Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cairngorm Hotel 3 stars

Grampian Road, Aviemore, PH22 1PE, United Kingdom

#4 of 11 hotels in Aviemore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1314 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was very small for the price. Restaurant and bar extremely busy. Would have been very hot inside the room had the weather been better.

    Breakfast was good and very central, but not quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are a bit small - but comfortable.

    We liked EVERYTHING! The room was clean, cozy, and comfy. We loved the tartan curtains and blankets. The decor and ambience were lovely. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sticky toffee pudding and butterscotch sundae were delicious. The smoked haddock for breakfast was wonderful too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heavy duvets especially for elderly guests. Chairs in the restaurant need reupholstering and cushioned for a comfortable meal

    Food is good ,service is very pleasant at reception and the restaurant. The bathroom is modern. Parking is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very average despite being big portions and you cannot book a table. Wait staff were great though. It’s cheaper to book direct than through the various online hotel booking websites - had I done this, I would’ve saved 100 pounds on my stay - seeing the price difference at check in was quite disappointing.

    Good location. Room was clean and comfortable and I would definitely recommend choosing a room away from the bar as it is very busy and loud.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the noise from the bar downstairs but it really didn’t go on too late

    Everything really the staff,the decor. Well maybe a lift would have been helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Music noise in room, which we were warned about but it ended later than promised.

    Right outside the station but with good double glazing so the occasional train not a problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was excellent, and ideally located opposite the train station. The hotel provided a good gluton free menu for the evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom window might benefit from a privacy curtain (net or otherwise?) so that the heavy curtains didn't need to be drawn. This would allow more air into the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were huge and really comfortable. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Food was delicious and really good menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything.

    The friendliness of all the staff. They made it so much more fun and lovely to stay there. They even presented me with a birthday cake from themselves ☺

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi didn't work all the time. Lady at breakfast wasn't very friendly. Low pressure on the shower.

    Very good location. Good food in restaurant and a nice bar. Rooms were tidy. Receptionists were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was clean and had been recently updated. Staff were pleasant enough at check in although seemed a little distracted by other things. Breakfast was delicious, plenty of choice. I prefer to have my breakfast cooked to order rather than buffet style so this was great. Parking was included but when we arrived early evening, the remaining parking spaces were quite tight. We had booked a room over the bar which had live music on but we weren't disturbed and had a rested night's sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low ceiling! Kept bumping our heads. Would like more vegan options at the restaurant.

    The bed was so comfortable, the decor was cute, very quaint spot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived early morning. Our luggage was stored by the hotel and because of the great location we were able to easily catch the bus to the funicular railway for a great day out. We were happy to be able to have dinner at the hotel in the evening. A short walk across the road to the train the next day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vegetarian//vegan options for dinner. Dinner was prepared in a rather unhealthy way, fatty and creamy.

    Spacious clean rooms, nice shower, great bar with delightful live band. Location is an easy walk into town, close to shops and supermarkets. Beautiful walks just 5 minutes drive away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our 2nd visit and was just as good as our first. Hotel is in a great location, made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. Food is great. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music until 1am. We were told upon arrival that we would hear music in our room but without apologies just as an information

    Friendly waiters at the restaurant Highlands atmosphere. Comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quaint hotel in the highlands handily located at the end of the drive of the MacDonald Resort...just a couple of minutes to shops, cafes, etc. My room was newly refurbished, very clean and comfortable with lovely views. Staff were friendly and breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I got a letter telling me there Is a lively bar with loud music before I arrived. No problem... The only thing I heard was the old air-conditioning unit on the roof outside my bedroom 108 which ran 24 hours. I did complain but the place was in denial! Dont stay in 108!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They advertise free parking for guests, but locals and others not staying at the hotel go to eat at the hotel restaurant and take up the parking spaces.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were noisy at night - but then they were over the bar and we knew that when we booked.

    The food was good but a little light on the gluten-free options. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi wasn't spectacular. I found it to be quite slow when trying to access social media, etc. Unfortunately, I rely on wifi to stream netflix/hulu and was a bit disappointed that the wifi didn't allow for video streaming. As I was on trip for business, it wasn't too bad as I was able to upload my photos or other data-heavy actions on the wifi in the office, but it was kind of a bummer that I couldn't catch up on my stories at night.

    The atmosphere and food were incredible. The staff were nice and attentive and were very understanding that my mother forgot to turn in her key when she checked out. Luckily she was a quick train ride to Inverness away and I could return it for her as I was staying additional days in Aviemore. The location across from the train station was ideal and it was within walking distance to tons of lovely shops, groceries and spectacular views. It was a short bus ride to the Cairngorms and my office in Kingussie.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food mostly disappointing except the excellent venison steak. Tiny, cramped room. Mixed breakfast staff. 👎cooked breakfast 👎

    Conveniently located opposite rail station. Comfy bed. Good bathroom. Lovely restaurant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant a bit dated. Loud banging noises throughout the night. Sounded like someone emptying bins or it was very noisy central heating.

    Good Food, friendly staff, comfortable beds. Good location. Would stay again even though a few negatives.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first room (109) was tiny & noisy despite not being directly above the bar. The bed was small & most uncomfortable. We didn't get any sleep! We asked to move & was given room 120. This was a very much nicer room & the bed was very comfortable. It more than made up for the bad first night & redeemed our unfavourable impression of the hotel!

    Excellent location - very helpful staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely busy restaurant which they seem prepared and well organised for, but still meant 30 mns waiting time before being taken to a table - efficient service after.

    A pleasurable stay - would definitely go again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was slightly small and a bit too hot. Also some of the other rooms were being refurbished so there was a slight smell of paint out in the corridor.

    Friendly staff, very good breakfast and evening meal too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food was delicious as always, staff very friendly. Always feel at home in this hotel, have been going since our honeymoon 36 years ago. Love it!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The staff were extremely helpful. The highland buffet was amazing, it's a must if you're staying here. The location is fantastic, close to lovely walking areas, amazing views of the Cairngorm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small considering the price.

    Hotel being renovated at the time of my visit. I had a recently upgraded room therefore the decor and bathroom were of a high standard. Hotel is in a great location with a bar and restaurant on site. Generous check out time of 11am.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi is a little patchy, restaurant can be extremely busy especially in holiday periods and may have to wait a while if no set booking but I was more than happy to wait a while in the bar

    Central location, good parking, rooms comfortable/warm/good bathroom facilities. On-site popular restaurant incl. some traditional Scottish food (open to non hotel residents also) and public bar which has a good atmosphere. (Note some rooms are above bar and can be fairly noisy until late evening if in one of these - but most rooms are not) Good breakfast stayed here on numerous occasions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Faultless in every way. The staff were all amazing, the location is perfect. The lounge was packed everyday with lunch and dinner diners, don't blame them the food is fresh and tasty! You are guaranteed a comfortable stay here in one of Scotland's hidden gems with plenty to see and do in Aviemore. We were recommended by friends and family who are usually quite picky!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small, bathrooms had no room to move. Towel bar was right at the toilet seat making the towels touch the seat... someone was not thinking srtaight when they designed the layout. Also was disappointed that even though I booked a pay later rate, the amount was charged to the card that I used for the reservation and the hotel staff would not switch it to another card or cash.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy, even at 1am, you had to sit in the lobby, we're it was cold, for a drink as you were not allowed to sit in the bar if you weren't eating even though there were empty tables.

    It was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good selection and quality at breakfast. We were warned that we'd booked a room above the bar, and that there would be a band on in the evening, and it might be noisy. The hotel staff (both at booking time, and check-in time) were very good at checking we were OK with this, and it was hardly noisy at all Although they were very busy for dinner, they had a very effective system of giving you a pager to let you know when the table was ready

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor of the hotel looked quite tired and could do with an upgrade.

    Location was great and the hotel staff were very attentive. Very good hotel for pets!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, parking difficult at times, tried to charge the full amount of the room 7 days before I arrived - this not clearly stated when I booked

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault anything

    Hotel exceeded our expectations,from well decorated, very clean room with so comfortable super king bed, to delicious food,very helpful friendly staff, good entertainment each night. Entire hotel is a credit to owner and management.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors smelt funny every time we went to and from our room? We presume our room was over the kitchen. We’re glad our room didn’t smell the same, or we would have changed rooms/hotel. The kettle was in a cupboard under the tv, but there was no where to put it or plug it in. We ended up unplugging the tv, which was mounted on a revolving tv ‘lazy Susan’ effort?? Which my wife then knocked slightly sending the kettle and boiling content all over the wall and floor. A bit of a safety hazzard! The Wall behind the bed was also so thin we could here someone snoring in the next room!!! Glad we only stayed for one night as we were passing through the Cairngorms. We also dined in the restaurant, which was convenient, however it was overpriced. The quantity was good, large plate, but the quality didn’t reflect the price. I suppose it’s a tourist location, so they push up the prices.

    Looks nice, but fell short inside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    good food, great breakfast, comfy bed, very good entertainment on in the bar which meant it was a fantastic atmosphere for what would ordinarily be a 'normal' mid week evening overnight stay anywhere else !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel right in the centre of Aviemore. Nice friendly staff in the hotel, bar and restaurant. The food at night was fantastic and it is a great menu with plenty choices. We stayed on a Saturday and the entertainment in the bar at night was also excellent. Great breakfast on the Sunday and will definitely use this hotel the next time we're in Aviemore.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no disabled access to the rooms, possibly because the hotel is a listed building. The double room we were located was the smallest double room we have ever slept in. The only 13A sockets in the room were difficult to access being either behind the back of the desk or behind the bedside table.

    I have always found the food at the Cairngorm Hotel to be of the highest standard and consistently good and it was no different during our weekend stay. Wifi was readily available and good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a tad small but only one night stay this wasn't that much of an issue. The corridor could be a bit noisy with squeaky floors but again this was only a minor issue.

    Lovely Scottish hotel. The food here was amazing. We ate here in the evening instead of going out. The Buffet was excellent. Cooked breakfast was also good. Would stay here again,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel oozes Scottish flair, from the tartan carpets to the antler head decor, you can't get any more Scottish than this! I stayed in a twin room with a friend and the room was a bit small but fit for purpose! The bed was genuinely one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on and the bathroom was simply stunning and very new. Everything was clean - perfect night's sleep in a top notch hotel. Usually I'm a little reluctant to eat at a hotel restaurant but this time, we decided to give it a go and we're so glad we did! The food was delicious - no need to step out the hotel for everything you need under one roof. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delighted to be able to have traditional porridge at breakfast - not sweetened! Location excellent for guests travelling by rail - just opposite the station and bang in the middle of the village.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payment. I booked (last minute) with Booking.com and paid online with Paypal. On checking out, I was told that I hadn't paid and asked to pay which I did so - we were in a hurry to leave. I subsequently checked my emails and realised my Paypal account had been debited. When I rang the hotel, the lady was great and v apologetic and cancelled my other payment.

    Amazingly comfortable bed. Wonderful, friendly staff. Delicious breakfast. Great atmosphere in bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In our room we could hear pots and pans banging and shouting until around 2345. We assumed this was the kitchen and its staff. This meant we could not be comfortable in our own room. After finally getting to sleep we were awoken by loud banging from 0700. It sounded like steel drums being thrown around a room for hours on end. We gave up trying to sleep and left the hotel once we packed our stuff. Deciding to go and get ready for the day ahead elsewhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor water pressure in our room! However may have been due to colder weather.

    The brekfast was delicious and both cooked and cold options were fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a wee bit cramped, but has what you need. Stairs are a bit loud, but don't interfere with your rest.

    Amazing space, great restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom could have been bigger, bath was VERY small

    ALL the staff I spoke to genuinely cared and were helpful, REAL people, not the "have a nice day brigade". Clean, warm, good well cooked locally inspired food. Excellent value continental and/or cooked breakfast including "tattie scones". Bar (drinks and snacks from 11am all day) and the restaurant are busy with locals, particulary so on the weekend, always a good sign ! Interior is in a Scottish "hunting lodge" style, reminiscent of the Mi6 Highland HQ in James Bond, with Stags heads, antler lights and coat hooks, swords, suit of armour, tarten carpets etc...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great location to stores and also to cairngorm mountain, enough car parking spaces, friendly staff, cleaners were the friendliest always smiling and saying hello. Room was small and cosy. Tea and biscuits were provided in the room which was great. Breakfast was included In stay but honestly was above and beyond what we were expecting food was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI was very poor unfortunately.

    Restaurant quality and price was very good. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices of cold and cooked options. Staff were very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Check in was at 14:00 but I called reception at 10:30 to see if we could check in earlier and she had no problem at all and we able to check in!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super comfy large bed. Great big Scottish breakfast, kept me fuelled all day ice climbing! I like the atmosphere of the place, there was a live band in the bar on Sunday night, which gave a good vibe. The staff were all really friendly room clean and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was lacklustre, but maybe it was just a "off nite".... Would still go back to try them again

    Overall, we really could not fault the place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor downside, as the hotel is very popular with locals , Saturday the bar area was so busy , it was packed , no where to sit, would like to think as guests staying at the hotel there would be some priority , however this wouldn't stop us returning though as happy with everything else.

    Traditional independent hotel, which we wanted, better than a chain hotel which doesn't have the same character , and all look the same Best entertainment was a ceilidh band called Tweed , fantastic ! Great location and good transport Very good selection for breakfast, didn't eat in the restaurant so couldn't comment on that , however it seemed very popular Staff very friendly in all the areas

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dog friendly (but dogs only allowed in the lobby not bar area). Excellent breakfast, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Fabulous location. Lively bar. Good food!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My 17 and 14 year old where not allowed after 9.30 in the bar where entertainment was on, this really annoyed us as we are use to having a nice evening until 11 pm or so when we are on holiday. (We dont understand this rule). Hotel guests are not allowed to book a table to eat, it was first come first served with non hotel guests filling a lot of the tables. If we are paying to stay in a hotel, a booked table would be useful instead we had to find a restaurant elsewhere, it all seemed a bit rushed for dining on an evening. On a night they emptied the bottles from the bar into a bin outside, why not do it mid morning? What a clatter up. My daughter was frightened when awoken by that noise.

    The food and drink are very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfy bed. Excellent friendly and helpful staff. Restaurant dinner and breakfast excellent, staff very attentive and friendly. Friendly bar as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like

    The cairngorm hotel in my experience is the best in Aviemore with a great selection of areas in which ever suits your mood on any given day. Rooms were great, food is as always outstanding. Thanks for a great experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Television reception wasn't great, it was full winter conditions with thick snow showers however so this could well have affected reception

    Staff couldn't do enough to help, great atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly check in staff. Excellent location close to everything. It was absolutely heaving for dinner and lunch so food must be good nice atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff, great restaurant food and excellent breakfast. Opposite the railway station and bus stop to access Cairngorm mountain funicular railway. Also the Strathspey steam railway opposite for the summer months.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was our bedroom was above bar and the noise kept us awake until 1.00am.Altho we were informed of this when booking but was only room available.

    Location,comfort,parking ,food ,entertainment and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and clean comfortable room, I requested a quiet room as there was live music on the Friday night and it was as requested I had a great rest and was fresh the next day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisier than expected as our room was above the bar. We were warned but weren't quite expecting it to be as loud. Fell silent about midnight so was not a big issue.

    Great location, lovely bathroom and super comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was cold even though heating was on

    as i stay in lot of hotels all was what i expected it to be room was clean and tidy parking good and food also was how it should be

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal I had was the roast in a Yorkshire pudding. For me the pudding was soft and soggy. The vegetables were all beige making the dish look uninspiring. Price was ok but if I visited again I would not choose that dish.

    Bed was a great size and very comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location opposite the train station for anyone getting the Caledonian sleeper. Lovely relaxed atmosphere with a livelier part of the bar and a quieter area with a mix of locals and tourists. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner on Sunday night! Will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking . Com took payment, I had a receipt from them but hotel said had not received payment so I had to pay again when I left and sort out when I got home, cairngorm hotel did admit to mistake and money was paid back promptly

    Something on in bar every night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked room with breakfast but unable to have it without either eating alone or leaving the dog.. would have thought we would of been able to have breakfast in lobby area or collect it and have in our room

    Comfortable room and the fact our dog could stay over

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Took two dogs with us in our room and my sister had her dog in another room. All staff very helpful and never any issues with the dogs being there. Would stay here again if in Aviemore. Also, Macdui's bar was just across the road from here which was dog friendly so we could take the dogs in and have dinner there without having to leave them in the car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Above Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was amazing. The room was amazing massive big bed and bath very comfortable. We got delayed in travelling and the staff telephoned is to ask if we had anything to eat as would be arriving after kitchen closed so they could put us something to one side. Just lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was rather shabby although the rooms were newly decorated. Ver strong smell of cooking though out the hotel.

    The location is good if you plan to vista the are. The hotel bar seemed very popular. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV reception in the room was pretty bad , although there is free wifi , recommend taking a tablet if you want to relax on the very comfy bed and watch a bit of TV. The hotel was getting some building work when we were there which was a bit noisy , in the room , but its got to get done .

    The hotel has a very good Scottish theme going on . The staff at reception were very friendly and always smiling . Food in the restaurant was exceptional and good size portions . Waiting staff were very nice and added to the experience . Breakfast was well catered for and again a decent full Scottish breakfast. Rooms were very clean and the bed was superb. Hotel is extremely well situated for all the Cairngorm ski areas.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cairngorm Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: