Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bull Inn 4 stars

High Street, Sonning On Thames, Reading, RG4 6UP, United Kingdom

#17 of 38 hotels in Reading

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 319 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little drawer or hanging space. Parking could be an issue although we were lucky and parked in the last space. Other than the Bull's car park,, Sonning street parking was full.

    Very comfortable and clean bedroom. Bathroom and shower were 1st class. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC, making it hard to sleep, even with the window open. Also, the bacon at breakfast was streaky (and fat). Have they no back or side bacon?

    Historic inn with a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed here a few times and it feels a real home from home. I highly recommend for a romantic weekend as walking along the river is heavenly and the Copper Club offers a nice evening walk for a different meal and excellent view. This pub and B&B is well positioned and the breakfast is not bad either!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great country pub feel to the bar, lovely location. Outdoor covered seating area. Car parking right outside the bar, but this could get full, so get there early! The room was lovely, well decorated and furnished. had a nice seating area, which is often missing in hotel rooms. Bathroom only had a walk in shower, rather than a bath, but that was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfair to answer as in was so busy on the bank holiday weekend with a festival going on

    We were there over the busiest bank holiday weekend of the year so it would be a totally different experience if it had been a normal week/weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My steak ordered very rare came cooked medium rare. It was however replaced quickly with one properly cooked rare. I have no complaint - this happens, but obviously it slightly spoils an evening if your partner has almost finished her meal before yours arrives

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that I didn't like

    I arrived late after a long day and was met with a lovely warm welcome. Although the kitchen had just closed they very kindly arranged for a bowl of the most delicious chilli ever!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carl, the manager was awesome. He was very attentive and made sure we were comfortable. The bartender was pretty awesome as well. We loved the atmosphere and history of the pub and inn. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ceilings are quite low so perhaps a few more signs to 'mind your head' may be useful.

    The staff were very polite and charming and it is a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Great food complemented with amazing staff made this a wonderful break. Nothing was too much trouble so thank you Mandy who looked after us : )

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired room particularly the bath room but the bed was comfortable. The general standard was not very high for the room and it was not quite what l was expecting.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I can't really complain.

    Really nice country feel to the place. Perfect if you want to get out of the big smoke for a day or two. Great breakfast too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was a bit limited

    fresh milk in a flask instead of those nasty little tubs: makes the tea taste so much better. Friendly staff, lovely breakfast room, 2 minutes walk to the theatre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little cold, lighting needs to be improved. Quite a lot of noise from a private function room directly below our room.

    Lovely room, friendly staff. Excellent meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here on numerous occasions. Evening meal and breakfast sub standard on this stay compared to previous.

    Bed comfy. location is its main attraction.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was to small and in need of refurbishment All night you we had to listen to extractor fans in other rooms going off Squeaky floor boards when people walked places Noise from the bar Bathroom lighting was very poor More to list but these are the main things

    Nice country pub and staff were fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was lovely, the place had lots of character and the landlord and landlady were very hospitable...

    It was a lovely stay, great food, very oldy worldly pub/guest house and interesting viewing the beams, uneven floors, steep steps and funny door shapes you would expect in an 18th century pub next door to the church and grave yard. I would recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accessories (throw and pillows) were dirty, the bathroom and room need a thorough clean but the bed was clean. The bed was ok but wasn't overly comfortable. It just needs a bit of TLC and this property will be amazing.

    The food and service were excellent, lovely evening meal and breakfast and really good friendly welcome and service. just a bit of TLC on the property and it would be an exceptional gem. I have already recommended the location and will be staying there again int he new year

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We apparently got the last room on the site when booking. Allocated ‘George ‘ on arrival. Quirky but very small room, only ok for a two day stay. Have to say though a very comfy bed.

    Very good choice of food for breakfast. All freshly cooked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we realise that this is indeed a very old property, it still needs to meet required standards when it comes to bathrooms and bedrooms. The toilet seat was nothing short of disgusting and the shower unit needs replacing or at the very least, re-tiling. The lighting in the bedroom was virtually non-existent.

    The ambiance and the breakfast were outstanding, excellent cask ale as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room would benefit from a refresh (carpet and paint)

    The breakfast was included in the cost and was really high quality and freshly prepared. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to it being a Sunday evening the menu was somewhat restricted but otherwise o.k.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and comfortable. A little difficult to find due to being tucked away in a small corner of the village. Good food, although they don't cook chips! Good beer though!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Olde worlde charm.A warm friendly pub with rooms that are cosy,clean and comfortable.All mod cons,with generous extras..milk in flasks,bottled water.Our standard priced room had great shower, beams ,and a snug cosy feel.Small but perfectly formed. Very well cooked large breakfast,good choice and faultless.Staff were attentive and good natured.The restaurant menu was varied and portion size was ample...only the duck pate failed the taste test,bland and dry.We were all very happy with our other dishes,and agreed that small and friendly beats large and corporate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny complaint would be that we heard a fan most of the night, probably from the kitchen. It would not stop me from returning, the plus sides are too great! Thank you!

    excellent atmosphere, nice restaurant and FANTASTIC breakfast. Great Staff and Manager. Will return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't stay any longer. Our problem not The Bull.

    We were greeted with a smile and warmth. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Our dinners and breakfast was cooked to order. The only little problem was the wash hand basin, the water pressure was very low and the water did take a while to flow away. Other than this we very much enjoyed our stay. P.S. lovely comfy bed!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. It was a Wednesday and a quiet evening. Perfect.

    Mandy was amazing and so helpful with an elderly friend of my mother's. She is a true asset to you and should be promoted asap.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very lovely stay , food v good in bar Staff great - just what I needed A good overnight stay for work but without the impersonal Premier Onn style - and slightly less cost to the business Thanks all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bull Inn is delightfully situated by the churchyard and two steps from the river (and the Thames path). It is off the main through road, so it is very quiet and feels tranquil. We were welcomed very warmly and personally. The room was extremely comfortable and, and breakfast was excellent. We sat outside in the courtyard for coffee later, and felt very relaxed - the atmosphere was old-fashioned in the best sense of the word. In its decor and approach, the Bull has remained true to its history, which gives it authenticity and distinctive charm. All this was much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lazy staff not greeting guests on arrival talking to friends on the phone. Dirty gardens and unclean rooms. Not as good as last landlord. We won't be coming back again. Find a better landlord.

    Location and ambience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Highly priced for what was on offer and the most expensive beer I have had in the UK yet.

    Close to Reading (£10 Cab), but also far enough away to avoid the noise of the highway/City. The area is beautiful, close to a canal and church and the locals are very musing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small ensuite that was ok but the shower had black mould which could be dealt with a steam cleaner.

    Lovely old pub, loads of history, great location. Manager smiley and very helpful. Great evening meal, service was excellent. Slept really well. Had a great walk around Sonning and along the river foot path. Lovely sunny warm day for our visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the rooms were quaint and quirky, they were somewhat tired, and the bathrooms weren't particularly clean - particularly the shower - mouldy, damp and unpleasant. The rooms are directly above the bar/ dining area, and unfortunately noise was considerable and continued until 1am, which given we were staying locally for an early business meeting was not conducive to sleep and thus a refreshed start

    The atmosphere, pub and food were great, both in the evening and " breakfast. Evening staff were welcoming and friendly. A really nice place to eat and drink. The bedrooms were quaint and quirky

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the waitresses did not seem particularly happy in her work although the service from her was satisfactory. All other waitresses were friendly and efficient. The bedroom floor sloped and squeaked but did not stop us form having and extremely pleasant stay.

    The landlady was extremely welcoming and the pub had a nice cosy feel about it. We were fortunate to arrive on a nice sunny day and were able to sit outside and enjoy coffee and beverages in a very pleasant garden area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awkward to park especially when there is a wedding in the church.

    The Staff, the food was excellent, so was the outside area's and pleasant surroundings. My only problem was watching that I didn't bump my head on the beams. People with walking difficulties would find the stairs hard to negotiate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms whilst clean were a little faded and the tile grouting in the shower could do with cleaning as a little mould on places which was slightly off putting.

    Fabulous location, oozing country charm full with friendly locals. Rustic country inn, full of character with all modern comforts. Professional, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Food in the restaurant was delicious and well priced and the breakfast choice was great and cooked to perfection. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break and if I was lucky enough to live locally would use the restaurant regularly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and corridors a bit tired and needs updating to today's standards and it would be a lovely place to stay

    The bar,evening meal,breakfast and staff very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room and place to stay after a long walk from Henley. Great food in restaurant and enjoyed the outside area having a drink at the pub. Also enjoyed breakfast. Staff very helpful especially the lady who served us in the restaurant and at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff went out of their way and were so helpful for me to get access to a room very early in order for my 89 year old mother and my husband and I to get changed for a wedding in Henley. When ringing to sort this, nothing was too much trouble. They remembered me from previous phone calls and made me feel so welcome on the phone before I had even arrived! Such friendly and helpful staff. Excellent sandwiches at lunchtime and a fabulous breakfast on Sunday morning,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms, both overlooking the front of the inn and one was much smaller than I expected - the bed filling nearly all the space and whilst I understand such an old inn can have little major refurbishment, the décor, furnishings including bed quality/size/comfort could be much better. Therefore, the price was not as good a deal as I expected and is expensive compared to other locations with better room space and facilities. Access to most rooms is via a very steep staircase to the 1st floor, with low beams and uneven flooring which adds to the quirkiness, but not ideal for all. As the inn has a courtyard with parking and seating area outside the front (see photo), there was some guest drinking and chatter outside til late which is understandable. However, the early morning vehicle deliveries (bottles/barrels/goods etc.) being unloaded just below our room provided an alarm call we really did not want.

    The Bull is located right across from St Andrews Church in the small village of Sonning on Thames. Having not been back to the area for years, it was great location to stay, reminisce and walk around, with the pub providing an atmospheric 'olde worlde' base and easy access to the Thames. Parking is tight in front of the inn, but overnight we were able to use the church parking adjacent. Staff were supportive and welcoming, breakfast as expected and I'd return for a drink and probably food, but not to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and smelt very damp shower had mould on the walls and took ages to get warm! Floor boards outside the room were creaky and copy us up! Breakfast was cold and hard with stale cereal. Asked for two bottles of water for the road and paid £8 odd for them and was disgusted at the price.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room rather small, although it is a very old inn. Floors a little slopey and stairs steep - but then it is a very old inn. Bathroom a bit tight for space, but then – well, you get the idea! None of these a deal-breaker, but just saying in case you, dear reader, have a penchant for cat-swinging in your hotel room.

    Excellent staff, food and drink. Both dinner and breakfast very good, served in a friendly manner, and good choices. Sensibly-priced wine list - and Fuller's beer!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst an old pub, room was small, sloping floor, bathroom was so tiny. If we came back would need a bigger room Breakfast was not as nice as we had before disappointing

    Staff welcoming, location great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt barman could have handled taking dinner order better. My wife ordered my meal which included in price a 175ml glass of wine, however he then asked whether it was a large glass (250) or a small I wanted and when my wife answered large he then charged for a large glass and disregarded the fact a glass of wine was included in price.We only picked this up after paying for dinner and going back to room, when I went back and queried it he then said a large glass was not included in price and that was what my wife had ordered and then very reluctantly he gave me back 5 GBP

    Dinner good, breakfast good to very good, beautiful quaint old pub little changed from our last visits 40 years ago

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very clean room with a wonderful shower. Room had everything you could want. Pub attached friendly, doesn't do food but other places nearby did. Breakfast was excellent. Stayed here walking Thames Path and was in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little warm on a hot sunny day but cooled down in the evening - there was a fan provided in the room. One of the smallest bathrooms (shower only) I've ever had but it was adequate.

    An old Inn retaining many of its old features. Was convenient for an overnight stay following a family party at another much more expensive venue in Sonning. The Breakfast was one of the best that I've ever had and beats most 4* hotel's. Traditional village bar with good real ale (Fullers).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with a good clean under the beds. Rooms are quite dark but that is the character of a very old building.

    Convenient for our attendance at a family wedding. We had 3 rooms. Very good breakfast. Management friendly and attentive to our needs. We recommend walking through the churchyard and along the towpath to Sonning Lock (on the River Thames) to walk off the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some things needed some amendment like the knobs in the shower which missed caps. Very small room with a big chair with hocker which we didn't use but took a lot of space. We had a room close to the door next to the fire stairs, unfortunately when you look outside it was a bit messy at the back. This is why I think the price is a bit too high per night.

    Charming old Inn with terrace and good food. Bed was nice and comfortable. Lovely breakfast made to order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything particularly!

    We found the bed very comfortable and the room generally well equipped and furnished - nice to have more than the usual one chair - there was a small sofa to sit. on. The shower was modern and spacious and there was plenty of hot water. The room had very squeaky floorboards and steep stairs to access - but of course it's an old building. The staff were very pleasant and we had an excellent breakfast and plenty of time in the morning to pack before we had to vacate the room.. It was very handy for the "Mill" and easily walkable in about 7 minutes; best to do that in order to keep your car parking space, which was limited.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs a bit of a face lift. Also the stairs to the room are extremely steep so not recommended for heavy luggage or if you have mobility issues.

    Nice location and being able to sit outside in pleasant surroundings. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The level of service was beyond anything one could imagine . We arrived very late and yet the staff member opened up for us even though she had to return from home . The food was absolutely amazing and very reasonably priced . The location was superb , next to a canal and the level of service , the standard of the rooms made the whole experience fabulous

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight problem is the car park is quite small and roadside parking at a premium !

    Owners very friendly and helpful as were the staff. Good service, food excellent and a lovely location just a gentle stroll from the river.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside, the parkinglot takes up so much space which is a bit sad instead of using this space as a garden.

    This is a fantastic place to stay. Nice Old pub downstairs with a fireplace and Nice selection of beer and cider. The room i got was large and the bed was lovely. The bathroom was brand new, really great. I was served a great full english breakfast with juice and Coffee. I would like to come back very soon. Very Nice Staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could have done with a shop or two within walking distance but you really have to drive everywhere. If you want to go shopping in Reading (about 4-5 miles away) get a taxi (£9 each way) saves the hassle of driving and looking for somewhere to park.

    Rooms were quaint, rustic, clean. The breakfasts were excellent (with great choice). We had dinner one evening and it was perfect - excellent value for money - all meals were fabulous (but I can particularly recommend the corn-fed chicken, husband would recommend the Steak & Ale pie). Bar prices I found a little steep (for ales) and yet bottles of wine at table, and spirits, were really no different than anywhere else in the location. The management and staff at the hotel were absolutely brilliant and couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a little dirty and wouldn't drain properly.

    Idyllic location, the hotel and bar restaurant was full of character and great ambiance. Food was excellent, the breakfast also, I own a Deli and could tell that everything was freshly prepared.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you room is just above the pub, like mine, then get ready to stay awake until 11.30pm. Alternatively, you can have your headphones with you to avoid it.

    A warm welcome from the cheerful staff. A clean and warm room with a comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast. I also loved the antique furniture used all around the place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking, the ensuite and a lack of comfy chairs.

    A lovely old village pub with a wealth of charm. The room was clean and as well presented as possible in a very, very old property. The ensuite shower room was extremely small - not much more than a broom cupboard unfortunately. The sink was tiny and shielded by a glass shelf above. The toilet seat wouldn't stay up (difficult for men!!!) However one must make allowances for a very old building. The ambience was good but a very, very busy pub and we couldn't eat when we arrived because we hadn't reserved a table. There didn't seem to be anywhere to relax in comfy chairs with our friends, and parking was a nightmare. The staff were friendly and helpful however, any overall we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was slightly undercooked. When we mentioned the fact there was no apology. When checking out we had to wait a long time for someone to arrive and kitchen staff that walked by totally ignored us.

    The restaurant was lovely and the food very tasty. The bar had plenty of real ales available,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower did not work so well but it was good enough so I did not mention it (which I would have done if really unusable). Nothing really to add here - it was a very nice stay here.

    Lovely location and a very attractive inn with helpful and friendly staff. The best London beer I ever had!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked open fires burning and more comfortable seating for guests in the bars. Mainly turned over to food so difficult for guests to sit and relax.

    Bed was really comfortable, staff excellent and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in the morning for washing, the glass shelf above the sink collapsed sending all its contents into the water in the sink. Although we told the management about the lack of hot water before paying, no reduction was made to our bill. The rooms and bathrooms need a lot of money spent on them to bring them up to the standard people now expect.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, the atmosphere in the old country inn was lovely. The location, so close to the Thames, was very pretty. It was a great place to meet old friends.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was tiny, very old and tired sheets didn't fit a tiny and rickety bed bathroom door didn't shut pretty dreadful all for the grand sum of £120

    Pleasant staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, all the staff are super friendly & well trained. Food is exceptionally good, a really high standard. Rooms are clean & have lots of character.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and a perhaps a little over-priced.

    A welcoming and comfortable stay in a very cosy and atmospheric inn - the food was excellent - great breakfast and a very reasonably priced evening menu for dinner - nice not to have to leave the premises after a long walk along the Thames Path.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the rooms are really steep which is due to the age of the building & can't be avoided. However, if you're no good on steep stairs this isn't for you. There is a hand rail but it was 'sticky' and felt as though it needed a good scrub. The room was comfortable even though a tad over crowded with too many 'tables' that were of little use. En suite was disappointing. Plug & loo seat both broken & need changing, extractor fan clearly not the right size due to amount of damp on sloping ceiling. Lighting too dim. Despite clean linen, pillows were past their best. Revamp the shower room, replace pillows & take out two of the side tables (at least!) & you have a super place to stay.

    A quintessential British pub draped in beautiful flowers in a lovely location; if you head for a walk along the tow path you're in for a real treat. Both breakfast & evening meal were well cooked & would happily recommend both.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pokey - expected much better for our £135 per night. Outside seating area cramped and felt like a car park. There was nowhere to sit in in the bar other than a bar stool - it was set out 100% as a restaurant

    Dinner was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indifference of manager. Rudeness of breakfast waiter especially in response to wrongly served order. Handle on shower cubicle door broken. Stained toilet bowl. No top sheet!

    Potential character and charm, lots of opportunities wasted.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beer we ordered was flat but the manager was happy to replace with a fresh one which was much better.

    Beautiful setting, lovely traditional pub, great personal friendly service. Room was neat and tidy and lots of character. Food at the pub was delicious and restaurant has really nice relaxed atmosphere, and candles on each table. It was lovely sitting out in the pub garden on a summers evening. We had to leave extra early the next morning and the manager kindly arranged for us to be given bacon sandwiches to takeaway! Yum. Would recommend to anyone for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom being above the kitchen was very hot through the night but we aren't overly fussy so we would still stay there again. And there could have been a bit more fruit put out although we where lazy and only came down for breakfast at 9.45am so most of fruit had gone.

    Black pudding on the breakfast was the best we have ever tasted. The coat hangers behind the door in our room offered us a bit of a chuckle as our wardrobe...we loved our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent stay in a very picturesque village. A superbly comfortable room - amazing king bed, huge bath, view over the BBQ area. Evening meal was delicious as was porridge and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs but very poor fruit options for the cereal with only dried fruit options. Staff were efficient and pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we stayed in was very small and it was very noisy up until early hours of the morning. The room was stifling hot. The bed was on a slope and we physically kept sliding down the bed. The waiter that served us at breakfast seemed like he was hungover and gave a poor service. We were given the wrong bill at the end of our stay which we realised once we were home. This was however rectified very quickly and without problem when I rang to explain about the overcharge.

    The location was very pretty.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get to from Thames Path. Old world pub charm. Staff accepted our bags early, had them in our rooms when we arrived from our walk, and had a crib ready for my granddaughter. The food in the pub is 4/star excellent. Book early.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great atmosphere and hospitality. Warm welcome and comfy beds. Breakfast was delicious. Room wasn't quite ready but we were offered tea while we waited which was appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking not easy in the car park or the village. very little information given on arrival.

    Accommodated access to room early and no issue getting back in when home late, as we stayed over for a wedding. Lovely quaint venue and comfortable enough.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a single room, billed as a standard double, and charged accordingly. Yes, it had a double bed, but it was otherwise so tiny that I doubt anyone would have the audacity to put 2 people in it. The wardrobe amounted to 2 coat hangers and a hook.The toilet/basin were in such a cramped area that washing/shaving was tricky. The room was immediately above the bar area, and immediately next to the outdoor seated area and car park. It was extremely noisy. The cooked breakfast was vast, which I didn't like, but I suppose it could appeal to someone. It's an old inn and has appeal from that point of view, and some allowances have to made. So I can't altogether condemn the place for its low ceilings and creaking floorboards, but I can say that nothing else about the place made me want to forget these natural disadvantages. It was not a comfortable stay, and it was poor value.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small room with only a dodgy rail for hanging things and no other storage. Incredibly small shower room / toilet which was very worn. Overlooks patio area which is obviously going to be noisy in warmer weather. Stairs not very easy for older guests.

    Lots of character. Comfy bed. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: