Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bowood Park Hotel 3 stars

Lanteglos, Camelford, PL32 9RF, United Kingdom

#9 of 11 hotels in Camelford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 870 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Would definitely come back to this hotel, very good value for money, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would have liked more choice in the bar menu, for instance, more salads and fresh fish, (not fried.)

    Really liked our quiet, comfortable room which had everything we needed, including a good hairdryer, a hot shower, a very comfortable big bed, and maid service each day which was not intrusive at all. The coffee at breakfast was excellent, and the breakfast had plenty of choice, including fresh fruit each day and a good toast machine, plenty of wholemeal bread as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    excllent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    relaxed atmosphere, professional staff, courteous and welcoming. The area was outstanding & central for all we visited. Regular bus service, meaning park car and forget it, until leaving, which we prefer

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Shamazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room with the balcony......beautiful.

    We loved everything. The staff were excellent, the facilities fab, the room fantastic. Dinner lovely and breakfast reallly great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    A decent place to spend the night, set in nice grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have breakfast, as it was not included in our rate, but our friends told us it was not worth the money we would have paid, and was very basic. I ordered tea in the pub area, and it was served to me in a very basic way. No saucer, teaspoon etc. Just a mug of hot water with a tea bag. No scones or cakes available to order.

    We stayed in a self contained, self catering flatlet. It was nice and spacious for our family, although the decor etc was plain, but clean. It was nice to have our own kitchen and lounge area. The bathroom was adequate but dated. We ate supper in the restuarant, which was not exactly upmarket, but the food and service were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.....would certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little remote if you don't have a car....we did so no problem. Also there is no lift.....something to consider if you find stairs difficult.Don't think there were any ground floor rooms but I might be wrong.

    Very comfortable and quiet.Stunning view over golf course and countryside beyond.Staff very helpful,and to coin a phrase...."My compliments to the chef!"

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Nice but could have been better with a personal touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff could engage more instead of just chatting among themselves. It was our first night of our honeymoon despite telling them there was no complimentary gifts drinks at dinner or anything at all to acknowledge our first night.

    Had a problem with the bill that we only noticed after we left,rang them up and was sorted immediately,great service from reception.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Good accomodation and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar area in need of refurbishment. Outdoor area could be so much better and deserves more to appreciate the stunning views over the golf course. Golf a little on the expensive side.

    great price and great location for golf. Easy access to all of cornwall. Hotel was clean and the price reflects the overall standard

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    good size room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast for those who do not eat a cooked breakfast could have been a little better. maybe croissants or pastry or rolls porridge.

    good size room and bathroom. lovely view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Not impressed - over priced and very very basic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over priced. Very small room comparable to a Travelodge. Luke warm DIY breakfast, very expensive bar. Not worth anymore than £60 per night. Don't be taken in by the wide angle shots of the room. See my genuine pictures below.

    Lovely views over the golf course.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Good base for the coastal areas & for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A private balcony for the room would have been better as worried about disturbing next door when sat outside

    Primarily it’s a Golf Hotel but provided a good base for seeing the North Coast of Cornwall staff were friendly & helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Large comfortable clean room with great views over the course and beyond. Spot on value for money!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double bed was twin beds fixed together with sheet over gap (annoying) however was comfortable. The bathroom was a tad tired and place needs a revamp.

    Large comfortable clean room with great views over the course and beyond. Breakfast was a decent buffet style with preference on how you'd like your eggs and plenty of choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Room was neat and clean and the breakfast had quite a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff kind but very slow on clean-up. Decor somewhat old-fashioned but whether that’s an issue...

    Room was neat and clean and the breakfast had quite a selection of choices. Household and reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Everything Absolutely the best hotel i have stayed in on our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything Absolutely the best hotel i have stayed in on our travels Fantastic value for money spacious rooms and en suite. Restaurant and bar facilities breakfast included fantastic plenty of parking Service excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    the hotel provided value for money the golf course was well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast was not as good as previously stays at the hotel although still good

    the hotel provided value for money the golf course was well maintained

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    The location for us was great the staff were polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dated carpets needed cleaning and most of the grout was missing from between the floor tiles in the bathroom and the vent from the kitchen ran up the outside wall by the side of the window which was very noisey

    The location for us was great the staff were polite and pleasant and the food was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean, good meal in the bar, good nights sleep, fair breakfast, value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only used restaurant for breakfast. Not keen on set up for buffet. Tea/coffee other side of room to milk! Much preferred bar for our evening meal, nicer ambiance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    The location and the views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu was a bit boring. Needs a bit more imagination and more use of local produce.

    The location and the views. The staff were friendly especially Karl the breakfast waiter who was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    We liked everything, including location and will be recommending it to our golf-loving friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The accommodation had everything we needed and was very comfortable. My husband had just been in hospital and we found it very restful and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.3
    Prices have gone up a lot to when we stayed before but standards had gone down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flashing lights in the shower head and the double bed was 2 singles pushed together with a sheet over it, doesn’t make it very comfortable.

    The location was good to where we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    O.K., but food disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't think much of the food, either at supper or the breakfast in the morning. Ver slow staff, and not well trained

    The position, the bedroom. the peace

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, thoroughly enjoyable venue and will recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We ate at the restaurant twice, once food was average but second time it was good. There was plenty of it but we would have preferred less food and better quality. Apparently designed for the hungry golfers which are their main diners. Staff were lovely though.

    We were 4 friends travelling by car around Cornwall & found this location handy. We stayed in the 2 bedroom flat at the the hotel which suited us well. It had a fully equipped kitchen, the only shortfall was no washing machine. All the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially when we had a hiccup with our hire car.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location with lovely view from the front of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining room staff lacked training..... Presumably as we were on a 'deal' we got a room at the back over the kitchen fan - luckily it didnt stay on All night and we had to get up early anyway!

    Great location with lovely view from the front of the hotel. Very helpful at reception and staff all very friendly. Bed was comfortable and bathroom a decent size!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic hotel, best breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only think was it was now small country lanes in the dark and Sat nav got a bit lost . A bit out in the sticks.

    Fantastic hotel, best breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyable two night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here before and loved the room so went back for second stay. The room was great as was the location. Good touring area. Bar very comfortable and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Worthy of no more than 3 stars.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fruit bowl at breakfast very bad. All tinned apart from a few strawberries. Juice dreadful colour. Most unappetizing. Cooked food satisfactory. Room doors banged. Woke us up several times. Noisy shower and toilet from next door. Dated decor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Overnight review
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drunk guests in Hotel Bar...too loud for our family comfort. Cleaner waiting to get get into our childrens room(a little less-friendly)...even though we left hotel at 9.20am.

    Frindly warm welcome, ALL staff were friendly and made great eye contact. Luxurious rooms and great driving range. Breakfast staff...wonderfully cheerful. Views from bedroom were stunning x

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Camelford Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at breakfast and dinner could have been better. Cranberry juice at breakfast looked and tasted watered down.

    Lovely clean room with great view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is nothing that we didn’t like and i’m sure if we did, staff would have gone out of their way to rectify it.

    our room was advertised as standard but it felt luxurious. had no trouble sleeping, bed and pillows were comfortable. lots of choices at breakfast. as a guest you are able to use camelford leisure centre facilities including pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful and quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After a few day at the busy South Coast of England we really enjoyed the peace we found here! Only the sound of sheep, no cars, no loud people The view from our room across the green meadows and the golf course was just amazing. What a wonderful place! The breakfast was great - Continental and English breakfast buffet, a really good start of the days! We stayed three nights and could have spent the whole holiday here. And we have already recommended you. We will come back. I am sure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    A warm welcome greets you at this superbly located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at this hotel couldn’t do more for you. They are warm, welcoming, kind and helpful. The location is ideal for exploring both north and south Cornwall. You do not need to play golf to enjoy your stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.8
    We didn’t stay as couldn’t use all bedroom facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs updating The room had small parts of plaster missing and scuffs up walls but was clean The bathroom needs updating the bath water came out brown for over 10 mins and the shower head blew of when turned on

    The food was very value for money good taste and you get alot

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Very clean, nice size room, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, nice size room, lovely staff. There is no lift, which wasn’t a problem as we only stayed for one night, but would be tricky if we had to carry all our luggage up to the room. Staff did offer to help though and everyone was very friendly. Only short drive to Port Isaac.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel on golf course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV in the room was a little on the small side considering the large size of the room.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, both at reception and in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Very happy with room but the food big disappointed very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my husband was very disappointed in the meal we had that evening they couldn’t have cooked the fish any longer !!! It was so over done and the chips wasn’t much better !!! Breakfast ok !!!

    We were happy with our stay , idea to where we wanted to go in that area. We both slept really well very comfortable bed !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Ok but not enough to generate a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been better. Bacon white from water content - seemed boiled not grilled. Lack of rolls croissants fresh fruit e.g. grapefruit etc. Portion control at dinner totally wrong. Servings far too big !!!! This seems to be a Golf Club trying to be a Hotel. In some aspects they are succeeding but could probably do with a visit from a Ch5 program to tidy up the edges. Disabled toilets on ground floor but saw no lift.

    Delivered what it said on the tin.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice quiet location with lovely views - rooms are a little dated but bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar food served just wasn't hot enough for us! Dated rooms, however for the price we paid we didn't expect too much as travelling by bike we just wanted somewhere clean and comfortable to sleep.

    Very comfortable bed, clean room, good views, quiet location, friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel spoilt by excesive noise by inconciderate people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would liked to have used bar for evening meals but due to very noisy golf members were forced to leave and go elsewhere and being woken at 6.10 on both days by green keeper using machine, thoughtless.Nice hotel spoilt by

    Nice staff,clean room with a lovely view across the valley.Well cooked restaurant food with a good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Shame about meal in restaurant but lovely location and nice hotel, friendly staff and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with dinner in restaurant. Food served cold/warm. Complained but they bought back new meal but unfortunately my husband had finished his meal. Was offered complimentary drinks and then asked for glass of wine that I’d just had and was told only could have house wine. When I mentioned it to reception they apologised profusely and said the whole meal would be written off. Then when we checked out they charged me for bottle of wine that I’d had at meal (14.50) felt upset but couldn’t be bothered to argue. We ate outside hotel at different pubs which were lovely close by .

    Lovely hotel, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a group of four and took 2 rooms. The ine on last floor had very nice view...the second room the view were the bins. A bit of dust on the furniture was also impossible not to see.

    I liked that check in and check out was fast. Breakfast was nothing special but was good. Beds were comfortable. Staff was helpfull and polite. Location was easy to find and close to what we wanted to see. Other guests were very polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and booked to go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot, but was a very hot week. Hotel provided fans which was very good.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The location was very nice and very good golf practice facilities. Gave me something to do whilst my missus was getting ready!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely staff, beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediocre in general and poor if you’re a vegetarian, virtually no options.

    Lovely staff, beautiful location! Very spacious and clean room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Central and easy drive to major tourists attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality and variety of dinner meals was poor.

    Central and easy drive to major tourists attractions. Quiet and spacious room. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.Fantastic if you play golf.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    i was in room 205 which was nice, but unfortunately you can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i was in room 205 which was nice, but unfortunately you can hear the neighbouring room when they walk about and use the bathroom in the night hours. Creaky floorboards, this is not a criticism but felt that you need to be aware of the issue.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great weekend retreats
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No entertainment in evenings.

    Well maintained with the old staircase being seen from entering. The rooms were clean with high ceilings. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough toiletries for two people in a room. Some very noisy guests were shouting ,coursing and banging doors till 1am, my partner didn't get much sleep because of it. Waiting for food to arrive at the restaurant,it took 50min to get our food... and it was only a burger..what if we would've ordered something more complex ?!

    Room was quite big ,bed was comfortable, nice views around the property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Quiet location and very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast could have had more variety, for instance some days there was fresh fruit salad but not every day. The juices were horrible too.

    The bed was large and very comfortable. The view overlooking the golf course was excellent and the staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, hotel only worth the price if you are a golf player.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't that great, very greasy basic fry up food. Not many healthy options. We paid extra for a superior room with a balcony/terrace only to be told they don't garantee this as there is limited rooms with balconies/terraces. Understand that we are on a golf course with greenery, but 6.30 is very early to be cutting the grass. Because of the heat the windows were open and we were woken up.

    Location was great, central to everything we wanted.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    It was a good base and very clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the bed very uncomfortable....mattress was like a marshmallow....you just sank into it and the pillows were very lumpy and hard. The duvet was too thick for the weather we were having. Very disappointing breakfast.

    The room was a nice quiet location with a fan and drink facilities and a good sized room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Good stop for overnight and a round of golf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor. Only if you like english breakfast then it is ok.

    The room that we have got. The golf course (1-9), for the rest you better book a car. Friendly service, restaurant and bar on one bill.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    A good stay would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot.

    Room was spacious clean and comfortable, has all amenities required. The restaurant was spacious clean and had great views. The food was good quality and well priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Bowood Park Hotel, Cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) TV too small to see from bed. 2) Although breakfast was served till 9.30, if we came down at 9, it was as if breakfast was over and nothing was replenished. Tables were not reset so we felt like we were corralled into a small area where they wanted us to sit. 3) The way that the door locks work should be explained. When you leave the room and close the door, they do not lock as you would expect them too - you have to flash your key over the sensor to lock them. Never seen that before, ever, and very nearly left my room unlocked all day.

    Situated within the grounds of the golf course, the setting is lovely, and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. Tintagel, Port Isaac, Padstow and Boscastle are all within easy reach. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The food is good and the rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant stay in nice surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no complaints

    Clean spacious bedroom. Breakfast was good, a buffet so as expected the hot choices were not cooked to order. Excellent location for ease of getting around to all the places on the north coast down to Padstow.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, close to beaches, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a slight let down for me... I would of preferred a selection of eggs but only scrambled was on offer.

    Very clean room, happy friendly and helpful staff. The bar food was delicious, my partner recommends the bowood burger....cooked to perfection and they even added brie when asked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    It was perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We didn't request a cot but they had put one up for us anyway which was lovely of them. The room we stayed in was lovely, bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    A mixed bag!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired hotel that could really do with a bit of a refurb. Breakfast was just ‘ok’, like many others echoed, the serving tray lids were way to heavy to hold as well as serve yourself. No veggie option. Just a real budget buffet. Walls are thin!!! You can hear everything! For some reason our TV connected to ‘Carl’s Samsung Phone’ and I spent ten minutes watching his home movies, many channels also suffer from interference. Private Balcony in the executive room. Uninviting and the roof didn’t feel safe, it had a spongy floor and low, rusty railing and just a little dirty. The balcony’s are all connected with a low railing partition that could easily be walked over from other rooms, this worried me about safety in the room, especially as the balcony door has no key and only a small indoor slide lock to keep the door shut. Not the private balcony I envisaged :( Thankfully we had a great room rate which was value for money but if I’d have paid more I would not have been happy.

    Good location to visit Tintagel. Bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Good little spot for a night, stunning views from the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location! very picturesque and nice bar. Perfect for a few drinks over looking the greens. The breakfast is a help yourself affair, not a problem but obviously the quality goes down a bit. Did the job! Would stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floor of the bathroom in our room needed a good wash It was difficult to manoeuvre plates and food at the same time on the buffet food because of the large cover lids. Bread was nice but would not fit in the toast rack. The tartan carpet on the stairs was most off putting as it made the individual steps appear to merge into one length.

    Bed was vey comfortable The grounds were absolutely stunning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a bit hit and miss, you can always ask them for what you want and the staff will get it for you.

    Rooms very spacious and everything was spotless. The staff are the friendliest people you’ll ever meet. We decided to book an extra night while there and got the discounted price as when we booked. Everything was perfect. Beds so comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice place at a very good price for B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room, large ensuite bathroom, clean, comfortable, easy WiFi, decent bar and restaurant, terrace to sit out on, good views of golf course and countryside to the front. The hotel is professionally run and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Told the restaurant was "rammed" and would have to wait for a table and when we looked only about 10 people dining the the large restaurant.

    Location was great, front of house staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is very clean, the staff are professional, the ambience is relaxing. Quiet and bed is comfortable, I usually don’t get a good sleep when I’m in a hotel but at this hotel, my husband and I had a good rest! I highly recommend this hotel to everyone visiting cornwall.. We came to see the Tintagel Castle and this hotel is not that far at all! Very accomodating and cheap! 👍🏻

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Lovely countryside retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn’t spoil our stay but the plumbing from other rooms was a little noisy.

    Had a super king size bed and a huge balcony at a bargain price. Much better than we had expected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Bowood Park hotel and golf club
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an excellent location for Tintagel, Port Isaac (don't bother 😞) and Boscastle which is why we opted for this hotel. The hotel is clean and the hotel staff were polite and friendly, although the service was very haphazard on a couple of evenings, I was waiting at the bar for 10 minutes about 10.30 one evening, I gave up in the end even though there were customers in the bar. Golfers are their first priority, non golfing guests not so much. The food was very good in the evening although far from fine dining! The breakfast was served at 7.30 to 9.30. Unfortunately if you don't eat at 7.30 but 09.00 it has sat there since 7.30!! Mondays was ok just, but as a coach party turned up for 2 nights, and obviously golfers, the breakfast had been devoured. Tables are set up the previous night and not cleared throughout the service, so it also looked like a bomb had hit the place. Our room was facing the golf course which was picturesque but the door, wardrobe, floor basically everything in the room creaked. The walls leave nothing to the imagination!! Like paper! The bathroom was entertaining. Someone with epilepsy might like a heads up though, due to the multi coloured flashing shower head. Overall it was like stepping back to the 1970's, it desperately needs some investment for a huge upgrade. The hotel served it's purpose and although I wouldn't return again I would definitely recommend the local area. If your a golfer you will love it.

    This is an excellent location for Tintagel, Port Isaac (don't bother 😞) and Boscastle which is why we opted for this hotel. The hotel is clean and the hotel staff were polite and friendly, although the service was very haphazard on a couple of evenings, I was waiting at the bar for 10 minutes about 10.30 one evening, I gave up in the end even though there were customers in the bar. Golfers are their first priority, non golfing guests not so much. The food was very good in the evening although far from fine dining! The breakfast was served at 7.30 to 9.30. Unfortunately if you don't eat at 7.30 but 09.00 it has sat there since 7.30!! All in all definitely do not pay for breakfast, it was awful. Mondays was ok just, but as a coach party turned up for 2 nights, and obviously golfers, the breakfast had been devoured. Tables are set up the previous night and not cleared throughout the service, so it also looked like a bomb had hit the place. Our room was facing the golf course which was picturesque but the door, wardrobe, floor basically everything in the room creaked. The walls leave nothing to the imagination!! Like paper! The bathroom was entertaining. Someone with epilepsy might like a heads up though. Overall it was like stepping back to the 1970's, it desperately needs some investment for a huge upgrade. The hotel served it's purpose and although I wouldn't return again I would definitely recommend the local area. If your a golfer you will love it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel in great surrounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has very good views, looking onto the local golf course. Reception was very friendly. The room was fine and the meals very good. Full English breakfast was included and there is free car parking. The speed of the free WiFi was good. Recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Everyone was helpful and friendly, it was my 70th birthday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t faiul anything

    Everyone was helpful and friendly, it was my 70th birthday and my family and I enjoyed every minute, definitely going back when opportunity allows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Scores a hole in one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and luxurious with very spacious rooms. Helpful staff, amazingly quiet setting and panoramic views over the golf course. Good breakfast ( though staff were struggling to cope and guests had to keep asking for plates, cutlery etc). No hesitation in recommending this!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Value for money, but not good for couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a chicken burger, which was grilled to a cinder, served with over fried (murdered) chips. There was a coach trip of German tourists who dominated all areas of the hotel, and demolished the breakfast buffet like a plague of locusts. I wasn't made aware of their presence until I booked in, and it was too late to go anywhere else. There was nothing worth having for breakfast once they had swarmed out, and nobody replenished the depleted stocks for us to assemble any kind of decent breakfast. We were left to get our own crockery and cutlery from spares left on cleared tables - a very grey and dismal experience. It felt nice to get in the car and drive away after that.

    Big room, big bathroom, good Wi-Fi and a lovely view of Cornwall. The bar was excellent and well attended and the prices were extremely reasonable. The nachos with chilli starter was absolutely gorgeous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 115 overlooked the bins at the back of the hotel, the better views are at the front ovrlooking the golf course. Not their fault but Camelford is not the most intersting place to visit. The hotel is about half a mile from town but the food and bar are very good at the hotel especially the staff. We are not golfers but the course looked pretty good & was popular with visiting quests.

    Very nice clean & friendly. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing, would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not mentioned on website that the hotel hasn’t got a lift so totally unsuitable for disabled people. My father who is 94 had to struggle up 2 fights of stairs to get to his bedroom. Staff were friendly but there didn’t seem to be anyone in charge so there was little organisation especially at breakfast. I noticed they were always being asked for more bread, milk, plates, hot food as nothing was being replaced. The cooked breakfast was luke warm, the bacon was in one big lump and I did find you could have fried eggs if you asked for them .( breakfast was self service) The evening meal wasn’t much better, chips that had been cooked so many times and lasagna that was running in grease. I had emailed the hotel to ask the price for meals,was told £25 for 3 courses in the restaurant and around £13 in the bar so you would assume from this that there would be two different menus- not so. Exactly the same menu in both locations. Nowhere to sit unless you wanted to sit in the bar area. Cobwebs and dust in bathroom.

    Bedroom and bathroom spacious, tea and coffee facilities in room. Friendly staff Hotel in good position to explore countryside

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location next to golf course with easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Great location next to golf course with easy access to coastal paths for walking. Very good breakfast in pleasant surroundings. Friendly, helpful staff, let us have our room early as we needed somewhere to change for a wedding after travelling down to Cornwall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Stunning scenery for a top notch hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like was having to go home. I could've comfortably stayed well over a week, if I could have my way longer!

    The most beautiful setting for the most amazing hotel. Our room had the most incredible views that rolled on for miles. Our bed was so comfortable and big. The staff could not do enough for us and were so friendly to us. Breakfast was plentiful and very nice. We will be staying here every time we visit our family in camelford.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Great value for money night in Cornwall, lucky to find as booked at last minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV could be a little bigger but that is being picky.

    Exceptional value for money, breakfast very good, room clean, bed comfortable, sparkly shower, nice toiletries. Good parking, fabulous views. Pleasant bar area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    The staff were really helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delivery driver was noisy at 3am

    The staff were really helpful. We were exhibiting at the Royal Cornwall Show and the asked staff to come in early to serve breakfast so we could eat before leaving early

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Location was great and the property commanded excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great and the property commanded excellent views. Restaurant menu varied to cover all tastes. Food was excellent. Would recommend unreservedly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Exceeded all our expectations. Definitely staying here again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest....everything was great.

    I have left an excellent review on FaceBook. Lovely place. Quiet. Lovely views. Excellent rooms, staff, service and food. My wife & I were very impressed. We had 3 nights here last week and we were sad to leave. Wonderful place to stay....and we dont even play Golf!

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: