Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Buchan Braes Hotel 4 stars

Buchan Braes, Boddam, Peterhead, AB42 3AR, United Kingdom

#4 of 12 hotels in Peterhead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 83 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent throughout the stay. Staff very helpful and friendly definately worth another visit

    The bed was very comfortable and had a very restful night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bathroom was a little cold, but I'm sure this could've been adjusted had I asked at reception. As I was only there for one, short night, it wasn't a problem at all.

    Staff were extrememly friendly and helpful. Was good to see some vegetarian options on the menu too. Will be using the hotel again for business trips.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trip was to watch a football match , the match was always likely to be cancelled due to adverse weather , it was disappointing that the hotel manager insisted the booking be honoured rather than allowing it to be re arranged,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is the option to call and get your mini bar stocked up in the room, however if there had been some beer/wine/prosecco in the fridge that would have topped it off perfectly.

    Highly accommodating staff, lots of staff too so no waiting at the bar or at the reception desk. Excellent rooms, super comfy bed. Very friendly place. We were at a christening that day and had a delish cooked buffet in a lovely big room there, really great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside appearance of the building and immediate surroundings were less than attractive but everything else about the hotel more than made up for this.

    The staff were excellent - very friendly, helpful and efficient. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast. The food and service were very good with every thing you could think of available at breakfast. The lounge area was very comfortable and a great choice of drinks and cocktails were available from the bar. Do not let the outside appearance and location put you off as this is a great little hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and the rooms were large, comfortable and well equipped. We attended a function at the hotel and the food served was delicious, with excellent vegetarian options. I highly recommend this hotel if you need accommodation in Buchan.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress in my room could have been more comfortable - only a minor quibble though.

    The staff were warm and welcoming and the food was exceptional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't made properly as the bottom sheet wasn't straightened out before being made after our first night stay and the runner wasn't put back on the end of the bed it was just left lying on a chair where I had put it the night before. Bucket wasn't emptied in room. No Wi- Fi in room disappointed us too.

    It's convenient for us as its near to my Son and family. Good breakfast, although my husband found the coffee bitter.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was perfect

    The Beds were comfy probably one of the best bed I've slept in for long time. The hotel was perfect and the food in the restaurant is outstanding

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked food had been lying in a hot container for a while due to high number of guests Last morning wasn't offered any cooked food,had to get own crockery,cutlery and condiments as the staff were new. If there is a wedding on be prepared for not a lot of sleep if guest are noisy due to rooms close to reception/bar area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location in the remains of former RAF Buchan. Surrounded by functional buildings, some being redeveloped, some derelict. Right next door to Peterhead Power Station. Minimal facilities in village. Bit expensive at £105 B&B end August.

    Comfortable business-oriented hotel, good facilities. Good restaurant, not cheap but table d'hote and bar meals decent value for the quality.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, helpful staff. Well equipped, clean room. Loved the big shower. Comfortable bed. Food and service in the restaurant was excellent. Good parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I missed a fitness room, the town Peterhead is boring. Buchan braes hotel is not cheap.

    Very good breakfast, good hotel, friendly people. Buchan braes hotel is a good place from where you can go to the beach/cliffs etc.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent bedrooms, very friendly staff, good breakfast, large car park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly. Food was good.would stay again and recommend. Enjoyed walk to lighthouse and harbour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food of the highest standard using locally sourced ingredients. The monkfish main course was absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in suite

    Staff and food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The haddock and chips were the best I have ever had.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking could have been closer to hotel bathroom/shower could have been better

    all ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have benefited by having a smokers shelter.

    Staff were friendly food was excellent rooms spacious clean comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like

    Food was excellent and all staff very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all was good.

    The hotel was warm and comfortable and the service was excellent and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the Weather

    we have stayed a few times at Buchan Braes and have yet to find any fault Staff Great Meals Good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable. Good good clean and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the day before we arrived they were advertising cheap 2 night stay which was less than I paid for one night

    Staff were extremely helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car Parking could be better.

    Friendly & helpful staff. Excellent Food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Food was excellent and very efficient friendly service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit dated.adequate for short stay

    Comfortable bed and room/ bathroom clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not enough bar staff for a wedding.

    yes.staff really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything that could be improved.

    Very comfortable bed and the breakfast was top class. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was not good - kept going off

    friendly staff, food, room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice ward room for purpose

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Route from car park to hotel could be better

    Staff are very friendly and the food is excellent !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    En suite was a little cramped

    The staff were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience from check in to check out was seamless and all the staff where professional and extremely polite and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor needs updating. The crushed velvet needs to be replaced.

    The food. Freshly prepared with a varied menu to suit all tastes.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath

    Tea amenity in room with biscuits and chocolate.staff extremely helpful, great porridge and breakfast choice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were amazing especially at breakfast nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could not find any faults

    The beds were very comfy and service superb

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for this location a bit high in price

    excellent food

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent motel in a quiet location, comfortable, quiet room, good meals, helpful and professional staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and fast wi-fi

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower curtain that doesn't cling to your body! (A minor issue!!)

    The staff were very helpful & friendly. A very enjoyable stay & would recommend to others & we would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast let down our stay

    The evening meal was amazing and the staff couldn't do enough for us, both the restaurant staff and bar staff. Also the rooms were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no tv due to an aerial fault. Not the hotel at fault.

    Good service and excellent food in the grill room. Modern comfortable room. good parking.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hot water due to some new biomass system? not happy that I couldn't have hot shower in the morning?

    Food was great both the evening meal and the breakfast. staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    On two nights met in the evening with colleagues, but after nine on both nights the service declined massively, we ordered food from the bar menu but it seemed to be a hassle to get it and constantly had to go looking for staff to get drinks, there was 6 of us and each night spent a decent amount of money but it came across like we were a hassle being there

    Hotel looks great and very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    a minor issue., but the neighborhood is a bit dreary. 2 closed-up buildings across the street.

    food was very good.......a surprise, but evidently their chef has won some awards. decent wine list. quiet. rooms were adequate if a bit dark. comfortable beds. very close to main north/south highway.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    it looked great when we arrived, room was nice, everythign was clean. The grill menu was pricey (£20 for a meal) so we went elsewhere. Having a shower, the shower head (which I hadn't touched) decided to fall off and landed on my foot, which hurt. The bed was uncomfortable, it seemed our feet were higher than our heads so we decided to sleep the other way round. As we moved the pillows, I picked up the duvet to turn it around and there was a dead bug (about an inch long, big black bug) attached to it. Uncomfortable night, got little sleep, I could fel the bed under the mattress is was so bad.. breakfast next day was ok but the yogurt I picked up was 2 days out of date so i left it. Breakfast was included in our room price but was £15. Again over priced. I would not recomend this hotel and I will never go back to it.

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked everything - 100% satisfaction from reception to the dining and bar staff and the room was beautifully decorated and possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experiences but the main parking area at the rear, then it's pathway to the hotel leading through the bar to reception, is a trek. Any parking at the front of the hotel was already taken so used the overflow as described. Could do with a better range of beers in the bar but that's a small gripe.

    Reception was very quick and efficient and friendly, bar was good and a really good meal served very timely. Table service in the bar for food which was unusual but welcomed and the bedroom and décor was excellent. Good bed and nice wee bathroom with loads of good sized towels. Big telly and plenty of space to work.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No gym or pool

    Nice grill restaurant

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food a bit expensive, but very good quality

    comfy beds, large room in quiet location

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The radiator makes a terrible noise, didn't sleep too well

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent sirloin steak

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good room, comfortable with all the facilities needed on a business trip.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price still reflecting industry could be a little cheaper on B&B rate

    everything, food, staff, comfort and wifi use

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing really.

    The staff couldn't do enough for us, the room was warm and extremely clean. Food was lovely. I won't hesitate to go back.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our door was left open after cleaning.

    Staff Hotel room Food

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Someone cutting the grass at 7.30 in the morning

    The staff were very friendly and helpful Food was great

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Ate at hotel restaurant, overpriced! Asked for steak to be well done, unfortunately it was rare when it arrived.

    Rooms were comfortable & clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, very helpful and seemed genuinely pleased to see their customers. Accommodation was spotless and comfortable. Food was lovely and plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Rooms

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location and staff were great

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Accommodation and service excellent as always. Stayed here many times.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the grillroom, the bar and the very obliging staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Food and staff

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Might not be the fault of the hotel but the wifi facility was pretty hit or miss.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of choice on the evening menu.

    Room was good and well appointed

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were well appointed and the bed comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: