Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boxmoor Lodge Hotel 3 stars

London Road, Hemel Hempstead, HP1 2RA, United Kingdom

#5 of 18 hotels in Hemel Hempstead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 808 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable place to stay if working in Hemel Hempstead.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could maybe do with an update as a bit old fashioned. Drinks prices not very visible (although not excessive so no reason to hide!)

    Convenient free parking. Not a bad location just out of town. Breakfast available from 7am so good for those working. Lovely big and fluffy towels. Excellent steaks available for dinner if eating in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Convenient for functions we were attending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cups in room would have preferred mugs. Bacon on first morning very tough

    Convenient for functions we were attending. Friendly helpful staff. Goid bedding and soft towels

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are bit dated. Staying on the ground floor you will have people walking right by your windows and if it's quite late and they have had a one too many trust me that they will wake you up. Staying on the top floor in summer will make the room incredibly hot so some people might find it difficult to fall asleep

    It's definitely value for money as it's not too expensive. Good connection to Hemel Hempstead and London. Polite staff members. There's number of pubs, shops and restaurants around it. It worked well for a business trip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel but inflexibility and staff need training
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My main issues here are their inflexibility. I was arriving at 8.55pm and there was no offer to guarantee us a dinner table. ‘ We close at 9pm’ which was disappointing. Chef has to go home of course.... Also when I phoned to confirm booking the staff member didn’t speak full English and didn’t understand my question. They said they would phone back but never did, I phoned again and spoke to a manageress who answered my question. Breakfast on a Saturday closed at 9.30am which is very inconvenient for a bit of a lie in. Unlike big brand hotels many privately owned ones won’t pay breakfast staff for extra hours and so we skipped breakfast as we were tired. When checking out, two lady staff eating muesli which was unprofessional, and talking whilst chewing.

    It’s a small motel style hotel with all rooms in a courtyard in the front. Room was clean, 4 poster and excellent. WiFi quite good. Restaurant was busy and didn’t use but food looked good. Small bar area and downstairs lounge which is characterful and has heritage. Close to train station. Pub next door which We didn’t visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant wasn`t open due to a wedding reception. We were not told of this previously.

    Very nice room, bed comfy. In fact everything in the room was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on Saturday no choice just full breakfast which was strange never had that before. If they could do full why not for example poached eggs!

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Easy check-in and out, lovely breakfast, clean and tidy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t very comfortable and sofa bed even less so.

    Easy check-in and out, lovely breakfast, clean and tidy rooms and great value for money. Also brilliant location for Harry Potter world.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff were amazing, accommodated our needs and breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was incredibly noise, children shouting and running around, found it very difficult to go to sleep and woken up with the same!

    Staff were amazing, accommodated our needs and breakfast was superb. Beautifully location dispute family room overlooking the car park!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been more comfortable. We are used to a firmer mattress and this was on the soft side with a slightly lumpy feel. May just be ready for replacement.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Full English breakfast was very good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant accommodation in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our Initial impression was our bedroom and bathroom were a bit dated. However, the furnishings and fittings were good quality and in keeping with the buildings.

    Very tasty breakfast. Pleasant and convenient location (easy walk to railway station). Everything we needed was available and the rooms were spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.0
    Good location but needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place could do with being refurbished as it looked very tired especially the paintwork & some tiles were missing in our bathroom. We had to send my wife's breakfast back as she found long hairs in it, they were very apologetic & replaced it without question.

    Location as it was close to where we needed to be, the room was clean & the shower worked well. Lovely full English breakfast, Bathroom soaps & tea & coffee facilities although more milks would be a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiles missing from the bathroom spoilt the overall opinion of the room we were allocated.

    Easy parking. Location. Friendly staff. Good size rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Very clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and tidy. Our room was very spacious and beds were very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice. Also perfect location especially for us as we were visiting Harry Potter World

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Brill
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I settled up my bar bill in the night but when I went to check out it was still on my room and the card slip had to be found to prove payment.

    Everything was fine

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Lovely place, easy to find with superb food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact the rooms are not joined to the reception and restaurant so unfortunately it rained and we got wet walking to the restaurant.

    Fab hotel with friendly staff and the food was superb.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.8
    Nice country style
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room to sleep 4 but the sofa bed was tiny. My two children couldn't fit in it. So they ended up in the bed I was on the floor and my partner had the bed

    Nice country style

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    I would be happy to stay at Boxmoor Lodge again, either solo or with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is an excellent seating area outside, but I imagine that come the winter the lack of a lounge would be more apparent.

    The hotel was perfect for our purpose - a barbecue given by a friend who lives ten minutes away. The staff could not have been more friendly and efficient - nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfortable, and the shower was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    it made an enjoyable last night to our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing could complain about would definitely stay there if that way again

    chef was marvellous food excellent never had such tasty tomato soup wish had recipe

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It needs some serious updating, the windows are sticky, there is no air conditioning, the furniture, bathroom, radio & shower are very very dated.

    This is such a lovely place to stay, very pretty and well laid out, it was clean and tidy and comfortable and the English breakfast was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only critiscism would be that our toilet flush didn’t work the best. But other than that, everything was great.

    What a lovely place to stay. Homely but professional. Clean & spacious when compared to chain hotels. Breakfast was beautiful & so were the hotel surroundings. If we are ever in this area again, we’d love to come back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic value for such a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was honestly nothing to dislike, as far as we were concerned.

    The room we were given was lovely and clean, had air con (which was a bonus in the hot weather we have just had), nice toiletries in the bathroom and a good bed. With the ample freshly made to order breakfast served with such a lovely manner, I have no idea how this room was so reasonably priced. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay in very different accommodation from the run-of-the-mill Travelodge fare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my opinion, there was nothing that needed improvement.

    Everything was great. The staff, the food and the accommodation represented excellent value for money and was perfectly placed for our weekend in and around Amersham.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    It was really good value for money and has a great atmosphere due to dedicated staff, who made the s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. it was really good value for money and has a great atmosphere due to dedicated staff, who made the stay very welcoming and comfortable.

    Amazing accommodation, spacious and clean with plenty of tea/coffee in the room. The restaurant was lovely in design and peaceful. The staff are more than polite and both the current chefs are a great laugh and amazing at what they do. Definitely will stay again in the future. The scrambled eggs are to die for too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Super overnight stay, well worth the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault the venue.

    Taken by surprise on arrival at venue. Extremely pleased 😀 with premises. Will return at later date. Splendid independent room, nice bed and bathroom facilities. Short pleasant stay, excellent breakfast & service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location for our needs, clean and comfortable with nice staff, fair price shame no meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to get served any snack/light food during late afternoon or evening. and not getting a booking for evening meal

    Clean and comfortable, friendly helpful staff, easy free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Three very hot and sunny days watching County Cricket at nearby Chesham cricket club.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The Staff were so helpful and cheerful despite the very hot weather (30 degrees +)The service in every department was outstanding. Overall it was great value for money and I understand that the rooms are gradually being upgraded. Carparking is spacious and fairly secure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly family place with nice food and a great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One thing I would change would be a slightly softer mattress.

    Excellent value for money, quaint rooms but hard mattress on the main double bed. Staff were really friendly and great with the kids. Breakfast was really nice (and I'm fussy).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and good for money with a moderately good restuarant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit dated in decor. Very old tomato sauce bottle with thick layers of dried sauce around cap that was out of character with the cleanliness of the rest of the hotel.

    Spacious room. Clean bathroom and linen, very comfortable bed and good cushions. Good restuarant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Staff make the stay even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were polite and friendly. A little wait for breakfast, but was well worth it as the food was really tasty and perfectly cooked. Nice, peaceful setting. Staff were also very kind to our young children. Will definitely be booking here again next time we are in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, clean room in a quaint lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At 11 on the dot, we had someone (assuming it was the cleaner) knock once and then proceed to use their key to let themselves into the room despite me shouting 'just a minute'! We were just gathering our things to leave, but could have been given a few moments before we were just barged in on.

    We had a clean, comfortable room for our one-night's stay. Check-in and check-out were simple. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom with lovely little toiletries!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    lovely aparrment room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    abit more detail to cleaning behind sink , toilet. the bed was quite hard

    it was like staying in an apartment, rather than just a room, the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    2.5
    Just dishonest from the get go. Lied about his function finishing and quietening down,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisey plastic function room tent marquee thing directly attached to the side of the room block. No way I was getting a decent sleep after my drive.

    Aweful. No staff on in the evening. I was searching for drinking water at 4.30am. Autistic, had a meltdown, and they only wanted to focus on the result of their poor service. They kept the money for the stay depite me not staying the second night due to disfomfort. So effectively, cant be trusted and keep your money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a complaint but heat in bathroom was too high and could not turn it down (this in the middle of a very hot summer).

    Staff friendly, good breakfast(received what you asked for. Within reasonable driving times of various places and attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Little relaxing treasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike at this relaxing cmmfortable hotel.

    From the moment we arrived it was like stepping into paradise. The staff are so friendly. The place is immaculate and very clean. The rooms are spacious and wecolming. The restaurant is to die for and the food was of a Michelin standard. The new Head Chef is a stickler for making everything from scratch even the Bread. Which is out of this world. He is very enthusiastic care about the guests. If you want a relaxing stay or you need somewhere for a celebration then this is the place to go. Bravo to everyone at Boxmoor Lodge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Could have been a perfect stay apart from the ridiculous extra charge for a room that was ready to u
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner is 85 years young , when we arrived Father’s Day lunch was in full swing . We had intended meeting my son and his wife in the lounge for coffee but it was packed , standing room only . The lady at reception informed us that our room was ready . We were delighted to hear this especially as the M25 had been kind to us and we had arrived earlier then expected . Our joy was short lived when we were then informed that we would have to pay a charge of £10 an hour extra to have the room early . A late check out fee I fully understand as it means possibly keeping staff back to clean and sort the room . But when a hotel has the room ready and couldn’t offer an old lady anywhere to sit and have a cup of tea , then I question how good and welcoming the hotel really is .

    The room was immaculate , the pillows exceptional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked a bigger bed and larger shower cubicle. Also I wish they had offered a continental breakfast as I do not like cooked breakfast. More catering fpr gluten free diet.

    Nice dining area. Friendly staff and very helpful. Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good service, good facilities, excellent breakfast for what we needed. No complaints only niggles - plug in daughters bath didn't seal properly so water drained out, sound on our tv not always clear and our bathroom could possibly do with updating (had a couple of tiles missing off the wall). Daughters bathroom had been updated so maybe getting round to doing them all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    We had a very enjoyable time, and were very pleased with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a very enjoyable time, and were very pleased with our stay at Boxmoor Lodge. The staff were helpful and the location was handy for our visit to family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Downstairs rooms are not great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds - really does anyone choose this option?

    Downstairs rooms are not great. Dark with no privacy. Upstairs way better. First one I was offered was a twin despite booking a double. They did change it when I objected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Convenient location, over for a wedding and were not disappointed at our choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sounds like a gripe, but it's only a minor one, the bathroom of room 7 could do with an update.

    Really enjoyed our stay, excellent value for money. Would stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    A cross between an American motel and a faded English B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ironing-board cover shameful! Never made to feel welcome, I thought. Restaurant menu looked lovely, but food was expensive and just OK I thought.

    Large room, breakfast included, quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely comfortable stay in a quaint hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was a bit old fashioned and needs updating although the bathroom was excellent and obviously very new!

    The warm welcome, lovely bathroom with excellent shower and big fluffy towels!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay especially the breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the disabled room but would have preferred a normal room with a bath.

    This is a very comfortable hotel and handy for visiting family in Boxmoor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Considering it was a Bank Holiday it was an almost noiseless...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering it was a Bank Holiday it was an almost noiseless Saturday evening coupled with a comfy bed we enjoyed a restless and comfortable sleep and enjoyed a hearty breakfast on Sunday morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing and cosy break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More tea/sugar/milk in rooms would have been great.

    Loved the hotel how it is set out in private rooms with garden space. Staff were lovely and helpful and breakfast was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Good food shame about the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room very cold control on radiator missing so could not put heat on heated towel rail not working toilet seat crooked bed very small for two people wall paper coming away air in the sink taps out door lock faulty

    A very nice evening meal and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    I was made to feel most welcome in both accommodation and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No criticisms come to mind.

    Evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant were excellent with friendly, attentive and courteous staff and delicious food served. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff that will do what it takes to make you feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really not comfortable. The mattress was thin and kind of lumpy. Disappointing as everything else was spot on.

    The staff, especially Sian, we're absolutely amazing. Very attentive and great with kids. They were amenable to the kids tricky dinner choices, and delivery a delicious round of meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not cooking on the night we were there

    It was very good great breakfast but stayed on a Sunday night and they were not cooking at all in the evening! Disappointing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    It was a good stay and we will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our third stay recently and this room was not as good as the other two, there was signs of possible flood damage on the wall that ha been quickly patched up

    Overall considering all three recent stays we would recomened and use the hotel again, rooms are generaly clean and well proportioned, breakfast is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant little hotel. Would stay again.
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get subtitles on the television in the room. One of us is deaf so this was annoying.

    Refurbished bathroom with underfloor heating and great shower. Good choice at breakfast. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    I needed to have a night away and the hotel was perfect for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower felt very small, as did the bed. however neither really affected my comfort.

    Location was perfect for me far enough away from town, yet didn't affect my journey to work, in fact it was easier than normal for me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    Good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed has to be the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. I ended up sleeping on top of the duvet with pillows for warmth. I would recommend the hotel invest in mattress toppers. Also the radio/alarm was an ancient contraption which had no instructions so no idea how to set it and ended up unplugging it. Recommend a simple travel alarm clock

    Good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    An excellent venue for an overnight stay in a very relaxing environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not the lodges fault but the local highways authority could make an effort and clear the gulleys along the main road. Plenty of very large puddles that made it very awkward to walk along the footpath or even cross the road without getting drenched.

    Very welcoming staff, comfortable room, great breakfast. Close to the railway station.Ideal for walks along the canal banks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Excellent, would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing wrong was the pull out bed wasn't really big enough for 2 children.

    The hotel staff were very friendly, especially good with our children. The Breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice offered. The room was spotless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Two Night Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in. Lady on Reception gave us the bill to pay at check in which was incorrect. I showed her on my phone the price that we had booked through Booking.com. She said that Booking.com could just book rooms straight onto their system and the rate she had on her bill was cheap enough. We did pay the booking.com price but the lady was quite rude. We asked if we could book a table for evening meal, but it was closed for a private party. Also Sunday nights they do not open, but there are a couple of restaurants about ten mins walk away. She said the bill would be put right for when we left, but it wasn’t.

    Room was lovely and clean and a good size. Only had breakfast at the property which was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Convenient for what we wanted and reasonably priced for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Relatively small double bed and TV controller didn't permit removal of Text which blocks a large part of the screen. But these are only VERY minor details.

    Very enjoyable breakfast with personal service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable hotel with excellent breakfast and very reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We have stayed here several times before visiting family. We had a twin room this time and it had been refurbished to a very good standard especially the bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Well run hotel with superb food, comfortable room, friendly staff - good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The room was warm and comfortable. Breakfasts superb. We stayed for two nights and had dinner both nights. Food (steak, mussels, fish & chips) was excellent. The staff were very friendly and worked well together, which is a sign of a well managed hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic find.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom flooring needs replacing and could do with updating.

    Fantastic B&B. Excellent customer service, friendly staff and superb restaurant. Excellent value for money and spotlessly clean. Rang the night before to see if we could check in early as we needed to change prior to attending a funeral and the staff were most obliging.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    2.9
    The room smelled badly of damp, when reported to staff they...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelled badly of damp, when reported to staff they said we were imagining it and when we pointed out the damp on the wall could not provide a satisfactory answer. Don't stay their its not worth the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Friendly atmosphere, nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower had a temperature control problem, but it did not detract from the overall impression.

    The staff were friendly and room was in excellent condition.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    We would no hesitation to stay at Boxmoor Lodge,if in the area
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    both my wife and myself are in our mid seventies and a ground floor room would have nicer,but that's not a complaint.

    Everything was exactly to our liking, we said in our markings we felt very pleased with our choice of stay,the evening meal was excellent,the staff very accommodating and only to pleased to help. Once again many thanks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the staff were really welcoming, and the hotel had a great vibe in general. Our room was lovely and had everything we needed. We would definitely return to boxmoor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small criticism, but due to the weather (snow / ice) the paths to the room/ main building were quite slippy and could have done with gritting.

    Good location for the snow centre. The room was comfortable and very clean, the underfloor heating in the bathroom was a delight. Didn’t have dinner here, but the menu looked nice and there are a few restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast was good, overall a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    One word - Excellent !!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather but nothing you can do about that! :-)

    The food is fresh and hot and I liked the fact you had kippers! lol I had a discounted winter price which was great as had to extend my stay due to the weather when my husband had to join me also. We will be back for sure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely girls at reception very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gentleman at breakfast was rude and didn't seem to appreciate children being there.

    Lovely girls at reception very welcoming and helpful. Delicious breakfast, very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay. Friendly service. Wonderful breakfast cooked to order.
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Being asked for 30 pounds to check in at noon rather than 3:00 pm. Seems cheap and penny pinching. If a room is available, a hotel should consider that a courtesy opportunity -- not a revenue opportunity.

    Excellent breakfast. Friendly personal service. Loved the heated bathroom floors. Very good shower. Great value!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel/accomodation, I would defintley return for another stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wi-Fi wasn't the best, when I initially arrived there was not connection although staff fixed this, although the connection was really slow which made working difficult.

    The location was close to the train station, the room was comfortable with all amenities and clean. The restaurant and bar were superb, with extremely friendly and helpful bar staff and manager.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Very friendly, helpful, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not immediately obvious when booking but there's a short walk from the rooms to the reception / bar / restaurant. It's less than a minute but I was struggling to find something to put in this box. Seriously, it's not a problem.

    Possibly the friendliest and most helpful hotel staff we've encountered. The food was excellent (breakfast and dinner) and the service was speedy. It was originally just an overnight stop to make travelling to the Harry Potter tour easier (which it did) but we ended up stopping an extra night and our 6 year old is already asking when we will go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    4.6
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed sheets, carpet, curtains and facilities were out dated. The hair dryer was so old, I couldn't use it. The bathroom floor was stained and was half yellow and half black. The whole room smelt old and musty as if it hadn't been cleaned. The radio did not work, the television was blurry most of the time, and the lady at reception did not have another room to move us and did not offer compensation. I asked at the time of booking if I could pay extra for rose petals and champagne on arrival, this was not done, I asked once I arrived and was told this was not an option. The breakfast was vile and I was forced to sit with a family of four with my partner after having the least romantic valentines I have ever experienced, despite there being plenty of tables available for us, the non English speaking waiter insisted. I will never stay at this hotel again.

    The room was large, I can not complain about that.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Bed was comfy, as a lodge felt you had your own space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom super clean but could do with update of Lino floor.

    Bed was comfy, as a lodge felt you had your own space. Bonus having a fantastic restaurant on site. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Perfectly acceptable and the main thing was it was very clean, comfortable and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was fairly basic but very clean and comfortable, well set up and the breakfast was good, nothing fantastic but absolutely fine, no complaints at all regards my stay, would definatley book again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    My stay was hassle free, quiet and ideal for my requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fusty smell in the room, tv wasn't working well, plugs in the bathroom broken.

    The service, dinning experience/food. Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a fantastic place! Huge room the most comfortable bed I’ve slept in for ages. Big bathroom and lovely staff! The breakfast was awesome and the breakfast staff were so pleasant!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: