Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Burn Hall Hotel 3 stars

Tollerton Road, Huby, YO61 1JB, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Huby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1102 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    3.8
    Back to the military
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old converted military barracks. No sound proofing. Old military furniture. Place looks tired in the corridors and room.

    Loads of car parking spaces.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    8.3
    The gin in the bar the waiter was lovely and told him a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator noise all night even tho it wasn’t on, the waste pipe from toilet from upstairs was at the back of the head board and kept me up all night and there wasn’t enough milk in the room for tea and coffee

    The gin in the bar the waiter was lovely and told him a few good places to find different ones

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.5
    Bed was not comfortable, mattress was not a good quality and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable, mattress was not a good quality and pillows weee very thin. Bath / shower was temperamental - tap to turn shower to bath did not work

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    5.4
    Ok! As a stop off ! But I wouldn’t want to stay longer than one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable mattress! Headboard very hard to sit up right! Chair in room needed removing very tatty and uncomfortable poor lighting! Room tired looking!I Breakfast was very busy! Didn’t have food area filled back up quick enough.No Fried eggs! Only scrambled ,when we asked the said they where cooked to order (which was good!) but took at least 10 mins to arrive in which time I had eaten my breakfast ! And husband already had the rest of his breakfast on the plate so when the eggs arrived the rest of breakfast was cold !!!! Maybe a large sign on food area stating you needed to order your eggs ! May have been a better solution!

    Very quiet ! Basic room!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful surroundings, very spacious and clean rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally was comfortable with the choice of food on offer and thoroughly enjoyed my meal; however, you are pretty limited in choices.

    Beautiful surroundings, very spacious and clean rooms, accommodating staff and suitable parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.3
    Nice building, fairly convenient to York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was very restricted close to the entrances. Since the location is very remote from public transport, virtually every guest most travel by car or bus. Parking lot in front/side should be enlarged.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.1
    Room was comfortable, though a little cold.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff member signing me in was not welcoming. In comparison to a recent stay in a Premiere Inn, where the welcome was miles apart, actually welcoming!

    Room was comfortable, though a little cold.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable. We will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a room at the front of the building - not complaining but will know next time we visit.

    The bar and restaurant. Beautiful rooms, excellent prices and lovely food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    5.8
    Probably the dullest hotel I have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like staying in a care home! Bright lights, no ambience, no soft lighting and heat on when it was already 20 degrees outside! The website photos made it look attractive but it wasn't. The entrance looked clinical and uninviting. The bedroom was like a Travelodge room or student halls of residence room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    5.4
    o.k
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a twin room our beds were side by side no gaps between them and not 3ft wide which is the normal size of a single bed more like 2ft 6ins which to me is child size. it had all the facilities but was a bit basic

    The location was o.k

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    This is the second time we have stayed here and we were not disappointed it's a lovely friendly place and the service is very good rooms are nice and compy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.3
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were miserable. Look low on morale. On Check out never sled if we enjoyed our stay or any issues... No heating in the room, asked reception twice through the evening and was told it’s on a timer, never came in before 10pm? Not really good enough for a hotel.

    Good value. Nice quiet location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Food was good and staff friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices a little expensive and disappointed the bedrooms were in what seemed a modern day annexe rather than a period building. The name suggests a country manor but there seemed little left of that. Friends paying the same price were provided with complimentary slippers and dressing gown but these were missing from my room.

    Food was good and staff friendly and efficient. Rooms well catered for and clean. Hotel was very clean. The bar and sitting area was very comfortable, a great area for groups to meet up.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.9
    Provided the need for being convenient for my visit to the area.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not a lover of buffet breakfast, preferring waiter service, but I realise that that is now normal in nearly all hotels. I dislike 'queuing' to make toast, then finding the automatic toaster is inefficiently set! needing the bread to go through twice, then of course it pops out burnt!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    Was ok for the money but wouldnt go again unless cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were short, didnt engage us as we arrived and didnt supply additional information like the location of our room, location of bar/resturant etc so simple service was poor overall, hallway was creaky and the room above ours same so early morning vould hear every step of person in room. Matress' were lile sleeping on the floor. I have a bad back anyway but this agrevatted it hugely as little give. Shower to bath switch pipe very stiff so had to call reception but doesnt explain how to in any of the leaflets. Staff also were not able to claim my fathers points on his card as couldnt find his details although all are printed on his business card... Overall disapointed.

    The buffet breakfast was lovely, overall fairly clean, parking needs to be more defined but otherwise whole site has parking even if you park other side of the building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    Could be good - but isn't
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were at times rude and certainly the majority were miserable. We were given wrong information i.e. breakfast included and then charged for it (we would have preferred to go out to eat but as were told it was included opted to stay in).

    Nice location near York (although a 30 min taxi round out) and nice grounds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    4.6
    very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were looking forward to staying at the Burn Hall Hotel, however, we were soon to regret our choice. The staff were helpful and friendly, but our room was cold especially the bathroom, it was freezing and when we reported it too the reception we were informed that the towel rail heater had to be turned off as it was faulty and got to hot. The bathroom was larger than normal as l am a wheelchair user, and it was adapted, too a point, you had to step into and out of the bath in order to have a shower and you could not sit down, unless, if you did sit in the bath, then, you could not get out of it without a lot of help. The bedroom was nice and big, plenty of space, but no comfortable chairs and again the room was a bit on the chilly side, the bed however, came under the 'never again' heading. it appeared to have a plastic mattress covering which caused us to have horrendous night sweats and we were forced to use a bath towel as a lower sheet. So far no good, just to finish it of, the room was never vacuumed in the five days we were there, which made it feel grubby. l cut my finger on the arm chair in the Benson's bar, on the side seam staple, on the whole, all the arm chairs were dirty and in poor repair and to be honest, as l am being, there were in total less than thirty arm chairs for the whole hotel, so when full or busy, they are at a premium.and l think that is it for the general state of the Burn Hall. The food was ok and plentiful, as was breakfast, but don't ask for a lightly boiled egg, as it seems they have difficulty in preparing them! 5 days and not a one. We paid £500 in total for our mini hols bed and breakfast plus our evening meal and one bottle of house wine at £17.00.. l think we could have done much better with hine sight, and l actually thought that with staying at a Best Western Hotel we would be safe and well catered for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Overall my husband and I had a very pleasant stay , it was all I hoped it would be .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all very satisfactory for our stay .

    We had breakfast and evening meal and were very satisfied on both occasions . There was plenty of choice from the menu and the staff were very pleasant and obliging nothing was too much trouble . Also the food was nice and hot .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful, peaceful location, clean uncluttered communal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was really cold, we were told the radiator was on a timer but at no point during the evenings did the radiator get warm. Everywhere was clean apart from the lip of the bath which was thick with scum. Paid almost £10/person/breakfast, it’s very steep for the quality of what’s on offer, I’ve had much better breakfasts for a lot less.

    Beautiful, peaceful location, clean uncluttered communal areas, lovely staff. Really enjoyed a look round and talk from the very knowledgeable staff at the bird sanctuary next door (free tickets)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    we always like staying at thr Burn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    At dinner I asked for no green beans, as I do not like them, the chef sent a selection of other veg for my meal, so considerate of them. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Dinner was very very nice,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel didn't have sky TV which we thought was odd in this day and age. Room was cold had to ask for heating to be put on. We thought breakfast should of been continental as well.

    Dinner was very very nice,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not as good as before, no hot chocolate !! Scrambled eggs not good.

    Very comfortable room. Staff mostly excellent especially the guy behind the bar who was excellent despite fighting a cold. He would do well in a much higher grade hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged my debit card for breakfast after we had left which I only happened to notice on my bank statement later on( we had already paid for inclusive breakfast)

    Friendly hardworking waitresses

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Excellence bar none!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing could have been better. Couldn't find fault in any area. Everyone concerned with our stay should be hugely complimented for always operating above the call of duty. Thank you all, we'll be back!! Really hope all Best Western Hotels are as excellent as the Burn Hall is. Our first stay in one of your hotels and they set a VERY high standard to compete with.

    Excellent staff extremely helpful, always courteous, nothing was too much trouble. The location was also superb, very simple to get to the many places of interest. The quality of the Hotel for the excellent price we paid was amazing and all visitors were treated the same. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back and for longer. Loved it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable 3 night stay. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More rooms with showers, not overbaths. Would appreciate not having to fit our evening meal time around the constant coach parties. Lack of longe space.

    Helpfulness of staff, particularly in restaurant. Easy access to room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    Basic and Loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy people shouting down hallways and cleaners banging about in rooms. Very very basic, more basic than a premier inn / holiday inn. Not worth the cost.

    Quick check in and out, but it was midnight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for a ridiculously low price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really?

    Very nice hotel in pleasant surroundings. Comfortable room with ample amenities and very nice food! Staff were courteous and helpful. All this for a very low price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Hotel lovely and clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were very serious, never smiled. Made you feel awkward. We thought we booked bed and breakfast . But end of stay we were charged 59.00 My son booked direct bed and breakfast and his was a lot cheaper.

    Hotel lovely and clean . Breakfast a bit disapointed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Great staff and food, but room was not worth the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was noisy and uncomfortable no replacement of shower gel or shampoo chair seet was split

    The staff were very friendly and helpful food was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    2.5
    Won’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything?

    Booking.com said it was 8 mile away from Ampleforth, was actually 20. Couldn’t get taxi from hotel at all and no where to walk from hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    realy enjoyed our stay and will deffinetly stay there again next time we are that way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the disable bay parking was on some chippings and it was a bit far away from the entrance

    the room was very clean and the beds were lovely and comfortable, as i was in wheel chair staff would push me up ramp to restaurant for food and to the bar if i wanted a drink, the staff were excellent they could not do enough to help us

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Functionally met the need but not a place to stay for a number of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tables outside of hotel were old, grubby and there was an absence of waiter service.

    Room was OK; breakfast was average. Car park was packed. No realistic opportunities for local walks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand that booking in time is 2.00 We arrived at around 1.00 so went to the bar for a drink Asked at the reception at 1.50 to book in as we had people meeting us at 2.00 and still not allowed in In the end we went out for the day and collected the key when we got back Seemed a little petty not to let us have access to the room 10 mins early as it must have been ready

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.9
    Very poor greeting and “service” at reception, however,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor greeting and “service” at reception, however, insignificant compared to the bed in the room. The smallest, most uncomfortable “double” bed we have ever slept in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    Late check-in as the cleaners were still in the rooms when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late check-in as the cleaners were still in the rooms when we arrived. The cooked breakfast was not the best, it tasted a little bland and there wasn't much choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Average stay, wouldn’t of paid more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi in the rooms was very poor, kept dropping off and the shower was very poor to the point where it would stop working just before you washed, no iron or ironing board in room.

    The hotel was well presented from the outside and very clean and tidy, receptionist was pleasant, but there is room for improvement around delivering excellent customer service not just good customer service A conversation would of been nice, the rooms are clean and tidy and the hotel was perfectly located for us but if your planning on visiting York it is a little out of the way.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant Surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first room we were offered was small but, although the hotel was busy, the receptionist found a much more pleasant alternative. Rooms 229 etc look out on to a quiet car park at the rear of the hotel.

    The location was lovely. Being able to sit out late in the evening with drinks, viewing the lawn was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Mostly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attitude and unhelpfulness of evening reception reception staff

    Hotel was fine. Despite booking months in advance, asking for 2 rooms near each other (my travelling colleague is disabled and needs help) this was not doable - we couldn't have been further apart.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small and very basic , I would say in line with a travel lodge , I stripped the bed to be helpful before I left and found that the pillows and quilt were heavily stained

    The staff were lovely , the food was nice and the hotel was clean , the hotel is set in nice grounds , perfect if you want somewhere quiet to stay but not a good location if your planning on going in to York for a drink , it’s costs between £25-30 pounds for a taxi

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall was a lovely place but getting a taxi from site is a bit expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't comfortable enough for us and the pillows went flat as soon as your head hit them!

    The staff were lovely and the place was nice. Good outside seating area. The room overall was great as was the bathroom facilitites

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.0
    adequate for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms old fasioned, locate remote

    rooms old fasioned, beds not very comfortable. staff lovely. Didnt eat there. Quite remote. Noisey guests. Lights went off during the night but staff quick to sort out

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    Cleanliness especially the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one problem, the exorbitant cost of drinks . This would probably put me off visiting again ! The afternoon cream tea did not use real cream , it came out of a aerosol can . Spoiled the experience . You need to rethink the bar/ cream tea experiences (and the man in charge ! )

    Cleanliness especially the room The evening meals were good .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Really nice clean hotel great nights sleep good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They said it's on 8 acres of land was disappointed that it's not when went for a walk more car parks etc. Receptionist could

    Really nice clean hotel great nights sleep good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Family friendly excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was excellent. We were staying as a family. 2 adults and a not long turned 1 year old. I requested in email for a travel cot and expected to collect it from the front desk only to find it had already been set up in our room complete with its own sheet and a little extra padding. I thought that was a lovely touch and made our stay so much easier and more pleasant. The staff were very helpful and friendly. When I asked them if it was possible to warm up littl'ns milk they had no issues with doing so and were even able to provide a high chair at breakfast in the morning. Overall couldn't fault any of it. Travelling with a littl'n isn't the easiest but they certainly helped to make it more child friendly and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Great last minute booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very soft. Some breakfast items well overcooked.

    Easy check-in and checkout. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Clean room. Good drinks prices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    value for money stay in a relaxing spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to flush away all the waste in the toilet - very difficult to get enough water to flush successfully. Bed a bit like being on a waterbed when one person moved it had an effect on the other. No tomatoes on offer at breakfast.

    Fabulous dinner in the restaurant. Helpful staff. Relaxing location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.0
    Awfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know we arrived late so we ended up in a twin room instead of a double. It was so hot we needed the window open all the time. The boiler alarm was going off all night every 10 minuets. It was like tourcher. Asked for something to be done. Nothing. So no sleep. Very uncomfortable bed. Breakfast was OK. But tureenstill needed filling up when i asked for scrambled eggs and mushrooms to be replenished. The look I got was filthy. The lady on the desk was apologetic. Not good enough. A chap who was also staying had the good fortune to have been moved to another room because of the noise. He was not happy either. Will not be going back.

    Not alot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    For my needs of a room overnight while training nearby, it fulfilled my needs.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old school door security was a little concerning, had issues bolting the door on the yale lock as no security bolt or lock present. Little pricey for what it is to be honest, parking can be an issue at times

    If you need a hotel near Huby then this is the place to be

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Average, wouldn’t recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small Room, Tiny window hardly let through any air, bathroom smelt unpleasant, some channels on TV didn’t work, breakfast didn’t have massive selection, not great value for money.

    Location, Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from room above. We were in 220 and constant banging and squeaking floor boards above was extremely noisy throughout the night and early morning.

    Missed tomato on menu at breakfast and perhaps a scone?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    great find will be coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stayed with a group of friends going to the races, beautiful grounds lovely well kept hotel, rooms comfy and clean. good breakfast. Staff were very helpful must say a big thank you to the young lad who was on duty on saturday 14 july

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.0
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showers. The temperature kept changing!!!

    Friendly staff. Huge bath sheets. Free pass to York Bird of Prey Centre. If you have time use it. It's fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    The property was extremely well maintained, and had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was extremely well maintained, and had a beautiful location. Everything was kept clean and staff were incredibly helpful from the minute we checked in. The staff had the same standard as more expensive hotels we have stayed in and made us feel extremely welcome. We were directed to where we went for breakfast so we knew exactly where to go. There were gardens to walk around outside, which was lovely in the sunny weather. And a bird of prey centre was located next door with lots to see and do. Had an amazing stay and would definitely book again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    We arrived very late, we were greeted at the door by a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived very late, we were greeted at the door by a very friendly gentleman. He made us sandwiches after our long drive. Yes, technically he was doing his job, but he was so kind and friendly, it’s really stuck in my head.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    Ok for a night or two
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to put us in twin beds after we clearly booked a double only after questioning it was it rectified attention to booking details needed at desk

    Nice clean and did as said good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location my wife and I only stayed one night. The staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked an executive room and for me it was below standard the rooms need re vamping and decorating having said that it was still an enjoyable stay.

    Location for our visit was great set in beautiful gardens very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was pretty small, the bed was touching the window which left no space to walk around. Also in my opinion the decor of the room was very dull which was not appealing at all and made us feel slightly uncomfortable. In addition to this the bed was not comfortable as it was very hard.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Big bed in the room. Tea and coffee facilities available. Plenty of parking. Towels and toiletries provided. Large selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.0
    Would rather have stayed at the premier inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in room unclean, cot mattress was stained so could not be used, had to pay £10 extra for the cot (although reimbursed when complained) so not very child friendly. Very dated needs modernisation. The breakfast was very limited and not worth the price. Not value for money, better value for money at premier inns.

    King size bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and peaceful, seemed good value compared to what other hotels in the area were charging
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast offering was fairly mediocre. Buffet breakfast, but not much choice, for example only toast, no other pastries available.

    A nice peaceful location in the countryside, and yet pretty close to the centre of York. Helpful Reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    It was just ok nothing outstanding
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked if reception could get me a taxi to the centre if York and was given cards to phone couldn’t get through and I mentioned this to reception all I got was no Signal inside you’ll have to go out but rude

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    Disturbing, uncomfortable and never to be repeated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our executive double room was obviously an old nursing home room, complete with red pull cords and red alarm lights, disability stool and grab rails in bathroom. Advertised as extra spacious executive room, terrible, no doors on wardrobe, not in the "hall" but in the old nursing home, with grey nets, creaky floors and all the disability extras you need. Great if you are a disabled traveller. But I felt very unnerved by this, has it reminded me of my late father's nursing home room. Now to breakfast, great choice, but no fried or poached eggs. One particular thing I was not impressed by was the way the staff swooped on your table to remove your platest that where empty whilst you still eating! Cleaning the table next to diners, by spraying cleaning products! It stank! Made to feel rushed and uncomfortable.

    The choice of breakfast items was plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful house and gardens, and the staff worked hard, let down by the bedrooms and breakfast choic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality and choice of breakfast was basic. The bedrooms were very basic and small like a travelodge rather than a hotel, and let the place down

    The restaurant and bar area + patio and gardens were very attractive, and the staff although looking tired were very professional courteous and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Nice setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor food, rude waiter and very basic facilities. Very expensive for what you get - premier inn is much better quality! Sent Fish and chips back, bread roll stale and wine probably had a week to breath!!

    Nice setting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    It was a fab stay , short break fer me n hubby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not too like....

    Everything! The staff friendly n helpful, accommodation very nice food 100%!! Yorkshire portions....cannot fault an will definitely use this place again an recommend to friends n family...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In Room 107 there was not a lot of room between the side of the bed and the wardrobe. Continuously bashing into the wardrobe when getting up to the toilet was not pleasant. The only other negative was that the Internet was slow.

    Lovely location, very pleasant and helpful staff. Room 109 was lovely and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel friendly helpful staff and lovely location
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish it had had a gym or pool as the grounds are big enough to incorporate.

    The breakfast is buffet style which suited us perfectly and meant that you wasnt waiting around for your order. A good variety as well for everyone. The grounds are huge and having the extra activities close to hand was brilliant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of the upgraded room I was bitterly disappointed, ruffled stained carpet, stained bed sheets very dear for what we got!

    Loved the setting of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    Not quite the quality and comfort we had come to expect of the "Best".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dusty room with cobwebs around the window, with a bed that was very suspect. Pillows cases were inside out and a valance that did not fit at all!

    The staff were friendly and the position was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Good price friendly staff and country location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from people upstairs above our room. Constant stomping and banging at all hours 2 of the 3 nights

    Good price friendly staff and country location. Staff very helpful and keen to engage with customers. Lovely garden setting. Nice restaurant menu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested a change from chips to potatoes and was told that I would be charged a further £2, which after paying over £150 for the meal I considered a total rip off. The restaurant manager was rude when I queried this, so I didn't bother. I would stay at the hotel again, but would eat elsewhere if that is their attitude.

    location for family and overall decor of the hotel was lovely. Will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    lovely, comfortable, would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there could have been bottled water in the room as there was no cold drink option in the room, unless you wanted bathroom tap water. which isnt ideal. Also, with a £5 tray charge for room service it is quite expensive.

    Nothing was to much trouble, all staff polite and welcoming. drinks fairly priced as was food. Evening food well cooked with timely service. very accommodating in seating us with room for our pram. lovely outdoor area to sit and relax with a drink. rooms clean and comfortable. plenty of towels, tea and coffee. lots of parking. quick room service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent break, great staff, the front of the building is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom looked like it was lifted a hospital ward! I understand the need for disabled facilities and red pull cords etc but the stark white walls and the lino flooring made it all seem very clinical. Minor issue but not the sort of bathroom you would expect at £100 a night!

    Very friendly and attentive staff throughout. The front of house and restaurant area are lovely. Within around 15 minutes of York.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.6
    Premiership building, not even Premier Inn service
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facade of the building suggests a luxury hotel. All the staff smart in their uniforms, yet the corridors to the rooms made me feel like I was in a 1970's care home. The bed, whilst large enough, wasn't made up properly, more thrown together. The linen was clean, just not made up with any degree of care. During the evening of our stay we visited the bar for a drink. Obviously we knew the prices would be higher than local bars, but I was not prepared for my wifes Martini being served in a tumbler! At breakfast, we waited, as instructed, to be seated in the dining area. I expected to be shown to my table, but instead we got a pointed "over by the window, mate". The breakfast buffet, although nicely laid out, was only of average quality, and nowhere near as hot as I would expect. Choice was limited, and the hot breakfast items were not of the quality I would expect from a hotel calling itself "Best Western". Overall I would call the hotel confused. It presents as a luxury place, and could easily be one, but too many little faults let it down.

    Location, grounds very picturesque Room was clean but not equipped as well as you might imagine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Loved the location as the area is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that all rooms weren't the same in every best western hotels in all areas. Disappointed we never got our room made up as with it being 3 oclock there was no point having it done.

    Location beautiful. Certain staff was kind and helpful. Room had everything needed and ok at when asking for extra stuff they don't hesitate to give. I.e replenshing milk,tea etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful setting large rooms immaculately clean very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Sat evening a wedding took place at the hotel. On our arrival back from our day out there were no parking spaces this caused difficulties due to my mobility problems for which I have a blue badge. The receptionist told me there were disabled people at the wedding too and as there are two disabled bays they were used quickly, and she could do nothing about the parking, I explained that I was fine as long as I could park by the hotel we told to park in the overflow car park. While I sat in reception 3 other people booked into there rooms again met with nothing I can do park on overflow parking.

    Beautiful setting large rooms immaculately clean very friendly staff and we'll cooked and presented food in restaurant fabulous stay

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: