Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bowl Inn 3 stars

Church Road, Almondsbury, BS32 4DT, United Kingdom

#2 of 4 hotels in Almondsbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 481 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast served rather late (opens 7 but first food only available 15-20 mins later) and choice primarily limited to English breakfast- limited light option

    Beautifull pub in a rural location Small but ok rooms Recently upgraded internet performance Nice garden terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not worth £95pn - I have stayed in much nicer for £65pn- staff friendly , waited 30 minutes and had to ask for somebody to take my dinner and drinks order, waited a further 20mins for drink, asked again and drink arrived, was advised would not be charged but was. Nice location, food ok, not worth £95 per night , very basic and old , personally wouldn’t return and would not recommend

    Location - but two expensive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were amazing - we arrived to discover that the shower in our "Twin" room was not working properly. I talked to the manager who then arranged for alternative accommodation, which ended up being 2 x double rooms for single occupancy with the second room at no additional cost. Thank you! Dinner and breakfast were both excellent and the location wonderful. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor grumble - 2 of the lightbulbs in the bathroom weren't working so it was a bit dark in there.

    Had dinner in the bar which was absolutely delicious - I can recommend the pork belly! Breakfast was equally delicious - fab Eggs Benedict.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pub/hotel had lots of character. The staff were very friendly and helpful. In the room were lovely thick towels, comfortable bed. Free parking was appreciated. We also had 2 enjoyable dinners. and 2 great breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on Saturday is 8am and we needed to leave at 7.30am so we had to go without. They did say that a continental breakfast would be available but this turned out to be cereal only, bit disappointing.

    Everything else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We really enjoyed our overnight stay at the bowl inn, our dinner was delicious. Breakfast was also very good and the service from the manager/staff supervisor was well above our expectations, she even filled our flask with hot water for our onward journey. We would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was eating alone. The food was excellent however, and although the staff were really pleasant there were delays in me finishing one course, the plates being taken away and the next course arriving.

    Room was comfortable and although overlooked the road, there was very little traffic and I had an unbroken night's sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out at 10am midweek a bit too early. Would also have preferred a later breakfast- breakfast finishes at 9 midweek. Couldn't open window to get air in as sprung shut. Proper itopen withbottke

    Awesome breakfast Nice towels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room’s window was right next to a bench for the terrace. Luckily it wasn’t the best weather for customers to venture outside. As I would have felt uncomfortable in room.

    Nice cosy pub, good food, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely old inn close to M5 exit. Evening meal and breakfast both very good with friendly helpful staff. The room was very clean and comfortable with large fluffy bath towels. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in one of the haunted bedrooms, number 5 but sadly didn't experience any paranormal activity, although we saw an orb as we were leaving the room. That was exciting. On a more serious note, there was no light cover on the ceiling light in the bathroom, or any soap on the handbasin. We used shower gel to wash our hands which was OK. The sheet on my daughter's bed came adrift in the night and I was surprised that the beds had no mattress protectors. Please consider using these. However, nono these points,would,stop us from

    I travelled with my daughter and stayed just one night to attend Badminton Horse Trials . We loved it. The pub is a lovely, full of character, olde worlde and charming building, full of history and interesting tales. We had a fabulous meal in the restaurant, all the staff were friendly and enthusiastic. Bar prices about right, not overly priced. Breakfast next morning was more than adequate, full English or continental. Absolutely lovely. All areas very clean. We will stay again next year, in fact about to book right now. We will book a extra night too so that we can explore the very pretty village of Almondsbury and the beautiful church nextdoor. Locals very friendly. We felt very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My breakfast could have been better. I ordered poached eggs on toast and mushrooms, the toast arrived dry and the mushrooms must have been cooked hours earlier and just re-heated, so weren't very nice. There was a large thermos type coffee pot and a small china pot of tea on the buffet table, so when I ordered tea the young waiter said it was on the buffet table and when I asked him when it was made he said about an hour earlier. I asked him for some fresh and he produced a lovely fresh pot of tea which was well received.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of an odd smell in the bathroom not terrible and not enough to put us off staying again, but it did mean I didn't want to spend too long in there!

    Lovely breakfast - lots of choice and so tasty! Staff were really friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it used to be better value before it was taken over by the current owners.

    Comfortable room, good location convenient for driving into Bristol city centre the next day and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy from the friday night 'bar' noise so unfortunate our room was the closest however glad to see pub obviously popular and naturally subsided at closing time. Certainly wont prevent or deter us staying again , great room and amenities , ticked all the boxes.

    Genuine charming pub near to civilisation but far enough removed to be a proper 'break'. Warm , cosy pub, excellent food and drinks selection and very welcoming staff . Have visited many times but never stayed , will definately be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A total disgrace

    We checked in no problems went for dinner at bowl inn service was rubbish two very young waiters did not have a clue asked if we smoke becausa the pub has a gas leak we don't mark on sheets not sure what came down for breakfast table set for one instead of two people got served drinks next thing 30 local men come in and descend on breakfast area on there way to cheltham races very loud and got louder could not get to juice table so we moved our tea pot and coffee and cups to another table only for the them to spread out by us again we left without breakfast they took over breakfast area we were not told of this s invasion the night before never stayed here before and will not return again when we spoke to a member of staff they told us the pub/hotel does not have a manager one is of sick the other was dismissed a week ago and the bar staff and the waiters are trying to run the pub

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Continental breakfast consisted of Coco Pops no other cereals were on the table.

    The evening meal was very nice (A lightly spice curry), a great selection or real ale (it is a tied house). Nice bedroom room & warm despite it being minus 6 outside. The cooked breakfasts are excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed in room 1 which had a fan outside that woke me up in the morning. Heating wasn't switched on in the bathroom and staff wasn't able to switch it on. Given that it was minus 5 that night, it was not a luxury to have heating in the bathroom. Got a different room for the second night which was lovely, quiet and cosy. So thanks for that!

    Stayed for 2 nights but wasn't too happy with my room so it was changed to a very nice room for my second night. Stayed here before and it probably won't be the last time. Good food and very nice real ale. Plenty of free parking space .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too close to the pub very noisy. I could here the toilet flush from the room above the pipe seemed to go through my room. The room was set up for someone with a disability but I am able bodied.

    The staff were good a so was the food no toast with my full English though

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really uncomfortable due to the mattress, which squished right down at the edge when you sat on it. I was tossing and turning all night as it was so uncomfortable. A memory foam mattress topper would really help. The room was grubby and tired, though had a fab fireplace. The shower head bracket was smashed. Our room was above the bar and was very noisy, we could hear whole conversations clearly through the fireplace. The pub does shut at 11pm however and the noise didn't disturb past this time. There are no staff on site overnight, which was a bit of a shock.

    The pub was sympathetically decorated keeping it's old, worldly charm and had a lovely vibe in the evening. The breakfast was delicious, even though we had to ask for toast, which is normally part and parcel of breakfast. There was no issue giving us it though and it arrived quickly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creaky floor boards from room above

    Great quiet location, friendly and quaint. Rooms good size and very clean. Food very good, ideal meeting point because of accessibility to motorway network.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here several times and this time was awful from check in to leaving,bar staff spilling our drink not even offering a top up.The shower head in the room was that scaled up very little water could get through,at breakfast the croissants were that tiny and burnt and also the mushrooms,there was no response when we mentioned the shower problems when checking out,it was a waste of time mentioning anything else.Top hotel prices but standards have dropped considerably we won't be staying again.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Locals at left hand side of bar vaping and vile language that some couples left as they were disgusted

    Last stayed here for years over 10 years ago- came back due to business in the area and was very pleased it was as good as my memory

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers weren't working snd we couldn't get WiFi

    The atmosphere. The breakfasts were cold and one of our breakfast was very late snd cold. The evening meals were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great and couldn't do enough for us. The pub is really charming and the room was lovely. Room was clean and the bed was very comfy! Also breakfast was brill! Perfect stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    room very small, rate of the room much to high, half of the price for this room will be resonable. Small roads to get to this place, difficult if you drive like me with a Van.

    Clean and breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff attention was poor. Ate in the restaurant and had to keep going to bar to get our own drinks. Waiters kept disappearing to the kitchen for long periods and weren't around to clear plates or ask how meal was. This was similar for breakfast on one of the days. Breakfast was delivered at different times and items were missing off the menu. Couldn't highlight this to the staff as none were around.

    Bar and restaurant (Food & drink) were good and rooms comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking isnt made completely clear, and we were worried about being in the paid for carpark over the road - but it was included!

    Comfy bed, clean bathroom, great service, delicious breakfast, and overall great experience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub meal was full of flavour, just not enough of it.

    The accommodation was really good and although above a pub it wasn’t noisy at all and the the pub was full. Priced a little above average considering little amenities in walking distance. Beautiful setting. Meal in the pub was a little disappointing considering the prices. Expected a little on my plate. Dessert was beautiful but very little of it. May have caught the chef in a quiet period. Pub was full that evening for diners so I won’t be too over critical. Overall, thoroughly enjoyed the experience. 10/10 for the breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been staying at the Bowl Inn weekly for 9 months. Over that period, standards have slipped. Rooms are very dusty. Some rooms are very 'tired' and often items are broken e.g. heaters, mirrors falling off walls, light bulbs blown, lamps missing and the pillows now need replacing. Also, the change of menu has not been good. I do like it there but all told it's not nearly as good as it was.

    Friendliness of staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very noisy. Bar and staff noisy till they left at 1.45am. Set alarm to bar, more noise. Delivery van arrived at 6 am. Outside our window on ground floor. Unloaded crates right outside our bedroom door. Left at 6.30. It was a saturday morning, unacceptable. Bed a small double hard and creaky. Would not go back. Did ask for another room on arrival. Was told there wasnt one. Only 3 cars overnight in car park and 12 rooms. No one else at breakfast. So not true.

    Nice village.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite noisy if you wanted an early night but guess that's to be expected above a pub open until 11pm. Room seemed a bit cold despite radiators on full.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Ate with friends in the evening and food was great and reasonably priced. Just over £20 a head for 2 courses.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little on the small side, and the bathroom and shower were also a little small.

    The staff were very helpfull and friendly and service was great, The Bowl Inn was located away from main roads in a very quiet area, room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was slow to appear, they had run out of orange juice and butter and when breakfast did arrive, it wasn't the most appetising.

    Staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Inn was old and interesting the room was a good size.the bed was comforable there was shampoo and shower gel provided,The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were probably unfortunate but the bathroom had a drainage smell. Was reported and rate reduced but that wasn't what was wanted. Room on the small side. Service not good (we were assured chips and vegetables were included in the meal but this was not so). Overall disappointed with the experience.

    Good locals pub with good atmosphere and a warming fire. Decent breakfast. Friendly bar staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was very weak but it is a large, old building. Service at breakfast and dinner was a bit slow, but the staff were nice.

    Lovely atmosphere, lots of character. Very helpful and friendly staff. The location is great and very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable the pillows were hard there were cobwebs on the ceiling there was only one bedside lamp and 1 glass for water. When we arrived they were not expecting us and we were lucky they had a room at all. Wen I complained about the room in a very calm way I was just thanked for the feedback with no mention of a reduction to the bill

    The staff were friendly and efficient and the food was very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was delicious - a really good choice of options cooked to order and a great selection on the cold buffet to keep you going until it arrives. Bedroom was comfy and the bathroom very modern and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the Bowl was changing hands & the Wifi was not working whilst I was there but this will be resolved very quickly I'm told once ownership is complete & the new owners have everything in place

    Great freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little bit 'same old' with nothing to excite or inspire. No croissants or pastries. No prepared fruit and porridge seemed like 'sachet' oats: quick-cook and textureless. Rooms are directly above bar so expect some intrusive noise.

    The Bowl is very close to the M5 so extremely handy for travellers heading up or down the country who need to break their journey Clean rooms, good facilities and good food available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    No internet connection via Wifi.

    A very nice pub with a good restaurant, comfortable and clean accommodation. Excellent location for Aztec West or M4/M5. Far better choice than a corporate hotel chain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the toilet didn’t work spoke with the manager and he rectified this. We later went out that evening after a lovely meal in the restaurant to find when we came back at 11.50pm the keybwe eas given didn't work at all After 20 calls to the hotel and no answer, calling, banging , and calling the cctv number we were stuck outside with my 61year old mother. Luckily some other guests returned over an hour later and also checked out key to see it didn’t work. When i spoke with management in the morning it was felt there was no real appology I again asked them to test the key with me which they did but went on to say that they were swapping over owners. For a room that we had nothing but issues with when we could get in I’m appauled I paid £95.00

    The restaurant was nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen door 'slammed' shut every few minutes when pub open for busness, causing quite a noise through the floor! (agravating) Needs a rubber door-stop fitted! Also quite poor water flow through shower, very low pressure, Room 'alright', but not 'flash',

    Great car-park, owned by pub, directly opposite, Good selection of bar food and beers, (real ales) Excellent full English breakfast, 'Genuinely', friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at breakfast was too slow but they do cook fresh

    Friendly staff, nice atmosphere with locals at the bar, lovely menu for dinner and breakfast, good strong wifi which let me work, nice beer options with Hops which can be hard to find further South, comfy room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spotlessly clean, very friendly staff, excellent choice of beer, great breakfast. Looking at a map, the location of this pub so close to the M5 and M4 doesn't look promising, but Almondsbury turned out to be a lovely little village and the Bowl Inn was a winner. We'll be visiting again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to say here

    This proved to be the perfect location and very good value for money. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We had lunch on arrival and the food was really tasty and excellent value

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, far from the main road, full of history. Lots of parking space, friendly stuff and great food!!!! Bar is open till midnight and has good selection. Paid £5.90 for the large glass of rose

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ground floor Bedrooms number 12 & 11 .....avoid these rooms .. Dark, Dingy and feel grubby.... there is a strange smell in 12 which reminds me of dirty carpets and they certainly need replacing ... the cupboard needs refurbishing and the floor in the bathroom is poor ... the location of these rooms is within 10 feet of the bar so they are noisy

    Staff are excellent ... welcoming helpful and go that extra mile to make visitors welcome Food is very good well presented a varied menu and all served piping hot ... I hosted a table of 5 who will all come back ... outstanding staff were Riana and Lee who have ensured 2 visits in 10 days have been memorable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A change of staff recently has meant that standards have slipped. Breakfast was poor as was the service. Check out was slow and inefficient.

    Comfort.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food in restaurant but very slow delivery from kitchen.

    Friendly staff at convenient location to M5/M4 junction. Good quaint comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no dislikes.

    The staff were extremely helpful always with a smile on their faces, we stayed here 4 years ago and loved it. It did not disappoint us on our 2nd visit. Food was great too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stopover on way back from cornwall

    Wonderful olde worlde pub in lovely village only one mile from M5.bar and food were excellent as we're all the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue faced was at dinner when our order wasn't taken until we prompted, and then wasn't put through to the kitchen. The restaurant was very busy and they remedied the situation as soon as made aware. The only tiny spot on an otherwise great place to stay/visit.

    The staff were amazing (except one issue). Very accomodating for our trip with an infant. The location is amazing, very beautiful English Countryside. Parking right across the very quiet road, I may have seen 2 cars max go past during our stay. Classic homely pub feel. Would definitely stay again without hesitation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking arrangements weren't advertised up front so ended up paying when we didn't need to.

    Lovely pub, room overlooks car park and front of pub so was quite noisy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful good quality inn, excellent value. Huge soft bath towels! Food was outstanding. Staff went above and beyond providing breakfast for us at 4.30am when we were leaving to go walking. Breakfast quality and quantity was exceptional. Incredible value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why do you stop breakfast at 09.00 on a Sunday and leave the room at 10.00 it should be 10.00 for breakfast and 11.00 for the room......it's a Sunday!!!!!! bed was like being on a ship

    Great people, very welcoming, couldn't do enough to make the stay so pleasurable and the best breakfast I've had for a very long time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy room.there was an extractor fan outside our original move. Luckily the hotel wast full so we asked to be moved. I wouldn't have been happy paying £94 for a room that I would not have slept in. (Room 1)

    The character. The outside terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower/toilet quite small and water takes a long time to come through hot. Poor water pressure.

    Comfortable bed, good sized room, good restaurant. One youngest member of restaurant staff particularly good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise. We were staying in one of the front rooms, over the bar and restaurant areas. There are no other public rooms so guests staying the night have to remain in the bar if they want to continue socialising after the inn has closed. Soundproofing within the building is very poor and any noise from the bar can be heard very clearly from above. On our visit this went on until the early hours and disturbed us a lot. The Bowl also has no staff on site overnight so if anything happens (burglar alarm for 20 minutes at 5.30 in the morning) there is a delay before the manager can arrive.

    Very well managed. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the problem we had with our room was sorted out quickly. Pretty village in lovely countryside, easy to get into most areas of Bristol without having to stay in the city or on a retail park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room (Room One) Very cramped bathroom Very noisy with window open as Air con unit was on the flat roof outside,6 ft from window

    The food in the restaurant was nice although the service was slow, and the wrong starters arrived although the correct ones were soon made available with the wrong starters offered at no additional cost

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen air conditioning unit outside the window, noisy from morning to. night when the chef stopped cooking. Room no. 1.

    Comfortable bed and good dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if booking in between 3/4 on a week day no parking because of school run very busy pub so service was a bit slow at times

    ROOMS LARGE BED COMFORTABLE

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As our room was so close and over the kitchen, fan noise and vibration, but all switched off when kitchen is not in use

    Staff were great, enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast, Nice place to stay and enjoy a few drinks

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a slight mix up with the rooms. When I came back one evening there was another guest in my room. It was all handled very quickly by the staff and i was given another room.

    The food in the restaurant is excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was put in room one The Chester Room. Which is adjacent to the busy kitchen and very noisy roof extraction fan. On my arrival I checked in with a young lad who showed me to the door of my room he didn't venture in to show me where things which would have helped as I didn't find out until later there's no tv controller in the room so the tv was out of use. In this quite room is another device which generates noise every time you use the loo basin or shower. A Saniflio. The shower takes forever to get hot water to arrive and when it does the shower is poor and the shower head needs de scaling. After my site visit I arrived back at the Bowl and spoke to Adrian the manager and said I live in the middle of nowhere which is very quite. I enquired what time the kitchen fan went off he told me 9pm. After three requests from 10 pm to 10.20pm the fan finally got switched off. There was still noisy activity and loud chatting going on in the kitchen with staff chatting about work. Eventually gets to sleep to be woken at 02.45 with a number of people checking out chatting on the landing as though it was 9 am. Their suitcases banging and clattering on each stair. Adrian failed to tell me that the kitchen fan also gets switched back on at 6.45. am!! Down for the breakfast experience. It clearly states cereal, yogurts and juices as you can see from the photo there's no yogurts to be had. I ordered the veggie breakfast. I wasn't asked although it states how I wanted my eggs or which bread I preferred. Please see very runny eggs. All in all a nicely situated pub with what looked like good food during the day. However it seems to be run by young inexperienced people with a manager that cannot seem to tell the truth. Pity. Please find another place for our lads to stay with the forthcoming project.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the second year running and despite having phone and emailed in advance there was no z bed for my daughter. Problem was resolved they gave us a second room free of charge

    location ideal very peaceful pretty village close to motorway. Staff very helpful accommodation good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would always like it a little cheaper but I'm a Yorkshireman.

    Although no swimming pool like other properties the sleep was great, plus staff on our visit . Lovely breakfast when we stayed and able to sit and enjoy it. Thanks Rhianna.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No problems with anything.

    I was staying for a wedding at the church next door. Very convenient. The property was a delightful old English inn. Breakfsts were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Characterful old inn in a charming quiet village just a short drive from A38 and M5. Friendly welcoming, great service. Nice freshly cooked breakfast with top quality ingredients. Also good choices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would be hard pushed to find anything.

    Everything about this hotel was excellent, they even came and opened up the for me when I arrived after midnight.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The in room TV could have been bigger

    I liked that when I told them I would be too early for breakfast they made a take away bag with various fruit and yogurt etc.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything

    There was an excellent choice on the menu also the breakfast choice was very good and the staff would go out of there way to meet your demands even if it wasn't on the menu

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price the bathroom facilities were not great with poorly flushing loo, weak shower pressure, and smelly drain. Shocked to find no staff in the building overnight so felt vulnerable which affected sleep.

    Great location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: