Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Leonardo Boutique Hotel Huntingtower Perth 3 stars

Crieff Road, Perth, PH1 3JT, United Kingdom

#3 of 16 hotels in Perth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1063 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Well below the standard we experienced on a number of previous visits to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu was poor and quite restricted.On four nights the main course consisted of salmon and duck, plus a vegetarian course, steak and another fish dish. Some of the waiting staff were very inexperienced. On two occasions we had to ask for our room to be serviced after 3.30pm - even though there was evidence that we were out.

    The breakfasts were very good. All the food was well cooked. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Desplte the above comments we still enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had soup and a sandwich for lunch when we arrived. It was very disappointing.The soup was cold and the meat in the sandwich left a lot to be desired. It was not a dressed salad but a few limp lettuce leafs. Definately not the best sandwich I have ever had.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.0
    Awfull room but good dinner in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Claustrophobic pokey room next to restaurant extractor fan so constant racket while kitchen open. Avoid room 212 like the plague. Originally attempted to book direct with hotel without success.

    Comfortable bed. Nice grounds. Good shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    A lovely break where you are made to feel special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We fully enjoyed the stay

    Being made to feel welcome and special. Customer service was excellent. Lovely country house feel in a 'Boutique' hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and pleasant despite the poor weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner appeared late in the day,towels and bed linen not changed at our request as it was not a convenient time to do so

    General atmosphere was friendly and comfortable. Very convenient for access to Perth.Would certainly visit again if in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing about our stay that we did not like

    Cottage was lovely and made use of the decking which was a bonus. Bed was very comfy and room service excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Can only rate the staff professionalism
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In short, we didn’t get what we paid for. Booked the bungalow months in advance and were offered a hotel room on arrival instead. Just a complete headache, meaning we had to seek alternative accommodation elsewhere, and a refund without any additional compensation for the inconvenience caused.

    The Duty Manager was more than helpful and tried to be as accommodating as possible.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Great location, helpful staff; big rooms. No criticisms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the phone system is a bit antiquated but it works.

    I have stayed thee many times and always everything to be of a high standard. I would stay there again, and would recommend the hotel as one of the best in Perth.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Perth DBB stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very comfortable with nice lounges. The restaurant dining was excellent and the staff are very pleasant. Very nice place for a short break.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lillies in reception although beautiful were very fragrant and filled reception and surrounding area including our room 212. Was very off putting if you don't like there fragrance.

    Staff were just lovely, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Will definitely go back as a guest thats how good it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The setting was amazing so sophisticated and elegant olde world standards exceptional. We were attending our granddaughters wedding. The staff were very attentive the menu was so tasty and beautifully presented. The breakfast menu was very varied catering to all our tastes. They had thought of everything. We stayed in one of the cottages and the rooms were large as was the bed. Could not fault one bit of this experience. Take a Bow Huntingtower Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.5
    Everything was good about it.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music selection was very good apart from the one mistake when The Penny arcade was played and the people were all Celtic fans.Granted an apology was made after it was pointed out.

    We were at a wedding reception in the hotel.Everything went to plan.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Disappointing and over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room212 is located next to the roof space that has the kitchen extractor fans on it. These fans spring into life around 6.30 every morning with a high starting torque noise and then run continually. Basically I was charged a lot of money for what is no more than a box room and no sleep after 6.30 in the morning. If your not in 212 you will probably have a nice stay!

    Friendly staff nice location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.0
    Lovely hotel wont hurry back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't too happy with on arrival having everyone in ear shot know that we were there on their most economic tariff through an outside agency??? On its own not bad but at dinner we were placed in the dining room opposite the door through to the kitchen. Everyone else was offered or placed in the conservatory area. Then we were offered water and later discovered we were charged £4.50 ! Each on its own would be a bit annoying all together left feeling like the poor relatives!!! That kind of attitude is not acceptable at any price.

    Lovely building, lovely food, lovely garden but ….

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only annoying thing was the Receptionist who obviously had a learnt script to follow and nothing I could say deviated her from her script. She went on and on and on!

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful grounds in a historic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful grounds in a historic setting. Staff was so friendly and went over and above to make us comfortable! I can see why this is one of the top wedding destinations in the country!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Back at Huntingtower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Metal plug on hand basin should be replaced with a rubber one as it is marking the porcelain on a beautiful antique hand basin.

    Very comfortable. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    The staff were very happy and anxious to do everything to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a small room 206 but we had booked a deal so expected a smaller room

    The staff were very happy and anxious to do everything to make our stay . Chefs food amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    1 had to wait 3 hours for our room to be ready
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 had to wait 3 hours for our room to be ready 2 whilst we waited we were roped off big time with overpriced drinks 3 smokers area was directly beneath our non smoking room making it a room full of smoke !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Could be great...
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No frills in the bedrooms! No shower caps, no facecloths, no toiletries apart from hand wash and shower gel, both in bottles attached to the wall. Room large but budget furniture. Walls very marked, lampshades battered, handbasin cracked and a nasty brown stain on the carpet in front of the dressing table. First night we were woken at 5.28 am by a delivery lorry which unloaded outside our window. Just started to drift off to sleep again when the extractor fan came on outside at around 6am. Then from 7 am constant visitors to room opposite - knocking on door, talking and door slamming. Assume it was where the bride and entourage were getting ready for the wedding that was being held in the hotel that afternoon. So, no sleep from 5.28am! After complaining, we were moved to another room whilst we were at a wedding in Dundee. However, the safe didn’t work and there was a strange smell in the room, as though someone had spilled a glass of milk a few days earlier. Also woken up that night by people coming into hotel in the early hours as the room was very near to entrance. Such a shame. This is a lovely hotel but so lacking in refinements. Restaurant food was okay but nothing special. The tables were so sticky that glasses and cutlery were sticking to the table top and our friend’s glass of red wine had to be prised from the table! They all needed a good scrub with hot, soapy water! So, I respectfully ask the CEO of Leonardo Hotels to please spend some money on this hotel as it could be wonderful. And please hang on to your staff as they are little stars!

    The staff were a delight. The grounds are pretty and the guest areas nicely decorated and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Good place and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was a little difficult to find. Place appears a bit isolated.

    Good facilities, spacious and excellent rooms. Connecting facility between the two rooms was a great bonus as we had the kids in the next room. Good restaurant and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff absolutely make this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exterior of the property needs some TLC. It's not often in Scotland you spend much time outside the hotel but as the weather was so warm we did. Don't let that put you off though, it's a great little hotel.

    The staff absolutely make this place... The interior of the hotel was very smart, clean and tidy. Parking was plentiful and close to the hotel. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and both were of a good standard. The room and bathroom were lovely with plenty of space and well appointed. This is a wedding venue but it didn't impact on our stay at the hotel as they do an excellent job of keeping it all separate from the main part of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    It was very stylish, modern, up to date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am 5’1 and I found the toilet very low

    It was very stylish, modern, up to date. The bed was comfortable and the sheets luxurious. The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good experience, with the exception of the meal pricing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would rate several aspects of the evening A La Carte menu to be expensive. As an example, the vegeterian option, a basic dish of pasta, with tomatoe sauce, was way over priced at approx £26.00. The steak option was subject to an extra £6.00 above the 2 course meal price,

    The room, and facilities in general, were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel for a peaceful break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit disappointed by the food, not as good as when we have previously eaten here. Whilst staying at the log cabins next door we ate here 3 nights and also when we stayed at the Hotel the last time. There was some sort of problem on the first night most people having to wait a long time to be served their meals. One couple not waiting for the rest of their meal. Must say that the young staffed coped admirably. Dinner on the second night was not so manic, but the sea bass meal was very small! The breakfast first morning was a bit hit or miss, having to wait quite a while again. Sundays breakfast was fine.

    Staff welcoming and friendly. Hotel in quiet area but minutes from Perth and roads to other scenic areas in Scotland. Lovely gardens, we got good weather so were able to make the most of sitting outside with a drink. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, looking forward to next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no seating in the room except for one desk chair even though there was enough space. Throughout the hotel there was an uneasy juxtaposition of traditional Scottish and modern decor which in places looked a bit strange - or maybe that's just my opinion!

    Staff helpful and personable. Although we chose to book just a standard room it was spacious, clean and the bed very comfortable. It was quiet at night (though this was midweek) and we slept well. There was plenty of choice whether you opted for a continental or traditional breakfast and service excellent. My special dietary needs were no problem. We can recommend the restaurant - the menu was interesting and varied. The hotel is set in attractive gardens with outdoor seating and there is ample car parking space. Overall we liked the relaxed, welcoming ambience here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Have stayed a few times before but will not be back as things seemed to have slipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    on arrival receptionist started my check in then dived out to speak to another member of staff in a rather impolite manner. No hot courses available on evening of our stay and only informed shortly before time booked by staff saying there were only cold starters and sweets. Had to be questioned to find out the problem! We went out for dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next time I go I will check that there isn't a wedding on as the guests tend to take over the garden area.

    We like the peaceful setting of the hotel. The garden is a delight to sit in to enjoy a drink of whatever you fancy. Lovely walk down along the riverside .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    It was a disappointment as we had stayed before a few years ago and it was better then.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding on and the guests hijacked all of the outdoor seating. At one point we had a seat but we moved indoors due to the foul language of the guests. (As Boris said so eloquently 'you can't polish a turd'. Breakfast was a disappointment as many of the menu options were unavailable. The toast was burnt. My husband sent back his hash brown for it to be replaced by another in the same condition.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Hotel in a very attractive setting and we thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shame there was a problem with the gas so no draught beers or lagers in the bar.

    We only stayed the one night. The hotel is set in lovely grounds - we had a very pleasant walk alongside the lake surrounding the property the following morning. Excellent bedroom - nice, large, comfortable double bed - and good food although we couldn't really do justice to dinner having had a late lunch at Perth Racecourse earlier in the day. We will be back next time we're in Perth!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Bed was very comfy ,the hotel was nice we up graded when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom decor could done with been freshened up.

    Bed was very comfy ,the hotel was nice we up graded when we arrived which gave us a bigger room ,the decor could have done with a freshen up in the bedroom ,rest of hotel was very nice lovely gardens,breakfast very good,staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    nice staff and people shame about the room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room size

    lovely staff and nice food but the bedroom was not worth the asking price. Too small, too hot no room to move . Had to walk sideways from end of bed to bathroom as there was so little room between bed and unit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Great relaxing stay in a very pleasant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay included dinner, bed and breakfast. Beautifully presented food of a high quality. Staff are well trained and most helpful. Emily on reception went the extra mile! Hotel is in a lovely location and there are enjoyable walks in the surrounding area. I would most definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    excellent service
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was far too hot however this due to the weather however managed to get a small fan from reception assisted but not really.

    The location was perfect for our friends wedding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Lovely hotel if touring. Beware wedding & other special occasion nights if possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel apparently used for special occasions but those attending are noisy and annoying if you are a guest and not with them! Spacious and well appointed lower floor room, Noisy neighbours immediately above practicing the rumba or hop skip and jump throughout the night. Annoying receptionist. Poor choice of beers (other than lager which isn't a beer) in the bar !

    Nice atmospheric hotel in great location if touring. Great restaurant food and good varied breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, lovely food, beautiful grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant manager was rather abrupt! We were told that we had to be in for dinner at 7.30 on the dot (although the table wasn't ready until 7.50pm. We felt like we were an inconvenience, after we spent a considerable amount of money for 14 meals. Unfortunately that put a dampener on what was a lovely day in such a beautiful hotel.

    Bed was superb! Great upgrade on the room. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Relaxed, comfortable hotel, full of character, will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    Relaxed friendliness of staff, beautiful gardens, great food, well maintained throughout. Looked like the staff took a pride in their hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Did the job as we were there to visit friends and family in the area so were using it as a base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General ambience is tired. Meals were OK but nothing special and dishes didn’t necessarily agree with their description e.g. alterations to veg etc. Breakfast on Monday was very limited and bread rolls stale....left overs from the weekend? Rooms basic but with very comfortable beds but cleaning seemed to vary with the day so probably with the member of staff involved.

    Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for a short stay when a base is needed in the Perth area
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do like a hotel with a gym - but appreciate it’s a bit harsh as I did know they didn’t have one

    Great location Lovely room and great view over the countryside Ability to have a drink outside Good Scottish breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Grand hunting lodge as the name suggests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you book well ahead on booking.com at discount price you get the crummiest small rooms we have noticed.

    Grand hunting lodge as the name suggests. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Would certainly return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite hot during the night and as we were on the ground floor didn't want to leave the window open. First choice of maiin course not available and portion size a little small.

    Good sized room and bathroom. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Very nice dinner and bar area. Hotel easy to find and parking very good. Very good buffet breakfast choice and Scottish breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Staff and food make it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. The room was completely indistinguishable from something like a travellodge. It was bland and boring and not cleaned particularly well. I mentioned the cleanliness to the manager and she was very quick to apologise and get us a round of drinks which I appreciated.

    Everything else was great. The hotel and grounds are very pretty, the dining space is lovely, particularly breakfast in the conservatory part. The staff were beautifully polite and very helpful and kind to my toddler. Breakfast was excellent, the kippers and eggs were very good, and buffet was tasty and plentiful. Good, strong tea and coffee. We ate dinner in the restaurant which was also very good (lamb overdone but still tasty) and had dessert sent to our room after we'd put our daughter to sleep. All very good, just need to update the rooms and sort the cleaning staff out!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    The staff were fantastic, friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If only we could have stayed longer!!!

    The staff were fantastic, friendly and very helpful. The meals were outstanding and compliments to the chef for the delicious cooking. Our room was comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    A strange experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked in for the night of 2nd June and, when travelling up the M6 to the hotel, we received a phone call saying that the hotel was experiencing "plumbing issues" and that several guests, including us, were having to be re-routed to other hotels and that we would receive an email advising us of our new destination. We never received it so had no option but to turn up at the hotel an hour or two later - no sign of plumbing issues!! So what did happen - very disappointing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at night time, someone was supposed to be on duty all night to let people back into the hotel. We came back from a wedding at 1.30am, phoned the number given by the receptionist, so that the person on duty would let us in, after 3 phone calls still no answer, but they must have taken the phone of the hook, as it was given the engaged tone, so had to start knocking on the door, eventually a resident came down to let us in. We went looking to see if we could locate anyone and eventually found someone in the kitchen, who said they could not hear the phone for the noise in the kitchen. We were not the only people trying to get back in, there were other people who had went outside for a smoke and could not get back in

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall, a very enjoyable stay and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends consideri
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism I have was that the staff, whilst all very friendly and enthusiastic, appeared to lack proper management. We requested a bar meal and required to sit in the area outside of the bar and the tables were still cluttered with crockery/glasses from guests who had previously occupied these seats, with no attempt made to clear these away. Similarly, a sideboard and adjacent table were littered with dirty glasses and no attempt was made to clear these away in the time we spent having a drink and bar meal, nor was any attempt made to Hoover up the carpet where significant crumbs/ food debris was left from previous guests. This was in a very public part of the hotel and certainly did not create a very good impression at all.

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff and facilities available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Not a happy stay - although it is in a lovely spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disastrous dinner, too much to tell on that score - although ultimately my “non dinner” meal was deducted from our bill. Main course I did not have in the end - only a pud - which was delicious. Breakfast was also a trial, waited 30 plus minutes just to be served tea and coffee! Apologies profusely offered for the delay, but how come others whom arrived later were served! No bottled water in the bedrooms to drink. Not the best of stays - having recommended friends to join us! Sorry really not up to par from our stay a number of years ago.

    Hotel is in a lovely location with a nice garden area to wander around. Upgraded at a very reasonable cost to a very large room. Some nice comfy & intimate seating areas for drinks etc. Bed was large and comfy. Most staff very pleasant and personable and plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best break we’ve ever had!!! Unfortunately one of our party was rushed to hospital having suffered a stroke and so we didn’t make dinner. When we returned to hotel at 1.30am we were given room keys but no offer of any food/room service despite the fact that we had booked DBB and hadn’t eaten since lunch time. Windows had been left open in our rush to follow ambulance which meant room was polluted with midges when we returned. Ok, not the hotel’s fault but there was no night receptionist to help us. Noise throughout the night from guests walking about upstairs at 2am was really loud. Breakfast wasn’t good. Bacon crisped to a frazzle, sausages hard, tables scored. Bathroom clean but requires updating. No offer of any refund despite the fact that two of our party stayed in Perth Royal Infirmary and none of us had dinner. Deputy manager deigned to offer us a meal the following evening which was not appropriate since we were at the hospital. Overall, hotel is a bit tired, weeds next to driveway, and customer service is poor.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.6
    The breakfast was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a very poor welcome to the hotel. 2 days prior to my arrival I advised that I would arrive at 11am and was informed that the housekeeping team would try and have my room ready but this wasn’t guaranteed. I appreciated the effort. On arrival I was told that my room wasn’t ready and that it was unknown when it would be ready as there was a wedding that day and that was priority. Surely every guest is a priority??

    The breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel has bags of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices on the menu were set into 2 or 3 courses. I only wanted 1 course as I can’t eat big meals but was still charged for a 2 course meal. It would be much clearer to understand if items were priced individually so customers can see what they are paying.

    The hotel has bags of character. The service here was very good, nothing was too much trouble! Food was fresh and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Relax in country comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Will make it a regular stop.

    Excellent hotel with exceptional views over the Lake District. Super staff and very comfortable rooms. The garden is beautiful with comfortable seating, a great place to relax with a drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    The best we have stayed in for a long, long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Staff, ambience, grounds, rooms and especially the food were all excellent. The bed was super-king and very comfortable. There is nothing to criticise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Eunice on reception is terrific more than helpfull . Very clean and comfortable and a great location all the staff were attentive and polite would definitely recommend and we shall definatly return .Thanks to all for a great stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Stylish and cozy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the hallway. It is nice , quiet, pristine location but we could hear every word and open/close door from the hallway.

    Wonderful, stylish, cozy, very pleasant and helpful staff. Good size rooms. Nice quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All the staff we met were very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and spacious. Beds were very comfortable, temperature of the room was perfect. Well equipped bathroom with toiletries and a good shower. We enjoyed the ambiance and food in the Oak Room restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    very traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave in the morning!

    This is a decent quality hotel, where the staff remember your name. The food is good and efficiently served. A great place to stay and relax. I was only using the hotel as a place to stay for the night but I will find the opportunity to spend longer there next time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely couple nights in Perthshire!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was very tasty although the bar lunch was just average. Breakfast on the first morning was very odd - ordered scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and had to return it as the eggs were a funny grey colour - never seen anything like it before. They were quickly replaced and the second plate was fine. The second morning I opted to miss a cooked breakfast and just stick with the buffet which was excellent!

    Staff very friendly and helpful from the start. Our room wasn’t ready so we went for lunch outside in the garden and enjoyed the sunshine! It still wasn’t ready after lunch so we headed into town. When we arrived back the room was ready, it was a great size with an additional sofa and very comfy bed, not only that but because of our delay they had left us a complimentary bottle of wine. Excellent customer service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    A gem of a hotel great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    couldn't fault the place well done to all!

    a gem of a hotel set in lovely gardens. Super food, delightful staff delicious cream tea in the garden. Amazing service should be at least 4 stars! Lovely bar area to relax in. Set in quiet countryside just outside Perth.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel would stay again but request a different room
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy fan outside our room. Very steep stairs to bedroom which were difficult to get up and down in my dress.

    Hotel was lovely inside and breakfast was very nice. Gardens outside were gorgeous. Shower in room was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The food was excellent. The room was very comfortable and clean. Hard to believe that the Scottish tourist board only give it a three star rating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable, traditional nice.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about except the booking process where I couldn't book direct with the hotel group on line but could through booking.com

    Very good sized room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Terrific food & great waiter service.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping didn't have room ready an hour after we should have been able to get into it though they knew we'd arrived early. Vacuuming not properly done: grit on carpet. Water under a tile in bathroom leaking into room below. Walls and furniture had several grubby marks .

    Terrific food & great waiter service. clean comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with fantastic facilities and services!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and the food was very good. In particular the breakfast was excellent and exceeded our expectations. Fantastic welcome from the receptionist who was very professional and accommodating, all staff was really friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed ourselves at the hotel and would have extended our stay but the hotel was fully booked the next day. I highly recommend this hotel and intend to come back soon. Thank you to all the staff for your very special hospitality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a bungalow and there was rather an odd musty smell about the place. It looked rather tired and could do with a revamp.

    Staff very friendly. Good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing and embarrassing as I had a foreign visitor with me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms....... two stories up on a spiral difficult staircase, not very comfortable, scratched furniture and the mirrors had certainly not been cleaned in a while. They looked out onto the extractor fan for the kitchens which ran from a out 6.30 am to 9.30pm non stop. There were no other rooms available but, given that these were booked months ago, it was the usual story of pay over the odds because there is only one person in the room and then give them the grottiest rooms. We were offered better rooms if we paid yet more.

    Not a lot! The staff were very pleasant and helpful as far as they could be but powerless to correct the problems.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.5
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had a slight controversy with a supplement but it was resolved in our favour

    I did not have any genius perks as far as I am aware. I loved the food and the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our room was very close to venue room, if staying with children ask to be roomed away from venue room as weddings are held at weekends.

    the hotel is very comfortable, food is excellent, best steak in a long time and that was just the bar menu. staff are exemplary and nothing was too much trouble. we travelled with our 2 year old and the hotel staff made her stay a whole lot more fun , from putting little umbrellas in her drinks to making her jam sandwiches and bringing her coco pops for her evening meal. she never felt homesick.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel and staff - room for tightning things up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't seem to be anyone in charge, no one at reception desk on arrival or departure. Served by 3-4 different people in restaurant and no one took overall charge of dining and drinks - although staff we met were very friendly as mentioned in 'like' section. Dinner menu could be a bit more varied, ok if you like steaks but surcharge is steep

    Comfortable bed/ room, staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Could have been really enjoyable but instead turned into a challenge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The so called upgrade room we were given which was what they referred to as a cottage in the grounds. It was impersonal, desperately in need of a new carpet and had to be accessed through a wedding party using the nearby function suite. It also meant we had to walk through the rain to reach the restaurant and lounge. The breakfast, on the first day in particular could be best described as sparse. Second day was better.

    The Superior room we had booked but had to wait until the second night to get. Staff also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our night, would book again no doubt about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is ok not much views to look at..the road leading was tight and didn't help with idiots taring down almost causing an accident.. Enjoyed the breakfast apart from missing items from mine and my partners plates..was a bit disappointed with that.

    Room size was bigger than expected, Bed was super comfy and again bigger than expected..very clean as Well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.3
    Staff and breakfast were good..room was dsappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a cottage. The cottages are three units in a bungalow at the rear of the hotel..the room was spacious but tired and because of the thin walls we were frequently disturbed by slamming doors and overhearing conversations with our neighbours

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Great weekend in a great location will be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi not being protected.

    The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We were attending a family wedding and this venue is first class for a wedding. The food was great all weekend the breakfast's especially.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Automatic entrance doors would be helpful for people with disability.

    The courteous and friendly staff couldn’t have been more helpful. The beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was comprehensive and hot food was always hot! There was a wedding on the Saturday and we anticipated noise, but there was none at all. A quiet and peaceful stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Fandabbydozy and would happily return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to see a dim night light in the en suite for use during the night. Exterior woodwork needs re-decorating

    Excellent large suite and bed. Very pleasant staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange idea of pre payment authorization. Makes you feel they think you will leave without paying but that is the way the owners seem to want it run. Have never experienced that before.

    Very comfortable. Super staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: