Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Merseyside hotel reviews
  4. Liverpool hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Adelphi Hotel

Reviews of Adelphi Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ranelagh Place, Liverpool, L3 5UL, United Kingdom

#77 of 81 hotels in Liverpool

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 12709 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.9

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    4.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    5.0
    Interesting building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated. Nosey room. Mould in bathroom, and no ventilation. Secondary double glazing broken (so couldn't close) Queuing to check in and to check out

    Interesting building Staff were friendly

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    5.4
    Not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very outdated. The furniture was broken, falling apart, the upholstery on the chairs was ripped and had stains on it. There is no telephone in room to contact reception, the window doesn’t close, the bathroom shower pressure was low. Overall the hotel needs a full refurb, it’s old, outdated, grubby, dusty and unclean. The bed was very springy, the towels provided were too small, I can go on and on.

    The location is perfect and there is nearby parking.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    6.3
    Should we be guaranteed a better room with more modern bathroom, we will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In comparison to our previous stay at the hotel, the room standard was poor - bathroom was also sub standard and not so clean

    Location was excellent - very central and only a stone's throw to the shops and restaurants

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    4.6
    Average....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar area separate from lounge , had to walk up and down stairs , not good with glass in hand. Room was squalid, whole building needs a re vamp. Shame , as said above must have been a magnificent hotel in its day.. Pictures of rooms did not reflect there dire conditions. It was the pictures that made me book there... I would not have stayed another night , nor will I stay again.

    The lounge are is beautiful, it must have been a fine hotel in its hey day.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    7.5
    Incredibly cheap, given the central location, but room reflected it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impossible to turn off the heating so room like a sauna. Toilet didn't work properly, had to take the top off the cistern and pull the lever up. Bath panel hanging off.

    The central location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    3.3
    Location
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything else! The room stunk of damp, was dirty and the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've slept in. The whole place is in desperate need of a refurbishment. I complained about my room and they moved me to a bigger dump and the clothes I left in the 1st room were stolen!

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    5.0
    Close to the city, friendly staff but facilities and comfort do not match the price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower and sink were dreadful. Scolding hot water, cold tap barely functioned. Alarm kept going off during night. Woken by housekeeping at 730. Shoddy

    Checken was Easy and friendly

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    3.8
    Lucky we were put all day
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel need to be completely refurbished. Cracked paint, old and dusted furniture and awful carpet. I was afraid to walk on on my bare feet. The cue for check in was all the was down to the back and when putting luggage inthe porter or reception guy just looked at me trying to find a spot and lift two heavy cases. No help at all. Complete over priced

    The location is really the only thing going for the hotel

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    2.5
    Hotel was a discrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I tried to book a room for £52 pound and my girlfriend did so we would save 10% and then when we seen that you get £20 pounds back if my boyfriend made a account and we stayed another night we decided to stay another night so we would save the money and get some money back for staying after all we only stayed extra night to save money in the end booking.com only let me reserve a hotel room for £37 a night after complaining after the first room was a disgrace dirty bed sheets and room stunk of cannabis we would like to be refunded off Adelphi and they told us to contact Britannia customer service

    Hotel was a discrace

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    7.9
    Overall we loved the experience and loved Liverpool which is a vibrant and exciting city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air extractor in the bathroom didn't work, and staff although informed about it didn't bother to get it fixed. Parking is a bit awkward and a bit far at the back of the hotel with little instruction as to how to access and use it for new patrons to the hotel.

    Loved the size of the rooms, the location was perfect for us and the building is lovely. Definitely from a time when buildings and hotels were built to be impressive.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    4.2
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cot they provided for my baby was disgusting it was covered in stains. Breakfast was awful and it cost extra which I thought was a rip off. The room already cost quit abit and was not worth it at all.

    The size of the room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel and excellent value. Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is a rip-off but its possible to park on a single yellow line at the back of the hotel 18:00 - 08:00. A few carpets about the place could do with renewing, and the bounces on the door late evening are a bit fierce. But really nothing of note to complain about.

    This is a fantastic hotel building, of great architectural note. The rooms are warm comfortable and many are enormous. There is always bags of hot water. Some rooms are even have original marble panelled walls and magnificent fireplaces. The position is great in the centre and it offers fabulous value for money. Staff are friendly

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.6
    Stayed many times, fantastic value in a splendid building with excellent position in the city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "bouncers" on the door are a bit fierce, and the parking charge is a rip-off. But it is possible to park on a yellow line t the back of the hotel between 18:00 and 08:00.

    This is a magnificent hotel, the downstairs public rooms are stunning with huge chandeliers, and wonderful architecture. There is always bags of hot water and the rooms are lovely and warm. Some of the rooms (floors 2 and 3 example) are huge with wonderful fireplaces and marble lined bathrooms. Carpets a bit used in places, but for the money it really is an absolute gem. Receptionists are friendly and helpfu

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    4.2
    Extremely dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is tired, the room needed an overhaul and it appeared Britannia is prepared to let a once prestigious hotel deteriorate. Service was not particularly good, and we had three fire alarms whilst there

    The shower pressure was good and plenty of hot water

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    5.0
    Britannia have abused their ownership of this famous hotel to attract the budget trade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    Room cold on entry - heating was off despite it being a very cold day. I complained and was told that the policy at the hotel is to not turn on the heating in rooms until 7pm! Light over then bed had a failed bulb. Replaced but I had to call whereas the cleaners should check before guests check in. Despite the hotel having an extremely large car park- you have to pay £12 to park per day. That adds to the room price. The socket in the bathroom for shavers/electric toothbrushes is at least 7 foot off the ground so impossible top use. Disappointed that the wonderful tiled swimming pool had been permanently closed. Although the booking.com page did not claim to offer a pool , it was so well known and anticipated that they should alert people that it was no longer available. No room service after 11pm

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    7.5
    Location was the only favourable thing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From being a beautiful Grand Hotel this is now very run down shabby place to stay. Floors dirty carpets need a good hoovering really not a nice place

    Location was the only favourable thing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    5.8
    The location is the only positive point about this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Incredibly old and in dire need of demolition, let alone refurbishment. Dirty curtains with broken fittings. Exceedingly drafty. Tired bathroom. Limited power sockets. Old and tired furniture. Didn’t fancy restaurant at all.

    The location is the only positive point about this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    4.6
    Loved Liverpool very dissapointed with Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Out of 5 rooms booked 3 of our party had to move 1 beds dirty linen had not been changed 2 banging door outside a room had to move in the middle of the night because of the noise 3 buffet breakfast was terrible and very unapitatising. Overall we had a lovely time in Liverpool people and tours were great but the Hotel was discusting all our rooms were not very clean the house keeping was terrible. Never recommend this hotel and does not reflect well on booking.com would think again before booking with you because of this hotel. Would like to here your comments on this and if you have ever reviewed this hotel yourselves.

    The staff were quite nice

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were uncomfortable taps in sink didn’t work small tv shower not positioned correctly- room was changed after first night breakfast food cold juices not replaced water for tea not replaced Di

    Spacious room

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    3.8
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was dirty, the room was even worse. The whole place seems as it has been run into the ground, dated I can deal with but it was actually filthy, it is such a shame that such a beautiful building has been so neglected. I would not ever stay there, or recommend it. Very very sad

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoy as it's in the middle of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was unable to help with a situation one evening as they couldn't really understand

    The room was the best 4 poster bed couldn't complain room cleaned everyday

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    5.8
    Not bad for a 1 star hotel. Oh sorry it's a 3 star hotel. Good heavens!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Draft through the secondary type Windows Not proper double glazed. Made the room extra cold. A good hoovering and dusting would not go a miss! In fact the old building is looking tired.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    2.5
    Just awful, do not stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awful customer service Rooms small, dirty and cold. People running down the hall and shouting at 2am. Prople drunk and passed out on hotel lobby, people taking drugs in lifts in Sunday morning.

    Location in city center

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    8.3
    Stayed here a few times hotel is in an excellent position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in took a long time but think this was down to him being quite new and struggled to understand what he was saying at times.

    Stayed here a few times hotel is in an excellent position. Staff are friendly and hotel is clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    5.8
    Long queues at the check in. The Hotel needs another check in desk to accomodate the many coaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What I was charged for one night !!! Far too high.

    The price I paid for one night was far too high. I stay at your Hotel regularly and should be able to get a better rate (off peak)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    6.7
    Dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clenlyness was not good. Bathroom had hair in bath. Toilet dirty, towel dirty, no lightbulb in one light. Tapes had black mould around the base

    Staff polite and friendky

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    6.3
    Brought a friend from out of town to see Liverpool and felt embarrassed for booking there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty crockery left on the floor for several hours in the corridor outside our room. Window looked out onto an area ull of rubbis/litter. Constant buzzing noise from somewhere outside the room throughout the stay

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    3.3
    Extremely disappointing to say the least
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We paid 200.00 for one night, when we arrived to check in the Queue was out the door it took me 45mins to check in. receptionist didn't even look at me then we arrived into room 205. The room was tired, curtains full of dust, furniture has seen better days, no telephone, bathroom was not welcoming at all, it was blowing a gale through the window it was cold, no plug for the sink. This may once have been a very prestigious hotel but sadly in today's standards it is most definitely not. Having checked on the day of check in what your room rate was I was appalled to find it as low as £67.00, I can understand paying extra to secure a room early but this was an outrageous difference and then having to pay an additional £12.00 to park on what can only be described as rough open ground with limited lighting. Check out, it was just throw your card into the basket, same girl on 'check out' as was on ' check in' never even asked how our stay was. Absolutely disgusted. Waiting to be picked up from the front of the hotel where you have a seating area the floor was full of broken glass from the night before. Plenty of staff walking around but not doing anything. People have asked us how our stay was, never again and have told them never to stay

    Not a lot

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We asked for extra pillows on night 1 as I'm heavily pregnant & new cups & spoons as ours were DIRTY!!! Must have still been from the last people who must have been in the room. Waited an hour still no pillows or cups& spoons, went bed woke the next day still Nothing!! I went to ask the housekeeper, she did get us an extra pillow but came in took the cups& 1 spoon, rinsed them in our bathroom with water from the tap with her BARE fingers&hands !!! I told her we needed new cups& spoons, she said she had cleaned them& walked out.

    Location was great & very close to the train station.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    7.9
    Disgusted that escorts are working all over this hotel I won’t be staying again because of this
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is run by escorts my friend got in the lift drunk and an escort got in stripped her clothes off and asked how much money he had on him

    The hotel and staff were ok

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.2
    If you're still alive after checking in - very pleasant and enjoyable!
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Checking in is absolutely awful - it really wouldn't surprise me one bit if there'd been people that have died whilst queuing up - it's that long, arduous and seemingly never ending !! This really does need improving - like putting more assistants behind reception - but I guess even that wouldn't work, as the procedure of checking in is just too long for every person anyway!!!

    The price was the cheapest in Liverpool - but at the same time I did actually manage to get a same kind of room within arelphi for almost twice as cheap in January!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    4.2
    The location was excellent and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness and decor of the room and hotel were appalling. Was not worth the £117 a night I paid, I have stayed in far better hotels that cost me less. Would not recommend to anyone to stay here.

    The location was excellent and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    7.0
    Friendly staff room clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My daughter brought some milk from her room as we only had one left originally she left it outside the door and it was taken away by the cleaners after she requested them to leave it alone

    Friendly staff room clean

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    4.2
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was first put in a room with thread bare carpet a blocked toilet also it was thick in dust furniture with drawers hanging off I asked to change rooms and that one was not much better!! would never go again

    location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    3.8
    Checking in was a nightmare and took for ever. Bathroom was very dated (bedroom was ok).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spent 45 minutes waiting to check in (20+ people in the cue at all times and just TWO checking in) A massive argue between broke out between Two lots of customers as people were starting to get very frustrated with the wait (not very pleasant). Staff on reception total blanked you (whilst the taped away on their computer) when you did get to the desk, a smile and a greeting would have been nice. I'll leave it there!

    Location, and that was it.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    waited 10 minutes for bread to come to make toast, the widows let the cold air in the bedroom, paintwork in bathroom was flaking into the shower, electric cables and extension leads were across the floor causing hazards

    Location and the bar down below

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    3.5
    Very dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything !! For £120 crap wouldn’t of paid £30 a night if I knew rude staff ,hotel looks dirty ,rooms are dirty and furniture falling apart , beds uncomfortable and breakfast like a cafe horrible

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    2.9
    Extremely Poor service, management, staff and architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor Management. I got given keys to a room with people in it already. It was a bit awkward when I walked in on them. Also got given the wrong type of room as opposed to the one booked. Had my room changed three times and the staff just randomly chose a room to give us. Had people smoking and blocking the entrance to the hotel. Was an extremely bad experience and never have I felt so fed up of a hotel in my life.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    2.9
    Dismal...do not stay in the Adelphi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in time over an hour to find the room given wasnt even ready....Was told to just put luggage in the wardrobe it will be ok...No chance! Had to put up with the all night drug fuelled party going on next door until 8am in the morning...A joke

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cobwebs on lights, one of which wasn’t working. Really loud noise when taps were turned on and inside of room door was boarded with plywood. Not what I expected after paying £200 for the room for 1 night Also the view was of a rooftop covered in litter

    Location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    4.2
    Awful never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The plaster on the ceiling was falling off. The surfaces were dirty. The walls had cracks in it. Tea or coffee was sprayed over the walls. I could on and on.

    Unfortunately only the location and the breakfast. The room was horrible and dirty.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room lights were just lamps so it was very dark to get ready

    Great location. Clean and tidy. Good security checking your cards as you enter at night. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    5.4
    The structure was amazing a beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It looked tired as money needed spending on it the furniture was awful in the room we was staying in most of the draws were falling apart the beds were very uncomfortable as well

    The structure was amazing a beautiful building

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.7
    The location was fantastic
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon arrival at the hotel, shortly after check in time there was an extremely long queue. I am aware it was a Saturday afternoon and this was to be expected but after standing in the queue for 45 minutes, not a single apology was offered. Throughout the night it was extremely loud due to guests in the corridor at all hours of the night.

    The location was fantastic

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.3
    Great location for shopping and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In desperate need of repair of furniture and fittings, carpets need cleaning also.

    Great location for shopping and food. Lovely old building would of been glorious in its day. Good for a night's stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.7
    It's was alright, but we was partying for 15 hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price for one night stay in hotel. Where as desperate times needs for bog yet doesn't flush.

    The beds were comfortable The location whereabout is excellent near town/station

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.1
    Comfy but not classy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy at night, slightly unnerving having bouncers on the hotel door. Beautiful building with so much potential but original features have just been patched up and painted over without a thought. Not the classy hotel I'd hoped for. More of a hostel.

    The bed was exremely comfy and big spacious room. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    4.2
    Awful, such an iconic Liverpool hotel in its day, a shame it’s not being looked after, a disgrace
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dirty, dirty cups, hairs in the bathroom, sink and toilet had only been wiped, no light bulb in the lamp, I didn’t want to stand bare foot on the carpet, is there a housekeeping manager at the Adelphi

    The most awful place I’ve ever stayed

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    5.8
    Resonable price for this standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close to city centre, shops and local transport.

    Room was very cold. No hot water in basin tap at all. Whole place very dark with just two side lamps. Bathroom dirty.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing, standards shocking !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is so dated & requires an immediate renovation !! Like staying in a hostel !! Bathrooms 30 years old, beds uncomfortable, 2 night stay & moved room 3 times !! Ended up in a suite, whilst better than 2 other rooms still not even premier inn standards !!!

    Location only

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    2.9
    Very disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to queue for over half hour for checking & once there was meet with no apology or friendliness at all. I place a busy as the Adelphi should have been xtra staff on hand for this kind of situation there were 2 other computers available to use. There was no main light in the room even though there was a switch, We will not be booking this hotel again

    The location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful old hotel. A few gripes but for me, worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It took a really long time to check in - long queue with one guy at the desk and obviously a very slow computer system. Not what you want after a long journey. While I was queueing to check in, my friend who I was there to meet had to stand outside in the freezing wind because the door policy was that no one was allowed in without a room key. The staff on the door were perfectly friendly and polite and obviously just doing what they've been told to do, and I suppose this policy is a result of having a hotel right in the centre of Liverpool (it was late on a Friday night). But still I think it's a bit over the top and I wasted money on a bottle of wine to share with my friend as he couldn't come in so we had to go out to a bar. The breakfast wasn't great and the coffee was terrible - for £10 it wasn't worth it, I skipped it the second day.

    It's an absolutely beautiful old building with some wonderful spaces and interiors, really worth a stay there despite a few let downs.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    5.5
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was filthy my room was filthy and far to EXPENSIVE £125 one night had to pay £12 for parking the entrance was a taxi rank the noise was off the scale their was piss in the toilet as I went in the dust under the bed was about an inch thick all in all not pleased at all

    The location is good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    6.7
    Massive queue to check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Massive queue to check in.....when coaches are checking in, why not have extra staff?? Not much breakfast stuff left, no glasses, hot water, toaster didn’t toast, not real butter!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    3.3
    Liked nothing about it the hotel is in need of a good clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not like the hotel check in took over 30 minutes only one person on desk Also only 1 lift working , key cards would not work shower heads were black possible full off germs needs cleaned the hotel is in need of repair and a good clean would not recommended it to any one will be reporting it to the health and safety and environment dept of local council this hotel should be closed on health grounds

    Liked nothing about it the hotel is in need of a good clean and new beds there was no heating on skirting were hanging off exposing wire a danger to the public

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    4.2
    Comfortable bed,not a lot else the place is in need of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unable to close window,broken secondary glazing rattling all night in the wind and only the bathroom lights working,my requests for assistance went unheeded

    Comfortable bed,not a lot else the place is in need of serious refurbishment

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    5.4
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many noisy youths some looked like they weren't old enough to have booked hotel on there own

    Breakfast was good, bed was comfy, rooms were nothing like the pictures on the website

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    3.0
    A extremely grotty run down hotel commanding top prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything from queuing at checkin without a sorry for your wait. I have never stayed in such a grotty run down dirty old hotel. The room was atrocious the windows let the draft in and the wind whistled like we were outside . The net curtains looked like they’d been up one hundred years and never cleaned. The bathroom was dirty with a rotten wood panelling on the shower wall and the paint pealing off the walls . I complained to the duty manager as we paid £190 for the room and I wouldn’t say it was worth £5. All she could do was show me a different room which was even worse than the one we had. We got a free drink and 10% off which wasn’t good enough. I would never go to this hotel and would tell anyone to avoid it like the plague.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dirty and cold, the lifts where unavailable. No atmosphere at all considering this is one of Liverpool's greatest land marks. Very disappointed and I feel I have been ripped off with the price I paid for the great Adelphi experience.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaners knocking in the door constantly asking when I was leaving Absolute disgrace considering the price of the room Facilities were from the fifties

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.5
    I knew what hotel I was going to so therefore it met my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I knew what hotel I was going to so therefore it met my expectations. I would not recommend this hotel to people who have never lived in Liverpool or read the Wikipedia page!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    4.6
    Don't bother!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every single cushion on the bed was stained, along with a stained carpet and chair. The bathroom was clean but old, but the shower was impossible to operate - scauled myself as the cold water went off halfway through the shower. The whole room was dated and dingy. Only lamps, no main light and the light didn't work in the bathroom. Wouldn't recommend a stay here unless you really like slumming it! I won't be back.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    5.0
    Impressive building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tired rooms. Noisy housekeeping shouting and banging on doors on a Sunday morning. Long queues to check in. Lack of bar staff. Uninspiring breakfast.

    Impressive building

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    3.8
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor was dated, staff were rude and way over priced! There was loud music throughout the night from two Christmas parties and a boxing match going on on the first level. Thankfully we got to the room after it had finished but if we were looking for an early night that was not about to happen!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed.... a beautiful building in need of some improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room they gave us was a designated smoking room. It had a horrible smoke smell. They moved us to a room which was very basic and shower didn't work properly. Water came out of bath tap and shower. Dangerous. Window absolutely filthy. Breakfast was poor, no China and food poor quality. Ended up going out for breakfast on both days. Dirty glasses and cereal bowl dirty.

    Staff on reception were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed it even thought the room wasn't fashionable and a bit small but location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have been more updated in decor.

    Location was excellent but the room and bathroom were a little out of date and tired. Nevertheless it was clean and well presentable. As we were on the top floor and it was very windy you could hear lots of noise on the roof.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    6.7
    only stayed 1 night great location and clean towels and linen
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was run down but with a bit of investment it would be a stunning hotel

    the room was lovely and big could do with painting and paint work could do with cleaning but towels and bed linen was spotless would be a great hotel if was done up a bit

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, great price. In need of refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is dated and a little worn. Only 2 staff on front desk on a Friday night so booking in took quite a while. £12 for parking seemed a bit much. Can't comment on bars as the late bar that should be open til 2 closed early.

    Very central location for easy access for shops and bars. Staff were friendly on reception.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.2
    will be happy to stay there again for a little longer next time
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could do with a bit of touching up, paint pealing off every were, very dated

    The staff were very friendly and helpfull and they were very busy that didnt stop them doing there job

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.5
    Staff walked into the room unannounced while I was not...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff walked into the room unannounced while I was not dressed to give me a message. No knocking from any staff member, felt as though I had to be presentable the whole time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    5.8
    Great location poor decor dated but good for a bed for the night and that’s all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated very old interior needs a full revamp bathroom floor was lifted walls have stains old fashioned

    A very old building in the heart of Liverpool

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    3.3
    Dirty dump!
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to wait at least 15 mins to be checked in not something you want after a 15 hour drive. Hotel was in need of modernisation. Was given a room by the lift and it sounded like a roller coaster all night long. Dirty and drabby Hotel. Should have know as the people next to me where asking for a refund after checking in 10 minutes before me. Nothing like the photos on the website. It did have hot radiators though and very hot water. You leave your car in a shady looking outside public paid car park that doesn't seem very safe and are told to hide all valuables in the car. Not good.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Suffers from maintenance in bathroom. eg. Knob missing on shower mixer tap, shower head worn out & mirror/shaver light not working (pull cord missing) making it difficult to see to shave. Only little things & so easy & inexpensive to put right. Note room 374.

    Like hotel character, Restaurant, bar etc all good. Location perfect.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    5.4
    Liverpool 1-0
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I paid a lot of money for an executive sweet it was nothing like one. Bed uncomfortable, shower rail broken hard to regulate the temperature of the water, curtains didn't close properly so the people living in the apartment's across the way saw everything in our room.

    The staff and location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    2.5
    Evening dinner was not bad
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was like a cattle auction with hardly any staff with breakfast commodities both food and utensils missing - pathetic. Many years ago I went to Pontins and the Adephi was a repeat unfortunately

    Evening dinner was not bad

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Adelphi Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: