Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Braeval Hotel 3 stars

Crescent Road, Nairn, IV12 4NB, United Kingdom

#3 of 6 hotels in Nairn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 289 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful Place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location facing sea across the grassy area with lovely views from our room on 2nd floor & from the restaurant too. Big room with windows front & back. Lovely window seat in bay window. Great views. Quiet location. Restaurant food wonderful. All the staff were so nice. Great breakfast too. Staff so helpful. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.5
    Great hotel - superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave to catch an early flight so were unable to make breakfast service. We felt we might have been offered some form of discount.

    Comfortable room, cheery staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location and food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment before check-in and nothing could be charged to the room. On business with a company credit card you only want one bill at the end of the stay.

    Location was fantastic, a stone's throw from the beach. Food was good but a bit overpriced. My single room was bigger than average and a great view out to sea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Location is excellent for travelling around Speyside area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon arrival to room, the TV didnt work, mouldy shower curtain and broken wood coat hanger. Brought this to attention of staff as we went to bar to have a drink, and it was attended to immediately- new aerial connection, new shower curtain and appropriate apology. Excellent service to rectify the situation. We stayed Wed, Thurs nights OK, but Friday night there was a band playing in the bar and music was too loud and too late.

    Location, location, location. Service was excellent, great bar area, excellent little restaurant the Bandstand- have the Bandstand salad bowl with smoked fish- just amazing. A couple of negatives (dont stay on a Friday night), but outweighed by the amazing location of the hotel and views of the coast, and location in relation to the distillerys, castles and Inverness etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    OK - probably seek a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in room, no shelf in shower, no bar in shower, no hooks in bathroom, not easy to manage for elderly or physically less mobile folk

    Location and sea view from room, comfy mattress, clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    good choice of breakfast menu good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we found the bed far too soft for us so did not get a good sleep so found ourselves unrested in the mornings.

    good choice of breakfast menu good service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Great and lots to see and do in this area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were older and narrow. Probably should have someone there to help with the bags.

    The view from our room was wonderful! The staff was friendly and the pub and restaurant were excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant but not such that I would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic and the hotel elements are dominated by the public bar.

    The view and access to the sea front is excellent. The restaurant was very good although the service was mediocre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    The meal in the restaurant was lovely, staff were...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I stayed in was a single, as there is no blinds and only curtains, daylight shown through from very early on in the morning, the shower was terrible about 3 sprays of water came from the head, this was mainly due to the fact that the shower head needing either a good clean or replaced as there was black mould covering 7/8th of the head. The mattress was ok not the comfiest but for the price it wasn't too bad.

    The meal in the restaurant was lovely, staff were accommodating and very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    It was OK for us as a base to visit family.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact I had to climb stairs in this day and age, they were not steep, but what about discrimination against the disabled. The menu was poor not much choice. The room had a strong smell of paint. It was difficult to park outside.

    The staff were friendly, the room clean and fresh apart from the curtains which had holes in them. The food was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location backing onto the links.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little noisy at nights - adjacent to a staff room with some arguing til 4am on the first night, then live bands on Friday and Saturday, but joined in and had a pint or two at the Bandstand bar. music finished by 12-12.30 so no probs.

    Great location backing onto the links. Close proximity to the beach and to town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Great value. Lovely food - breakfast and the evening meal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in shower. Room cleanliness - generally a little dated e.g stained furniture, old kettle, curtains hanging off the rail but for £39 got what paid for.

    Great scottish breakfast. Room rate excellent for one night stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    Friendly hotel with an excellent bar that the locals visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My large window allowed people in the car park to see into my room.

    Peaceful room, quiet location, excellent bar provided some life without having to leave the hotel. The breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Would highly recommend. 10 out of 10 from me.
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. No complaints, happy with everything.

    The very friendly staff. The food, Restaurant and Bar, scrummy. The tea Mugs...not a silly cup. Nice touch. Lovely Hotel, so glad I chose it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a tiny thing but the temperature in the breakfast room ---cold

    Genuinely warm welcome on a cold night, lovely fire burning in the bar good food and selection of real ale . Our room looked out over the bandstand and the sea beyond it was warm and comfortabe. The Braeval is a lovely place to relax and recharge the batteries the menu offers local foods skillfully prepared would definitely recommend eating there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.4
    One excellent dining room staff otherwise very poor standard of service at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all the above.

    TV not working (problem staff were aware of - it was fixed but it was back again next morning (no signal). Also, they couldn't offer an early breakfast &.00am as we had a flight to catch and though promised there was no 'breakfast to go' left out for us and the chef was very unresponsive ..... they refunded £5 pp for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.8
    Nairn was beautiful,but I expect just a little more comfort,and attentiveness,cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no one at the reception most of the time.the bathroom should have been cleaned better.slight smell of urine. They should be more attentive to guests,be at the reception,not the bar.It was fine.They should have opened for breakfast earlier to accommodate me.I left early for a train,all I got was a candy bar,muffin an apple,which was appreciated,but I paid for room and breakfast,and felt I did not get my money worth.

    The view from the window of the ocean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Really pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Left my E Reader at the hotel they mailed it to my next address it arrived before I did. Excellent effort they even paid for the postage Well Done And A Big Thanks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing and cosy. Delicious food, beautifully presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a bit of an issue but we were lucky and always found a space.

    Food was wonderful! Lovely relaxing environment and good beer. Homely and welcoming feeling about the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    A really nice hotel with a great restaurant and very convenient for Inverness Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because we stayed on the night of their beer festival (great beers by the way) it was a bit noisy in our room as we coulook hear all the people talking outside on the patio until 1.15am.

    The restaurant was very good and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely location - excellent food: good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Step down into room quite dangerous! (there was a warning notice on the door, thankfully). Shower a bit basic.

    Very tasty breakfast. Restaurant meal excellent previous night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Must try better !!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being forced to settle account in the evening, even though reception sad I could settle in morning. Booking an early breakfast only to be told that nobody informed the kitchen - served anyway but a bit awkwrd. Table in restaurant too close to toilets. Parking scarce, coniting of a few places around narrow streets. Never felt welcome and valued as a customer. I don't feel they are best set up for business guests and more suited to casual holida/tourists. Room was small even for a single and a little tired.

    location and sea views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel with excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is on a narrow road. Double bedroom at back of hotel and shower room both on the small side. Twin room on top floor at front better size and great views.

    Great location overlooking the strand and the sea. Excellent restaurant - both choice and quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    The actual breakfast was nice and lot's of choice on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived later on in the evening and there was a really nice girl who was on the bar and behind the desk who asked us what time we would like breakfast. She said it was served from 8-9.30, so we booked in for 9.30am. When we went down for breakfast the lady who was on in the morning was very angry and told us 'breakfast actually finished at 9.30 not last seating and we shouldn't have been able to book it for that time' She was quite rude for the rest of breakfast as well and we just didn't feel welcome. However the rest of the staff in the hotel were really nice and friendly and it is a lovely hotel.

    The actual breakfast was nice and lot's of choice on the menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    Very disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room main light flickered the room was not proper checked for this and no one could fix it when I asked , I went down at 7.45 and asked if I could get my breakfast earlier the chef I spoke to was well mannered but the person who he relay the message to response I heard was tell him it does not open till 8 00a.m. I am having a fag. the room rate was cheap £50 however the toilet was very cramped and compacted you had to come out to dry yourself after a shower only one bath towel in the room. the room was above the entrance and on the main stairway to all bed rooms at around 11.00 p.m. the noise from people going up to there room was very load laughing and joking no consideration for other guest

    it was value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    Good location with superb views of the Forth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    En-suite tiny. No air conditioning. Outside beer garden area littered with cigarette ends. Very slow service at breakfast. Over priced.

    Nothing stood out

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No onsite parking so you had to park at the back and around local streets which was sometimes an issue if you got back late

    Great location opposite the beach, room was clean, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    This is hotel is good for a few nights it has excellent food and the relaxing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could do with a lounge the pub area was used by hotel guest who were trying to read but the seating is uncomfortable

    The food was excellent and the hotel was near the sea so great views while eating great food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Good value; friendly staff; unpretentious but enjoyable evening meal; good value wines
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast - tinned grapefruit segments; no fresh berries or fruit; poor fruit salad; no greek yoghurt or granola. Sausages at cooked breakfast solid, unpleasant and seemed to have been reheated.

    good views; friendly staff; good value evening meal;lively bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Vacation of envy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful sea view - the ultimate location in front of the park (with an old bandstand) bordering the beach! Restaurant has amazing, fresh food which was well-prepared and presented. Staff were very helpful and friendly... can't wait until we stay there again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    3.3
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are ridiculously small, not a great place so we stayed out room most of time. Also staff at breakfast were very rude and generally not happy to be serving you, everything was a problem for her. Have a very poor representation of the place. Not a place I would recommend or ever stay in again.

    Nice restaurant location with lovely views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    I asked and was told I had a Seaview room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked and was told I had a Seaview room...when I arrived i had a sideways view...bit disappointed but overall a nice place...lovely girls doing the breakfast...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable 2 day break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One member of waiting staff was rather unwelcoming and abrupt. Shower and bathroom would benefit from refurbishment.

    Meals were excellent. Room clean, comfortable and not overheated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    Ok stay but not sure i would stay at this place again although ale very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being asked to pay hotel bill the minute i arrived at hotel. I had been traveling all day and just wanted to take my luggage to the room and pay later but this request was refused.

    Breakfast ok but had better

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Great views, good food, however ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness of the room could have been improved: the carpet did not appear to have been vacuumed prior to my arrival; the grout between the tiles in the shower could've done with some Milton's or Cillit Bang! Also the metal soap/shampoo holder was rusted and needs throwing out.

    Lovely location with views across Nairn common and bandstand. Food was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.1
    Good, clean budget room for single travellers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have started earlier. Don't know if a continental is availiable out with set restaurant hours.

    Good location, nice views from restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Sat night music excellent ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No on-site parking.

    Sat night music excellent ; very friendly staff ; good restaurant with lots of choice ; good breakfast one morning...on the other occasion full Scottish came without sausage!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.0
    Not user friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped bathroom. No parking except if you were fortunate to find space in the adjacent hotel's car park. Stayed two nights and housekeeping had not emptied the waste basket and our damp towels were not replaced. Not impressed by that especially at the rate we paid. Day two breakfast: Wanted to sit by the window but was told I had to sit at a table already set for breakfast. The difference​ was the menu card for breakfast was on another table (Monday 12th). I'm the guest, so I'll choose where to sit. Regrettably, I cannot say I would return.

    Good breakfast. Sea views from our bedroom. Near to town and beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.9
    The sea view was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On street parking is limited and in narrow streets.

    The sea view was excellent. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed. Very good WiFi reception. Friendly staff, excellent food and located very close to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.5
    Not as good as we expected it would be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our bedroom was poor (see photo) . Bedroom was pretty small looked bigger on the sites photos.

    The Food was outstanding . Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nowhere to park at the hotel and very little street parking available. Not even anywhere for a pedal cycle!

    It's an unpretentious hotel but it had all the facilities one might expect. You might even get a sea view - I did. The food was good - the steak tender and cooked to perfection, and there's a wide selection of real beers. Cooked to order breakfast too - so much nicer than a 'buffet'. Only a short walk from the beach and the town centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    4.6
    Typical dire Scottish "hicksville" hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy despite being a "quiet" room. Breakfast was poor in every regard. Bathroom very small. Notice in room telling you not to eat or drink alcohol in room - not very hospitable!

    View from room 7 was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.8
    Warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here a good few times its a lovely family run hotel with good food . The staff are always welcoming the beds and beers are good and Nairn is the perfect spot to break the journey north.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    Seaside holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, excellent cooked breakfast, brilliant location near to the sea and walking distance to the rail station. Friendly staff. Resources in Nairn itself more than expected - good local places to eat out nearby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.9
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    loved the view from our room and the staff were very helpful and approachable. They had a nice choice of real ale and whisky. The food was tasty and you received a decent portion.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    3.8
    Don't stay here if you want a relaxing break - pub's more important than paying guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was directly above the bar area - a live band was scheduled to play that night, we had no idea this was the case - we had to suffer extremely loud pounding music until 1.15 am - then 2am before the noise of people leaving died down so we could get some sleep, we are both 60+ totally unacceptable

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    6.7
    overall fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was cold at night then warm in the mourning and no one told me there was a switch for the shower i spent almost 15 mins trying to figure it out was only when i was leaving i noticed the switch.

    The food and entertainment

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.6
    Good value hotel in Nairn.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem: water in the shower took a long time to get just warm and the flow/pressurewas poor.

    Inexpensive. Quiet. Close to main route but quiet and near the sea and the town. It was clean and tidy and was a good choice. Warm room and nice ensuite.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No lift in hotel--but the staff helped carry our suitcases. 15 minute walk from the rail station, maybe 20 minutes with suitcases if you dawdle.

    Food was very good. The breakfast menu was expansive. Even the dinner offerings were quite good. There was an extensive selection of (local ) beers and whiskey. The room had a stunning view of the Moray Firth with a nice sitting area. It was clean and neat. I had read earlier reviews that the rooms are over a pub that has entertainment on the weekends. this is not the place to book if that will be a problem. However, we chose to join in and had great conversation with local and visiting folks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly hotel with superb real ales
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever

    Very friendly staff. Met owner too & could not have been more helpful. Even met a friendly local at the bar (Clive) & it transpires we had a mutual "long lost" friend from Sheffield. Finally great selection of real ales & all from local breweries.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.9
    Wonderful view over the ocean and great variety of whiskeys
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were staying in the family room with only 2 people because there was nothing else available. Unfortunately they locked the other bedroom so that we couldn't use it and still charged us for the whole 2 bedroom-room. That was the only thing that we didn't like so much.

    Breakfast was very good! Also the huge variety of whiskeys! The Hotel is right at the waterfront, we had a wonderful view over the ocean from our room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice overall ambience of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noisy extract fan which was on flat roof next to our bedroom (extract from kitchen which was bit smelly when operated)

    Nice overall ambience of hotel. Very nice food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Great place lovely people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window could have done with a net or blind as unless the curtains were closed anyone walking along the back entrance road could have seen in. Felt a little exposed

    The view and walks across the road were magnificent. Bedroom with the view would have made it perfect. Breakfast was freshly made and very good. Plenty of it. Would I use them again. Definitely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Takeaway breakfast was meant to be placed outside my door for early departure but wasn't. Not a big deal as I ate at the airport.

    Different room this time and had a comfortable bed. Room price reasonable. View from restaurant / location of hotel is excellent. Food in bar was good. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    8.8
    Great base from which to explore the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very hot even though the weather was not and so we did not sleep too well. We believe this was because we were above the kitchen and the extractor fan was just outside our window

    Great food in a restaurant with a lovely view Friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.9
    Awful mattress
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Memory foam mattress was really really uncomfortable to the extent I could not sleep on it. (I would not stay again if in the same room - however I've stayed since in a different room with a normal mattress and was comfortable.)

    Helpful staff. Made sure I could still get in after my plane was delayed past last check-in time. View across the loch/bay from the restaurant is stunning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Really friendly welcome, comfy bed and great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a little challenging as there is no on-site car park.

    Really friendly welcome, comfy bed and great breakfast. Food menu looked fantastic - and catered for gluten free too, which was a bonus! I would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    A great place to stay and dine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was awesome! We had a bedroom that overlooked the park and the Moray Firth. We also had a couple of meals there, and the food was fantastic! I would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Comfortable visit with good food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was too hot overnight. Unfortunately I was in the room next to kitchen extractor fan so couldn't have window open until kitchen was closed.

    Very friendly helpful staff. Good choices for breakfast and evening meal. Very comfortable bed. Good value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.3
    Superb view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't work properly went from freezing to boiling so now shower that morning. Did report it on leaving and hotel were going to look into it

    Breakfast was very good. Plenty to eat. Had evening meal which was good. Staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.5
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dated, however comfortable and spacious.

    Loved the freshly cooked (not buffet) locally sourced breakfast. It would get 5 stars from me. Lively bar and outstanding location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Friendly staff; comfort; convenience.....this place ticks all the boxes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable beds. Good location. Great breakfast and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel but marred by fan moise and smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy kitchen extractor fan outside window

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, nice staff, very good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small house keeping issue , no towels ready on last night

    Easy access

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Good overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window was right by the extraction fan from kitchen-quite unpleasant

    Lovely view from the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    What a view from the room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a view from the room!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    ?
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poorly cooked could not get hot water from taps

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good food and beer!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Double room rather small for 2 adults
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room rather small for 2 adults

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Sadly the weather put a damper on the stay but no complaints otherwise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a bath

    The sea view and close proximity Good food in the restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff welcoming. Great views. Good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    I would love to go back again for a night or two
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very good

    It is a comfortable well run hotel and very friendly staff and customers

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Food and the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was cold in the night and cold in breakfest room

    Food and the staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non applicable

    Everything ì expected.have stayed there before.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: