Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Broome Park Hotel Golf & Country Club 4 stars

The Broome Park Estate, Barham, Canterbury, CT4 6QX, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 434 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    The rooms are fantastic with the most beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant was extremely slow. The food however was lovely when you got it but to have a table for 7:30 and not to reserve your starter till 8:30 is a bit extreme.

    The rooms are fantastic with the most beautiful views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    This place was amazing my family loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing bad to say about the property.

    This place was amazing my family loved it. The place was perfect for a family of 6 and staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    2.5
    One star rating!!!! This rating system won’t let me score below 2.5, that is misleading!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was overcharged on arrival but they promised to rectify it the next day so I didn’t think twice about it. A wedding was on which meant that the peace and quiet I paid for was absent. Loud music til midnight - not acceptable at all. My mother was visiting me from Barbados and this stay was a surprise for her, but there were so many stairs (and no lift) that she couldn’t leave the room and was essentially trapped there, we had to have room service as she couldn’t come down for dinner. We were essentially confined to what must have the servants quarters, again not what you expect for for £219 a night. There were five spiders in the room, and cobwebs. One was so big I thought it was a cockroach. The curtains couldn’t close and the wedding guests in the grounds could see us so housekeeping had to put sheets up so we could have privacy to change and also when retiring to bed. The ceiling was so low in places that I had to duck under them and there was no tv in bedroom - minor annoyances but they added up. There was no air conditioning and they had to bring up fans so we could sleep. And finally none of the tv remotes worked which seemed to be in theme with the rest of the room problems. Initially the plan was to stay two nights but we left the next day and went to another hotel. Mum’s knee, aggravated by the ‘climb’ upstairs was still sore the next day as we went about Canterbury but she was a trouper as always. Pictures below of the makeshift curtains made out of sheets that they had to do. You couldn’t make it up....

    The only good thing about the property is the staff, without their understanding, I would have been in tears - a big thank you to reception and housekeeping.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The setting was very tranquil and the property was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of things that hadn’t been repaired.

    The setting was very tranquil and the property was clean and spacious. The staff were helpful and polite. We used the restaurant and enjoyed our meals. Also we had walks around the beautiful grounds and made use of the pool and sauna. A truly relaxing weekend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    A few things to be careful of..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate making negative comments bit these have been given after management failed to provide me with a suitable response. They are given to help other travellers as whilst the hotel was beautiful, I personally would not stay here again. 1. Electric Shower only provides 10 mins of hot water before needing a few hours to refill. If there are 2 of you sharing a room therefore make sure you only take 5 mins each! We did ask about this as assumed it must be faulty. We were told it's because it's a listed building but I've stayed at listed buildings before that have had better electric showers so that can't be right. 2. No tongs were provided at breakfast with which to take croissants so people were just using their hands. Not great hygiene 3. There is a bar menu where they will bring food to you in the lobby or bar. A pie and a crumble would cost £17.50. eat at the restaurant however and it's £24. I asked about this and was told it's because you get extra accompaniments and your paying service. I don't know about you but that's a service charge of 37% odd which seems steep and we had nothing extra in form of accompaniments... food was as listed both on bar menu and restaurant menu. 4. Our double bed was two singles pushed together so you have that annoying crack down the middle. Again I did ask but they declined to comment. 5. There were loads of cobwebs and the biggest spider I've ever seen behind the loo, but the chambermaid removed this immediately as I told reception. I think in a hotel in the country this is bound to happen as you will get creepy crawlies come in esp when the windows were open as it was so hot so not really hotels fault. Lots of dead little bugs on the sill too but again not really their fault

    1. Staff generally very pleasant and welcoming and very polite 2. Beautiful property and rooms 3. Good breakfasts with decent veggie options 4. Delicious home made cookies in rooms with tea and coffee making facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Not worth the stay too much hassel for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    had to make up my own sofa bed and find the bedding for it. The shower in the bath had no power to it, it was just a dribble took too long to set the right temperature for the water, toilet never flushed properly and the rooms were cold when we arrived had to put the electric heaters on all night.

    the scenery.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    To recommend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    but confusing bills ( difficult to understand, mistakes …). the sofa was not extremely comfortable …

    An amazing breakfast, a grand building and a gorgeous park, very helpful staff, large bedrooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Nice quiet retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The grounds are absolutely stunning, for a simple walk or a wedding ceremonial. Nice place to play a round of golf or even squash, tennis, croquet and snooker. Great food selection for breakfast or dinner, even in between. Ie Afternoon Tea. The staff are very attentive through-out the stay and are happy to help with any quieries you might have. Located out a ways but nice to sight see what Canterbury can offer i.e. History

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Very picturesque
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff on reception didn't programme the key cards and the Lodge was quite a walk away - and no apology. The Head of Cleaning helped out and she was amazing.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    I would book again, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,

    Just a very good place to,stay, very Quiet, amazing interior and very spacious accommodating, very good restaurant and Bar facilities, and best of all it's situated on a Golf course?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Great base for exploring surrounding towns and villages
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms need updating, shower very poor, water only comes out of the middle holes, not the full shower head. No TV in bedroom in a the suites. Missing curtain hooks so light streams through in the morning, bulbs blown and not replaced so light doesn't work. Housekeeping didn't replace the toiletries on second day nor empty the bins.

    Beautiful Country house, lovely grounds, friendly staff. Property has a lot of stairs and no lift due to age of building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    One of our unforgettable getaways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen cupboards needed some work done on them to make them safe/secure. A little re thinking of the kitchen contents would highly benefit guests with children e.g more crockery and cutlery.

    The staff at the reception get A+ for their professionalism and kindness. They are a true asset for this beautiful country club. A special mention - Kim W( I hope I got her name right) She was superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    We absolutely loved this place, house was beautiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely loved this place, house was beautiful and staff was amazing! Nothing seemed a problem, very friendly, very smiley. We can’t wait for an excuse to come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful historic building and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere whatsoever. Too dead and dull for me. Also lateish check in, and early checkout. Therefore not really good value for money in my view. I wouldn't come again.

    Beautiful historic building and grounds. Gorgeous bunny rabbits at home all over the rural grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Lovely old grand house, fabulous grounds shame about the way the hotel was run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner bed covering and checking by housekeeping that the rooms were up to standard and that pillows had been supplied!! More efficiency in the dining room, removing delays for food orders etc., and also removal of used plates and dishes. We had to move our own dishes when the table became overcrowded.

    The hotel is aa very grand house in a fabulous setting, however the general overall management including housekeeping and general management was really not up to the standard of the property. The reception staff were very helpful. The waitresses were helpful and rather under pressure which meant the restaurant was not as efficient as you would wish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Felt very relaxed and got to enjoy the stunning scenery, didn't want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the whole service from staff, very polite. The suite we stayed in was absolutely to die for and very comfortable and homely (Stuart Suite) . Would recommend this beautiful hotel 100%. Good food, good drink!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.5
    The room was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very noisy. You heard every step of the neighbours. Fortunately there was no wedding going on and a few other guests. The wellness area was limited

    The room was excellent. The staff was very friendly. The gardens great to stroll around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay, would stay here again when visiting Kent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no towels available for use at the pool so we had to bring the small ones from the room. I do believe they have towels and we just missed them.

    Beautiful property with indoor pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location and a very friendly and helpful staff team.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds could be more comfortable and decor is a little tired.

    Great location and a very friendly and helpful staff team. The apartment/room was very spacious with fresh coffee and milk supplied with cafetiere and home cooked biscuits. Breakfast was delicious, had poached eggs and salmon cooked to perfection plus a good selection of the usual extras. It is definitely worth utilizing the gym, pool and sauna and following up with a choice of G+T!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    The lodge did smell slightly damp and would have benefited...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge did smell slightly damp and would have benefited from being aired. The double bed is actually two single beds pushed together so this was slightly misleading.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    No hot water in the room was moved rooms to still no hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the room was moved rooms to still no hot water with very little help from reception staff who told us there was no way we would be able to get a bath of hot water and to go and use the pool public showers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location and hotel. Would stay again but staff needs some investment from management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) They advance charge £50 per night to be refunded upon checkout. This balance is used against late checkout fees, meals etc. I know a few hotels do this now but it's not trusting of guests, friendly or needed. 2) The building seemed understaffed, and some of the staff there went well trained enough in hospitality. This is luxury accomodation and as such, there's an expectation that the staff will meet the same standard. Sadly this wasn't the case; we requested to have our rooms cleaned in the morning and returned late afternoon to find they hadn't. Upon asking the front desk we were informed that although the message was taken, it wasn't relayed to housekeeping (who had gone home by this time). Plenty of apologies but not ideal.

    The location is beautiful. The building and grounds are very well maintained and I'd happily stay again. The chalet my family stayed in had plenty of room for all 5 of us and was incredibly clean on our arrival. The bathrooms were also well modernised considering the chalets are in the woods! Dominic on reception was excellent! Worked diligently to make our stay great. A cut above the rest and I hope the hotel managers appreciate his efforts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel is really beautiful and the Room we stayed in was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bathtub made really weird noises and the water went cold after showering for like ten minutes.

    The Hotel is really beautiful and the Room we stayed in was huge. Also the food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    I'd recommend Broome Park Hotel to everyone!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great historic building and grounds. Staff extremely approachable and helpful. Also the bed was very comfortable, I had the best night's sleep on my trip at this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely suite in the Ist floor front of main house.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift or help with bags. Wedding fair on the Sunday of our stay which had we not been going out we would have had to stay in our room as bar and main hall was full with no where to sit and relax so check before booking

    Lovely suite in the Ist floor front of main house. A really lovely house

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Lovely place, great atmosphere, beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of next doors shower was the only grumble but was awake so not too much of pain!

    Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The facilities were fab, nice pool. Beautiful grounds and gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room booked for 3 people but only made up for 2. We were told duvet and pillows were in room but we had to make up sofa bed ourselves. The duvet had no cover on it and no sheets. Bathroom in serious need of an update

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice and did what we needed it too but nothing more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t say it was great value for money and the food was limited and quite expensive for what it was. Breakfast was fine but nothing more

    The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    It was very good until the last day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't know check out is at 10am and if you are late you need to pay £10 per hour !!!!!! We had to pay even though we explained that no one told us on arrival what the times for check out are OR that there is a charge !!!!! We left very disappointed by this ! And we were only made aware of the fee when reception called and told us 20 minutes after the check out time!! When we checked out we asked to speak to the manager and he wasn't sympathetic to our situation at all and didn't believe us when we said that no one had told us.

    We really enjoyed it all- Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Great place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was water leaking through the ceiling on our first night which narrowly missed my daughter's bed. The staff were very helpful. Luckiky it didn't happen again but the cause remains a mystery!

    The location was excellent. The hotel is close to Canterbury and other local attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Fun,laughs,great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would say the breakfast cost. I have a family of six. My wife and I have four children all under the age of 8 but to pay £60 total for breakfast was to much.

    The rooms was massive and the swimming pool was warm, very clean around. Definitely going back😁😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, but not sure it understands how to run as a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in/out experience not good. Staff in restaurant very pleasant, but not trained. e.g. wine bottle just put on table, not opened, poured or put in ice bucket. Nothing on offer for afternoon tea and no biscuits in room.

    Huge bedroom and good sized bathroom. Evening meal food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar staff slow and inexperienced. Was a little chilly at times. In need of a little TLC for finer details to be high end

    Excellent front of house

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect retreat in the woods, with a lovely pool and sauna as a bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress staff at breakfast and cold toast.

    The food was ok but the chaos around the breakfast was very off putting. Both days they said "we didn't have you on our list, we don't have a table" and looked at us like we were inconveniencing them. Disappointing really as food was nice and accommodation was superb. The reception staff were outstanding but waitresses at breakfast were unhelpful and moody.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.7
    Comfy stay in historic house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furnishings of room were very dated. Sauna was out of service. Pool not signposted. Long wait in restaurant although the waitresses were working incredibly hard and the food was nice when it eventually came.

    Room on top floor of main house was very spacious with a lovely view across golf course. Beds were comfy and the room was very warm. The exterior of the building and the grand entrance hall are stunning. The pool was open to kids most of the day and the changing rooms were clean. Bar and restaurant staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value. Amazing building. Staff very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeting on arrival made you feel very welcome . Amazing entrance in and out. For the price I paid the room was very spacious. Swimming pool and sauna was a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Fun family hotel break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The slightly old fashioned feel just added to the charm 😀

    Quaint but comfortable stay in a period property. Great pool, lovely garden, good breakfast and comfortable beds. Loads of room for a family of 5 in the two bed suite!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing apart from we wish we could have stayed longer.

    Although room service was not offered the staff were able to oblige- which was completely unexpected and really appreciated!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    That staff were really nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear our neighbours like they were in our room but lovely and big space so was great to go with kids as long as they’re not light sleepers. Pool too chorinated as my skin is still smelling of chlorine 4 showers later.

    That staff were really nice and helpful. It’s such a beautiful building and ceilings, staircase etc. Querky rooms. Gym and pool small but all you need for a short stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    The kids loved our apartment family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a tad too much chlorine in the pool made our eyes sting and Sauna was out of order

    The building is just beautifu, stunning. I would recommend the Jackdaw pub for food , just a minute or so in a car great food, massive portions . There is a fridge in the apartments making it family friendly and budget friendly. There is also an ironing board and an iron in the room and a DVD player

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    overall good value for money , but from my experience not exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was 'dated ' but not in a good way ! The electric shower was just warm and the breakfast lacked choice.

    The setting was perfect , the staff were exceptionally professional and welcoming .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Ideal setting for a weekend break on English countryside close to Canterburry & Dover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old building offer less comfort. Only electrical heating, old windows do not fully close, nor do they protect you from blizzard and cold

    The setting of on old English castle. The English breakfast buffet. The Gym and swimming pool. The friendliness of the staff. The golf facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    The indoor heated pool is the jewel in the crown for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was pretty grim, I'd skip it and head in to Canterbury which is only 15mins drive away.

    The indoor heated pool is the jewel in the crown for a winter get away at this hotel. The grounds are also very nice, with walks in the country side possible from the door of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom adequate however the shower cubicle extremely small. Tea & coffee, facility not available Bottled water not available and glasses. The stairs to the bedroom were a little bit of a challenge.

    Hotel room very comfortable & beds super comfortable. Location superb. We attended a wake and the service and food excellent. Yes we would certainly book another stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool changing area was really hot! Also not keen on the extra £10 per hour for checkout after 10am. Seems a bit tight!

    Excellent and friendly bar staff, beautiful villas. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, well set up ,good sized 2 bed lodge.
    • Couple
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasnt clear what was provided in the lodge.

    Well equipped lodge. Clean ,fresh and warm. We didnt use the hotel facilities as we were attending a function nearby

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without exception all the staff on reception,at the bar and in the restaurant were welcoming,friendly and helpful. This level of service and interaction exceeded my expectations- thank you

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice location but too noisy if you have noisy neighbours
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I selected the location because I was looking for a quite place to rest for a weekend... but the room too noisy because of the neighbours, not for the location (at least if you are unlucky to have neighbours who makes a lot of noise). I called the reception two times at 22h30 and 4h00 without success... impossible to sleep. Dinner: 1h30 for a 3 course menu - not recommended.

    Big room, with place for a baby. Room equipped with a refrigerator. Very nice location in the middle of green fields. Very old building without elevator, but with the charme de l'ancien. Breakfast: the chef was sick... no breakfast in a time span compatible with the needs of my trip. While these problems happens, I was a bit disappoined.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff, lovely building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could have been more comfortable. We had to to pay £2 to rent an old DVD plus a £5 deposit which is fine but a bit unnecessary.

    I liked that there was a living room area in our room and 4 separate beds for our party of 4. The rooms were big and the pool/sauna was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.1
    Dated but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit cold.

    The hotel has lots of character but is in need of some updating! Staff were lovely and food was plentiful and very nice . Wonderful building and grounds would be perfect if a bit more modern although we quite the 1980s charm!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    The Hotel is in a lovely location and a very attractive...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in the Bridal suite only a few minor things that I would mention the shower is terrible, really needs updating and replacing and I would of thought being a bridal suite that the overall facilities in the room could be a bit better, better TV, toiletries the room just felt a little empty and impersonal

    The Hotel is in a lovely location and a very attractive building the lady on reception was extremely helpful my room was huge and the bath was a welcome treat after a long drive

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.3
    Content, building surrounds made up for room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been better, the bathroom had clear water ingress into the bottom wood surround on the bath meaning the edge had broken away and was breaking down due to mold/ poor maintenance.

    the staff were friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was alot of mould in the rooms. The shower produced no hot water, we found several 'hairs' on the bedding and the Wi-Fi was non existent

    The staff were wonderful and really welcoming, the pool was a great bonus

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.8
    Christmas lunch food spoiled due to broken fridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge broken. Loo flooded floor in disabled lavitory so couldn't use it. Bed was creaky. All looked tired in our cabin. Was too hot couldn't control thermostat. This was our 2nd visit, but won't go again

    Used the pool, till someone with muddy footwear made floor filthy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    A very nice night away in a beautiful building being looked after by great staff 👍👍👍👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like

    The building was lovely,have seen other reviews moaning that it wasn’t pristine but it’s a 400 year old building and part of the charm.i would suggest to those people that they go to a premier inn etc and leave this hotel for people that can truly appreciate it as a part of our heritage. The staff were all lovely,receptionist was very nice and chatty and bar and restaurant staff lovely aswell

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Marvellous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two things which we made the property aware of :- 1) the water pressure in our lodge (lodge 2) was really poor. Just about managed to have a shower but had to say in there for sometime! That was a shame because the bathroom looked so promising an then greeted with a trickle of water :-( 2) when the heating goes off , boy it's cold in the lodges! (We stayed in January). It has central heating and keeps the lodge heated , but the timer for the heating system is locked away and so we were at the mercy of the timer. We have a little one that likes to get up at 6am and the timer didn't come back on until 7.30am so we were tucked under blankets for 1.5 hours!! I would therefore suggest that you request at reception the hours you wish the heating to be on for before you go to bed!! They are very helpful and will accommodate your requirements.

    The Broome is fantastic, really really great. The mansion is lovely and grand with open fireplaces and comfy sofas. The staff are so helpful accomodating and friendly. The food was good and the facilities were lovely and clean. We stayed in one of the lodges in the grounds which were a standard way beyond our expectations, really lovely, spacious and well equipped with pretty much everything you could need in it for your comfort , making it so relaxing and fabulous if you have kids. Therr are dishwasher and cleaning essentials, kitchen towel, fairy liquid, teatowels etc. There is a small selection of tea and coffee sachets but you WILL need to take your own milk, bread and any other items for eating and drinking. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel full of history with beautiful views from the huge bedroom.
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in room wasn't working, but portable radiator was provided. Nights were chilly outside (-7) so room on the cool side, but loved the fact that there were extra duvets to wrap ourselves in and relax watching dvds drinking a glass if prosecco or two ;)

    Beautiful periodic features. Fantastic bedroom views. Huge apartment and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Great to spend a weekend in summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no local grocery shops near buy.

    There are lots of facilities, kitchen and the living room attached together, making one big room, which I think is comfortable and gives a lot of space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing, gorgeous countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms in the main building are slightly dated (but huge !) but i understand this will soon be updated.

    The staff were all excellent, polite and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inclusion of use of the gym and swimming pool. More information on the opening times of the restaurants would be useful.

    The room was very comfortable and exceeded the bedsit I was expecting.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Wedding aniversay
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad about the place

    Staff very nice overall would recommend to any one just a nice relaxing place and will be going back thanks for the great weekend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Very nice would recommend our stay to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like about our weekend. The main house was lovely and cosy the staff were really helpful.

    The accommodation was really lovely nice and clean with everything you would want in the life lodge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Perfect stay and beautiful lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, but if I was being really picky and I have to pick one thing and because everything else was perfect, I would say I wish they would make the kids play/game room better. Maybe more interactive/creative toys like legos or a football table. It was a little grey in the room.

    Everything! The Lodge was beautiful, super clean and so was the surroundings. We loved it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Lovely, relaxing stay. At this time of year the grounds are beautiful and trees with autumn colour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Return visit and not disappointed. Staff consistently friendly, approachable and professional. Lovely welcome on arrival, restaurant good. A very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location & accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that they charge for extras like pool, wifi, pool towels. Flush was broken in en suite. Clearly a problem as weren't surprised when we rang. Was fixed quickly. Alarms hadn't been cancelled and answerphone went off early first morning- just little things that could have been easily sorted.

    Luxurious lodges

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    I would stay here again, and wouldn't hesitate in recommending to Friends and Family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With todays technology maybe the Internet could have been cheaper or free. We did use Broom park as a base to visit family and to go to France for the day, the position is ideal with good access to Dover,Canterbury,Margate ,Ramsgate Sandwich herne bay and st margarets bay

    The facilities in the lodge were up to date ,I enjoyed the space and also the bathroom with a separate shower room. .In the main house I enjoy the historic decorations.With staff being attentive and informative with out losing their professionalism.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    We had an excellent stay and the accommodation exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been good not to have to pay for wifi. Most accommodations in our experience provide this free of charge.

    The lodge accommodation was extremely clean, very spacious and comfortable - and of a very high standard throughout. The Reception staff were most courteous, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    A good place for an escape and for relaxing..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the lodge, the beds was not very comfortable, particularly in the twin room. Also, the disabled facilities in the wet room/bathroom made it less comfortable to use that room, for example the extra low sink meant bending down lower to brush teeth and the seat in the shower could not be folded up out of the way. Service in the house was not great and sometimes the swimming pool was quite cold.

    Beautiful location, and very quiet. The lodge was modern and clean with mostly good facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing, tranquil park, spa and golf. Impressive house with so much history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment was being charged for Internet use with today's access. However, small fee so acceptable to stay connected.

    From the beautiful drive up to Broome Park, to the stunning house and grounds we had a lovely stay. The accommodation was excellent. So peaceful and tranquil. The golf course was challenging, good fun & enjoyed the round (good value for money).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very helpful and they even left a bottle of wine with best wishes when they heard we were in the area celebrating our golden wedding with family

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    earlier check-in and later check-out would be better - e.g. check-in from 2pm check-out 11am or 12noon

    beautiful spacious lodges, high quality, very well equipped, stunning surroundings. Only stayed 1 night for a wedding nearby but would love to have stayed longer and will very likely stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely lodge and tranquil surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did'nt like the fact that we had to pay to use the leisure facilities as we already paid to stay at the resort. Feel it should be included as part of the package.

    Enjoyed the omelettes for breakfast. The waitresses and receptionist were very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful grounds. Excellent service. Lovely, quiet cottage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spa was subcontracted out and not a real spa.

    Amazing two bedroom cottage! So quite, my daughter and I slept 12 hours straight. Which I don't think I have ever done in my life. Cottage was clean and very comfortable. Even had a washer and dryer. The main house was a 2min walk with excellent food and service. The front staff was very helpful as was the server. You can catch a 15min bus to Canterbury at the top of the street. We don't golf but the greens looked very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Very nice lodge and staff particularly helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The oven in our lodge didn't work. However the staff were helpful and accommodating and dealt with this problem to our satisfaction by cooking our meal in the hotel kitchen. Room was a little tight in the living area which made getting in and out of the sofa bed interesting.

    The lodge was very well presented. The beds were very comfortable. Huge ensuite and good quality bathrooms and bedroom furniture. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Loved it! Perfect location for stopping off after ferry trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was amazing with spectacular views nice and quiet. The receptionist Kelly was really friendly and welcoming and the lady that made our room up even left us a note which we thought was a lovely touch. The place was a dream and a McGee appreciated rest A*

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Broome Park Hotel Golf & Country Club traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: