Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4 stars

College Green, Bristol, BS1 5TA, United Kingdom

#11 of 48 hotels in Bristol

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3341 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

  • Paid WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    we enjoyed our stay and will return when renovations are completed
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    high noise levels in the restaurant at breakfast (not helped by wooden flooring and location of hot plates perhaps?)- staff attentive but not really listening!

    location, staff overall and reception desk in particular

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.2
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor and too busy so had to wait for table. Stayed for 2 nights rooms not serviced on second day. Had to go to reception with various room cards so many times on second day as not working.

    Convenient for city centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location but not worth the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park is grim, like a 1970s multi storey. Although I'm sure it is perfectly safe my wife said that she wouldn't have felt safe if she was on her own at night. We ordered room service, and although it was edible it was all a bit uninspiring. We felt we would have been better getting food from Tesco Express across the road. The hotel is beautiful from the outside but internally is all very tired and in need of a refresh. There is work going on, so I guess that is in hand. Unfortunately I didn't feel that the interior of the hotel and the room that we had justified the price of over £200 per night. I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Bristol and this was intended as a treat to celebrate a special day. It may be that the room rates were higher because it was graduation season, however I didn't feel that it was worth anywhere near the amount we paid.

    The staff were excellent and couldn't have been more professional. Booking in was quick and they were all very helpful throughout our stay. The location was superb. We were attending a graduation in the Cathedral and it was perfect. The room was very clean and very quiet, and the curtains completely blocked out the early morning sun. Breakfast was good and was well cooked. The choice of cooked food wasn't huge but was adequate. I hadn't appreciated how large the car park is which is a bonus in the centre of Bristol, although at £16 a night for guests it isn't cheap.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Didn't let the poor standard of our room ruin our stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peeling paint ,mould in bathroom , carpet held together with masking tape, water dripping from ceiling and smell. This was on lower ground floor not sure if the other floors are better.

    Beautiful building friendly staff great location. Breakfast good but it used to be great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    It was very conveniently located for University of Bristol...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were loads of weeds growing outside our window - looked like they had been there for a longtime - expected better. No information in room to tell you how to contact reception - no phone number. Safe did not work but no answer at reception to ask - ended up carrying valuables everywhere with me - not ideal.

    It was very conveniently located for University of Bristol graduation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Location best in Bristol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast team appalling at the time I was there. However this issue was dealt woth effectively and kindly by the Restaurant and Front Office Managers. On all fairness every other visit Breakfast was fantastic do isolated incident I think

    Location best in Bristol. Swimming pool great ..... extremely clean and very comfortable Hotel. Reception team very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Who still charges for WiFi in the room??? Marriot management- you ought to step up on this service. The guest was requested to enroll as a member then the registration didn’t even do the job, or you’re taken to a pay-per-day page, or you have to agree the £5/day fee then have the charges taken off the bill upon check out- it’s all rather petty and inconvenient. Granted that WiFi is available at public areas, but this tiny detail of being stingy would set you back miles of competition! We used our 4G roaming for the entire stay in the end and would definitely not consider Marriot again because of this experience.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Staff are very plesant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was overall not of a good standard we were told it had been newly refurbished sadly the only part that looked new was the bathroom!!!! The bedroom areas in general looks shabby and leisure area really needs some refurbishing!!!

    Staff are very plesant Location is fantastic Lovely chilled atmosphere Very nice bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    I would not want to stay at the Marriott Royal Bristol for future visits to the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No pre-warning that the hotel is undergoing refurbishment and lifts not working to lower ground floor. When I complained about the noise in my room I was told to pack up my belongings and return to reception for another room to be allocated. I was not offered the services of a porter for this move. My bag was heavy and there were stairs to negotiate as the lift was out of action. The coffee with breakfast was bitter and luke warm.

    Excellent breakfast selection, pillows on bed comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location for Graduation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a refurb going on...new rooms are great, older rooms whilst perfectly serviceable, with good beds and linens are tired and so seem expensive for worn and dated surroundings. Great TVs in all rooms.

    Staff were all excellent, polite, courteous and helpful- the air con didn’t work but someone was sent to fix it immediately and by the tome we returned it ways working well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for such a hotel - shabby room - stains on sofa, very worn carpet, average breakfast and yet very expensive. Find somewhere else.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Polite, mannered, clean, smelt fresh
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they charged £4.75 For Each tray that was sent For example If you ordered tea and drinks which are varied between £3-5 they add £4.75 for room tray which the drinks come on

    Friendly and non racist staff wonderful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Great staff with an excellent breakfast some of the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift out of order tired bathrooms with poor quality bath that flexed away from the wall revealing mould. No fault of the hotel but certainly not mentioned a cycle race on the Sunday resulted in the surrounding roads being closed this meant we were unable to use the car to get around. Guests running up and down the corridor at just after five in the morning shouting and banging on doors.

    Great staff with an excellent breakfast some of the main guest areas have been refurbished and this is a positive experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location but no free wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free WiFi unless you register for Marriott rewards and get unlocked at reception. Then only basic Wi-Fi. Too much flaffing about it should be free anyway for guests

    Very comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    We were unfortunate to book the same day Bristol had a bike...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unfortunate to book the same day Bristol had a bike race, roads were closed si we had to rely on the race stewards, these were awful. Staff were helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.5
    Very Good Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts sounded as though they were going to break down at any minute, but they are being refurbished. Expected a bath in our room as described, but had a very roomy shower. Had to turn fridge off as it was noisy, but didn't need it. Safe in the room is not accessible if you're on the short side - not ideal.

    The location, close to harbourside and a short walk from City centre and the breakfast were excellent. Bed was very comfortable, and had no trouble sleeping. Our room was on the Cathedral side of the hotel so the room was lovely and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, but nightly rates overpriced while hotel under renovations.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevators did not always work and we had to use elevators located on the further side of the hotel from our guest room. WiFi from our guest room was 4.99 GBP per each day OR leave our room to find a "common area" for free WiFi. No wash cloths routinely provided by maid service and food in hotel restaurant was LOUSY. Room service menu items were very tasty. Best to order room service dining

    Dining in room service menu was great. Staff very polite and accommodating. Property around hotel was safe to walk. Lots of shops and eateries within walking distance of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Just the Perfect Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift broke down while we were there, not a problem for us but may be for others. The bedroom was spacious but there was very little drawer space, which seemed strange. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment so I’m sure these very small issues will soon be resolved.

    The hotel was perfectly situated right next to the marina. The aquarium was around the corner and the theatre and city very close by. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent and our room was comfortable, clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing and enjoyable in a great location for the central area of Bristol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was nice though as we were on lower floor a little dark and bed was comfy though the pillows were extremely soft and offered little support. The food offered was rather pricey especially when compared to the many eating places within a few minutes walk away.

    Great facilities and helpful staff. Unfortunately there were broken lifts that meant our wheelchair using son had reduced independence but the staff were very helpful and escorted him through the staff area when he wanted to access the main reception or other areas of the hotel. The room was nice though as we were on lower floor a little dark and bed was comfy though the pillows were extremely soft and offered little support.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    The room was very well appointed, with great water pressure...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lifts were out of order to the lower floors

    The room was very well appointed, with great water pressure in the shower! Location is great - very near to the Harbour and the shopping centre with on site parking in the NCP with reduced rates. Very helpful staff on the front desk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location in Bristol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park overpriced £16 for 24 hours and breakfast seemed pricey at £17 each but did not have it so maybe it was fab and worth the money.

    Excellent location in Bristol. 5 mins walk from The Harbourside and Clifton. Nice spa with lovely warm pool and good quality steam room, sauna and jacuzzi but a bit dated in design. Room were nice and spacious, clean with good shower but again a bit dated. Staff on reception and the spa very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.0
    Terrific staff, great breakfast, central location. Rooms could be better thought out!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor rather odd. Last time I stayed I was in a room which was much in need of refurbishment. This time I had a refurbed room but I felt some strange choices had been made. I did not find the room a relaxing one. Pleasant grey patterned carpet, practical and smart, dark wooden furniture as previously (wardrobe aside) then to ruin it all a clashing rust colour adorned the walls on which one peculiar choice of cartoon painting hung well out of place. Strange look, strange choice. The bathroom too, though new and smart in appearance wasn’t all I’d hoped for. On the couple of occasions I took a shower the water took about 5 minutes to warm up, the shower trays drain very, very slowly so the tray gets very full very quickly oh and the toilet was difficult to flush. Yet still the staff smiled!

    The staff. From the moment I arrived, (very much earlier than checking in time), the staff were comprehensively helpful. This continued throughout my stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location, would i stay there again, probably not, staff good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No sign on booking that the hotel was having a re fit, a little annoying, The bedroom lacked furniture, no arm chair to relax in so coffee table, very limited in relation to furniture. No mini bar in the room completely empty, what is that all about in a Marriott?????. Both bars were too formal and looked tired.

    Location is good, useful to have an on site car park, although i cannot work out why hotel guests don't receive a subsidized rate. Bed very comfortable, pillows good. Clean. Reception and bar staff good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Came here for hubbys 40th birthday for a nice weekend with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came here for hubbys 40th birthday for a nice weekend with our two small children. Arrived to a bottle of wine, card and balloon in the room. Room was spacious and modern finish. Staff exceptional throughout stay. Would come again without hesitation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Grand old-fashioned hotel with great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was somewhat stuffy, and we didn't have control of one of the ceiling extractor fans. There was maintenance work going on which we were warned about and had a minimal impact on our stay. WiFi is members-only so you have to go though a subscription process and give your data in exchange for access. Although you don't have to pay with money, I don't think that should qualify as "free WiFi".

    Very good breakfast and excellent staff. Very much enjoyed the spa facilities and think it's great that guests have free use of them!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    The room was lovely but the facilities were disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed when we realised the pool was public, not just for hotel residents. Some members of staff were a bit clueless when it came to our booking and our identification. The wifi for our room wasn’t free. There was some construction noises right next to our room in the evening.

    The room was nicely decorated & very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hotel in central location.Leisure centre was very clean and one of the best hotel pools that I have been to . Breakfast was superb with even individual omelettes made to order. Highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom a bit tired, old style shower curtain,but otherwise functional and big enough. Corridors regularly cluttered outside room doors with used bottles, glasses, plates, bedding etc. some had been there for a full day. Wi-fi is not included, (in rooms I think) I think customers need to be made aware of this. I tried to log on in public areas but was denied access.

    Nice looking old building with Great location,ideal for transport etc. and close enough to all attractions. Nice room, decent size, bit tired but otherwise clean, tidy and comfortable. Breakfast good, and all staff friendly and helpful. Reasonable value for money. Staff all helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to stay staff incredibly helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    building works were going on lots of partitioned lifts and some noise after nine am and before 5 pm. It wasn't too bad we were not negatively affected but it was going on.

    breakfast was plentiful coffee and tea not the best OJ nice hard to get chef to cook to order busy frying eggs. There was a busy restaurant with reasonably fast service. Staff friendly it just lacked something cant quite put finger on it. It was good but not memorable. Staff were incredibly helpful when helping us check in early so we could get ready for a wedding we were attending. Extremely helpful and very warm welcome with easy check-in. nice rooms with a view across college green

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was really good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was not good but on the up side we were not over looked

    Really enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was really good and worth paying for

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed with lack of service and the hotel is under refurb so random furniture in corridors
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area disappointing, came for a 30th birthday weekend which we told the staff about prior to our trip. We received some chocolates and wine in the room which was lovely, however the hotel atmosphere in general wasn't great, and the staff were disinterested and not very helpful.

    Location is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and pleasant. Staff were helpful. Tasty breakfast. Shame no free wifi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi isn't free in your room!! Surely free wifi is a basic requirement in this day and age, especially given the price of the room. Also the lift wasn't working - fine for me as I was only on the lower ground floor but not great for guests on the upper floors.

    Room was large and comfortable, with a massive TV. Nice toiletries in the bathroom and good room service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that the lift to downstairs bedrooms was not working so had to have an alternative room.

    A new room was found quickly for us on the reception level floor. Staff were amazing throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed that WIFI was not free and cost 4.99 per day for limited data. The toilet flush caused loud noise like a running train. Big TV but with very few HD programmes and all channel information could not be shown on the Info page. The water randomly turned very hot during shower.

    superb sauna and steam. Eye-catching big TV.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Extremely comfortable and ideally situated for all attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't find any fault with hotel, only downside was the numerous beggars and rough sleepers in Bristol who were extremely intimidating & threatening.

    Ideally situated for Bristol centre, bad outside & other attractions with good secure parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    I really wanted to write something positive here but I just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was being refurbished..but don’t know if that includes the bedrooms...long overdue by the looks of it...but I wasn’t told that and nor was it suggested that my £149 a night accommodation would be below ground and looking out of a locked and unopenable window...worrying in case of fire) onto a wasteland of weeds and empty beer cans which were hurled over a fence. Naturally, the lifts didn’t work which is never handy going downstairs with luggage. Breakfast at £17.50 seemed a laughable outrage on top of a steep subterranean room price at an extremely average and soulless hotel. Faded glory but not in a good way. Furniture in room was scratched and bathroom straight out of Dynasty - and as worn as it would be considering how old that show is. Well past it’s best. Wouldn’t stay again. Couldn’t.

    I really wanted to write something positive here but I just couldn’t...It doesn’t have any redeeming qualities, unfortunately.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Adequate but not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room and bar staff not as helpful. We had a suite but the sink had no hot water. You had to run it for at least five minutes before we had tepid water. Not hot enough for my husband to shave.

    Staff on the desk were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    All though the hotel is in the middle of up grading it's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with the mattress in the room extremely hard didn't get a good night's sleep

    All though the hotel is in the middle of up grading it's self apart from the mattres the stay was lovely Breakfast was excellent, hotel position was fab and the staff were very helpful and professional would stay again may be in a different room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Location, pool, friendly & helpful staff, classic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds, well worn room, bathrooms not spotlessly clean

    Location, pool, friendly & helpful staff, classic architecture, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Great break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi only in public areas. Bit more “luxury” would be nice on the room’s tea/coffee facilities. Leisure club good but needs a little attention.

    Lovely welcome, nice room, friendly, hotel in good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunate for us - stay clashed with a school prom could have done without the booming music in close proximity to our room and being woken up by the subsequent setting off of the fire alarm.

    Staff very friendly and welcoming. Room very spacious and comfortable. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    A reliable, central, traditional hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some areas are dated....but there's a refurb of public area going on.... The lift to the Mezzanine floor was out of order the whole time we were there.

    Two large double beds for me and my adult son worked very well....so it was " still" a family room! The hotel was re-furbing and had the decorators in, yet still managed to make this seem ' a good thing".

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    We stayed just the one night for our wedding anniversary & that was enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were not working & so my poor legs struggled with the stairs with luggage.

    Booked a Deluxe King or Queen room. Room was not very deluxe at all & only a double bed which was disappointing. My husband complained & was upgraded to a much nicer room with a Queen bed which is what we are used to at home. View out the window not so nice but we slept well despite it being very warm during the night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay and as mentioned all staff polite, friendly and helpful at all times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for the Wi-fi which we refused to do, only moan

    Hotel is currently undergoing revamp as it is very dated, but you would not have known this, no noise or disruption during our stay. Great stay, staff polite, friendly and helpful at all times. Room nice size and clean. Breakfast plenty of choice. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the lifts was out of order so had to walk up and down stairs on 11th as staff were using lift for moving cleaning equipment we were on the third floor.

    Room good but quite expensive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing compared to previous stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had chipped tiles and hairs around the bath on arrival. The TV didn't work properly. Most of all we had requested a room not near an extractor fan and we were situated at the back of the hotel which was quiet but near a very large extractor fan from the Watershed. We didn't sleep very well as it was noisy all night.

    Parking and ambience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Pool area was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understood renovations would have been finished but they weren’t. Only one elevator working which as dodgy and had to wait along time as it was a busy weekend.

    Pool area was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Nice hotel poorly run
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been woken up at 8am with the noise of work men with drills and hammers on the walls and ceiling of our room and when we complained at reception we were told well we are having a referbishment Also no restaurant is open on a Sunday evening with for a hotel that was nearly fully booked we thought was really poor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    An excellent treat for a wedding anniversary weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent treat for a wedding anniversary weekend. Delightful staff throughout the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we were perfectly placed to enjoy Bristol.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plug in the shower didn’t drain properly & our bathroom flooded.

    Love this hotel. It is right by the harbour in Bristol & walking distance from most things. Old fashioned decor in hotel but in a good way - it is still very modern. Breakfast was excellent. Swimming pool facilities are lovely and decorated like Roman Baths. I had a lovely stay in this hotel & look forward to returning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great place to go after getting married
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here just after I hot married in Wales just for the night.. the staff were amazing. I even had a bottle of prosecco put in our room.. iv stayed here quite a few times now and cannot faulter it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Location was excellent as right in the city centre
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room prices and parking was high but I guess this is because of the location. Our room was a little dated and could do with an refurbishment.

    Location was excellent as right in the city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location in a classic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was clean but also outdated.

    A stylish classic hotel, with classic rooms. Nothing wrong with it but also not very exciting. The location of the hotel is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some work going on which was a bit noisy and disruptive but I’m sure that’s only temporary. The leisure club is showing its age and could do with a re-vamp, and new carpet is needed in the otherwise beautiful function/ breakfast room.

    Fab location. Great to have a car park in a very central hotel. Tasty breakfast. Spacious bedrooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Not quite what we booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a deluxe room which turned out to be a standard. We didn't question it as we found out that the property was full, so we probably wouldn't have got a deluxe anyway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable family week-end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The changing room in the swimming pool needs to be spruced up a little. Not under hotel control, some people did not shower before getting in the pool and some people left their towels on the loungers when not using them.

    The doors of other bedrooms did not slam at all hours, I think I heard one but that was mid morning. The beds were very comfortable. Cloud like. The sauna was very nice and the staff everywhere were helpful and friendly. This was our second stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Quality hotel and dedicated polite staff in an excellent city centre location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor - the pool area changing rooms floor perhaps could do with a clean ( perhaps it was cleaned after our visit)

    We booked hotel for its location, star rating and facilities . Just before we went we checked recent tripadvisor scores and were concerned due to poor reviews However, the hotel, staff and rooms were well in excess of the recent poor ratings especially bearing in mind the current renovations which did not impact on our stay at all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Exemplary staff, our room was disappointing considering the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dated and not very clean. There was a funny smell in the corridor on our floor. I was disappointed with the room after the grandeur of the foyer.

    The location was great. The staff were fantastic. The breakfast was great. The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel in prime Bristol location
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is currently being refurbished (should be complete in October). We upgraded at an additional cost, and our room was a really comfortable and stylish room, already refurbished, with an excellent view of the Cathedral and College Green (ask for a view at check-in!). We were warned of potential drilling the following morning at check-in, but not of the water being cut off at 11am - which proved annoying when trying to shower before leaving! However, we were refunded our upgrade costs at check-out when we flagged this last-minute annoyance to an otherwise very pleasant stay.

    Really well situated in the heart of Bristol harbour lands, lovely comfortable room. We were offered an upgrade at a reasonable price, which we took, as it included the parking cost, and were given a complimentary half-bottle of wine too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    We had a pleasant stay but it was nothing exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room that was waiting for a refurb in the lower ground floor. The bathroom had mould on the ceiling around the bath. I was offered the possibility of an upgrade via email the previous week for £15 for a refurbed room, but when I asked about this on arrival, there were none available. So we were disappointed. The lower ground floor looked tired. Carpet was worn through in the corridor and was coming away from the floor in places. Also, in this day and age WiFi in bedrooms should be free. Not nearly £5 per day.

    The breakfast was very good. Location excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing break, great location and polite, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom window was dirty on the outside, there were no bathrobes in the room or water, just glasses for the tap.

    The leisure facilities were great and we really enjoyed relaxing in the lounge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Everywhere was clean, presentable and nothing was never too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everywhere was clean, presentable and nothing was never too much for the staff. The room over looked the habour. It was spacious, clean, the tv was huge :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    It was lovely but due to the sad ending to our break has left me feeling very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry wrong box, see above. The hotel is in a lovely spot and I enjoyed all the amenities and loved the hotel.

    I asked if we could leave our bags after check out until later as our transport wasn't booked until this evening, so we could enjoy Bristol for my sons 3rd birthday, we were told we couldn't so had to loose our prepaid tickets to @Bristol and cancel his birthday treats in Bristol and to book another train journey. My mum rang the hotel after we had left and she spoke to a lovely lady who looked into this matter and said it was a lack of communication and if I was to book again in the future this would not happen as your employers have now all be trained in saying yes to storing luggage. Just very sad as my sons birthday was ruined and has made me and my mum very sad as she brought this trip as a birthday present for my son but the lady sylvie was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Good position, close to restaurants and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get free wifi you had to take your IPad to designated areas of the hotel. To get wifi in your room you had to sign up for some club.

    The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. It was Close to shops and restaurants. They had a car park next to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    A comfortable hotel in a really convenient location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was crowded on Monday and the showers for the pool were not clean. The outside windows needed to be cleaned. Our room was opposite the cleaners cupboard, so it was a little noisynin the morning, but the cleaning staff were lovely.

    The bed was very comfortable indeed and the bathroom and bed very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no fridge in the room which i had to request. There were no face washers in the bathroom and the shower head was useless. Despite hanging my towels etc for re-use each morning the towels were changed ... so much for saving water! When i asked for the location of a florist in order to buy flowers the front staff sent me to a cafe called the florist ... was not impressed about walking up that hill.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    The room and the facilities were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not very good. The hot food was cold and the fried eggs looked horrible. I think they had been there a while. It’s a shame because we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of the hotel.

    The room and the facilities were very good. Excellent Spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location for docks, SS Great Britain, Brunel museum,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking charge. £16. Day.

    Great location for docks, SS Great Britain, Brunel museum, City Centre, many excellent restaurants and the Old Vic, Colston Hall and Hippodrome Theatre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Could have been a lot better for the cost
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed not made up on the Sat. Standing for quite a long time waiting for breakfast items to be re-stocked. Coffee brought to table both mornings without milk (We had to go and request a jug and fill it ourselves from the breakfast area)

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff are fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a little too hard for me. Shower was not very forceful. Pool & changing are a bit scruffy, but renovations are underway in the hotel.

    Staff are fabulous. Location great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely pool and leisure facilities
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No turn down facility at night and sofa bed wasn’t made up has to ring 3 times at 10 Oclock at night to get this sorted

    Lovely pool and leisure facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    I didn’t like the fact that the jacuzzi was not working an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that the jacuzzi was not working an no one mentioned this until we went to the leisure bit of the hotel. Wish it stated this on then website or atleast at the reception before paying my deposit. Jacuzzi was the reason I chose that hotel in the first place and no money back offered

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay and the hotel was ideally placed for us to walk to Colston Hall for a concert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be very helpful to have a magnifying mirror in the bathroom to help with make-up.

    Our room had recently been refurbished and was very comfortable. We particularly liked the fact that there was a walk in shower in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable indeed and the room was very quiet despite the fact that renovations were taking place in the hotel. Check-in was quick and easy and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Bliss :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to write here :)

    Super friendly, attentive and helpful staff, amazing and luxurious facilities, spa area a big plus, very nice breakfast loads to choose from (we had ours in our room), great location, wifi very good. Very clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location in Bristol City centre and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was undergoing building works over the w/e which was noisey. Also, the shower was not the cleanest.

    The price of breakfast was not included in the room. And as the cost of hotel breakfast was expensive, we chose to eat breakfast elsewhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: