Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cairn Bay Lodge 3 stars

278 Seacliff Road, Bangor, BT20 5HS, United Kingdom

#3 of 14 hotels in Bangor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 99 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed squeaked a bit much!

    Our room at this property right at the entrance to the Belfast Harbour had fab views of the bay. Lovely quirky styling of the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was perfect

    Absolutely excellent place. From the minute I walked in, nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and unique, the breakfast was to die for and I will definitely be back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower only had hot water in the morning and on my last day it was scalding hot and I couldn't regulate the temperature.

    Very comfortable room. Really nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drilling at 8am and the cold in the breakfast room

    I have to say I was very disappointed with my stay at Cairn Bay. I had booked it for my husbands birthday and as we run our own business it was a pre Christmas treat before the madness of the next couple of weeks. We arrived and were happy enough with the room at the side of the house big comfy bed however the bathroom is obviously not in the photos and needs an upgrade. However this did not worry us. We were told breakfast was served until about 10.30 and with two children at home who normally have us up at 7am we were very much looking forward to a lie in. This did not happen as there was drilling from 8.30am not just for 5 minutes but constant drilling. We went down for breakfast the girl who was serving breakfast just talked over the drilling not apologising or mentioning it. The breakfast room was freezing. The drilling continued all through breakfast. Which was lovely but could not be enjoyed with the noise and the cold. When we were checking out no apology or mention of the noise which was still going on! I said to the girl I really wasn't happy and she said she would pass the message on.....no one contacted us. I know this is probably a one off with the noise but it has put me off more is the way the situation was handled and the fact that no one thought to apologise or explain.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few things that let our stay down. Little things but quite a few of them. The first being the bed was soooo creaky we couldn’t even sit on it without a loud noise! The shower wasn’t even enough to wash your body, we were given use of another rooms shower but this meant walking through in your towel. There were dvds available but no DVD player until another guest kindly gave us theirs. The remote control didn’t work so every time we had to get up and change it. Nobody was around in the late afternoon/evenings so it felt very eerie. Although when we saw them the next day they were friendly.

    I loved that they had put the beautiful seaweed shampoo and conditioner products in the room, that was a nice touch. Also the snacks offered were a nice surprise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I was being very picky, I'd say the bathroom could do with a bit of refurb - The power shower turned into a trickle at points! Apart from that, the rooms were fantastic!

    Good price, Great rooms, Excellent (made to order) Breakfast served with fresh fruits, Fast Wifi. The staff were very accommodating - We will definitely be back and could not recommend the place more!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed the hotel doesn't serve evening meals, but I was signposted to the nearby Jamaica Inn about ten minutes walk around the headland which served excellent food.

    This is an absolute gem of a guest house overlooking Ballyholme Bay. Very warm welcome from the proprietor and shown to a large room over looking the bay (the Ballyholme Bay Room) with an equally generous en suite bathroom (large shower cubicle but no bath). Large, comfortable double bed, with more than adequate wardrobe and cupboard space. Decor is to a very high standard and quite ornate - a refreshing change to the bland corporates. Excellent free wi-fi with a good hospitality tray including teas, coffees, biscuits and crisps with access to a fridge for fresh milk. The guest house has the most expansive breakfast menu I've ever seen in a hotel and the quality of food and service was first class.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish I could have stayed longer.

    Fantastic sea views. Friendly staff. Our room had its own lounge and lovely comfy bed. Best breakfast menu I have ever seen. Lovely quirky decor. Also has a excellent upmarket cafe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVED MY STAY AT CAIRN BAY LODGE AND WILL RETURN AGAIN. BEAUTIFUL SETTING FRIENDLY EFFICIENT STAFF FANTASTIC FAMILY ROOM .LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF MY STAY.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better. Perfect

    This is a luxury boutique b&b that was way more preferable to a hotel. The rooms are decorated to quirky perfection, the breakfast was phenomenal and the owners hugely accommodating. Anyone travelling to this part of the world should book in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky b and b, comfortable bed in a good sized room,with extra little touches such as bottled water n snacks provided. Excellent choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not one thing I did not like.

    It was absolutely gorgeous. The building , charming, old world touches. Amazingly spacious room. Beautiful view. The grounds pretty and relaxing. So so comfirtable!!! Everything 1st your finger tips. But the building is just so uniquely awesome. I wanted to just move in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked it all; I would definitely return

    The Cairn Bay Lodge had a lot of small touches, like chocolates & crisps in the room; antique decor, a sea view and excellent coffee. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is just our point of view and is being voiced constructively. The breakfast room has been moved to a smaller room since our last stay and that doesn't quite fit in with the quirky character of the B&B. There is now a cafe on site open to the public that is housed in the old breakfast room. Breakfast first morning was ok. Cafe was very busy so maybe food quality suffered a bit? Bacon was over cooked and hard, soda bread was very chewy and tough. Sunday morning breakfast was a lot better but I think the soda bread recipe needs a rethink. It is a lovely place to stay but I think it's lost a little of it's charm due to cafe but business is business and if the owners can get the balance right between Cafe and B&B then Cairn Bay Lodge would have top marks all round!

    Front facing large room, spacious bathroom with complimentary organic seaweed products. Very relaxing room and very comfortable bed. Toast selection basket is a nice touch compared to usual B&B white or brown factory produced bread. Staff were very friendly, especially the lovely male server who was very kind and helpful to a lady who was staying at the B&B on her own following a bereavement. He's a star!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony doors didn't open, (no fresh air), choice for breakfast could be more a visible choice, as in fruit, yoghurt as well as cereals ....etc!

    Bed was fine view was good, easy access, friendly staff and owners. Breakfast was freshly made and piping hot,(the Fry), plus the cereal was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very spacious and comfortable and themed around a visit to the seaside. The dinning room had a beautiful view of the sea, and the breakfast was fantastic with N Ireland delights such as wheaten and soda bread. A delightful B&B where my wife and I were made to feel at home by the owners and their staff. Walking distance from the town so no requirement for taxis or public transport. Would not hesitate to book again in the future. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked the choice of extra bacon/sausage on fry. Tea was cold and when asked it to be topped up it was too weak. Bed very squeaky but very comfortable.

    Lovely quirky property. Fry for breakfast good and good choice on menu. Staff very attentive. Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They had a lovely cafe - but it wasn't open on Sunday or Monday. That didn't affect breakfast, but I wish I'd been able to eat there during the day as our breakfasts were so good!

    Absolutely beautiful place - staff were lovely, there was a fridge with free cake guests could help themselves to and milk - no fiddly little UHT cartons, along a cupboard full of DVDs that could be borrowed. All the produce was local, and bread was baked daily, on premises!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place Literally located by the seaside. Great view! And 10 mins walk to the town center. Very comfortable bed , super clean. Everyone is friendly and helpful! Extremely child friendly. And we loved the food there. Freshly made local special breakfast (like the crab meat with egg). We already start to miss it when we are still in the property. Definitely the place We want to come back !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed, footboard had been repaired and squeaked every time you moved.

    Free snacks in room, breakfast was very good, accommodated an early breakfast for us.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't close the room door quietly as it stuck.

    Being able to just come and go and the little extras.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food for breakfast and lunch at the "Starfish" was wonderful. Excellent fresh, local food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely but every time you turned move on the bed it squeaked and woke me up a few times.

    The room has a lovely view we stayed in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My Lovely host prepared a cooked breakfast for me, before the usual time - over and above the call of duty-- Thanks so much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure was somewhat weak

    Staff & location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brilliant staff excellent food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in shower could be better.

    Very friendly staff and fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast & people

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less delicious breakfastest so I wouldnt indulge!

    The friendly vibe and location.Caa

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing and the food was delicious. Convenient to town. Great views!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location near the beach Super friendly and accommodating owner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous breakfasts, decor, sea views, staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to be honest

    Very unique accommodation in a great location with excellent staff and a top class breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was friendly and relaxed and the views amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A friendly welcome at this wonderfully eclectic B&B

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable and clean and staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Everything ...Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Owner and all members of staff very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend to others.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited breakfast menu before 8:00

    The food was delicious

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location, staffs... everything!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well decorated guesthouse! The landlord is kind and helpful!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a smoker wasn't really anywhere designated for smoking,but not really a bad point

    Friendly staff large comfy room great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was fabulous

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent family run business, made very welcome and breakfast was fabulous.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutley nothing!

    The food in the Starfish restuarant was some of the best we have had!! 😋

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault the place!

    Very comfortable room with lovely breakfast in the morning!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was perfect!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly & welcoming to me & my son. There was a great selection for breakfast & the food was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great beds, food beyond all expectations and the staff made every effort to please us.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hospitality, great friendly people, brilliant location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice house, good room with a sea view, good food, nice people - what's not to like? I hope to stay again sometime.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A fabulous stay. As a solo traveller I was made to feel very welcome. Wonderful breakfasts (try the speciality breakfasts, they are delicious.) There is also a cafe to sit and relax and while away the odd hour or two. They gave me great a send of when I left to start my cycle ride around NI and the Scottish Islands.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little neglected and cluttered, got family room although there were only 2 of us with no children so wud gave liked a double room

    Fabulous location and amazing breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Honestly can't think of anything.

    The fridge of beer in the hall cupboard beside the room. Very handy for a night cap. ☺ Comfortable, spacious room. Gorgeous & filling breakfast. Very nice property with great view across Ballyholme Bay. Hope to stay again next year.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only downside was that we only spent one night there!

    The whole experience was great from start to finish. The building is beautiful, decor in keeping with its age and a real treasure trove. If you like minimal then this is not for you. If you love quirky, then you will love this. The breakfast was to die for, I had the eggs benedict royale and it was delicious, could not fault it. The waiter was friendly and made us feel at home. Totally recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This guest house looks great but is not very practical particularly for a family. The drawers do not open on the bedside table without a lot of force, there was nowhere to put toiletries in the bathroom (the cabinet did not open) and we were unable to use the wardrobe as the hanging rack was too high. We had to ask for a number of things they had forgotten to put in the room including- a kettle, towels (they had only left 1 hand towel and 1 bath towel for 3 people) and they had left snacks for 2 although we paid for 3. The room was also cold during the day and the water was luke warm when we arrived and we could not shower before going out- it was fine in the morning. I would never usually leave a poor review- but we paid £120 for 1 nights stay.

    The location by the sea.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Double bed was a bit uncomfortable (an errant spring, we thought). Given that the other reviews on Booking.com and another guide we consulted were so positive, we were disappointed with the breakfast (a limited range by comparison to what we have found in B&Bs charging these prices). At the time of our visit, construction work on a separate modern house was ongoing in what had been the back garden: the construction work did not disturb us at all, but the views of the gardens that we had seen in a published guide are no longer there.

    This is a good B&B located along the coast just south of the centre of Bangor. A very quiet location when we were there in early May; excellent walks available along the nearby beach and shoreline. The house seemed to have been an Edwardian house that has been extended to the rear; it also houses a cafe on the ground floor and a therapy/beauty room. Our bedroom and B&B generally were spotlessly clean. We had a good sized family room with an excellent tea tray available and high grade/organic toiletries. Comfortable seating in the bedroom with access to balcony that overlooked the back of the house. Very friendly and helpful owners who gave good advice on places to eat.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The per night fee was a little pricey for a suburban location. My only other quibble was a small dog barking in the back yard but it didn't ruin our stay.

    Great location, just across street from park and beach. Lovely inn with clean spacious rooms with hot showers and comfy beds. Owners were friendly and easy going. Breakfast was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    I stay in many 'chain' hotels and it was refreshing at Cairn Lodge to have a room that wasnt a sterile copy of everything I have seen before. The rooms are very well appointed individual and very comfortable. I was lucky enough to have a glorious sea view The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was first rate. I will certainly stay there again on any return visit

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower in room was just a sprinkle and needs upgraded.not an abundance oh hot water

    Room spacious and everywhere exceptionally clean. Owner staff on duty and really friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was a little bit cold even though the central heating was on and the radiator was hot. However, the weather was cold and windy and I am not as young as I used to be! The room was not draughty.

    I really enjoyed my stay at Cairn Bay Lodge. The manager and staff were friendly. The room and ensuite were clean and the bed comfortable. I enjoyed the breakfasts too I had a great view of the bay from my bedroom window. If I have another opportunity to visit Bangor I would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing!

    Booked a family room, got a family room plus a sitting room. Plenty of space. Breakfasts were excellent. Very friendly staff. Lots of maps/info from owner. Stayed 2 nights. We had no problem finding the place.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The hosts were absolutely fantastic, very friendly and were on hand if there was anything I needed. All information was excellent. The breakfast was just amazing, both mornings my breakfast was beautifully presented and tasted amazing, a great start to the day.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big warm welcome, gorgeous spacious bedroom overlooking the beach, fantastic decor in bathroom. Really enjoyed chats with the friendly staff at breakfast, and the food a very high standard to top it off. Would definitely go back and recommend anyone to stay!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owners and staff were warm, friendly and provided excellent customer service. Being right on the water the views were fantastic. The food was delicious and the place was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ideal situation right on the sea front of Bangor, friendly, good food, good value. Walking distance to nice restaurants, shops and cafes. Good public transport into Belfast etc.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    only downside was the shower wasnt the best it was very clean but not powerful at all. It was faulty and we forgot to mention it when checking out.

    we really enjoyed our stay here, what a beautiful place with great facillities,staff,food and views! would definately recommend it. Try the homemade scones in the cafe they are amazing!!!!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to dislike except the occasional rain!

    Quality of breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly and very obliging. Plenty of car parking off road.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It takes some finding because of the 2 mile 'one way' aspect of their road. The road they are on is an extention of the Marine Promenade and shore road from the centre of Bangor and is ONE WAY west to east all the way. The best way especially from the EAST is to go straight into the centre of Bangor, head for the Marina area down the hill on the shore, then turn RIGHT and continue round for 2 miles. The property in on the shore line (past the sailing club) in Ballyholme Bay.

    The shoreline location, the eclectic mix of furniture interior design and collectable curious. The homeliness and extreme friendliness of proprietors and their staff. The breakfast choices including a range of 'fish' options incl. fresh salmon! The quality of preparation and presentation of the breakfast. Adequate private (off road)parking in their grounds. The information both verbal and reading material regarding the local town (Bangor), and access tips to Belfast. Good to use as a base for Belfast tour visit, half an hour by car.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: