Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bramblewood

Balmaha Road, Drymen, G63 0BY, United Kingdom

#3 of 9 B&Bs and Inns in Drymen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 110 B&B reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault anything.

    Cup of tea/coffee with delicious homemade scones on our arrival. Lovely veranda to sit on outside our room with view over garden and woodland. Very comfortable bed. Spacious and well appointed bedroom and bathroom. Excellent breakfast made to order. Ally made us very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About a 3/4 mike walk into the village

    Lovely park like setting, with roomy accommodations. Can’t say enough about the host, Ally. He truly went the extra mile and then some to make our two night stay comfortable, including lending me an air pump for my flat car tire, plus restaurant recommendations, travel tips, and general geniality. Kudos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great.

    Everything was excellent, from the moment we arrived until the time we left. Beautiful house and location, great food and facilities and fantastic service. Many thanks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was spot on.

    Great find. Ally was the perfect host. B n B was spotless. Beds were really comfortable. Everything you needed there on site. Breakfast was fabulous. Plenty to eat and well cooked. Great place to stay would definitely recommend and go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing

    Warm & Friendly hosts, beautiful room, extremely comfortable bed, superb breakfast, lovely en suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it seems there is moderate crime, the security, door keys are poor (may cause problems with insurance claims or worried guests). Bathroom windows could have frosted film on them. Shower went hot and cold. No safe, No iron and ironing table which were on the bookings site (essential for wedding guests). The internal/ doors ganged constantly when you are resting after a long drive or I can imagine after a long walk. The Wifi and phone reception is poor. Managing the TV is poor and needs a built in freeview on the TV. The catches on the patio door are fiddly, poor quality and maybe one lock in the middle would do. More insulation between the upstairs and downstairs rooms. More choice of food at breakfast bearing in mind walkers will be needing fed well. 11am leaving and 2pm arriving time is more suitable bearing in mind the transport situation in the area. I have stayed at hotels and B & B all over the world and although we had a lovely stay, I am making these as suggestions to improve your rating. Some are easy to resolve but others may cause you problems. Wotherspoons hotels may give you ideas and indications on how to deal with quality and value for short stay guests.

    The location was good although weather is usually it is still a fair walk to the centre of the village. However it seems it caters mainly for hill walkers but maybe more thought for just tourists may help. eg brollies, torch canopy above chairs on the decking and a better sign at the front entrance as google indicates the accommodation is nearer the village. The owners were very welcoming and helped us in every way. Overall good accommodation, massive bed and stunning views. The Clachan pub has very good meals but booking is essential.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No power point for the hair dryer in the bathroom was the only detraction

    The outlook to the trees and lawns from the bedroom and dining room is very calming. The rooms are immaculate and Ally is the perfect host, making us most welcome and cooking the best breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the rooms were lovely you can hear talking through the walls and every-time someone switched on the tap or flushed the toilet upstairs.

    Lovely host who knew how to look after you without being overbearing. also a lovely cooked breakfast - good value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything at the Brambelwood B&B! Ali, our host, was really nice and welcoming. We were offered tea/coffee and biscuits when we arrived, it was a nice touch. Our room was beautiful, very clean and we had everything we needed. The view was very pretty, we had a little terrace on the garden. The full Scottish breakfast was absolutely delicious and full indeed. It was perfect, we will definitely go back there next time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff and incredibly welcoming on arrival despite us being early. Breakfasts are superb. We had the top room with a nice green view and it was peaceful. Lovely to sit outside with a drink and relax. Plenty of parking space It was nice to be somewhere where the owners genuinely car about what they do!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything was superb.

    Very friendly family run B and B, on split level. Very helpful - I travelled with my Mother who has mobility difficulty and could not manage the steep outside stairs to the room so the owner let her use the carpeted internal stairs with mid way landing that were in their part of the house. (The picture on booking.com looked like the property was on one level so I had not checked if there were stairs - entirely my fault). Lovely little patio area outside the room and extensive garden area. Excellent breakfast which kept us full until tea time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful owner, comfortable room, excellent breakfast, with very good coffee - latter also offered on arrival. Nice to see a deer in the garden before breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect!

    Amazing place, would very much recommend! Very very nice host who goes out of his way to make you comfortable. Great breakfast! Comfy room with everything you need. Very clean. Very comfortable bed. View is a pretty garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    Staff went extra mile to help me surprise my husband and provided 60th balloons for the room as well as a bottle of cava. Cant thank you enough for kindness and hospitality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We can't fault it.

    Everything. Hosts Ally and Kate are very friendly, nothing is too much trouble. Ally's scones are amazing. Greeted with freshly baked scones and jam and tea for two. Lovely, Immaculately clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was such a friendly and welcoming place, the staff were very accommodating. Very clean rooms that looks onto a peaceful and beautiful garden space. Would defiantly be booking this again when out on my walking trips.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing :)

    The owner was so friendly and even booked us a taxi to the wedding we were attending in advance when I asked him. He was chatty and smiley and made an excellent cooked breakfast. The bedroom was clean and cosy and the bed was so comfortable that I slept like a log. I would definitely recommend the bramblewood to friends and family and would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked a choice of fresh fruit juice, and fresh fruit. The concrete steps were very steep down to the accommodation, but hand rails were in place.

    The beds were so comfy and spacious. The food was cooked fresh and very flavoursome, served with a smile. Ally was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were incredibly well decorated with plenty of space. Despite the Scottish weather (it rained heavily on our full day!) the surroundings were idyllic and would definitely go and stay again. Thank you :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can honestly say this was the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The house is beautiful, spotless and the facilities and breakfast etc are all exceptional. But, what really sets this place apart from anywhere else is Ally and Kate, who are the most amazing hosts. We were so well looked after and Ally and Kate went above and beyond to ensure our stay was a memorable one. Would recommend to anyone and we are looking for an excuse to go back ourselves!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard but appreciate this is personal preference

    Beautiful views over garden, very comfortable and spacious, lovely thoughtful touches in the room/bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in Bramblewood was spot on. Aly was a superb host, willing to walk an extra mile to make us feel like home. We arrived after a day of walking and he welcomed us with a cup of coffee. Breakfast was very high quality, and the room was spotless. Would recommend to anyone without hesitation. Many thanks for all the fascinating stories!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, great rooms. Luxurious breakfast and nice chats with our host.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly host, very clean, very quiet place, room has a bathtub - perfect after a day hiking, bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    internet access, but that's just bordering on picky, it did not diminish the experience

    nothing was too much trouble for host, very accommodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our welcome was great and the owner thought of eveything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you plan to eat in the village book a few days ahead

    fantastic place to stay close to the countryside and Loch Lomond

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault anything.

    Great location, rooms were well equiped with everything you need and more. Host was very friendly, helpful and a great cook.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was perfect. a lovely place to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in rooms

    Ally was really friendly and hospitable. Awesome breakfast, super comfy bed, really powerful showers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we cant say we didn't like anthing because everything was to our taste.

    Ally was a lovely host! full of fun and laughter!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful owner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We struggled to find the place

    Nice personel, breakfast, clean and quiet and nice terrasse

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent quality room, facilities and verandah as bonus. High quality breakfast and charming host.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints except the walk to get back on route

    Warm welcome with tea and scones on the veranda. Just what was required after walk, nice touch,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was just great nothing at all negative to about our stay. I will be going back again in the summer. Best scrambled eggs ever !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    The host was welcoming and the food fresh. Croissants, pain au chocolat and scones all home made. The breakfast was vast!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The welcome

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast, big room and huge bath

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV could be a bit bigger.

    very friendly owner, breakfast was great. Very clean with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Made to feel very welcome and the mushrooms in the breakfast were particularly good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly & cheerful host, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm and friendly hospitality

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wonderful. Bed very comfy. Tremendous location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast with all guests at one big table, nice host

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is showing age. No fridge in room but one in dinning room.

    Comfortable overnight place to stay. Clean, efficient and lovely host.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was just amazing. From our host to the bedroom, breakfast etc...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Immaculately clean, comfortable, excellent food and a very friendly owner who bakes!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Bramblewood is in a delightful countryside location just outside Drymen. It is a well designed modern building, furnished in an attractive modern style. Our room was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. The bathroom was also modern and clean. Our hosts were charming and the breakfast was excellent,

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Me and my partner Greg had a lovely time at the bramble wood. Ally the owner was really nice and welcoming and he makes a great breakfast. Room was very nice and specious.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heating was off when we arrived. Room extremely cold. However, Ally rectified this once we brought it to his attention..

    Lovely room and excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a two night stay at Bramblewood for a friend's wedding close by. It was perfect and we would definitely stay again. Drymen is beautiful and we would love to return in the summer for more walking!

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely comfortable, light, spacious, modern house, in a very quiet area. The host was extremely welcoming: when we arrived he brought us a pot of tea with homemade shortbread, and we had a good chat. There's some separation between the family house and the B&B rooms, so you can have as much privacy as you want (not the case in all B&Bs). The breakfast was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heard a bit of noise from the room above us which disturbed our sleep a little.

    Location was quiet but convenient for visiting the loch and local areas of interest.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    it's 30 minutes walk from the West Highland Way and about 10 minutes out of Drymen. But it's worth walking, a really nice B&B.

    The best breakfast we ever had (smoked salmon with scrambled eggs). Perfect bedrooms with own bathroom. Walk from your bedroom in the garden. People are really friendly.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owners were both really nice. Nothing was to much trouble. We were looking to get back to Balmaha to start our second part of our westhighland way walk the next morning and Kate drove us to our destination.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cant think of anything except hard to get phone signal at times - but that applied elsewhere in the region

    Cleanliness, nice touches to room, excellent breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly and a great view from the room.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good shower, good bed, nice terras outside.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly owners. Could not do enough for us.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing was too much trouble and such a warm friendly welcome

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Immaculate cleanliness and a superbly cooked breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent room and well presented throughout

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very nice stay. braekfast was lovely it was very well presented and plenty to choose from .

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location and excellent hospitality from the owner Ali. We really enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was amazing! Compliments to chef Ali 👍

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we had a private patio & very comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Warm and friendly welcome to a very comfortable and clean establishment.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place was lovely and spacious with all facilities required plus for b @ balsa free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm welcome, beautiful room, balcony, stunning location, superb breakfast. Best B&B we have ever stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Charming, friendly and helpful host, lively balcony, clean room, comfy bed, delicious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Exceptional staff. Very friendly

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like

    Very welcoming host for whom nothing was too much trouble

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were welcomed from the start

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely rooms, great location, friendly and welcoming

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: