Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bourne Hall Country Hotel 3 stars

Luccombe Rd, Shanklin, PO37 6RR, United Kingdom

#12 of 22 hotels in Shanklin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 500 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In need of an update. The pictures on the website are very generous to the hotel. We booked here above cheaper options because we wanted a treat. Utterly disappointed and not worth the price.

    The staff in the breakfast room was pleasant and courteous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger all day breakfast option would always be nice I know you have a lot of old people staying but us young people like a good sized breakfast. And only one other issue we couldn't find anyone for reception when leaving although it said they were open on reception from 8-22.30 all things easily changed

    The hotel was beautiful in a lovely location in luccombe bedroom was divine and large well relaxed. Hotel staff were friendly the place was very clean. Facilities all great also

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa area including the outdoor swimming pool and infra saune were not clean. No one was in charge of the facilities. We`ve tried to book a massage days in advance, it was not confirmed until we checked out and eventually it has not happened. Breakfast was average.

    N/A

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike apart from the hill getting to and from the centre of Shanklin if you are walking but good exercise and after a couple of walks it gets easier!

    A very comfortable stay. Had an excellent meal in the Hotel Restaurant and breakfast each day was good. About 10-15 minutes walk away there was a plethora of pubs and restaurants. Would recommend booking in advance as we had done! Would definitely return to the hotel,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More flexible times

    Absolutely wonderful staff - service second to none... but bar/kitchen closed early and no other options nearby. Everything closed early. Staff superb though, so friendly & welcoming! Really fantastic. Reception couldnt do enough/ superb service. Myself & partner very happy - but be mindful of children as no kitchen flexibility and no local deliveries!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The swimming pool was a walk downhill from the hotel.

    Lovely large bedroom, bathroom with huge bath very comfy! It was our wedding anniversary and the staff made an extra effort to set us a lovely table and gave us a card.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff was mediocre. In the room information it said that they would help with any of the guest needs but when we asked to split the double room to make a twin room and just needed a sheet (i.e we would do the rest ourselves) they said they couldn’t do that!!! And they didn’t have the key to the linen cupboard!!! The rest of the stay carried on in that vein. Reception was not open 24 hours but there appeared to be quite a few people staying. When our WC wouldn’t flush on Sunday morning we had to go right down to ground floor as there was no one around to ask for help. Pretty much every wall surface had a notice on it saying what you were NOT allowed to do - it became a game to try and read all the negative messages around the place. The rooms were not good (other than the bed), they are tired looking with mismatched cupboard rails, towel rail loose, black mould in the bathroom and dust! Why would you put a fabric “canopy” thing over a bed and then not dust it. The fabric seats in the dining room had dirty arms to the chairs. And the spa! Who on earth puts carpet in a wet area? - not only all around the pool, the shower etc. But actually around the jacuzzi. The germs that must be in that carpet don’t bear thinking about, the carpet was under water all the time. The spa shower was dirty - just take a look at the base of it upwards. The outdoor pool was left with rotting leaves etc. In it and just a tape saying no entry. Not very appealing to people who may be thinking of returning in the summer!

    The waiter was great - consistently friendly and funny never mind whether it was our evening meal or our breakfast. He should definitely be put on reception as he would be the best greeter and welcomer and would be way more friendly and helpful than the reception staff we met. He was the best thing about our stay. The bed was very comfortable. The temperature in the swimming pool was nice and the length of the pool worked well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable I didn’t sleep for two nights. The lovely staff gave us a bed topper to help but it didn’t really do hotel did try but I think they need to look at buying better beds

    We thought it was a lovely hotel and the staff were fantastic really felt welcome so thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool is next to the outside pool which is in the grounds down some steps and across the lawn. It snowed whilst we were there and having knee problems, down stone stairs and sloping lawn with the snow was a no no for me.

    Nice view from our room. Quiet location even though still very close to shanklin town centre. Friendly staff nice breakfast. With more nice views from the dining room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, great views very friendly staff. Breakfast was plentiful. Restaurant was not open in evening whilst we were there which was a shame but some lovely places to eat in the village.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed-only break. Hotel was able to get us a good rate on car ferry. Otherwise we had very little contact with the hotel. Check-in was friendly and fast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sink would not empty. Stained mattress. Stained carpet. General poor attention to cleaning and room appearance. Breakfast waiter rude and lazy

    Good size room. Plenty of parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one radiator could not be switch off causing overheating ( had to keep windows open all night), shower tricky to control heat and flow . indoor swimming situated in the garden (long way off ) no sea view really

    hot freshly serve breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area a bit dated but don’t be put off.

    Staff very friendly and helpful - especially at breakfast. Literally stayed as a bed for the night so cannot comment on facilities of hotel. Plenty of on site parking. Breakfast was good variety incl continental buffet selection and full English breakfast which was cooked to order.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in our room 30 took nearlly an hour for the bowl to fill up so could be flushed

    Breakfast was served quck and was delicious. Poached eggs were cooked perfect. Staff were all very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very bouncy small bed, Breakfast . . full English cooked very stingy, 1 tiny sausage, half a tomato, half a mushroom, half a piece of fried bread, 1 small rasher bacon and small spoon beans. Choice of cereal , Youghart and crossant's . we only had the breakfast 1 morning out of the 3. I asked for a bacon sarnie and the bread was dry. Swimming pool nice but had a carpet on floor all around so very soggy and damp everywhere.

    Nice quite location, Staff very helpful and friendly, Lovely hot water and very hot radiators . Lovely hot jacuzzi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good at all . .. short of staff .Very very disappointed. Behaviour towards customer no good .one person is doing all work .no room service. Breakfast is no good at all . Over cooked

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing we did not like! We experienced no problems, we just thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    We really enjoyed our stay at Bourne Hall Hotel, it is a family run hotel, the building is beautiful and our room was just lovely, the four poster bed was very comfortable and the view of the bay is something we shall miss. The room was very clean and they provide the little extra like a small fridge just for you to keep your own things cool, which we found very useful. The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. We would highly recommend this Hotel to family and friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail, room was quite dusty with handles missing off drawers and a few stray hairs, but a great place to stay.

    A county house, loved the staircase and the ambiance of the building. Room was lovely with a massive bed. Tea and coffee in the room and a fridge. Bathroom was large with a shower cubicle and a corner bath. Lovely and warm in the building and in the room. Breakfast was cooked and continental with great choice of both hot and cold. Great location, great view from the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was over the restaurant and from 7am in the morning we were woken by loud humming noise from below. When bringing this to reception attention, was told there was no noise. This stopped at 10 am when breakfast finished.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The generator noise at 6.30 from the building works next to my room. Perhaps they shouldn.t let the rooms near the noise unless you are deaf. Swimming pool area is outside the hotel and a little shabby.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room needs a good clean. It was a shame the restaurant wasn't open but there are great places elsewhere.

    The hotel has lots of character with very accommodating and friendly staff. Ideal location for travelling around the island. Lovely breakfast and lots of choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the bathroom was a little dated as it had a shower over the bath. The toilet seat was also stained underneath from long use.

    We had a standard room which was clean and well equipped with a comfy bed. The lady we dealt with on reception and at breakfast was helpful and friendly and we enjoyed the choices for breakfast. My husband especially enjoyed his full English breakfast. The hotel has a large car park which is a great plus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very expensive food of only average quality. Expensive drinks. Poor service in dining room. No security handle over bath, danger of slipping when using bath or shower.

    Well equipped bedroom. Comfortable lounge. Easy rise stairs. Pleasant décor throughout.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were a bit difficult to get up but this was not the hotels fault as we should have informed them that I had a disable partner - maybe we will have to mention this on our next visit.

    The Hotel staff were very friendly and the rooms were very tidy and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    annoying that my sat nav didn't have all jersey postcodes so we got a bit lost on first day. I would advise people to download or buy a map of jersey before going or certainly write down some road details. I simply didn't worry thinking it was British and i had a sat nav which did work to a certain extent but not fully. It might be worth the hotel highlighting this issue to guests

    nice to have a swimming pool and sauna plus small gym staff were very friendly and helpful especially when my car battery died as I'd accidentally left interior light on and they helped me jump start my car the view was great of Mont Orgueil castle from my bedroom window...it was a bit of a walk but certainly easy to get to if not disabled.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower in our room had the spray head in the corner of the bath making it tricky to use as the bath had sloping sides

    An enjoyable stay with helpful staff. Breakfasts were good (although the coffee was luke warm). We would have liked to try the evening meal but the menu did not inspire.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not enough milk for the tea and coffee as it ran out quickly

    the bed was very comfy. the shower was also very nice, one of the best showers ive used. i liked the facilities around the whole hotel, especially the pool area. the room i stayed in was very nice and comfortable and had a lovely bathroom. it had both a bath and shower included. the whole room was very clean and it had a traditional, glamorous feel to the room. i would definitely recommend to anyone of any age. the hotel is also in a lovely area, a 10 minute walk from the local village with many shops, places to eat and pubs and a 5 minute walk to a bus stop.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked room and breakfast though Booking.Com, on arrival I was told breakfast not included, receptionist blamed Booking.Com, made no attempt to resolve situation and didn't even offer me a cup of tea and slice of toast in the morning. I was treated with contempt and hotel blamed Booking .Com for all their own failings instead of focusing on customer care. Will not be going back again.

    Enjoyed pool and sauna

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bedroom was a little dated but I understand that decoration of other rooms is in progress. This was more than compensated by the beautiful sea view from the room!

    The breakfasts we had were excellent and were served in a very pleasant restaurant by friendly and efficient staff. The entrance hall and landing and public areas reflected the beautiful Victorian features of the building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room had to be altered from twin to double after first night, after a small mistake. No big deal!

    Had a wonderful week at this lovely old fashioned country hotel, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom and toilet could have been much cleaner and my partner's dust allergies set off an asthma episode, so the over all cleanliness could have been better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We reported an impossibly high rail in the wardrobe. It was not attended to and a simple enough matter to rectify. Consequently dresses and the like could not be properly cared-for. A relatively minor detail , but irritating and should have been addressed.

    Efficient, Clean, Comfortable, Peaceful and with Friendly Considerate staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing here Not to like

    Great welcome and service exceeded expectation. Peter made the whole experience of checking in and giving us a directions into town a breeze.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was dated, the floor boards creaked all the time, which made it very noisy and hard to sleep as people kept passing our room.The quality of the breakfast was very poor. Payment was taken from my card before I arrived , when I wanted to pay on arrival as stated in the reservation slip. I phoned before booking and asked if there were any functions on during our stay and was told NO,but on the second night there was a singer performing below our room, I phoned reception and did not get a response until I used my own phone and rang the hotel number, and was then told there was nothing they could do about it. An apology was not offered for their obvious mistake. My request to speak to the owner was ignored.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather noisy neighbours in the room next door was disappointing, although obviously not the hotel's fault.

    The people were engaging, funny and a mine of information - nice to stay at an independent hotel where you didn't just feel like a number. The 15 minute walk back from town was ideal after a hefty meal out!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor Pool area and some other parts of the hotel could use some renovation.

    Nice hot breakfast. Premier Room was big with nice view of the sea. It's a nice old building. Pool has nice temperature.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    The staff were great went above and beyond peter the duty manage was very helpful we arrived on are big motor bike. Nothing was to much trouble breakfast was A*

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee could have been hotter! We were first down to breakfast and coffee wasn't that hot

    Lovely place. Friendly staff. Good choice at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room not as advertised on Bookings website. Booked double but given family with bunk beds - nowhere to put case other than on lower bunk. Dirty! Kettle had to be plugged in by bed. No mirror near hair dryer plug. No chair(s) so nowhere to sit in the room. Walls so thin that every word could be heard in the next room. Awful view from windows of tatty garden and rubbish bins. Room very dark because of heavy net curtains and dense trees right outside.

    After experiencing problems with the room offered, and emailing the hotel to highlight these problems, I am happy to say I received an immediate reply from Carol Mackay who was able to resolve the issues in a very satisfactory manner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room had a lovely view and the atmosphere was relaxed. We stayed for dinner in the evening and again attention to detail was great and Andy who works in the restaurant was a great host!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general cleanliness was decent, and the tea and coffee making facilities we're good, however, the wallpaper border was coming off in places, which made the room appear somewhat tatty.

    Fresh fruit salad and the strawberry yoghurt was terrific. The scrambled eggs were some of the best I've tasted.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Overall the stay was good but booking.com is not the right site to book any holidays. Booked the holiday day for my family including my kids. When I received confirmation email it was only for two adults. That gave us some unwanted stress.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The option of having one course for the evening meal and absence of smaller bar snacks as and when required. Rather frugal drinks provision in room.

    The attention and friendliness of staff - excellent breakfast choices. Comfort of room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sauna was a bit tricky but it was all really excellent for the price.

    Housekeeping was not just clean it was sparkling. Breakfast was excellent with a fish option each morning. Although some facilities -shower etc. - were not modernised it all worked brilliantly and endless piping hot water. (Cleaning mentioned earlier). Short walk to old Shanklin. Totally quiet. Brilliant value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole ambience at Bourne Hall contributed to my stay being extremely enjoyable and it's impossible to find any fault at all! The staff were all extremely helpful. The food was wonderful. The pool and jacuzzi were a most welcome bonus! I will definitely stay there again in the future!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole building looked very tired and needed alot of work doing to it. The indoor pool and the Jacuzzi had broken tiles which I cut my foot on.

    The building was lovely and the grounds were beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, whilst very clean, was a little tired.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We had an excellent evening meal and breakfast was also extremely good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    although we knew we were only getting breakfast,it would have been nice to have an evening buffet at an extra price rather than have to buy something out.Overall though we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

    the breakfasts were excellent. well cooked English, and as much as you could eat and a good selection from the buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom a bit dated small tv in the room Bathroom dated

    Loved the friendliness of all the staff so welcoming also the guy at breakfast was funny! Felt comfortable there watched telly in the large lounge in the evening Good location Very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really value for money - as room not up to standard. Also couldn't watch lots of the tv channels as reception was so bad.

    The view from the room & quietness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't always enough parking for guests, but there was plenty of space on the road, so not the end of the world.

    The staff were so friendly and the rooms were very nice. Such a comfy bed, I haven't slept like that in years!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    when we arrived the room wasn t ready. The room was dirty it hadn t been cleaned properly there was still feaces marks on the toilet, empty crisp packets on the floor and i pulled the bedside casbinet out to plug my phone in and there must have been six months dust there.

    breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location is up a steep hill, so not good for the less mobile.

    Service and breakfast was excellent, head waiter Andy was first class and made the whole experience a very good one.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was very tired and needed refurbishment. Lights blew when in the shower which wasn't good so had to continue with door open.

    Breakfast was very good. Coffee was poor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow check in .Having to pay in advance gave us wrong impression of how we were viewed...never happened before . Comfortable room, good food , pleasant friendly staff .

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was a disappointment. Nothing like shown on the website, those pics are misleading.It was dirty and everything in the room was old. They had the smallest TV set I have never seen. Room smell of damp, there was dust everywhere, very dirty behind the toilet. Nothing I liked about property. Brrakfast was ok. I was told to carry tge iron stand myself if i need it. There was no hair dryer in the room and when it arrived did not work.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of lift. Location difficult for me it is at top of a heart attack hill so walking to shanklin and back up was the worst experience ever. No taxi were available and mostly never answered calls.hotel couldn't help.

    Good and service excellent super pleasant waiter.bed comfortable.tea facility good.gardens good.public rooms very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    outside pool area dirty jacuzzi needs maintainence. seemed very short of staff no pool towels one man to run everything he was very helpful though.

    bed very comfy very large bed room. bathroom dated better lighting needed in bathroom .small television. indoor pool lovely. nice sea view from bedrom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No early breakfast No dinner after 17.30 hrs Bed was uncomfortable Shower was weak Long walk into town with very steep hills as no dinner available at 19.00 in hotel Only 1 member of staff when I arrived doing bar, reception, restaurant et al.

    Not much

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all not to like!!

    All of the staff here were amazing, especially Peter Mathews...We came here for our mini moon and were made to feel so special by all the staff including a reserved table at breakfast with a rose, gems and Mr and Mrs sign, also the server at breakfast was awesome but we didn't catch his name! The room was amazing, breakfast was lovely and the pools were both lovely. The location was brilliant, only a few mins walk down to the local bars and restaurants, the walk back up was not as bad as it looked at all!! We were so sad to leave here, definitely will stay here again 😀

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My mattress on the bottom bunk was a bit uncomfortable as I could feel springs.

    The pool was lovely. The waiters at breakfast were excellent and looked after us well. The cleaners were brilliant, they kept finding my Grandson's toys and putting them in a safe place for him to find, very friendly. The breakfast choices were great and the breakfast was delicious. It's nice to have vegetarian sausage on the menu.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wall paper unstuck in room by radiator and above bed.

    The array of food at breakfast was amazing. Courteous staff, friendly atmosphere, efficient service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The range of toiletries was rather limited, nasty little sachets and no conditioner or body lotion which as they had a nice swimming pool and sauna slightly surprised me

    offered fish for breakfast which made a change

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi was not working properly. When we complained we never got a feed back on the outcome

    Very clean and rooms very comfortable and clean. We booked 2 double rooms and a family room which were all nice and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bourne Halls location is absolutely fantastic, to the front of the property there are wonderful seaviews and to the side and rear there are fantastic views of the gardens and downs. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was great. The food at the Bourne is truly fantastic, you will not be hungry at this establishment, if you are then it won't be the fault of the Bourne. Now the staff they couldn't do enough for you, no matter what time of the day/evening they were courteous, polite, attentive and always had a smile. Fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were overlooked by other rooms which we thought may be staff rooms, as there were no nets or blinds we had to keep some of the curtains pulled most of the time.

    Good food, helpful staff, room spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The condition of rooms and the lack of facilities to staying guests when weddings were on , first night we had no where to sit as there was a wedding on and no restaurant really think the owners should look after there guests and not be greedy having weddings and guests pushed aside , prices were discusting and the owner ignorant only seemed to appear when there was a wedding on the agenda (also noise last Saturday was discusting we had no sleep )

    Andy the waiter and Graham were delightful also the pool etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little tired bed a little bumpy But nothing that was bad enough to detract from a pleasant hotel with very friendly staff

    The very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could have done with an upgrade.

    Lovely location , the hotel had beautiful gardens and it was all very quiet and peaceful. A nice walk to the beach and town though a bit steep coming back. We had a premier room facing the sea , this room was lovely, very big and bright

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's great as it is

    A lovely room decorated in keeping with the age of the hotel with a lovely four poster bed The staff are excellent and nothing was ever too much trouble

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Admittedly I should have read the small print. I gave my card details in good faith for all the accommodation ie a triple room. We expected to pay a third each on arrival, but as we were not asked to pay we assumed we would all pay at check out. On check out when we were expecting to each pay for a third of the room cost we were advised that the money had already been taken from my card. It does explain this in the small print but I do think this could be reiterated at the time of booking in. This left quite a dent in my Bank Account and my friends then had to reimburse me with their contributions. The swimming pool was lovely but no "spinner" to dry swimwear, and no heated towel rail in our room so I asked reception if they could help, they said they had a drying room so I left two swimming costumes with them. On checking out I asked how much to dry the costumes (I was expecting something like a small charge of £5 for the 2 costumes) and was a bit taken aback when told the charge was £11. The receptionist (the actual Landlady/Owner of the property) noted my reaction; she explained she could see I was having an unhappy check out experience in more ways than one, and waived the £11 charge. I felt in the circumstances she handled the matter appropriately. These two little hiccups would not deter me from recommending this hotel or staying there again myself.

    Swimming Pool and the old fashioned ambience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shower rail in the ensuite was dusty on top, and the hot water was scalding. I mentioned the water to reception but nothing changed over the course of my stay. The chlorination in the indoor pool was too strong and I will bring goggles next time.

    Very good breakfast and plenty of it. Staff lovely and very helpful. My room size was bigger than I was expecting and the ensuite had a bath with shower over. The hot water came through quickly. Heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools were of a good size and depth. Overall, a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A mattress worn out on one side. Sometimes noise penetrating from the room above.

    A lovely location, great views from the hotel. Great outside pool. Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet on bed was 10.5 tog which was far too heavy for summer. We had a double sheet with us which was all we needed. Don't know why hotels insist on duvets in summer.

    Room was big with lovely views. Breakfast beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bourne Hall Country Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: