Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Buckingham Hotel 3 stars

156 West Wycombe Road, High Wycombe, HP12 3AE, United Kingdom

#4 of 7 hotels in High Wycombe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 552 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve stayed at the Buckingham and it’s annexes many times over the years. Handy for London, free parking, WiFi and often with fridge and microwave is the room as well as the usual tv etc. No doubt I’ll be back again..,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking situation can be tricky

    Within our budget at the time and less than 30 mins drive from Heathrow airport. Clean room, comfortable beds. Found the room too warm, even with heater off? Shower was good but needs a ledge/holder for shampoo. Parking was tricky.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, area close to hotel was full of rubbish, especially alcohol bottles. Full English breakfast was ok, the sausages were very low grade, no fresh fruit, yogurts on offer.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small single rooms must have quite thin walls as I could hear other guests and occasionally hear the traffic from the road - still was able to get a good sleep though.

    Nice single room for one night stay, everything was immaculately clean. Also had a good selection of facilities including a fridge and microwave. Adequate parking on site, and a good location close to London and with good access to surrounding areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More parking needed and informing cleaners not to wake guests up when it'only 9 am and your told check out is 10.30

    Comfy beds clean and bright Good shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strangely there were no saucers to go with tea/coffee facilities and the same in the breakfast room, cups on tea plates not saucers. Strange! Breakfast was ok with regards to tea/coffee and cereal but cooked breakfast wasn’t up to standard, not hot enough and eggs either too well done or under done.

    Nice clean shower and basin. Crisp white bedding and room cleaned/changed daily. The staff were very polite and helpful. Adequate for a short 2 night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower head was on the wrong side of the wall, so you had to stand very close to the door.😁.no big deal really for a night sleep. Notice at the entrance said you were liable for parking your car in their free parking.felt a bit uncomfortable with that.

    it was beyond my expectations the room had all the necessary facilities and was quite comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the location the price was good, room could have had slightly better finishings. The bathroom was great, and overall would say for a practical one night stay perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were steep and no staff available to carry cases up to the third floor which was a struggle

    The breakfast was lovely. The shower was easy to use and the water easy to get the right temperature. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Car park uneven so cars with weak handbrake can't park - Housekeeping opening doors without permission (not really their fault) - No easy heating option

    - Cozy bed - Easy check-in and check-out - Decent location (not too far from town)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got told if we made any noise at all we would be fined because there was a family next door. I came away for a quiet weekend with my gf. I hope the family next door were also informed to be quiet otherwise they would be fined

    It did the job what we expected of it. Quick shower. In and out. Back for a sleep. Out at 10a.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rear parking didn't seem safe/secure, as open to a side street with people milling about. Our room was on the top floor and the headboard was against the sloping roofline. TV very slow to react to remote control. Nowhere to place toiletries in the bathroom - a simple shelf would be great. It was quite a warm evening and we had to sleep with window open for ventilation; however, there was lots of road noise until quite late from the road at the front, and our room was at the rear.

    Reasonable amount of parking. Very pleasant reception area, and staff were helpful. Looked like it was newly decorated throughout, with re-fitted bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff from the moment I got there at 5ish to when i checked out at 9.15 the following morning. :0)

    My check-in was easy enough and with the additional off road parking was one thing less to worry about.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are too thin and you can hear everything and everyone which is annoying you have any trouble at sleeping.

    Close to the centre town, room and bathroom very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little cold. Had obviously not been made fresh as Egg was hard and rubbery and beans were a little congealed. Not really worth the extra money paid.

    Free WiFi Shower was amazing! Rooms were warm and comfortable Cheap for location Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms - particularly bathroom very small. The ‘bath’ towels too were very small - more like a hand towel! Very noisy guests passing bedroom at 7am!

    Clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting at the back of the property could have been better for parking car.

    Good sized room to stay with large dog. Good location for nearby walks and Nathanial trust property visits.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't honestly say there was anything we disliked at all.

    We were both very happy with the hotel. It was quiet and very peaceful and in perfect location for meeting family in the area. The breakfast was freshly cooked which is something you don't always find in hotels. All in all we were very happy and would most definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud squeaky bed, dirty bathroom, street light from outside intruding into the bathroom, car parked blocking access to parking in the morning when I was in a hurry to leave

    Location and parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vehicle entry to parking behind the hotel was blocked both days by a Highway Maintenance van so it was necessary to go around nearby streets to access parking to rear.

    Easy check-in and out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed several times. Always perfect. What more could you ask. Immaculately clean. Plenty of toiletries, coffee, tea etc. Staff very well presented and so friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only flaw is the heating, but to be fair I do get cold easily so it probably wouldn’t be an issue for anyone else

    I’ve stayed a few times, staff is really helpful and the rooms are exceptionally clean and comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is just right for me as my family and friends are all close by.. also town is only a short walk! The staff are all friendly and helpful. the breakfast are great..!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a single studio room but they tried to give me a normal double room. When I insisted that I wanted the single studio that I booked they took about 5 minutes to sort one out for me. No heating in the shower room which o a cold day is a problem. A do not disturb sign would be useful, so that you don't get woken up early by maid service

    The breakfast is much improved and back to how it was on previous stays. Staff are always professional

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't cleaned up during times we were out. We didn't know why a housekeeper skipped our room. Nevertheless apart from that, everything was ok.

    Very proffesional and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold night but unfortunately heating system was not on. I spoke to receptionist he said it has a set timing but seemed it didn’t worked. Disappointed on this issue.

    Everything was fine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the shower could have been better Had to fill kettle using glasses of water as kettle did not fit under tap to fill

    Very friendly staff Rooms were clean and tidy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom lighting - no bedside lights to help with reading. The single central lamp made the room rather too institutional. Car park full so had to park on main road outside.

    Room comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism is that the room was absolutely freezing which affected my sleep, and there was no heating control. Although I tried to turn the radiator on, it did not work.

    Nice clean room and value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY: As we were taking our 12 month old toddler we asked for a cot to be supplied in our room at the time of booking (using the special requests box), however, on arrival (21.00hrs) we were told that they couldn't supply a cot and our request was simply that, 'a request', they where under no obligation to supply a cot, this was little comfort at that time of the night and a very tired toddler in our arms. on arrival at our room, we found that that wouldn't have been enough room for a cot anyway, so for the stay, I had to sleep on the 'Wooden' floor and my wife and daughter shared the double bed....for me, this totally spoiled our stay. LOUD WOODEN FLOORS ON THE FIRST FLOOR: Our first floor room had wooden floors, which made moving around in the room, quite a thought provoking exercise on the basis that each foot step caused either a creek on the boards or a stepping noise, we was constantly concerned that we where making too much noise that it was making the people in the room below us unhappy...whilst to some this would not concern them, for us, it was a worry. Other points to raise for awareness only: Whilst there is parking on the site, there is not enough for the amount of vehicles, people staying in the hotel, we found ourselves having to park up the road on the highway. (but that is free, so no real issue as such). The public pavements around the hotel are in need of some TLC (nightmare with a child's buggy), make sure that if your thinking of doing some local exploring, you take comfortable shoes. (not on site but again, on the public pavements towards the town). Dining room is cramped which made me feel quite boxed in. (Note to hotel...please consider using the Bar area as the main breakfast area, its alot brighter, you have a TV and it would give you.your residents alot more room, whilst still using the current dining area as an overflow area)

    Mini supermarket/petrol station just up the road (about 150m) Fridge in room Staff always greeted us with a smile I reported two issues with the room ( light bulbs blown) repaired within minutes, even though H&S practices of changing light bulbs where something to be desired, with the use of a stool to do them. CCTV covering all of the 'onsite' parking areas as well as the common areas of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we went out we were told the hotel was open 24/7 but to be quiet if we were late back as there were a lot of families staying,it's a shame they didn't get the same memo for the sunday morning very noisy from about half seven

    The room was clean and comfy and hotel was close to town which was handy as we were visiting family who live in Wycombe

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room. double bed was right against the wall on one side. car park at the back was very poorly light insecure and no clear parking bays. car park was full on arrival and advised to park on a very busy road.

    very good shower. breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff Environment was not friendly The manager is racist Being a white skin female alone the manager thought he could intimidate me and laugh in my face.

    The staff at this property are very manipulative and think that laughing at a paying customer is the way forward!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one towel in my room. Although overall the breakfast was good, the choice of cereals was limited. Also they brought you a cup of tea or coffee rather than a pot. This meant I had to drink it straight away, when not really ready for it having just drank an orange juice, or risk it getting cold. No problem getting a second cup but one likes to a cup of tea/coffee when ready for it.

    The full English breakfast was big! Just a pit I can't give it top marks for the slight reasons explained below. Also, I was happily served earlier than the official start time. There was a small bar serving bottled beers. Just a shame I didn't know until the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were nice on first sight but a little bit closer and you can see that the bathroom was not cleaned to a high standard. I would not have a shower as the shower head was disgusting, taps not clean. The toilet seat was sticky! The breakfast was luke warm and clearly been reheated and not cooed fresh.

    Be was clean in arrival, room had all facilities that were expected and a bonus fridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap in the bathroom was positioned too low to get the kettle in the sink (had to laboriously use a cup) or fill up water bottles to take out (had to ask kitchen staff). The rooms above weren't carpeted, so whenever other guests came in the ordinary noises of chatting and walking around was too loud and disturbed our sleep. This was a shame, because we think it was relatively pricey for our stay and they had clearly been doing the place up from what we can tell from other reviews, so maybe they were off-setting the cost with higher prices, but they've got it a bit wrong, which is unfortunate. Room a bit hot at night but didn't want to open the window because of traffic noise and being on ground floor. We arrived on the Friday for a Bank Holiday weekend and the staff that took over on the Saturday weren't as personable. They weren't unkind, just indifferent. The breakfasts for two days were farcical. The woman who took our order spoke minimal English, but we thought we'd be OK as she had a tick box sheet for our orders. No such luck! You never knew what you were going to get: mushrooms weren't even on the original list, so at least that was a nice surprise when we got some! But, you could guarantee the fried eggs would be overdone and the bacon on the second day was frazzled and solid. Also, there was no filter coffee on offer, only two types of very high sugar cereal, and when we asked about gluten-free bread they said, 'Where do you get that then?' All guests on both days were just laughing in disbelief. The Bank Holiday Monday breakfast was at least saved by the staff change. Don't get me wrong. The staff weren't mean or horrible on the weekend, just clueless. And, for the price paid (4 people, 4 breakfasts = £36 every morning), it was not value for money. No double locks on the bedroom doors made it feel a little unsafe.

    The rooms were a reasonable size, clean, tidy, and modern-looking. They'd clearly made an effort after reading some of the previous reviews. The staff when we arrived were friendly. Our rooms were downstairs, so easy to access. With parking, we seemed to be luckier than most on this site and found a space every day. The shower was a good temperature and strong enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon booking out of our room we couldn't drive our car out the front so my partner went in to ask who's car was in the way it was the owners car which he refused to move and told him to reverse out of a rear entrance!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had to keep the window open as it was hot weather and the traffic on the main road was noisy late at night.

    Microwave and fridge in my room. Plenty of hotel parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the location of our accommoation had changed we could have been offered a lift/taxi to the property as in our party of three (one senior citizen) we had three large suitcases which we then had to pull along to the property which was at least 450 yards from original building.

    not applicable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean but basic .... luck of human contact there like waiting for receptionist 5min and not very welcome!! I could recommended for a builders or contractors for quick stay !!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms to small very poor showers no wardrobe space. It is ok for a one night stop with the lads.

    It was easy to get to from the m40 to make it an easy commute into London.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Immaculately clean, especially the bedroom and bathroom. Brilliant shower! Steam extractor in bathroom is very quiet and therefore not intrusive. Very pleasant, helpful staff. Absolutely excellent value for money. Everything you need is to hand. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom door was open upon return from evening out and then wouldn't lock from the inside, slightly uneasy for a female travelling alone. Soundproofing could do with a little improvement along with check-in staff!

    Very modern and clean hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, just enough room for a bed and to get changed and there was a desk under the clothes hanging rail so nowhere to hang any clothes. The bar had no staff on when we arrived and when we got in that night and there was someone serving they had no ice and very little drinks available if any. Very basic and poxy rooms and corridors. No way we would survived getting out In a fire as was a maze to get to room and smallest corridors ever.

    Bed was comfy but room was tiny

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too warm for me and with the window open the traffic noise could be heard, even though my room was at the side of the building.

    Free parking. Free wi fi. Very clean. Bed was comfortable. En suite was great. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls. At least from 7am subjected to hearing someone retch/clear throat for an hour.

    For what it was not bad. Bit of a walk into town but not too taxing if not carrying a load. Room had everything (even microwave which surprised me).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise from railway line at rear and busy road in front so window had to be closed making the room too hot. No bedside lights and only 1 chair. Breakfast not good value. Didn't expect cup of tea to be served as a tea bag in a cup. A teapot would have been better.

    Comfortable bed. Nice bathroom. Reception staff very efficient and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors could have been less cluttered during cleaning of the rooms - Need to get a laundry trolley.

    The room, shower and bed and linen were clean. Sparse but practical. Tea and coffee and milk were in date.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Stayed in the Family Room upstairs...(short steep staircase) beds comfortable, went and bought 2 ordinary mugs for a decent size coffee/tea, could do with a fridge in the room even a small one as bought a 2pint milk on Friday evening but it was solid and off by Sunday morning as rooms warm but was warm outside too, view looked out onto next house/hotel into their kitchen downstairs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seemed a little scruffy in places e.g. bare wires sticking out of the walls and bit dusty in the dining room area crumbs etc on the floor.

    The room was super clean and comfortable - nice clean sheets on bed and everything works! e.g. hairdryer, TV. ALL the staff are lovely, friendly and welcoming (always makes a difference!)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very noisy as traffic on main road only eased during wee small hours and guests coming and going late night/early morning. Breakfast took 30-40 mins to be cooked, after being told it would take 5mins! Coffee not good quality, plus only tepid.

    Got great late booking deal. Free wifi and tea/coffee making was a bonus. Room/bathroom very clean. Staff pleasant, but could've offered more info on checking in (wifi access/parking/breakfast time etc)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really a problem for the hotel but the room was so hot.When we visited it was an exceptionally hot weekend and the room was so warm even with the 2 windows opened.I'm sure if I had asked for a fan the hotel would have provided one and it certainly would not put us off staying again.

    Really lovely room.Nice modern,clean wooden floor instead of a dirty,stained carpet.Always feels more hygienic to me.Shower/WC room was ideal.Television had excellent choice of channels.Plenty of Tea/Coffee/Sugar and was asked the next day if wanted more.Fresh towels provided when room was cleaned.We actually took our dog as we couldn't get a dog minder this time and she was made to feel welcome as well!Visited London and Marlow as not far away. Ideal location for us as ten minutes from our daughter's flat.Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not told i would have to pay extra for the pet when booking. the room was very noisy and hot

    the hotel had been recently renovated and therefore was nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely hot and with it being located next to a busy road the noise pollution from traffic with the windows open was awful and disruptive to being able to sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out at 10.30, as I arrived late I didn't need to leave till 12 for my next appointment, so a little more time sleeping would have been good.

    Good location, for me. Car parking a must. Helpful friendly staff as I arrived at almost midnight and needed to find a local store. Breakfast was good, plenty of it and served with a smile. Comfortable bed, quiet and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is on a busy road and there is no air con so we had to have the window open and couldn't sleep because of the noise no cars all night. Room was also VERY expensive for a standard hotel room.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had room one which is right on the main road. As it was so hot, closing the windows was simply not an option. The traffic noise I have to say was obtrusive. Even at 7.30 am on a Sunday morning!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    driveway is extremely steep and bottomed the car when 1st arrived. Later on the driveway was blocked by the hotel manager (I assume he was the manager) with no regard for people trying to access the car park.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is situated on a busy road, with a lot of late night traffic. It is away from any amenities, arriving late there were no local amenities (food) in the immediate vicinity. Breakfast was a bit random, different items of the Full English missing from each of our plates!

    Accommodation was adequate

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overcharged for breakfast (charged us for more breakfasts than we had and would not adjust the bill). Car park was limited compared to the number of rooms and poorly maintained. Someone kept parking their Bentley in the middle of the car park access driveway stopping customers from getting to the rear parking spaces easily.

    Rooms were clean and tidy,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely to be on the top floor, but the staircase was narrow to carry bags up

    Friendly and helpful staff, clean and very comfortable room, and competitively priced

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot. No chair & could do with a bedside lamp. Would have been great to have had a fridge in the family room. Shame breakfast was served so late. We had to be at our event for 8am which meant missing breakfast. The day we were able to have breakfast found it to be adequate but lacking in fruit (not sufficient for an athlete) also breakfast slightly overpriced.

    Room extremely clean. Beds comfortable, good night's sleep. Ample tea & coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival it was clear that the reception staff member was out of her depth, trying to serve two customers and field telephone calls at the same time. The room was small (expected that this close to London) but was comfortable enough. However, there was no privacy latch on the door so I propped a chair against whilst in my room. We were woken at 05:40am on Sunday morning by banging and crashing with lots of shouting and screaming, it sounded like someone was having a violent fight (the police turned up in the morning) so it was not a good night sleep. All of the above are possibly nit picking, however, my biggest complaint was breakfast. Firstly there was insufficient room in the dining area and my wife and I had to sit in the reception/bar area. We had cleaning staff with mops and buckets walking past out table to and from the kitchen. It would appear that there was no control over who entered the kitchen. I had to hunt down the lone member of staff who was serving, she took our order of full English with poached eggs. Eventually my wife's breakfast turned up, it did not look particularly appetising; her "Ikea" cup of tea arrived (do it yourself cup of hot water and a teabag on the side), no tea spoon, no sugar or milk. No saucer, for that matter, the cup was on a side plate. 5 minutes later 2 rounds of toast arrived with a small pre packed portion of butter (one portion). At this point I was still waiting for my breakfast. The tomato on my wife's plate was burned and shrivelled, and inedible. I told my wife to eat rather than let the offering go cold (I'm not sure if she thought I was being gentlemanly or trying to punish her). Eventually my breakfast arrived, looking equally unappetising, but thankfully with no burned tomato, in fact no tomato, however, I was blessed by mushrooms, and fried eggs rather than poached.

    The hotel is a nice building that appears to be undergoing some renovation, it's well situated and easy to find. Parking is adequate during the day but sparce on a busy Saturday night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was brilliant. as said.

    As i got there about 21.45 on a damp night when I went in I was greeted by a young man, who was very polite, his first question was "how are you sir" please bare in mind that I was dressed in motor bike gear, with 2 bags, he then asked if I had stayed here before, when I said no, He reminded that I had booked breakfast and it was served between 8-10.30am, then explained where and what floor my room was on. I went up to my room and was surprised, It was very clean, tea making stuff, telly and after a very hot shower watched some telly, then went down for some breakfast the person on the desk asked if I new where the breakfast room was as I did not know it was explained to me,, what a choice to have there was so much there, and the full breakfast was fresh cooked, would I stay there again? "O yes I would :-) " Top marks to all the staff working there. Regards John. ( the biker guy )

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little touches, such as soap dishes in the shower, are missing.

    Whether staying in the main hotel or one of the annexes, the hotel is comfy with all you need. Functional rather than luxurious, it does the job at a reasonable price. I often stay when working it London, generally much cheaper than the capital but easy access down the M40

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy noisy road . Steep stairs

    It's basic accommodation but clean with a Comfy bed & lovely shower . Tea & coffee making facilities & toiletries in room . Towels changed daily

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower area was miniscule. A loose man hole cover outside the room was a menace Hot water and a Tea bag at breakfast A large van parked on the entrance to the car park

    Bedroom size OK and very clean Actual cooked breakfast was good No problem getting extra supplies of milk , coffee, etc

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door to our room did not close properly and although we did advise the front desk and they came to check on it, it was not mended whilst we were there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can say I will not be returning, the building was so hot!! Me and my partner only got a couple of hours sleep each! The main reason I booked this hotel was due to it being close to the football ground and that it had its own parking too, only to find they only have spaces for about 8/9 cars which lead to us having to park far away on road parking and walking back to the hotel late at night which is what I wanted to avoid due to anxiety! Thirdly when you leave a property you expect staff to smile and ask how your stay was!! But not one word!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were very steep and difficult to use with crutches. Top floor rooms were not as good as the lower floors, no wardrobes and no safe in the top floor rooms.

    Large windows to front of the property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The difference in the standard of the rooms eg. Size and facilities for the same price and time of booking. Lower rooms much bigger.

    Very clean and right on the main road through town. Close to Hell Caves

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was charged extra £10 for accompanying pet.. I think this is a fair and reasonable charge but was not made aware of it during the booking process. This is probably the fault of "booking.com" rather than the hotel.

    Room clean but small, ok for short stay but could not reccomend for extended stay. Shining light here was reception staff, incredibly helpful for what after all is budget accommodation, cannot praise enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit iffy. No lamp in the room just the main light but we left the bathroom mirror light on and opened the door

    The location of the hotel and the cleanliness of it in general. The room was spotless. The bed was just right, crisp sheets and no "boing"as you turn over. Staff were friendly and professional. A really nice place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit random especially if you get there late all the builders have got their transits parked up.The main road was a bit scary trying to park . The landlord just shrugged his shoulders ? going to the local restaurants was just the same.

    The room was ok for an overnight stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps to top floor, no lift. No deadlock or chain on the door for extra security, as a young woman traveling alone this was a little unnerving. Bed and pillows were very uncomfortable.

    Room was a good size, bathroom was modern and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: