Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brentwood Guest House 4 stars

54 Bootham Crescent, York, YO30 7AH , United Kingdom

#36 of 84 B&Bs and Inns in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 629 B&B reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Twin Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very lovely little place and great location. The couple than run it gave me and my daughter a very warm welcome. Highly recommended friendly with a tastey breakie

    Very clean and we'll kept

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Couldn't find any faults the rooms were spotless breakfasts fantastic and staff very friendly would definitely go back there the area was quiet and you were only a short walk to the town centre and would recommend to family and friends

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early morning weather and breakfast a little too early for us being on holiday! However saying that, it was good to get up and out and make the best of the day.

    Everything was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great B&B close to York. We had a lovely room at the front overlooking the quiet street. The room was airy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great with good choices. We were happy to be able to leave our car and walk to anywhere in York. Very convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would be difficult to find anything that we did not like.

    All staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts excellent and plentiful. Rooms clean and tidy with good attention to detail.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love my food very hot and maybe breakfast could have been a little hotter but that’s my preference so it’s a personal observation not a criticism at all.

    The welcome we received after a difficult journey to York with diversion making our journey a long one was brilliant. The rooms were exceptional and the information we were given about where to go and what was available was invaluable. We would definitely stay again and our family were equally impresses

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was prefect.

    We liked everything about our stay. The room was lovely and clean. The shower was excellent and the included breakfast is an added bonus. We could not have been happier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but I think if you were elderly and found stairs difficult make sure your room was not on the top floor - No 7 ! My husband and I had a really lovely stay

    Perfect distance to walk into centre of York. Room great, breakfasts fabulous- staff friendly and very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather small. All amenities were available: hairdryer, tea point, etc. Check in process was a bit awkward. Room keys are in the kitchen and guests need to walk through the dining room to check in.

    Staff were marvelous. Friendly, helpful. Huge, delicious breakfast. Couldn’t ask for better. Great location. Easy access to Gillygate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My towels was taken Confrontation with another guest banging my door at 3am wan not impressed Not getting to sleep well as was in the day will not be using again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been better if I could have stayed longer 🙂

    Stayed here several times now and have always had a friendly welcome. Breakfast is tasty with plenty of choice. Easy walking distance to York town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    can not find fault with anything

    Great place to stay Owners very helpful,nothing is to much trouble Made to feel very welcome Will recommend Happy to stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything.

    Comfortable, clean, quiet room. Sole use of family sized bathroom with the single room. Lovely staff, tasty breakfast and an added bonus of an Easter egg on my pillow when I stayed over the Easter weekend! Easy self check-in. Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all! was worth every penny

    Lovely little room perfect for a weekend get away. We arrived a little early, the two lovely ladies couldn’t have been more helpful getting our room ready while we popped into town to get breakfast. The room was neat and tidy with daily clean and fresh towels even on a bank holiday weekend !! The bed was very comfy and a good amount of pillows. En suite in the room so no sharing !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no croissants ?? we have slept in a king size bed before, and in my opinion that was'nt. We were told 15 mins walk to town more like 30 mins. We did upgrade to this room it was pleasant but nothing to shout about, headboard to high, neck cricked, mattress thin and flat towards the headboard, traffic noise ouside as we were 1st floor, football grounds 2mins away, wi-fi awful, and we were outside the router. One consolation the brekfast were good. No bar on site.

    The breakfasts were great, it was clean but quaint, the staff were lovely, very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room was very small and no en suite bathroom.My shower room was down on the next floor.

    Good breakfast,nice staff.Short walk to York minster and the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 8 the smallest if the rooms. It was small but as we were onky sleeoing in the room we were happy. No one gi5es to a b&b to stay all day!

    Very welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very pleased with this B&B, nothing was too much trouble. Very happy thank you.

    Warm, comfortable, beds very comfy, very clean, friendly and nice and quiet. Not too far to walk into the city with lots to see and do. Breakfasts were brilliant, tea and coffee in room readily available. Would recommend Brentwood to all, lovely place, easy to find and parking no problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly creaky floor in room above us, but not enough to disturb our sleep.

    Beautiful Victorian Guest House. Only 10 minute walk to the medieval city centre. Comfortable and clean with a very friendly owner. Scrumptious breakfast too. We booked the King Double room on the first floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was taken care of, parking permit, helpful, pleasant staff. Thank you

    Excellent value for money. I had a great nights sleep and was very comfortable. Spotlessly clean. Within easy walking distance of the main areas/York Minster, shops etc. My room was quite small but I had evrything I needed. Tea and coffee making facilities, shower, toilet, comfortable bed and pleasant decor. For the money I paid = excellent value. Breakfast was sunstantial too. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, the photos on booking.com website are deceptive. Ceiling light hung so low over the bed I hit my head.

    Good location, only 5 minutes walk from York Minster. Residential street so not much traffic. Quiet. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Natalie made us feel looked after and went out of her way to ensure we had some non dairy milk for breakfast. Only 5 minutes walk from the Minster. Very clean and well decorated b&b

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good if they could extend breakfast timing a little so you don't have to set your alarm quite so early when on holiday. Although it means you make the most of your day.

    The hosts were friendly and very welcoming

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A chair would've been a nice addition to the room. That the glass-fronted shower opens directly into the room may be an issue for those who like their facilities enclosed. This did not bother us, personally - it's purely an observation that may be of issue for some travellers.

    Super staff, very friendly and helpful. Conspicuously clean, nice atmosphere, good food. It's a handy location and easily reached.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has plug in air fresheners to which I am exceptionally sensitive. Had to remove it from my room.

    Very helpful with my breakfast requests. Nothing was a problem. The room was lovely and warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only tiny fault was that the shower head wouldn't stay in position, but the water was hot and the en-suite very warm and well decorated.

    Everything was excellent - the room warm and comfortable, the staff friendly, the breakfast outstanding and the location perfect. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing everything was perfect

    I liked were he greeted us at the door when we arrived very friendly helpful showed us around the room and were everything was handed us the keys and said if there was anything we need was just to ask had everything in the room that we needed breakfast was fantastic had a lovely weekend would definitely go there again x

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a touch weak, still no bother.

    Quaint little house, all the basic facilities you would want and need in your room. Breakfast is absolutely brilliant. Would certainly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold on arrival but soon rectified.

    The owners and staff were lovely. Plus we really appreciated the Included breakfast and parking. The location of the premises made access to the city centre very easy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevators in the building and the stairs are quite small. People with large luggage may find difficult to carry their stuff.

    There is really nice breakfast, worth to wake up for it, although the offering time is early from 8 to 9. The room is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not guesthouse fault just bad timing but scaffold out front, so had a builder outside window in morning

    Room had a pleasant smell and was very clean, breakfast very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeted as we walked through the door, walking distance to York centre, parking was easy as permit holders only. Room clean and bed comfy. Breakfast great, lots of choice and full english not to greasy. Would recommend and stay again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative.

    The room was small as advertised but had everything we required, small but nice shower lots of hot water, comfy bed and above all the room was lovely and warm and exceptionally clean. Breakfast table was set beautifully with lovely china and the food was delicious. The only comment I would make was that coffee is only served by the cup and not given an individual pot as the tea is served.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and friendly guesthouse. Parking was on road with the need for a permit supplied by the guesthouse. We managed to park right outside which was handy. A 10 minute walk and you were within the city walls near the Minster so very handy for all the sights. The room was plenty big enough and very cosy. Soap, shower gel and hairdryer all supplied in the room. Breakfast was amazing with plenty to choose from. Being able to check in from 10am was ideal as it meant we didn’t have to pay for parking beforehand. Overall a very pleasant stay, would definitely book again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only small issue was with the showers not flowing very strongly

    We booked three room altogether and everybody commented on how nice they were. The Breakfasts were superb!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved everything about this guest house.

    The owner made us very welcome on our arrival. Our room was very clean , bed was very comfy and the the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    Very clean comfortable room. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Brilliant breakfast and service. Good quiet location but still within walking distance of the city centre and station. Would definitely stay again!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom radiator didn't work so cold when you came out of the shower.

    Clean comfortable room. Good breakfast, lots of choice. Always welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The whole experience. Comfort ,room excellent, location brilliant, staff so helpful. Breakfast there was so much choice it was up to five star and more. Parking on street was easy with a free permit for the period stayed. Staff so helpful, room very clean and bed very comfortable. A gem of a find. Would recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault it!

    I particularly liked the ‘extras’ such as a dressing gown to wear when going to the private shower room downstairs; plenty of loo rolls and soap/shower gel and body lotion. It makes a real difference. The breakfasts were really good. The location was brilliant and the whole place was well looked after and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    MUM FOUND SOME DUST ON THE HEADBOARD ! NO COMPLAINTS . ONLY I SHOULD HAVE ASKED FOR GROUND FLOOR ROOM FOR MY MUM BUT THE OWNER DID CHANGE OR ROOM TO BE HELPFUL .

    THE LOCATION WAS GREAT THE ROOM WAS NICE AND MODERN THE FOOD WAS GOOD. THE OWNER FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. VALUE FOR MONEY .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave and come home.

    Lovely and clean room, friendly staff & fantastic breakfast. Location brilliant a 10min walk to the centre .would recomend .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only one thing was the bed, very hard and uncomfortable, couldn’t sleep for the two nights and had a terrible pain in my hip.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was lovely, couldn’t ask for anything else. Only a very short walk to the city centre and all the attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a bit of a struggle getting upstairs to bedroom on first floor as I walk with a stick.There were no bedrooms on ground floor when I booked though.

    The choices for breakfast were excellent. Kept us going all day just had a coffee in afternoon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, uncomfortable bed and pillow, brown sheets!!, no bed side table kept banging gead on wardrobe, room too hot could not turn tempersture down, no chair to sit and relax on.

    Nice breakfast, very freindly staff, close to town, very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a little on the small side, and there wasn't a communal area/lounge. That said, I would gladly stay here again.

    Very friendly staff; great location; impeccably clean; good breakfasts; stylish rooms; comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed could have been slightly more comfier and the shower a bit hotter

    Great location near town centre, quiet street with parking a bonus!! Staff service superb and the breakfast was excellent!! Would definitely stay here again when visiting York!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing experience, run by a lovely family, include very big breakfast , room is warm and clean, only 10-15 minitues walking from the old town, local resident place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, a lovely indian round the corner. Minutes from York city centre. excellent clean room, lovely breakfast. Staff very friendly. Free wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to write about.

    Spotlessly clean, small but comfortable. Friendly greetings when arrived & happy to help with getting us in & settled. Breakfast was amazing 10/10.... would highly recommend & definitely stay here again as the location was spot on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, best breakfast. The owner of guesthouse is very friendly. I am really impressed and moved that she helped me contact car rental company hotline to change a new tire timely as my car tire was broken. My spoken English is not good and she helps me get out of the trouble. Thanks indeed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have preferred it if the guests in the room above mine had not decided to take showers at 4.00a.m. but you shouldn't expect 5* soundproofing in a 3or4* guest house.

    All I would say is that I was not disappointed with the accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in a single occupancy room which was comfortable and clean but I found the separate shower and wc a bit too small for me personally.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less noise and a softer bed! The noise wasn't the fault of the guest house though!

    Breakfast was excellent and the staff were lovely . The room was spotless but we were woken up by workmen in the morning working on next door! Loved it here and will return

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was small but we only wanted to stay overnight so it suited my wife and I. Bed was comfortable and room was warm. Tea bags were Yorkshire tea so really good. Breakfast was superb and serve was quick and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could here the people in the adjacent room, whether it was talking, going to the loo or showering.

    Location was spot on, didn't have any issues with street parking. Room on the small side but comfortable enough. Staff friendly and breakfast ample and tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking i only just got in if you are a disabled driver like me it's a struggle

    The bed was very good and the breakfast was great overall well worth the money will book again thanks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room lovely and comfortable, breakfast was excellent, location only about 10 minutes walk from the centre. Natalie and staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us, we will certainly .be visiting again soon. Excellent accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were very friendly. The breakfast is cooked fresh rather than sitting around all morning like in some hotels. The room was beautifully decorated and the hotel has a lot of character. It is just a short walk to the minster and the city Centre. Thank you for a great stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems.

    Great location staff were excellent great breakfast filled you up for the day .I found the bed a bit hard for me but husband found it okay.Lovely clean room en-suite lovely.Would stay here again .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor shower pressure and poor internet wouldn't work till 7am so went all evening and night with not enough to open email . We were on top floor not sure if that is why ??

    Great location close to sites to see . Parking on street they gave us a sticker for the car for free parking . Comfy clean room . Fabulous breakfast !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Twin Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the only downside was there wasn't enough plug sockets in the room.

    the room was spacious the en suite was okay but shower a little too small, the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was very good a good selection of cereals and fruit. would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny and covered with carpet which i didn't like because of the hygienic aspect. The sink was in our bedroom. The waterpressure of the shower was very low.. but maybe other rooms have other conditions because we took the cheapest one.

    The B&B is located just a few minutes from the city center. The area is nice and very calm. The checkin and checkout was easy like the communication. Parking space is everywhere around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are not soundproof so there was a lot of noise, and the mattress was uncomfortable, you could feel the springs.

    The staff were really nice, and the room had a lovely decor, very clean and cosy. Breakfast area was nicely decorated as well, good cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would benefit from some hooks put on the back of the bathroom door for clothes when you have a shower.

    The staff were helpful and very friendly. It's in a quiet side road just off the bus route, about a ten minute flat walk into York centre. The room we had was very large, nicely decorated and spotless., the bed was very comfy. I would definitely go back and recommend it to family and friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did find one black hair in the cotton bud bowl, other than that everything was top notch!

    Friendly staff, scrummy breakfast, great location and warm feeling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was perfect!

    Bed was very comfy! Area was nice and quiet! Washroom was very modern and clean! Wish we had spent more time in York there is a lot to see and do there!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't really affect us much as we spent most of the day out of the room- but the window had a frosted finish and seemed to face out to a private corridor. Didn't affect our privacy/ comfort but meant it didn't provide fresh air.

    The room was immaculately clean and nicely decorated, with the bed super comfy. The bathroom was small, however it was again clean, modern and the shower was good (my three necessities) so the size didn't bother us at all. The location with parking was ideal for us- quiet road 10 mins walk from the city centre, so with the parking permit provided we could leave the car for our stay and explore easily. Had a lovely welcome from the manager who was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and kept us going all morning, lots of choice including vegetarian options.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No permission to pay on card that was 'holding the room only'. Wanted to pay with cash, but didn't get the option as they had already taken money off my card - this could potentially send people over/into their overdrafts.

    Lovely room. Nice and easy to park and walk into York. Room had everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our booking was last room available so it was on the small side and unpractical. Having said that our idea was a bed for the night. Nice full breakfast aswell.

    Well organised, silent and central.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I can think of would be send a detailed map of the property when the booking is done. Street names can be confusing.

    The room was lovely it was small. I don't expect a large room when I travel. I care more about a clean room and helpful staff more than the size of the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room could be decorated in keeping with bedroom colour scheme.

    Good location, able to walk to centre. Room was nice and modern and clean although dining room was dark and not so update.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 7 could do with a lick of paint to brighten it up a bit. Been going for the last 4 years and it is only now looking a bit dated. They have made a start on the front door, so hopefully some painting will move inside. Don't get me wrong is it not terrible at all, but after 4 years of visitors its due a freshen up. I cannot comment on other rooms so they may have already been repainted. Pillows were a little bit hard for my wife.

    Very clean, welcoming staff and an excellent full English breakfast. Location is 15 mins walk from the centre and is very quiet at night allowing you to get a good night sleep. Parking is permit only, but the guest house kindly provides a parking pass valid for your whole stay. Excellent value for money and our forth stay here. We will return again next year.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really cannot fault the property !

    Very warm welcome and could not have been more helpful. Breakfast excellent: bacon very tasty,Doreens black pudding super, splendid choice of options and cereals, fruit etc, catered for me with gluten free bread and lactose free milk. Bed very very comfortable. Everything spotless.V easy walk to Minster and Shambles. We were sorry to leave after two nights ! Excellent value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 8wasn't small- it was miniscule! Hardly room to move and almost no storage. Also I didn't pick up when booking that the shower and washbasin were in the room not en suite probably because one doesn't expect it nowadays. Difficult to sleep first night because of unpleasant smell. Discovered next day that this was due to a plug-in air freshener that was empty and burning plastic. Removed it but found it replaced and switched on in evening so had to give it to staff. Can't speak for cooked breakfast as we didn't have it.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: