Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Bulkeley Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

19 Castle Street, Beaumaris, LL58 8AW, United Kingdom

#6 of 14 hotels in Beaumaris

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 950 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    4.6
    Ok for 1 night to visit the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rest of the hotel was old and tired. A lot of people that had pet dogs with them also filled up the lounge area.

    We had a lovely large room which looked like it had been refurbished and a lovely view of the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.1
    A beautiful hotel with stunning views if facing out of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If in a side-facing room as we were last week and in the current hot climate it was unbearably hot in the room and bathroom, so much so, that after our first night's stay with just a desk fan to circulate the very hot air, resulted in us getting very little sleep, so we had to spend £35 buying a pedestal fan from a local supermarket so that we could get some sleep during our 2nd night's stay. We were also locked out of our room for half an hour, when returning to our room late in the evening after a very tiring day, the lock wouldn't work with our card key or the hotels digital machine and all our belongings were inside. When going for breakfast on the 2nd morning, we were accused of already attending breakfast, although obviously we hadn't, so had to insist a few times before they would agree to let us have breakfast. Lastly, the shower was more of a dribble, rather than a spray. a pedestal fan would have helped, plus offering some compensation for the catalogue of problems we had experienced.

    A beautiful hotel with stunning views if facing out of the rear of the hotel and lots of character.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.3
    SUPERB location, great food and customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Classic King or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was totally marred by the fact, there was no air conditioning or even a fan to plug in. The heat was horrific!!! Did not get any sleep at all :(

    Location is just STUNNING! Easy to find on the main street. Good looking building. Fab food - had evening meal and breakfast. My steak was the best I had in a long while!!! Great big comfy bed in a big room. Customer service was spot on. Lots of staff who were very helpful and cheery.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.1
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Classic King or Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sound proof the rooms a bit more.

    The room was so noisy, we know the noise from the road couldn’t be helped and it was hot so needed the window open but to hear every conversation in the room next to us both nights was a little annoying and the doors in corridors banging shut.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    4.6
    Shabby but not chic poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old tired decor our room had flakey paint on the rotten Windows old 1970's laminated furniture lumpy mattress chairs with faded tatty upholstery 1970's poo brown carpet plywood bath Panel! The breakfast was a lacklustre buffet with frozen berries and blonde bacon and while we were eating they made an older couple go back to there room to get the relevant piece of paper even though they had there key and were obviously staying there! All in all terrible value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Stunning hotel, stunning location,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stunning location, stunning hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Good value for money. Local area is full of history and plenty to see and do. Local pubs are very welcoming. Everywhere seems to be pet friendly and relaxed. Me and my partner had a fantastic break and will be back again soon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic for the weekend stay with our dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A listed building doesn't have air con, but in temperatures up to 30 degrees, portable air con units should be provided, especially for the rooms where dogs are allowed. It was far too hot in the room at all times.

    A cosy room still has plenty of walking space so not cramped. Service in the hotel was fantastic. We and our dog were made to feel extremely welcome. Breakfast was lovely and we ate in the coffee shop area so our dog could be with us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    6.7
    Can’t beat the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Four Poster
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Public areas very tired. Bar staff inattentive. Tables in garden area never cleared, despite staff being asked to do so. Created seagull hell! Room on the Sunday not cleaned properly... toilet not cleaned at all. Bedroom comfortable but let down by lack of fridge, and rips in the fabric of the chairs. Not good value for money. For the price I would expect higher standards

    Can’t beat the location. The restaurant staff were fabulous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.1
    Potentially a very grand hotel but was let down by a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Four Poster
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Potentially a very grand hotel but was let down by a very poor breakfast. It's position opposite the beach is its main unique selling point and the staff are generally veryhelpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Couldn t have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything about this hotel was good, especially the location. The history of it was very interesting and the decor reflected this. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and the food was excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable short break. look forward to coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bistro food was Ok but the atmosphere was a bit quiet.

    The bed room was comfortable with loads of space and Wonderful view of the Straits. Bath room / Wetroom was well appointed with big bath and shower. Afternoon tea out looking over the bay was delightful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay, there are several interesting places to visit within a relatively short drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel bar could have been made a little more inviting, I considered it lacked any ambiance.

    Excellent location, the restaurants in the hotel had a reasonable choice, and the breakfasts were really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.7
    Weekend in beaumaris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy outside of the hotel and inside the hotel at 4am. Didn't get much sleep. Hotel is very tired looking. Windows in the room had the paint peeling off. Expensive stay for 2 nights and not given value for money.

    Lovely sea view. Excellent breakfast. Great position.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.8
    Stayed before so that says alot
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Showing signs of ware and tear but staff make up for any downside

    Booked a suite wasn't disappointed, have stayed before so Knew what to expect big bonus being able to bring our dog along.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    6.7
    The weather was great the location beautiful the hotel was a tinge disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Four Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was overpriced.Let's face it this hotel is well worn and has seen better days There is no control whatsoever over the car parking. It's chaos especially as the hotel encourages the custom of non-residents.. We were sidelined in the restaurant when a coach party arrived. Don't like hotels when invaded by coach parties. Although the restaurant food is outstanding be prepared for a long wait between courses. We enjoyed our visit to this part of Wales but for £400 for two nights this product was over-valued. the restaurant meals were outstanding. Quality and more than plentiful

    The restaurant meals were outstanding. The location is beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    5.4
    Good room, poor cleanliness and poor public areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Classic King or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Public lounges were in a terrible state, used plates, glasses and rubbish all around and staff had to be prompted to clear it up. Not what i expect for £150 per night

    Room was comfortable and quiet although bathroom was outdatd

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.2
    This is a grade 1 listed building which explains the rather...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Four Poster
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is a grade 1 listed building which explains the rather old fashioned decor. Accept it for what it is, a slice of old fashioned elegance. Our sea view room allowed us to watch the sailing club and life boar practice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Four Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was disappointing. The mattress cover was stained and the furniture was not in keeping with the hotel. Bathroom had no window or fan although was recently done. The four poster was lovely to look at but had a memory foam mattress that we found very uncomfortable. The view was great and the location really good. Most of the staff were lovely and helpful.Overall we were disappointed.

    The Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    We had a beautiful view from a lovely comfy room in this unusual and interesting hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our friends who came with us had a room at the back of the hotel which didn't have a great view which was disappointing. Also they had an issue with their card key not working when we arrived late back from a wedding and when they tried to find someone to help my friend could not find anyone. Eventually they called the emergency no and the night porter arrived very quickly to sort out the problem.

    We loved the quirky, non- corporate feel of the whole place. It was so lovely and a really interesting building with lots of nooks and crannies. We loved our room which was overlooking the spectacular bay and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel and staff , request a room with a view of the back if possible when booking a room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 111.. got the short straw as the view from the window was unfortunalty the bins.

    Excellent location , stunning views at the back of hotel and the breakfast was decent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Inland Classic King or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was not up to the normal standard for evening meal but they did compensate me for this on my bill. I come here every year but performed below par this year. Will try again next year.

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.3
    Ok but unfortunately wouldn't rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very tired and needs some money spending to bring it up to the standard I'm sure it once was. Walls paper thin so felt like you were sharing a room with your neighbours.

    Location was great and food was of a decent standard (coffee shop and breakfast). Room was clean with lovely towels in the bathroom. Ample tea and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    6.7
    Great venue and a mixture of great and bad staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They moved us into a better room which was great. Chap at breakfast was super too. Bar staff not great asking me to leave a deposit for the use of a gin glass and making me keep going back to my rim for the registration card before serving me even he knew my room number etc. Also room card stopped working took 15 minutes stood at reception for someone to sort it. Baby crying upstairs outside the room tired. This was only at 9pm!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant return stay in this lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a king room which meant 2 single beds were pushed together to make a very large double. No problem there except the duvet wasn’t wide enough. I asked the housekeeping staff, who were very helpful and offered a separate duvet, but said that the one we had was the widest they had. WiFi was a bit hit and miss in our room (215) and it’s a bit annoying as you have to keep logging in.

    Really friendly place. Staff work hard and are friendly and helpful. Location couldn’t be bettered... magnificent views across the Menai Straits towards Snowdonia. The hotel is full of character, and has an interesting history.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing Birthday present for the hubby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Four Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike. They had a Lords Mayor function on so was woke up 12.50 people chatting out side we were on the first floor had windows and shutters closed. worth checking out or asking for different room next time.

    From check in to check out very good. Have a lot off locals using Sophies Coffee shop so lucky if can get a seat in the comfy lounge felt we were sitting in someones place at one time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    7.1
    very relaxing weekend very nice place would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    toilet door would not shut radio not working kettle would not turn off automatically had to ask twice for fan car park not big enough for guests

    lovely breakfast staff very nice location great clean hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.8
    No better spot to stay in Beaumaris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was completely closed when we returned at the end of the night - it would have been nice to stay up for a couple of drinks in the lounge area.

    Newly refurbished bedroom was great with modern fittings and plenty of room. Breakfast spread was above average with nice sausages and a good selection of cereals, etc. Location is ideal - right on the pier, with a lovely beer garden. The perfect spot to spend the afternoon and begin your night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing after previous memorable stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small and the decor tired. No view except the bins at the back of the hotel. Woken at 1.00 am by revellers trying to enter my room - only to have them actually let in by the Night Manager. Very unnerving for a guest staying alone.

    The location. The bistro meal and service. The old fashioned grandeur, staircase and lounges. Interesting history.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    6.7
    Good location but wouldn’t stay again because of the view from our room window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a terrible view from our window of the fire escape. We booked two rooms and both rooms had the same view. I was extremely disappointed.

    Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    5.8
    Fawlty Towers in reality without Basil!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bistro was devoid of character, whole place felt confused and doesn't make use of the greatest assest, Snowdonia opposite! Breakfast just fairly run of the mill. Needs money spending on the rooms and decide between modern or grande dame!

    Very good location, looked grand from the outside......

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.5
    Good base for our holiday with dogs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is, as the reviews make clear, faded however, the staff were very helpful and the location is excellent.

    Lovely location and views Good car parking and dog friendly. Very pleased to be able to see our dogs in the car from our hotel room Delighted that the hotel did not charge us for the second night we had booked when we decided to return home early

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.9
    The staff were friendly and the location convenient.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vegetables at dinner were soggy and overcooked and tinned tomatoes for breakfast.

    The staff were friendly and the location convenient. It was easy to find within the town and parking was available – although I was lucky to find a space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.9
    We wi9ll use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Classic King or Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bath shower is inaccessable for anyone with mobility difficulties. The breakfast was great, pity the fried eggs were not freshly cooked

    great location, helpful staff, good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.2
    Very traditional hotel, proper service with a smile, nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got the last room unfortunately it just gave us a view of the roof tops, not the hotels fault and the hot water ran out around 9pm

    Very traditional hotel, proper service with a smile, nothing was too much trouble or wasn’t attended to

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    5.4
    As it was pouring down with rain and a terrential wind, not the nicest place, just bad luck
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bed , noisy room, old tired bathroom with curtain that sticks to your body. The Bulkeley is an old stately hotel that needs huge investment.

    Situation near the beach and on main street. Clean although very tired.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.1
    An enjoyable stay in a pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park is at the back of the building, and a directional sign at the front of the building (main street) would be useful. The car park is a little small for the hotels size. Non guests calling for a meal or coffee can exagerate the problem.

    Good breakfast choice. Room comfortable and spacious. The building (historical). Located on seafront.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.3
    Basic, dated and lacking in personal pamper. Just glad I didn’t pay for it. (It was a gift!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was not spotless. There was mould in the bathroom and lumps of fluff/dust by the bed.we couldn’t get a table for dinner without a long wait. The tv was too far away from the bed.

    The room was spacious. The towels were changed. The bedding was white.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed with cleanliness and lack of attention to detail at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower had last occupiers products left inside. Room drafty and very noisy. The room was not cleaned daily and for £128 a night, I would expect the bed to be made and a duvet without rips in.

    Staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    5.8
    A very expensive stay for average accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Inland Classic King or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms v hot and adjusting thermostat made no difference at all.Breakfast room also very hot Mattress too soft Parking advertised as a bonus being free but actually v limited - they should maybe think about parking permits given the parking problems in Beaumaris

    Croissants and breakfast generally v good Relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.2
    The service was good and your staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very hot on the first night, even when we turned the radiators fully off. This was due to the central heating pipes still being hot even with the radiators off - had to sleep with window wide open, which was not ideal with the street noise outside. The second night was fine as opened both the bedroom and bathroom windows.

    The service was good and your staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.9
    Good location, reasonably priced...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The satnav takes you to the rear of the building (Castle Street) and it wasn't evident where the car park was (I also arrived at night). I went in to the hotel and asked a member of staff where I needed to park the car to which she replied 'the car park'........ Very helpful! It would have been helpful to have a notice re. parking at the front of the hotel and how to access.

    Lovely location, particularly if you have a room overlooking the Straits. Quirky hotel - maze-like with lots of bits and pieces for sale, particularly on the ground floor. Staff were friendly and helpful. I had a cozy double room and it was a decent size. Would book again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    6.3
    Expensive for what you got compared to other over night stays on Anglesey that week
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dated paint work generally and it could do with a freshen up eg Bathroom door paint was flaky in room 109 and the slash windows rattled in the wind. My real irritation though was the lack of parking at the hotel. I arrived at 7pm in March only to find I had to park 100yrds away from the hotel in the high street due to no spaces at the hotel. Parking generally would be very compromised in the summer season at the seaside resort due to very few parking spaces at the hotel and two hour slots on the road.

    food menu in the Bistro was good and staff were very professional

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    7.1
    Overall the stay was OK, but the hotel definitely has the potential to be fabulous.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, but made feel even smaller by the excess furniture in there. The little table and chairs in the bay window were so cramped they are useless, so the room would be much better off without them. The bathroom needs to be updated. The shower is exceptionally cramped and the water pressure was very poor.

    The exterior of the hotel (coastal side) looks wonderful and it is in a fabulous location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    6.3
    The location was amazing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Classic King or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were misled by the online booking agent and our luxury stay was not luxury at all. Room was boiling hot, view was of the street. Shower was literally a dripping tap. We were charged 130£ for a room worth less than half that

    The location was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    7.5
    Stunning scenery, great breakfast but all needs updating, especially for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated, bar expensive and room expensive. Bathroom silicon all coming away and a general dated feel to the place.

    Stunning location with amazing views to front, large hot cooked breakfast, very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    9.6
    very enjoyable stay..very welcoming.will definatly stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was a little hard for me but its personal preference.

    the breakfast was amazing.excellent choices and nice and hot. the bread for toast was nice and fresh. staff really freindly. great to take my little dog. definatly stay again. fab scones for the cream tea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only negtative is that there is lots of night/early morning noise from street cleaners/shop deliveries. Recommend a sea view room.

    The hotel is lovely and the staff very friendly. Food is also very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    7.1
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Classic King or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    overall too hot in the room, radiator turned off and had window open all night and still slept on top of duvet, disappointed with the food, i had rack of lamb and husband had lambs liver which were both very overdone with what tasted like bisto gravy!!. This was just a overnight birthday treat for my husbands birthday as wanted to stay here for a while... really disappointed with whole thing and won’t be booking again.. whole place needs a good sort out , bottom falling off quite a few dining chairs, stains on curtains and walls... used to love coming here but everything really is very tired now which is a shame as the setting is beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The room we had was gorgeous, cosy & decorated really nice, the breakfast was delicious & the staff are excellent, I would highly recommend the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean and well maintained, our room was beautiful, loved the coffee shop. Excellent food.

    Friendly, Clean, great location, staff very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    6.7
    All in all it was ok ,won’t be returning to Anglesey as not my cup of t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    £7.00 in restaurant for Guinness only £4.00 in bar ,if you manage to get parked on site You probably won’t be able to move until next day.

    Good hotel good position easy to walk out ,be sure to explore the back& side streets To see most of Beaumaris

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    7.1
    A clean, well-run classic hotel in a great location that needs some money spending on it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    the decor in our room and the restaurant was tired (e.g. a cheap door from the 1980's on our ensuite bathroom). The windows were single-glazed. The restaurant was cold and our bedroom window rattled through the night.

    The location and the architecture was lovely. The hotel seemed clean and well run with pleasant, professional staff throughout. We had dinner and breakfast and both were very good. Ask for a room overlooking the menai strait to get fantastic views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Classic King or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was tired and dusty didn’t really mind though

    Lovely staff and great breakfast in an amazing location. Room was very big and spacious as was the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced, old fashioned and depressing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Sea View Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clean, room was cold, had to plug in extra heater, bits on carpet, windows filthy, paint peeling, very old fashioned and in need of major refurbishment

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    6.7
    Lovely hotel, great location, lovely service, food average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast I hate the frozen sausages rather than buying locally produced meats. Room was so hot even with the windows open all day and radiator off

    Views were spectacular and the location was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing, comforable and peaceful stay with views across the Strait to love.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid for large suite which was fabulously spacious, and very clean.....just a bit tired and basic for price. windows look like they need a clean - It's a big building & its by the sea, so maybe I am expecting too much. Definitely dog friendly, and like the dog biscuits in room on arrival - but other places provide dog bowls/mat & even dog bed when you pay extra for the pet.

    Waking up and watching the sunrise on Sunday morning from our huge windows of the suite. An old grand hotel in an absolutely fantastic location. Just footsteps from beach, all ameneties you could need and great places to walk the dog.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    8.8
    A lovely hotel with fantastic views. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of the sausages at breakfast, everything else was spot on.

    The food in the restaurant was of good quality and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good, only the sausages let it down (not the best quality!) The staff were all polite and very helpful when required. We upgraded to a sea view room with views over the Menai straights to the snow covered hills beyond through a huge window. 10% discount off food in the restaurant for residents, not a lot but very welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    6.5
    Ok, but probably would not to to that hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small with windows that rattled all night in the wind. The room was cold due to the window not being secure No staff at night to deal with a lost key - this was reported the next day as security was at risk

    The location was good. The breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    9.6
    Great love it there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bed was on the small side as my husband 6ft3 took most of it to keep feet warm.

    The staff are very helpful and friendly and also made our dogs welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The bedroom was a little outdated, could do with being renovated in a similar style to the bathroom

    - Sea view lovely - Friendly staff - Clean facilities - Nice bar - Modern bathroom and shower area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    8.3
    The fact that there were so many lounges and 2 restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2 members of staff on the second night that we ate in the bistro. The atmosphere was icy.

    The fact that there were so many lounges and 2 restaurants inside the hotel meant that if the weather was bad we could stay inside without becoming bored.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    9.2
    Warm, welcoming, stunning decor.
    • Group
    • Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mix up with paying before we left, but sorted out with a phone call, restaurant not open although we had been told it would be, items for sale from local businesses were cash only and staff had to hunt around for wrapping materials, and I missed hash browns for breakfast, although the breakfast was lovely.

    Lovely hotel, fascinating things to look at, very warm on a cold night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was excellent and the surroundings are beautiful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very small, as was the bathroom. TV channels were limited and the WIFI was a little temperamental. Parking is troublesome also, but these are minor gripes.

    Breakfast was excellent and the surroundings are beautiful. Room was clean, tastefully decorated and had plenty of supplies too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.2
    Really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Classic King or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would book a room next time with a sea view, and not facing the street, a little traffic noise at night, and early morning, but not a big problem

    Really friendly staff. Clean hotel. Room really clean, comfy, warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely old interesting hotel, friendly helpful staff, would definitely go back and stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Four Poster
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Four poster bed could do with a good hoover/ dust/ wash with the curtains but comfortable night sleep. Wasn’t told the kitchen was shut for renovation until we arrived, english breakfast offered but no other hot meals just sandwiches cakes. But maybe booking.com could of notified previously to make meal arrangement on arrival?!

    Lovely hotel, Friendly and central to the town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    10
    Famil long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This hotel has a lot of charm and the staff are very friendly. The fact that the locals use it for morning coffee and evening meals says a lot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.6
    the fact they put us in a room that was not up to standard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fact they put us in a room that was not up to standard & on complaining they admitted it was the next room to be refurbished. to be fair they did up grade us to a very newly refurbished room, which was very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable hotel and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A sea view!

    Reception staff excellent especially Danielle, if I had a business I would employ her. Room-housekeeping also excellent. Love the sitting room next to the cafe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a beautiful Anglesey town
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit cold in the room even though the small radiator was on full blast. Asked reception if I could have an extra heater and it arrived at the room within 5 minutes

    The location, friendly staff, atmosphere and the big sweeping staircase!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    6.7
    just ok, nothing more.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Sea View Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    a lot of building work going on. wasn't pre-warned about this, so a basic, although adequate, breakfast and no restaurant open. The hotel needs updating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    5.0
    Very average hotel for what one pays. Would not return. Very typical UK hotel of the 1970's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is badly in need of upgrading, breakfast very average in comparison to other similar hotels. Some staff are helpful, but others are tetchy and Fawltyesque.

    Location was good. Hotel facilities were average.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    9.2
    Ticked all the boxes. Very clean, the staff were a delight, and obviously loved working at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didnt like the location of the bar which was in effect at the bottom of the stairs, a waiting area for the Bistro restaurant. A dedicated Gin bar would have been nice.

    Staff were very friendly and went out of there way to please us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed it some good points some bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Comfortable Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had a meal in the restaurant and there was only 5 other tables being used but yet it took 20 mins to get our drinks 45mins for our starter. We had breakfast in bed and the food was basically cold couldn't eat it. Don't think it was worth £153 night for bed and breakfast.

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.6
    Really relaxing, great location, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food could have been a bit better - was ok, but not quite same standard as everything else in the hotel

    Fabulous views and sea just outside the back door of the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was good plenty of choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cold, the car park needs painted lines so drivers don't take up two spots. The shower pressure was very bad.

    Breakfast was good plenty of choice

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: