Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4 stars

St. Michaels Road, West Cliff, Bournemouth, BH2 5DU, United Kingdom

#34 of 79 hotels in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1702 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    The best thing about this hotel is the location - it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a cheap hotel and I expected so much more for the cost. The rooms are out dated and slightly grubby, no water is supplied which is shocking! The outdoor pool although lovely was filthy and tiles chipped with broken sunbeds as used towels everywhere. The check in was ridiculously slow huge ques and only one staff member on the tills. And as for the parking - it is awful quite frankly - it should come with a warning when you book that there is no hotel parking and it will cost you 12 pounds a day to park anywhere near the hotel. You could drive for hours trying to get a space. Disappointing and was expecting a lot more considering how much you pay for this apparent luxury!

    The best thing about this hotel is the location - it is absolutely stunning overlooking the coast and being able to sit in an outdoor pool watching the sunset is a real treat! The staff are very sweet and trying their best there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely weekend in Bournemouth, but hotel organisation could have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival we couldnt check in to 2 of the rooms for over an hour even though being told 3 o'clock was check in time. The staff couldnt find the booking despite being told 3 times that the guest names were different to the booking name. The rooms aircon needed a long time to kick in and cool the room down. One room was a double when we requested a twin, and the 3 rooms werent close to each other as we requested. The pool needed a bit of a clean!

    Amazing location, nice bright and airy rooms. Hotel is well looked after and the rooms were clean and smart, though not the most modern. Nice pool area with loungers and a bar (no view from the pool though). Impressive entrance looking over the sea, great to wake up to in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, food & location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a little dated.

    The breakfast was great - plenty of fresh options. The location of the hotel was ideal; right on the beach. Staff were also very friendly and helpful, this always makes a huge difference.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous views, lovely rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is crazy difficult (like 30 mins circling the neighborhood - please allow reservations, I'd pay!) bathroom was old, service at both breakfast and reception can be really slow. And I never did manage to get a drink at the pool - why is the bar always closed? Would love to see the pool bring in some music, change the wall to glass so you can see out and really make the best of that fab location.

    You won't care about the annoyances as the location/view is just fabulous, the building hugely impressive and the staff are super friendly (special shout out to those who helped me arrange the world's latest checkout @5pm for a very reasonable fee and the restaurant maitre'd who fitted is in twice on the terrace despite a clearly busy restaurant). Plus the restaurant should not be missed, the sea view terrace was exactly what I was looking for and of course the beach is as great as ever. Breakfast is great, definitely recommended. Once you get a parking space it's pretty reasonably priced (£12) and the bathroom was old but the shower really packed a punch.The run came with giant lotus biscuits, my favourite, and corner shop at the top of the road is very well stocked if you want any snacks too. We'll be back :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Room ok and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be tricky. Working air conditioning would be a bonus in the hot weather, otherwise it should not be mentioned on the website!

    Room ok and clean. Booked sea view and got side sea view. Air conditioning definitely not working properly, hence two fans in the room on arrival. Opening windows creates enough air flow to sleep. Breakfast ok, Dinner at the brasserie was nice, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    overall a very nice hotel, fantastic location, with nice bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the floor in the steam room was a little dirty. Handwash in the Male changing room in the leisure club ran out; informed staff at the time but couldn't be sorted.

    location, staff, cleanliness, breakfast on the terrace, facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    I have stayed in over a dozen hotels in Bournemouth over many years. The Highcliff tops that list.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To say that my biggest complaint was as inability to access local BBC/ITV News on the tv Channels says a lot. Actually that did irritate me. Not sure if it is a Marriott corporate decision or if our tv was not tuned right. I have informed the hotel. Wherever I go I always like to view local news and weather. Parking at £12 a day is steep...but mostl other hotels charge significant amounts close to the front at Bournemouth. I would like to have seen a piano in a lounge area.

    Normally such a hotel would be a bit beyond my budget. However, for one or two reasons we decided to 'splash out' on a 5 night break here. Yes, it is expensive but we enjoyed a fantasitc visit blessed with glorious weather. In fact just about everything was perfect. We had a deluxe sea view room. Air-con was a big plus with this hot weather. Liked the uncluttered, understated decor in the room. Views outside were lovely. Right on top of the West Cliff...our favourite area in Bournemouth. Breakfast was excellent and the good weather meant each day we could enloy it on the terrace overlooking the Bay...wonderful! We made good use of the excellent heated indoor and outdoor pools...athough much time was spent on the glorious golden sands below. Plenty of lawned expanse too for sitting in the sun or shade. The lounges/bar areas were compact but fed well into one another..so always somewhere to sit for a quiet or more lively moment. Staff were helpful and cheerful without ever becoming over familiar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall great location for the BIC which I attend every year...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't seem to be very accommodating when late check out is requested couldn't get back into room after 12pm even though late check out was eventually agreed

    Overall great location for the BIC which I attend every year this my second time staying here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoyed our stay the view is amazing the weather match it perfectly. Reception are friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast it's not much choices compared to where I've been to a lots of hotel in U.K. and the world. I think it's not worth value for money talking about breakfast my partner is vegan especially.

    Love the location and the excellent view , the pool are should be up to date and the bar should be open it's a long walk to get drinks to the main hotel to swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    let down for the price charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air conditioning not up to standard.(did not work) General decoration needs painting etc . lights not working poor bathroom products. Trading off an established name. Will not stay there again and definitely not recommend it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Would stay again for sure.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ironing board was broken and although i asked for one it took to me asking again and taking a full day to get a new one. fridge in room wasnt very cold and no controls on it to adjust this. Breakfast needs to be hot as food was good but always luke warm.

    swimming pool area outside was great. fully secluded with bar and green areas as well as outside tennis courts. hot tub, sauna and steam room all open until 11pm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.5
    Clean, friendly and very good breakfast and evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a bit of a problem getting internet connection

    The evening meal was excellent. It was my birthday and the waitress brought me over a glass of complimentary bubbly. Very friendly and courteous staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Outdoor pool drama
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor pool was not clean. We had to swim with dead fly flowing next to us.

    Excellent location. We had a great room facing the sea. Wonderful catering staff, they made my son felt right at home.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Loved spending the day by the outdoor pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms this year were much smaller than that of our stay last year, this hotel is one of the most expensive to stay at on this particular weekend, the rooms should represent that. A little disappointed in the restaurant this year too, the waitress messed up our order on the first night & twice the steak was not cooked how we had asked for it to be cooked.

    The outdoor swimming pool area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall OK after the 2 `beefs` above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI is shocking - so difficilt to start up - OK when done but its quite a pallaver. Hotel Parking is VERY expensive espcially when paying so much for food. There should be a bonus system in place to encourage people to stay there and eat but receive a credit for the expensive Car Park.

    Beach accessility, Views, Ambience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    A great chain of Hotels and sub Hotels but various little things make them so different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    After spending my professional life in Marriot Hotels and I find comfort, warm and concern by staff. I spent 3 years in Russia and the staff were great. As I was on a long stay they made me feel I was not alone and part of the Hotel, bloddy great people.

    The property is in two worlds,on the one hand reflecting days gone by and on the other, modern clean functional rooms, plumbing needs updating re bath and may a shower these days. I understand they are working on it. So it reflects comment made by users. will return and have returned, My sincere thanks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Slightly disappointed with the room ,but the location is spot on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Up graded to a suite , the noise was not exeptable for a room at that price, and was slightly tired needed a little care ,

    Close to beach, view from the room ,and room size

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Return stay was not as good as my first
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion at check in as I booked two rooms because my parents came with us, booked a family room for them but was given a small double room? No help offered with bags, last time I stayed I was given full customer service and vip treatment as I stayed in a suite in main building. Key cards for the doors hardly ever worked, ac didn’t work properly, windows are really old so on a hot day it becomes really warm, dirty towels with lipstick marks still on them, hairs in the bath, my wife was having a shower and half way through the water just stopped working while she had shampoo on her hair! The phones on the rooms are dated and don’t work properly, tried to order room service a few times but no one picks up? Limited room service menu, not much choice at all. Having stayed before and had a really good experience, we had high expectations but were let down this time round, doubt we will stay again.

    Good location, close to the beach, great view being high up on a cliff, parking, swimming pool for adults and kids, good size rooms, stayed in one of the cottages so you get your own private entrance to your room so it was quiet, good friendly staff happy to help when you ask, breakfast is nice and staff again always helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    some aspects let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi wouldn’t work, our room wasn’t cleaned, was charged double for parking - which if you were paying by machine, you had to pay £24 in £1 coins.. not ideal

    Was perfectly positioned by the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely Hotel - all staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little disappointed in the cleaniness of the paintwork on doors in our room, it was like if workmen had been in with dirty hands all round handles, I went round with wipes cleaning!!!

    Pillows were so lovely and bed was comfortable too. Slept really well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Most enjoyable, friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our superior twin had a large bathroom but the shower was in the bath. My husband is now disabled and was unable to use the shower at all.I understand from staff at the hotel that only 1 room has a shower suitable for disabled users

    All meals in the Brasserie Blanc restaurant were excellent .We had breakfast daily, 2 evening meal and room service on 2 nights. The food was tasty and the menu offered a good choice plus daily specials.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Five days of Heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike the hotel is beautiful

    Everything the rooms the public areas the spa the dining room but best of all the staff they were amazing professional obliging friendly nothing was too much trouble five star service it was my second visit and I shall be back again very soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing - would expect it be a 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness of bathroom. Water in basin did not drain and plug matter with other people's hair. Room dusty (especially under bed) and surfaces. Breakfast (cooked) not replenished and quite cold.

    Location and view great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location and large comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is so limited we were suck parking in a local pay and display car park for our stay at full price. Parking nearly cost the same as a night in the hotel

    Amazing location and large comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed the stay but over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very grand hotel but the rooms are tired. Shower cubicle a bit small, easy to knock the hot water outlet and scold yourself. Bath also very grand but no where accessible to put soaps etc. Furniture in bedroom didn't meet the price, there was a mirror but no dressing table underneath, power point for hairdryer behind the tv.

    Fantastic location. Easy parking. Easy access to beach, gardens, town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and very enjouable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think more could be made of the poolside bar as very limited options perhaps offering snacks or something other than crisps. People were making the most of the good weather and were still using the outdoor pool and also others were coming out to sit for an early evening drink but when they went up to order at 6.00 pm they were told it was closed. Earlier in the day a few people were asking for certain drinks only to be told that they either hadn't got it or it had run out the night before. I was given a gin a tonic out of a can! This was also the case in the main bar when we went in for a nightcap - this was a little surprising as wouldn't expect this of such a large hotel chain.

    The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. The facilities were perfect and the fact that the weather was on our side was great too. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a Junior Suite which was very much appreciated. The outside pool area with comfy loungers were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfy bed and huge tv in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room clean but in need of redecoration.

    Comfy bed and huge tv in room. Heated outdoor pool was great. Breakfast was lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    The location was good and I was moved to a cottage which had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They couldn't find the 2 rooms that I booked only 1 so they moved us to the cottages which were lovely but then charged me a no show for the room they couldn't find on the system which I was not happy about. My key stopped working twice when your with a toddler this is a hassle!!

    The location was good and I was moved to a cottage which had a sea view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.6
    Really disappointed. I’ve never ever rated a hotel badly before this is a first for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need to be updated and bathrooms need to be regrouted. Towels were old. Rooms were not cleaned until well after 5pm. Clean Bed linen left on floor outside of rooms. Inconsistent food in restaurant. Inconsistent cocktails served. Bar staff were not helpful or friendly. Only one guy was particularly friendly(beared big guy). Breakfast was of poor standard. Had to pay for parking. I think the hotel is understaffed . I had my shoes stolen from my room. When trying to contact the hotel by phone cannot get through using option 4 you either get cut off immediately or it just rings and rings. I have stayed in this hotel before and really enjoyed it but that was 4 years ago. It has now gone really downhill. I stayed recently at the Marriott in Orlando which was amazing. So sad that hereback home the service and property is so poor. I will not be staying again.

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable overall - would not use spa again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    access in and out of pool changing room ridiculously complicated. Not that clear on how to operate lockers. (remember people going swimming will not be wearing their reading glasses)Floor extremely slippy and dangerous. Spa looks and feels tired.

    Room extremely spacious and comfortable Staff friendly and polite Breakfast very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent even the weather was in top form. All staff very very friendly & extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very over charged, if parking places had a number then allocated for the full time to the same car number so that when you popped out you can re Park not drive round till one become available after all when choosing to park there for the over charge parking at least you can have your space and not drive round til one becomes available. thought the menu in main restaurant over priced so did not use it. It’s a shame the bar menu wasn’t changed on a daily basis as it did get boring especially when like me I didn’t like much on the menu, shame cos what I liked was very good, all staff here very friendly

    The views and all staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Got through it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is well passed it's best before date. Torn lino on the bathroom floor which can cut your feet. Dust all over the place. Only one chair in the room to sit on. Windows in very poor condition; have they never heard of pvc windows in Bournemouth yet?

    Location and pool facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, lovely hotel, tremendous food. In my opion just needed more staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar staff were dreadfully slow and very thin on the ground. Check in was also quite slow due to there not being enough staff.

    Spacious bedroom, comfy bed and lovely breakfast. Dinner at Brasserie Blanc was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Amazing location, the bar area was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was lovely, asked for a double bed and got two single beds pushed together which was not that great, but all in all was amazing!

    Amazing location, the bar area was lovely. The pool and sauna section was brilliant, my partner and I spend the better part of two hours there - was brilliant!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Good however could have been a bit more comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition system was not working correctly and the rooms were very hot and uncomfortable to sleep in. Even when told staff and an engineer came out to repair after the first night it was still not working correctly.

    The breakfast was fantastic really good quality food and very tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Stunning location, perk to have a clif top pool despite the fact the facilities are dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was quite shocked to find WiFi was chargeable (£6 an hour or £12 a day). Even local cafes offer this free nowadays. It felt like the hotel was trying to make a fast buck out of me which was unreasonilble when I paid £175 a night. Everywhere has free internet nowadays, the money they make from this probably doesn’t justify he bad will such a cost engendered. They asked me to pay a deposit to have funds on account for anything I wanted to charge to my room during the stay. Not a problem but being told any excess might not be returned to me for 5 days just didn’t sit well with me. It’s not the money, it’s an issue or fair play and I integrity which I felt was lacking for both the issues I have mentioned here.

    The hotel restaurant is a Brasserie Blanc, lovely food, fresh modern decor and beautiful views of the sea. The views of Bornemouth and the sea from the pool area are lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Creaky floorboards , drive you mad especially late at night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky floorboards , drive you mad especially late at night and early morning 🤨 did mention it to reception and they took off car park charge , would of rather no noise to be honest .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Overall a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were delayed getting into our room - ninety minutes wait from the first time given to us. What a shame that front desk staff have to take the flack and that duty managers seem to be 'invisible'. Hope the hotel management recognise how good their front desk staff are! Guests - arrive early if you want to park in the hotel car park.

    Front desk reception staff were splendid - professional, pleasant and knowledgeable. They also had to shoulder the complaints from us [and other quests] about housekeeping delays. NOT THEIR FAULT. Managers knew the hotel was fully booked so why not employ extra housekeeping staff to prepare rooms! We did appreciate the steps reception staff took to compensate us for the room delay - they were thoughtful. Our room was in fact in a cottage overlooking the seafront - lovely. I had rung the hotel just before our stay to ask if a seafront room might be possible - this exceeded expectations. Hotel is in a superb location if you're needing the B.I.C.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a location the view is fabulous and a short walk into town.

    Top draw the staff are so compassionate we went after a funeral we where still very upset when we arrived and the staff were so comforting and nice to us they actually brought us tissues out I could only give them 10 out of 10 we can't wait to go back for new year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel - not really a relaxing day spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car Parking was £24 on site or £18 off site for 24 hours (slight shock). The site is slightly run down, but still a nice venue. I would NOT day spa here, it was very basic and a lot of children around.

    Great location - great restaurant, swimming pools both inside and outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one the cottages outside the main building. Floor in cottages makes a lot of noise. You can hear every(!) step in the rooms above. Also, if you go to the bathroom at night, the noise from the floor will probably wake up the person staying with you.

    Cottage had sea view, compfy bed, very friendly staff, free water with lemon on arrival, hotel close to beach and bicyle rental, nice view from restaurant/bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just don’t think it was value for money. It cost us more to stay here than the Intercontinental 02 in London and the Intercontinental included a full buffet breakfast. It was also a bit noisy in our room.

    Bed was comfortable and location and view (had ocean view room) were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Location is everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some areas are dated. Carpets in the public areas are a little grubby.

    Perfect location for easy access to the beach via the funicular as we had a 90 year old lady with us. Excellent breakfast and good menu in the Brasserie for evening meals. Loved the heated outdoor swimming pool. Exceptionally comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel, friendly atmosphere, outstanding food fro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable hotel, friendly atmosphere, outstanding food fro Brassiere Blanc, especially the best Marriott breakfast we’ve had. Great position and our sea view room good value. Should be free to park though!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    beyond our expectations and made our much needed break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we weren't aware there was free wi-fi as the hotel pack only mentioned "packages available". i didn't particularly enjoy the sausages at breakfast... now that's being picky. fantastic holiday 99.999%

    the staff, the leisure club, the facilities were ALL fantastic and really helpful and friendly. even offered to store our bikes in a free meeting room if we take them next time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby Dirty carpets and furniture Not friendly staff one had halitosis. Bathrooms need updated Breakfast room service was totally wrong. Over priced poor quality drinks.

    The location and parking view and the pools.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel to stay near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet flush is playing up a bit in our room but it was manageable.

    Location, Bed, proximity to the beach, amazing staff, Blackout curtains and airconditioned rooms!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    The holiday was great, the staff friendly and the hotel nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was only provided with complimentary water in the room for two days. When I asked at reception they did supply a bottle of water for a further two days on request but I was told by reception on the last night that it was not included. On one occasion the house keeping staff replaced towel in one of my service users rooms however left the old towels on the floor of the bedroom. This was a potential trip hazard for this person who has mobility problems. Milk was not always replaced in my room and needed to be requested.

    The location was excellent. The staff were friendly. The Brasserie Blanc was an excellent dining experience and I would highly recommend it. There was a handy lift down to the beach for those of us who were less able as I took a group of people with learning disabilities on their annual holiday to the High Cliff. This cut out the trek down the hill to the beach for them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Very disappointed to discover upon arrival that my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed to discover upon arrival that my considerable Marriott points (38,000) could not be used for this stay because I did not book online - this was not made clear to me before hand. Also the bonus points promised in an online promotion I received from you promising bonus points for a one night stay were not honoured at check out. The primary reason we chose to stay at this hotel was to use our bonus points which we were disappointingly unable to use. The staff were very courteous, but unable to help with the above.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Great weekend in an amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion nothing to dislike !!

    We were very happy with everything. The room was lovely,beds very comfortable,extras such as a fridge,iron etc was very welcome. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast so much to choose from! As it was a hot weekend the air conditioning was great and we had a very good nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Great experience overall but disappointed that bar ran out of a popular liqueur - Baileys
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lower temperature for aircon , preset at 19 degrees lowest did not really have much effect on hot room temperature great

    Excellent reception staff and great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed x
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping side was a big let down bedroom had not been cleaned properly underneath the chest of drawers where the kettle was there was an old milk carton and other bits, a dust cobweb hanging from ceiling and the hall way had dirty glasses left against wall there in the morning and still there in afternoon.

    The breakfast there was plenty of choice . The communal areas looked clean and gave a good impression.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    Average expected more from this a highly rated hotel
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ment to be a deluxe double it was tiny and so hot there was no cupboard space to un pack . My husband had to leave his clothes in the case . Had to ask at 3.30 in afternoon for room to be cleaned as still hadn't been attended too . When checking out never asked if everything was suitable or how we enjoyed stay did not seem to care much .

    The swimming pool Closeness to the town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    The sun shone and the beach was a stones throw away . A happy stay even if the hotel was mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely hard and the pillows too soft. The bathroom flooded when you used the shower which explains the damp smell. Breakfast at £14.95 is expensive. The breakfast staff are quite aggressive telling what you can and can’t have for this amount . It is expensive and should at that price be all inclusive from the menu. The food is good quality and well presented and the location is perfect. Because if that I would stay again but no longer than overnight.

    The location is excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a quick overnight to enjoy a concert at the Conference centre, just minutes away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed in breakfast - I had the cooked and did not enjoy the bacon or sausages. In the room, the toilet paper needs to be improved!

    The staff were great, bed really comfortable and a beautiful sea view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay would highly recommend and will definitely be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet didn’t fit the king sized bed- however it was a very warm weekend so luckily that didn’t matter to much !

    The swimming pools, the breakfast and the size of the bed it was huge and so comfy! The view from our room - sea view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    A break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the parking was half price at £12.50 if you were staying in the hotel I still believe if you are paying for a hotel room you shouldn’t really then have to pay for parking in the hotel grounds.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, although it is up a small hill if you are walking from the beach/Oceanarium end. Our room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was lovely with all the cooked food being replenished quickly. The check out time of 12 was great and the breakfast times really suited us as it ran until 11am so you could have a lay in if you wanted to. The staff were freindly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    Expensive and not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu small and same every night Used bed linen left in guest’s corridor Poor bar service and over charged Pot luck parking, bad at £12 a night £15 for breakfast, at least £5 more than average

    Expensive food but good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Spa, restaurant and location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, the room was too hot, there was another window in he room without a blind and when asked the reception if they could do anything about it they were very unhelpful.

    Spa, restaurant and location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely sea veiw location spa good breakfast great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above explained

    The spa was very nice and was able to use outdoor pool weather aloud us. I must say I thought our room was a bit shabby and could do with some decorating,there was a nasty piece of wallpaper added to the wall where something once was for a superior room thought it would be more modern but lovely comfy bed and fantastic sea veiw

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Good experience. Enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quick check in and free parking could have made our stay much better.

    The cleaniness was good. The location of the property alongwith the amenities available made our stay good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    i paid a lot of money for location- the least to expect was a better service from staff. 2nd s
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff were stressed. Not personable. not listening. rushed. The breakfast again customers had to ask staff to bring more food out. The service waiting to be asked for tea or coffee was terrible.The hotel rooms look tired

    The reception staff were nice Beds are comfortable Nice location Parking always a problem

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being made aware of the water aerobic activity at 10.30 to have gone at that time for a swim and check out at 12 It wouldn’t have been possible.

    Everything perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location in Bournemouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you end up staying in the Dorchester wing, you need to walk through the car park or via a convoluted route to get to reception Creaking floorboards make it rather noisy Room rate was a little high for the standard of room we stayed in

    Great location above Bournemouth beach Good breakfast selection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable return visit to the Highcliff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking is tight and quite expensive, given the cost of the hotel accommodation. They need to rethink the background music that is played in the Brasserie. It is irritating and sounds poor through a rather tinny system!

    We've stayed here many times and will keep returning. All of the staff are excellent. They are super-friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The breakfast is wonderful- in fact, the Brasserie Blanc has been a great addition. Check out time is very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A most enjoyable short stay in Bournemouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Marriott is very central in Bournemouth on the West Cliff, with a lift down to the beach across the road and the town centre a 10 minute walk. It is a very comfortable hotel, pleasant bars with inside and outside seating and wonderful food - both breakfast and dinner - in the Raymond Blanc Brasserie. We were upgrades to a suite on the 2nd floor with views over the coats and sea towards Old Harry Rocks. A very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.5
    Comfortable nice hotel close to beach and conference centre.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything I didn’t like.

    The leisure facilities were nice and the staff were friendly and polite. Comfortable room. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Excellent location near the beach and as I was at a conference very convenient for the conference centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleased to have stayed and will return but next time to a sea facing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would definitely return to the Highcliff Marriot as the location is perfect for us. The hotel is of a high standard albeit the room was a little tired. Facilities are excellent and the food good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    A great location, good food, and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking signs were confusing (the road round to the car-park said "emergency vehicles only", and we didn't realise that we'd have to pay £12 (to be fair, when we queried this, the £12 was removed from our bill). Another "signage" issue was about WiFi.. We read in the room-brochure that we'd have to pay for wi-fi access (so we didn't try and use it) , but later discovered that our room package would have entitled us to free wi-fi..

    Reception staff were really helpful when we asked for a room with a broader sea-view. Restaurant staff at evening dinner were helpful about choice of dishes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, great stuff in the leisure centre, shame about the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room location was good, but the bathroom was very tired and the bath had chips and rust marks/mould around the bath. I had a shower in the leisure centre rather than using the bathroom. I was going to complain but as we were only there one night

    Location was great swimming pools were brilliant The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location, friendly staff, lovely reception area, rooms in need of refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First bedroom very claustrophobic with view of the car park, very poor for the money. Got moved into a sea view room which was basic but much better than original. Rooms desperately need more wow factor compared to downstairs. Expensive for such a basic room.

    Breakfast beautiful & the lobby, bar & restaurant very tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in area very hard

    Fabulous hotel, lovely friendly welcome. Upgraded to sea view and WOW such a beautiful treat in the morning. Restaurant, bar and lobby area all amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy from upstairs. The room wasn't finished to a high standard. Various damage to room. Parking can be difficult for a larger vehicle.

    Breakfast very tasty, beach view was amazing. Staff friendly and approachable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath dated, water very slow to run

    Complimentary upgrade for birthday with chocolates and wine, excellent thank you. Afternoon tea with splendid views Excellent meal in brasserie

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay, lovely room with a few of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, controls and spray were awful.

    Lovely omelette made fresh for breakfast. Cocktails, I'll be back even if just to have a drink in the bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: