Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Bourne Valley Inn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Upper Link, Saint Mary Bourne, SP11 6BT, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Saint Mary Bourne

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 376 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.3
    Very beautiful beer garden next to a little stream.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very beautiful beer garden next to a little stream. 5 minutes to a beautiful small village. Very good food. Excellent breakfast. Best value on this trip to England. Would love to return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.2
    Convenient for short stay
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy when busy and deliveries early am! No one on site after hours so not good if alone or disabled

    Staff friendly and polite and helpful Food lovely and atmosphere and facilities good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Fabulous rooms, great food, friendly staff. Book yourselves in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have done with staying another night! Super location to unwind and relax.

    The room was beautifully decorated and the king size bed was super comfy. Lovely bathroom which too had been beautifully designed. The food in the restaurant is fabulous. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, beautiful location, friendly local...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I could have stayed longer!

    Friendly staff, beautiful location, friendly local atmosphere, great food, well kept beers, lovely clean and tidy rooms with a int of idiosyncrasy! If you have stayed at Travelodge and Premier Inn you will know how 'cold' the experience is. My only regret in giving such a glowing review is that more people will discover this treasure :-(

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    I liked everything about the property from the friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked everything about the property from the friendly greeting to the cute way the room was decorated. A lot of thought and detail went into the look and feel of my room, excellent job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.3
    Good in parts.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy fishing group diners in restaurant at breakfast.Lady,loud and obviously worse for wear on drink on table next to us at evening meal. Irritating machine noise from kitchen which our room was next to which went on continuously throughout the night.

    Lovely walk-in shower.Comfortabl bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in a beautiful countryside setting, will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a bottom floor room which was a little noisy from the people above - sounded like they were throwing bricks around! They had a small child though so more of a disturbed night for them than us i'd imagine! ;) Wouldn't stop us going back again either.

    Loved being able to sit out in the pub garden and have a drink enjoying the last of the sun. Room was well presented and bed comfortable. In-room coffee machine was a nice touch and dinner was delicious - recommend the steak!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    10
    A Hidden Gem.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, all good.

    Lovely, peaceful setting in a beautiful country setting. Very efficient, helpful and friendly staff and management. Great menu to choose from and food was superb. I can highly recommend The Bourne Valley Inn and I will most definitely be going back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were made to feel very welcome, the staff couldn't of helped any more. Given an extra room as we booked a double and twin, their mistake so they gave us 3 doubles. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.2
    It was so nice we booked a second night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It didn't affect us but very strict with the bar closing time and locking up.

    The friendliness of the staff. The breakfasts. Lovely atmosphere. A bar obviously popular with locals and such a rare change to hear conversations without bad language.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    10
    Brilliant Location and Facilities...Plan on going again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Facilities in the lovely village inn, Spacious room and lots of excellent little extras to make the stay even more comfortable including fresh mil being delivered to the room on the morning. An excellent range of food for breakfast cooked to order. The location is amazing and local to the Bombay Sapphire Distillery with just a 10 minute drive away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    Wonderful place, wonderful satff, wonderful food. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When trying to connect to the wifi I was unable to put my date of birth in on my iPhone which meant I wasn't able to use the wifi at all. Not a huge issue but something worth bringing to your attention.

    A superb stay at a wonderful place. The staff were so friendly and count do more to make us feel welcome. We'll definitely be back, thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.2
    Great relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had only just been refurbished so was lovely but the hot tap was not working, but we as offered another room but the shower was fine.

    Breakfast was excellent no rush, came down at 10am both mornings. Lovely cappuccino !! Lovely comfy bed with feather & black bed linen, lovely as I worked for them too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    Fantastic - highly recommend. Will definitely call in if that area again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showers - we couldn't get ours to work - and housekeeping helped. Other friends couldn't get theirs to work. Need a bit of TLC.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. The Inn was very lovely - the decor and furnishings were all very tasteful. The food was excellent, and the atmosphere great, and we felt very relaxed. Breakfast was brilliant. Ideal location for our visit to Bombay Sapphire. We loved our evening and stay there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    5.8
    Overall a nice stay, but ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The windows were in poor state, the bathroom could have done with re-groutig and a 'deep clean'

    Loved the modern meets traditional decor, and the food was really good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    5.0
    Don't stay in room 9!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 9 is above the plant room and couldn't sleep at all until i moved rooms. The shower in this room went cold after 1 minute so couldn't finish my shower. The second room i had (room 2) was fine.

    Staff, food and the actual bed were great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    10
    Nice little place
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A small negative was the holes in the car park and you can easly hear the noise from other rooms.

    Nice clean and big room and bed, friendly staff and very good food , recommended ,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing especially as previous reviews have been glowing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dusty. Empty toilet roll and rubbish left in bathroom. Broken toilet seat, mouldy shower curtain, thick lime scale on the shower hose. Half full/empty complimentary toiletries. Smokey bar/restaurant, problem with chimney. Broken and chipped crockery presented at breakfast. Glassware stacked on shelves in reception area was grubby and several water jugs had remnants of fruit juice stains.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets in hallway were dangerous and worn.the floor in the bathroom had a large hole underneath and was sagging badly. We were told that refurbishment is scheduled though. The sound proffing was not good in bedrooms. Converstaion could be heard clearly from other room

    Very dog friendly. Dogs allowed in bar and restaurant. Room was cosy and the beds comfortable. Food was home cooked and very good quality

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    7.5
    Bar downstairs very comfy, staff were friendly
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows need replacing room was a bit tight and the bathroom large needs updating. Fresh milk given on arrival, however the bottle was grubby lots of finger marks!! so we brought our own

    Bar downstairs very comfy, staff were friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    Gem of a hotel. Cute rustic. I got a last min deal - excellent value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No guinness & smoky chimney.

    Friendly morning staff very efficient & happy to help! Little cheeky messages everywhere & fresh milk in mini farm bottle..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Taxi very expensive due to having to come remote area to collect us £25 for a 5 mile journey.

    Staff very very friendly couldn't ask for more and the food was delicious the breakfast was so the best I've ever tasted.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    9.6
    Stunning food, great staff, clean comfortable rooms - just needs to be a bit quieter at night.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite noisy in the room at night - I think from a generator. Bathroom could do with a modernisation - especially the shower.

    Food was amazing. Lovely pub atmosphere and great staff. Very clean. Loved the open fire.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    7.9
    Our overall stay was very good and we would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows seem to deflate and not give any support. The bathroom was a mixture, where it was tiled was great but other walls that were painted was tired and flakey. The toilet above us was very noisy. Unfortunately the cleaner had not cleaned behind door.

    The bed was very comfy. The food and service was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    6.3
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The vinyl flooring in the bathroom appeared to be covering a hole in the floor, if one stepped on it, you could lose your balance so one had to be very aware. This is VERY poor and should have been addressed before we went there.

    Nice staff, very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    10
    Highly recommended and would gladly book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom could do with better ventilation when bathing/showering but more for the fact it's making the bathroom damp - didn't affect us.

    The staff were amazing and very attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous food and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather dated bathroom with some bits a less than white and hanging off loo roll holder American children in the room above using skateboard and roller sates from 6 am The ceilings are thin - so book upstairs !!!!

    Beds are great and the menu is exceptional the free Bloody Mary night was a bonus Milk provided for in room tea and good magazines

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    10
    Journey break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en suites are a bit dated but are due for refurb this winter. Our room had ++ background hum from, apparently, the cellar.

    Lovely pub, good food, good beer, nice rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    6.3
    We would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Inn bath and shower facilities are exceedingly poor. There was no hot water from the sink tap. The shower did not provide any hot water and the cold water supply was a dribble. When making this point to reception they had known about this problem for the last 3 years!!!

    Excellent bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable and relaxing with excellent food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Ambiance, decor, mixing new with old, quirky signs and little touches such as milk for the room in small milk bottles. The staff were very friendly and food excellent, including breakfast. Location very peaceful and surrounded by beautiful countryside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    10
    The evening meal was excellent, same for the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The evening meal was excellent, same for the breakfast.staff were friendly and the room was nicely set up with little extra touches that made it more homely. Nice quite location in the country, no car noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    Perfect location for the Bombay Sapphire distillery, delightful pub and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no hairdryer in the room.

    Super friendly helpful staff, comfy bed, nice bathroom products, extra touches like proper cafetière coffee in room and fresh milk, special diet friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    9.6
    Charming, special touches appreciated.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a significantly noisy extraction fan coming from the basement which went all night which the manager apologised for and told us should have been fixed and isn't normal, so hopefully it's repaired before you stay! The full English brekkie was poshed up visually but to be honest a bit average....and if we're going to be constructively critical here, the Eggs Royale were a little over poached and the hollandaise a bit too salty, which could be said for the dinner meals too, but this is being really picky as fundamentally, the beetroot risotto and fish of the day were delicious!

    Soft huge and cushiony bed, felt luxurious, nice touches like fresh milk delivery to the room, nice bathroom products, friendly staff, great trad dinner and breakfast menus with a contemporary approach. Delicious chicory, apple, walnut and Oxford blue salad, great beetroot risotto and hake, fish of the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    7.1
    Quality facility with friendly professional staff interested in their patrons satisfaction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't like noises associated with the room above the kitchen. Minor plumbing issues with taps etc. No tissues in room. No milk in room nor followed up for morning.

    Superb food. Superb staff appreciate fair concessions in view of shortcomings. Very excellent matteress; very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    7.9
    Charming place to stay (and dine) for a relaxing country weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our shower and bath weren't great: weak water flow and damaged curtain rail.

    Cosy country inn in a beautiful setting with a charming village on its doorstep. Very nice decor and good dining options. A great getaway place for a country weekend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    8.3
    A brief but comfortable stay in a lovely property with friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi-Fi was very slow at times; shower curtain needs replacing as broken, and hot water in the shower was temperamental in the morning.

    Nice big, comfy bed; attentive staff; plenty of tea/coffee facilities in our room. Lovely selection for breakfast and generally nice interior.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    7.5
    Lovely countryside B&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't any air con or fans in the room and on one of the hottest days of the year our room was an absolute sauna. We stayed in room 9 and there's a few bits of DIY that needs to be carried out in the bathroom.

    This B&B is in a lovely location. My husband and I had dinner and breakfast and both were really good meals.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    9.6
    Relaxed beautiful setting with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General atmosphere and comfort is excellent very helpful staff who go out of their way to please and be helpful. Delightful setting in the Bourne Valley close to both A303 and A34.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    7.1
    Suitable location for accomodation if you are visiting the Bombay Sapphitre Distillery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls between the bedrooms are paper thin so you hear everything from the adjacent rooms, be it the bathroom or the bedroom. The plumbing was also a tad noisy.

    The Inn location is very pretty with a good sized garden if you want to eat and drink outside. Rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    Too short a stay in such a lovely place, would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The bed was so comfortable, the welcome, even though we got there very late at night, was warm and made you feel very welcome. Breakfast was lovely, the coffee was excellent, the Inn is in a picturesque location but very easy to find. Fabulous stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    5.4
    Would recommend eating there but would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was poorly maintained with a dip in the bathroom floor which could potentially have caused an accident. There was a connecting door which needed to be wedged to stop the vibration caused by a generator outside. There were two light bulbs out and no hairdryer. I was informed the rooms are due for a refurbishment but it might have been useful to be aware of this when I booked.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The evening meal and breakfast were very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    7.5
    Excellent . . . in parts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us, the bedroom proved a big disappointment in comparison with the favourable impression provided by the charming downstairs bar and dining areas. At £130 for one night, we did not feel that the room gave particularly good value in what is basically a pub with rooms. "Sumptuous pillows and bedding" cannot hide the fact that the bedroom itself was not very big and was quite dark while external noise from creaking floorboards, slamming doors and personal toilet functions could be heard throughout the night from all directions. The bathroom floor had a large depression in it while the fixed overhead shower was difficult (actually dangerous) to adjust when standing in a smooth-bottomed bath with no handrail. If the owners read this, then I sincerely hope that the criticisms will be seen as constructive. We have no axe to grind with the establishment but while happy to pay in future for the excellent food and drink, we will be looking to stay elsewhere.

    Excellent range of beers and wines. Interesting, well-cooked menu. Friendly helpful staff. Great ambience in the downstairs bar and dining areas.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    6.7
    Food fantastic, hotel good, could do with a little tlc to get top marks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pub could do with a bit more attention to cleanliness, same goes for the hotel room bathroom. Attention to detail wouldn't go amiss. Your flower baskets/planters could do with a bit of attention outside to make it more welcoming when your customers arrive. A bit of maintenance to floor in bathroom as it had a huge hole in it that we kept falling into! Also, get your cleaners to clean the toilets BEFORE breakfast starts! Not when you have people dining and coming down to breakfast past the smell of cleaning chemicals. It was just really unprofessional and unnessecary.

    Food was fantastic - breakfast delicious, and evening meal was fresh and very tasty. The room decor was lovely and the grounds were beautiful. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, polite and cheerful. Best service by staff of a pub/hotel I've ever experienced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely accommodation in a glorious location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bathtub had a very uneven and weak-flowing shower and several of the shower curtain's eyelets were broken which meant it hung very awkwardly in the bathtub making it rather convoluted to shower properly - especially for my partner who is 6ft4.

    The inn is very cosy and welcoming with quirky, tasteful little decor touches such as dog and country-themed decorations, wellies with flowers in them, rustic interiors in the dining areas, etc. We also liked the room-identifier details i.e. plush toy at the foot of each room door and numbered jute bags with local info pamphlets. The tea/coffee making facilities were excellent and the bed super-comfy. The restaurant was top-notch with great menu choices and very pleasant service while the comprehensive wine list provided some interesting options at reasonable prices. It all made for a lovely, comfortable stay and we would definitely investigate other member venues from the Epicurean hotel group.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    10
    Excellent orange juice served at breakfast😊 Fresh milk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The steak was not so good as the first time!!

    Excellent orange juice served at breakfast😊 Fresh milk supplied for tea and coffee making in the room. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    5.0
    Had potential to be a super pub/restaurant with rooms. Just needed some TLC and attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was shabby. Lots of things broken in room. Not very clean. Chipped mugs 2 days running, despite asking for them to be changed. The room was not made up on the second day.

    Breakfast was good. Bed very comfy. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    7.1
    Lovely inn .beautiful surrounding excellent staff, just needs needs a bit of tender care.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath room could have been cleaner. toilet seat loose Every were look tired eg.carpet ripped on the stairs.

    Bed very comfy Staff excellent Breakfast lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable bed great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Attention to detail-working light bulbs, old toilet holder bracket removed from wall, hole in floor under Lino in front of toilet, less/smaller furniture in small rooms so making more moving around space.

    The food in the restaurant was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    5.8
    Accident waiting to happen
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staircase to the bedrooms was extremely dangerous. The carpet on the risers was coming away in places, to the extent that any woman walking down the stairs could have a serious or even fatal fall should the slim heel of a shoe get entangled with the carpet.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The bar and restaurant areas had a pleasant rustic ambience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    8.3
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very small. Carpet worn on stairs which could be a trip hazard!

    Staff friendly and helpful. Good location. Rooms tastefully decorated. Extra large comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room somewhat cramped. Not sufficient hanging/drawer space. Room and bathroom in need of redecoration

    The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Food good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Very comfortable, friendly stay with excellent food cooked to perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some carpeting needed repairing. Also the bathroom floor had a hole under the lino making it bouncy! Otherwise excellent.

    Very comfortable beds. Breakfast both continental & full English. The cooked breakfast was substantial.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite there being a shower curtain, the shower soaked the whole bathroom and the floor had a massive puddle that was there all night. Also, a pet dislike of mine is when you are told what time breakfast is served until (10:30am) and when you arrive at 10:15 are told that you're "just in time", which is what happened here. We were not "just in time", we arrived before the end of the breakfast service, and shouldn't be made to feel like we are inconveniencing the staff.

    The staff were mostly very friendly and the room was nicely decorated and comfortable despite being small.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place to sleep and eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    here and there some minor points but not worth mentioning.

    Good size bedroom. Very friendly Coffee maker with real coffee ( scisors would have been welcome tonopen the coffee bag ) and fresh milk Excellent restaurant, very nicely decorated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location in very picturesque area - but fronts a road...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside a small village so nothing else to walk to.

    Lovely location in very picturesque area - but fronts a road so view better from upstairs! Limited menu but very good food. I always stay here when I am doing business in the area - it has a relaxed feel, is quite small and intimate ( only 9 rooms) and has a lovely open fire in the winter

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    8.3
    Super Staff/Cook
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were brilliant, young and enthusiastic, and very helpful. Food excellent with some homegrown vegetables. I have a strange allergy and they did everything to accommodate me, it was the best meal I've had out for two years!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    9.2
    A lovely stay in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were a little thin so it was a bit noisy, especially as the pub garden was directly outside our window.

    Lovely décor, a very comfortable bed, and lovely staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    8.3
    Nice pub hotel in a lovely area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did have an hole in our bathroom floor, the Lino had split and there was an hole that you could have put your foot through. We did inform the staff, after we had checked in, and was told someone would come and look. Again when we checked out, no one knew about it. It wasn't a real problem, we just put the bin on it, so at night we didn't fall down it.

    It was in a nice village, with some good walks, we just did the small one through the lake and back up through the village. The garden was very pleasant, not cramped in like some gardens. The food for both dinner and breakfast was very nice, a little on the higher side, but I think we both was worth it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    2.5
    Awful Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is shabby, the bedroom very small and dirty, especially the shower room. Looks like dog hair behind the door No glasses in the bathroom or bedroom ,no milk for tea even after hanging notice on door. Tea tray very stained Stained cushion on the bed. No Wardrobe Hot tap has massive water knock Paint peeling off windows

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Inn but missing a few tricks.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was very dated with a hole in the floor. No hairdryer was provided despite being on the website and it was noisy which was mainly the fault of our room neighbours playing loud music. No milk was provided in the morning for tea although this was also offered.

    Gorgeous inn with a fabulous garden. The room was a good size and the beds were super comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. There were excellent amenities. All very pet friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    8.3
    FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SIZE OF ROOM RATHER SMALL. NO SPACE FOR LARGE SUITCASE. ABSENCE OF LIFT MAKES BRINGING UP LARGE SUITCASE RATHER DIFFICULT.

    FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF. EXCELLENT DINNER. GREAT BREAKFAST: DELICIOUS, PLENTIFUL AND BEAUTIFULLY ARRANGED. VERY NICELY AND HOMELY DECORATED DINNING ROOM. NEWLY RENOVATED GARDEN WITH LOTS OF BENCHES PROVIDE ALTERNATIVE DINING AREAS. WIFI OK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.6
    The beer garden is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You could hear people in the room next door.

    The beer garden is lovely. The staff are really friendly and cheerful. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The dinner and breakfasts were really good and the pub itself is lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.2
    Outstanding Friendly & Helpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One had 1 x breakfast tea bag in the room.

    Staff we very friendly and helpful. Great Lunch time menu, the Fish was excellent , sitting outside by the stream on a warm summers day , delightful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    9.6
    Staff were friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. Room was well furnished and comfortable. The evening meal my wife and I had was excellent. Breakfast was very good. Beer garden Good parking All in all a very enjoyable visit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    7.9
    Country hotel - nice surprise!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Weetabix in the morning! and was rather noisy in our room, first thing in the morning 7am (not sure if noisy neighbours or coming up from kitchen....... We had help finding the hotel - but it was a very quiet area and we were glad to have our cousin lead the way; luckily they new the area!

    There was bath with shower over, TV in room and a good bed! The food was expensive and too rich for us but we were staying because of a family funeral and so needed very little on that day. Breakfast was good and was served with a smile and and prepared to our liking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    8.8
    Room lovely, food excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking.com website stated air conditioning in the room, this was not the case so was disssapointed as I was there during the heat wave and booked on the basis that air con was in the rooms.

    Room lovely, food excellent Lovely peaceful location and beer garden views wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.6
    Peace and quietness of location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning would have been a big bonus as it was extremely hot during our stay.

    Peace and quietness of location. Clean and comfortable room. Food excellant. Lovely little touches... fresh milk, great smelling toiletries.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    8.8
    The ground coffee and fresh milk in the room was a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ground coffee and fresh milk in the room was a lovely touch and much better than the instant coffee and long life milk that most hotels offer. The breakfast was far better than other hotels of similar price that I have stayed in previously. Everything was cooked fresh to order and made from quality ingredients.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    9.6
    quiet night away in country
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the taxi to the Bombay Sapphire distillery was expensive as very few local taxi firms... but we didn't mind that much and hotel did organise it for us an exit sign on the door leading to the stairs- we kept taking a wrong turn!

    quiet, clean room with lovely comfy beds and pillows and newly refurbished bath and shower... couldn't have asked for more on top of this we had a fabulous meal - not a massive menu but everything done beautifully and a lot of produce grown by themselves or local... super

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    9.6
    The family who run the pub couldn't have worked harder.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The family who run the pub couldn't have worked harder. All the staff we had contact with were great. A very friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely return here. Food excellent both for breakfast and evening meal. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in a beautiful Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough room for a wardrobe but that's me being really picky

    The place had a very homey feel to it and the breakfast was very good! Nice country feel to the place and was nice to come back from our tasting event at our wedding venue to a couple of beers in a cosy environment.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    10
    Everything it could have been and more :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant layout wasn't as good as expected but the food made up for it completely.

    The staff were so helpful and welcoming and the place was so cute and peaceful, just like it was described. And do get the sticky toffee pudding, was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    7.5
    The bed was comfortable and the staff were very friendly and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower did not work. There was a hole in the floor in front of the toilet. No wardrobe or cupboard to put clothes but a rack/rail on the wall which pulling out of the wall. Food portions we're small.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    10
    highly recommended! worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    only niggle is that the walls were very thin and we had early bird neighbours with loud voices. couldn't be helped by the staff, just something to be aware of if you're a light sleeper.

    Can't fault our stay! staff were attentive, polite and friendly; our room was clean comfortable and attractively decorated; and the location was idyllic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    10
    Bourne Valley Inn is 10/10 all day long! Loved our stay here..
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One slight problem in the evening when me and my partner were trying to sleep, we could hear a buzzing fan or boiler noise coming from somewhere. It did disturb our sleep a few times and the noise continued after we woke up. Didn't mention it to anyone because it wasn't a maasive deal to us. But if I have to criticise something, it would be that.

    Surroundings were beautiful, middle of nowhere. Peaceful and tranquil. Staff were very helpful and polite. Food was excellent - breakfast and dinner. Room was cosy - had everything we required for one evening and could of stayed an extra two nights.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: