Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Buckingham Hotel 3 stars

1-2 Burlington Road, Buxton, SK17 9AS, United Kingdom

#8 of 8 hotels in Buxton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1086 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing considering the money paid (£147.50 for 2 nights) for a superior room!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down, tatty appearance from outside, needs money spending on it. Dirty towels on arrival, filthy shower mat, black patches of sealant in the shower. Stuffy room with cracked glass in the windows which was noisy from the traffic on the main road well into the first night. Hardly a superior room!! No food available.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Old and shabby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist (male) was abrupt. There is no lift or air conditioning and the towels and bedding are in dire need of replacing! They are yellow with age. The towels were tiny and would fit an elf perhaps. I'm fully aware the hotel is old and the building is too but I've stayed in better 2 star hotels even abroad. No one was available for check out and I waited nearly ten minutes at reception to see someone regarding a query I had. The receptionist didn't see a problem with no duvets (just eiderdowns/counterpanes) either. The whole place sorely needs an update and quickly!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.5
    I requested an armchair in the room and we got one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels in our bathroom really needed replacing with new ones.although the shower was fine and we were pleased with the size of the bathroom.

    I requested an armchair in the room and we got one. Good size room. Excellent location opposite the pavillion gardens

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    The grounds and general location for the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't obvious from when I booked that they did not provide breakfast. I looked around the ground floor to find that there was no eating/dinong area.. Habing stayed that before on 2014 they servrd breakfast.in the bar. It didn't mater. I ate in town but it would have neen better to have known in advance.

    The grounds and general location for the town.wasn't

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Very good location, but the place has seen better days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Much in need of refurbishment, with no improvement since last year. Lift was out of operation last year and still is. No meals. Unstaffed on Sunday. Rather expensive for the general state of the place, but willing to pay for the location.

    Convenience of location. Despite the lack of refurbishment, the room's facilities were adequate, with en-suite toilet and shower, and functional TV, WiFi and trouser press.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Unusual hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't offer breakfast the rooms are unusual ie if you like lots fo pictures of film stars each room is dedicated to one star

    The locations great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Great value, ideal for the Fringe, and very slightly bonkers - what's not to love?
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some warning about the Dustin Hoffman might have been nice....no one expects to go to sleep with Tootsie staring down at them!

    Once we got over the shock of having a room filled with pictures of Dustin Hoffman, we really loved this hotel! We were using it as accommodation whilst performing at Buxton Fringe, and the location was great with the beautiful park on the doorstep and within very easy walking distance of the town and venues. Very comfy beds, enormous bathroom, and most importantly it stayed really cool (our room was in the basement, and we were staying on some of the hottest days of the year - we were actually chilly!). On site parking too. My colleague needs to use a mobility scooter to get about and the staff had no issue with us leaving this in the hallway overnight, which was much appreciated. All in all, fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location, accepts dogs, comfy bed and has a free car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs an update generally and our room had a lot of pictures of Kevin Costner in it! While I appreciate they have tried to give the hotel a movie theme, it isn’t very well done. Also a bit tatty and grubby in parts and one of our bedside lights didn’t work.

    Good location, accepts dogs, comfy bed and has a free car park

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    Was convenient to Opera House which was the purpose of visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, place is run down, mattress soft, cleanliness of bathroom especially toilet not up to an acceptable standard! No food available including breakfast!

    Being able to leave luggage at reception at check out for a couple of hours!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing as it sounded better than it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy position. No blackout curtains. No breakfast. No sign of receptionist on leaving. No decaffcoffee. Eight photos of Meg Ryan on the walls. Old shower. Sad looking exterior

    Easy access to town. Comfy clean bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.8
    The room was cleaned every day and the location to Buxton...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in the need of some major updating. When I saw some of the negative reviews I thought the hotel wouldn’t be that bad, but it was The room dated back to the 70’s, the room door did not close properly, there was bits of plaster missing were it had fallen out of the studded wall and there was a musty smell, in the hallway and room. Also the toilet made a noise when it flushed.

    The room was cleaned every day and the location to Buxton town was excellent These are the only positives

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and definitely value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit if a revamp, cracks in ceilings and walls with it being an old building

    The location was excellent. Value for money. Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast, dirty walls, broken lamps, lack of reception staff,....no sign of any other guests! Unclear about promised/planned/current refurbishment????

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.8
    Possibly the weirdest hotel I’ve ever stayed in.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont usually leave reviews but this place was just odd. Decor hasn’t changed in 50 years, other than sticking laminated football magazine pages to the wall in reception. Very weird framed images of people being shot in movies decorate the walls of the 1st floor, and our room was filled with framed images of Uma Therman. Our family room had a pull out bed which was brown with dirt, clearly hadn’t been washed or cleaned In many years. No way I’d let my children or any human sleep on that. Such a shame as the building itself is quite grand, but the decor and cleanliness was just shocking. We only had the one night there, thankfullly. Come on owners, update the place a little.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.3
    Misleading stars should be lower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I usually dont leave bad reviews however this site does not let you go lower than a 3. This hotel was bizarre to say the least. The location was great but I have never ever stayed in a noiser hotel ever. The bed was so uncomfortable no duvet dirty fire alarm stuffed with toilet tissue shower drain full of stinky hair. There was a clock radio in the room the the previous guest set to come on full blast at 4.30 am the list is endless I wont carry on

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.5
    I would not go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were not properly clean. The bed was roll together so my husband slept in the single bed. There was no breakfast available. The so called beer garden had grass at least 6 inches long. The garden furniture was only fit for the bonfire. There were weird photos all round the bedroom of old film stars.

    It’s hard to say if there was anything to like.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.8
    Faulty Towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building looks derelict. The rooms are dirty, uncomfortable and there are weird pictures of Hollywood actors on every wall. The wallpaper is different on each wall. The ceilings are damp. The bed covers where stained as was the carpet. The towels used to be white and the room was very hot!

    I didn't like anything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location & parking. Pity no breakfast. And a functioning lift would have been helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift & my room was on 3rd floor. No breakfast, but within walking distance of cafes. No aircon, but I was there hottest week of the century!

    Location superb. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Not a place we would choose to stay very long but suited our needs for a two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was in desperate need of some TLC. - Peeling paintwork, old facilities, lift not working, ice maker not working, worn out mattress, "spit and sawdust" bar area.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Good clean hotel with great location but it has seen better days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm sure in its day it was a fantastic hotel but unfortunately it has seen better days and it looks a little run down. We chose this hotel as it was pet friendly and it certain was. I would stay here again as it was good value for money and location was great but be under no illusion that this hotel does look like it needs a complete refurb.

    The location was great. The bedrooms were spacious and clean and the shower was nice and hot. I also liked that they had a bar that was open until quite late.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Couldn't wait to check out next morning, we chose the palace hotel to spend the rest of our stay. A+
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it, nothing to like.

    Absolutely nothing, dirty run down hotel, if you could call it one. We walked out after 1 night, so did another couple. Room stunk of cigarettes,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    The location was good and there was ample parking
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were indifferent. The lift didn't work and we were in the third floor. The hotel is generally run down and tired. We had a triple room and the poor bathroom had two grubby and thin bath towels. Nobody at the reception when we left to ask if we had enjoyed our stay. Basil and Sybil Fawlty run the Ritz in comparison. No breakfast.

    The location was good and there was ample parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    Sure I booked b&b bk in March but no breakfast available...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sure I booked b&b bk in March but no breakfast available when we got there. They obviously did at some point as they still had a dining room and cooking equipment. Not that we would have eaten here though😲 Hotel is very tired but the sheets were clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was also clean. The room was large very dated and tired but it was clean. The location is good and free parking. Wouldn't go back though😁

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.4
    Great location but in need of a full makeover.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is very tiered and in dire need of a FULL refurbishment - It could be amazing but unfortunately it's past it's sell by date which is a shame.

    It's location is perfect for the Pavilion Gardens

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    2.5
    I was shovelled to the third floor very narrow stairs no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was shovelled to the third floor very narrow stairs no lift . Suffers me chest pain ,missed mt meeting drove back to Chesterfield spent the night care of A&E Chesterfield hospital .Not a pleasant experiance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Buxton lovely but find somewhere cleaner to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it

    Very dated, this property is in need of a complete overhaul, there is a smell in the property and the wallpaper is coming off the walls. The pillows in the room looked dirty and smelt awful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Good for just sleeping place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having breakfast within the hotel is the greatest downside

    Close to the Dome University of Derby Buxton Campus which was ideal for us attending a function

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Dog friendly hotel with character in a great location!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little dated but this is no criticism as the owners are doing everything they can with such an old building - I personally liked it’s character! It doesn’t claim to be a 5 star - it’s ideal if you’re in the Peak District exploring!

    Fantastic stay and very accommodating as we visited with a puppy. While the hotel doesn’t serve food the staff were very helpful in suggesting dog friendly places for breakfast and even days out. It does have a bar so perfect for a drink after a day hiking etc. We had a suite and it was very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Very close to the beautiful Pavilion gardens and the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not adequate car parking space at the hotel so I had to park my car in the street one of the nights

    Very close to the beautiful Pavilion gardens and the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    The hotel is in a good area, but a little run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of the Hotel .

    The Hotel is in good area, but a little worn out. value for money, but wouldn't pay anymore than £65.00 that was asked for .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.3
    Very unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty, rude stuff, bad maintained old building, towels always stained I’ve put them on the floor to have them changed and found the same ones hanged like new clean ones, went to reception to ask for an explanation and to have clean towels and the lady said that I had to wait two hours as nobody was there except her. Had to insist as I wanted to take a shower, unbelievable! Very uncomfortable bed and pillows, dust everywhere. The worst hotel ever

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    An experience not to be repeated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that the room was not cleaned during my two night stay was unacceptable. Also some light bulbs had not been replaced. And the bathroom had not been thoroughly cleaned before I arrived as I could see human hair on the floor behind the sink!

    The one plus was being able to check-in at 12.30.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Would not recommend as hotel is part derelict
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel really should not be listed as 3 star as really is a 1 star. Looks derelict and has quite N eery feel to the whole place, shame as hotel is such a grand old building but needs a complete refurbishment.

    Hotel desperately needs TLC which is such a shame as it’s in such a prime location. By far most run down hotel I have ever stopped in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    The hotel was in a good location for short walk to Buxton town centre but needs a facelift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was pretty rundown and we would have liked breakfast to be available. The lift was not working and it was a bit of a climb for lugging suitcase to second floor..

    Room and bed were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Cheap but nice
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Character, pub down stairs and cheap including free dogs!

    Pet friendly but dated hotel but very clean and comfortable. Only a short walk through the park to town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Apart from above' niggles',a 7+ stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was rather uncomfortable and lumpy and the pillows a bit like bricks!

    The big room (room1) and the bathroom, large wash basin and consistent hot water.Plenty of space for the dog.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    old, but good value and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    reception often times didn't have anybody and everything outdated.

    Facilities are definitely outdated but it's a very good value. The location is great (for our kids we were right across the street from the Pavillion park, where there was a huge playground, lake, little train). Room had a double bed and 2 singles (instead of 1 double and a pullout couch) which was great. Everything was pretty old including carpets, TV (it's a tube tv!), curtains etc. Cleanliness ok but for the money you're paying it really was a good deal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.6
    It is g
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer kettle in a room.

    I am booking 1 room and 2 single beds. On reception man giving to me and my friend room with a dubble bed on 3 floor. When i am complain about this he changed. I dont like. No breakfast. For this price this Hotel it is little crap. In hostel i will have better atmosphere and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    Easy to find close to park and town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very tired. The car park was over run by weeds and dandelions.The main entrance had damage which had been repaired badly. Rubbish was left in entrance over night. Only contact with staff was on booking in. Room was clean bed comfortable. Bathroom cleanish limited towels, windows didn’t open properly. Canopy on four poster had not been clean for a long time, curtains old and faded The hotel was very tired.

    Easy to find close to park and town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.8
    Loved Buxton, lots of open space to walk, lovely small town with plenty of b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need redecorating, lots of dust especially in bathroom, wallpaper in bathroom peeling,

    The building was beautiful, lovely staircases, large rooms, just over the road from park with beautiful settings and river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Ok but basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a little disappointed that there was no breakfast. We had anticipated paying extra as the room rate was very reasonable but we were informed that they were not doing any catering at the moment. The whole hotel had an air of "just getting by" about it.

    The location was lovely, although on the corner of a main road it was quiet at night. The hotel was a short walk from the town centre through delightful gardens. When we left on Saturday morning, the staff were nowhere to be seen, just a notice on the desk asking us to leave the key!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Note to myself....to read the reviews before booking accommodation anywhere else in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds outside were untidy, the inside was dull, dingy and smelly...I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

    The bed was uncomfortable, no heating in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    The room was very clean as was the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we thought the place was shut down it looks from the outside run down and uncared for.

    The room was very clean as was the bathroom. It was also very quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    Location amazing hotel poor and definatly needs some a huge amount of TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very dated very shabby, and the entrance is not very approachable in fact it’s awful so your first impression is very negative, the hotel is only partially being used so there are rooms that just look abandoned due to the poor and very old furnishing it does not look appealing and unclean but it’s not dirty the staff must feel like it’s a never ending job.

    The building is amazing and could be absolutely fab, and the staff must work very hard to keep it clean. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT PLACE. Nice park across the road from hotel. and a short walk to the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff were really friendly. Place was great. Movie photos everywhere so that was a plus for me as Im a movie geek! Bed was comfy. Not one single problem at all. would recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing, might be cheap but photos misguided my choice.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty room even the coat hangers inside the wardrobe had dust on them, spare pillows had been used and pillow cases hadn't been changed. Old towels and only one hand towel. Door had an inch plus gap at the bottom, wouldn't meet fire regulations I'm sure! The whole place needs to be updated, as clearly they can not keep up with keeping it clean! If we hadn't been so tired would have left straight away. Should be inspected quickly and taken off lists asap!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    It served it's purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food at all being served at the hotel, couldn't lock the rooms door and 1" gap under the fire door.

    The room was ready when we got there at 12:30 and we were allowed to book in early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.0
    Even though the hotel was of very shabby appearance, the room was clean & bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired hotel in need of re decorating. Stayed in a family room which all rooms I assume star themed and ours was “Madonna” and a picture in her bra I felt inappropriate for a “family” room. Luckily it was 3 adults in the room.

    The hotel was in a good location,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.0
    Shocking - Don't book this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where do I start ...... dirty/grimy shower, curtains hanging off rail, very unlean, creaky floor boards, dusty everywhere especially in the downstairs bar, needed a complete makeover including the exterior. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone. We didn't even unpack as I was unsure what I would find in the drawers - It was only a one night stay luckily. Billed as a 3 star, wouldn't even give it one star. No-one on reception when we checked out so just pushed the key through the plastic shutter covering the desk and left.

    comfy bed Town centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Very pleased, would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Probably one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. Not particularly favourable environmentally, but the deep and wide Victorian roll-top bath went down well with my sons.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Great value, but this is reflected in the hotel overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial impressions. She’s a tired old girl this hotel, but many of this size and grandeur are. Threadbare carpets under our bed, rotten wood and boarded up entrance porch etc.

    Staff were all friendly and helpful, location was excellent, sheets, bathroom and towels were all nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Reasonably priced in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had definitely been cleaned so there was no real problem but a little more attention to detail would have made it better as we could see places that had been missed such as behind the basin and on some of the internal window ledges. The room was in need of updating but on the whole it was a good place to stay.

    The room was spacious, the bed was comfy and the shower was powerful. The location was excellent with ample free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Good basic overnight stay in fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Celebratey pictures

    The hotel was warm and bedding lovely and clean. The dated feel of the hotel could be ignored as interior architecture and aspects of exterior architecture were well worth the visit. The location and setting of the hotel was beautiful. If you love the outdoor life and don't want to live in the hotel this is a good priced stay. If I had a lot of money I would love to invest it in bringing this lovely building kindly into the 21st century.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Basic , warm, comfortable and given my experience would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    warning that no breakfast available on website or with booking confirmation

    Very comfortable bed although room at back and on third floor - a bit of a hike. very quiet and well appointed. Décor a bit "tired" but staff friendly and helpful. surprised no catering available for any meals, but town centre not far away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    cheep and cheerful, pictures are deceiving. does the job for a night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more beers on the taps as shown in the photos rather than just being two on show!

    the pictures are quite decieving, we booked this place as the bar looked like it stocked a good range of ales and beers, however when we arrived, they only had 2 on tap. although the photo shows a large range! the room was okay, very standard, and they allowed dogs which was handy as we had our dog with us. overall it was cheep and cheerful, very dated, but did the job. nice pubs and bars only a short walk away so we just went there instead. staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks very run down from the outside. Needs a lot of tlc from top to bottom. Very very dated.

    The location was perfect. Dog friendly. We had a very spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are large and sunny. Central heating works a bit too well. Beds are large and comfortable. Plenty of floor space for our dog to sprawl out. Convenient for walking the dog and a quiet place to park the car with the dog inside when we go to Opera

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    FOR VALUE AND PROXIMITY TO TOWN, WITH LOADS OF CHARACTER, YOU CAN'T BEAT IT.!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some may like a breakfast option, I'm not that bothered.

    great quirky hotel,loved the Clint Eastwood room,value for money and so close to town!!! Will stay again!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Did the job for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is pretty scruffy and run down. Bedroom cleanliness just about acceptable (dust behind the bed), signs of previous use of toilet. No breakfast available, but this is made clear on web site. Not that good value without breakfast.

    Big room. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.7
    Buckingham hotel on a snowy weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old and worn the windows are draughty and the carpets worn. They provide no food but there are a fantastic array of places nearby. It is a great pity what has happened to what must have once been a splendid venue. The building is in need a major renovation as it is structurally failing. The room and bedding was clean but the rest of the hotel layers of dust and cobwebs. There are details on the wall in the entrance for a proposed new development as the current building is not economically viable to repair. I hope they can keep the character of the building in the new version

    On arrival the property looks in a poor state of repair however the interior retained some of its former qualities. The bed was comfortable and the room warm. The entrance hall is decorated with film posters and signed pictures of many stars allowing a distraction.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Adequate and reasonably central for our needs but hotel very dated and not quite what was expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole hotel was very tired and dilapidated. Never seemed to have anyone on Reception which was dimly lit. No lift at all and we were on the top floor. We were able bodied but long way up for anyone not.

    The room was tired but it was clean and the bed was very clean and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Wouldn't reccoment unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel could do with an update and less odd photos of film stars. Our room had 5 photos of Gwyneth Paltrow in which was a little off-putting.

    Great location as it's walking distance away from the town and reasonable price, comfy bed and functional room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was a little small and the mattress wasn't the comfiest I have slept in but we still got a decent nights sleep.

    Excellent value for money and location. There are some poor reviews regarding this hotel but I can't see where they were coming from. Our room was very large with an extra single bed as well as the double bed we had booked. The hotel exceeded my expectations for the very low price they charged.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.0
    It was creepy & glad I had friends with me I would not want to stay on my own the
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast on offer the dining room was closed & everything covered in dust, puppets in glass cabinets ? The whole hotel was very dated 60’s decor No staff about on the day we left

    location & was cheap

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Not bad for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, and a little odd in a way I can’t quite put my finger on

    Close to town (5 minute walk), spacious room, shower was hot and powerful - good value for money overall

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    It was warm, the owner was a pleasant enough chap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down, no breakfast despite it being a B and B, noisy stairs, dated decor, peeling wallpaper, mould in the bathroom and room, very dusty duvet cover. I would imagine once it was quite a nice place, lots of rooms/areas cordoned off, ladders stored in hallway.

    It was warm, the owner was a pleasant enough chap.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.2
    If I hadn’t prepaid we would of walked out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on the website must be years old and did not show the state of disrepair the hotel was in

    It was awful the worst place we have ever stayed in

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    Ok cost effective for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor Needs updating - no breakfast offer and bar looked closed although advertised.

    Was good location for where we wanted to be. Cheap accommodation ok for one night - wouldn’t want to stay any longer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    This hotel is seriously run down its plaster falling off...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very much in disrepair , if your looking for 3* plus do not go here. However rooms were clean warm and plenty hot water for bath and shower

    This hotel is seriously run down its plaster falling off walls, damp everywhere and a musty smell

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.0
    Sorry, will not go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dismal and dark, no carpets on floor in bar, no atmosphere. No food available-not even breakfast! got up and drove straight home.

    Bed was comfy, room was warm, convenient for the opera house

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    It's probably haunted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was old and rather dilapidated. It's not necessarily a problem, so long as you're not expecting top luxury or comfort.

    Cheap and quirky with themed rooms. Location is good and parking is very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    It was a fun stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dated decoration and celebs (everywhere). Although we are now intrigued to find out what other celebrities feature in the rooms. It was perfect for a 1 night stay!

    Location, easy to walk in to town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    2.9
    Old and run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy due to being an old building, the furniture was squicky, no restaurants near by and no food in the hotel either. I got the hotel hoping I’ll have a good night sleep as I went hiking in the peaks That was not the case

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Cheap and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were bad. Bar deserted and dingy and decor is strange and dated.

    Cheap and great location. Water was hot and the building was warm. Beds comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    4.2
    Basic accommodation & not worth the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was outdated in parts & very shabby , smelt fusty & not very clean in certain area , wouldn’t stay here again

    Girl in Bar very helpful , drinks prices very reasonable

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: