Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Norfolk B&B and inn reviews
  4. Holt B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Byfords

Reviews of Byfords This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1-3 Shirehall Plain, Holt, NR25 6BG, United Kingdom

#5 of 12 B&Bs and inns in Holt

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 323 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay - shame about the weather!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rain pouring out of guttering outside our room window. Lack of car parking space. Fresh lillies affect my husband's breathing! Would not rave about our evening meal but enjoyed the breakfasts.

    Bed, bed linen and towels - quality👍🏼

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2019

    10
    A great pleasure and will always recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is the second time we have stayed at Byfords and once again we were delighted with our 3 day break there.The ,location is perfect for us as in the town centre with all amenities close by.We ate in the restaurant every night and were pleased with the menu.The attention to detail is excellent and staff most welcoming and obliging.Our only problem was the torrential rain for the whole week.We will certainly return soon.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    9.2
    Not a cheap stay but definitely worth the extra !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Silly things that are attention to detail only...tv on total wonk on wall and toilet roll holder coming off the wall causing toll to continuously fall on floor! Coffee bags whilst a novel and charming idea that quite sadly got me excited...were awful!

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful whilst being professional e.g a call to our room to say a car park space had become available/ explanation of what was included in ‘breakfast package’!! The whole place was quaint. Lovely and welcoming and plenty of little touches such a complimentary coffee and cake on arrival, fresh biscuits in room and bath salts!!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    9.6
    Would highly recommend this hotel but perhaps look for alternative restaurants for an evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of service in this hotel was excellent but the quality of the food served for dinner was a bit disappointing and quite expensive. The dressed crab was good but swamped by salad, red cabbage slaw and a mound of new potatoes.

    Excellent customer care with great staff. Room was very comfortable with lovely extra touches such as very good toiletries and a candle in the bathroom. Beds were very comfortable and overall our stay was very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food at dinner wasn't great. The fish pie was cold and had to be sent back. And then we waited a long time for our main course to arrive. Breskfast disappointing too...muffin was soggy and my poached egg was hard in the middle. Only one choice of bread which was granary which I am intollerant to. The bedroom was very very warm at night. Without the radiators on.

    The room was beautiful. Especially the bathroom. Very clean. Nicely thought out. Nice extra touches like fresh heart shortbread in the room, free coffee and cake on arrival, moon cookies when going to bed. Staff really friendly and great customer service. Restaurant had a nice feel to it. Lovely place to stay. Got a space in the carpark too.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    8.3
    Room disappointing, but will not be put off from visiting again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning unit outside the window of the en suite bathroom was noisy and affected sleep!

    As always staff delightful, food excellent, and room clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    9.6
    Wonderful weekend stay. Wouldn't hesitate to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the restaurant for breakfast a wee bit slow but that seems like a Counsel of Perfection

    We got such a lovely welcome from the staff when we arrived. The room was gorgeous and very well equipped

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    10
    A joyous experience thank you, lived every minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not applicable really.

    Amazing friendly, warm service, incredible comfy room, palacial bathroom, excellent food and wine. Everything was superb, highly recommend Byfords, in this day and age to find such a gem is a joy, planning to go back June and September.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    10
    It is a lovely place to stay,comfortable and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There really was nothing to find fault with.

    Everything you could need and a few extras in the room Biscuits to go with hot drinks, sweets , fresh milk in the little fridge also water. It’s the little things that make this a special place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    8.8
    A fabulous one night stay with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful stay at Byfords - food wonderful- staff very friendly - recommend a stay there Loved the goodnight biscuits and attention to detail is fantastic

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.6
    The bed was very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t like queuing for our complimentary tea and cake!

    The bed was very comfy. There were matches and candles to use. Yummy shortbread biscuits,sweeties,fresh milk and coffee bags!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.5
    Room 9 disappointing, but customer service good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 9 had a noisy fan from kitchens running late and then starting up at 6am in the morning, also the TV didn't work plus a few of the electrical switches didn't seem to work either, overall a good hotel but needed a little more attention to details to make it a superb hotel

    Good customer service with little extras that made you feel special

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.2
    Cozy, friendly and higgledy piggledy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a little disappointing; dry by the time I got it, sausage seemed to have been deep fried. I wondered how much was local produce and high meat content vs cheaper options. Otherwise great selection of cold options.

    I know Holt but have never stayed there. Wonderful room in the attic; comfortable, warm, well appointed. Little touches like biscuits on the landing were a great addition. Good meal in the evening.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.8
    A great place for a short break in delightful North Norfolk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to change bedrooms as the first night the room was too claustrophobic. Our new room was much bigger and more comfortable.

    Excellent service and food. The breakfast was particularly good. Excellent place for a short break.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    Perfect mid week indulgence - coupled with switching on of the Christmas lights - simply dazzling!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing the stay was perfect from start to finish - which unfortunately came too quickly

    The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. The whole experience was made so enjoyable as nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Would certainly stay here again as the rooms are lovely and the staff on the whole helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one explained what the plan was for breakfast and they took a long time to bring the tea and coffee.

    Beautiful room with very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom and we liked the closed off area with tea and coffee, hairdryer and wardrobe and long mirror. We had a problem with an overflowing gutter (room 10) that kept me awake and made it difficult to get to the door without getting very wet. We mentioned this at checkout and Mark the receptionist immediately gave us a discount. He couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    9.2
    A most enjoyable mini break in a good location for exploring North Norfolk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location of fridge in relation to tea/ coffee making facility and better lighting for make up.

    We stayed in room 9. This was quiet with plenty of space, a comfortable bed and a great bathroom

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    8.8
    A lovely ‘Attic’ room full of character with beamed ceilings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My husband is tall and the room had a very low beamed ceiling in places which could have been very painful! There is no sitting room for guests staying at Byfords. It was difficult to park our car. More parking is required for guests.

    A lovely ‘Attic’ room full of character with beamed ceilings and views of Holt high street from the windows. A very very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We are in the restaurant and the food at dinner and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    9.6
    Definitely recommend for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is limited.

    Great place to stay. Great rooms, great food and great staff. The location is good, right in the centre of Holt with easy access to the coast and the rest of north Norfolk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    The room was beautifully laid out and extremely comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The car parking facilities were very poor and we often had to park on the road outside and move our car every hour, which was inconvenient.

    The room was beautifully laid out and extremely comfortable and spotlessley clean. It was a home from home.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous room and had some nice touches such as flowers in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. I would say if you are over 6ft then the beautiful beams in attic rooms 5 & 6 might give you a bump on the head.

    Gorgeous room and had some nice touches such as flowers in the bathroom, toiletries etc and a tea light & matches so you could chill out in the lovely bath that had an excellent shower over it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    Excellent venue, with great food and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No suggestions, it was very good.

    The room was very comfortable with very fresh decoration and facilities. The fresh milk n the fridge was greatly appreciated, much better than the plastic stuff. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    7.5
    Nice rooms but let down by the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food side of the business really doesn't match up to the standard of the rooms. I had to send some of my evening meal back and then again at breakfast there was a problem with some of the food. The service in the restaurant was not great.

    The rooms are pretty amazing but because we booked last minute for a sunny weekend it was quite expensive. Room 16 has a very large bathroom with a separate shower area which itself is way lager than your average bathroom. Staff on the accommodation side of the business were very good and tried to put right the wrongs of the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    8.8
    Room small and located in the car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking a nightmare, getting up early to feed the car parking machine. Making the morning cuppa in acupboard

    Breakfast very good, staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    8.8
    Characterful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cobwebs in the rafters of the bedroom. Afternoon tea was a little disappointing sandwiches were bit dry looks like they had been made for a while.

    Fantastic room with alot of character. Bed was very comfortable. It's a great place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    8.0
    Byfords was good and very friendly but should be a lot better for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After we'd checked in we asked to be moved because of noise from an extractor fan and broken blind in Room 9. Room 1 was a nicer room but there was still noise from equipment in the shop below and the toilet door latch and toilet roll holder were both loose. We were moved to Room 2 and this was much better. We found the food at breakfast and dinner to be quite variable and not as good as we'd expected, though dinner is not particularly expensive. For example, at breakfast the scrambled egg was overcooked and a garnish of lemon would have helped the smoked salmon. At dinner the crab and salmon fritter was dry and tasteless but the prawn dumpling (more like a spring roll) was very good.

    The staff at Byfords were friendly and always on hand. We liked the little touches like free nibbles with a meal, shortbread jar on the landing and jelly babies on departure. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and bathrooms were well finished and appointed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    9.6
    Luxury b&b with gorgeous rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although our room was gorgeous we were above the carpark so when staff left we could hear their loud "goodbyes!" Deliveries at 7am woke us. Staff cleaning up before they left each night at 11.30pm were banging and clanging. Main problem is the parking. 9 spaces for 17 rooms. I noticed that the staff were parking in the spaces though which surely should be for guests. Only other complaint is drinks at dinner and breakfast so so slow! We were on our main before they arrived at dinner. Enough moaning from me! We loved the hotel and would stay again. Just a few things need looking into for a 5 star b&b.

    The rooms were gorgeous! We had room 9 and the bathroom was just perfect with a heated floor! Cookies left outside the room before bed was a lovely treat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay at Byfords
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only critisism would be the staff in the restaurant often seemed a little disorganised, lacked direction on who should be doing what

    Breakfast was fantastic and made the room really good value

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.6
    Our stay at Byfotds in Holt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that meant I didn't give 5 stars all through was that in Room 15 in which we stayed the windows opened onto the air conditioning arrays, the noise was constant and very disappointing.

    Everything apart from the noise. The room was fantastic, one of the best we have ever stayed in, staff were great, all very good and as long as we had a different room we would go back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    10
    Relaxing, luxurious, chilled... just fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If I had had to pay for breakfast ( it was included in the rate) I would say it was overpriced for what I had.

    Superb location, lovely staff, spotless room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    Luxury in North Norfolk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Everything! The staff were friendly and very helpful; the room was spacious, clean and very well equipped; breakfasts were superb; the restaurant for coffee/lunch and/or dinner was excellent; and you are even provided with tasty ‘Goodnight Cookies’ on the way up to bed!! Add to all this a great location for visiting North Norfolk and you have a perfect recipe!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely area of the country, great b and b,, would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attic room was compact with restricted headroom - wouldn't choose it but was a last minute booking and last available room. Bed was comfy though

    The fresh milk and fridge in the room were appreciated in the heat - as was the fan. Bathroom was well stocked and had nice touches but the shower over the bath was not great/powerful. The building is beautiful well furnished with fresh flowers and help yourself to c shortbread on the landing. Also appreciated the free coffee and cake for two voucher left in the room, the delicatessen/bakery has a fabulous selection of cakes all fresh with a baker on the premises. Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit / yogurt, followed by freshly baked warm croissants and a full English for me, omelette for my partner. Restaurant was also good and er had pizza with local beer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.1
    some good, some not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was variable. Starters very good, one main course extremely poor, complained and it was taken off the bill. The staff said they had received comments from other customers about the pork dish. Not the best birthday meal.

    Room was very comfortable, lovely bathroom but bath/shower was challenging to get into and out of. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    Green light disturbed our sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in room 17. There is a green safety light over the front door. Inocious to start with, but when all the light were out and our eyes adjusted to the darkness a green glow lit up the room. So much so that it disturbed our sleep. Eventually, we moved to the single beds room (this being a family room) for a sound sleep.

    The room was very quiet. We had the windows open all night and we were not disturbed at all by noise. Breakfast was bountiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Best stay ever the staff were so helpful and friendly nothing was too much for them
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything it was really fantastic the breakfast was the best we have ever had we have been married for over 50 years so done a lot of travelling in uk will definitely be back soon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Cute, quaint property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cute, quaint property! We stayed in room 1, loved all the styling and bed was extremely comfortable. We ate lunch and breakfast at the onsite cafe, was had superb food! Will stay again next time we’re in Norfolk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    Comfy room, good food, friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bar...but then it’s not a Hotel. Parking a little tricky to find and limited - especially if others take more than their space!

    Staff all friendly and helpful - nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is not enough car parking space for every guest. I understand that this is difficult given the location of the hotel.

    The room was very comfortable. I liked the extra bits, like the homemade biscuits left out at bedtime.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.6
    The little extras that were included, such as fresh flowers,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could here people walking about during the night in the room above ours. It did keep me awake on our second night.

    The little extras that were included, such as fresh flowers, nightlight candles in the bathroom, scented bathsalts and a voucher for tea and cake in the restaurant on arrival.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.9
    A very nice place to celebrate a special weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the restaurant was patchy after our waitress left. She was really attentive but unfortunately we couldn't say the same once she had left. Other than that, a lovely evening.

    The room was superb. Nice little touches (complimentary late night cookies by our door). We dined at the restaurant and the food was really nice. Breakfast the following morning was also very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only trouble is the size of the car park.

    The bed was very large and comfortable. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The food was plentiful and excellent with a good choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    The little extras such as the fresh milk and yummy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elephants staying above us that had hob nailed boots on all the time. Or the staff using the outside store constantly jangling the metal chain on the door at 06.00....... not as impressed this time sadly. Also being kept waiting at breakfast for a table and ignored over non-residents in the queue.

    The little extras such as the fresh milk and yummy shortbread x

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    Fabulous Stay with wonderful Food and very Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike - perhaps if I was picky there is very limited car parking but general parking spaces are close to the hotel.

    Fabulous Room [No.10] with very nice 'walk in style' shower and plenty of room for all of the 'stuff' you seem to have these days in your bathroom 'kit'...:)...! The staff went out of their way to make you welcome and the meals and breakfast was exceptional. I have a back issue from time to time which is aggravated by a so called 'comfort style' bed [soft] however the ever helpful staff soon had a purpose made bed board over my side of the large double bed which meant both my wife and I were very pleased and well catered for. The location couldn't be more central - oh and you must try their homemade scones [we had a welcome complementary free coffee and cake voucher - so we soon got in the habit of having scones and tea/coffee...:)...]. Cant recommend Byfords highly enough - and yes we will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    Brilliant!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have been nice to have had a lounge bar to sit in at night

    All the staff we saw were very polite and helpful. The room we stayed in was well furnished and lovely and bright and a good size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.1
    Great location and rooms, breakfast and restaurant not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant/ breakfast. The service is often slow, they had run out of pastries even by 9am. We have stayed here a few times and things seem to have deteriorated since originally staying. The restaurant side is very much a commercial business, to their detriment unfortunately.

    Rooms are very nicely furnished, modern but with character period features. The hotel side i.e the rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Location is excellent, right in the centre of the town and is perfect for exploring the shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    We loved the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved the property. The building and decor were carefully thought out the attention to detail was apparent to us. The small touch such as goodnight cookies and fruit available when arriving back to our rooms , luxury toiletries and fresh flowers. A great property and stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived to helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived to helpful staff and complimentary tea and cake. Food was excellent in the restaurant, room very comfortable. Perfect way to spend a weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Would certainly stay here again, lovely atmosphere. ALL staff so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good choice at breakfast but our cooked breakfasts were not quite as good as we would have expected, my omellete was overcooked and my partner had to ask for a replacement egg as his fried egg was also overcooked. Just a tiny moan!

    Room and bed superb, vi spring mattress sooo comfortable. Able to park right outside entrance door as stayed on a Sunday night. Not always possible as car park only takes 6 cars but there is a public car park close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.9
    Happy experience and now "Happy Memories".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Miss luggage rack in the room Insuffient cloth hanging space in the room (difficult to provide as room space is limited) Bought a pastry in the hotel shop -leak and chesse. No leak nor cheese taste. Not worth the money! Bad experience!

    room decor - tasteful, very nice quietness hotel location the sunny weather (28C) - although not in your responsibility

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    A very posh b&b with delicious food. The morning poached eggs were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As above

    We had the table in the front bay window for our evening meal which was lovely if a little draughty. Our kedgery meal was lovely but way too much of it. I would suggest a smaller bowl as such a shame to waste such delicious food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    10
    Have recommended this place to many people, we love it there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lighting in the restaurant was a little harsh, more subtle candle light needed and music as sometimes other guests conversations were very loud in the front dinning area.

    The comfort and luxurious bedroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.3
    Good comfortable stay ! I would recommend it any one !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View from window. But that cannot be changed as it over looks the generators.

    Fresh flowers in the bathroom were a nice touch. Easter bunny short bread was thoughtful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant enough and food was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was very small and on leaving a huge truck had parked on the corner and made it very tight for people to get out of. We also found a long hair on the bathroom floor and the bathroom itself was very small. The shower was difficult to get in and out of as you had to climb (what felt like 3 foot) to get into the bath; very tricky especially if you have bad knees as I do

    The location was good and the linen was lovely. A very charming room (Room 12) with all the usual facilities, i.e. tea and coffee making, hairdryer, etc., but not really worth the £185 we paid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    10
    Fantastic in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I planned this stay as a surprise for my Mums special birthday. The staff helped organise balloons, birthday banner, flowers and a cake and helped make our stay a very special one. My Mum was over the moon and felt very spoilt so thank you to everyone who played a part in this.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant surroundings with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was rather tight and you could not be sure to get a place as there were lots of builders vans and even a staff car, although they were helpful about moving to let you out.

    The bedroom was very comfortable and well furnished with nice touches like fresh flowers in the bathroom. The staff were very welcoming and were most helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    7.5
    I would go back to Byfords. I would most most definitely insist on a room in the main building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of sleep due to hard bed. Entrance to our room was outside, we felt a little self contained if not isolated. We were not aware of any lounge or bar area within Byfords to get a drink, fancied a G&T but did not bother to go out in the cold. General to-ing and fro-ing noise from the car park - people going to their cars or standing outside smoking, chatting late at night. The menu was not very exciting, it was ok.

    good location for a local totter about the shops in Holt. Easy access to the coast etc., decor good, very clean, polite and friendly staff. Breakfast was good although sent back burnt toast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    4.6
    Just about ok, but not as good as I remember it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was only sparsely furnished with a bare wooden floor. It took some time to work out how the tv worked. I could not work out how the lights in the bathroom worked. The restaurant was a disappointment. I had kedgeree which was ok. However the Byfords Mess dessert was not very well put together. The service where I was sitting was extremely slow, with waiters walking by my table but not checking on what I needed. It took too long to get my dessert and even longer to get my bill.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience and rebooking for 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I couldn't stay longer!!!

    Everything, cookies, Lillie's in the bathroom ... Loved the shampoos & shower gels etc Mags ... We ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ everything x

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.6
    super place! a cafe, a hotel, a shop, a first class resturant all rolled into one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    er nothing!

    outstanding room the bathroom was so big you could have had a party in it! the little extras make it for us, decent coffee in the room, fresh apples and shortbread on the landing, REAL milk for the morning coffee/tea,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    7.5
    Great stay near the coast, right in the centre of town:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit expensive for what it was, there are no facilities other than the room

    I loved the character of the room, very old and quirky, staff very attentive, nice touches like shortbread in the room. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    5.4
    Byfords has Mugged me off!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE paid nearly £200 for Posh B&B. The bathroom was grubby with mould on the tile grout in the shower. At breakfast, we were placed into a room where other members of the public (not other guests) who had just walked in off the street. In particular, I was disgusted to find a family with young screaming children placed on a table next to us. Not Posh, Not relaxing, Not respectful to us a B&B guests. Byfords are in my opinion just greedy money grabbers getting money from where ever they can. The two sides of the business need splitting out so you give your B&B guests a much better breakfast experience commensurate with the price point of your rooms!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is limited parking at the hotel and only 1 hour parking in Holt from 9 am to 6 pm but we managed this time. Would probably need to drive to a car park a little distance away in the summer/peak season.

    Accommodation and food was excellent. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.6
    Really great. Try them out, you won't be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    EXCELLENT Book Dinner a few days before you travel, or it will be full when you arrive. Quaint, interesting town. Will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    The double bed was comfortable, the food was excellent, all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was soft, we prefer a firm mattress! No sherry for aperitif. Vermouth Bianco was warm.

    The double bed was comfortable, the food was excellent, all town facilities were close to Byfords. Mussels as a main were decent sized and in an excellent sauce.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking on site, but plenty of paring in the street and a large public car park just a few minutes walk away.

    Rooms are beautifully presented and the service is as you would expect form such a nice hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    Very romantic with a loved one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Byfords hotel was the most charming place i have ever had the pleasure of staying in.The service was second to none with the added extras like coffee and cake on arrival and always the most delightful staff.We had dinner in the evening and the staff went way beyond to make our stay amazing.i would definitely be visiting again at the first opportunity and wouldnt hesitate to pass on my recommendations for your quaint hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic building, and the accommodation superb. However the evening meal let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The evening meal was a big disappointment , i had the swordfish, and my husband the beef. Both were dry, and over cooked. Left feeling we should of eaten elsewhere, as the rest of the stay was excellent.

    The bedroom and bathroom were absolutely superb. Really made a relaxing break away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous. Love it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing all great. Probably parking could be an issue but in this instance we managed to get one of the 6 parking places for the property.

    The food was excellent. The staff are so helpful and friendly. Love the rooms, Beautiful old world charm

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable as we meet up with our family that where staying in their caravan at Kellling Heath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They welcomed us with a drink and cake which was very welcoming after our 2 hour journey. The room very cosy, comfortable bed, shortbread biscuits left out at night to have with tea or coffee very enjoyable. Our family meet up for the day and ate in the Byford restaurant in the evenings there was 4 adults and 3 children 13,10 & 3. All enjoyed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    Beautiful luxurious room will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was good but could be a problem if none available on site. Website does inform you of restricted parking which is good.

    Beautiful room throughout, luxurious feel to every part of the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    10
    I'd definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tricky finding entrance and reception, my room a short walk outside, but everything else was great.

    Every possible need was provided. Fresh milk, lovely biscuit, comfy bed, nice bathroom, helpful staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    Excellent, comfortable stay in a charming place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place strikes the perfect balance between 5* hotel quality of service and homely feel. The room was spacious and the bed is very comfortable. However, what impressed me most was the bathroom. Big bathtub, lovely salts for a relaxing bath, good quality toiletries and fluffy towels. The restaurant/ cafe downstairs serves hearty and tasty meals. I loved staying there and will return. The village it's in is very charming - small cobbled streets, boutique shops, antique shops, country pubs, and nearby beaches.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    10
    Definitely want to go again. Every single member of staff was extremely friendly!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Due to age and new hips(!) our room was two flights up!

    Bed,bed linen all 1st class. Complimentary tea and cake on arrival. Lots of extra little touches for your comfort. Breakfast was luscious!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived to find ourselves entering through a delicatessen with its buzzing atmosphere. My wife and I were welcomed by the friendly staff and shown around our room with its clean and comfortable facilities, especially the massive bath and showroom. Good evening meal in Byford's restaurant. Good quiet nights’ sleep and excellent breakfast. We will certainly recommend it to family and friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    10
    Really good accommodation, helpful staff, excellent breakfast, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking could be a problem, but wasn't for us.

    The breakfast was excellent, parking could be a problem, 8 spaces for 16 rooms, but their was other parking available. The room was really comfortable and very clean, staff really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: