Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bryncoed Guest House

Rhayader, Rhayader, LD6 5DA, United Kingdom

#10 of 11 hotels in Rhayader

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 49 B&B reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location for the beautiful Elan Valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for the beautiful Elan Valley. Shops , pubs and restaurants just a 2 minute walk away. Comfortable and friendly , helpful host. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Everything we needed for our short visit to see the red kites at Gigrin farm in Rhayader.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel smelled strongly of dogs unfortunately but as dog lovers, we didn’t mind too much. This would put my friends and family off.

    The friendliness and approachable Scott who greeted us and brought us breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    It was ok but needs to address the problems noted above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a grab rail in the bath area as my wife did struggle to get in and out of the bath even for the shower as it was an over bath shower. Needs a door on the bathroom rather than a curtain to pull across not very private

    No coisants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.8
    deffently 3 star could of made a better effort, wont be visiting there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking, smelt to much of dogs when enter property, slow water pressure bathroom, tv bad reception, tv cables wrapped round into bathroom when shut door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.8
    Was pleasant enough but wouldnt stay again because of the smell sadly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell in the enterance hall and the staircase and landing I think dog smell was unpleasant and off putting.

    The room bedding and bathroom and dinning room clean and acceptable. Im allergic to feather and the owner was more than happy to change bedding to fibre duvet. Best cooked poached eggs and scrambled eggs ever.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Lovely host who is still struggling to revive parents B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt it was a bit expensive for accommodation that needed a lot of upgrading. Noisy dogs, 1980's décor. Air fresheners needed.

    Terrific breakfast Lots of wild birds around. Good location to go see the reservoirs..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    6.7
    Should have chossen more wisely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Abandoned car on the drive with its windows smashed in. Garden both front and rear badly maintained. On entering the front door to the hallway reception, a distinct smell of urine and dogs and what can only be described as cabbage cooking. If it were not for the fact that no refund would have been possible, we would would have walked straight back out! This did not instill any confidence that thing would improve. We proceeded to our room. It was clean and pleasant but very dated. The inside of the kettle was foul and black and even with the door closed it was still possible to smell the bad smells from down stairs. I don't think it helped when the dog/dogs were allowed to run up to the bedroom areas. We think that this establishment could be very good if updated and more attention paid to the obvious problems. The owners in fairness are trying to be good hosts, however it leaves a lot to be desired.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.3
    Bryncoed Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    *NO on site parking *Animal smell as you entered Guest house *Dark & dated décor - Needs a refer *Mismatched furniture in room *Extension socket leads not very safe *Kettle was black inside *NO heating in En-suite *Taps very loose on sink *Light switch was on the opposite side of the bathroom *Freezing cold in breakfast room

    *Beds were really comfy; Dee & Scott (Owners) were nice & friendly *Breakfast was nice, hot cuppa tea & orange juice *wonderful to sit & watch the birds in the garden whilst eating your breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    5.4
    Don't book unless you are nose blind!
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was barely adequate. Curtained off bathroom was not really a good idea. Doors please! Decor is gloomy and very dated and fixtures in the bathroom (turquoise toilet and bath, white basin with an unsuitable tap) really need modernising. Stale cereal at breakfast. No choice of wholemeal bread. Worst of all, the overwhelming smell of animals and urine in the hallway which filtered through to the bedroom. Hideous.

    Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was OK. Host was pleasant and friendly. Watching the bird feeders at breakfast was nice. Very short walk in to main part of town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Very nice and clean place. We asked for late check out and the host was waiting for us in the door helping with the luggage, so kind of him. They prepared the breakfast early in the morning as we requested. I'd recommend this place for any person who is visiting this region. Unfortunately we spent only one day, but we would back for sure.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Our room was cosy and warm and the host was very polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell of dogs on arrival, the house was dark and gloomy downstairs, the dining room was very cold at breakfast and I personally didn't like the bacon. Room too cluttered with furniture that didn't match. Lack of signage to the front door.

    Our room was cosy and warm and the host was very polite and helpful. tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a good size bathroom although partitioned off with a curtain! Lovely view from the bay window. very convenient for the town and local area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    10
    Short stay close to Elan valley destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell on entry but other than that no complaints.

    Fab all round perfect for our small break away. Excellent service and fantastic breakfast . Very Helpful!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated for sure but excellent location and being made to feel welcome couldn't be faulted , didn't really like the family pets wandering in breakfast room in morning !

    Nice room , excellent location to rhayder and surrounding areas , very close to mx track , friendly staff who were helpful and prepared to cook early breakfast for us both days , good wifi service , tea coffee in room , nice garden to look out on ehen eating breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    We will return there if we are ever in Rhayader again...that says it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Two comfortable armchairs in the bedroom were a bonus. Very sociable host. Very relaxed atmosphere. Small is beautiful as far as we are concerned....few bedrooms, small number of guests means peace, especially since this guesthouse is located away from the main road in a quiet sidestreet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Collin is excellent and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All looks well.

    Collin is excellent and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Made to feel very welcome by Scott the proprietor.Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note.

    The property has a stair lift to all floors which was ideal because of our disabilies.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable happy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A door between en suite and room.

    Was not too happy with curtain (no door) seperating ensuite from room. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Worked out just fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy, friendly and central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.8
    Interesting !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place needs updating and refurbing .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.1
    a nice short break - would certainly return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the property needs a bit of tlc.

    comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Most enjoyable night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely room with wood paneling, comfortable chairs, ample space. Very friendly owner. Excellent breakfast. Good recommendation for evening meal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Yes, really good and Rhyader very central for our visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Serviettes on breakfast table and no toast rack

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice Welsh B&B
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated, but it was clean. Price was a bit high for 1 person at £75 but a bargain for 2

    Nice breakfast. Comfy bed. View of the town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv poor reception conve

    Comfy beds. Nice breakfast. Central location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.7
    It suited the purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned, needs a big makeover and TLC to gardens

    Made very welcome

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice Play to stay for Red Kites or the Elan Valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were extremely pleasant and friendly. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    4.6
    Going out
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying in

    Going out

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.5
    Very comfortable and clean, excellent position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and clean, excellent position.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    4.6
    could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is all very tired looking

    the son who is looking after the b&b has a up hill battle to bring it up to standard

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.2
    Great location, two minute walk to the main street in town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    While this was an ensuite room, there was no bathroom door, just a curtain to pull across which was disappointing.

    Great location, two minute walk to the main street in town with lots of pubs and restaurants. Good size room (room 2) and bed was very comfy. The breakfast was good, choice of cereal, tea/coffee/orange juice/water, fried breakfast and toast. By boyfriend is working night lambing down there and Scott was very accommodating on when we would like breakfast upon his return from work and always gave him a huge portion as he would be hungry, very lovely :-) Scott was very helpful and friendly. Lovely to look out at the garden to see all the birds.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.3
    Lovely big room with nice view and comfortable chairs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely big room with nice view and comfortable chairs and comfortable bed. Enjoyed a hot bath. It was good watching the birds from the breakfast room each morning.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    6.3
    There were some very steep stairs, made really easy for my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very cramped and also quite chilly, with no heating available.

    There were some very steep stairs, made really easy for my husband by a stair lift. Nice comfy bed and a good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    6.3
    Location was good easy access to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    On arrival we were greeted eventually by the owner who couldnt even see our bookiing in the book my husband had to point it out to him. The whole house smelt strongly of dog worse when raining. we were told to go to room 3 and the owner followed us up, asked what we wonted for breakfast and what time? Breakfast was poor, we had asked for tea and coffee and it arrived after the breakfast was eaten. The dog was in the breakfast room throughout this period. The following evening we returned to find the front door locked and couldnt enter the property, we then had to walk in the rain to find some where to keep warm for half an hour until they returned. Later in the evening the owner came to our room to apologize and said that we should have had a front door key with the room key which we did not.In the evenings the dogs were running up and down the stairs and could hear owner calling, not good when your trying to settle for the evening.

    Location was good easy access to town. Room size was good. Breakfast was OK, if you like a light breakfast. Lovely seeing the garden full of birds.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    4.2
    Squirrels in the front yard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Car wreck in driveway. Old grumpy guy opened door. Didn't get out our reservation. Overwhelming smell in the hallway, they got a dog and birds. House is very outlived. Torn carpet. Poor breakfast. She gladly tool payment for second night we cancelled even though she never got the reservation in the first place.

    Squirrels in the front yard. Room was clean but old furnishing.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    4.6
    overwhelming smell of 'dog' on arrival, met by two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    overwhelming smell of 'dog' on arrival, met by two muzzled Staffies, did not give us much confidence. Breakfast average , no fruit, yogurts or jams, had to ask for tea on the second morning.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.1
    Lovely breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Hole in the front door. Very doggy smell in the hall. Dodgy plumbing in the bathroom.

    Lovely breakfast. Very comfy bed and nice big room. Very warm welcome from landlady

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    6.7
    Lovely room good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unfortunately thr house smelt of dogs

    Lovely room good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Lovely big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely big room. Really comfy bed. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.7
    Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Decor and furnishings felt old fashioned

    Staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.5
    Close to Town facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit tight to park.

    Close to Town facilities.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly owner, made us feel very welcome, room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing we didn't like!

    Very friendly owner, made us feel very welcome, room was very clean and tidy, totally enjoyed our stay

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    6.7
    Location view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smells of dog

    Location view

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.1
    Bed was extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was extremely comfortable. Slept very well.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: