Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rum Doodle, Windermere B&B 4 stars

Sunny Bank Road, Windermere, LA23 2EN, United Kingdom

#48 of 75 B&Bs and Inns in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 379 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was perfect

    Everything!!! Staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice and clean. Great view outside and the breakfast's were amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Great hospitality shame about the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior DOuble Room - 1st Floor Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grubby bathroom which was very small with broken taps and dripping shower. Huge dehumidifier in a small room which got in the way when you wanted to sit at the window or when you were getting ready. Room would be ok if travelling alone but too cramped for 2 people.

    Staff were excellent hospitality was fabulous. Breakfast was the best I’ve ever had. Easy walking distance to either Bowness or Windermere. B&B was quiet with no noise disturbance during the night. Coffee and cake on arrival gave it that special touch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Very good area for all local amenities. Very comfortable room excellent breakfast in quality and ch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor could have been smartened up .

    Very helpful and frendly , local information most helpful . Very good sized bedroom and room vey warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Quality stay in Windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    check in was fast, Steve was very welcoming with a glass of wine, tea or coffee. Room was as in picture, bed linens of good quality, easy walk into town, overall a fabulous stay and would go back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful relaxing stay in a querky and beautiful B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom for our room did not appear to have been redecorated yet. There was absolutely nothing wrong with it, and it was perfectly clean but we would be happy to pay very slightly more for the same room once the bathroom has been completed.

    The property truly was beautiful, with an awful lot of thought having gone into the design. Being greeted with tea and cake was a treat, and our room was a great size and beautifully decorated. On top of all this, the owners and staff were all lovely and we were made to feel instantly welcome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Bad experience with my booking. The rating is very much inflated. The facility was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very bad experience with how my booking was handled. When I checked my booking.com account a few days before we traveled, I couldn't find this booking with this B&B. This led me to wonder whether my booking was secured. I emailed the B&B, I didn't get a reply until one and half days later, as the manager had some personal issues to deal with and was not in the B&B. Unfortunately, I decided to book another accommodation. As Rum and Doodle refused to cancel the booking, I had to cancel the other booking at a cancellation fee of 244 pounds. Should Rum & Doodle replied me in good time, this should have not happened. Actually, only after my 3rd email which I said I had to book another hotel, the lady in charge told me I couldn't cancel. 所谓的老式家具应当是破旧家具,我们房间的沙发是坏的。所谓的豪华住宿及艺术画作都是胡扯!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    2.5
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the entire experience was below standard of the other 10 B&B establishments we have staying in this last 2 months and on terms of value for money which it was not.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    The place has a lot of character, the staff was great, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small for two. Still a good deal for the price!

    The place has a lot of character, the staff was great, very accessible and helpful and breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location and fantastic customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom let the room down as it was dated and the hot bath tap didn't work. As it was the superior room we expected a better bathroom standard.

    Lovely room, great location and a fantastic breakfast. Lovely staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely retreat full of charme !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a wee bit too small for us , just not used to it anymore. especially when you are tired you like a little more space, but maybe this was just our room #3 which was the smallest room I suppose. basically just space for the bed, no desk , no chair , suitcases have to go underneath the bed.

    Absolute enjoyed the stay at this lovely B&B . Great location equi-distance between Windermere and Bowness , both could be reached by a 10 minute walk. Quiet and peaceful place restored wth lots of attention to detail and obviously lots of heart blood going into it . Tina and Steven run their business with love and affection and give every guest a very warm and heartfelt welcome. Great breakfast with homemade jams and full english to order, but we preferred the scrambled eggs and salmon on toast, whereby the eggs seemed to be instant rather than fresh eggs. You feel at home and like to move in, what more can you expect from a B&B ? perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Love Rum Doodle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the house and its quality and quirkyness.A great mix of practicalities and fun for a haven in the Lakes.With a super breakfast and lovely friendly owners.I shall sing its praises to friends.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay for one night .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior DOuble Room - 1st Floor Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable and didn’t feel very secure. The room was a little smaller than we expected. It would have been nice to have the option beans on the breakfast.

    The location was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Gave good advice about the area. All in all a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Perfect, highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Breakfasts were fantastic, owners friendly and welcoming and willing to go the extra mile, without being overbearing. Birthday balloons were a nice touch in the room!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    very relaxing stay todo walks around the Windermere area to return to a hot bath in peaceful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not a lot indeed - I even read a book from the book shelf !

    our room was the best room one could wish for as it was large with great bed and a bay window overlooking the front of the house with a large square table set for breakfast which we were served every day at a time requested with exceptionally expansive menu to choose from -extremely impressive !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Stylish guesthouse with a personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like about this accommodation.

    The guest house had a personal touch with the owners greeting us with tea and coffee upon our arrival. The interior was stylish and modern and all facilities were clean. The house is situated in a lovely and quiet neighborhood just around the corner from the busier town centre which was perfect for our short excursion to this part of the Lake District.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    The bed wasn’t particularly comfy as it was two twin beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t particularly comfy as it was two twin beds pushed together and it’s creaked every time you moved. But part of that everything else was wonderful .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely B&B, really friendly and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed - 1st Floor Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really loved the themed rooms, the room itself was beautifully decorated and clean. Bathroom was a little dated as sink was cracked and one of taps leaking. Have rated value for money as average as it was a little pricier but do generally pay a little more for being so close to Windermere.

    Lovely quirky property, loved the themed rooms. Family run, really friendly and breakfasts were delicious!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Quiet vintage charmer with excellent hosts and food.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed - 1st Floor Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Quiet vintage charmer with excellent hosts and food. Can walk from Windermere train station or bus, taxi inexpensive as well. Can walk to pier and ferry boats.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic little b&b very welcoming even gave us the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and quirky

    Fantastic little b&b very welcoming even gave us the most beautiful carrot cake and a hot drink when we arrived. The staff was very friendly and would do anything to help you. Will definitely be back keep up the good work.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was lovely and the added bonus of being served to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely and the added bonus of being served to us in our room. Comfy bed and spacious room. Short walk into Windermere to relax in an evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast enjoyable especially home made jam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in top floor attic room heights of ceilings very low banging head constantly. Bath nice idea but not positioned well under low ceilings make it quite difficult ro get out.

    Breakfast enjoyable especially home made jam

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Would stay again, would just request a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room which we stayed in easy quite small, and the bed bad an awful creaking sound every time we moved in it.

    The bed was extremely comfy and the staff were very nice and welcoming as soon as we walked through the door!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely quiet location with a short walk to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed - 1st Floor Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dark due the style of lighting but the bathroom was much lighter. I would say the bathroom could do with updating but not a game changer.

    Lovely quiet location with a short walk to the centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Far to expensive against other b&b in area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior DOuble Room - 1st Floor Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed only queen size and uncomfortably. Bathroom no room to wash in handbasin

    Location great breakfast good but room very small and furniture not like pictures on website

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad just suggestions really: Water pressure needs looking at (if next door used the water it would go off or hardly run) Pastries at breakfast would be nice

    Large comfortable room(the summit) Quirky Very helpful on arrival

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    A good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1: Tight on space - all electric sockets together so difficult to boil kettle (had to stand on carpet) or use the hairdryer (cord not long enough to get to mirror)

    Comfy bed. Modern bathroom. Ample breakfast. Pleasant staff (with special thanks to Tina) Easy walk to town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Characterful room lovely crisp linen, fluffy towels, cafetiere coffee in room, hearty tasty breakfast with vast choice, great value and great location with free parking. Breakfast in room was a great treat and 4 poster bed extremely comfortable. Highly recommend. Coffee and cake on arrival too !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable, friendly, ideally located and at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Breakfast was great, especially recommend the poached eggs and the sausage. Tina and Steve are most welcoming. The Rum Doodle is ideally located part way between Windermere and Bowness and only about 15 mins walk in either direction and you're there. I had a really nice stay and will return soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful b&b, lovely experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing, stayed for my boyfriends birthday and I emailed staff explaining this. On arrival the bed had rose petals on it and there was birthday banners put up around the room. We stayed in the attic suite which was beautiful. The whole b&b was gorgeous. Definitely reccomend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Great hosts, great location, great B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior DOuble Room - 1st Floor Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Lovely rooms with nice decor. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and offered a good range of options. Brilliant location situated between Bowness and Windermere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Warm welcome and a cosy B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side the bed wasn’t the comfiest also the smoking area was right outside the room on the lower ground, only downside was someone outside smoking early in the morning about 5 AM but pretty loud and continued every hour since then could be prevent by have a sign to keep noise down or smoking off site also the front door is load especially at 5 in the morning!

    Cake and hot drink on arrival was a great idea. The location is central and only a 10 minute walk down to the main part

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Amazing stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was perfect, the bedrooms to the breakfast! We stayed in room 6 and it was a perfect size and the shower was amazing!! We will be booking again soon!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners lovely and friendly, great location - perfect for both Windermere and Bowness. Breakfast was super! The B&B was charming decorated in keeping with the book - a great short read if you get time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Quirky, full of character and very welcoming! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out on Monday morning! But we will be back!

    We were greeted by Tina (the owner). We have stayed in many places but she was exceptionally lovely and helpful but in a manner that would not overwhelm you! Loved our superior room with breakfast brought to the room for us. Speaking of which was perfect! Local produce - soo delicious! Poached eggs cooked to perfection! Definitely a winner! Room spotless, with anything you would possibly need (extra blankets, bathrobes, toiletries, biscuits,good choice of tea etc). Bed very very comfortable, nice topper which made you feel like you’re sinking into the bed! Overall I’d give it 10 out of 10. Beautiful! Fabulous place for a stay with your loved one or family and friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Great overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't really have anything bad to say. We really enjoyed our overnight stay here!

    My wife and I used this as a halfway stop from Aberdeen to South Wales. The B&B was very well decorated and the bedroom had everything we needed. There was a short stroll (10min) to the nearest cafes and pubs where we went for our tea. The bed was cosy and we had a brilliant night sleep here. Breakfast was of a great quality served between 8:30 and 9:30. We do plan to visit the Lake District in the summer for a week and we would most definitely return here!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed - 1st Floor Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts are very hospitality and nice, the house is beautiful, the breakfast is dedicated and awesome, and the location is not far away from the railway station(within 20 mins walk). Everything is great. Really recommend this hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely few days away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    En-suite bathroom was very small

    Fantastic breakfast, tea and cake on arrival, the cake was absolutely delicious! The bed was very comfy and the seating part of the room in the window was lovely. The hosts were friendly :) Has a lot of parking spaces so very handy. Location is perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior DOuble Room - 1st Floor Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were rather warm however the aircon and fans provided soon cooled down the room.

    The atmosphere of the property was very welcoming, this was shown in the hospitality provided as well as the furnishing of the property. All the facility's and beverages provided was to a high standard. Would recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Quality and high standards throughout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warmest and friendliest welcome from Steven and also a wonderful breakfast with the finest produce perfectly cooked. They have a house champagne that you must try

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    i would fully recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the milk urn in the dinning room was empty on both days ,late afternoons and early evening ( UHT pods provided) Nice to have fresh milk !!

    excellent attention to quality and service and just 1 suggestion

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just be cautious that the driveway is very steep and coming down onto the road we scraped the underneath of our car and by the looks of it a lot of people have done the same so if you have a low car avoid parking round the back of the house

    We had a great midweek break here at rum doodle, it’s in a quiet area so really peaceful. We were greeted by the owner, Tina who made us a pot of tea/coffee, offered us some cake, and told us everything we needed to know. The room was lovely, spacious and clean- I really loved that there was a place to sit and have a drink, there’s a kettle in the room with a lovely selection of teas, ground coffee and biscuits with access to fresh milk in the dining room. Breakfast was fantastic; fruit salad, toast with homemade jams, yoghurts and cereals. It was also really accommodating, she made me dairy free pancakes and porridge both of which were delicious. We were given dairy free butter and milk, they really just went above and beyond. Thank you Tina and Steve for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was picky, only bad things were broken items; Bedroom door handle loose, Bath tiles loose & flush button loose. Also no beans on breakfast. Everything else was great!

    Attic bedroom & other parts of room were nicely decorated. Breakfast had good selection & staff are lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    You must stay at Rum doodle..the best place in the lake district..you will not be disappointed!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to go home

    Staff and lady in charge was the most amazing host ever..so friendly and welcoming, chatty and couldn't do enough for us. The room was an incredible heaven..it was like being the leads in our own movie. The location was sensational. The whole experience was one we will never forget with so many memories..even more so as we found out back home we conceived a little miracle during our stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Great little quirky place - value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 3 - small double. Room very small with a view of a slate roof and unfortunately a very squeaky bed ☹

    Lovely staff, breakfast and location. Welcome drink too. Nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 4 poster bed is lovely but it seems too big for the room so you have to squeeze yourself to get around it to get to the drinks or into bed. And it squeaks

    They were always asking us if there was anything they could do to make our stay better and I thought that was really nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!! When I booked I got the last room available - so given the choice I’d have upgraded but that’s not the hotels fault!!

    A very nice hotel located right between Bowness and Windermere. Very nice staff with coffee and cake on arrival, very comfortable room and great breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior DOuble Room - 1st Floor Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and lovely staff. Ideally situated for a short walk north to Windermere village and short walk south to Bowness-on-Windermere. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    An excellent breakfast choice to start the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m not a lover of instant coffee, so real coffee would have been a real plus. The cleanliness in the bathroom needed some attention. There are stains on the floor behind the sink and also, twice during our stay, dirty water was left in the sink.

    The breakfast was excellent. It is nicely located and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Lovely and tastefully decorated B & B. Owners friendly and welcoming. Amazing Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior DOuble Room - 1st Floor Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are no negatives.

    A quirky bed and breakfast with plenty of character. An amazing breakfast was served each day with locally sourced food. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed comfortable. The owners Steven and Tina were very friendly, advising us about places to visit and places to eat. Nothing was too much trouble. Off street parking was a bonus. Situated between Bowness and Windermere this B & B is a short walk to the lakes, eateries and unique shops. Definitely be returning!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room with fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had a warm welcome and showed to our lovely ground floor room. The decoration was pleasant and the bathroom lovely and bright. It was lovely to have ground coffee and cafeteria in the room. The breakfast was excellent with quality produce provided. The location of the hotel is off the main road which meant it was very peaceful with no traffic noise. It is only a very short walk into the centre of Windermere. All the rooms are individually decorated, well worth a look.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay, amazing B&B with quirky decor. Will definitely be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The B&B itself is so beautiful with such character and attention to little details. It’s in a fab location and within 10 minute walk to both Bowness and Windermere. Will without a doubt be returning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    Friendly and fun B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior DOuble Room - 1st Floor Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very hot, which made for an uncomfortable nights sleep, and the bed was quite small.

    Good location and cute and quirky rooms. Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    So perfect you might not actually leave the room to explore the Lakes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I'm loathed to say anything bad about RumDoodle. I know previous reviews have mentioned bathrooms being small but in our experience, our ensuite (set slightly back from our room but still entirely private) was just fine. Yes, it may not be the most modern suite but I know the new owners are undertaking refurbishments set by step so I expect the bathrooms will be brought into line with the other stunning decor. Honestly not a negative in any way.

    What was not to like? This place is an utter haven. We stayed in Shute (rm #6) which has a beautiful four poster bed topped with sumptuous fresh, soft which sheets, and a small table for two nestled into the big bay window. The absolutely treat is that breakfast is brought to your room every morning so you can sit in dressing gowns being utterly spoiled. Food was top notch and brought on time and with a huge smile. We were gifted a lovely bottle of prosecco to see in the New Year - a lovely touch. Cannot fault the service in any way - they were never seen or heard but were exceptional in quality. Ideally located within walking distance of both Windemere and Bowness villages, some lovely pubs and eateries nearby, and set up on the hill so our room had a lovely view. Parking on site and a lovely team who couldn't do enough for us. We are forever going to look back on this holiday with incredibly warm thoughts. Comes highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.4
    ok for a getaway couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking up on an incline no good when it snowed room very small every time you came out of bathroom you hit your hip on end of bed very sore hip and brused

    bedding was lovley and clean duvet and pillows excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Perfect, cosy & friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given such a warm welcome. Arriving on a blustery Friday night. Steven greeted us with a big smile before making us a welcome cup of tea and a slice of divine homemade cake. The room was super cosy with a pretty view into the village. The bed was amazingly comfortable and everything just perfectly styled too. Rum Doodle is located ideally between Windermere and Bowness both not more than 15minutes walk. Perfect for a walk down to the pub or lovely tapas in Windermere. The breakfast was delicious and hearty, lots of fresh coffee and cheery welcome both mornings. A lovely, friendly, family run B and B full of charm. Hope to come again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    A very comfortable night's stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything that needed improvement.

    Breakfast was very good and served in our room. Even though the property is located a little outside of the main part of Windermere, there was a nice pub with good food a couple of blocks away. We felt very comfortable walking there at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Great breakfast! Gourd location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior DOuble Room - 1st Floor Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot, and we couldn't turn down the heat, no hairdryer in the room, and the mattress was extremely soft and the springs made really loud noises out of the blue. However, in their defence we didn't asK for help with the heat, nor request a hairdryer. Had we stayed more than over night we would have.

    The ' extras' were really good. Such as being offered acoffee and cake on arrival, plunge coffee in the room instead of sachets. Also the quality of the breakfast was amazing. The staff were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Exceptional guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was fabulous. We would recommend this guest house to anyone. Breakfast was the best we had on our 5day tour. The extra touches like bath/shower/ tea&coffee were quality products. Tina was an excellent host.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Lovely quirky B&B, lovely room, excellent breakfast choice and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome,nice and cosy room, quirky and different decor,excellent breakfast choice,for every dietry needs,Great location of B&B,close to Windermere but tucked out of the way.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.3
    Great wee find game about room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room3 small double, very small and bathroom tiny, suitable as a single room, not for two, felt very claustrophobic at times. Shame as great place would loved to have sung its praises more

    Love the quirky decoration felt really homely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Room was clean but tiny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small. Should be a single room. The en suite is a cupboard without room to swing a kitten! The shower wasn't great and needed updating.

    Room was clean but tiny. The staff were lovely and very helpful and the quirky style of the place was great. The location was great too as you could walk both to Windermere and Bowness.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Very cute hotel, lovely room and a lovely weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did ask for champagne to be in our room on arrival. It wasn’t, it was still in the fridge. But mistakes happen so not overly fussed

    Really nice decor and a fab location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Mini moon perfection with a quirky twist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed - 1st Floor Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    Complimentary tea and cake when we arrived, the most welcoming of welcomes by the owners and what great rooms. Absolutely loved it and will return

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Small but cosy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom definitively needs a renovation. Low water pressure, leaking hose to showerhead, mold on (broken) tile joints.

    Small but cosy room. Clean. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok but the bathroom was too small and dated there was no mirror in the room, the only one was in the bathroom that steamed up after having a shower, a full length mirror wood be great in the room so you can dry your hair

    The staff were really friendly, we had a very warm welcome and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, the owners went the extra mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was lovely.

    The welcome, the offer of cake and refreshments, the friendliness of the hosts, and the spotless, well presented room, the owners had only been there for 3 months, an told us of their plans, they are amazing and forward thinking, with style and we would return and definately recommend it. Breakfast was exceptional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Quirky b&b. Lovely hosts. Will be interesting to see how the new owners put their mark on it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ensuite was dated and quite like a bathroom in someone's house which needed renovated. Smelled of damp a bit. My partner wouldn't stay again as not to his taste but he loved the breakfast.

    The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. They had only recently taken over the business but would never have guessed that. Our room and ensuite were immaculate. Breakfast was the best we'd had during our holiday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, we couldnt fault it really,

    The welcome was lovely and we were offered tea/coffee on arrival, the room was very qwirky and spotless. The bed was very comfortuble and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.0
    Staff were friendly however the B&B was a bit tired and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sleep quality and breakfasts

    Staff were friendly however the B&B was a bit tired and could use with an update. Walls are very thin so not best for light sleepers. Breakfast was just passable. I understand the property has changed owners recently so I'm sure with time there will be improvements!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall a great location for exploring the nearby towns and lake walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is served a little earlier than we would of liked (8.30 - 9.30) meaning our bad nights sleep in the hard uncomfortable bed was made worse knowing we had to get up earlier than we normally would when on holiday for breakfast.

    Great location being only a ten min walk down one main road to either Windermere or Bowness, quite, clean, easy to check in and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Had a lovely stay in a quirky enjoyable B&B in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a shower in the room as well as a bath, room felt a little tired in terms of the carpet and toilet seat.

    Lovely breakfast especially the black pudding and potato cake, nice there was fresh coffee and a caffetiere in the room and a decent DVD collection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful three-night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It could add some shower caps or cotton sticks in shower room.

    The room was large and bright just as the pictures shown. The room we booked include breakfast in room. The breakfast, was beyond expectation. There were lots of selections and the food was perfect to enjoy in a window seat. The hosts were very kind and helpful. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    A very welcoming and comfortable B&B, in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature in the shower fluctuated from hot to cold a bit once or twice. Bathroom was very small (even though we were in the small double room).

    The location was great for Bowness and Windermere, comfy bed, delicious breakfast, great stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Lovely location, Lovely owners, Salty bacon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's probably splitting hairs and down to personal taste but we found the bacon to be a bit too crispy and also quite salty. Other than that no complaints :)

    Lovely location and wonderful owners who were very friendly and even arranged breakfast early for us on our first morning as I was doing a charity walk so needed to leave before the advertised breakfast times. Would definitely come again :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with updating although it was clean and functional .

    Very friendly couple excellent position for walking to both Windermere and Bowness on Windermere . Room was fab as was breakfast which we took in our room loveky way to start the day .

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: