Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brook House Hotel 2 stars

662 Preston Road, Clayton-Le-Woods,, Preston, PR6 7EH, United Kingdom

#13 of 13 hotels in Preston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 438 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely area, great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not powerful enough but i do understand that this problem is not easily fixed.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The staff efficient and friendly. Great location near the M6. Loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location friendly clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    stayed here recently - arrived at 11.20pm as was held up in traffic - wasn't a problem staff were there to let us in - room was very large and clean - had trouble with the wifi - very clean lovely size room - breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice - would definitely use again -very friendly excellent location - nothing too much trouble

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    We attended a wedding so it was a good place to stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was slow but as there was a problem with the fire at winter hill the water was slow, only stayed for one night the breakfast was good and staff pleasant,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is a family run business and they do an excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing, the shower needed a lot more power.

    The hotel is a family run business and they do an excellent job making sure their customers feel at home. The hotel does need updating In some areas but for me what was offered was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    Very noisy with no prior warning, bed uncomfortable, shower dribbles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had a wedding celebration going on until midnight with loud music and our room was directly above this. Nothing was mentioned on the booking that this would be the case. Very unhappy as we were both very tired after a long day. Bed was uncomfortable, shower dribbled, no complimentary shower gel or shampoo, towels tired, room decor dated.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building looking tired, reception closes 10pm

    Comfortable beds, Extra pillows, Staff friendly and helpful, general cleanliness, great cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing it was great.the staff and people made us very welcome really great and breakfast inculded

    it was clean not very updated like but homely and over all good stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    AS ABOVE
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room decoration needed doing very poor. tele 14 inch square box silver must have been 20 years old with an old fashion video slot. didn't work at first manager came and sorted lasted till I switched it off as it kept changing channels by its self.tryed it again and couldnet get anything utter rubbish.funiture miss mash some too good for a skip. bed headboard if you could call it that was a piece of MDF that wasn't even covered and fixed to the wall. HOW YOU CAN RECOMEND THI ROOM TO YOUR CUSTOMERS IS BEYOND ME. IT WAS THAT POOR.

    nothing it was a very poor room if it had been free I would have been robbed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Easy to find ,great parking and well presented, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find ,great parking and well presented, the staff were friendly and helpful. For the price you get great service and a cooked breakfast! What more do you want

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    It was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It needs some tlc and we were told the rooms are being overhauled one at a time, and they do need it.

    The breakfast was excellent. All the staff were helpful and lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    In general hotel was clean but could use modernisation.
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water was scolding from tap!!! Should have thermostatic valves fitted.Toilet dripped all night and ages to fill after a flush

    In general hotel was clean but could use modernisation. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic value. Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was firm & comfortable but rather bouncy when turning over.

    Clean & comfortable. Good breakfast. Helpful & friendly staff. Fantastic value. We're back in the area in October & will stay again along with family & friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could obviously do with a bit of cleaning up but for the price we paid it was totally acceptable

    We didn't go expecting luxury but just a convenient and good value stay for one night. This is exactly what we got - good friendly service and a comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only issue was the room i stayed in (No3) the noise from the road (A6) was quite loud even though the windows were closed

    The Wi-Fi was excellent, the room i stayed in was big and comfortable and Richard the cook did a great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable accommodation at short notice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower head could have been better but it did the job.

    Although the restaurant was booked out for a wedding, they were very helpful in finding somewhere which would deliver takeaways. Very obliging with choice of room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Would not go again. Enough said.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel very tired and in need of some TLC. Bed very uncomfortable with broken springs in the mattress. Bathroom in poor condition.

    People and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Better than cheap and cheerful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Can be noisy at weekends when wedding parties and the like appear.

    Working on the area for a few days needed to have a bed and a good breakfast which the Brook House fits the bill. Been a year ago and though a bit of an old place it is fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only disappointment was the Wi-Fi didn't work in my room, however I had 4g coverage and plenty of data allowance so it wasn't a huge issue.

    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for me. My evening meal was fantastic and the full English in the morning was lovely. The hotel is far from a Hilton however for the price I paid and the friendly staff and great food I'd rather stay here any day of the week.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Staff and breakfast very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room needs updating and bathroom needs updating.The shower is very poor with no power so water pressure is very poor especially for woman trying to wash and rinse their hair. Also I never had any cold water on while showering and it still was not hot There was no hair dryer any where in the hotel as we was told someone had taken it previously but it had not been replaced. The TV's are very old and signal was poor. So overall it all needs updating

    Staff and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window in the room would only close or stay wide open

    Ideally located near the M6 and easy to find. Room was great for £40 and the breakfast was cooked to order. Would certainly not hesitate to book the hotel again if we wanted to stay in the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Convenient friendly value for money easy parking and good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in room 12 is an old style huge heavy monster that doesn’t work properly with the old digital box. Get a new flatscreen integrated tv!

    Friendly family run

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    A reasonable overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a loud function on in the hotel, although they put me in the furthest room away I could still hear it, it did finish at midnight. The decor is a bit tired, No breakfast menu displayed showing what was on offer. No tea or coffee at the table. I asked for Glayva (A whisky) I was told we only sell it by the bottle? Whilst having breakfast there sat on the shelf was a opened bottle behind the bar?

    The bed was comfortable, The breakfast was cooked to order, it was fairly easy to find and reasonably cheap

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Comfy but basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived mid afternoon. Lights in corridors were off. No bar open. Food only served at 6.00pm. The person in charge of kitchen sat most of night watching tv. When going to cook food no head covering no apron. Told guests later there was no chicken as he was busy night b4...there was 8 guests!!! Said he dont buy a lot of meet cus ppl go out at weekends!!! It has a brasserie! Also telling me he dont cook rice so your having microwaved....not very professional and told everyone his kitchen management routine which probably he should have kept to himself.

    Clean and warm bedroom. Easy to get to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Great, friendly, welcoming staff, for a professional clean business
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was entertainment comedy (Lots of swearing at times I didn't mind, but was a small issue)...

    The staff/owner I think were very helpful as we are vegans & catered for us. Big room... very clean def going back -

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.0
    Reasonably cheap, friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in my room didn't work (bath did but not the shower), when this couldn't be fixed I was allowed to use the shower in another room but this was cold with very low water pressure. Rooms were basic and clean but slightly dated

    Reasonably cheap, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Would book again on similar terms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard of the Brasserie was first class,whereas the bedroom was a little tired in terms of paintwork,one or two items of furniture e.g faulty bedside light,bedside cabinet very shaky.

    Easy friendly staff Excellent value for £40 bed and breakfast Quick,helpful at breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable however the room was value for money and clean.

    It was spacious and the gentleman who greeted us as veey polite and informative.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    Cheap and clean, but more suited to workman’s digs.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard. Shower was inadequate. Bar and brassiere closed at 7pm on a Friday night! Very dated decor.

    Good breakfast. Cheap. Friendly staff. Ok as a very budget stop off point or one night stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    Reasonable price for a room & breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was small and the toilet was virtually unflushable, no WiFi, burns on carpets from iron but no iron in room, fire alarm went off at 6:30am when partner went to find a staff member they said they did not know what set it off but turned it off anyway.

    The price was reasonable for what it was. The breakfast was good , nice selection of food & drinks although a little early for a leisure trip. The room was clean although could of done with refurbishment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.1
    Overall we enjoyed the stay. Good value for money. Pleasant, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture very basic, wobbly small mirror. No full length mirror. Bedside lamp and lamp over sink did not work in one of the rooms. Room freezing on arrival and took ages for heating to come on but once it did worked well. Waitress tried to remember breakfast order and got a couple of things wrong (not enough that we needed to complain though). Dated décor and carpets. Don't expect top quality furniture and fittings.

    The hosts were friendly and attentive when we saw them but the reception desk was often empty. Good value for money. Clean room. Good breakfast. Basic furniture in room, small TV. Very comfortable bed. Would suggest eating out for evening meal. Biscuits provided. Waitress needs to use a notepad to correctly deliver breakfast order. You may need to ask for the heating to be put on. Good central location to visit Fylde coast and Southport. Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    A very dangerous step on the first floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very dangerous step on the first floor. I had a very nasty fall resulting in cutting and bruising my wrist and causing significant pain to my knees, neck and back. We were told about this step when we were shown to the room but feel that the fact there was no clear markings didn’t help. I was not asked to complete an accident report either which I felt was very poor too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Really good value, in a small, well-run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The friendly staff; extremely good value; good location. We were looking for a budget option and the book ahead price was amazingly good value. We had two twin rooms (me, husband, adult daughter) which were clean, roomy and quiet. Warm welcome and helpful staff, good breakfast. All much more pleasant than a travellodge & a bit cheaper. Would definitely use again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    lovely inexpensive hotel would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing really

    asked if i could have my little granddaughter with me for the night, no problem whatsoever even offered the little fuss pot brekky at no cost. extremely friendly staff from the bottom to the top and i thank them all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff, comfortable room, brilliant breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and warm and comfortable. The staff were really nice and very helpful. Breakfast was great, good range of cereals and fresh made full English breakfast. The location was good. It was great value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value, a good breakfast, and well located for our purposes. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit cold on arrival, but a portable heater was supplied to tide us over until the radiators came on.

    Everything needed for a one night stop-over; plenty pf parking. Good breakfast. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Perfect place for an unpretentious overnight stay at a great price in Preston area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff; large, immaculately clean room with everything we could want; proper taps on basin, proper soap, proper shower. Directed us to a very good Indian restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.3
    the staff are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had to ring the bell a few times and no one came to welcome us, the bell was a hit and miss to let the staff know you had arrived. Although. they apologised for not hearing it. we couldn't sleep as there was a noise most of the night like the piping system or something. We don't like complaining but we did not get a good nights sleep. The place needs updating but we still would not rule it out because of the staff.

    the staff are very friendly...Richard has been there both times we have been there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    3.3
    It was no Hyatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold and a certain smell on entering the building. Everything looks tiered, and used. Cracked windows flaky walls cobwebs and then in walked in. Our room had no heating. I know boiler repair can cost but there are 24 hour plumbers. Shower worked but it was a sprinkle rather than a good shower. The carpets are dead but I'm sure that a few things are alive in them. The TV ha it is smaller than my laptop and was tucked away in a corner. Bedding two clean sheets result however the mattress had no cover and the duvet had a smell not unlike cheese feet. They really could do with replacing. I'd just finished a 12hour shift and had no appatite to complain. I thought I would sit out in the morning Saturday morning you know lay in day. Well we had asked what time breakfast finished 10am was the reply we questioned this just to make sure, so at 0930 we went down and the lovely pair serving promptly said " Nar I stop cooking at 0915 latest so you can always try Mac Donalds" Thanks that was it we grabbed our things threw the key at the vacant reception desk and walked away.

    Off road parking after that and everything went down hill. Sorry to those running the place but close it and have a think..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Cold but good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating or hot water but these were surmountable minor problems.

    Staff very friendly. Food at night and Breakfast excellent. The but!!! There was no hot water or heating. However I was supplied with a portable electric oil filled radiator which warmed the room. As for the hot water we had to boil a kettle. Took me back to my childhood days of no central heating and coal fires Those were the days. Not. Overall at £40 including a great breakfast I still rate this as good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    A very good hotel in a good location. I'll definitely stay there again if I'm in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was made to feel very welcome at the check in when I stayed on 26 October and the staff were happy to provide excellent customer service. The food was also of the highest quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    You get what you pay for. (In this case not much)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was appalling. The waiter was stunned that I sent back my pudding, because I didn't want it before my main course. The 'paella' was boiled white rice with frozen mixed veg and bits of boiled looking fish. White stodgy goop. The chilly chicken was well cooked, but was literally chicken with bits of chilly stuck to it. I had to ask for butter with my toast for breakfast. When the waitress finally remembered I was given horrible margarine. A shame because apart from that the breakfast was good (a massive improvement on dinner). The mattress was very lumpy and the water flow in the shower was pathetic.

    The staff were very friendly. The room was largely clean (except for a suspicious wet ring on the floor around the toilet)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    We were very satisfied.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choice for meal in the evening but breakfast was superb.

    Very clean and a caring staff. Couldn't get wifi in our room but the information did say it wasn't available everywhere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    4.2
    Cheap stopover not worth the discomfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable. The springs stuck in you & we hardly slept. The bathroom was not clean.

    Very friendly staff & very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    overall it was ok,consider staying there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no hot water.boiler broken. no heating either,was given heater but the staff should have put it in the room earlier

    hotel is ideal for a one or two night stayover,staff very friendly and helpful.breakfast was e xcerlant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.3
    Served a Purpose for a 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is very dated, carpets were threadbare, towels were thin and discoloured. Hotel served a purpose as only needed a 1 night stay. Breakfast very early (0700-0815). When I asked if it could be later was told that they get a a lot of business people there. I can understand this, however I was not on business and when I looked for hotels and said it was not for business this hotel popped up.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    I would come & stay there again when I,m out that way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think u should do individual tea or coffee pots with breakfast cause my partner & I thought the tea was not very hot.

    You could not fault the room it was spot on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant under the circumstances
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small basin and shower very difficult to use. The boiler had broken down so we had to boil kettles.

    Staff attentive, easy parking, evening meal which were grilled were of a high standard and excellent value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay and will have no hesitation in visiting Brook House Hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and bathroom were clean and comfy. Towels were clean, and changed daily. The staff were all polite, friendly and helpful. The hotel's location is very convenient for the M6, but far enough away that there is no disturbance from traffic overnight. The general feel of the hotel and its surroundings is calm and peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    The safe were extra friendly and went out of their way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe were extra friendly and went out of their way to help. Breakfast was excellent, alight meal was offered in the evening that wasn't on the menu. Great valve for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Good for an overnight stop close to the university at an excellent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV very poor quality signal and unusable due to pixilation. Hot water in our corridor had broken down but we were provided with free evening meals as compensation.

    Pleasant helpful staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.8
    Wouldn't stay here again.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you stay in this hotel please don't accept room 1, it is situated right next to the entrance and you hear all the comings and goings late in to the night and early in the morning. The room was run down with painted over rusty radiators, broken tiles in the bathroom. The shower was less of a power shower and more of a dribble, The TV was so small you couldn't see it from the bed. I found body hairs in the bed when I turned covers over to get in. The receptionist was friendly and the man who took our breakfast but the other large man (manager/owner) was quite rude.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Staff brilliant had a laugh room chef rxcellent best steak...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room heating didnt work gave us portable heater had to wait for hot water for a bath use to instant water . We laughed said it was like faulty towers . One critism reception area tatty not welcoming old fashion , for couple hundred pound i could have designed and changed it to look fabulous and more welcoming .

    Staff brilliant had a laugh room chef rxcellent best steak ever had

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    The staff, parking, and location were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bathroom in the room was poor, that's about it!

    The staff, parking, and location were great. Breakfast fine, facilities in the room need attention. My father (94), myself and my sister stayed there and enjoyed ourselves thanks to the staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Comfy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were very old and quite threadbare and off colour. Drinks need to b kept topped up at breakfast time and coffee wasnt very hot but we did go down for breakfast 20 mins before it ended. Check out time was a bit early as was breakfast for a sunday morn. Could do with half an hour extra

    Staff friendly. Rooms clean. Nothing too much trouble. We only used the room for a bed for the night so cant really comment on anything else. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely place, just too noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not know there was a function on until midnight, very noisy. Could also hear other guests talking, laughing throughout the night. Disturbed our sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Cheap accommodation close to Preston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor is very tired with worn and quite dirty carpets and a very basic en suite. Breakfast was limited with no tomatoes or mushrooms available. Toast came ready-buttered! Tea and coffee were scarcely drinkable.

    Bed and breakfast at £50 a night is good value and the location was fairly convenient for us (visiting family in Preston). Free off-road parking was available. Close to M6 / M61 / M65.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Good location, excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious. Wifi worked well, free on site parking. Hungry horse, Burger King, McDonald's, Pizza Hut and dominoes all in easy reach of the hotel. Staff were friendly and particularly breakfast waiting staff. Would recommend as excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Great value hotel close to British car auctions preston
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast times were not long enough , only from 7.45am till 8.30am

    I went to British car auctions Preston to buy a car which was 900 yards walking very good location to the auction . Would definitely use again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    We got what we paid for but it could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place was looking very tired. The carpet in our room looked like it had been used in another room and wasn't very nice. Some decorating was being done to other rooms so I guess that the room we were in would hopefully be next to be up dated.

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.3
    Brook House Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy floor in bathroom - lino had black patches and strong mould smell in bathroom so kept fan going - towels needed replacing too as stained/dirty.

    Friendly and helpful staff who did their best to make us feel welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Bed was really comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect for us

    Bed was really comfy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice cooked breakfast. Large parking area on property. Within a few miles each way to preston blackpool and the m6.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    A very good value overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was dis-organised. Kitchen was being rebuilt, but that doesn't stop tables being cleared.

    Member of staff was very friendly and helpful when we arrived late. Room very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Cheapish, so not expecting the earth. Fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky floors, shower barely worked. Tiny cheap pull handle on corridor door.

    Didn't eat there so can't comment. Quiet but background road noise, but then it is convenient to motorways etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    excellent stop over for liverpool ferry, will do the same next year if required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no food, light snacks would be a good idea!

    didnt have breakfast due to early start, easy to find, staff helpful, allowed me to park my bike behind fence for security, this made the stay comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Great Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom window could have been bigger so could be opened more as it was very hot.

    Entrance to the hotel easy to find / walk in check in quick and staff very informative explaining all we needed to know about our stay. We found the room spacious and spotlessly clean. Enjoyed the company of Peter and the friendly staff. Breakfast was a bonus!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    The staff were very helpful and did well under the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room contained a double and single bed, and was very compact. If I had needed to use it as a family room, it would have been unsuitable, and probably would be better to have two single beds which could then be put together as a double if necessary. The shower and toilet area, was also small and the shower was difficult to get in and out of as the door opening was very narrow.

    The staff were very helpful and did well under the circumstances to provide a cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.5
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable mattress Kitchen undergoing refurb after fire - which we were not aware of Poor breakfast No fresh coffee Poor value for money Seemed to cater for contractors working locally on a weekly basis

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.4
    Friendly but needs refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There had been a kitchen fire so there was an extremely reduced food menu. However this whole hotel could do with a complete refurbishment and quite a lot of money spent on it. Whilst clean it had a grubby feel to it with the white towels supplied being boiled grey and threadbare. Also on our checkout it was revealed that some of the plumbing had failed during the night and workmen were expected at any time soon. In fact the first impression when pulling into the car park was not very good but we gave it a chance and to be fair it was okay for the night. We booked here on the strength of a reviewer saying it was as good as a Premier Inn but unfortunately it isn't. Would I stay again ... No.

    The staff were very friendly and the car was parked off road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was slow but having said that, they were in the process of having the kitchen renewed due to a fire, I think.

    Breakfast was very nice. Good friendly staff. Room was comfortable if a little noisy at times.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    A Good Value Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A suggestion not a negative...low radio music in bar and breakfast area, would break the quietness if sitting as a couple. It would lift the atmosphere.

    Large warm bedrooms, very clean, friendly staff and a good breakfast. Value for money. Recently decorated, new sitting area with leather settees ( instead of coloured bucket chairs on photos!)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temporary problem with the kitchen due to fire, they tried their best to cope, only slight delay in breakfast which for the price was better than expected.

    Very friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more powerful shower but i understand that can be difficult to achieve.

    Friendly staff especially Steve who was very helpful. The location is great and surroundings peaceful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    Great Value Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was large and freshly decorated, very acceptable. The bathroom however, was in need of a through clean and things like the shower screen replaced.

    Excellent value for money, great parking, friendly staff and well located.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice sized room, staff were very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi as advertised, room could do with a redecorate there was a smell of stale smoke, poor water pressure on the shower and the TV was too small to watch from its high wall mounted position

    Nice sized room, staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable Place Near Preston Outskirts
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paper-thin walls as could hear the extraction fan in rooms, and lots of banging of doors, and furniture in rooms adjacent. Had to make own toasts for cooked breakfast.

    Nice clean room, a proper bath-cum-shower instead of just a shower. Felt comfortable and fairly good value for money. Close to public transport. Friendly night-porter and breakfast staff(same person). Would stay there, in future. Breakfast of sufficient portions if not large.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: