Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brook Meadow Hotel 3 stars

Heath Lane, Childer Thornton, CH66 7NS, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Childer Thornton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 313 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.9
    We were very pleased with the location, the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The damn jazz music was off putting especially at breakfast. Some light classical or mood music is far more appropriate for guests. Being forced to listen to the jazz all the time in the hotel is the only thing that would stop me from coming back. Please stop playing it. You might love it but your customers DON’T!!!!

    We were very pleased with the location, the food was excellent and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is in need of some TLC but this apparently is due to be done by March 2019.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Romantic and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just need a better dishwasher as we found glasses and coffee cups to be stained. The evening meal was yummy but the main course description wasn't accurate to what we had served.

    Nice setting, beautiful building, friendly and helpful staff who went the extra mile. Evening meal was tasty. The bedroom was beautiful and jacuzzi bath big enough for two! Restaurant atmosphere was very romantic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    The food was excellent although I thought the dinner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There as no comfy chair in the room which meant being on the bed most of the time, a good guest sitting room was provided though.

    The food was excellent although I thought the dinner portions could have been a bit bigger, plenty at breaskfast on the other hand.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful. Quiet location. Easy links to the rest of the Wirral, Liverpool and Chester.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is a little tired in places and the jacuzzi maybe a bit noisy, (so what... wine and bubbles!). Its difficult to be critical of this little countryside hotel.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. We were travelling with our dogs and were made very welcome. We arrived late but were still able to sit down for a meal. After a long day on the road it was also great to have a nice space to walk the dogs (and before setting off in the morning too). Didn't opt for breakfast when we booked, but there was no trouble in changing our minds and it was worth it to have a good feed before the day ahead. Spacious and comfortable room. It feels remote, but its only a short drive to the M53 and access to the rest of the peninsula. Recommend West Kirby beach, especially if you have dogs!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Birthday break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information in room with reference to how spare bath worked what time breakfast was

    Spotless room excellent location in it's own grounds with lots of wildlife to watch

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location for Liverpool Uni Vet School. Think it should cater more for pets.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ripped off on costs of dogs (cavaliers). Two small ones at £15 EACH per night! Adds £60 to the stay. Most hotels charge for one. Had to search for a bin in the grounds. No fresh fruit at breakfast. Nice hotel. Must have been something in its day, but looking a bit "tired" now.

    Beds good. Gardens good. Staff friendly. Room good. TV good. Evening meal nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was only supplied with one bath towel and the safe in the room wasn’t working - but not really an inconvenience

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was full English which was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Overall very relaxing, comfortable and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking in was not plain sailing. The guy at reception only just started apparently and still getting used to things. Several trips up and down stairs due to card key not working. Sorted in the end. After a long hot Jacuzzi bath all forgotten

    Nice spacious room and large deep bath with a good overhead shower. Comfy bed, large t.v. Helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Brook hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was massive and bed was huge tv was a gd size to .. the only but I have was there wasn’t enough pillows and there wasn’t enough tea coffee sugar milk available

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.6
    Extremely disappointing
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire hotel was extremely shabby and the website was extremely misleading in terms of the condition of the hotel. We estimate that the photos must be years old.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and comfortable once you get over the decor.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flaking exterior paint, worn carpet on the stairs, tired bedroom decor, water leaking from our ceiling one morning.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable beds and great shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.3
    The hotel had two functions and we were put right above the function rooms, with the windows closed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very tired and dated. Bathroom needs doing up as per the whole hotel Breakfast very poor and limited, ran out of basic things like white bread for toast. Hot breakfast and toast cold under cooked eggs , wife ill on way home.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Very nice but could have been so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit of a disaster they said too many guests came down at the same time but the food should have been pre coooked as we where in the breakfast room for more than an hour , and there so called full Cheshire breakfast was short on the ingrediants that where on the menu like mushrooms and black pudding.

    Its got lovely gardens ,the food and staff are very good and its very quaint .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, very helpful staff. Hotel is in lovely settings and in a great location away from hustle and bustle but minutes from lots of local attractions. Booked early and got a great rate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Suggest that a 'dog poo' disposal bin is provided outside in the garden area.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Welcomed the dog in the hotel and it was very dog friendly. Lovely garden area ideal for walking the dog.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    We enjoy brook meadow and will return. But like the school report they need to do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel had problems with their supplies E.G. ran out of Mushrooms, Prawns, Duck, Orange Juice and Milk. Also the spa bath did not work and this was part of our deal.

    This is our fifth Visit here, we enjoy coming here. the staff were very pleasant and helpful, the room was pleasant and the restaurant experience was excellent. The food was excellent and well presented and hazel who served us on the three evenings we ate was professional, attentive and nothing was too much trouble for her. we felt she was n asset to the Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    I thought the staff were lovely and the food was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was a bit dated. Room was spacious but one of the taps wasn’t working and the jacuzzi didn’t work. Nothing that really bothered me though

    I thought the staff were lovely and the food was amazing. We both had duck for our main and both said how lovely it was.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay with lovely staff and gorgeous food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this hotel because they had spa baths in the rooms. Got a room with a non working spa bath. Asked for a room change, and was upgraded rooms, with a working spa bath, so all worked out in the end. Hotel overall could use some updating, but never mind, we still found it a very pleasant atmosphere and experience.

    The staff was absolutely brilliant. They were friendly and very accomodating when we asked to change rooms. The hotel and grounds were very pleasant and quiet. The restaurant has a wonderful ambiance, and the chap who served us was lovely and kind, and shared some of the hotel's history with us. We found him very charming! The food for both dinner and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    This was birthday treat for my mum who wanted to see Port...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were surprised at the lack of literature available about places to visit on the Wirral.

    This was birthday treat for my mum who wanted to see Port Sunlight. Great location for what we wanted. Comfortable room. Friendly, helpful staff. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Needs updating appears very scruffy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating appears very scruffy. Very dark corridors with old fashions pictures. The gardens are overgrown and could do with some TLC. Staff all very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    large room and bath
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit musty smelling in parts No tv in any bar Very dated needs refurb if costs not prohibitive You get what you pay for It was a fair rate but would rather have a modern travel inn next time although may stay again if rate is right

    large room and bath Very pleasant night manager

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.2
    You get what you pay for, and it was cheap.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance was not inviting,the steps up to the doors needed sweeping, the stair carpet is worn and frayed , really needs replacing Although the beds were clean, the room was very dusty, not conducive with a person such as me who has asthma. From what I saw the whole place could do with a good clean

    The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.4
    Has potential to be a lovely hotel with lovely gardens.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel entrance was not clearly marked off the lane. Headboard and picture frames had not been dusted for a very long time. Spa bath didn’t work. 2 resident spiders in bathroom indicating not been cleaned thoroughly. Bedside lamp didn’t work, room very dimly lit. Conservatory windows very dirty. Breakfast average. Some parts of hotel very tired, with wall paper peeling off walls etc.

    Has potential to be a lovely hotel with lovely gardens. Comfy bed, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    everything was excellent , especially reception services they were amazing and especially one in particular , will definately be staying there again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely night spent here, would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting, very quiet. Room was clean and bonus was the spa bath. Food was excellent, reasonably priced and staff were lovely. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    is going to be amazing but for now it's not.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of hotel tired and in dire need of upgrade but this is in process. The part of the hotel that has been 'fixed' is of a very high standard. I am confident once the complete upgrade has happend this will be an excelent venue for any event/occassion. It is like being in two completely different buildings and this is not reflected in the hotel description. I will book again once has had refurb but for now would look elsewhere.

    Excellent staff. Grounds are Fab. Food quality exceptional. Large TV in room. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Hotel needs upgrading. Very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very pleasant outside. Tired. Rooms need updating but clean and functional. Breakfast was ok but the coffee was revolting. Very expensive for the standard of hotel. Will not be staying there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Would happily go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simply as I have said the house could do with some refurbishment in some areas but this should not put anyone off if you want a break in the countryside of the Wirral.

    My granddaughter was married here and family members stayed overnight. The attention to detail could not be faulted nor the attention of the staff to our needs. The extensive grounds are a little overgrown but there is lots of seating out there to relax plus "garden games " to keep everyone amused. On Sunday morning our group was given a separate dining room at an enormous table to enable us to have breakfast together before we parted to go home. The bedroom was clean and comfortable , the bathroom lovely with spa bath. It is a lovely old house which due to age will constantly need attention somewhere , the carpets and décor are shabby particularly along corridors and stairs. Nevertheless we had a great weekend and I would readily recommend the Brook Meadow .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff were very friendly, great shower in the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit like Fawlty Towers restaurant table was not set properly and we had to ask all the time to get things sorted. The room we had had wallpaper hanging off the wall

    The staff were very friendly, great shower in the bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money the food and breakfast were excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cavendish suite is situated directly above reception and we found this to be noisy as you can hear staff talking in the staff room directly below

    Great value for money the food and breakfast were excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Quite pleasant.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was good, but bathroom let it down, mould all around bath. Dog friendly hotel, but nowhere to dispose of poop bags. No ash trays outside, meant outside doors lots of cigarette buts.

    Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make stay comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.0
    Country house styled hotel set in tranquil grounds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi was intermittent and I had to give up eventually

    It was a large room with windows that opened onto a garden and field beyond, due to location it was very tranquil, only nature noises. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was really powerful with plenty of hot water and easy to control. There was a nice looking bar area with a real fire burning, but I did not go in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.3
    while the staff and the breakfast was very good I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Torn carpets and dirty paintwork on the doors and walls. Did not create a good impression.

    while the staff and the breakfast was very good I was disappointed that the hotel was in such a poor state of repair. A complete refurbishment of the hotel is needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Excellent value and a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was excellent value, room clean and comfy, staff very helpful and courteous. Used the library and the bar, all excellent. Breakfast was exceptional value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    An experience that I will not rush to repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lack of communication between the staff and I was put in an uncomfortable situation where I felt like I had put them out and just suited myself. I heard a very loud telephone conversation where I was the subject and being blamed for their mistakes.

    Some of the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Had a lovely stay here last night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a lovely stay here last night. Beautiful romantic setting for me and my husband. The grounds are stunning. Had a meal in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it, service was outstanding and staff couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. After our meal we sat in front of the fire in the bar area and it was very peaceful. Our room was clean and quiet. We opted for a full English for breakfast and it was cooked and presented beautifully and set us up for our day exploring Chester which is only a short train journey from this beautiful country hotel x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    The evening meal and breakfast were excellent, and the staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were a little 'tired' and not properly cleaned. Old betting slip behind the bedside cabinet and a long hair on the floor in the bathroom.

    The evening meal and breakfast were excellent, and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    A pleasant surprise for an overnight stay, gem of a hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was amazing, it was easy to get to, ample parking, beautiful spacious double bathtub, friendly staff, I cannot recommend enough. we are coming here again. Beds were comfortable and extra soft linen. beautiful view. would also say it has great potential as a venue for weddings/engagement parties

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    2.9
    Very dated. Poor food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa bath did not work. Hotel is in need of a serious revamp. Evening meal was a joke, as was breakfast. Stay in at least five hotels a month with work and not stayed in a hotel this poor for a long time. Try Inglewood Manor just down the road, much more valve for money!

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Cozy but could be better, so much potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wallpaper peeling off the walls. One young girl waiting on 6 tables and attending to bar by herself. Dirty cups. Has a feel of being reopened recently before it’s been properly renovated and staff trained. Alarm going off late at night and early morning, lots of potential if managent pull their fingers out.

    Comfortable bed and nice bath. Friendly staff. Nice location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar/restaurant staff, although very friendly, were rather inexperienced and a little shambolic. More training required. Our spirit drinks were drowned with the mixer and served with very little ice and no lemon with the gin!! The dining room glassware was poor. Tiny wine glasses filled to the brim - I much prefer a large glass (not necessarily filled to the top!). For breakfast we were offered the full English or a self service buffet. No menu with kippers, boiled eggs or other offerings. The buffet was poor and waiting staff were not around to replenish missing items eg. glasses (for the juice). The bathroom lacked tissues and a shower cap and the bedroom curtains had missing hooks and were hanging off the rail. To be picky the decor was rather drab but it looked as though a redecoration program was in progress and no doubt the rooms will all end up in shades of grey (a horrible modern trend at the moment). A real annoyance was the bathroom extractor fan which was very noisy and continued for about 20 minutes after the room was vacated. This was quite an issue in the middle of the night!

    Beautiful and quiet location. Large room with a very comfortable bed. Very good bathroom. Excellent food for both dinner and full English breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.0
    Would think twice before booking here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed in the cleanliness of the room as there was dust in the bathroom filter, the bath bubbles didn’t work but when pressed the button a load of dirt came out of it, the shower gel in the bathroom had already been used a little, there was dust all over the radiator to be honest the dust in the room altogether wasn’t the greatest, the wallpaper in the bedroom was peeling if the walls and it was damp behind it, the only cups they had in the room were tiny coffee cups and when asked for mugs they said they don’t have them but gave us slightly bigger cups. There was chewing gum on the bedside table and a dirty wine glass inside the bedside table, there was no information regarding the restaurant and breakfast times or instructions on how to use the phone. Also there was water in the kettle and it looked quite dirty on top. See pictures attached. Xx 😢😢

    Location and comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice break in a comfy room. Staff are warm and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast was too greasy.

    They have plug in heaters in the rooms and this time it had been switched on, the light was on and the TV was on with welcome notice., so when we walked in it was warm and welcoming enabling us to relax straightaway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect place to stay to visit Chester Zoo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a few cobwebs in the corners but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean.

    The staff were helpful and friendly and the evening meal and breakfast were both very nice indeed. Plenty of parking and a nice and quiet location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.0
    Third time unlucky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa bath we requested didn't work which was very disappointing. WORSE still was the fact we couldn't have a coffee or tea in the morning as the hotel have replaced all the coffee/tea cups with tiny little espresso cups.it makes no sense as there is no espresso machine and they are too small for the coffee and tea portions provided . Also the bed was very clunky .couldn't turn over without both waking up . Stayed before with no problems but this time was awful

    I like the location and the size of the rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    lovely stay thank u
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom could of been abit cleaner

    nice size room bedroom clean bathroom needed abit of tlc alot of dust on bin lid toilet roll holder taps had water marks all over only one shampoo for 2 people and only one packet of biscuits for 2 ? apart from that the bedroom really clean beds so comfy and lovely size room thank you staff in morning was lovely too spoke to a gentleman in bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy. Had not been cleaned. Wet towels on the floor. Bath full of hair. Opened shampoo bottles left out. Champagne corks laying around tea N coffe cups full of coffee. Bins not been emptied. No clean towels. These are the pictures from inside the hotel room.. NOT HAPPY

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice stay would probably go back and try a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs upgrading re decoration new windows needed as big gaps between window and ledge so very drafty. Our room was the Malbourgh suite the 1st room in the hotel just at the top of the stairs there was a party in and they had a small room at the bottom of the stairs loud music singing laughing and talking until 4am after numerous phone calls to night porter nothing was done. We could hear everything due to big gaps in the door and frame also. This was rectified the next morning by manager.

    The retaurant food was of an excellent standard and is definatley worth going for a nice drive out and a meal. Massive TV in room was a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful quirky home, wish we could have stayed longer. Staff very professional and friendly,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little warmer in the dining room would have helped, can’t please all the people all the time though

    Breakfast lovely, we also had evening meal and chef remembered (and got ready) special foods for gluten free diner, Room lovely, very cold though throughout, no central heating but electric heater was put in the room for our use and had been switched on before we arrived so the room was lovely and warm on arrival. Corridors and dining room very cold though.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Excellent service excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service excellent value for money.. The foods delicious & the breakfast Nice choice of drinks & cereals yoghurts.Accommodation was perfect & the TV was great. Room 208 excellent. Mike the barman/waiter very polite as were all the staff..The grounds are nice but do need a bit of TLC..Apart from that 100%

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.6
    Really wanted to like the hotel. It's in a lovely area, but the hotel is slowly deteriorating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information about the hotel or interests in the nearby area. No info even about how to insert the key card in the door! Foreign waitress didn't know what "tomato sauce " was! Wasn't informed that parties were being held on both days we were staying there and the fire alarm went off at ten to midnight!

    Nice size room with good views of the garden.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this venue as our friend was getting married there wasn't impressed with the staff on the day or at breakfast next morning everything seemed to be in kaos and seemed short staffed The breakfast we as so slow we went down at 9 am and 8 of us and it took nearly 75 minutes from first breakfast to last Also I told them I would pay cash next day on leaving and when went to pay bill found the manager had taken payment of my card the day I arrived Wasn't happy

    the room was nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    Good food and service but decor is tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com website stated “breakfast included” so I booked the hotel. When I got my confirmation it said breakfast is extra, but it was too late to cancel. I complained to the hotel but they did not feel able to help or compromise even though I showed them a screen shot of the page showing breakfast included.

    Good food good service, nice grounds

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable stay with a very attentive barman / waiter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is obviously being updated, it would be useful if this was shared on arrival to put guests in the picture as the public area you first enter into is off-putting. Possibly an image of the 'new look' hotel on display.

    The room we had was cold and the plug in heater didn't work. We rang reception to report it, within a couple of minutes the barman / waiter appeared, checked it, removed and replaced it with a working one! Couldn't fault the response which also came with an apology.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.7
    Stressful due to noise but overall not to bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beehive discovered outside our room beeping noise every 10 seconds outside the room in which i complained about at 9pm and was told it would be turned off this did not happen and as a result we struggled to sleep. asked in the morning for it to be turned off and was told it couldn't all though we were told it could the night before. asked to be moved and was told they couldn't initially and then an hour later i went back down and magically we could be moved.

    Beds Comfy, Nice baths generally nice area and views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.4
    A hotel with potential that misses the mark by a good distance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was the third we tried, the first was dark and had a metal grille hanging off the wall next to the bed; a health and safety risk. The barman/waiter erroneously charged the whole cost of a meal with my family to my room, and did so without asking. The owner wasn’t available to discuss this and a very confusing bill. I asked that she called me today and she has failed to do so. Very, very disappointing!-

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    - Friendliness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we very much enjoyed our stay, areas of the hotel could do with a refit. We could smell cigarette smoke coming in from outside in the bar and restaurant area.

    - Friendliness of staff. - Location. - Solitude. - Good breakfast. - Beautiful grounds. - Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    All in all lovely staff and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs refurbishing. The carpets needs changing. .reception area needs sprucing up. Hotel management need to change their theme of gothic to a more bright clear feature. Remove the period pictures and frames.

    Very scenic lovely area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed with overall cleanliness and shabby look of hotel the project has a la
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decoration in bedroom and en suite good quality but dated, dirty and a bit shabby

    The bed was super comfy and Debbie was an excellent waitress at dinner. Parking was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable hotel with very pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is in the midst of an upgrade. I think some kind of notice in reception should inform guests of this, as it's easy to get the wrong first impression of this otherwise really good hotel.

    Amazing Beds... So comfortable. Rooms are spacious and well furnished.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.4
    Staff where lovely, the function room was really good, it had a lovely atmosphere for the wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole decor of the hallways and rooms needs to be updated, you can still have a old-fashioned feel but, most of the furniture was way too tired and needed some tlc. Also central heating should be a must at any hotel in this day in age.

    Bed was really comfortable, and the bathroom was spotless and well kept.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely wedding, all planned and decorated by the bride herself. Owner not helpful.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom very cold, no heating, thin quilt on bed. Requested extra quilts. Staff helpful and bought some. Overall appearance not good as property in middle of being refurbished. Owners should give priority to fixing curtains etc. Painting and decorating entrance hall. Instead of installing massive TVs Our bedroom was ok but other guests complained theirs were very dated and badly needed updating. Work was taking place in garden area in spite of an outdoor wedding. Not good.

    Attended a wedding. Food was very good and staff very efficient. Property in the middle of being refurbished. The rooms already done were good but a lot more work needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.8
    A very enjoyable stay, we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning needs a lot of extra attention and staff rotation was unsettling: the quality of the first breakfast led one to believe that the next would be just as good, it wasn't. It was obviously a different chef.

    The room was a very good size and the beds very comfortable. The Hotel is in an excellent geographical position for many venues and the Hotel grounds are very beautiful. It is obvious that money is being spent and, once completed, the place will be second to none.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    weddings seem to take priority
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no restaurant to eat in had to drive out and that was a pain

    room was lovely but wasn't ready on arrival as there had been a busy wedding on the night before this was at 4 o clock .the restaurant that we have eaten before was closed that night because of the wedding

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff great food great fantastic hotel vary romantic hotel realy enjoyed spa bath proposed to my partner in restaurant and she said yes we will be back and will recomend to all our friends

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice quiet hotel in a quiet setting, priced at a decent price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were there when it was getting decorated, so probably did not see it at its best... but even with the decor getting done, still an enjoyable stay.

    The lady on front desk was very friendly and went the extra mile to get us a nice room with a view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.2
    Shocking - awaiting compensation call
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff and poor communication No apologies for lack of service No breakfast or dinner service Poorly handled fire alarm Shabby premises with trip hazard in reception Stale/damp smelling ground floor room No call back from manageress to discuss some form of compensation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.3
    Extremely disappointing!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    G The hotel is shabby and poorly maintained - it bears no resemblance to it's write up and web site photographs! The spa bath didn't work; the shower only ran cold and the curtains were in poor repair and were hanging off their rail. On arrival we were told that the restaurant was closed and there was no evening meal service. Breakfast was inedible; the poached eggs were rock hard and after 15 mins, we had to remind the waitress that we were still awaitng tea and coffee. Overall, extremely disappointing.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Hotel has been recently refurbished and works is incomplete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has been recently refurbished and works is incomplete. Lunch not available. When refurbishment is complete, it could be rated excellent. Staff appeared inexperienced and some were training.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.6
    This hotel has seen better days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor decor, poor reception staff and poor breakfast. The kettle in our room didn't work, lights in the corridor were out, shabby decoration and in need of some updating.

    Size of the room and easy parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was going through a period of redecoration. This was not mentioned in the reviews. The hotel needed updating. I would not stay there again. Until it was updated.

    The hotel grounds were very nice. could have made more of this feature

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    2.5
    Re my anniversarie stay, the window was broken my partner...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Re my anniversarie stay, the window was broken my partner had to fix it on arrival we were looking forward to useing the jacuzzi bath it was broken would not work, it was the main reason we booked the room, their were cracked floor tiles a large crack on the toilet mold on the bath and dead flies on the floor, I was so dissapointed I was going to leave, myself and my partner had a row about the room, he convinced me to stay, got ready for dinner came down 9.20 no one about and dinner not being served, I asked at bar did they do sandwiches or crisps was told he might be able to find a bag of deretos somewere, I declined the offer, we paid an extra 20 pound for breakfast, wich came after they told us to move as we were sat in someone else's table but no one was their?? We moved breakfast came one bacon one dosage one egg all piled i top of each outher, that was not what I'd expect from a country hotel, we actually both left it An checked out so so dissapointed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is currently being refurbished and the work is causing some inconvenience to guests but we definitely intend to return and see the finished product. There was no towel hanging rails in the bathroom; consequently, all available shelf space was taken up with folded towels leaving little space to unpack our personal toiletries.

    Room size, décor, cloths storage and hanging space, bed size and firmness, bathroom layout and mirror; all excellent. Grounds are very picturesque and a pleasure to stroll around; the evening mood lightening is wonderful. Wifi is not fantastic though definitely adequate for holiday usage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    4.6
    Lovely staff but the room was dirty
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the hotel because it offered a spa bath (jacuzzi). As soon as I turned the jacuzzi the jets filled the bathtub with black grime and hair. I alerted the staff straight away but found the owner very unpleasant and unreasonable. The room also had an old smell in it and I found a month in the curtains.

    The ladies on reception are very friendly. The wooden furniture is lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    A lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked better lighting in the bedroom as I like to read and there were few lights and dull bulbs in them.

    We had dinner at the hotel and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. The staff could not do enough for us .

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: