Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bugle Inn 3 stars

57 Fore Street, St Austell, PL26 8PB, United Kingdom

#26 of 26 B&Bs and Inns in St Austell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 255 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dirty, the bathroom was filthy with thick black mould covering the tiles (which we couldn't use), the shower head was caked with grime, the bed frame was broken and held together with parcel tape, the breakfast was very poor and overcooked. The landlord insists on payment before you even see the room (I can now see why)!!!!! And for all this we were charged £75 for one night.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not able to open any windows in the room, to be able to have fresh air. No ventilator in bath room. Décor of room and bath room could do with an up grade Parking for Vehicles very limited as you have to share public car park

    Food very good, Draught beer selection could be better, which is why I drank Cider

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm welcome by the landlord and staff. The family room was just what we needed - enough space for a cot, a hot bath for the kids and conveniently situated. Had a lovely evening meal in the pub - felt very welcome and the food was delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating was not on until we complained, room cold and felt damp. Mould by the shower and on the ceiling. Towel was very thin, doubt it would have been much use but we did not use the shower. In the morning heating came on too late to warm the room which is tatty and needs a makeover. Very basic breakfast, minimum choice of cereals and fruit, no yogurt.

    Location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unable to have ventilation in the room, not enough electrical sockets, one bed was squeaky and the other bed was lumpy.

    We bought an excellent evening meal. Beverage facilities were moor than enough, but found the kettle in need of a wipe. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was clean linen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't warm enough for me and the shower wasn't clean.

    Staff were lovely I believe ran by husband and wife the food was better than expected and would deffo stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 4 is a medium sized double and is generally okay but the shower has deep ingrained mould and dirty sealant at the back of the sink. It took a couple of hours to warm the room up after arrival.

    The bar/restaurant had a lovely log fire and the food was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful which overall created a really nice atmosphere. Food and drink prices are reasonable. Parking is in a nice sized public car park situated at the rear of the pub and is free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in the room at the coldest spell for years, had to sleep with two layers of clothing. No hot water in the morning. Very poor bathroom with mould on the ceiling and a terrible shower with no pressure. Possibly the smallest TV I have ever seen positioned at the far end of the room. The venue advertised sky sports but didn't show it. Drinks and food were overpriced. Not a good stay I will never return.

    Bed was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cool overnight, heating seemed to go off around 11pm and come on around 7:45am, maybe there was a problem. Bit of traffic noise from passing trucks first thing, but as its right on a crossroads there's not much to be done about that, my room was at the front.

    Nice friendly staff and very helpful, I was too late to eat - food finishes at 8:30 Breakfast starts at 8am, bit late for me as I start work at 8, but very helpful and got me away promptly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for two nights, dirty glasses weren’t removed from the room after it was cleaned from the first night. Bunk bed faced double bed.

    Locals and staff were really nice, very accommodating. Food was lovely and very good value for money. Woke up late and failed to evacuate the room until well after check out but putting that down to very comfy beds....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very run down has mold on the bathroom ceiling and the room was very very very cold and it was very noisey due to being on a main road. Hard for parking due to being public parking too .

    It was a nice pub in the village

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heat.

    It was really cold and noisy. Considering it was throwing down with rain and freezing, the heating wasn't on. Needless to say we didn't stay for the two nights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold and rather dusty.There was evidence of damp too. It was a bit shabby. But for a room above a village pub it was fine.

    The proprietor was friendly. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dampness in the bathroom, shower did not work very well. In mid shower, water turns cold, which was not pleasant in this weather.

    location was good. room nice and light.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like anything about the property. It is on top of a bar and it plays loud music until midnight.rooms were smelly. Heating wasn't proper.pathetic staff other than the one which serves breakfast. Very rude behaviour of owner or head staff.

    Free parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some trouble with the heating... one smallish radiator for largish family room didn't really cope with the very cold winter day. The radiator in the bathroom didn't work. The public carpark behind the Inn was convenient but our car was deliberately damaged (key scratch) one night and parked in by someone parked illegally the 2nd night. Not the Inn's fault but something to be aware of.

    Lovely staff, nice friendly atmosphere in pub, great value food. Staff and chef happy to help with gluten free options. Good hot shower and warm bedding. Convenient for the Eden Project.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms needs updating especially bathroom. Many people point this out and removing old and putting new silicon in bathroom and make deep clean shouldn't be very costly and time consuming. Not sure why it's still not done...

    Good parking, great breakfast, very friendly staff, very close to eden park, coffee, tea facilities in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy from the bar below but we were prewarned about that. Decor a bit tired and a bit of mold showing in the corner of the ceiling.

    Friendly, helpful landlord, excellent food, very comfy bed. Tea, coffee, etc and full size kettle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 1 night in the family room on the Anthony Joshua fight night and we heard nothing. It was quiet and breakfast in the morning was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Inn is a down to earth place to stay. All of the locals were very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast cooked just as we like it. Everything was perfect for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who greeted us when we arrived was lovely & helpful, and the lady who cooked us breakfast was lovely too! Quirky, comfy room. Lovely & clean. Nice toiletries & plentiful tea & coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    décor was a little bit tired....but extremely clean overall

    The staff & locals were extremely welcoming - the choice of food was good and the breakfast was 10 out of 10!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had mold everywhere, paint on ceiling was peeling off. Shower bracket was held together with a cable tie. Old soap scum around shower fittings. Bed was rock solid and very uncomfortable. Road noise was bad. Adjacent rooms were noise with doors slamming shut with a bang. Towels look like they had been through a shredder and paper thin.

    Free wi for, bar down stairs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place with lovely host. You just have to be beware that saturday night is going to be noisy until midnight because of an caraoke party going on in the pub you're sleeping on top of (but the owner warned us in advance ;). Free coffee and tee in the room. All in all had a nice stay with a delicious breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu said meals finished at 9pm but when we returned from an outing at 8:30pm for dinner we were refused as kitchen had closed. There was one takeaway restaurant nearby so we had to eat off our lap.

    The propertywas located a short drive from the Eden Project but not much else was nearby. It was a quaint pub mostly local clientele.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle had black mould in it. Paint was peeling from the ceiling. Traffic noise was unbearable throughout the night, with traffic lights right outside the room. Very basic, the room was only overpriced and should have been in the region of £25-£30 per night.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could use renovating, didnt seem to match main room which seemed more modern & more clean. Shower in corners has dark mould marks.

    Easy to check in, easy to park. Right in centre of Bugle. Nice cozy & comfortable room which seemed recently renovated. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all we enjoyed everything!

    The room was lovely, very clean & cozy. All the staff were lovely & couldn't do enough for you. The food was really nice & the prices in the bar & restaurant were reasonably priced

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 derelict, clamped cars in the car park were not a good first impression and meant that there were limited parks available. If I were a clean freak, the bathroom would have disturbed me. Plenty of mould. The place is just a bit run down and tired looking. The star rating fits. Food was excellent.

    The room I stayed in was quite comfortable and reasonably quite even though facing a main road. Other reviews complained of noise from the downstairs bar but I stayed during the week and this wasn't a problem at all. The location was good for the places I wanted to get to. The staff were very friendly and pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money; towels and furniture a bit tired!

    Nice sized, comfortable family room. Ideal location for Eden Project. Old fashioned pub appeal with pool table!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant say there was anything. Bit confused by paying at pub as I thought I'd paid already through booking.com so may need to chase that up with you?

    We booked in an emergency as our other accommodation cancelled on us. The Bugle was great for our needs, clean, friendly owner and good breakfast. Pub suited our needs, was centrally located and perfect for purpose.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every think it was dity place to stay I would like my money back on this break I have never been so upset with a break I always use booking .com

    Nothing in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    had to remind staff twice over three days that we needed toilet roll. The second time I had to mention this in front of customers standing at the bar. Obviously a little embarrassing when I had to raise my voice. A little TLC needed in the bathroom with regards to the mouldy sealant around the sink.

    Traditional pub .. friendly staff ... good food .. especially the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that's stops it being a great review was the all the mound in the bathroom and paint flaking of the ceiling.

    The food was very good as we also had dinner there. It's a very friendly pub. Staff very very good. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the loud group playing in the bar from 9 to 12 ,it was from the Bass amp.,totally unexeptable ,i did ask for the volunme to be turned down but that didn't happen ,my room felt like it was going to expload from the vibrations ,such a shame it spoilt my stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy on the second night. This was due to a group playing until 11.30 this was very loud in the bedroom with furniture vibrating. Impossible to sleep until it finished.

    Good Breakfast on both Days we stayed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water one morning. There was a "regular" in the bar one evening whose loud voice, foul language and flatulence forced us to leave and go to our room. We feel he should have been either asked to leave or told to stop swearing and quieten down. But he was obviously a friend of the staff. This marred an otherwise pleasant evening in the bar.

    The food was amazing & the staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We requested an invoice for the stay. They told us they could not provide one. After contacting them on the following day they told us that they could not provide an invoice for a previous date and that we should have asked for one yesterday (which we did). This is completely unprofessional of them. Avoid if you plan on a business trip.

    The Pub downstairs had a live. The staff was kind enough to apologize for it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are confortable but a lick of paint may be good. Looks little bit tired.

    Warm friendly atmosphere. Owners and staff very polite and helpful. Rooms are good and the breakfast and bar meals are delicious. Very handy location for everywhere you may wish to visit during your stay. Second time we have been will go again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy Saturday evening with live music which to b fair we were told about on our arrival on Friday but we was not aware of this at the time of booking. However all was quiet by midnight .

    Comfy bed and large clean bathroom with power shower. Lovely cooked breakfast which set us up for the day .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coldest days for a month so heating would have been good. Television always on. Sunday roast was all microwave heated and served floating in gravy. Towels were threadbare and very hard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for our needs. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Had meal in on first night - excellent food and good price. Room was fine, stayed in room 2, plenty of space, mattress was bit firm for my liking but that is just personal preference - slept ok. only thing lacking was towel rail or ring - so resorted to using radiator.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was black with mould and the underside of the taps was also black. I also didnt appreciate having to listen to full descriptions of colonoscopy procedures from 3 locals at the bar whilst we were having our evening meal, if it was serious it probably wouldnt have worried me but they were having a good old laugh about it. I know this is a pub and you should expect pub talk but this spoiled my evening meal, whilst it was all probably good fun for them i thought it was pretty bad manners i think they knew we were eating and they found their joking more entertaining because of this. I've used booking.com quite a bit but quite frankly on this occasion i'd like my money back. The experience wasnt good, i think if you are going to adverise nationally you need to take more responsibilty for the conduct of your clientele so that all users of the facility can enjoy their time. The staff were pretty good and our food was nice though.

    The staff were helpful and there was plently of tea and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The black mould above the shower on the ceiling. Room, wall paper over the wardrobe needs sorting out. The noise from the "Lock in" on Saturday night after the band had finished, not funny ended at 0240. Good thing there was a good film on TV to off set some of the noise.

    The chef was very accommodating to my particular requirements, I am a Coeliac, he had gluten free foods in for me. I took my own bread and Lee made sure that my toast was prepared in a sterile environment. The bed was very soft, bouncy and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big damp patch in bathroom and only channels 1,2,3,4,5 on tv.

    Loved the little extras like water in the room and hot choc etc, staff were really lovely as well. Would stay again but recommened a lick of paint.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mould on ceiling in bathroom and tiles around bath could do with a scrub.chair in bedroom fell apart as you pick it up,soap dish was all slimy and my sons room had mould on the cieling in bedroom.son in room 1 we had room 4 and in room three the guest was noisy for 21/2 hours shouting on there phone had to tell to keep there noise down as over guest are here to,as it looked like when pub shut there no one about (staff) will not go again.

    Free wifi bacon and free car parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows need replacing, mould in the shower, no desk to work at & requested a quiet room and go one at the front which was noisy due to the road outside at 5:30am!

    Comfortable mattress

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fruit at breakfast was very old: brown bananas and bruised apples. Could have facilities for young children, e.g. travel cot and highchair. Shower didn't work very well - impossible to maintain the temperature for more than a few seconds.

    Nice pub atmosphere downstairs. Friendly and helpful staff. Welcoming of children. Easy access to Eden Project, and nearby beaches and other attractions. Cooked breakfast was nice, and staff happy to help with getting vegan sausages.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel manager did not know we were even booked in to begin with. Loud music and singing until gone midnight. Kettle had mould growing inside of it. Staff very dismissive

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Inn's set in a great location, less than 10 minutes walk from the local railway station in Bugle. Definitly a lively atmosphere esp. on the night there's live entertainment!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband has to use a stick for walking so climbing a flight of stairs was a bit difficult but manageable because it had a good hand rail.

    Very convenient for the purpose of our visit to St Austell. My husband said the bed was more comfortable than the one where we stayed in Penzance - and we paid a lot more there. Staff were very friendly as were locals in the bar that night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    car parking was a bit tight, but other than that definitely a winner.

    typical b and b in a very nice friendly pub. dated, a bit dusty and quirky which is fine..adds to the charm. nice touches of biscuits and hot chocolate in the room...the premier inn didn't do this! full English breakfast was lovely and will definitely rebook to stay another time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was on a busy road with lorries thundering past, it was very hot but you couldn't open the windows because of the noise.The whole place was a bit tired and needed decorating and new furnishings

    The staff were very nice, friendly and helpful and the food was good .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The silly moany reviews that people post that could put people off staying here. The visitor book was packed with compliments!!

    Friendly landlord great atmosphere and food. All good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Staff were great. Great central location for Cornwall, just unfortunate the night we stayed it was warm but we couldn't leave window open as on main truck route so they came rumbling past from about 5am. Great pub food and breakfast was lovely. Can't fault it (temperature and traffic not their fault)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed our stay at The Bugle Inn immensely. It was very homey and comfortable. We had a great time at the pub downstairs and our landlord/bartender gave us some great tips for the remainder of our stay in Cornwall. There's a car park right at the back of the inn, which was also great, since we had a car. Overall, it's a great place and I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If anything had been better we would have expected to pay a lot more.

    The very cordial reception, the excellent food and the homeliness of the place. We were looked after very well. The value for money was very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly from miranda who first greeted us and made us more than welcome through to damian who took over in the evening and the lovely lady (sorry but didn't get her name) who cooked the delicious breakfasts in the morning. The locals were great too and made for a very entertaining evening. Would definitely (and have already) recommend to others

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor needs attention, flaking paint and ceiling, large damp patch in windowless bathroom, towels threadbare and rough, felt strange to have to pay before even seeing the room and leave a deposit for outside door key, combination lock on room door felt a little uncomfortable with no other lock from inside, entrance and paying at the bar unclear on arrival, ok as somewhere to sleep prior to visiting Eden project, staff very nice, room would benefit from some TLC. Price comparable to premier inn, wanted local B&B experience, would book Pr Inn next time.

    Staff friendly and helpful with everything, breakfast tasty

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got blocked in the carpark by a local who parked across my vehicle then went home in a taxi because he was drunk. Didn't return until 11am. The owner of the pickup truck was nasty & abusive. I should have broken window & moved it across carpark entrance.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cheap shower curtain,broken tap tops,wonky toilet seat and filthy toilet brush and grouting was black in places. Tv could have been bigger and carpet was stained.

    good touches-water,biscuits plus the usual tea & coffee etc

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the family room, It,s an old building and take a long time to bring it up to todays standards which is being done. The only thing is the double bed in that room needs replacing.

    Location good . Very friendly people, the locals where up for a laugh. We where there in the week and it was quite, informed that it get very busy on the week end. Food was good. Room very clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a twin room but were given a children's bunk bed and a double. The bedding looked like it hadn't been changed. Facilities were old and tired and there was mould in the bedroom near the bunk bed and in the bathroom.

    The owners and staff are very friendly. It's family run and there was a relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The family room was pretty basic for the room rate. Decoration needs to be updated and better ventilation in the bathroom

    Staff very welcoming and convenient location for visiting local coastal towns and attractions, e.g. Eden Project

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only negative was the loud bathroom extractor fan

    Friendly, quiet, good food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely welcome from staff. Room was perfect grate location for the Eden Project. Bar had a good selection of gin. Breakfast was top !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really friendly staff, tasty food, comfy beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and room was amazing we had a great time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As exciting expected really.

    Breakfast was excellent. Lovely lady oferred variety and served with a smile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saturday night was loud untill the early hours

    The room was good beds comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Meals fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was freezing in our room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room with enough space. The food in the pub which is included in the accommodation was okay.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: