Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Butlers Guest House

122 Crown Street, Aberdeen, AB11 6HJ, United Kingdom

#14 of 47 B&Bs and Inns in Aberdeen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 86 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly owners of a house in the heart of Aberdeen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    a small fridge in the room would be a usuful feature,

    very friendly owners! fast wifi, spotless cleanliness, yummy breakfast, excellent location very close to the railway station and in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay in Aberdeen for solo travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little loud when people were in the foyer but it wasn’t that bad

    Clean and super comfy, Alan and Sheena were absolutely lovely! Breakfast was also delicious and it made my mornings very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice breakfast, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too soft for us, but it's a matter of personal preference. Parking on the guest house's street costs 2£ per hour, so you should try and find a parking space in the streets around, where it's much cheaper!

    Nice breakfast, good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    orth repeating!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's always such a lovely welcome, the rooms are cosy and so well presented. The bathrooms are well stocked with those little extras you might forget and the beds are really comfy. The breakfast selection is fairly simple - cereal, bread (really nice bread!) with cheese or jam, fruit and maybe some extra sweet treats, and plenty of tea or coffee. Gets you started for the day and you leave feeling well cared for.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    The best!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The building itself is vintage 1840s architecture, and they have quite lovely antiques throughout. Our room had wooden shutters on the inside which could be closed partially or completely for added comfort (to darken the room if desired for sleeping).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, friendly stay. Will certainly return on my next trip to Aberdeen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    While we had an ensuite, the shared bathroom was right outside our room, and this got quite noisy some nights.

    Wonderful, friendly hosts, made for a really comfortable trip. Breakfast was wonderful...healthy, fresh and varied

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Great room and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overall was great. Slept very well, the bed was comfortable. No complaints on the accommodations. Since we had to leave in the morning before breakfast was served, a tray was outside our door with a variety of fruit, cheeses, juice, etc. Would definitely recommend Butler's.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast letdown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed to be told on arrival that my breakfast was in fact a continental breakfast. This is the only reason I wouldn't return again.

    Very friendly owner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    The hosts were very warm and helpful;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were very warm and helpful; even offered to help me ironing my shirt. The breakfast was healthy and plentiful. The room and bathroom were perfectly clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Good spot for visiting in Aberdeen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking on the street that required paying .

    This property is aged, but well maintained with good upgrades. In a good city location. Comfortable and clean and priced well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Convenient, Comfortable and Cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast time could be slightly longer, perhaps to 10:30?

    The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Even though I arrived early in the morning, they immediately gave me my room, so I managed to get a shower after traveling all night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.5
    5.5/10
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a Nightmare here charges till 8PM and start again at 8AM and not cheap at all, No propper breakfast just cerials so I never went. Non En Suite room I had and communal shower too small toget in to if your a big guy... I'd rater stay further out of town and walk if free parking...

    Location was fine not too far from Centre of town, Staff was nice enough guy. Room was a bit dated but not too bad.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Lovely, calm household near the harbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    An absolutely charming Georgian townhouse; my room was a dormer at the very top of the stairs and it was bright, well-appointed, and comfortable. (I don't mind a shared shower when everything is so tidy and nice!) As for breakfast, I cannot say enough happy things about the fresh-baked bread. I hope they have it when I visit again; I certainly mean to!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    Perfect for my short break in Aberdeen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a lightweight duvet rather than the cover that was provided . And perhaps a rowie at breakfast would have been nice!!

    Friendly staff and a warm welcome.clean and lovely decor

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    overall very pleasant experience, we even got a bigger room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    overall very pleasant experience, we even got a bigger room, just because it was available. sweet!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location for the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for the station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic value for money. Exceptionally clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotlessly clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    1 night is not enough shld have stayed 3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 night is not enough shld have stayed 3 nights

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Bed was very hard
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Handy Location and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handy Location and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.0
    i left cold and hungry
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Room was small and cold

    No cooked breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Very comfortable, very clean & very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent choice for continental breakfast. Guest house had a very calm air about it. Very relaxing place to stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Feels like Home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels like Home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Worth staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door is heavy to open

    Cleanliness of the room Continental breakfast with boiled eggs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Great guesthouse, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was cozy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Quality, good value accommodation in the centre of Aberdeen. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, standard of room, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    My stay was comfortable and all my needs were taken care of. The location is convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the fact that it is a very friendly, helpful family with a personal touch.. I appreciated the fresh fruit and yoghurt for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Very good value for money. Friendly welcome. Good central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple continental breakfast. Very nice. Lovely fruit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Good single room and close to station within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable accommodation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Very Good Value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Ensuite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central location, quiet, clean, friendly hosts.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.5
    Friendly and cosy B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were rather lumpy. Also unclear that cooked breakfast was an additional fee.

    The owners are lovely - very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    8.8
    Excellent family run business, great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shared toilet.

    The staff were very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    10
    Nice clean bedroom and comfortable bed too breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy location

    Nice clean bedroom and comfortable bed too breakfast was lovely as well . Good location .well recommended

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Highly Commended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very hospitable and helpful hosts. Very comfortable and convenient location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Everything's ok :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything's ok :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    5.4
    One visit is enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise between 5-6am, breakfast, ensuite, decor

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    8.3
    Overall the rooms were very cosy and homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very hard and had an uncomfortable sleepless night. On that point alone we decided not to stay another night.

    Overall the rooms were very cosy and homely. Very relaxing. Staff were friendly, polite and helpful and breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    7.9
    Sheen and Allen are friendly, capable hosts who gave us an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was adequate, but the ability to get a hot bowl of cereal - not eggs or meat, just cereal - without a steep add-on fee was disappointing. We also would have appreciated an available pot of coffee instead of having to request a refill.

    Sheen and Allen are friendly, capable hosts who gave us an excellent local restaurant recommendation. The location for walking was fine and convenient once we resolved our parking issue (having to pay in a local lot for expected).

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    This was a lovely guest house - excellent location near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a lovely guest house - excellent location near the centre, but a fairly quiet street, in a large town house. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the owners very friendly, and the room was delightful, it even had a sofa in it which made it very pleasant just to be in the room, without having to go to a lounge or outside. This is the only guest-house I've stayed in where we were supplied with white towelling dressing gowns as well as the other usual facilities. For £75 a night for a twin room, this was excellent value for money. The owners gave us excellent advice about the next bit of our road trip which made the stay even more worthwhile. Highly recommended - the quality of this accommodation puts many hotels to shame. The breakfast was modest but perfectly adequate.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.2
    The owners were brilliant, going well out of their way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owners were brilliant, going well out of their way to assist despite our very disrupted travel plans. For folk travelling by train, bus or ferry in particular, the location would be hard to beat.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.5
    Near to city centre and breakfast was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When looking for accommodation I selected parking but the only parking available is metered, this is not so much a comment against the actual guesthouse but feel booking.com should not include it as really most places have paid parking but when selecting parking I expect private parking for that establishment.

    Near to city centre and breakfast was lovely

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff. Ideal situation for rail station.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    10
    Friendly Staff and Nice Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Friendly Staff and Nice Breakfast! Totally Fine located in the Heart of Aberdeen!

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    9.2
    very clean and comfortable room and bed, owners very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very clean and comfortable room and bed, owners very friendly

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    The lady running the guest house was very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lady running the guest house was very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and clean, with all needed commodities.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly staff and well presented rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff and well presented rooms.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    Sheena was a great host and really helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sheena was a great host and really helpful. Very Central location

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Location.
    • Family with older children

    Location. Friendliness of owners. Facilities.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    A few minutes walk from train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A few minutes walk from train station. Very helpful and friendly staff Good selection at breakfast time

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Kindness of the staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    N/A

    Kindness of the staff Cleanliness Comfort

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent stay. My room was clean, spacious, and I felt very comfortable there.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Very homely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would have preferred breakfast to be available a little earlier, say 6.30.

    Very homely

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Made you feel very welcome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    only one bathrobe in room

    Made you feel very welcome

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    10
    Excellent guest house, very helpful and pleasant owners...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent guest house, very helpful and pleasant owners great value for money,by far the best guest house I've stayed in.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: