Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bowlish House 4 stars

Wells Road, Shepton Mallet, BA4 5JD, United Kingdom

#8 of 17 hotels in Shepton Mallet

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 234 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Very restful experience we went to the East Somerset railway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good.

    Room was excellent, comfortable. Breakfast was excellent freshly cooked with a good selection. Chef very friendly. All staff were very freindly. The house has lots of character, plenty of parking. Good access to Somerset for the explorers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay in a very civilised establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park is small, but parking across the road was fine. As an old building you have to tolerate creaky floorboards.

    Dinner and breakfast were both very good indeed. The staff are friendly but nicely low-key, in keeping with the old-world charm of the building. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Apart for the two points above a very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed not very comfortable also the bathroom door did not close due to the door hitting the surround.

    Evening meal and Breakfast were excellent keep up the good work and keep the restoration work going.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    A true gem, total indulgence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was perfect

    This amazing Georgian house is beautiful and unspoilt, a real escape from it all, Run by Len and Martin, nothing is too much trouble, you are totally taken care of and pampered throughout your stay! An amazing location and restaurant I proposed to my Girlfriend here as it was so perfect! A lovely stay in a true hidden gem, truly memorable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Good value for the 3 of us, old world charm and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, did all we needed it to do

    Friendly staff, seen better days in an up market way. Good breakfast, really convenient for us attending a family wedding. Room was fine for the 3 of us, clean, all we needed, quiet. All good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.3
    The room was very dusty shower dirty could have had a real 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dusty shower dirty could have had a real 5 star for the same price very disappointed as saying in trip advisor 4 star I would only rate it 2 if they want to charge top price for this hotel they need to do a whole lot of work very shabby all over would not stay there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    A good B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a bit of a squeeze with 6 vehicles. I think its a tad expensive . It was disappointing that our wine of choice wasn't available though listed and the alternative which we were offered cost an additional £6.

    This B and B has charm and character with creaky floorboards and wonky door handles included! Some of the communal areas are a little tired (bar, stair carpet) but overall a satisfactory stay. The food is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Wonderfull georgian hotel witch exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Genuine georgian property, with delicious food, great accomadating friendly staff and an excellent quality locally sourced breakfast with homemade bread for toast served in an attractive conservatory.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again, hosts were friendly and couldn't do enough for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been a little better, crunchy nut cornflakes were not the most fresh. Very small criticism though.

    The character of the building and the history behind it. Garden was beautiful and the bedroom was spacious, clean, quaint and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    stylish and comfortable room with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi could have been better but its a grade II listed building in the countryside so not bad

    the breakfast was great all local produce the room was a nice size with high ceilings and paneling the staff were very friendly, it was very relaxed and informal

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Friendly owners who made our stay at Bowlish enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar never open. Luckily there was a lovely pub across the road The Horseshoe where we were able to go for an evening drink.

    Fabulous breakfast. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful historic mansion and very polite and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The housing was not very comfortable, nor very well maintained. Not to the standard we expected.

    Beautiful historic mansion and very polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.3
    No luxury here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No luxury here or as advertised, requested ground floor room as stairs are a problem what we got was an upstairs attic room up two flights of stairs then another very steep flight of narrow stairs. Room very very basic with one tiny window almost at ceiling height and another slightly bigger window again above head height that you couldn't open - neither of the windows could you see out of almost like being in a prison cell. Furniture very basis, mini fridge very poor hardly cool let alone cold. Shower had mildew between tray and dirty mouldy tiles, no non slip mat in shower, caddy for toiletries very rusty. Overall decor very tired and in need of a good clean. Staff unavailable most of the time or you had to phone them. No food served after breakfast on a Sunday apart from Sunday lunch being advertised everywhere in hotel or brochure. Table and chairs in garden old dirty and rusty. Very nice evening meal but very overpriced. This is definitely not a luxury hotel more like a lower end B&B definitely not worth £195 per night should be more like £90. Definitely a case for misrepresentation or trade description.

    Good evening meal but overpriced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    A Wonderful Find in Somerset
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We loved it from the moment we walked in. The staff were welcoming and the information provided was very helpful. Lovely towels in the bathroom and very fine sheets on the bed. The Breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere, and served in a lovely conservatory overlooking the garden. The sitting room was beautifully decorated in period style and a great place for me to read in the afternoon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Georgian Country House Gem
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...all good!

    A warm welcome from the friendly and knowledgeable owner. Extremely comfortable room with quality bedding and huge fluffy towels. Quality complimentary toiletries and hospitality tray. We had dinner in the hotel which exceeded all expectations, though we couldn't manage a dessert (they looked great) as the portions are very generous. Breakfast was equally good with toasted home made bread and perfect poached eggs. We'll be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Met our needs but would not rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bath & shower were difficult to manage; the hotel is about a ten minute walk from the town centre aalong a busy A road; were unable to get a meal in hotel on Friday

    breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Broke up our journey to Devon & gave us an opportunity to visit Wells & Glastonbury en-route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floorboards very creaky.

    We were the only people in the restaurant in the evening. The service & food was excellent. The chef / owner came to have a little chat to us which was nice & friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely comfy room Breakfast was served in a garden room looking out onto a beautiful garden and a friendly dog . The staff were very helpful and cheerful .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    The building itself is beautiful and the stay very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building itself is beautiful and the stay very comfortable . The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was lovely and the guy in the kitchen even remembered we were at a wedding the day before and bought us out some water following over indulgence in alcohol....he must of felt our pain haha! His words were " you were at a wedding yesterday weren't you? Here you go" and placed a pint of water in front of my husband and smiled. This made me smile and thought what a lovely chap to have remembered and done something so simple. Little things go a long way. Thank you 🙂 Overall very lovely place indeed and would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    It had parking and breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby bedroom and not in a chic way ! The floor creaked with every step taken and you could feel every spring in the bed. Not good! It was very warm weather and the radiator was stuck on! It was also situated on a very noisy road.

    It had parking and breakfast included. The location was good for our trip to Frome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly hosts and chef.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly jaded. Carpet not vacuumed. Remnants of previous occupant’s toiletries still in bath. Perhaps could have been cleaner. Very noisy with creaky floorboards but guess only to be expected given age of property. Limited parking on site although parking available on street and over the road.

    Very friendly hosts and chef. Did make you feel welcome. Lovely conservatory to have breakfast in overlooking a lovely walled garden and was a good choice on menu and well cooked. Nice large bedroom. (WiFi about hit and miss)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel lovely atmspheres and great garden to sit in in good weather, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite inconvenient having a bedroom door that does not close without locking it

    Great Breakfast and while this is a distance from Bath it was so easy to travel in and visit and presented much better value that bath hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Didnt do much at the hotel but TV and tea, coffee etc. provided which was very nice and small fridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism difficult parking facility. There is parking facility but extremely steep, short hill to access parking off road.

    Nice and comfortable. Quiet location, staff were friendly and helpful. I am a bit OCD with cleanliness and there is room for improvement in the bathroom. Lovely food and very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were amazing it was my 30th birthday we just had such lovely food at Bowlish House best place i have stayed for a long time looking forward to another trip there in the summer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    Period property which needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was incredibly cold. We had to borrow two heaters from our friends rooms. The decor was dated and grubby. Needs a good overhaul. The bar was closed for a private function....no apology made!

    Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.4
    Period property which needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything looked dated and grubby. Bar wasn’t open due to a private function. Rather than have a selection of foods for breakfast you had to order, even orange juice. When we asked for extra toast we only got 1 slice even though toast was all I had!

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Just lovely we were in Shepton for a party will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It had a lovely feel - quaint and tasteful. Breakfast and dinner was perfect. The chef took extra care to produce something special that wasn’t on the menu for our pregnant/vegetarian daughter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant will be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was nice large size room warm bathroom lovely staff made us feel really welcolme breakfast was great staff helped us with tourist places to visit and where to park nothing was to much trouble

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely furnishings and surroundings - very clean - very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very squeaky floors (old building so can't do much about that!) and rather too warm in the bedroom....

    Lovely furnishings and surroundings - very clean - very comfy bed - lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel but no warm welcome from the man on reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no warm welcome from the man on reception, in fact he rattled off the basic information so fast he seemed keen to get rid of us. He then sat and watched me and my elderly mother haul our luggage up 40 odd steps to our room, without any offer of help. When my sister called the hotel the next day and asked to be put through to our room he said they were too busy with breakfast to transfer calls. Yet when I got to reception he was just sat there whilst other staff were running round serving breakfast. The checkout process with him was equally unfriendly. Although the hotel and other staff were lovely. I wouldn't return because of him. It costs nothing to be polite and show manners.

    The property has lots of character, rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff serving breakfast were polite and friendly. Breakfast menu offered a good range and was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Exceedingly well kept and comfortable accommodations,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exceedingly well kept and comfortable accommodations, gourmet-quality meals, beautiful decor and grounds. Len is a consummate host, I couldn't possibly ask for more! Looking forward to a return visit when I have some more time to explore the area. Bowlish House is an absolute gem!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel but would book direct with them in futue and not book through booking.com.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment for hotel taken out of my bank account by booking.com 3 days before we arrived even tho it catergorically stated on booking “no prepayment required”. However when we came to check out, owner had no record of this payment and I had to contact my bank. This was very embarrassing when my card was declined due to insufficient funds :( :( :(

    Really enjoyed our stay, owners were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Location was excellent for my business needs.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was very limited and I ended top parking on the street

    Location was excellent for my business needs. Hotel was very comfortable rooms were off a good size

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Rooms were lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Earlier breakfast time, and also continental breakfast to be set out so you can help yourself.

    Rooms were lovely. Floors creaked but as hotel is an old Georgian house, it's to be expected. Staff were friendly and helpful. Evening meals are Bostin.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.8
    would not return to this property .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we could not have dinner either night as we had not pre booked! not pleased about that as we were looking forward to the evening meal there. breakfast fine.shower needed mending! not four star rating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    A truly enjoyable stay in comfortable surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited Parking available on site.

    Unique genuine Georgian accommodation with mod cons and room facilities.bright modern dinning room where superb meals are served contrasts with period lounge and a bar.Host and staff ensure guests enjoy relaxed stay in tranquil atmosphere. A good location for those visiting the many nearby tourist attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    great location staff very helpful Wi-Fi was excellent for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    as it is a very old house you could not move around with out the floor boards squeaking.

    great location staff very helpful Wi-Fi was excellent for business users, breakfast excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Overall okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor very creaky. Granted the property is 300 years old but I'm sure they should be able to remedy this somehow.

    Breakfast was lovely. Pleasant waitress.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    It was a welcome bit of gentile grandeur before a week of camping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The proprietor and staff were hospitable and helpful. We arrived complete with a heavy full camping fridge which needed plugging in. I was immediately invited to put it into the ground floor dining room rather than hike two floors up. On departure the delightful young man waiting on us for breakfast just brought the fridge out and into to our car. The breakfast was also a pleasure. My daughter who needs gluten and dairy free food was provided with GF toast, cereal and soya milk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing, friendly and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drinks very expensive. Service charge added to bill without notice or approval.

    Warm welcome. Friendly owners and staff. Peacefulness. Spacious, well decorated room and good en-suite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    The breakfasts and dinner were delicious and generous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    top sheet as the duvet was too warm.

    The breakfasts and dinner were delicious and generous. The sitting rooms were interesting with books and antiques to peruse.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    A lovely old property with a nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Tv picture partially obscured when laying in bed Shower in bath, no non slip surface in bath - require a grab handle to facilitate getting out safely

    Food and service excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    3.8
    Poor B&B trying to be a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of spiders in our room. Dog poo on the lawn. Felt a little unaccommodating and rigid. Staff seemed reluctant. Chef doesn't work on Mondays, no other provision for food. The building and decor was tired. I thought I was booking a nice hotel - Bowlish House was a below par B&B.

    breakfast cooked to order

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.4
    Buyer Beware
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged £45 more than contracted price because we had a flat tyre and so arrived at midnight, not 9pm. Had nowhere else to stay, so had to pay, but as hosting goes it was less than gracious. Can find no mention of this in terms and conditions, so it's difficult not to feel cheated.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    Owner was lovely guy, made us very welcome and was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really a hotel, no bar service or restaurant for an evening meal.

    Owner was lovely guy, made us very welcome and was very helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order and very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    Very good weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was lovely but the dining room had no atmosphere and would benefit from having some music playing, it would save guests whispering during their meal.

    The hotel was comfortable but looked a little tired. The garden area was very pleasant to sit in although it would benefit from having cushions on the metal seats. The drinks were expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful old house with friendly staff
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a little limited and it was a little too far from the town centre to walk, however the general ease of finding the house, its overall location to several sites of interest around the area,and our welcome greeting more than made up for this.

    We were made to feel very welcomed. We were even put into a different room to what was booked to ensure our night was not disturbed by the unusual amount of traffic on the nearby road( due to preparations for the Glastonbury music festival) . My dietary needs ( which are complex) were also kindly accomadated and my breakfast really good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    the location was really good and the staff very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in times are very strict and it is a little awkward if you come later. The breakfast is okay, but a buffet would be better.

    the location was really good and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Utterly charming, amazing english breakfast. Lovely host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Charming, largely eighteenth century building beautifully decorated. Downstairs sitting room a joy to sit in with our French friends. Rooms were large and comfortable and impeccably clean. Cooked full English breakfast was AMAZING and our host looked after us so well - more tea ? more toast ? Fresh flowers on the tables. We felt really pampered. Do explore a vey old pub The George at Croscombe five minutes drive from Bowlish House, the food is wonderful and tremendous value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent boutique hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mobile reception poor but not hotel's fault and could use their landline to order taxis.

    Staff very welcoming and accommodating. Bed extremely comfortable. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town wasn't very scenic. No view from our room, could hear traffic, toilet was very noisey!

    Breakfast was good and breakfast room was nice by the garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Bowlish House - simply is as good as it looks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everything about Bowlish House is excellent, from the first welcome and throughout our 2 day stay everything was simply relaxed, friendly and efficient. The meals (breakfast & dinner) are exceptionally good in choice and presentation, the food quality is at the level of high end restaurants. The Georgian exterior is matched by the interior which is sympathetically furnished throughout and there is a large walled garden at the rear for guests to enjoy. If you like old buildings and antiques along with all their quirks you will enjoy this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing! A real find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find anything to improve. As it was built in 1723, it does have squeaky floorboards but that's part of its charm.

    Staff very friendly. Ambience very good. Booked in for dinner. Table was set up beautifully. Food tasted delicious. Breakfast was served at the table and cooked to order. Plenty of choice and once again tasted delicious. Room was big and extremely comfortable. Huge fluffy towels in the bathroom. Modern walk in shower. Has a lovely big garden where you can sit, if the weather is good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Friendly & Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely friendly. The food was outstanding! Martin cooked me a steak with a peppercorn sauce which melted in my mouth. I will be staying again when me and my wife visit Cheddar Gorge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was nice but there was a draft coming through the window which was right on my head !

    The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was very nice. It was very close to the shops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Great weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just loved the whole experience, very friendly, very clean, excellent food, great house and owners, our room was spacious and comfortable, couldn't fault the place, it made our weekend break even better

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Lovely, comfortable period house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creaky floorboards which disturbed our sleep, fortunately the hotel was not busy otherwise it would have been worse

    Beautiful period house, nicely updated

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful, charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very creaky floors in our bedroom got a little irritating.

    Beautiful house, super comfy bed, very good cooked breakfast. The owner kindly offered us a night cap on returning from a wedding reception - it was great to talk to him and hear more about the history of the house.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was exceptional, book yourselves in for the evening meal, superb. Good Location to visit places of interest such as Wells, Cheddar Gorge, Bath etc.,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    Great location for us as we had a wedding a short distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for us as we had a wedding a short distance away. We were able to check in early which was a help. Lovely breakfast the next morning. Would defintately stay here again if we needed to.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel and gardens in good location close to wooky hole & glastonbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No resturant open for dinner in the evening, staff could have smiled more.

    Bed very comfortable, decorated tastefully throughout and in a good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Loved the atmosphere of the hotel especially the cosy bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the atmosphere of the hotel especially the cosy bar and lounge. Proprietors very friendly and helpful. Food excellent and our large and comfortable four poster bed room made us want to stay longer.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.6
    A lovely stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy beds ,plenty of hot water for bath and showers . Breakfasts were excellent and served with charm.Wewould recommend Bowlish House to my friends and family without hesitation .we enjoyed our stay very much .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    8.3
    A very enjoyable stay with excellent food and easy and attentive service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome was friendly and attentive. The dinner was excellent, with a decent choice. The hotel was very comfortable although with most of the quirks you would expect of an old house.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Fabulous staff, room and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Only minor point is that as the building is so old the floorboards were really creaky so you could hear people moving about. Worth noting if you are a light sleeper

    The owners and staff were really friendly.Beautiful room with 4 poster bed which was really comfy. Great shower. Had dinner in the restaurant and the food was amazing and good value. Breakfast was lovely and really tasty and hot! One of the best places I have stayed and really good value!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.1
    Wonderful breakfast and large room with a nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made the mistake of arriving Sunday late afternoon, not knowing that the restaurant and bar would be closed. Very little to do in the area. There were some issues with the bathroom but we informed management about this and they said they would take care of it.

    Wonderful breakfast and large room with a nice view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful house and grounds, easy journey from Bristol, Bath and Wells
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi very spotty and car park was out of use (not the hosts' fault, it had been used my members of the public not staying at the hotel).

    Beautiful building and grounds, fantastic breakfast. Warm welcome, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    5.8
    Lovely house shame about breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would not recommend the attic rooms as there was noise from the road and could not open windows The first morning breakfast was good and we were asked if we would like more. The second morning breakfast was poor porridge not cooked and 1 rasher of bacon with main hot breakfast is very mean also one small mushroom was a joke To top it all we were not offered more breakfast on this occasion which was a shame as we would have had more!

    The bed was very clean and comfortable Tea making facilities were very good and we were supplied with fresh milk on request Beautiful old house which was lovely and warm

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Warm friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot think of anything that would have improved our stay!

    A very gentle, friendly, helpful owner. We were directed to a fantastic local restaurant that my children would like. The servants quarters where we slept were very cosy with comfy beds a torch & children's television chanels. While waiting for breakfast we saw the owner collecting herbs from the gorgeous garden to garnish my eggs benedict. My children and I enjoyed our stay and would be very happy to return here!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.5
    Good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable

    The proprietor particularly friendly and welcoming. Happy to give a history of the house and area making our stay more interesting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    A tranquil haven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only tiny thing was that the breakfast room was really, REALLY quite. A bit of soft music wouldn't go a miss. They had background music on at dinner and it really lifted the mood of the room.

    Where to even start? We had such a lovely time. We ate dinner in the restaurant, and had forewarned the hotel we were vegetarian. When we arrived the told us that they had loads of extra options for us other than what was on the menu. It was wonderful to go somewhere where the veggie food wasn't just an afterthought. It was completely delicious and brilliant value for 3 courses. The hotel had such an inviting and calming atmosphere that we didn't want to leave. The room was gorgeous, with fab views over the garden; the four poster bed was unbelievably comfy. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely old Georgian building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fault of most establishments these days is to serve reduced fat milk rather than proper full- cream milk. This is the result of brainwashing the population !!

    Lovely old Georgian building. Friendly,efficient staff and large bedroom windows with plenty of light.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.5
    A small Georgian style hotel with bags of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bed mattress was somewhat lumpy/bumpy, but we slept OK.

    The décor and furnishings were well up to standard, and very much in keeping with the style of building, with a lovely lounge and roaring fires in the bar and lounge. The restaurant and service were rather good. The service was pleasant, friendly and excellent and they put themselves out to meet our requests.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Fabulous hotel and very friendly, helpful owners.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good!

    Very friendly & considerate owners - I had emailed prior to arrival to tell them I had coeliac disease and was gluten & dairy free and they really went the extra mile to make my sister and my stay special with gluten free biscuits in the room, fresh soya milk and even a brand new toaster to avoid cross contamination! The hotel is fabulous and our room was spacious with an extremely comfortable bed. All in all a lovely stay, thank you very much.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel in all ways
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were so helpful and accommodating. Were more than happy to provide vegetarian sausages, soya milk etc and the bread was home made....nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: