Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brandon House 3 stars

High Street, Brandon, IP27 0AX, United Kingdom

#2 of 4 hotels in Brandon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 548 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One minus. The room floor due to the age of the property (over 100 years old) had a 3 inch slope . That in its self is not an issue But the bed sloped towards the head end same amount. I suffer from elevation issues and normally sleep with my head well elevated . I did not sleep well and eventually had to sleep with my pillows and my head at the foot end of the bed. Recommend that the bed is leveled, easy done by adding support under bed frame to head end.

    Excellent breakfast. Excellent shower with plenty of hot water . TV great with full range of channels . Tea making excellent . Furniture new and excellent. Hair dryer new and easy to use

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints, the hotel is not promoted as luxury accommodation, but it offers good comfort, cleanliness, food and value for money - suited me nicely.

    The hotel met my needs very well and it also offered very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom facilities are dated, old and in desperate need of updating/renovating. Mattress in our room (No. 104) is probably due a change as I could slightly feel the springs on the side of the bed that I slept on.

    Very nice hotel with really friendly staff, the only downside was the bathroom is very old and tired and in desperate need of replacing, the shower was useless (not much pressure and an old small shower head) and trying to get a water temperate that didn't burn us was rather difficult. Breakfast was very nice and cooked freshly, we slept ok as the duvet was a summer one rather than a 13.5 tog winter one like some other hotels leave on their beds all year round. We would stay again and hopefully the bathrooms will get renovated in the near future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a small, cozy and neat property. lt is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. I loved it very much because I chose this hotel and lived here for 3 days. I would love to come back for a while.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place needs some TLC. A good clean and decorating. Was only one nights stay but it was a bit disappointing. Breakfast was poor

    Aspalls cider on draught

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told it had been decorated recently but there were marks on the walls. Extra blanket would have been nice. The place just could do with a lick of paint.

    Breakfast was excellent and very reasonable priced. Room was very big and the shower room was tops. Staff very friendly. I enjoyable night away thanku.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If staying for a week or more room too basic, no wardrobe, no fridge. The cleaners cupboard was directly outside out bedroom door, constantly wedged open, very dirty looking, not the first thing you want to see in the morning or returning. Although we got a drink from the bar in the evening, told it shuts at 11pm, 1st night it was closed by 10.30, 2nd night it was being closed at 9.30. Front door locked at 11pm and no staff in hotel, never heard of this before, bit worrying if there was a fire.

    We only used the hotel as a place to sleep as visiting family. The room and beds suited our purpose. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could of been dusted better as there was dust on the windowsills and on top of the wardrobe also didn't know I had to pay extra for breakfast intill I checked in and that was £5pp

    Everything was good nice size room with bathroom TV tea and coffee facilities breakfast was very nice and staff were friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean. There were hairs on the bathroom floor, bits of plastic wrapper by the bin and the carpet hadn't been hoovered properly. The room was very hot and noisy with traffic on the road when the window was open.

    A lovely building and spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift in the building, so for those with mobility issue, this would be a problem.

    Room was spacious and clean, restaurant food was superb, we had Steak and Ribs which was well cooked and the chicken Korma which was delicious. Breakfast was also outstanding and exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price the accommodation was disappointing - it looked great on the internet but slightly run-down in real life. I have paid half the price for better accommodation elsewhere. If I needed to visit the area again I would stay somewhere else. This was not good value for money.

    The breakfast was good - but was not included in the cost. The location is ideal for Brandon. The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the building needs updating. Shower from the taps was weak.

    Friendly staff, parking, wifi. Didn't have any meals there so can't comment on food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have been helpful to have small bars of soap for handwashing

    very quiet room comfy bed very helpful and courteous staff had dinner two nights and breakfast lovely food and well presented would recommend hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing mayor,but it would have been nice to have been able to open a window.The room was very warm.

    All the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly.we would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing was clearly old perhaps point of use hot water might improve the facilities.

    The house had great character, the staff were perfectly professional, efficient and very warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was on the top floor, cracked stained ceiling, bugs in damaged bath, broken dirty blinds, rotten windows (old sash type which had been patched with bits of wood), stained linen, no phone, desperately requiring renovation.

    The restaurant and staff were very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room although clean needed some updating. A big crack in the ceiling and bathroom floor was a little spongey in places. The bed was comfy though and the facilities in general were good.

    Staff were v friendly and the food was lovely. Nice scenery and pretty central in location. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor state of the hotel. Needs total refurbishment. Resturant out of order and not being used due to water dripping in from ceiling. Furniture in bedroom very old and tatty and room cold. Radiator not wotking

    The actual building was beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal and breakfast were really basic.

    Friendly, helpful staff and room,although basic,was comfy and warm on a bitterly cold night when we were unable to get home due to weather conditions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a little noise early morning from the kitchen area below but it wasn't a problem as we were up early for work ourselves.

    Convenient location, friendly staff, superb food in the restaurant. Really impressed with the meals we had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (203) was way past needing a simple decorative lift. The ceiling was in poor repair (flaking paint/plaster) and the window, frame and sill needs replacing or renovating. The shower worked however the extractor did not and the effect can be seen on the ceiling. A plastic pipe travels from the bathroom and out (in plain sight) past the back of the bed. Turning the cold tap in the basin produced a loud noise from the plumbing. On arrival we were told that the restaurant was closed due to a private function. No mention of that prior to booking.

    Clean bed lined and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived, two tipsy men greeted me at the door, making leery jokes. The receptionist was cold. The ceiling in the bathroom was covered in mold. I was glad my door locked as I felt a bit unsafe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed there several times previously and was somewhat dismayed to find that my booking no longer included breakfast. I feel that as there was no mention that now it was not included it is a way of putting up the price without knowledge. I will not be staying there again.

    The house was clean and warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old hotel, you get what you pay for.

    Excellent breakfast, attentive and helpful staff. Spacious bar. Limited menu in the restaurant, but the food was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor mattress quality, plastic mattress cover that made crinkle sounds, poor temp control (too hot and couldnt turn off), hotel hosted an event with DJ that lasted 7-12 so I couldnt sleep till it was over (would have been nice to have been warned so I could book elsewhere)

    Friendly staff, ensuite and good wifi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property and staff are exceptional! Laura, Emily, Kyle and Claire all made my staff wonderful by being extremely friendly and helpful. Emily even fixed my adaptor so my laptop would charge -- what a lifesaver since I had to work throughout my stay! Stayed in two different rooms and both were very clean, great toiletries and quiet. I felt like I was visiting friends and will be staying here again for my next two week trip in Jan/Feb 2018! Five stars and Two Thumbs up!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Once problems were fixed (usually caused by previous guests but not reported!) everything was good.

    The staff were very supportive, listened to any deficiencies we discovered and actually worked to fix them!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely fantastic! The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast is huge for the price!!! Have already booked this hotel for future visits.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a shame that the curtains were too small for the window and that the shower door leaks

    Excellent value for money. Extremely generous with their food which I felt was well prepared and excellent value for money. Rooms airy and appropriate. No complaints

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are Amazing! Friendly and helpful. The food was like a home cooked meal and I loved that it felt like I was staying at a Manor house! Everything I need was provided for and the staff went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable. I've booked two more reservations at the Brandon House and look forward to an ongoing relationship with them when I come from America to visit my daughter. 💕

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a refurbushment.

    Friendly and efficient staff. Big room. Nice location. Upgrade was given at no extra charge. Value for money breafast option. Historic building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom shower wonky to operate on and off, mold on ceiling, both window shades dirty with dried bugs and mold spots when fully opened. Killed 3 spiders upon arrival in bathroom. Nobody at reception to give key to and inform of all these issues. Rang bell, waiting and then just had to leave to get to work on time.

    Comfy bed, quiet at night, good wifi, decent water pressure, parking on property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beer was a little expensive but the food was excellent!

    Shower broke in the morning,reported to management,instant room transfer and upgrade with free breakfast!!!👍

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a very comfortable annex which involved walking round the back of the main building on a short, unpaved and poorly-lit path.

    A very good cooked breakfast was available at a guest rate of £5. Staff were very informative and friendly. Very quiet location but only a couple of minutes walk from shops and the town centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed relaxingin the bar area. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, it was a great place to stay to visit friends in Brandon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wasn't included in the price of accommodation. This would enable guests to eat breakfast then move on to their meetings etc., without the need to allow time to go to a café in the street, the service wait etc., guests would then be able to refresh themselves prior to leaving.

    The crispy white linen and the tea-making facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ceiling plaster was coming away in large chunks. Crack in basin, bath had a very long hair in it that did not belong to me or my mother. Bed not very comfortable. There was no lift.

    The staff were absolutely brilliant. Very helpful, polite and smiley at all times, even when clearly under some pressure. They were the highlight of the stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely hotel which is sadly let down by drunk guests. It was Saturday night, so may not be a problem if not staying weekend. There is a bar on site and right across the road their is another hotel which has a big pub. People were traveling between both, at 11pm and kept me awake outside on the green until 3am. I don't know If there are rooms around the park of Brandon House, personally if you want sleep, I would request for a room away from main street if staying weekend. This my second stay at Brandon House, my first there was also drunks but this time was so much worse. Having said all this, I would still stay again, as I need a dog friendly hotel and the staff are lovely!

    I booked this hotel as I compete with my dog in Canine sport of Agility, and there was a show early on check out day 25 minutes to venue. Staff very dog friendly, actual hotel room much larger than average twin bed room, clean, good supply of teas/coffees. Little green outside to walk dog and surrounding roads good for dog walking. Didn't book breakfast because be out the door before 8am Sunday but price for breakfast seemed reasonable at £5, and did not need prebooking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When asking the bar staff if certain dishes on the menu were gluten free or not, the response was, well you'd know better than me!. Not what I'd expect from staff and an establishment that has a legal obligation to notify and be aware of allergens!, and frankly a pretty rude response to a very important question!. I had to ask him twice to ask the chef!.

    Location and value

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    couple of repairs needed. Liked the help yourself style but breakfast a bit old-fashioned.

    it was convenient for a wedding in the area, staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy traffic even though the hotel is set back from the road. Bar closed at 11 and no staff around. Bit of up dating would benefit this hotel, grounds scruffy. Good choice of breakfast but all fried.

    Having a bath. Value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Run down, paint flaking off windows, hard bed, every time a toilet flushed or a sink was used there was a horrible grinding noise that shook the room under the floorboards.

    Staff were helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast on the Saturday was later than during the week which meant we could not take advantage of the breakfast included deal. When booking there was no indication of this.

    Excellent dinner which was also very good value (if you are hungry the steak and spare ribs are not only filling but exceptional value). Location and parking. An attractive room with all the normal facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sloping floor, particularly in the bathroom. Room 205 Old style window frame, difficult to open/close Length of time needed to locate hot water!

    Bed comfortable, breakfast excellent, staff friendly, coffee/tea facilities good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I were to nit pick I would say that the decor was a little tired/dated but we felt that added to the charm of the hotel.

    The staff are really friendly, the room was big and quiet. Definitely value for money. We also had a yummy dinner at the hotel, which was reasonably priced pub style food. We enjoyed out stay very much. Also, really close to some great walks around Thetford Forest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our trip was far too short.

    Lovely quirky building, amazing staff who can't do enough for you, every room was separate such as the breakfast room, bar etc. Great menu for evenings. Breakfast options are amazing everything was available. Was lovely to sit out the back in the evening with a drink and relax. Loads of other places to eat and drink close. A lovely river very close with places to sit by. Such a nice place will go back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and bedding, including pillows were not very comfortable and the heating system made quite a lot of noise. Although all staff were incredibly helpful and friendly when we first arrived there were young staff members outside smoking and the receptionist was also serving in the bar. This just meant our first impression of the hotel was not good.

    Staff were excellent and allowed us early entry to our rooms to get changed for a wedding. Breakfast was very good too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One more outlet in the room would have been great and one more shelf in the bathroom would have been helpful. But, this is a very old building and has been modernized very well without losing the charm.

    The staff were amazing - very professional, yet very friendly! Anything we needed was responded to immediately.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had some trouble with payment of account, still an ongoing concern, however the front desk team have been very good and hopefully will fix soon.

    Had an enjoyable stay at Brandon House visited area to see family, the rooms were clean, tidy and spaciest. Did not eat there however Bar service was very good, breakfast was included but had to leave early to get back to London so we missed it. Will use again on next trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seemed slightly short-staffed on Saturday morning, as we couldn't find anyone to complete check-out! No major problem though

    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff (especially at check-in)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic not very appetising. The beds were were not too comfortable and the toilet wouldn't flush for the whole two days unless my husband took the top off and manually worked it , staff advised on two occasions but nothing forthcoming

    The location was perfect for us. The size of the room was great and nicely decorated with plenty of storage etc. Cost was very reasonable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room not ready 2pm, no other room available and would take 30 minutes to prepare. We were due at meeting in Culford at 2.45 and therefore had to forgo getting changed for the meeting after a 5 hour journey. Not Happy. Bed to small for tall people. Room 110 above Kitchen and very very noisy until 11.15pm Kitchen Extractor System is outside Room 110 window and very noisy. Bathroom noise from adjoining room Noise from people walking in corridor to next room Breakfast food not all hot. Only item hot every day was Sausage. Plates were cold. Tables were sticky.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    don't take too much luggage as there's no lift so not suitable for people with mobility problems

    very friendly staff, excellent breakfast and good value restaurant. Very good value for money in a quiet but excellent location for all of Norfolk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would suggest a few pictures along the landings as it felt a little austere but cant complain at the price.

    Friendly staff. Room good size and clean. Ample on site parking and five minute walk to railway station. Wanted to stay in Ely or Cambridge but everything either too expensive or not available so this was good value. We went to Ely on the train. Not sure who would want to stay in Brandon otherwise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generous portions of food at Dinner and Breakfast and excellent quality. Hotel hasn't been tarted up and has an air of faded gentility about it. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was no working. This was my second trip to this location over a couple of months. The wifi wasn't working 2 months ago and the hotel mgmt. and it was still not operational when I returned. I travel on business and need to connect to the wifi.

    Breakfast was fantastic- Full English.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed one night and were out most of the time so it would be unfair to comment.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful, breakfast was good and plentiful. and booking via booking.com saved a lot of problems at short notice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything

    We were welcomed warmly by the staff and was very pleased with our family room. The room was large and the bathroom very nice. We will definitely be staying at Brandon hotel again. The beds were very comfortable and there was even a fan in the room as there was a mini heat wave going on. The cooked breakfast was the best we have ever eaten in a hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place is a little tired and could do with a lick of paint in rooms and some areas.

    Staff polite and helpful. Restaurant was closed due to the chef having a family emergency. However they called us early in the day to explain this and gave us the option of cancelling the booking, ordering a take-away to eat in the restaurant, or recommending somewhere else to eat. Bar area is nice, restaurant looked OK, although we couldn't use it of course.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get TV to work but it didn't bother us and we didn't tell reception as was at hotel to see a concert and didn't get it till midnight and had breakfast and left next morning.

    Big room. Lovely breakfast. Reception staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bedroom was disappointing - small and poky, rather tired and in need of some TLC. Rooms noisy, could hear toilets / pipes in other rooms. Small double bed. Disappointed that hotel bar was closed on return from concert. Such a shame, beautiful building with great potential, but the tired bedrooms let the place down. Overall our stay here was disappointing and we would not return here.

    We stayed here for a concert at Thetford Forest, about an hour's walk away from hotel and as far as we are aware, nearest hotel to stay at. Friendly welcome on arrival and it was appreciated that hotel had brought forward dinner time so that residents could eat before concert. Food was decent at dinner (and breakfast) and friendly service. Wi-fi free and worked well. Ample parking in hotel grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chef on leave on Sunday night. A very tired hotel very much in need of a make over. Stain marks in ceiling of bedroom from a previous leak.

    Great staff on reception and very accommodating. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's very lacking in facilities for disabled people. Toilets are very low, my 91 year old mother found them very difficult to use and there are steps up into the hotel. Also the only baby changing facilities are in the ladies toilet could do with some in the gents as well.

    Very comfortable, excellent food. Very pleasant and helpful staff. We hired the function room for a gathering following a funeral and the buffet provided was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired looking & needed a bit of tlc although beds were v comfortable once additional pillows found in wardrobe, ones steady on bed were too thin.

    Breakfast was excellent & staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet didn't flush, the sink was extremely slow draining, the room was noisy due to the very old windows letting in the cold and the traffic noise, the shower pressure wasn't constant and fluctuated between hot and cold (mainly cold). A misinformed member of staff told us that it would take 20 mins to walk to the concert venue from the hotel when in fact it takes exactly an hour to get from the hotel to the stage. We are keen walkers but didn't appreciate the walk in the dark afterwards along an unlit stretch of busy road. Take the car!

    clean comfortable bed, extremely helpful and courteous staff, plenty to eat for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom door lock was faulty and caused great concern when my friend was locked in for several minutes until she could get it open again! We told the staff and they said that they would deal with it directly, they were most apologetic.

    Very comfortable and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very dated. It needs a complete overhaul. There is woodchip wall paper everywhere and there were water stains on the ceiling. We only stayed one night so it was ok but i wouldnt want to stay any longer in all honesty. I feel a bit bad saying that because the staff were lovely.

    The staff were so nice and friendly. And the linen and bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast staff were not very friendly or helpful. There was no choice of milk and when I asked, the member of staff didn't seem as though she could have cared less. There was also no low fat spread available for toast, although there was an alternative to sugar. Generally we felt that the breakfast was not good quality, the food did not look particularly appetising. There was no soap in our room.

    Bathroom was big and looked newly fitted. There was a fan in the room which made it easier to make the room a comfortable temperature. Good car parking. Hotel was very close to the High Lodge centre. the member of staff who checked us in was polite and helpful, also asked if we had a good evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly cheaper conversion to hotel.

    The building is an early eighteen hundreds town house. Quiet charming, However, it could do with more money eye being spent on the transition to an hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the bathroom - Window sealed so couldn't open it, no extractor fan, toilet handle loose, difficult to flush toilet, mould on ceiling due to no way steam could escape, very creaky floorboards. In bedroom - Window difficult to open and close, secondary glazed window would not close to, carpet very badly stained, walls marked, mattress very lumpy, kettle needed descaling, radiator switched off by owners but loud humming all night, hardly slept at all. No wardrobe, just hooks on wall. We were in room 103.

    Excellent breakfast, good sized t,v. friendly staff, good parking, good check in time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not too bad but the scrambled eggs were tasteless and the texture was not right.

    the floor of the room sloped so it was not always easy to walk in the room, however everything you needed was there except for soap. We had to go out and buy some. The staff were very pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wine list and menu bit limited but good what we had.There was a bit of noise from outside very late but to be fair was a hot balmy summer eve , Ram hotel opposite had lot people outside ,near river and we had windows wide open.

    Hotel okay and rooms really spacious , clean ,bit of a limited menu but very good food what we chose and a great breakfast ,wine list needs looking at thou. All the Staff from floor cleaner,receptionists ,bar staff ,waitresses all really polite,knowledgeable and a friendly team .So overall a good pleasant stay and noise was just one of those things not fault hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extraordinarily hot when we stayed , fan in room would have been useful Bathroom spotless, but could have done with a shelf for toilet bags and towel rail by the washbasin and by the bath. Also needed more than just a hook on the door for clothes!

    Check in most efficient All members of staff friendly and helpful Everywhere clean and fresh! Evening meal and breakfast superb!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was miserably hot and the shower had no pressure.

    The staff was fantastic. There was a heat wave going on and the night clerk insisted I take her fan,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is quite tired. Water pressure for a shower wasn't great at all. Sorry Nike glazed window to the front of the building made for a noisey first night but once I was moved to the rear of the property it was much better.

    Front of house staff are great. Really welcoming and friendly. Food was cooked really well and served with great service.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Brandon House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: