Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boscundle Manor

Boscundle, St Austell, PL25 3RL, United Kingdom

#4 of 5 hotels in St Austell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 311 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Not the greatest of value for money, in my opinion! (sorry)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Scarlett
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom could definitely have done with a little sprucing up. Was a little tatty in areas. Breakfast was average and on the small size.

    Great location if you're considering going to the Eden Sessions at the Eden Project as it is walkable. Nice sized bedroom and the bathroom was great. Ample parking also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Don’t stay in Room ‘Anne’ !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival bedroom smelt of drains which the manager did point out to us when she took us to our room and sent somebody along to resolve . It was improved , however the smell still remained in the background. The room (Anne) felt generally a bit dank mildew on the curtains , shower mildew . There was a garden / patio area off the room which although the gardens were beautiful was a little unkempt. The access to the room was through the swimming pool which was pitch black at night ,and full of people and their belongings all over the floor over which we had to climb during the day . It is shame because the hotel communal area / bar was nice but the room really disappointing . We did leave feedback but heard nothing from them .

    Communal areas nice. Beautiful Garden Breakfast pretty good .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Not up to expectation when booking a suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room looked a bit tired, carpet. stained, bedside light shade water stained. Dark patch on the wallpaper. Shower floor looked as if it needed a scrub. Service a bit slow as only one man to act as receptionist, bar man and waiter in restaurant, Hot water system broke down and quite a bit of noise from the road and neighbouring pub or club. Probably due to Football match!

    Staff very friendly. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Lovely old building with lots of interesting nooks and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Emily
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old building with lots of interesting nooks and crannies. Beautifully decorated. Room was very comfortable. Staff very helpful. Great location - we walked to Eden Project which took 30mins (it is uphill though!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Wonderfully relaxing and perfectly located for a walk to the Eden Project/ Eden Sessions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite - Charlotte
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too soft - I have a bad back so perhaps this in unfair to remark on. The decor felt dated. Given the remarkable gardens it would have been lovely to see the interiors reflect the beautiful environment the hotel is set in.

    The Charlotte suite was away from the main part of the manor which was really lovely. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Potentially nice hotel but does need an upgrade in staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wine list was a joke. Waiter had to go back 4 times and when we asked for a repeat of the red wine we ordered there was only the 1 bottle. Staffing was inefficient. Ordered coffee for breakfast. It was brought but there were no cups. She then brought 2 cups without saucers. I then had to ask for milk, sugar and a spoon. On our return to the hotel at midnight the lobby to our room from the pool was locked by the people in the room next door so we had to call a staff member to come and unlock it, all of which took half an hour. The occupants should have been told not to lock that door.

    Comfy bed tho room a bit too small for 2 people, nice to have an iron and hairdryer, good shower with nice Molton Brown products, lovely pool, layout of hotel was full of character, pretty garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely stay - the location and food make it worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool could have been warmer but nice size. Breakfast conservatory strange decor - again needs updating to bring a more luxurious feel - though breakfast selection good and well cooked.

    Fabulous food at this hotel - dinner - three courses stunning flavours well presented and just enough time between courses. The rooms were nice enough comfortable with tea/coffee - just felt they needed updating new carpets, lick of paint, tired furnishings. Jaccuzzi lovely nice temperature and a relaxing treat. Location to Eden Project the main draw but all in all a good stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel and great area to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Emily
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Food excellent. Upgraded our room. Very clean and comfortable. Could not asked for anything more. Very memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location for Eden project. Nice building helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in "anne". A smallish room slightly strange location for the fridge \ kettle but it worked fine. the hot tub was lovely but the pool was a bit chilly for me

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Lovely location, great accomodation and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite - Charlotte
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely quiet room, picturesque grounds, friendly staff. Breakfast was freshly cooked and good quality. Nice little toiches like a welcoming drink and info in the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Cozy and welcoming place with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming place in a quiet location

    Cozy and welcoming place with friendly staff. Convenient location close to the beach and the town with nice restaurant. Good location walks. The swimming pool and hot tub were excellent after a day out. Many thanks for everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    It was a lovely, peaceful overnight stay and I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Enid
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weakest breakfast tea that I have ever tasted in the UK served for breakfast.

    The attention to detail in the room was excellent. There was fresh milk in the fridge for tea and coffee and beautiful soft, fresh smelling dressing gowns and slippers available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Exactly as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Dorothy
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just a little more light in the restaurant in the darker evenings so that we could see what we were eating

    Everything about the hotel - Owners made us very welcome, food excellent, nothing too much trouble for them. highly reccommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    It was quite disappointing that we did not know the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite disappointing that we did not know the restaurant was closed when we made the booking. We got a complementary room upgrade but had to find a place nearby to have dinner. Even the Bar was not open. The stuff was very nice and did all she could do, but it did not really help. Nice Room and nice breakfast though. We und not stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Most relaxing peaceful weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite - Charlotte
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about boscundle it was peaceful the grounds were great .. I dont have a bad comment

    The food was amazing and the bed is now missed greatly as it was so comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.0
    A better room would have improved the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was poor. Cracked basin in very compact en suite. Cracked dressing table. TV not working and not repaired by third night.

    Friendly staff and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    We did enjoy our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Audrey
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hospitality could improve. of male management. Only 1 litre of fresh drinking water In room. Better lighting in corridor approaching dinning room. High cost of a small soft drink in bar.

    Lovely breakfast an d great hot tub

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Lovely unique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room only had a shower, no bath. It was clearly labelled when booking, I just overlooked it. Just a warning for others to check.

    Lovely unique hotel with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. Don't forget your swimming costume as the pool is worth a visit!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Incredible property, incredible staff, incredible value. 10/10!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing- perhaps advanced warning that the restaurant would be closed the evening I stayed would've been nice, but the staff gave good recommendations of alternative places to eat.

    The attention to detail, both in terms of finishing touches to the whole property and in the customer service - the service was outstanding. Examples of this are: - Radio playing classical music at a low volume when you first enter your room - Molton Brown soaps and shampoos - Fireplace in the communal lounge with newspaper, kindling and logs for you to make your own fire - Being offered a tour of the Demelza Suite - which is superb (that dining table is incredible!) - Outstanding breakfast service - Welcoming and doting reception staff; offering a cup of tea after showing me to my room was a lovely touch The pool and hot tub are a great asset too. I may have stayed during a quiet mid-week, but £75 per night for what I received was unbelievable. This sort of service and facilities normally costs >£200 in many parts of the country!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Worth heading back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Elizabeth
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tried to go for a swim in the morning, disappointed! as it did not open till 9am. Not the properties issue but I chose not to eat in the hotel but at the local pub which was disappointing.

    Very good staff and a great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    A lovely respite from normal life. We hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was plentiful and varied; fresh fruit, home made granola mix, different cereals and held in a beautiful conservatory with views out onto the garden. The bed was huge and when we arrived classical music was playing lightly in the background. I loved the dressing room attached to our room it had a skylight as well as a tea box and water supplied each day. We were impressed by the spotless and comfy bathroom with toiletries by Molton Brown. I thought that the selection of wellies by the door to wear outside was a lovely touch. There was a little garden table outside the room. On one day it was warm and we opened it and the air smelt of garden greenery. The garden was spectacular with little buggies for the disabled. We are quite ‘foodie’ in our household and we were impressed with the food in general and the dinner in particular. I also liked the fact that we were near enough o walk to the Eden centre and it was a beautiful walk. We were also on bus routes to the sea and near to St Austell.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    I only needed a bed to sleep on so no drama, but it certainly didn't inspire me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Enid
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get TV to work and no instructions, toilet brush in the bathroom broken, shower not very powerful (had to run around to get wet!) and cover to shower on off button missing.

    Great breakfast! Loved the kipper.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    The entrance was grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given was outside of the Manor, then we were moved inside but the room was off the pool and had no TV. When we got there we were advised that the restaurant and bar was not open. You don't expect to not be able to get food or drinks when staying at a Manor hotel

    The entrance was grand

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    A really lovely building, clean and warm and very cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Louisa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A really lovely building, clean and warm and very cosy. The pool was lovely and the hot tub under the stars really great. Perfect place for a winter get away. Really accommodating staff with late checkout etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    I had to pay twice and then wait to be refunded as he couldnt understand the concept of pre paid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sunday night and I arrived via public transport. However I am immediately informed that there is no food offering at all. So that was a nice hours long walk to find something to eat on a wet and windy Sunday. You have to leave your key in the cupboard if you go out - didn't feel very safe.

    Really lovely breakfast but very small portion. Nice touch with the wellies to borrow by the door.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    We enjoyed the time together in our large room, although this was freezing on the few nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Daphne
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was erratic, items missing from orders, staff leaving the dinning area empty handed while our plates remained uncollected

    The hotel was clean and nicely decorated with lots of space

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.8
    The bed was comfy, room was cozy and the property was pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Dorothy
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor quality with small portions. Service at breakfast was not good, we had to wait a very long time for any attention and eventually walked up to the front desk to ask for coffee and to order food. The breakfasts were very small, eggs were under cooked and toast came out 15 minutes after other food served.

    The bed was comfy, room was cozy and the property was pretty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    the manor was excellent the staff where very polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothind

    the manor was excellent the staff where very polite and nothing was any trouble my husband had huet his foot before we went and he was asked several times if he was okay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Emily
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving after three nights .We should have stayed six days instead of going on to Tregenna Castle big mistake

    room was first rate,bed and pillows very comfy, slept very very well. The breakfast was perfect I can not fault this place,from all the staff to the amenities . The place made us look forward to coming back after a long day out. We look forward to another stay in the near future.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable hotel and room,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Enid
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid the bill via Paypal to Booking com but the hotel said that they did not do that and I had to pay them there and then. I am awaiting a refund!

    Comfortable hotel and room,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    The staff were great we arrived earlier than check in but as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Daphne
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great we arrived earlier than check in but as the room was already ready we checked in and they put our bags in the room while we went back out unfortunately later on me and my partner were both ill and couldn't attend the party we were there for but the staff were great and even asked on check out how we were feeling etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful place to stay which is ideal for a special occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about - all the facilities were as described and we would recommend the hotel for anyone looking to stay in the area or who wanted to organise a special family event.

    The private but easily accessible location and high standard of accommodation was appreciated as was the warm welcome from the manager & staff. It was great to find that dogs were welcome in two of the rooms and although there were lots of steps up to our room having a private walled terrace was perfect for our collie who likes to spend some time outdoors. Our room was a last minute booking and prices will vary but we were happy with the cost of our stay which included an excellent cooked breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On site restaurant closed for our stay unstandable though for refurbishment

    Perfect setting price and breakfast Didn’t get the chance to use site spa or pool due to time constraints

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Emily
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints only constructive comments. Conservatory needs attention, roof cleaning, drapes water stained. Hot tub needs a good scrub.

    Staff great. Decor lovely and good quality drapes in out room, very well made.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous staff a lovely warm welcome and use of a indoor swimming pool and an outdoor jacuzzi .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Dorothy
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the hotel spa but thought it was over priced for the treatments received.

    It was a lovely hotel, lovely grounds, good selection for breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.4
    I was slightly disappointed with the room, I was expecting a good standard as we had paid £180
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was uncomfortable, shower didn't work and bath took an age to fill, we had to go out of the hotel and up steps in the rain to get to our room.

    The pool and hot tub were a bonus and the public areas were very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    2.9
    Relaxing, peaceful and totally re charged
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower room was very small in the room we had

    Wonderful decor and ambience, lovely touches with the ornaments and soft furnishings. Staff very kind and genuine!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    We are very adaptable people no have a knack of adjusting to wa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beginning to look a little tired. Saw little of the prop rioters who seemed to leave all guest contact to the staff. Incidentally they were very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant but in need of improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite - Charlotte
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chalet beautiful but showing signs of age - Sticking doors, Cold/Damp, Poor lighting in Bathroom, Rickety Handrail on steps through garden up to chalet

    Location, friendly staff, pretty private chalet in beautiful gardens, private swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable, but could be better for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Daphne
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to order from the menu on arrival at the hotel, several hours before dinner. Pre-dinner drinks service was slow and then we were hurried into dining room. Not the best waiting on table service, although the one member of staff tried hard. Starter not as described on menu - Salade Nicoise with seared tuna steak - a favourite of mine. The tuna appeared to be tinned tuna. I quietly expressed my disappointment and explained that when I had ordered it I had specifically asked that it would be rare, seared tuna - the only way I enjoy tuna - otherwise I would have chosen a different starter. I mentioned that there were no anchovies, although that was not my main complaint. My starter was taken away and a few minutes later the same plate presented to me again with the addition of a few anchovies. Another member of staff also came to the table (Shades of Fawlty Towers! I had to bite my cheek to stop laughing) to show me a small plate upon which was a tuna steak (very well-done, not rare, seared) - to prove to me that it hadn't been tinned tuna that I had been given!!. (It might as well have been though - very dry without a hint of pink). To add insult to injury, I noticed that I was still charged for a three course meal even though I had not eaten the starter and had complained. By the time we were paying the bill I couldn't be bothered to get into a disagreement.

    Very comfy bed; powerful roomy shower; kettle, fridge, tea and milk supplies (so necessary for that first early morning cuppa!); pleasant and very helpful Alice on reception; pool and hot tub; hot stone massage. On the whole a good experience, apart from the evening meal - several very nice restaurants in nearby Charlestown though

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it really was a perfect getaway defo be coming back

    Beautiful rooms, the whole package was stunning to the rooms, spa, staff very friendly special mention to becky who done our massages so relaxing and such a lovely girl, food was yummy highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable but not particularly satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chaotic breakfast. No dinner available on the Sunday night which we were not told when we booked so had to take taxi to next village.

    Helpful suggestions from David, the owner, on where to go for supper but.....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall I enjoyed my stay and the welcome I received on arrival. Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Enid
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor in my single room had dust and cloth particles in the corner by the shower. Rubber shower mat had some black marks on it. "Sticky" fingerprints on the glass topped hospitality table. Stains/marks on the rug at the side of the bed. View from the room was just the top of a flat roof. Being an older building with a "quirky" layout there were a lot of stairs to the bedrooms.

    Cooked breakfast was delicious. Plenty of choice on the menu. Comfortable bed. Complimentary toiletries were excellent quality. Soothing music playing on the radio in my room on arrival was a nice touch. Decor in the lounge areas was lovely, comfortable seating and there was a huge selection of magazines and periodicals available for browsing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Amazing historic hotel in an idyllic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room - Enid
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A beautiful manor house dating back to 1760s tastefully converted into a extremely comfortable and well appointed hotel. Amazing spa swimming pool and hot tub! Exception customer service from all the members of staff who were very friendly helpful and completely genuine. All bedrooms are named after famous women authors/actresses each having individual decor with beautiful colour schemes. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and served in the delightful conservatory. Consisting of full English breakfast and a full range buffet. I absolutely love this hotel and will definitely be a guest again very soon

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Potential to be beautiful, lacking maintenance and detail. Overpriced but relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Elizabeth
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was in need of a refurbishment really. Felt old and unmaintained in places. Detail was missing and ambience in the bar and restaurant. I understand now it is up for sale which explains why it isn't a top standard anymore. But the price is still premium. The shower temperature and pressure consistently changed. The room had an old musty smell when you first entered each day. Some of the staff felt young and inexperienced. There used to be an outdoor pool which is no longer in use so is a bit of an eyesore in the garden. It was a beautiful weather weekend and the hotel was full but the outdoor tables and chairs were not in use.

    We stayed in the Elizabeth Room. HUGE comfy bed was the highlight and the patio. Communal lounge was beautiful as were the grounds. We enjoyed the use of the hot tub and indoor pool. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. Quiet area, seperate entrance through patio we liked, we were left in peace. Nice touch with the radio tuned to classic FM.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    A two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable as it had something over the mattress. This was ether because it was in poor condition or because they wanted to make it softer but just ended up being. Lumpy.

    Spar and staff where great. The rooms around the property where beautiful and the grounds are well kept.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    The bathroom really let the room down very grimy grout and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom really let the room down very grimy grout and in facilities need of a serious update. Blocked gutter in the alleyway we had to traverse to get to our room, it was so narrow we couldn't get the umbrella provided up. Wet feet from the puddle that formed below gutterand wet clothes from overflow above. It was a very rainy night but this is Cornwall ! Nice girl at reception. Waitress at breakfast very uncommunicative and we gave up,on hot drinks the second morning. This is a beautiful building quite quirky and downstairs cosy and comfortable but 180 per night for our room was far too much . We took note of the message on the back of the menu asking us to mention any problems but my husband complained about the blocked gutter but obviously it could not be fixed on a Friday night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    This is a relaxing place, the staff is helpful but the room we had wasn't the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in Joanna's room was tight and need a refreshment. Something that was not acceptable is the total absence of pressure in the shower. We couldn't really take a shower and after a day in the beach we were waiting for it! For the price, we were very disappointed.

    The bed was comfy and the property in general is very cute. The garden is very nice and I particularly liked the salon in the Entrance .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    A lovely stay, but a bit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Dorothy
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the staff were friendly there was no feel of anyone in particular in charge, so not a family-run feel about the hotel as I expected. The lounge and bar were empty and no music playing so a bit lacking in atmosphere. For the amount we paid we were dissappointed that there were no towels at the pool and we had to ring reception; there were no slippers with the bathrobes to wear to the pool, the heated towel rail in our bathroom was not working.

    The general decor of the property was inviting and luxurious. Staff friendly and accommodating. Pool and hot tub lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Beautiful pool area. Unable to comment on restaurant as closed during our stay however breakfast very good. Recommend staying in the room named Emily

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was fine - a pity the weather was not but we enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Scarlett
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately the chef left without giving proper notice thus the dining room was not open in the evening for dinner

    All the staff were most helpful and aimed to please

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay for our first night in Cornwall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Daphne
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay! The kids very much enjoyed the pool (which we had to ourselves)! We enjoyed the hot tub. Large lawn for the kids to run and play. Cake and coffee outside on the patio while we waited for our room. Luxurious bathroom! Walked to the local pub for dinner. Only a few minutes drive to Charlestown.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely little hotel but perhaps not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Emily
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wouldn't say this hotel has a 'Spa' it has a pool and jacuzzi and one treatment room. No sauna, steam room, etc. Food was good but portions were small, room service and dinner has to be booked a day in advanced and the bedroom was very dark even during the day.

    Staff were super helpful and accommodating. Bed was extra, extra comfy and pool and hot tub were accessible 24hr!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Very over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Elizabeth
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to request a drink as the bar never opened. Over priced hotel Could not eat dinner in hotel because restaurant closed on Mondays.

    Up-graded to a suite

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Great facilities fabulous food warm friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Audrey
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little on the small side but was extremely comfortable and excellent facilities.

    Great location for Eden project. Friendly helpful staff. Quality of food exceptional and a wonderful choice of breakfasts to choose from suitable for all tastes and dietary requirements. Wonderful property and grounds full of character with Jacuzzi and pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    We asked for dinner the night of our stay, they said they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for dinner the night of our stay, they said they had a big lunch party and hence they could not offer dinner due to that reason. We feel that was poor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    We would return here to explore Cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Dorothy
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and very good service. Lovely room with very good facilities. The hot tub and swimming pool are very welcoming, to help you to relax. Good location for St Austell and surrounding area, yet very quiet, just off the beaten track.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    The nicest hotel in all of Cornwall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Louisa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manor itself was absolutely stunning! We got upgraded for free to a beautiful suite, and the staff were fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to everyone! The facilities were phenomenal, the staff allowed us to use the hot tub and swimming pool at 11pm for as long as we wanted, breakfast the next morning was lovely, and we even had a few spa treatments before we left which were superb! The staff were attentive and were able to support us in anyway we wanted. I would love to come back and visit again sometime! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Delightful venue for a special celebration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gardens a little untidy in some places.

    Beautiful large bathroom,huge room, comfortable bed, own terrace. Excellent celebration lunch for 20+ people. Delicious breakfast - hot food made to order. Local produce. Friendly, helpful, efficient staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable, close to St Austell
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Dorothy
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food in the restaurant - expected a higher quality - rather pricey Sink tap in shower room too big for basin so difficult to use basin skylight in shower and on landing quite grubby

    Comfortable, close to St Austell Friendly Good breakfast, plenty of choice Didnt have to ask for iron, hairdryer etc Lovely garden Relaxing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic discovery and perfect place to stay for an Eden Sessions stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was absolutely wonderful. Such a gorgeous building, and our room was so individual and lovely, with its own terrace too. Staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. It was absolutely perfect and we'll definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing, quiet and luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Rebecca
    • Stayed 3 nights

    more shelves in the bathroom or a stool - possibly a little tricky for elderly people but staff very helpful about this. A second chair/stool for using our computers would have been useful. But that's being picky!

    spacious room - lovely patio - excellent indoor pool and hot tub. Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful grounds - delicious food - altogether a very happy and comfortable three nights

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    elegant, peaceful, welcoming, the 'girls' make this place special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in room menu was no longer valid made vegetarian choice a bit of an issue BUT girls did all they could to sort out any issues. wi-fi connection in first room was very flakey, TV reception was poor. Girls moved us for the 2nd nights stay. first room was over the laundry room which explained how warm it was, too warm for us.

    really lovely old manor, bit of a rabbit warren, different styled rooms, all well appointed, the welcoming pot of tea and lemon drizzle cake on arrival served in the comfy lounge area, the attention to detail paid to your booking, being walked to your room and shown the facilities on the way, the offer of assistance with luggage if required, the care taken to accommodate various dietary requirements, the staggered meal bookings, the drinks served beforehand in the relaxing bar area, the elegant dining room, breakfast in the conservatory, dippy eggs with soldiers!, the friendly 'girls' who make this place special THANK YOU

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    Nice but needs a clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Louisa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The doors to our room were covered in many months of hand grease we had three doors a main bedroom door, a bathroom door and a porch type door all three were to use a correct word filthy.

    The property was quiet and situated in a nice place not too far from facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location for visiting The Eden project and wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots and lots of stairs to our room(lovely when you got there)The bathroom was very cramped and water pressure a trickle.

    Great location for visiting The Eden project and wonderful restaurant for guests only.The pool and lounge areas were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Boscundle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Louisa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was uncomfortably hot No way of controlling the temperature. Left the window open fully all night - still really hot

    My room was lovely proportions and I loved sitting on my window seat reading. The lounge area was gorgeous I ate in one night - cooked beautifully and presented well (I'm a food technologist)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    Attractive, characterful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Louisa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly 'rabbit warreny' corridors but accept this is part of it being an old building. Breakfast area pleasant but structure in need of attention.

    Attractive, characterful building. Especially liked the external appearance and entrance hall/lounge area. Comfortable, large bed. Swimming pool with very clean/clear water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the rates charged
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Scarlett
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed at The Boscundle Manor before but this time however the cleanliness wasn't there loads of cobwebs in every corner of the rooms almost as though they were celebrating Halloween early and the property itself is showing a lack of investment in it, the ceilings have large black water marks in them in lots of the hallways and public areas and the bar ceiling requires a complete replacement as it is a patchwork quilt of marks and different panels and looks absolutely terrible in the low lighting of a night the windows in our suite had gaps around the edges that you could see daylight through and its a good job it wasn't mid winter and windy or the curtains would be blown out straight, the breakfast is terribly small and you would be better off going to the local Asda a couple of miles away as at least you'll get a good sized breakfast . All in all they are charging top money for a property that has good service but needs investment in it rather than taken from it, on complaint about the cleanliness we had a £10 credit into our account with no phone call or email to explain why or apologise from the Managemnet/Owners so unfortunately we will not be returning to The Boscundle Manor but will find another local retreat and this is from a local Cornish born and breed couple

    We have stayed at Boscundle before we tend to run away from everything occasionally and its perfect this as a couple

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Good location. Great people. We'll be back.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor misunderstanding (on our part, regarding restaurant availability).

    Staff and owners attitude and friendliness to help in any way. Home away from home!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny niggle the Bath/shower showing some signs age. But clean & all functioned well.

    Lovely clean room with an outside patio area a bonus, the swimming pool & hot tub was great. Evening meal was really good. Understood my wife's dietary requirements fully. Breakfast was also great. Staff very polite and extremely helpful. Will definitely stay again at this hotel next time in this area of Cornwall. Beautiful hotel & grounds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    A little gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Enid
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was just right

    The whole experience was a delight , I had a single room I was on business and I had to visit time to visit the historic port just down the road which was featured in Poldark .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    6.7
    Quaint, beautiful and for a romantic stay, just not for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Enid
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival at 8pm I was told the restaurant wasn't open that night which was really disappointing after a long day, clearly I should have read the information and to add then that hot breakfast was available from 8am was further disappointing. A good job I bought a banana with me. The room itself was tiny although beautiful. I'm not sure if you wanted to work or use Wi-Fi then this is the place for you, I ended up using personal hotspot from 1 bar on my phone as connection so slow.

    The hotel was beautiful with lots of little additional touches throughout to welcome you. The room was clean although much smaller than appeared in the photo with luxurious toiletries to use.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    |overall a great weekend away pretty place, lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Joanna
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom extremely small - only room for one so shower was over the bath

    pleasant room , tastefully furnished in keeping with character of hotel king size bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    The Manor it'self is beautiful and the food is good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Louisa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spar treatments was disappointing. the main reason we booked was because we wanted to go to a spar hotel and from what we saw of the pictures this made it look as if this was the case. However the hotel had to call for a therapist to come to the hotel at a given time. I know we went on Easter bank holiday so the times would have been different compared to a normal day, however i think that the site made the hotel look like a spar hotel with the onsite therapist. This should state that the therapist is off site, and that bank holidays there may not be treatments available. We were told by the staff that they were having trouble with the spar treatments, this should have been stated to us before booking, as this was really disappointing to find that we couldn't get to experience this having been the main reason for booking in the first place. So for this reason i don't think it is value for money because i do't feel it is a spar hotel as it states. The hot tub was situated outside the building, this should also be stated as it is not sheltered so only really good if it is good weather. There was only a tent to change in in the pool area, would be better to have a proper changing room. This should also be stated that no changing rooms is available and that the customer would have to change in their rooms or use the small tent. When booking the room our room was called the "Louisa" it should state that all though this is an en suite the bathroom is separate to the main bedroom. This should be in the description to avoid disappointment. Also when we got back to the hotel one time around 3.00 the cleaning lady was cleaning our room and was about to clean the other room next door to us, though she told us it was OK for us to go to our room she did not say that the vacuum was kept in the cupboard between our room and the bathroom which meant that she had to come back into the room essentially to put the vacuum away.

    The Manor it'self is beautiful and the food is good quality. The staff were friendly and helpful and happy to serve and welcoming too. They showed us to our room which was lovely. Over all the Manor was easy to get to and space to park the car. I would go again, good for a mini break.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Not to be missed, excellent stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Anne
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautifully & sympatheticly converted Manor House with friendly efficient staff. The room was lovely & very well appointed. Breakfast was very good and our dinner first class. A little gem, we will return soon.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: