Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bunchrew House Hotel 4 stars

Bunchrew, Inverness, IV3 8TA, United Kingdom

#2 of 34 hotels in Inverness

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1597 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a beautiful hotel and setting .we saw an amazing sunrise here and awoke to the lapping of the Beauley firth.... Magical. We booked very last minute as we were travelling around Scotland and ended up with the Suite. What a fantastic annex ,Built with disabled in mind which is thoughtful,we had a comfortable and luxurious evening. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been a little more comfortable.

    The dinner was amazing. Beautiful property with a beautiful view. Lovely place to sit outside for morning coffee or a glass of wine in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of smell in our room. We did not report it to anyone as we were only there for one night

    The old Manor house is stepped in history and such a perfect setting for a night in the Scottish country. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and always happy to assist.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is fabulous!!! It has a view on the water and there are little benches with tables outside where we can have a glass of wine and relax. The inside of the hotel is spectacular, it really feels like you are in another century. We went to the bar and the bartender was really sweet, he told us about all the whiskeys and where they come from. The room was cosy and bathroom really clean. Breakfast was good, we had many options. Definitely the best place we have stayed in Scotland!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a great location, staff very friendly and seek to accomodate your every wish. Very comfortable, so much so have booked again to stop over on my return journey.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    I think this is the first time a give a clean 10 rating, but this hotel is fantastic from all points of view: location in a mansion by the sea, extremely professional and friendly staff, Michelin restaurant and bar equipped with the best ales, gins and malts Scotland has to offer. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beds were too soft and worn out lumpy springs sticking in our backs

    Fabulous looking hotel staff very welcoming and accomodating to our pet friendly and very clean property, the most fabulous dinner and breakfast iv ever had delicious food, what let it down was the bed worn out and lumpy neither myself or our partner had a decent nights sleep value for money no , all the beds are soft we were told which is no good for people with back problems like myself... room was ok, nothing special, but loved the toiletries , service was decent very accomodating more than anything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a very powerful or easy-to-use shower. Perhaps more vegetarian choices in the menu?

    We had a blissful week at the Bunchrew which we used as our base for daily outings to nearby walks and tourist attractions in the Highlands. A very comfortable, large room with views over the gardens and a side view of the lovely Beauly Firth. We had booked for B&B and had not really intended to eat in every night, but the quality of the cuisine was so high that we changed our minds and very much enjoyed the nightly routine of gathering in the sitting room for pre-dinner drinks and tasty, unusual canapes. The menu is quite small but that does mean that everything is more likely to be freshly prepared and some of the selection changed halfway through our week so we were not short of choices. Dishes we especially liked were the venison, pigeon and salmon, the two veloutes on offer, and the butternut squash risotto. The petit choux (stack of little choux pastries filled with vanilla and pistachio cream with hazelnuts and cinnamon ranks amongst my top 3 puddings of all time! The staff were all delightful, friendly and unending helpful - extra requests we had, like a bowl of fruit in our room, were attended to immediately. Everything was made even more magical by day after day of perfect weather, but I can imagine that the Bunchrew would be a cosy haven in bad weather - you just wouldn't get the lovely views. I saw a red squirrel in the garden and a heron came daily to the shore. We didn't want to leave at the end of our week and can't wait to come back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    We had a lovely room with a four poster bed and views over the garden. The room was quite spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. The food was beautiful and the service was exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit short and older. In line with an estate house hotel but I did expect something larger than a queen

    Very quiet out of the way location with wonderful food and bar facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated in a stunning location only minutes from Inverness by car, the staff are both professional and pleasant, the room was very comfortable and well appointed. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got one tiny croissant. Half a slice of black pudding and haggis. The breakfast was not worth paying an extra £15 for. Quality and quantity was not of sufficient standard. On checking out we were asked if we wanted to add gratuity onto the bill.

    Location and view. Chocolates in room was a nice touch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fabulous from the moment we arrived. Beautiful location, all the staff were warm & welcoming. Decor is traditional luxury yet it feels incredibly homely to relax in the lounge or bar beside the fireplaces. We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant...the chef has great skills & the service was 1st class. Breakfast was delicious too. Would stay again without hesitation..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very excited to be staying at the "pink" castle for the night. However, the facilities failed to measure up to our expectations based on pictures on the web site. Our room was very "tired", the carpet was worn out, and we were unable to get hot water in the bathroom sink. A 'welcoming ' drink was advertised, but we missed the hours and were declined the goodwill gesture when we inquired.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have dinner as would have preferred a lighter choice with maybe only 1 or 2 courses.Not everyone wants a large evening meal. Didn't have breakfast as again would have preferred lighter continental option. Not everyone wants a large breakfast. Or to eat much less but still pay full price. Wifi was not available in the suite.

    The hotel and the location were excellent. The Craigton suite was really lovely and everything we could need. Have recommended it to several friends. A doggy treat would be nice for 4 legged visitors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed was actually two singles pushed together

    Premium double room turned out to be disabled suite in an annex, so huge room and bathroom with views of the sea. Beautiful location and outlook, and who doesn't want to stay in a pink fairy castle!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reviews told me it was not great, however, the restaurant was above expectations, with our 2 dinners being the 2nd best meals in 15 days in Scotland, (chicken mushroom and lamb shank). Only Corner hotel in Carnoustie was better. The room was ok, with a crooked headboard, crumbled blanket in closet, hair in bathtub, and burnt match on windowsill. Still, I liked the room, with the good water pressure, and tub. Bed hard, but OK. Leagher chair, a bonue, buf pillows so so. However, after the surprisingly good meals, fun bartender, singer from Portugal, and lovely settings with paintingz, pillars et al, the pkace began to feel like home. Overall, considering the price, I would say 4.6/5. Thanks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really. Nothing to dislike!

    The location is amazing. Close to the shore. It was nice to arrive late at night and woke up to beautiful scenery. We stayed in the pet-friendly room detached from the rest of the hotel. We arrived late but we were warmly greeted. Luckily we made it before the kitchen closed. Do not skip the restaurant. Exquisite! Dinner and Breakfast were amazing. Lounge is comfortable. Love the fireplace. Room is spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is huge!! Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't think we needed to have each course introduced to us like Masterchef. Just our own preference.

    Excellent setting. Very relaxing. Lots of interesting history surrounding the property itself. Excellent dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a delight overlooking the loch with small lounge area for making tea/coffee. Very large ensuite. Food was exquisite and service excellent. Would totally recommend this hotel and restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I enjoyed my expensive dinner the parsimonious main course portions were disappointing. A throwback to the ridiculous days of nouvelle cuisine. And I wasn’t the only guest to notice it.

    An attractive, peaceful old Scottish lochside house well away from any road noise. Everything was clean, tidy and fresh, the staff were first rate. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty. Dinner was quite expensive but, again, well prepared and presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If only we could have stayed longer.

    The staff cannot be praised any higher - they are all beyond excellent. Dinner at the restaurant was one of the highlights of our trip; the chef prepared food that was phenomenal to the eye and palate. The room provided basic accommodations but was certainly adequate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dated staircase . Carrying heavy luggages up 3 to 4 flights of old staircases is quite tiring.

    BunChrew House is a unique place. We were very fortunate to have made a change in our travel itinerary to drive to Iverness near Lochness and stay a night. The house like an old summer chateau, though quite dated, is nicely refurbished with each room in the property nicely done up and each is different. All the beds and furniture & fittings in each room are quite new and nicely furnished. It was what you see in the photos /pics shown . There are no lifts as this is a summer house, and one has to carry luggages up a dated staircase . And depending on the room, could be on the third floor. The lounge and dining areas were nice , and reminded us of old British club houses . The morning breakfast menus and service were very good. BunChrew House is near to the sea coast and will be a great place to spend a nice summer holiday by the sea and also a short drive into the city ( Iverness). Really, it is a special gem in the suburbs , a real nice place & experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a shame the extended gardens have been left to nature. Around the house though gardens are lovely. Especially Duncan Forbes tree, magnificent.

    The welcome was really warm and informative. Seated at the window looking out over the river for evening meal. Very attentive staff. Extra soft sheets on the bed were delightful. The food was excellent. Well presented, served and tasted wonderful.Bar staff were well informed on the malts. We enjoyed a few.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen stained with what looked like makeup. Towels also looked old and lipstick on a face flannel.

    Set in a fantastic location. Friendly staff, lovely interior.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Set in a beautiful location, this is a really first class hotel, the public rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. An ideal place to stay and relax in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only problem was with our bill at the end. The dinner and drinks for both couples were all on my room tab, but it was sorted out.

    Exquisite dinner experience!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were stained (but clean), very slow Internet connection, bed mattress should have been replaced a few years ago. We would have eaten at hotel but restaurant was very pricey so we headed downtown Inverness for dinner/breakfast.

    Very comfy athmosphere, well maintained landscaping, nice location near the water. We had a fair rate for the room on Internet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was disappointing. Dinner is pretty expensive for the quality you get. Breakfast is limited: you need to order a single item from a pretty short menu (it's not a buffet), and they charge extra for some items.

    Amazing location, comfortable and cozy lounge area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating at night was switched off, and it was too cold to do that. The portable room heater was too noisy.

    The elegant spacious room, the glorious setting with stunning views, the lovely breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was very slow at the end of dinner and for breakfast; we had to wait at least half an hour on both occasions.

    The food was great and the dining room offered spectacular views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The building is emblematic. Staff treated us very well and making us feel really comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and location was superb, in a very quiet area but with impressive views. Breakfast was high-quality, with table service and options to select from other than the traditional English breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A superb venue for a romantic break. The location and atmosphere is wonderful. If you like gin you are in for a treat. The food at dinner and breakfast was lovely. Friendly staff and nicely furnished rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee in the room was not to my taste, a minor issue and certainly doesn’t detract from this stunning hotel.

    A hotel that you leave feeling completely relaxed, recharged and spoiled. The hotel and grounds are amazing and the staff complete the picture with attentive service and relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was only working in the lounge but not in the room and the TV was not working.

    Very romantic hotel and pretty luxurious. The breakfast is exceptional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay in Bunchrew House, it was exactly what we were looking for. A picturesque country retreat that is well connected to nearby attractions. The house was determinedly Scottish, the food was excellent and we felt very cosy in our authentic rooms. I wasn't sure about the pink facade or the interiors, judging on the pictures but in real life it was fantastic. We had two delicious dinners at the hotel, tramping back from nearby excursions to make the most of hotel lounges and facilities. Pricey but worthwhile. Breakfast was also wonderful. Highly recommendable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm comfy atmosphere like you are in your living room with the fireplace on. The food was amazing. We had both breakfast and dinner. The hotel staff was amazing. They helped you with everything even plugging in your iPhone charger.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bunchrew Hotel is in a picturesque location . The staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming. The restaurant overlooks the Beauly Firth a lovely view at breakfast time. The food is delicious and we'll presented. A wonderful 2 night stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food well prepared - but expensive. As it is an old building - more could be done to make bedrooms less draughty (windows seals needed). Packed lunch ridiculously expensive for what was provided.

    Excellent helpful staff - food carefully prepared, tastefully decorated and well equipped rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a buffet breakfast, at least some bits like toasts, fruit and juices, as we had to wait a long time to get it. All food need to be order to the waiter.

    The breakfast is tasty. The bar is very cosy and the views amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom decor and soft furnishings were tired; window would not stay open without a prop and was draughty when closed; gave impression that cleaning could have been more thorough..

    Location, service, historic country house atmosphere, quality and presentation of (somewhat minimalist) cuisine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced drinks and room needed a good hover and dust..gold tray for holding cups and saucers needed a good clean..

    The staff were lovely and a good tasty breakfast 🍳😋

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the best hotels we stayed in, very peaceful and romantic. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing. The room was very clean, nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Scottish Breakfast was pretty average. Disappointing as it was advertised as superb breakfast. Both sausage and blackpudding were cold and fried eggs were undercooked. All other items were ok though.

    Fresh orange juice was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it

    Friendly, welcoming staff. Fresh milk in the fridge for tea/coffee. Comfortable bed. Breakfast 10/10. Third stay at Bunchrew and will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not Much. Breakfast menu was a bit complicated with prices and supplementary charges. Coffee making facilities in room but no milk (didn’t get round to asking though- I am sure it would have been brought)

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there was a long hair in the bath when we just checked into our room and the evening meue was set at two prices. The lowest was set at £38 for two courses per person and it didn't give us a choice of ordering serparate. It was a shame as it put us off eating at the hotel because we didn't want two or three course.

    Breakfast. Excellent choice and great coffee. Great afternoon tea and cakes. Beautiful location and surroundings. Comfy bed and cozy room. Saff very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving

    The log fires on a snowy evening. The professional welcome ans being shown to my lovely room Quality of towels bedding napiary etc. Lovely heavy glasses with wine and water. Brilliant maitre d from Stornoway and trained waiting staff. Stunning views over Beauly Firth. I knew this hotel and thought the price was a mistake and I'd booked afternoon tea. Perfect setting for an Agatha Christie Novel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was strange that people were brought starter/snacks for meals in the drawing room when others weren't eating. It should all be kept in the dining room and keep drinks in the drawing room. Or else have small finger food for everyone to sample.

    The room was loveland warm despite the freezing cold weather. There was also board games available to play

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was nice and big, but could be more comfortable. Room had a strange smell.

    Incredibly charming & romantic house with wonderful view. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent and exceeded our expectations. Staff very helpful and very kind! Loved it and would absolutely want to visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Service is exceptional with so many friendly people. As a lone traveller, it was so nice to have conversations with a number of them. And the food - OMG the food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That our stay wasn’t longer!!

    We had a lovely overnight stay in a spacious room. Staff were attentive and pleasant. We ate dinner at the Hotel and the food was amazing from the amuse bouche to the dessert everything tasted wonderful and the presentation was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi could have been better.

    The room was great - spacious and perfectly decorated. Nice bar downstairs with a fireplace and good selection of whiskies. Staff was very attentive and supportive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was expensive and it’s about £12 in a taxi to Inverness so if your in a tight budget for dinner maybe not the best, however the food and menu was fantastic if you can afford it!

    Staff were excellent warm and friendly young hostess in general light hair made us feel very welcome and went the extra mile by offering to print a document I had left at home and needed for a conference I was speaking at.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Meals and drinks were excellent but rather pricey

    As it was my birthday on our 2nd day of our 2 day stay we were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite with views over the sea and given a complimentary glass of bubbles before dinner

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the evening meals were of the highest quality and it was a shame to spoil the presentation skills of the chefs but the food looked and tasted amazing and the bar was well stocked with a fine array of malts and scottish gins

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could get an improvement, although staff quickly offered us Lactos free milk for my wife!

    We liked the view form our windows!We liked the Drawing room! We liked the fire place!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints

    The room was huge, bed was great, very comfy. View out was excellent, the bathroom was a little small but had everything we needed. Staff was excellent couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 person in the party had food intolerances, this was made clear at the booking stage, check-in and breakfast. Poor choice of food, nothing meat or dairy free. Staff very unhelpful. Disappointing. Also no wifi.

    4 poster bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service whilst serving drinks. Even though the Hotel states it is pet friendly you can only take your dog in the bar area which would be ok if they would serve any food there but there is no option at all to take your dog for breakfast or dinner so we had a very expensive (£10 service fee) meal in out room and no breakfast. Food was excellent though

    Nice big room with a comfortable bed and a great view, very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very happy overall, if I had to pick things I didn’t like they’d be minor. Such as the hairdryer was weak, it took a a long time to dry hair after I washed it. Very minor gripes like that. Dinner was expensive, but breakfast and afternoon were great value for money. I would recommend a heavy breakfast and afternoon tea and skip dinner altogether.

    Bed was comfy, there was always a cosy lit fire somewhere in the hotel to read a book, and always staff around to ask if you want a pot of tea. Close to the main town of Inverness, close to the airport, but has that feel of being really secluded and somewhere special so you have the best of both. The staff did offer to carry heavy bags up to our room and gave my mum a hot water bottle when she said her back felt a bit stiff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal available due to Valentines event. Nothing mentioned about this when booking. Had to leave premises to eat !!!

    Excellent breakfast, quality ingredients very well presented

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really can't think of anything!

    This is the perfect place to feel a wee bit pampered. Excellent breakfasts served at table- no self serve buffet here! - and fine dining in the evening. Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Room and bathroom perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have eaten in the restaraunt but the menu they showed at the front of house was quite pricey and didn't have much vegetarian options.

    Loved the little lounge bar at the front. Enjoyed sitting there with a glass of wine in front of the fire. Staff were lovely and attentive. It is in such a beautiful location and the surrounding areas were just beautiful. I had such a good time and I was a little sad to go home!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better! Go and see for yourselves....

    Staff were charming and helpful; our dog was welcomed; the room was well thought-out and huge, with everything you could possible want (including herbal teas and fresh milk). The hotel has a relaxed yet beautifully classy atmosphere and the grounds include some wonderful old cedar trees, plus lovely views along the Morray Firth.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices advertised on line wine price list were way out of date by about 30% Fire door right out side our room banged very loudly every time it was used. No option for vegetable with dinner which was lamb 3 ways which was lovely, but lamb on its own was not what I expected !

    Lovely hotel, brilliant views, helpful friendly staff and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious. The chef was truly Michelin worthy- had delightful dinner nightly. Please do plan to eat dinner at the hotel. The manager and all personel at the Bunchrew were so attentive to our every need. Bar has a nice selection of local gin and Scotch’s. Our favorite evening activity was playing chess by the fireplace with a cocktail after dinner in the drawing room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. Comfortable, with friendly and attentive staff. Accommodation is good value for money. Restaurant is fine dining. A bit pricey for every night, but the food is FANTASTIC!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not a fan of fine dining a choice of plain traditional food would be good

    We have stayed at the Bunchrew house hotel several times .The check in was done by the assistant manager as always very efficient He was very friendly explained in detail rooms meal times etc.nothing was any trouble for him .All the staff were very friendly and attentive .The breakfast was cooked to order and was beautiful The fresh flowers on the table is a nice touch Well done to you .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved it at Bunchrew House - it was absolutely beautiful, helpful, attentive staff, gorgeous location and rooms - best hotel I've ever stayed in!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Bathroom could do with being updated but still acceptable. - Only a "one price" expensive evening meal menu.

    - The country hotel style atmosphere and furnshings. - bed was very comfortable. - bedroom furnished well and commfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gettting my 7am morning call at 5.30. Ham hock and sweet onion marmalade ruining eggs benedict at breakfast

    Superb room and views over the Beauly Firth

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Excellent service and room exceeded our expectations, great table service breakfast. I highly recommend the Bunchcrew and would have no hesitation in returning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath marked with paint. Would of liked a shower seperate rather than in the bath.

    Room staff and food. Loccation amazing! Atmospheric in every way. Made my birthday Having high tea ..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner-exceedingly small portions of excellently presented tasty food Not quite warm enough either Poor value for money

    Staff excellent Good sized comfortable room Log fires!!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bunchrew House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: