.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.6
    Everything was first rate, the staff and facilities was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was first rate, the staff and facilities was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    9.6
    - Everything, except.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Wifi is very, VERY bad - In the cottage there was no heating overnight

    - Everything, except...

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    10
    Superb service, a beautiful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb service, a beautiful place to stay.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: