Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Burton Hotel 3 stars

1 Mill St, Kington, HR5 3BQ, United Kingdom

#4 of 6 hotels in Kington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 322 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better and the rooms could have done with an update. The bar area was uninspiring.

    The Spa was lovely and a real bonus. We had a swim and everywhere was spotless. The staff were lovely too. The towels were made into swans which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant could have made more of outside dining space. There is a pitch and put type space adjacent to the garden. I don’t know how much that gets used but with fairy lights and planting it would make a lovely outside ‘dining room’

    Relaxed, friendly hotel. Amazing location. Ample car parking.the

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good sized bed. We were only there one night, visiting the Hay Festival. Picked the hotel rather at the last minute, but would consider staying again as we were very satisfied.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike.

    Stayed here with a group of friends in order to visit the Hay Festival. Hotel staff were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. Rooms clean and comfortable and breakfast very tasty. Pool and spa facilities were a welcome bonus. Would definitely stay again. Shower in room could do with a bit more power.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to use a side door as the main entrance as a truck had driven into the main front door. This is not a situation of their doing and will be rectified in 3 months or so.. They forgot to tell us they lock the outside door at 10.30 but luckily there was a window with a light on and someone let us in. They should probably give a key to the outside door.

    Very nice to have two basins in teh bathroom of number 5 and a proper bath. The room was a good size. The staff were helpful in every way. My husband stayed on using the living area and car park till 4pm on the day we checked out which was most helpful as he was not very well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a single room 10, which was adequate but very small. The shower was tiny. I'd hoped for a bath. The hot water took a while to come through so I wasted a fair amount of water.

    The window could be opened, the room was quiet and offered what I needed. Fresh towels was a bonus. The chef cooked poached eggs well. I'm fussy about coffee and this was OK- not great but OK. Easy to find, park and a good location for the activity I planned at the weekend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a bit squeaky and soft and the pool was a little cold until you got moving.

    The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful and hardworking. The room had all the little luxuries you would expect in a city hotel. The pool and spa area were wonderful. The food was well presented a delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast basic more choices of bread products would be nice eg.crumpets and croissants .

    Very friendly and helpful staff who made my dogs as welcome as they made me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Its a little dated but in some ways that is part of its charm. The bar can be very noisy at night - it is popular with locals. Adds to the atmosphere but you may struggle to get to sleep in some rooms if you are a light sleeper.

    Excellent staff and service. Good location and very nice pool area which was a real bonus given the very poor weather! The hotel has a very nice atmosphere. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One slight niggle, the bedroom smelt a bit funny and I think it was because it had fabric air freshener to cover tobacco smell ( I didn't ask for a non-smoking room so technically I can't complain). Just not ideal.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar in the evening and the food was very good. The hotel was very clean and well organised. The swimming pool, stream room and sauna were amazing - just what we needed after 15 mile walk along Offa's Dyke. Set us up for the next day's walking...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a real let down, there was a hair in my mushrooms and my vegetarian sausage was rock hard, it was mostly inedible. The staff also kept popping out of the kitchen to see if we were sill there, at one point a member of staff shouted "They're still there!", to which another responded by laughing. It made us feel quite uncomfortable. Upon leaving the receptionist also decided to charge half of the room to my card without asking, gave us the receipt and then asked for us to pay the other half. All together, a very odd experience and not the truly relaxing break we were after unfortunately.

    The Spa was lovely!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A male member of staff let himself into our room at 1120am!We weren't due to check out till 12! I was naked & in bed! My partner had gone to visit family so I was alone. I complained but was simply told I should have put a sign on the door! However, there wasn't a do not disturb sign in the room to use!I found their attitude towards my complaint disgusting! Restaurant food was appalling & chips were undercooked.

    When checking in, the man on reception was friendly & professional

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard to have window open to get fresh air as there is seconday glazing so you have to try and hook the curtains over the secondary glazing. Would have been nice to have a larger bed as there was plenty of room for it .

    The location, parking and leisure facilitis

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast portion was small and no selection of pastries or bread. Rooms a bit pricy and not value for money.

    Fresh and comfortable room, Spa facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was patchy. This was a working trip. I was very disappointed that the hotel wifi didn't stretch to the room I was initially given. Having proven this on my second evening and a younger member of staff recognising how to solve the problem, I was happily relocated to another bedroom where I could work in peace. Business travellers beware! Ensure that you can log in before you unpack. No shaver socket in either bathroom

    Generally a good stay. Mostly welcoming and helpful staff. This is a busy hotel with some exceptional features while retaining some old world charm. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was a let down. Always reckon fish & chips is a good 'tester' - so tried it for lunch - worst fish I've ever had in a hotel - straight out of a packet/ very hard batter coating & tasteless. Chips were poor too, came with garden peas - come on - you have to offer mushy - they both probs come out of a tin? Tried the fish curry for evening meal which I'd rate above standard pub fare. Staff generally rated above the accommodation, although the young girl behind the bar needs some staff training.

    Lovely mid country small town location. Good parking to rear. Fine little pool alongside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing water on the windows so you could draw a picture on them and the sills were wet photos have been taken no milk for tea and coffee

    The staff and food good we had a wake there to

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was a bit softer than we are used to and we didn’t sleep well

    Excellent breakfast and very fast room service Large and pleasantly decorated room .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited bar menu and breakfast could be more varied it is a little boring.

    Very friendly staff and a happy atmosphere Use of the gym and swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast toaster either burnt the toast or gave floppy toast with a seared film

    nice room which was quiet even though New years celebrations continued downstairs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Veggie sausages were poor. A wider range of cereal and yogurt would be nice. Double bed was a bit squidgy.

    Non corporate feel. Excellent staff and lovely bar meals. Very good spa and gym facilities. Good walking nearby with beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BED WAS EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE, STAFF WERE EXCELLENT AND THE BREAKFAST WAS REALLY GOOD WITH GOOD CHOICE AND VERY QUICK DELIVERY ONCE ORDERED. WOULD CERTAINLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL FOR ANYONE VISITING THE HEREFORD AREA.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No croissants or pastries I would have liked a full print out of my invoice and receipt but because we were anxious to get going I forgot to ask

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful, especially when my dog escaped to the bar!! It was unfortunate the TV was not working because I had not taken my radio or book because it was only 1 night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor of the hotel is rather tired and dated

    Great having free use of the leisure centre with pool and gym and the central location made walking straight from the hotel ideal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A black out blind at the window.

    Once again an excellent stay. Met with the owners this time, delightful people. I want to move into room 10 on a permanent basis, it is like home from home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. A very pleasant stay in the heart of this lovely town.

    Wonderful service. Breakfast was brought to the room within minutes of ordering, and was delicious. Check out was 12 noon, which was reall helpful as I had an event at 1pm &could come and go during the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Xxxx

    Superb little hotel, great spa, with outside treatments which can be booked in advance. Nothing too much trouble, this was my 4th stay. Due back in two weeks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the bar could have stayed open a little longer, front door shut at 10.30 the evening we were there. This won't bother a lot of people.

    Excellent breakfast. Good size and scrupulously clean room. Great pool and spa.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steaks were amazing as was all the food and the bar was friendly and reasonably priced. Great to have pool for the kids and nothing too much trouble for the staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to spoil the stay. The breakfast was just average and not quite up to the standard of the room. Some aspects of the buffet were limited - little choice of fresh fruit, no croissants/pastries or rolls and the bread for making toast yourself was mass-produced sliced. In the cooked options (supplied to order rather than buffet) the bacon was good but the sausage was ordinary. The single kipper was slightly overcooked and on the day I chose the cold Herefordshire ham it wasn't available.

    Room in the new block very comfortable and well-appointed. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Swimming pool and gym is excellent and a real bonus - one of the main reasons I chose this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was nice , I did feel that a marker by the edge in the pool would be useful as difficult to tell when swam to the end! Could have bumped head!

    Room clean, linen soft and spotless. Enough towels. Staff friendly, especially the manager and the young gentlemen serving breakfast, very kind. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car Parking - the size of the car park and indeed the grounds were very misleading on the website. The outside areas were full of litter and cigs ends.

    Pleasant room. Food was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and attentive staff. It was nice to be welcomed by name when we said we had a booking for that night. Very accommodating, allowing us to leave the car there for the day and organising a taxi for us at short notice on a Sunday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in the room - either all lights on or all off ! No bedside light or separate table lamp.

    Recently built extension with modern en-suite and decor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid quite a lot for the two rooms we had and that would be my only gripe, especially as I didn't realise when I booked that the rate didn't include breakfast. Kington is a nice town and a good centre for walking but it's not big on night life and there's not much open on a Sunday.

    We were very impressed by the staff particularly on arrival when the lady on the reception desk took the trouble to show us the swimming pool area and both the rooms we booked even though they were in separate buildings. At dinner the staff were very attentive and friendly. The health centre/spa is great; the sauna and steam room are quite small but the whole facility is very clean, well attended and very relaxing. The gym is large and well-equipped for leisure use. One of the rooms we booked was in the new building and I would recommend these rooms as they are newly decorated, spacious and comfortable. The other room we had was in the main building and looked a bit tired though very clean with a very large bathroom. It overlooked the main street but for all that, and the fact that the bar downstairs was lively and packed when we stayed, the room was really quiet and we had a very good night's sleep. We didn't have breakfast but the evening meal we had was simple and well-prepared.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uneven floors throughout, the hotel feels unloved, needs investment. Breakfast ok, but I never had mushrooms which are dry and rubbery before! In our room tea and coffee tray was wall mounted over the bed a'la budget hotel. A loud fan turned on periodically through the night and woke me several times, think that was probably local to that room. Quite expensive especially if you don't use leisure club.

    Comfortable bed, spacious room. Well kept gardens. Helpful friendly staff. Leisure club really good, lovely pool. Nice little town, great for walkers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel is full of charactet giving you a real feel of life on the Welsh English border. With modern facilities yet retaining old market town charm. Ideally situated for a gentle stroll through a town unspoilt by development.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came back after our evening out the lights were all out in the corridor it was pitch black and was hard finding our room and a bit dangerous as we had to walk past a small flight of stairs on Tuesday back.

    Our room was lovely and clean. Great location. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from a wedding reception meant that sleep was impossible before 1am - and we'd been told ours was a quiet room. Even earplugs were no help with the very loud throbbing music. Ask about events before booking! The price of the hotel - £119 - was in any case far too high for a dated hotel, unless you're going to make full use of the spa facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything!!!!

    Very comfy bed; delightful staff; good restaurant on site: choice of bar food or restaurant; drinks very reasonable price. The staff could not have been nicer. My partner said he'd never paid so much for a room in his life; complained all the way there. Upon departure he said we're definitely coming back here!!!!! A converted person over night!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated accommodation probably upgraded in the 1980s ,very poor food of a quality I have never been presented with at a hotel charging £98.00 per night (cheap frozen fish and chips.) No fans in very hot weather unlike other hotels stayed at same week By far the worst hotel of four that week

    Spa facilities were reasonable (if used ,) garden was well kept Overall reasonably clean ,polite friendly staff but in need of training

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. Guess the tiniest thing would be to include conditioner in the toiletries provided and perhaps a cool fan in rooms as it was rather hot when we stayed, also a mini fridge is handy as I found when visiting places in the Lake District. That said there was usually someone around the bar area who would fill a water bottle on request. In no way did any of these suggestions spoil anything and I wouldn't want to pay extra just for these added things.

    My whole stay was really perfect. Lovely dog friendly place and great to be able to have my dog in the public bar area for an evening meal. Food was delicious. Very nice local park with stream and two large fields for free running, plus poo bins. Nice to pop through to next door gym with swimming pool , jacuzzi and sauna. My friend and I didn't have time to use the gym but the rest was fabulous and towels were provided. A short drive ( 15 mins) and we were able to ride at Arrow Equestrian Centre which specialise in rider training on a mechanical simulator, as well as riding good quality schoolmaster horses for most levels of rider. A brilliant short break and my friend and I hope to visit again next year, when funds and commitments allow.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Room, food and facilities absolutely lovely (pool) a very nice stay. I stayed in the new rooms, excellent. The pool as above is beautiful! Kington is a great base to explore the incredible surrounding countryside. Parking was a nightmare but I'm guessing this was a one off! I was not warned despite my indication of check in time that the town Centre would be closed for an annual event, following a two hour drive it took me 50 minutes to be able to reach the hotel on a very hot day, traveling alone and pregnant. Two female members of staff manning reception over the 24 hour period were pleasant enough but not overly helpful at all on both occasions I interacted with them. When I explained what a nightmare it was to get access to the hotel I received no apology for not pre warning me about the town being closed for the event blocking access to the hotel, and in the morning when I asked a different woman if they had a toothbrush I could buy, I received an unfriendly no and brusque directions to a shop. If the front of house staff had they been warmer and more helpful this would have been a five star experience for me. I am writing this in the hope that they take note because it is such a lovely place to stay, hopefully it was just an off day for the two staff members I've referred to. Having said this I must credit the lovely waitresses and pool/gym staff lovely and great service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like all great!

    Excellent, very professional, very welcoming, great facilities, even made me a packed lunch as I left too early for breakfast. Many thanks much appreciated very highly recommended :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool and hammam were just wonderful after a long day driving. We stayed in the new wing on the ground floor. The room was clean, well-equiped with a huge "wet" bathroom. Most of all, a big thank-you to wonderful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice if rooms had air conditioning instead of roof fans but this won't be an issue except in very hot weather

    Lovely pool and leisure facilities, very helpful staff. Excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main hotel was a bit tired and in need of a revamp.

    Spa and pool was great. The bedroom was very comfortable and modern with everything you could want.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly hot in room but there was a ceiling fan which was lovely.

    Room was amazing. Bed v comfy & large. Very peaceful & had a fantastic nights sleep.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very humid at the time and it was difficult to keep the window open.

    The room was large, the beds were comfortable, everything was clean and tidy. Breakfast was good, well cooked and served. Everyone was friendly and polite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was excellent, room location and facilities.

    The hotel is one of the nicest we stayed in we did stay in one of the delux rooms which are pretty new. But the hotel the staff and the set is excellent. We struggled to get a taxi from the venue we were attending a wedding we called the hotel to see if they assist with a number of a taxi firm. They sent one of the staff from the hotel to pick us up at 11.30 unbelievable service the staff are a credit to the hotel we will definitely stay there next time we are in the area. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed over bank holiday during particularly warm weather , no air conditioning and no fan in room so had to leave windows open all night . Room was above beer garden so quite noisy until late. Hay on Wye weekend and hotel was busy, arrived back at 2.30pm and room had not been cleaned.

    Waiter at breakfast was lovely , nothing too much trouble. Reasonable price considering it was Hay on Wye weekend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything about the hotel.

    Lovely food and good choices on the menu, excellent breakfast, the staff are very friendly too. We stayed in the new part of the hotel at the back, the rooms are very spacious and the beds lovely and comfortable, nice quiet rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the centre of Kington, but nice and quiet overnight. All the staff I met were friendly and helpful. My room was comfy, clean and spacious with everything I needed. Breakfast was good and available early. There are restaurant and leisure facilities on site too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good but unimaginative - no croissants or fancy breads. bar very noisy in the evening.

    There was a bath as well as a shower, oodles of hot water, good sized room with 2 comfy chairs. The swimming pool was excellent, with towels supplied.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Hot Chocolate/herbal teas in the rooms. One packet of biscuits between two. Bar meals were very basic and the restaurant was not promoted that well and did not open till seven, which was later than we wanted to eat. Bar area a bit drab and noisy with members of the public having their bank holiday drinking session in while we were trying to enjoy our bar meal. Room was much cheaper on the website on the day we booked into the hotel, which does make me cross, and it kept saying only one room left which I do not think was the case.

    Pool facilities were great and justified the cost of the room. Wished I had more energy to go to the gym during our stay as it was very well set up. Breakfast was satisfactory. Staff were very polite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was excellent across the board, especially Jack. This is a very friendly hotel with great facilities, and is excellent value. On Friday there is a local food market nearby the hotel. Very good quality cheese, bread and other products are on offer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a better quality marmalade /jam at breakfast.....rather than the basic Lichfield.

    Very friendly staff, room spotless, generally a very relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This hotel is a gem, all facilities and staff are of the highest calibre, the atmosphere in all the public rooms that we used was pleasing, the mix of local clientele both young and older, and travelling guests in the bar and dining room was evidence that it was a well liked venue.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real gem! So pleased we discovered this delightful hotel in such a pretty part of Herefordshire, in an ideal location for exploring. Warm and friendly atmosphere - nothing too much trouble. Outstanding welcome and service, excellent food with great specials and superb leisure facilities. Will definitely return

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom heater didn't work, but that could be just bad luck on the day.

    For the money the facilities were excellent. The bar and restaurant is a little bland, but it's very clean and bright.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed in the room was extremely small and we both had a disturbed night frightened of falling out of bed.

    All of the staff were absolutely brilliant, couldn't have done more. food excellent and large portions. The spa is excellent. Plenty of parking on site. will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to dislike so if I was picky then the original part of the hotel needed a little updating, but saying this it was spotlessly clean

    The pool facilities were great, we paid for an upgrade to deluxe rooms which were amazing, our evening meal was really lovely, couldn't really fault this country hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the rooms in the new section of the hotel are too expensive but in fairness the price does include access to the Heath club and also breakfast. What really lets the hotel down is the food served in the restaurant. It was appalling. Cold, chewy bruschetta for starters. Cold, reformed chicken in a tepid tasteless sauce for a main course. The price of my meal was refunded. I'd stay here again but I wouldn't eat at the restaurant.

    The health club is excellent, the rooms at the rear are modern, warm and stylish. The location for the village is perfect. The staff are helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Men's changing rooms at pool were very cold. Reminded me of my childhood at local baths!

    The pool was lovely. Didn't get enough time to use all spa facilities which were very good. Enjoyed the food; excellent evening meal.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed expensive for what it was. The food at breakfast was poor. The cold selection was limited, and the hot was disappointing. No tissues in the room and at that price some water would have been nice.

    Service was good and helpful. The hotel could not have been more central, yet quiet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food served in the bar and restaurant was good especially as I wished to choose the fish/vegetarian options. Staff were helpful and friendly. I chose this hotel because of its swimming pool which was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice friendly staff, food is excellent and a good choice of food for breakfast. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Loved the pool area, nice and relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I must admit I was expecting the room we stayed to be larger as per the photo's and the bed was small and uncomfortable. We where also above the pub toilets so was noisy on a saturday night.

    The breakfast and the wellness facilities were fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Run down and grubby decor throughout hotel. Unappetising breakfast in dingy dining room. Terrible bathroom with tiny wash basin, no hook for towel, toilet roll holder not properly fixed. Unless you want to spend all your time in the glamorous spa, don't stay here.

    Pleasant receptionist. Good boot room. New carpet and curtains in bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's to far from where I live and I can't go there as often as I would like

    I loved the food and the spa facilities, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism was that the breakfast hall wasn't very well lit it the morning

    The room was spotless and I would like to say the 2 ladies behind reception were a credit to the hotel,we had a wedding to get too and no taxis so they organised a member of staff to drive us the 3 miles

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 6 is noisy because it is above the toilets, and you hear the doors closing and the hand dryers operating. Also the shower didn't work on the second morning. Ask for a different room.

    Leisure club, breakfast, parking and location in town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is right on the main street in Kington and handy for public transport. Staff were very helpful. Had all my meals there during my stay and the food was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in the centre of this small old market town this is an hotel with character with the added benefit of a modern extension and other facilities. The single room in which I stayed was compact but comfortable. Staff were great. Breakfast good. All good for me.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the pool and that the hotel was so dog friendly. I had mentioned that we would want our dog with us whilst eating. When I booked in, they mentioned that was sorted. In morning breakfast table laid up all ready for us in bar area. Excellent Efficient service. Many thanks

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: