Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brecon Castle 3 stars

Castle Square, Brecon, LD3 9DB, United Kingdom

#4 of 6 hotels in Brecon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 554 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.2
    A good comfortable hotel in a lovely country market town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bearing in mind that it is not a five star hotel we had no complaints.

    From the warm welcome through the bar and dining room all the staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was perfectly acceptable , the breakfasts ideal for setting up for the day and the building full of character

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.0
    The welcome we received when we were checking in with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not value for money , apart from the lady already mentioned no other staff member showed any curtesy whatsoever , experience of staying at the hotel for 2 nights was disappointing considering the price short break in Wales

    The welcome we received when we were checking in with the lady(Australian) was exceptional , view from room , gardens

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again,nice people nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We think the lounge area could also be more comfortable and a more relaxing place to sit with a drink after your meals.

    We were in room 55,the view from our room was great even in the dreadful weather at the time. the room could really do with a couple of comfortable chairs to sit and read rather than sitting on the beds although they (the beds) were very very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.0
    Generally tired and in need of decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    floors and walls needed decorating long corridors to room. layout old fashioned with unexpected steps and steep stairs room adequate but bathroom cramped and old fashioned

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    6.5
    Breacon Castle...... Sound's fantastic...... Expensive...... Not good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No TV remote asked four time's Never got gave up asking...... Bath very worn...... Lose sink tap...... Could do with a lick of paint, shabby...... Room 34......

    Staff friendly...... Leaving.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    Not a castle but a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sort of diner benches in the restaurant.

    The room I had really was great. Underneath the roof with bent ceiling and very nice interior. Nice view even from the shower! Good breakfast. Free parking. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    3.3
    Extremely disappointing indeed - shabby room due for renovation but no excuse for dust!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no parking near the hotel so a walk up from the public car park was necessary. Room 31 fell far short of our expectations. I have stayed here several times before and always thought it was excellent but this was a huge disappointment - the room was cramped, no room to walk around the bed, carpet was frayed, mattresses well past their best - it was very shabby. And it wasn't clean. The staff offered another top floor very small room with a double bed which was not suitable. They gave us a 1/3 refund but if we could - we would not have stayed in this room and would have gone home immediately.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom as well as bathroom very warm because of heat from bathroom radiator/towelrail. I would have liked facility to turn it down. I would have also liked a few more drawers in room.

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfasts were very good as was dinner on the evening we ate in the restaurant. Hotel is in a lovely location very convenient to the town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.9
    Fabulous food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A superior room but a tiny shower and small bathroom fittings. The fact that it was an attic room and up a steep narrow staircase.....would be quite unsuitable for anyone with a disability.A cream fabric headboard that was marked with wear and a shag pile rug that was rather questionable. Also didn't expect two large stained glass windows either side of the bed which had no curtains so let in light during the night.

    A very quiet room. Comfortable bed and pillows. Excellent food. The evening meal and breakfasts we had were absolutely delicious....a raspberry cheesecake to die for! .All staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed with everything about the room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truthfully the room /bathroom needs a big renovation, it's dated, grubby and didn't have a nice feel atall. We expected a far nicer hotel room and experience, however we used it to just sleep and go, definitely not worth the amount of money paid. The room was small, the Walls were all scratched/marked. Room was in the front of the building and the curtains didn't close properly and were coming away as the ends, with no back up blind behind. bathroom was really dated,grubby looking, shower looked so rubbish, didn't bother to use. Little things like suppling one packet of complimentary biscuits, one bottle of water wasn't ideal. Disappointed to say the least. ( fyi we overheard someone put in a strong complaint about their room upon checkout, which leads us to believe that our room wasn't a one off)

    All the staff we encountered were pleasent and breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    If you are not worried about modernisation of room then you will enjoy your stay, especially food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a complete refurbishment. Windows were very dirty and draughty. En - Suite : Shower was the worst I have ever experienced (a trickle of Luke warm water - a joke), taps loose, radiator didn’t work. Draughts through window.

    Position, size of room, triple windows with lovely views, bed soft and very comfortable. Restaurant, food choice etc., breakfast, staff very polite and helpful. Room was similar to a suite in size and Furniture. Comfortable Bar and facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Breath taking views, Excellent staff, Tasty food & a comfortable bed.
    • Group
    • Beacons View Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could have been situated slightly nearer the bottom of the hill! After going into Brecon I was out of breath when I returned. However the views compensated for that. If ever I return it will definitely be the Castle I choose.

    The help & friendliness of the staff who really helped me to feel at home. It was the first time since my husband died that I’d ventured into a hotel alone. It could have turned out badly but because of the staff I was made to feel comfortable. I really would like to thank them all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location and pleasurable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was limited and had to park way up the street but wasnt really a problem

    The room was amazing, we were in what might say was the attic but it was beautiful, breakfast very good and staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly warm welcoming staff, and very nice rooms that i see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was awkward in the day , but considering the 3 of us all had a car on the day it still worked out ok.

    In a great location for restuarants and Brecon town, and the old castle wall looks great in the evening after a night out around town. Hotel has a nice friendly team on hand.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good but the tables are a bit too close together for my liking. Fine if you like being up close to your fellow diners.

    Great location for walking in the Brecon Beacons

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    There's only one choice of hotel in Brecon for me now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Covered parking for motorbikes!!

    Brecon Castle is a high end hotel in a great location overlooking the town. The rooms are quality and comfortable, indeed that was the best night's sleep I had in a week of motorbike touring. The restaurant provided good fare - with even a choice for vegetarians - and a good wine list. Overall recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.4
    Extremely disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked what was described as a superior room. When we checked in we were told we were not in the main hotel but in a cottage outside. As we made our way to 'the cottage' we passed broken dining room tables etc. which I presume were waiting to be dumped. When we opened the door we made our way upstairs to our room, there were extremely low beams in the room which we couldn't walk below without stooping, the bathroom was ok, although again the beams were everywhere. We could of lived with all this but the room was generally dark, and overall it needed a deep clean. There was a throw on the bottom of the bed which was covered in stains and had holes in it. although generally unhappy we went out for dinner. When it came to going to bed I pulled back the quilt and was horrified to find numerous body hairs on the sheet and quilt, I was nearly sick, and on closer inspection we found a lot more hairs. My husband went over to the main reception at the hotel and at 11.30 at night we moved to another 'cottage', it was better but nowhere near the standard we would have expected. I could understand better, although not even then, if we had paid very little for the room but it was more expensive than we paid for other rooms lately. I cannot comment on the bedrooms in the main hotel. I would definitely recommend if you are going to stay here, check where your room is, and definitely do not settle for one of the so called cottages. The dining room in the main hotel in the morning was very nice and we couldn't complain about the breakfast. I am not a complaining type person but I wanted to write this review as I would not want anyone else to have the same destressing experience we had.

    Breakfast in the main hotel was fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Happy stay,but hotel showing its age.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room in the annex was unacceptable. Cold and damp. The upgrade was much better, but it took ages for hot water to reach the taps.

    Good choice of menu both evening and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed our overnight stay, would definitely stay again when in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't reserve parking and initially couldn't park at the hotel. Later noticed a space so went and moved the car on site.

    We were in an annex, not the main hotel, which we really enjoyed. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Another great stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've stayed here quite a few times. The Brecon view rooms are spectacular if a little more pricey. The standard rooms are very good indeed. Was in a standard this time, very comfortable bed, tasteful decor and quiet at night. Very happy to stay here anytime. Well worth having a walk round to look at the castle and only a few minutes walk into Brecon centre. The receptionists are friendly and efficient too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.4
    Slightly disappointed due to the very high price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beacons View Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest, for the price we paid I was expecting something REALLY special. The hotel was fine, but it didn't really match expectations, never mind exceed them. So all in all, rather disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    The Castle Hotel, Brecon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little tired. Could do with a bit of a sprucing up

    Old world charm. Friendly, yet professional staff. Good value. Good food. Lovely setting. Historic and interesting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park and the yard as you approach the cottages needs upgrading, just sweeping and a few pots of plants would make a huge improvement.

    Location, all the rooms on the ground floor were very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    2nights @the castle hotel brecon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were not really friendly

    The dinner menu was limited in choice and the food was not the best. No lifts and no assistance to carry luggage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location with lovely aspect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beacons View Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit disorganised and things kept running out so you had to wait or even do without. I requested brown gluten free bread when I booked but I was lucky to even get even white gluten free bread and I felt that it was an inconvenience for staff to get that assuming ofcourse that they had any left!

    The view. The dinner in the restaurant. The location so close to the town but with a lovely aspect and parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable - Brecon lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beacons View Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark - chairs uncomfortable - tv too high (as chairs were so low). Windows dirty. Step up into bathroom hazardous during night. No shelf for shower gel in shower. No shelves in bathroom for toiletries. No lift in hotel - we are octogenarians and, though mobile, carrying cases etc up 3 flights of stairs - not good!

    Breakfast excellent. Receptionists helpful. Location near town and good. Garden good. Bar service good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel for a few days away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very busy as there were a number of functions on when we were staying there and it would have been difficult to have a drink in the bar the second night we were there. It's a lovely location and can see why it would be popular

    The staff were very busy but were very friendly and helpful. Always a smile for you. Our room was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing for a premier price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was nice but the room for a Superior room was awful, the decor was very poor, the shower was no more than a dribble, the bed was two singles pushed together with a massive ridge in the middle, to be fair when I complained they did knock a bit off the bill, but a lovely hotel let down by old rooms

    Nice bar and good food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable stay but showering was a challenge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electric shower in room 18 could only be switched on and off by pulling a cord which was outside the shower screen. This was significant because the on/off switch on the shower unit itself was pushed in too far and would not function at all. The shower spray would have been OK in an enclosure but in a bathtub it just sprayed water all over the place. Too wide a spray pattern. The woman on reception gave me the "glazed eye stare" when I passed on this information. She said she would get it "looked at" but I felt pretty sure nothing was actually going to be done about it.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet considering the fact that three functions were taking place in the hotel that night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Visiting Brecon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low beams in the tiny small room, lucky I only hit my head ones. Parking space is limited andnot available when arriving

    Very nice location and easy to find. Near the beautiful Brecon Beacons National Park by car. Perfect breakfast, mixture of continental and English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was just above the Bar area which usually was open till late night and did disturb our sleep

    Location was fab.. staff very helpful and made our exp memorable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    This Hotel as character uneven floors etc but its lovely ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel as character uneven floors etc but its lovely , the staff are so nice and the restaurant was lovely we really enjoyed the meal we had in the evening and the breakfast was well presented and plenty of choices all in all we had a lovely stay and would love to go back soon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    The location is very central and the staff incredibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed on the 2nd floor and the room above us had incredible squeaky floor boards plus the curtains were paper thin, so if you are a light sleeper I'd suggest ear plugs and an eye mask!

    The location is very central and the staff incredibly helpful and friendly. Really nice beer garden too with beautiful views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    A really good base for the Hay Festival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beacons View Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The 'cottage' was very dark with no view - part of the castle walls so i guess to be expected. Brecon is not a great town to be in (except Coffee 1 is good) and almost every night there were drunk people making noise very late - probably nothing to do with hotel!

    The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The place was spotless and we were in a 'cottage' which meant it was as quiet as it gets in Brecon.. Breakfast was good with real fresh fruit salad, coffee not so.. The one dinner we had was ok but the starter of pea hummus was actually very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing room and service in terms of comfort and treatment, but food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were excited to stay here, but this faded quickly. The woman at the desk (we actually think she may have been a manager as we saw her later on in what appeared to be that role) was not welcoming at all, quite cold in fact. The Hotel is in need of freshening up as it seemed quite old and dingy, as was our room. We went to the restaurant in the Hotel, and experienced the same type of service that we got on our arrival. We stood there for quite some time with lots of staff moving about, but no one looked at us, approached us, or spoke to us. Finally my husband approached someone who did not smile, and seemed uninterested in dealing with us. So he approached the bar, again less than friendly and we felt as though we were being a nuisance! Good grief! Eventually we were seated after 3 or 4 different staff dealt with us! Happily I can say our meal was excellent. Unfortunately our bed was not very comfortable, and the floor was incredibly squeaky! Our room was quiet though, and we woke to the sound of birdsong and that was lovely.

    Our server for breakfast saved our overall experience at Brecon Castle...she was SO friendly and warm. I wish I could remember her name so she could be recognized by Management. We are grateful for her smiles, attention, and warmth.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    good
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    listening to people enjoying themselves when I was trying to sleep with window wide open as too hot and too old a building for air con. Had to lug my suitcase up four flights of stairs as no lift as again old building but again beautiful old fashion building so you can't get it all.

    very comfortable bed and decent pillows, Delicious food and well mannered staff, very accommodating. Loved the old building and beautiful grounds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast staff and breakfast were wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the shower, skinny spiral staircase lead to the bedroom, plugging in two items totally blew the electric and we had to relocate.

    Breakfast staff and breakfast were wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose your hotel because I wanted a view of Brecon for my friend to enjoy. We were stuck at the back with absolutely no view at all. It was very disappointing.

    We enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    A below average stay unlikely to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service staff didn’t go the extra mile, a tap came off in the shower not fixed, no picture on the TV when reported nobody came to try and sort it out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    hotel well placed for the centre of Brecon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot/cold water in the shower was difficult to regulate, even though there was plenty of hot water in the taps. Window ledges and frames were dirty (dust and cobwebs, dirty handprints on the windows) Curtains were hanging off the rail in places

    hotel well placed for the centre of Brecon. Good and plentiful, all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet. Stayed in one of the mews cottages, which was very nice, (living room and fully equipped kitchen, en-suite bedroom upstairs)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    Lovely view but at a high cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beacons View Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive, room needed decorating (lipstick on carpet, make up on hairdryer handle) No croissants left half an hour before breakfast finished and apparently this made it too late to provide more!

    The view and location in town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    A great and pleasant stay in a nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was limited but if you can get parked anywhere in Brecon you've done well so the opportunity to have onsite parking is really a bonus

    The hotel is very nice and the location perfect, just out of the town but within a very short walking distance, the bar area is nice and there's a fantastic terrace for summer evenings, drinks and a meal with great views of the Brecon Beacons. we had one of the annex rooms which was perfect however it did have a stair case on entry so would just check if you are less able than I, as that would be a problem, but I have no doubt the staff would look after you. The car park is limited for space and no side street parking, I didnt eat so cant comment on the food other than the breakfast was nice and I would definitely stay again, big thumbs up from me

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to relax.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downfall was the evening menu. It was quite restricted, not much variety. I asked for my lamb well done and it was bloody inside, I complained and we were offered a complimentary dessert or a drink, so they do listen to their customers. The breakfast in the morning was very good and service excellent.

    The prices of the drinks were very reasonable. Normally in hotels the price of beer/spirits is excessive but not at the Castle. The grounds were beautiful. We are considering the venue for our wedding next year, so our stay was extra special to us. I would recommend the hotel to family and friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    A most enjoyable visit. We would hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 bedside table and lamp in double room. No available switch for main light from bed Pillows on 1 bed definitely needed replacing.

    Friendliness of staff. choice of good meals well cooked and presented. Appreciated well kept garden surrounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant views and dining experience but room outdated and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed updating. It was on a slant. Creaky floorboards in room and in corridor which disturbed our sleep. Piece of wood holding up chest of drawers and tatty chair. Bathroom door difficult to open and a damp stain in corner of ceiling

    Views were lovely. Food was good. Dining area and ground floor were pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 single beds pushed together to make a double. Supplies in bathroom felt down to a budget. Didnt reflect the high class feel of the place the gives otherwise. Sausages were either badly cooked or poor quality. An extra half hour for breakfast would be nice.

    Staff were superb. Lovely location. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location and lovely room.
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the function room below our room was very loud until midnight and the service in the dining room for dinner and breakfast wasn’t great. We weren’t asked if we wanted more drinks until after our meal so our drinks were empty for an hour. Our meals were put on another table, fortunately the customers on that table realised and passed them to us. Staff are friendly but more attention to customers is required.

    Room was great, reception was friendly and the food was really nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable,good food and super views over the town and beacons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance to the bathroom, the level between bedroom and bathroom were not the same. Easy to stub your toe.

    The catering ,every meal we had was good and served with a smile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    lovely hotel, great views and in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was so hot - we were on the top floor and it was a really hot few days so found sleeping really difficult

    the hotel is in a great location, stayed there before and chose to book again as so convenient to great walks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyed it very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ate in the restaurant on Saturday evening - service was extremely poor and bill was miscalculated. It took 2.5 hours for a two course meal - wouldn't do it again.

    Breakfast and Carvery were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom very noisy at night from other guests above and next door. Bed was two twin beds pushed together and very uncomfortable. Need new firmer beds if going to push together to form a double. Struggled to sleep.

    Good breakfast. Nice location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    We will certainly be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could do with being updated and the shower was a dribble!

    Food was outstanding....breakfast lunch and dinner. Great range of drinks, alcoholic and soft. Staff were so attentive and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall reasonable value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom below standard. Wash hand basin very small and sink had no plug despite informing reception on 2 occasions. Two uncurtained windows made room very light in early morning. Room 19

    Good position excellent breakfast, and v comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location, friendly staff, good food, room disappointing for £173
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a 4 poster room but whilst room was large, décor was quite disappointing and looked more 70/80s than befitting a traditional type room (blue and brown - 3 types/colours of cheap flooring in bathroom) Service at dinner quite odd - bottle of wine opened before reached you, not asked to sample, water just plonked unopened on the table. Also had to ask for bill after quite a long period as seemed as if we had been forgotten.

    Efficient check in. Staff friendly. Nice Atmosphere. Food Good. Breakfast great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Hotel’s situation superb, view beautiful and easy walking to Brecon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beacons View Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young girls serving at breakfast were very pleasant but you had to ask the for everything. They were busy chatting to each other and not helping the guests. For example, we had to ask for toast and a refill of coffee. Our used dishes were not removed from the table.

    The front of house staff were very friendly and welcoming. The bar staff were great. The older restaurant staff were excellent, especially the ex policeman!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel. Fabulous view. Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beacons View Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a party in the dining room, immediately underneath our room, but this was a fundraiser and we were reassured on check in that it would be finished by midnight, which it was. If you are a light sleeper I'd ask before booking to check events on.

    Fantastic reception staff, perfect location for walking up Pen y Fan. Room was great: superb view, modern decor, clean, delightful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist on arrival a little morose. Room had low beams and at 5 ft 9 and husband over 6 ft not the best room

    Restaurant staff very friendly. Good food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    The staff were very helpful, the weather was bad we got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very helpful, the weather was bad we got snowed in because we were on motorbike,and had to stay an extra night. The manager give us the room with a 50% discount

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    lovely hotel very quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price we paid at the hotel was 96 pound a night not the 92 as advertised on booking.com didn't realise until after i left

    lovely hotel very quaint

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money in a quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside light not working but not the end of the world. Needed plugging in behind the bed and I couldn’t quite manage it!

    Lovely building with beautiful gardens and a fabulous location overlooking the river. Very friendly staff and fabulous food,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    A good room in a very good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't have the exterior floodlights turned on which light up the castle walls. No veggie sausages and breakfast.

    I've stayed here quite a few times, in a variety of rooms, including the spectacular Brecon View rooms. Was staying in standard room this time, still comfortable and very presentable and everything worked correctly. All the staff are very pleasant and efficient and I'll happily stay here again anytime. Not the cheapest, but decent value for a good quality hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The whole package exceeded expectations. The staff were lovely, the room was warm and very comfortable and the food was also very good. Al in all a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Considering it was a sad occasion - funeral in the Cathedral, the stay was lovely and Brecon stunnin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tap came off!! Slope of the old room was a little disconcerting but added character!!

    Lovely character and slept well. The surrounding area is stunning!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely great, would recommend.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is old so some floors are rather irregular.

    Very conveniently located, good food, very tidy and attractive rooms. Staff were pleasant to deal with.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Valentine Stay in Brecon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited car parking spaces available.

    The hotel had lots of character, the room was lovely and the food in the restaurant and did breakfast was delicious. Very friendly and helpful staff that made you feel welcomed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    Well positioned hotel just off the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creaky floors in top floor bedroom - but I suppose that can't be helped given age of the building, but I pitied the folks in the room below as we moved around at night. Sorry whoever you were.

    The staff were just great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Location - fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress in the room I occupied didn't come up to the standard I would have expected

    The restaurant staff were courteous and had a good knowledge of the menu. I would congratulate whoever the chef is ...both meals I enjoyed there were beautifully presented and tasted fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beacons View Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor quality burger (but fish was good), limited basic breakfast. 1970s decor with uncomfortable, creaky room. Lots of ‘coach trip’ folks, paying far less than we.

    Polite friendly staff, but not enough to rescue a hotel stuck in the 70s.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    The location of the Hotel was an excellent spot for a walk...
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing , we had what we paid for.

    The location of the Hotel was an excellent spot for a walk to town to take in the ongoings of a old market town. View were tremendous and all in all a good experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    A nice place to stay. Food quite good. Fish pie much better than the burger.Staff friendly &helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite noisy in the bedroom. It seemed like the ceiling was only half an inch thick and anyone moving around in the floor above was enough to keep you awake. Car parking was a bit tight.

    The room was v comfortable and bathroom facilities were good too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    It was cold and windy but we were snug and warm inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front staff a bit impersonal but wait staff very friendly.

    A lovely place to stay, beautiful dinner and breakfast- very handy to centre of town, large room, great view, great bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.0
    Overall dissappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and we had a child in a push chair. There were 2 steps within the room as you enter, this was not suitable for our toddler. Only 1 bedside table which was a little odd. Felt the room was a bit small for the price, we booked superior. Also did not have a view so did not feel worth the money. Car park is very tight and cramped with limited spaces. There was a wedding on and guests were smoking directly in front of the hotel entrance which was off putting. On our arrival the receptionist seemed disinterested and was on her mobile phone while I waited to be checked in.

    Traditional features were lovely. Bed was comfy although it was two singles pushed together.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    Room was large, comfortable with 2 easy chairs(usually just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    enjoyed our stay

    Room was large, comfortable with 2 easy chairs(usually just 1 chair per room). Dining room staff were pleasant and even got me sandwiches "out of hours". Quality of food in restaurant was good value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant but chilly we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dissappointed that snow on car park and entrance had not been cleared. Room we were in was cold despite radiator at full blast. This was due to the room itself and i believe that it would be difficult to heat this space in any circumstance. The room itself was luxurious and hsd it been warmer would have been fabulous

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find and park. Room was clean and comfortable, bathroom was very spacious and modern. Check in/out was swift and easy. All staff were very polite especially the lady running breakfast in the morning! Only (very slight) negative was some very creaky floorboards, although that’s understandable given the age of the building.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: