Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brambletye Hotel 3 stars

The Square, Forest Row, RH18 5EZ, United Kingdom

#3 of 4 hotels in Forest Row

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 521 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Excellent and central to my activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no improvements that I can think of

    Everything for me was excellent, the staff were very helpful considering the England/Croatia game was on TV and the place was full of non residents.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    The receptionist was helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms can be noisy at the front of the hotel. Food is disappointing as though it used to be good but the chef can't be bothered anymore!

    The receptionist was helpful and friendly. The staff do there best with a tired hotel. I would stay again but would NOT eat there including breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and friendly
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast...apparantly a member of staff hadn't turned up but our eggs were undercooked, no toast and the coffee was Luke warm but it should be noted that the meal taken the night before was outstanding!

    The general ambience, the building, the friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Really good, meal fantastic and good location for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major but can be quite noisy at night outside from locals on an evening. Again not the hotels fault it is after all in the town. Bed was really badly squeaky when you moved. As it was a twin room I was aware of the noise waking up my friend.

    Room good, shower good, room clean, very warm so sporadic sleep but not the hotels fault. We are in June! Restaurant far surpassed our expectations. Staff friendly. Overall really good visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Very comfortable and our third stay here for family reasons. Very handy for a 'Winnie the Pooh' pilgrimage. Those who have seen the movie 'Goodbye Christopher Robin' will recognise several of the locations in Ashdown Forest (see 'Pooh Sticks Bridge and 'Enchanted Place photos).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really poor experience! It all started at dinner as we sat down at around 7.50 pm and ordered the 2 fillet steaks. We asked for rare steaks, with extra mushroom and béarnaise sauce. We waited for about 45 minutes until we got any food; in the meantime, we got a bit scared as 3 tables gave their food back to the kitchen, and 1 table just completely left the restaurant because of the wait. When we finally got our food, the steaks were really burned, all black, and smelt like it too. It was just impossible to cut them. Moreover, the béarnaise arrived and it looked more like melted butter than béarnaise (which is supposed to be like a mayonnaise texture). We had to send back both our steaks and the béarnaise and had to wait another 20-25 minutes until we got our steaks again. This time, they were nicely cooked, however, the béarnaise still looked like butter so we didn’t take it (not sure the chef knows what it’s supposed to look like). The waitress couldn’t apologise enough though and offered us the bottle of wine. We went then to the bar to finish the wine, when the live music started. We got advised at the time of the check-in that there was live music, but not in a million years would have had imagine that it would be so loud. We just couldn’t stand it in the bar so we went back to our room (#19) which was just above the bar and the smoking area. This is apparently advertised in the fine print on booking.com, which unfortunately I didn’t see as I would have never booked the room in the first place. It was one of the most horrific nights in any hotel before. The music was really loud, but kind of covered by all the noises made by the people that were outside the bar. The room was really hot as well (we had the chance to have a really nice weather), but it was impossible to open the window without feeling like I was smoking with the clientele. I will not book your hotel again in the future unfortunately as I felt like we overpaid for a really bad experience.

    The location was good as we had an activity booked on the sunday morning which was just 15 min drive from the hotel but that was the only plus! The staff was nice but they couldn't make for the appalling experience we had,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast options and filter coffee, nice building,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor and it was sweltering hot. I understand they can't do anything about the weather but maybe leaving the windows open a bit before we got there would have helped. Or even a fan or something.

    Good breakfast options and filter coffee, nice building, friendly staff. Overall happy, would return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only gripe, and it is a relatively minor one, is that on two of the three nights that I stayed, one of the two 'Disabled Parking Bays' was taken by a workman who either parked illegally, or failed to display his Blue Badge, it was the same person on both nights, I saw him walk out to the car and drive away during the evening. To most people, this will seem to be nothing, but if you are unable to walk easily, this kind of pettiness is very thoughtless.

    All the staff were superbly helpful, they could not do enough for each guest. I really enjoyed each of the evening meals that I had at the hotel. My room was well appointed and on the ground floor, something that I found very useful as I suffer from arthritis and walk with a stick.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    A welcome short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar was very crowded, would have liked to have seen the band but as disabled this was not possible as nowhere to sit, too popular I guess, food was good.

    Nice clean easily accessible room, comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    The hotel provided a convenient base for visiting my friend in the village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a quiet room but on the front of the hotel which had road noise. On Saturday evening there was a heavy rock band playing in the bar and the thumping could be felt two floors up. Roudy people attending were below window in beer garden at front till 1am. No lift.. Room up two flights of difficult stairs. This is the only hotel I have ever stayed in where the bed was left unmade when the room was serviced. The television didn't work but ready for bed when realised so couldn't report it till next morning. Overall the hotel in need of TLC. All the staff were very pleasent.. A long wait for meal on Saturday evening although not busy at the time I was in but very nice when it came. Breakfast a good choice and enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stsy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report

    Had real character adequate parking easy access to rooms, which were large and comfortable and had all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Get a room to the side and what’s not to like..?
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room (19) was directly facing the front of the hotel and the main road. Local tipper lorries racing by at 5am made so much noise that the double-glazing proved insufficient. Also the car park sign needs to be illuminated.

    Convenient, easy to find hotel with car park tucked around the back. Very pleasant, welcoming staff with nothing too much trouble and good sized rooms. Breakfast was very tasty too - a 3-egg cheese & ham omelette to die for!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Mainly good and convenient. Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No 24/7 reception. Coffee at breakfast very weak and not self serve so have to keep asking for top up. Breakfast hours too early for those travelling for leisure. Hours for serving dinner stop at 8pm which is too early. Staff eating their breakfast before guests have left dining room. Some breakfast items had run out on cooked breakfast.

    Location good. Breakfast included. Free parking. Quiet rooms at back of hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows uncomfortable. Duvet too thick and hot. Sent chef home at 7pm so couldn't get evening meal and had to eat/drink elsewhere which is really why we picked the hotel so it was all under 1 roof.

    Staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    A NICE STAY IN THE CENTRE OF THE VILLAGE
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO BREAKFAST AVAILABLE ON MONDAYS.BUT NOT A REAL ISSUE AS THE COST WAS LOW AND THERE ARE PLENTY OF PLACES IN THE VILLAGE FOR BREAKFAST.

    VERY REASONABLE PRICE.LARGE CLEAN ROOM .TEA AND COFFEE PROVIDED.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.1
    Basic but fit for purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are in dire need of a facelift. But if you can look past the state of the decoration, the rooms themselves are clean, the beds are surprisingly comfortable & in the two times I've stayed here, I haven't been disturbed by noise from other rooms (always a bonus!)

    Restaurant is surprisingly good - not quite fine dining but the food is cooked & presented perfectly. The waitresses are also attentive & helpful. Check-in & check-out were swift & painless. Plenty of parking around the back (but take care on the humpback bridge!)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    Do not stay in room 14, food and staff very good, free parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 14 was directly above the Bar, music playing till almost midnight. Single bed was small and not the most comfortable, bit soft for my choice.

    Location, staff, food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.0
    Never return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En suite was disgusting. Grime in the bath overflow. Shower curtain brown. Shower rail rusty. Mould on tiles grout and bath surround. Non slip mat was brown and stained. Bed sides so soft I fell out twice.

    Location.staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.0
    staff were not very friendly,we felt we were putting them out just being there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    waitress service at dinner was almost nonexistent,when the wine was placed on the table (screw top) it was just that ,no conversation and we had to open the bottle ourselves,that was a first.

    breakfast was good,but being empty the staff just watched us eating our breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely homely room, but the rest of the hotel, a little cliquey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area, was either empty or on the Saturday there were a lot of local youngsters, and we felt overdressed, because we had just had dinner and a little out of place.

    The staff very friendly, Girls in restaurant very helpful and polite. The food was really good, breakfast nice and hot, nicely cooked. Dinner was amazing the fish cooked to perfection. Restaurant very quiet, maybe time of year, but not a lot of atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfy bed but pillows a little flat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast menu in room included eggs benedict, however not on the menu in restaurant, and my 2nd choice arrived incorrect, staff very young and could pay a little more attention to guests & not themselves

    Comfy bed but pillows a little flat

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a slight smell in the room when we first got there but we opened the window and it as fine. Room was great though - lovely and clean and biscuits with our tea!!

    We ordered fillet steaks in the evening. They were superb. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was cooked nice - set us up for the day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Will stay again when next in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not serious but staff at breakfast were not attententive to guests needs. Chatting near kitchen entrance, needed flagging to take order. Location of juices/cereals/ toast not pointed out - found tucked await out of my line of sight.

    Warm, comfortable environment with pleasant decor. Plenty of car parking space. Friendly and helpful Reception staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay, staff friendly. Good food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Car park has a few potholes that need to be fixed and could do with a bit of lighting to make it easier to cross in the dark, just watch out for the narrow bridge at the entrance.

    Staff excellent, polite and helpful. Rooms fine, beds comfortable. Good sized rooms and reasonably quick WiFi. Very good choice of quality food that's well cooked and presented (just wish that they'd change the soup option occasionally. After you've stayed there a few times, could do with an alternative).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    quite a nice hotel in good location in center of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was pretty much what we expected husband paid extra for de luxe suite and could not see any difference to our friends rooms ? bit noisy as room at front of hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Easy to find in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and accommodating staff. Our son had an operation at the nearby hospital, he didn’t want to leave the room afterwards. The staff were more than happy to provide room service for him at no extra cost.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Would not stay again even though the staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a disgrace bottom of bath chipped impossible to use as dangerous. Mould on paintwork in bathroom . Needs ripping out and new one installing. Hotels should not be allowed to charge money for bathrooms in that condition

    Beds were comfy room was nice and warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Central location for visiting the area including National...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor a little tired in room. Despite being non smoking, we felt there was a lingering possibly smoky aroma in our room.

    Central location for visiting the area including National Trust Properties and Ashdown Forest. Easy walking to a variety of pubs and restaurants. Comfortable for a short stay. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    A very comfortable stay all round - would stay again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken shower door and very dodgy wifi although to be fair I was poffered use of secure wifi if I needed to do banking. Would stay again without hesitation

    Friendly staff, excellent food, comfortable clean room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    Just acceptable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in need of refurbishment, the bar area is uncomfortable and there are noisy local youths drinking in the bar. There is no provision for vegans and even though I've stayed several times recently no attempt get soya milk in or dairy free spread

    The location and price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Good choice for an evening together with my sister before taking her to Gatwick the next morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a bit tatty.

    Beds comfy and staff very friendly. Breakfast was good. In very pleasant surroundings, with plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance. Lovely scenic drive to Gatwick Airport the next morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.8
    Not as good as predicted for area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How tired it all looked and old fashioned throughout.

    When checking in hotel no one was around. We waited and waited then had to go find someone. The whole place is tired looking as very old and run down a little really. There were hardly any seats in bar to sit and have a drink and an old smell about the place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Hotel is ok. Young staff team is great. Loved the nature & quiet surroundings of Forrest Row.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If internet is essential for your stay don't book! Common areas and parts of pub look like it had it's best days (eg. carpets, sofas,... run down). Matress could be more comfortable. Be prepared for waiting times (20 min) for cooked breakfast in the morning.

    Young staff team is great and attentive! Good sized and tasty breakfast portions. Room #15 is spacious. Check in/out reasonably quick.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    fantastic staff and a brilliant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic service from very friendly staff, Hotel was spotless - and I am very picky!! Great place the only complaint was that the pictures on the website do not do the hotel any justice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    All good staying again next week
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad, stayed here many times

    Good food, friendly helpful staff, comfortable bed, clean room & ensuite. Forest row has lots of pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    We wanted a convenient, reasonably priced room quiet but hotel placed on major route to East Grinst
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attention to the maintenance could be better. Wobbly toilet seat, decor a little tired,and radiator didn't come on when it should have done. I.E. after 7.00 p.m.

    The staff were excellent. Very helpful, courteous, and informative. Probably one of the best overnight stays for the money. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    As mentioned before
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good value,was told on arrival that Sat night was steak night,excellent food and service,the waitresses were really excellent,could not fault our stay. Thank you Brambletye. We would normally stay at the Marriott at Lingfield but was fully booked,on reflection we thought that the Brambletye was much better value and so much more friendly,therefore would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Good food, decent accommodation, just watch out for the car park!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom a bit tired - shower holder troublesome and bath enamel very worn but it all worked well. Car park a little small and beware the very large potholes at the entrance and on the car park itself. Very narrow access via bridge over stream.

    Room a good size and comfortable bed. Food excellent and reasonable value. Didn't have the cooked breakfast, just boiled or scrambled eggs, cereal, toast & juice but full breakfast looked to be very good. Decent range of local beers and friendly staff. Location very good, easy to find Room at the back of the hotel was quiet, but food deliveries in early hours (around 04:30 - 05:30) could be heard with the window open, enough to wake me up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some parts of the hotel could do with a little upgrade and some of the public areas could do with a better clean.

    Room was very comfortable and the hotel was in an excellent location. Breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    3.3
    Convenient but disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a disgrace, very dirty and moldy. The breakfast staff were much more interested in carrying out an entirely inappropriate conversation with guests she wanted to flirt with. Struggling to get through a door didn’t prompt any assistance again all to busy socialising. There is disability parking close to the disability entrance to the motel but it was full of tradesmen vehicles who certainly could walk.

    It’s location to Gatwick is handy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Brilliant- we would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really comfy and the English breakfast which was included in the tariff was superb - cooked to absolute perfection. Staff were helpful & friendly. Close to all the facilities Forest Row had to offer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Clean comfortable and value for money 💰
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had one qualm it would be the bathroom tiles need a regrout and the bathroom a luck of paint otherwise it was clean and clean towels provided daily .

    It was a lovely hotel with nice staff who were happy to help you. The room was spacious and very clean good value fir money. The food was lovely and no too expensive all in all a lovely place to stay 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Ok for one night.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was full when we arrived at 10.15pm - we had informed hotel we would be late. We did manage to park across the road after a search. The floor in the bathroom was grubby around the edges. A radiator in the dining room was rusty.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room comfortable and away from noise of band playing in bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Really good. Great hotel. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We sat in the bar and had a drink in the evening. A disco was on which would have been good if the music was "our" type, whilst we appreciate this cannot always be catered for it would have been good if there had been another area we could have sat rather than going to our room with our coffee.

    Very welcoming staff when we arrived. Carried our cases to our room and was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable with plenty of space for my friend and I. Shower was brilliant, very warm and powerful. Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice and 3 egg omelette was great. My parents and grandparents lived in Forest Row for many years so knew it extremely well when I was a child. Real trip down memory lane for me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Clean comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unimpressed by the female member of staff who booked me in at Reception. On being told that I was leaving before they served breakfast, I was not offered a tray to take to my room - she appeared inflexible and gave the impression it was my fault.

    Clean comfortable room. Dinner was freshly cooked and tasty. Evening staff in the bar and restaurant were attentive and very pleasant especially as they gave me a breakfast tray to take to my room as I was leaving early. It was because of this that I marked them up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant - very good customer facing skills displayed by all the staff.. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com BV - didn't quite tell the truth- the return email stated that there was no possiblilty of a refund if we had to cancel. In fact it is possible up to 3 days out and we were outside of the 3 days albeit only by half a day. So a big thumbs down for Booking.com Staff kindly explained the issues with the live band on Friday and Saturday evenings but it was not an issue.

    Facilities good, location good. Staff very helpful, polite and courteous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    Good location for our one night stay but shame about the bed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the bed in our room was uncomfortable, you could feel the springs and consequently we did not sleep at all well. The bedroom chairs are falling apart underneath and look very dated. I had scrambled eggs and hubby had the full breakfast with scrambled egg. I may be wrong but the scrambled egg looked like it had been made from a packet mix and not real eggs. We've stayed in many hotels all over the world and never had it like this!

    The location in the centre of Forest Row was great as our business meeting location was only one mile away. The hotel had it's own restaurant which offered a good selection of food. The restaurant staff were very cheerful, attentive and helpful. Impressed with the effort to make the bathroom in our room presentable with towels etc :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    4.6
    As above.Extremely disappointed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the reception/Manager? Given the wrong information on meal times and then refused dinner. Hotel information books need updating. Manager was extremely rude. Will not be staying here again.

    All things average, nothing to enthuse about.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Rooms were clean and functional the evening meal and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ,everything was fine ,we would use this hotel again if we were that way at some time

    Rooms were clean and functional the evening meal and breakfast were really good service could not have been better and the car park at the rear was nice and large

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Duvet was too thick for summer.

    The room had everything we needed. Man on reception was very helpful - we had been allocated the last room which was over the bar with loud music that night. When we looked dismayed at the thought of loud music till 1am, he contacted other residents who seemed happy to change with us. Food in restaurant was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    Clean and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated decor, bar downstairs had a party the night we stayed (didn't seem to be every night so would be worth checking), depends if guests joined in or not if this is was an issue

    Clean and comfy bed. Location close to the event we needed to be at

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    A very comfortable, attractive hotel/pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en suite was dated but otherwise we were very satisfied.

    A very comfortable, attractive hotel/pub. Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    2.9
    Do not stay at this Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dirty. Cobwebs on curtains and wall. Wallpaper peeling off walls. Sink could not get rid of water quickly enough so was always full of used water. Food was awful. We got there at around 8.55pm and asked to book a table. Like a scene from Fawlty Towers we were told chef finishes at 9pm. Could we order whilst booking in. We wanted to order starters but was told main course only because of the time. We ordered 2 rump steaks and when it arrived both were smothered in BBQ sauce. Truly disgusting. Breakfast was included in the price but we decided we could not eat here again so went elsewhere. Complete waste of money and we would definitely not stay there again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel with great value for money and excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little outdated and could do with modernisation but for the price it didn't really bother us.

    The breakfast was incredible value for money. The hotel were also very helpful and allowed us to check in early for no extra cost as we were in a rush to attend a wedding. Finally, on arriving late and a little merry the staff greeted us with a smile without any fuss.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.3
    Family room next to noisy road
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the only family room was very poor. Right next to the road above the pub. At night guests were outside having a drink right under our window. Traffic noise kept us awake all night, felt like cars would drive into our room at any moment. It was summer and no aircon so closing the windows was not an option. Room was old but clean. If you book here, make sure to ask for a room away from the road, if you have kids, book elsewhere since all their family rooms are next to the road as the manager told us.

    Location was good. Good parking. Breakfast was just ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Good for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed pillows were too hard, I think they have seen better days :-(

    The reception/barman/and general all rounder was Will, a most helpful and pleasant guy who is a huge asset to Brambletye.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Good, comfortable Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park often full, so frustrating when returning from long day out and worrying about where to safely park.

    Spacious room with comfy bed. Tea/coffee making in room. Fridge in room - very useful for cold drinks as it was extremely hot weather. Staff all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    pleasant stay clean and lovely breakie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    out of the 3 stays at this place we did notice that there were fewer things in the room such as toiletries, biscuits etc and this room as the least nicest . The bathroom was very basic but other rooms we have stayed in the bathroom have been really nice.

    Breakfast friendly staff always clean nice size rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    A comfortable stay in the Ashdown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast 'continental' buffet was limited, with no pastries.

    The staff were welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed the courtyard for drinks and food. The food was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Cool Rock n roll hotel/pub !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late, by bike, tired and thursty. We were very well welcomed even outside checkin hours. We've been able to put our bikes in safe place for the night. Had drinks in the pub, great beer, great music (rock'n'roll!!!!) We didn't had the chance tontry the restaurant (too late) but full english breakfast was good!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.9
    The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately there was a late night party in the bar which was a bit noisy, but that was all

    The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and attentive

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the band downstairs when I wanted to sleep.

    The staff went out of their way to find me a hairdryer when the one in my room was missing. Very friendly and would def stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.1
    OK for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very large step into shower enclosure which meant my head touched the ceiling (I'm 6'2"). Could be a safety issue to trying to get in and out of shower. I had full English breakfast for 3 days, each day it was different, sometimes 1 sausage then next day 2, same with bacon. Sometimes bread was soggy, sometimes no butter or no glasses for juice etc. It could just do with a bit of consistency and better standards. Staff were always quick and courteous sorting out any problems.

    Comfy and spacious bedroom, comfy bed. Nice quality towels. Plenty of well placed power outlets

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Convenient place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very comfortable beds and rooms nice although a bit tired. We ate an evening meal which was excellent, breakfast did not match the quality of the evening meal. Staff though were exceptional, friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Although the hotel is a little dated it was clean, had good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel is a little dated it was clean, had good wifi and the staff were very friendly. Hope to stay there again when we are visiting family

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    Was looked at strangely when asking for a decaffeinated tea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was looked at strangely when asking for a decaffeinated tea bag, all most as if I was trying to be awkward, as my wife was heavily pregnant and could only drink decaffeinated tea,the hotel was kind enough to go out and buy some which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    Better than average old character hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware of the weekend night live bands in the bar area. Some rooms are suitably far away, and staff do close the partition from the dining area.

    Great food. Quiet and comfortable, with character. Well refurbished for a very old hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.8
    Fabulously comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missed breakfast since I had a taxi at 8:30 am - was not even offered coffee and no one in the breakfast area. Phone not plugged in, no phone jacks in the room that I could find and I mentioned that to the night clerk. Had dinner the night before and had a very long wait before the waiter gave me a menu only a party of 10 there for birthday and they had already eaten. The meal of roast beef was abundant though yorkshire pudding very overcooked. Afternoon reception clerk very nice. He called a taxi for me for the next morning as I had to be at Emerson College by 9 am. The taxi rate was exhorbitant I though at 10 pounds for such a short distance.

    Fabulously comfortable bed. Given a double bed for the same price as a twin room with two single beds. Very quiet location and I had a room in the back so no noise at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor windows no voile so pedestrians looking into the room. Bathroom had black mouldy grouting and rubber bath mat that was orange with mould residue

    Room size, ground floor options and on site restaurant Staff customer service skills were excellent a real credit to the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    A well-located hotel with genuine character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so large that the television (which was not small) seemed a bit small.

    A hotel with genuine character. Much more 'homely' that your average hotel. A completely separate bathroom - rather that having a corner of the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    Good clean room and helpful staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were missing from the room and only enough coffee sugar etc for two cups of coffee in the room.

    Good clean room and helpful staff. Things are looking a bit tired and dated but it was all clean and perfectly usable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfy room and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath was clean but had become discoloured from white to yellow - not really an issue though, just looked a bit off-putting! As to be expected from a pub, there was a bit of outside noise at kicking-out time 11pm-ish but only brief and not too loud- slept really well otherwise

    Staff friendly and helpful- took time to print out directions and maps for us as we said we'll be walking in Ashdown Forest. Bed was comfy. Food was good evenings and breakfast. There was live music in the pub until 11pm but we were forewarned, and as we were in a separate wing, it was not a disturbance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Lovely clean comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small step to bathroom (trip hazard). Curtains not wide enough, did not pull shut. No glasses available in bathroom. Top flight of stairs crooked and uneven

    Lovely clean comfy bed. Plenty of room. Polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    GREAT STAFF FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE GOOD MUSIC COMFY ROOM
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING TO DISLIKE

    NOTHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE BEST STAFF I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH. COULD NOT DO ENOUGH FOR US .GREAT MUSIC TOO. ROOM CLEAN AND COMFY. GREAT ATMOSPHERE AND FRIENDLY LOCALS. HEAVEN!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    5.0
    Nightmare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a nightmare from start to finish! We wanted a quiet evening away from the stress of life with an ill child but what we got was a room above a live band that was so loud we didnt sleep until around 2am and were then woken by other guests getting up and slamming doors etc at 6am - we left the place feeling shattered and never wanting to go back! although the room was big the bed was tiny and quite lumpy and uncomfortable too. We did have a nice meal there but it took around an hour for our main course to arrive - we told the receptionist in the morning and he gave us a business card with an email address on for us to complain but I have emailed it twice and the mail box is full so it has been returned to me (full to the brim with complaints no doubt!)

    The food was quite nice but nothing to write home about!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: