Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bovey Castle 5 stars

North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Moretonhampstead, TQ13 8RE, United Kingdom

#6 of 8 hotels in Moretonhampstead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 437 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Recommended, very enjoyable and relaxing in a beautiful area. Cant wait ot go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed the Bovey Castle experience, it is a beautiful hotel and very relaxing and comfortable. The food was excellent and staff helpful. The bar was great and the lounges and rooms comfortable. We would recommend this venue.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely setting for a Olde World type of hotel with good food although very over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Valley Castle room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel needs some work, at first glance it is lovely but looking closer the paint is peeling off around the window frames on the central stairs and carpets are stained. They cater for dogs so extra care needs to be take to ensure any mess is cleaned up properly.

    Beautiful hotel just on the edge of the moors, at first glance it is old world stunning. However staff are ill informed on restaurant availability and initially told us they couldn't help with dinner when actually they could. Some staff in the main diningroom are unhelpfull and don't seem to really enjoy their jobs. The events organized are great and they do offer a book on walks around the area which is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Two members of staff in particular made our stay extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two members of staff in particular made our stay extra special. We don’t know there names but the lady was in the smiths restaurant foreign accent probably Eastern European seemed to be in charge and the gentleman was also in the restaurant had only been there 2months both were very friendly and went the extra mile to make our stay special. The falconry display was entertaining and informative I have seen falconry a few times previously but this was the best yet for entertainment.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Best hotel in a long while.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing (except that I couldn’t stay another night)

    Everything. Superb location, beautiful building, charming staff, great food, fantastic room. I’d definitely come again and recommend it to my friends.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location, excellent food, restful and calming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queuing for breakfast and having to ask three times for someone to take my order. Staff not getting back to you regarding spa treatments.

    Beautiful location, excellent food, restful and calming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    3.3
    Absolutely terrible - avoid at all costs unless you only want to play golf and not eat there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I only ate in the hotel and on the second night I had horrific food poisoning, hotel manager completely refuted it and staff unhelpful and sometimes rude. The meal cost £225 and from 3am that evening I awoke with sickness and diarrhoea. Blatantly from the seafood starter and my husband also got diarrhoea the manager talked over us, ignored simple facts and insisted his kitchen checked ‘they used the right boards in the kitchen’ It was laughable how much they didn’t care it had happened and were more concerned about covering it up. Not so much as an apology. Overall the service was one of the worst I’ve ever experienced for a hotel of this star rating, service was slow staff were arguing amount themselves, one grumpy bar waitress told us she’d been working over 12 hour shifts and was too tired. Room tv and internet didn’t work. Again staff unhelpful. The good value for money was dire, we were charged £67 for 4 G&Ts (almost £17) ridiculous. Even the bistro cheaper food was poor and over priced. Avoid ordering anything from either of their restaurants.

    Castle grounds were lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, cleanliness, food and drink all an issue. Rooms - dirty and dated Hotel - carpets, flooring all seen better days Breakfast - food overdone Drinks - limited

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Location and estate grounds and building - reception staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Western restaurant and bar service very very slow and overly formal which spoilt the experience

    Location and estate grounds and building - reception staff and concierge very welcoming and helpful- breakfast staff good - bird of prey display enjoyable and educational

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding stay in Dartmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At Breakfast it was a bit chaotic. For example we did had spoons and there was at first not clear, if it is selfservice or service.

    The location is great and huge. The area is stunning. The house is asdolute a castle. The swimming pool is big and has big windows to the countryside. The bar has an extraordinary choice of Whiskys. The rooms has all comfort and the additional compliments, like Gin, are nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Superb stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    A beautiful traditional English hotel, quality and standards evocative of a bygone age. Fantastic location, food superb and great service. I had always wanted to stay here and finally did so, it was everything I hoped.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    A disappointing and expensive stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The description of our castle room was either a partial view of the valley or courtyard view - room 41 has no partial valley room and it was right over the car-park! If this is what they mean by courtyard view they should say it is the car park - we were very disappointed having paid a higher rate so we could appreciate something of the surroundings. Also the meal we had in the Brassiere was not good.

    The bed was super comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    If you want to rest, recharge and just smell the country air in a luxurious setting, this is it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Having spent 14 days there we had an opportunity to really enjoy ourselves, but there were a few things that we could see being improved: - the service was hit or miss. Some people were lovely and so willing to help and assist while others seemed to have a constant frown. The first four days, there were several mistakes with our bills (one amounting to a 70 pound error) and it wasn't until we were forced to raise it to management that there were no further errors for the duration of the stay. - Restaurant selection - the restaurants were lovely and the food was fine but I felt the menus could be expanded. Again we were there for 14 days so perhaps we were just getting bored of the choices by then. Next time, would consider the lodge so that we have the option of preparing our own food.

    The view from the hotel is spectacular and even after spending 14 days, it still took our breath away. There are several footpaths and we would days just walking around the country side. There is also quite a bit to do on the premises for a fee such as falconry, archery, gin making, golf, 4x4 trek, fawn feeding and for no cost, tennis, swimming etc. The wifi is great which is important because there is no mobile signal anywhere on the property or nearby. This is the same for the people who live in the area. Within the hotel, there are lots of rooms to read and relax as well. We spent a afternoons in the library, outside, or in the Adams rooms reading by the fire place when it rained and again after dinner. Overall it was a very relaxing vacation and we would definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Grand and Glorious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally nothing but specifically a few niggles. The windows were filthy, white streaks which housekeeping couldn’t clean as they are on the outside. The wet room floor becomes lethal when wet but there’s only one mat. There is no air con which according to Emma on reception is because of it being a listed building. However just below my room next to the pétanque court was an external air conditioner (I presume related to the Spa or Smiths kitchen. A Dyson fan was provided to cool the room but without the remote control so no adjustments could be made to either speed or oscillation. Quite small but unnecessary faults.

    Whilst not quite a castle, this stately home is breathtaking in its visual impact and splendour. The bedrooms have been newly refurbished to a high standard. There are a few ‘nice touches’ within the roon environment, fruit, coffee maker, spring water from the estate, a sample of their sloe gin, seeets and turning down of the beds in the evening. The view from the room and the terraces.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a very long journey to get there so decided to have an early supper. No menu in the lodge and when we phoned for room service, we were told that they would need 24 hours’ notice! So we decided to eat at Smith’s Brasserie in hotel instead. Despite it being virtually empty, we were told by the restaurant manager that there would be no tables for another 90 mins ‘until at least 8.30pm’ but we could try the Great Western Restaurant. We really weren’t in the mood for fine dining at the Great Western so we were ‘allowed’ to take the Smith’s Brasserie menu and eat in the seating area under the stairs which we did. When we went to pay the bill after an hour or so, I was annoyed to see Smith’s Brasserie still virtually empty. Not pleased. Don’t mind paying top prices but I expect the service to match. The water in the pool and in the jacuzzi in the spa was cold.

    The lodge was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Peaceful and Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roads leading to the Castle are a little bit scary if you are not used to drive in very narrow streets with traffic in both directions. Another issue some people may find unsettling is the fact that there is no mobile service coverage in the hotel area for most of the time. But I think of this as an advantage to force you to disconnecte your busy life and enjoy the peaceful location and the fresh air without being disturbed.

    Everything was great and met my expectations of the hotel. The room was comfy and clean. The facilities are available. The staff were friendly and professional. And finally, the food was really amazing. If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay in Dartmoor Park then this should be your first choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Luxurious, but not mobility friendly, reassuring regarding attitudes to customer service here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have mobility issues, none of the paths around the lodge were safe to use, fortunately I was able to request a lift, but it did mean I was trapped otherwise. The stairs were also a problem , but not insurmountable. It would also be nice to have to in at least one extra televisions somewhere in the lodge.

    The staff here are superb, people say we are rubbish at customer service, the staff here prove that this is false, the only other place I have stayed in which is comparable is Hayman Island a 6* resort! The food in the restaurant was fresh and perfectly cooked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful luxurious historical hotel in a stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, but for the price we paid, the following could have been better: Breakfast service on our first morning was a little slow, but I sensed they were understaffed relative to the number of guests. Our bathroom had no fan and no window, so hard to expel steam and toilet smells. In the middle of an unusual heatwave, would have been nice to have just a sheet on our bed rather than the heavy duvet, especially as there was no air-conditioning. Although a fan was provided, it was difficult to sleep as we could not regulate the heat adequately. However, mattresses and pillows were extremely comfortable.

    This place is stunning, but a little off the beaten track, in one of the most beautiful parts of the UK. Expect to drive along narrow country lanes to get there. We booked a room online for 2 nights for our family of 4, expecting a large room with extra beds/sofa bed installed. However, we were very happy to find we had been allocated a suite on the second floor in the main house, with huge bedroom, living area with sofa bed, PLUS a small single room. The only negative was that we didn't have a view over the gardens. All beds were super comfortable, and we had complimentary coffee/tea, etc, plus a small bottle of their local sloe gin and packets of fudge, jelly beans and mixed nuts. The building and grounds are beautiful, with gorgeous period features inside the house, and extensive lawns plus multiple areas for recreation outside (swimming pool, croquet, mini golf, trampoline, all of which we sampled). The staff, who appeared rather young, were very helpful, competent and approachable. We had 2 dinners in the casual restaurant, both of which were delicious and good value. Breakfast was served in the formal dining room, and the options were plentiful and delicious. We took advantage of a couple of the (payable) activities, feeding the baby deer and having an archery lesson. Both were great fun. In all, a wonderful experience, but expensive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    A special place we much enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are two restaurants , the one a la carte was very very good in all aspects. The other one, reserved at given hour due to very busy, sat waiting for 20', still no service, finally left for the other restaurant

    Staff very friendly and competent, character of the place and surrounding gardens, inside pool, excellent rooms in castle, food and service in AA restaurant top, breakfast area and quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was above my expectations with a huge comfy bed. All the staff were so welcoming and friendly. The food was delicious! and a lovely bird of prey display in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing, friendly and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast prices were too high.

    Very relaxed atmosphere. Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. We felt special from the moment we arrived, valet parking, bags taken up for us and the complementary things in the room like the gin and nibbles, it was a lovely welcome. Pool and sauna/ steam room were good, nice that there were child free times as well. Grounds were beautiful to explore. We ate in the brassiere, very nice evening meal, not overpriced and the serving staff were friendly and attentive. We will definately return at some point for a longer stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Countryside luxury in beautiful setting, where making money from guests is a management's priority.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely everything is charged-for, and expensive, creating a sense of a need to get out of a trap. A cup of coffee - more than £5. £75 to extend check-out by one hour, even though no-one is coming in afterwards.

    Amazing setting, sense of countryside grandeur and luxury, falconry display, sofas and fires, golf course, tennis courts, swimming pool sauna and steam room, cleanliness. Lodges are well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, gorgeous location, staff are mostly excellent, brasserie should be avoided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smiths brasserie was disapponting. Service was very slow and it was a struggle to get drinks or food ordered. I have had better service in cheap family pubs. The food itself was average although exceedingly expensive. After Struggling to get the staff to pay us any attention at all, we were then presented with a bill that included a huge service charge. Cheeky to say the least.

    Beautiful room and very friendly valet and reception staff, leisure facilities were lovely too, very clean and enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Bovey Castle Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How warm they kept the pool room (like a sauna) & the pool itself. Would have preferred if the pool was open for adult swim earlier in the morning.

    Beautiful location & easy access to hiking. We enjoyed staying in one of the townhouses on the grounds which was very comfortable for a family of 5 adults.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, let down by food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Valley Castle room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food we found was very overpriced for the quality available. The Great Western although clearly skilled chefs the dishes we had did not work well. The Smiths Brasserie food was very average, especially the BBQ night. £35ph was extortionate for the quality and choice of the food on offer. Afternoon tea was also very poor, scones were thin and dry.

    The hotel itself building and location Is stunning!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Have been to nicer places - overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Service charge will be added to almost anything which is ridiculous considering the price of the room etc - No restocking of biscuits in the room - Food in hotel is overpriced - Most of staff appear to be on training contracts and not really used to dealing with customers

    Nice location and room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    A fantastic stay, we will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative from our stay was one member of staff (a manager) who on three occasions forgot about us! The first time he gave us lunch menus on the terrace and never came back to get our order, the second time he told us to take a seat in the lounge and he’d come take our drinks order and never came then he seated us at breakfast and we sat for 30 minutes with no coffee or toast. On the plus side the waitress who served us in the Smiths brassiere each evening was wonderful and super friendly :)

    Amazing selection of activities Beautiful facilities Lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Will be back especially if you have special rates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bunkers on the golf course !

    My husband has been going there for forty years since a little boy and we have for ten years. I think that says everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Amazing setting, great facilities, including indoor pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good to know that you had to order BBQ food or food for the lodge a day in advance although staff were helpful and we ended up having a take out from the Brassiere.

    Amazing setting, great facilities, including indoor pool, sauna, spa, play area for the kids and a lot more. Castle lodge was spacious and particularly good for those staying with kids and dogs. Liked the dog bed, treats and ball that was provided. Kitchen in the lodge also had everything you needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful building and location, comfy bed nice touches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, very hot in room and Great Western. Not the best breakfast I’ve ever had, but bistro was very good. Tired pool area and steam room not working.

    Beautiful building and location, comfy bed nice touches

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The castle is absolutely beautiful. We had a room on the ground floor; extremely comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. We really appreciated the complementary gin and snacks. When we returned from dinner the bed had been turned down and we had fudge waiting for us. Can’t wait to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Fab place, bit ott
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price v high for what you get

    Bed a bit hard,room 2, maitre dit a bit full of himself, beautiful location, nice golf course fairly dog friendly, lovely food, bit pricey, v mixed clientele

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place to relax and be merry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    £20 breakfast Service charge (tip) added on to everything, even the room. I've never even been charged this in the US - this optional tip that you have to ask to be removed is a nasty habit that more and more businesses are trying to squeeze on to the consumer and I'm totally against it.

    Flavoured Gin awaiting all new guests - I've never had that something like that offered before Tea and biscuit selection I would have LOVED to have played the golf course - sadly had no time or clubs Dinner and Breakfast Ten foot high Shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Bovey Castle is a superb hotel in beautiful grounds. The restaurants and pool are lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Valley Castle room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to have had plastic bags in the changing rooms for our wet swimwear.

    Service in the restaurant at breakfast was generally very slow. I didn't want cold toast with my breakfast and asked for fresh toast with the breakfast which never arrived.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Heaven in Devon!. A pleasure, sumptuous and so friendly, thank you all, absolute perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bovey Castle has been on my "to do" list for some time, friends, family recommending it. Well, it exceeded all of my expectations on every level. It should feature on everyone's "to do" list that's for sure, thank you all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    outstanding castle and grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Valley Castle room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought that the b/fast could have been included in the room rate. and also had an issue on check in that our valley view room wasn't the one advertised on the web site we were given a way smaller room but they did change after we asked ,the staff were friendly but not that welcoming alot of young training students working there. .reception girls a long time to answer the reception phones and too busy talking to each other. apart from that they would have received a 10/10

    the location and manner and the property grounds were amazing the gardens beautifully maintained the grandure is better than the photos on the web site it is a very peaceful and relaxing location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    We had a very happy stay and would repeat it when the budget allows.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Time to get the entrance to the pool and spa done, it's a bit tacky and from observation of someone who was there some time ago, not improved.

    Very good stay with attentive staff and comfortable accommodation. The children (6 and 9) enjoyed their visit and the restaurant staff particularly were very accommodating to them. Food was superb at dinner, breakfast not quite that standard but very good even so.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    I will be going back to this hotel to enjoy it as I should done without having pneumonia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was taken ill on arriving at the hotel and the staff were just amazing even went to the chemist to get a prescription for me, although I was too ill to enjoy this hotel what I did see and use was excemplary

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Venue amazing, staff lovely, brasserie food bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the Brasserie was very disappointing. Very expensive for very poor pub grub. We ordered the sharing Hog board, terrible. We had a night cap in the bar and the prices were ridiculous and extortionate.

    Loved the bedroom and the place in general

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location and attentive staff but disappointing when it comes to taste of the food served :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was disappointing. I ordered smashed avocado and poached egg on a muffin for breakfast. It was bland! I even put salt on it still it didnt taste good. I didnt finish it to think it was only a small portiin. For dinner i had chicken kiev. The chicken is slightly burnt (you can actually taste it aside from its burnt look) and again it was bland. Dry and tasteless. I was expecting so much for a hotel with good rating! We even planned to stay for sunday roast today but because the food, the previous night was so below average we decided to just skip breakfast that morning and the sunday roast.

    I love the location and our room. Big spacious and very comfy bed. The hotel offers activities such as falconry display and air rifle shooting which is different and very interesting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    I felt loved yet again, i miss you and can’t wait to stay again soon !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower tray in room 30 fills up with water a bit quick and overflows restricting use of shower at full pressure, complimentary nuts were missing on third night, although my Teddy Bear did look quite content for some reason so might not be the hotel’s fault! Also far too many trees haha ( jokes)!

    The attention to detail, freindliness of staff, especially Osian, Simon, Andres and Jaaon to name a few, they were all like family and staying alone that really warmed my soul more than the big open fires! I left much happier than i was before i got there!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    We liked that everything in the room was complimentary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really a negative in my book, but be aware that there is absolutely no mobile reception there (I'm on Vodafone and my wife is on O2). You can call from the room using the land line (or an internet call using hotel WiFi). We had an urgent call we used the land line for and were charged £6 for a 3 minute call to a mobile. O2 picks up from the neighbouring field...

    We liked that everything in the room was complimentary. The staff were on hand to answer any questions. Both restaurants were very good - even if a bit pricey. There were even some free activities available (we went for a walk to feed the deer that live in a field just across the gold course). There were a lot of small children at the time (as it was half term when we visited) and there is a nursery area available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing with beautiful views and wonderful staff thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Telly kept going off and got darker as the night got later. We could have done with a fan in the room. Diddnt ask because we were only there for 2 nights so we made do.

    Hotel was amazing, Simon met us at the door showed us in took our luggage to our room and made us feel very welcome. He then parked our car. Thank you Simon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Very clean and grand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so hot we could sleep, it was so uncomfortable, and when paying good money for an upgraded room wasn’t happy with not being able to sleep. Also at breakfast the member of staff who served us forgot the toast basket and we had to ask for it twice before receiving it

    Very clean and grand. Friendly helpful staff, other than at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Room was ok, hair in bed which made me feel like the sheets...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ok, hair in bed which made me feel like the sheets were not clean. On exit the receptionist was not friendly. Spa was average. Building beautiful. But very overpriced, won't be going again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place, friendly staff, we would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a 6am wake up call to our room which we didn’t ask for, very frustrating! Not long enough time left between courses in the smiths restaurant.

    We were given a room with a beautiful view. Also I mentioned when I booked it was my husbands birthday and in the restaurant they brought in a dessert and sang which was a lovely touch. The complimentary sloe gin was lovely!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    A really exquisite experience but if you want to have a drink I would go to the local pubs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The one thing I would say is that drink prices are astronomical. I ordered 2 gin and tonics (single) which came to £36! I live in London and even we don't pay that much for what we ordered.

    I wanted to surprise my partner for his birthday so decided to book Bovey Castle. Well, what can I say? It really did exceed my expectations! Valet parking, friendly staff who always go above and beyond and beautiful grounds. We did the Birds of Prey experience and Archery/Air Rifle shooting experience which were both really, really enjoyable. The staff really did make this place a dream and my partner absolutely loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    .perfect cannot wait to go again it was simply sensational .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    for us it would have been good if my grandson could have swam before 9am when it was very quiet .

    ,the room was amazing ,very comfy bed ,plenty of complimentary tea coffee and treats and lush espa bathroom products which we love ,what we had to eat was delicious and very reasonable highly recommended .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Amazing Heritage Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Valley Castle room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing room. Beautifully laid out. The hotel is kept nice and warm over the winter. Fortunately, we were enjoying unseasonably warm weather after Easter. So, unfortunately we were completely baked for the night we arrived. It was pitch black outside the windows as we had arrived late. We were not aware that we could either open the historic windows without breaking them or safely keep the them open all night. It was late. We needed sleep as a priority. So we just thought we’d persevere with the heat. It was just too late to consider making a fuss or asking to change the room. We had been told the Hotel was pretty much full anyway. Thankfully, as a welcome exception to the period styling of the room, it had a new Dyson fan. We put this on full pelt all night. Still roasted though, despite being quite shattered after a very long and tiring drive. The whirring certainly kept me awake until the early hours in the morning despite the very comfortable beds. We woke up quite hot (sweaty despite sleeping without any sheets over us), uncomfortable and a bit cranky. Which was a just at odds with my expectations of a night in an otherwise great hotel. The front desk empathised/explained the following morning. They were shortly going to switch off the central heating for the summer. Clearly this is an accepted ‘quirk’ in maintaining an amazing old place like this. These heating systems probably don’t just crank up and down swiftly at the flick of a switch like new build hotels. I completely accept that. It’s an old building. We largely resolved the issue by leaving the windows open all of the following day. However, considering the room rate I happened to pay for the two nights, realistically I felt I could possibly have spent that money better elsewhere. I’ve stayed in better rated and more comfortable/spectacular hotels for less. Realistically the rate reflects the unique opportunity to stay in a very special heritage Hotel.

    The whole hotel is amazing. Beautifully situated in the moors. Amazing architecture and very friendly staff. All very smart in their country tweeds. A lot of large family groups staying there and involving themselves in many great activities on site during the day. Wellies and water bottles available at the main entrance for outings. Lovely spa with great staff there too. We loved the swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    A great facility - Shame the room was so uncomfortably hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot and uncomfortable. The addition of a fan didn’t relieve things and the staff also didn’t seem to care about the situation. Shame they skimped on the aircon...

    Grounds and facilities were immaculate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Position of hotel and surroundings were wonderful. The staff were amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cocktail prices were too expensive. Didn’t like the hand basin in the ensuite being so low with the toilet so close to the hand basin - I think we were given a disabled room! Lighting over bathroom mirror was non existent

    Food was lovely in the great western restaurant and cocktails in the bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service tray charge was excessive

    Hotel was luxurious, rooms were immaculate and added extras such as turn down service and in room facilities were great . Dog friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Overall we loved it. We are going to book again for the end of the month.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard for me, as I have bad hips. Gave me pain during the night. However my partner said he found it comfortable. Seeing a wooden wedge keeping a fire door open. Was there day and night. Didn’t see any fire instructions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Very beautiful place with huge park and breathtaking country...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plates for dinner are big disappointment. The venison coming from their own deer farm is a real disaster (both cooking technique as well as the plate presentation). Kitchen is definitely below expectations and do not match the hotel's level.

    Very beautiful place with huge park and breathtaking country side views. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Fabulous location, room, building. Not so sure about the rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Valley Castle room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At times, felt like Ryan Air. Any excuse to charge. This is one very confused 5* with unsure staff. Breakfast coffee that bad is inexcusable at that price level.

    The rooms and the buildings are exceptional, as are the grounds. The room was fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and relaxing, which was the main aim of the visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant and bar prices were unrealistically high. I'd expect to pay more in hotels, but having stayed in others with similar room rates, I'd expect an exceptionally high standard. In short, food was good, but hardly exceptional.

    Staff were the best part of the visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely place, expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to wait until 3.15 to get my room - unacceptably long for a 5 star hotel Sandwich and drink was expensive at lunch

    Room was very comfortable having been refurbished in the recent past Public areas very impressive Golf course was immaculate even after heavy rain

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Nice but would think twice about going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a hotel that is trying to be 5 star but hasn't got the basics right. Exceptionally expensive for the service and standard they are reaching.

    Location is lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    All fabulous and not in the least bit stuffy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful burger in the brasserie. Slight smell of drains in the bathroom (room 56) but cleared with opening of windows.

    All fabulous and not in the least bit stuffy. Super shooting instructor and all round sense of fun and relaxation. Truly amazing food in the Great Western Restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    The Bovey Castle is like the backdrop to a romantic film, they allow ‘you’ to script it though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a refill of the complimentary Slo Gin , but that would be cheeky of me! Seriously not really anything i can fault, i have stayed in many 5 star hotels and this one ticks all the boxes, it is the ultimate English Country Hotel, there is no other that meets my demands!

    The friendliness of staff , especially Osian and Simon on arrival and Robert and others in the bar, tea room! They treat me like a family member, this kind of close attachment to guests who are alone is really great and they are very genuine with it! I cannot sing the praises of the staff enough! Osian especially greeted me by name when i arrived and i only stayed there once before, i could have chatted to him all day, such an interesting guy who took a lot of interest in me and made me feel so welcome, such a Gent and cannot do enough for the guests ( Simon the same) I hope Bovey Castle appreciate what amazing staff they have , please don’t loose this, it’s one of the main reasons i like staying there, you’re like my extended family now! xx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Apart from the massage it was simply perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast took almost an hour to come and made me a few minutes late for my massage. The massage was then odd with my hair being pulled (hairs tangling in her fingers painfully) at times and then I was left with very greasy hair that I had to go down to the spa and shower out. The staff were very dismissive of my questions about needing to shampoo my hair which was messy and greasy at the end having been washed that morning. Attention to this detail after a £67 massage would have been most welcome!

    The Western restaurant was amazing for our evening meal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant! Luxury and comfort with with a relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only very small niggle was the price of the pre dinner prosecco. This is not champagne and at £12 per small glass, it seemed too much!

    Staff were fantastic. Attentive but relaxed and friendly. The lounge and bar areas were lovely. Plenty of space to relax. The whole atmosphere is quality but in relaxed and homey way. The perfect balance. Food in the Brasserie was fabulous. Everything excellent quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful hotel, great food, but limited with something to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware that if there is bad weather, you can't do something else because the hotel is far away from any other place (unless of course you have a car). The spa was all booked so that was a dissapoinment. Also: I lived weird noises near my room...pipelines...children running... couldn't relax as it should be. And the shows they offer in tv are limited vey limited...they offer pay movies but are old ones.

    The room was very beautiful as seen in the pictures. The mattress is was the BEST. Food great! Their homemade hamburger is delicious. Big, yummy. Since the hotel is far away of everything keep in mind that you are there only to relax. You can only have as activities: the tours the hotel offers (such as cider, hunting) or go golfing, swimming in the pool, watch tv, eat. That's all!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Generally good but and staff mostly seemed very nice and helpful. But unfortunately it only takes a
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant manager meant to be nice but felt he was quite insulting at the same time. For example felt judged on the fact he asked oh so you came here on a deal right like an internet deal. Over cooked eggs on both mornings one be scrambled and other being poached Had to send meal back in brassiere as it was cold. Staff in there were very nice Charged for breakfast twice even though I emailed to add to package before arriving and had to ask again at reception on arrival. And we’re charged again on departure. With an added service charge on everything. I’m happy to tip but when your paying £17 for two scones and a cup of tea maybe some service should be included

    The facility and general look of hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    I originally booked this for my parents as my mother was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I originally booked this for my parents as my mother was celebrating her 78th birthday she has been unwell and I telephoned ahead of their arrival to make sure all was ok. The staff were amazing and my parents were treated like royalty

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Room and view stunning immaculately clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food & service in Smith’s restaurant terrible Sunday lunch in The Great Western good not amazing but good Smith’s on the other hand shocking Restaurant wasn’t full but we waited for ten minutes until we asked to order drinks, staff kept ignoring us and generally moving around the restaurant yet not actually doing anything Food was poor the bread was one of those part baked baguettes which I’ve not seen in years surely at this style of establishment they can serve better quality food Bovey is a stunning location but if you like great food it leaves a lot to be desired

    Room and view stunning immaculately clean Pool ok although too warm for me but facilities excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    It was comfortable and the staff were really helpful and approachable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The height of the bed. There was no light bulb in the lamp on the desk.

    The bed was very comfy, but really high! Food was good, but we think over priced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave.

    Everything! Food fantastic. Large room. Spotlessly clean. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Like everything in this world, you get what you pay for and this was worth every penny.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice reception especially from the Valet Staff. It would be nice to be served by more British people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in Smiths Brasserie I felt was overpriced and in one instance had to be sent back.

    The extras provided in the room (e.g. fresh milk for the coffee machine). The bar staff in the Oak bar were very professional although £9 for a glass of wine or a large bottle of beer was a bit high.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food was very mediocre

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is set in beautiful surroundings. The food in the restaurant was disappointing and not great value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful surroundings and grounds ,castle exquisite .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was spacious and comfortable and very warm with good lighting .Food was good But poor choice if you had a long stay ,pool and sauna lovely ,steam room in need of attention .grounds lovely to walk around well mantained . Dogs allowed .if you go in January it is very quite not many couples there .food is expensive and surcharges are added .The staff were kind and attentive .we chooose to do the shooting activity which was amazing ,excellent fun and guided by a fantastic coach Quentin .we were taught to use guns safely and guided throughout .I would recommend this .I would go again but consider going out for some meals as vegetarian choices were very sparse .instead of serving a quorn sausage for vegetarian breakfast you were given a croquette with carrots and peas ,quite awful and not to five star standard .I would recomoned Bovey castle but consider taking some wine and beverages with you for your room as a gin and tonic is around £16.00 but a good variety of choice with a massive selection of whiskeys .The grounds and house are exquisite .The food was served well beautifully presented with nice quality products .The home made granola was delightful ,full English breakfast was well presented and tasty I’m told ,The continental breakfast was fine .comfort five star ,espa toiletries excellent .Dog friendly which is great ,service and staff excellent . A very lovely place to stay .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel in beautiful setting with great walks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room only price could have included breakfast extra cost of £20 each

    Lovely room impressive hotel in beautiful setting food was fantastic in the Brassiere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous, beautiful hotel with great service and stunning location. Expensive but worth it overall.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could provide an outside hose for washing down muddy dogs. They do provide towels which is helpful, but after a long walk a large dog needs a full wash. They provided activities which was a main reason I chose the hotel but there was no clear person in charge. All good options were expensive. I was ready for that, but sometimes at lunch for example with kids who are not quality sensitive, some low cost options would be helpful as opposed a 12 Pounds super duper club sandwich.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.2
    Basic - the decor and cleaning schedule wasn't 5 star whatsoever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being put in the Mews accommodation and not the main castle as we had expected. We were out on our own in a windy and much lessor standard place, which meant we didn't get the 5 star experience whatsoever, plus breakfast wasn't included.

    The setting was very grand

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Ordered room service on the first evening and the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered room service on the first evening and the food was worse than I can cook myself. Not good for a 5 star hotel. 3 times fried chips tasted old like they were yesterdays left overs refried. £32 for steak and yukky chips - appalling. We were on 2 nd floor by the stairs above the brasserie and the stair well and landing constantly smelt of stale fried fish. Yuk not good for a B and B let alone a 5 star. I booked this as a Christmas treat so very disappointed with the food and smelly hallway. Hotel and grounds are stunning. Such a shame as otherwise would have been a lovely visit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful experience - shame about the beds!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Lodge
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found the beds way too soft and uncomfortable. Think this was just our preference rather than the mattresses being old. We had a Christmas wreath on the door but no other decorations in the lodge or near the lodges which I thought was a shame.

    It's a very special place - feel very lucky that I had the chance to stay there. Beautiful building inside and out. Traditional and yet not fussy or stuck in time. We stayed in a lodge and was surprised to find it as big as a house - normally you get a much smaller rooms. It even had a utility room! We were also amazed that we were given a family Christmas present on Christmas Day! It was great to have cleaners in every day who made the beds, emptied the bins etc. (this was included in the price)

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: