Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Caledonian Hotel 3 stars

67 Annan Road, Dumfries, DG1 3EG, United Kingdom

#16 of 24 hotels in Dumfries

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 319 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much not to like.

    All up to scratch. Efficient staff. All as it should be. Enjoyed the proximity to the town centre which we walked into and found an excellent CAMRA pub for tea. Had a good feel about it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have a ‘hotel’ book in the room, eg meal times, fire escapes etc. Could consider a lounge for residents.

    Well maintained, friendly staff and excellent food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to town and the station. The rooms were very cosy and well decorated. Buffet breakfast was really nice and the staff were very friendly. Free super fast WiFi was a great feature. Quiet and comfortable Hotel, will definitely stay again as I have family in Dumfries. Will highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cant be served later than 09.30. Shower tap would switch itself from the temp I put it on to almost scolding hot so that was unpleasant to say the least. Towels are tiny - even the large ones will only fit a child and so one's modesty is not left intact.

    My second time here. Great staff - very welcoming and hospitable. Bedroom was lovely and comfortable, nice beds! Very nice breakfast with lots of options - no request is too much. Very clean hotel throughout! Good location for the town centre and even though it's set back from a main road you dont hear any traffic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the decor was really good - but in places the furniture didn't quite match it - but then again we have stayed in much more expensive hotels that that was try of as well!

    Staff were very good, Meals in the restaurant were splendid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a function on in the evening so the restaurant closed early. I wish the hotel had notified me so we could have planned for this.

    Nice size room for three, two double beds. My son is getting too old for a sofa bed so a room with proper beds is a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the bathroom small, a tight squeeze in the shower.

    The hotel was adjacent to the person we were visiting. They were happy to accommodate our guests for dinner. The porridge was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar meals were advertised but when I asked for one I was told I needed to book in advance so was refused. Disappointing!

    Staff were very friendly. Good selection at breakfast which was hot and fresh. Very convenient for my purpose.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could’ve stayed longer.

    Amazed to get a room with a four poster bed for £50, including breakfast. Staff were great. Friendly & informative. Breakfast was perfect, buffet style full Scottish.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the fact we were asked what we would like for breakfast the next morning at the point of checking in. It’s hard to know what you’ll want to eat the next morning. I was also asked when we would be coming down for breakfast - again hard to answer when you’ve just travelled 4 hours with two small children - who knows when they’ll wake up the next morning. I did however answer the question with “between 9 and 10am”. This was noted on my breakfast menu form. Next morning we went down for breakfast at 9.40am to be abruptly informed by a member of staff that breakfast finished at half 9. At no point were we told this - or we would have been down on time with two young kids to feed before another 2 hour car journey. Thoroughly disappointing way to be treated. We also had dinner in the restaurant but we were not given the 15% discount stated on booking.com website.

    We had dinner in the restaurant which was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a 40th birthday party in the function room which is below the bedrooms. Music thumping until midnight and could sing along as we heard everything. Should be informed of this when booking. Bar closed very early, definitely before 10pm on first night as hotel quiet, however, if residents we should be able to enjoy a glass of something on holiday. Despite informing hotel of daughters dietary requirements, they had ran out of gluten free bread for breakfast.

    Clean rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was excellent

    Excellent stay, comfortable and clean throughout , room was large with a comfortable sofa and a four poster bed. Excellent food and drinks were very reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found the staff a little rude and curt over my issue with a shower door missing which in their words to quote, "doesn't effect me having a shower does it" The tiles on the bath room floor were cracked around the toilet basin with grout missing which is a huge health risk. An early breakfast was not accommodated. The first time in all my hotel B&B experiences. No discount or reduced rate at all offered especially for the priced paid. I will be stopping at a premier the next time.

    A good variety on the menu

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was really excellent, both at breakfast and dinner. The hotel restaurant was clearly a hit with local people as well as residents, it was busy (but not too busy). The staff are really friendly and helpful and the hotel is very well run. Good value for money too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in single room. Easy 10 minute walk from train station. Friendly staff on arrival. Just had breakfast and food was fresh hot delicious and lots of it. Thankyou.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of fault for the hotel but there were dinner guests leaving at night that were far too noisy considering the time of night that they left.

    Everything was perfect, I've not had a complaint so far and doubt I ever will. Was pleasantly surprised with the four poster bed which I wasn't expecting!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choices had to be ordered the evening before, with a specified time which made us feel slightly pressurised about getting down to breakfast on time. Mattress was quite hard, though bed was a lovely four poster.

    Friendly staff. Very clean attractive room. Lovely furniture. Good restaurant menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner wasn’t great with 2 dishes being sent back, chef didn’t take kindly to criticism. I felt the Menu doesn’t really cater for allergies to dairy, soya etc

    Lovely rooms at reasonable prices, close to centre All the staff were helpful and lovely and very accommodating Rooms were clean and neat and well serviced throughout our stay. Was good if manager to discount the meal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel with amazing and helpful employees. Special thanks to Ian, who was a very nice and helpful. Amazing restaurant at the hotel with delicious meals. And a bag pipe performances of Stacy Hotel has great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit out of date but perfectly clean and suitable for needs.

    Staff were very helpful and had good knowledge of area. Breakfast was amazing especially the eggs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold on arrival with both windows open wide. Other than this it was excellent . Staff very efficient and friendly .

    Very comfy bed, breakfast was excellent .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    What a lovely place to stay! Very well situated for Dumfries and the local area. We went to Caerlaverock Castle (about 10-15 mins drive) which was amazing! (see photo). The hotel room was lovely, very comfortable and with everything that we needed. We ate in the restaurant and I must say compliments to the chef on excellent quality food, which was beautifully presented. Breakfast was buffet style and also very good. The staff were lovely, friendly and polite. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the worst experience any of us had ever had in a hotel, bnb, or even hostel! No hot water, no WiFi, no breakfast and no refund as yet. Hideous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator in bathroom wasn't working and only part of a shower screen in place. Room was small but that was probably my choice, other bigger rooms might have been available

    Decor everywhere was lovely. Food was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that the taps have to run for a while before you get hot water to shower etc.

    Probably the first family hotel room, worth that name, I have stayed in the UK. The room was spacious as advertised.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room extremely cold when we arrived but did warm up after turning the radiators (which were off) on. The staff did advise when questioned why there was no hot water that a new boiler is being installed in January so we needed to let the shower run for about 10 mins. We did get hot water but shower head definitely needs updating alone with the boiler as water just about came out!! Breakfast was good the first morning however not much left on the second morning even though we filled out a sheet advising what we would like for breakfast. We had a lovely 4 poster bed but think everyone in the hotel knew when we moved as it creaked soooo loud.

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot water could not be described as hot on the first day so lukewarm shower was endured. On second day though this was rectified and by the time of leaving hot water was in evidence

    The hotel is ideally located with plenty of car parking. Only a short walk into town centre where you can find food and drink if not wanting to stay in the hotel. A good base for the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was buffet - served fresh might have been nicer but no real problem with food. Coffee and tea from flasks wasn't ideal.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Quality food at dinner and excellent welcoming atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was too far out of town for us to walk to the centre in the limited time we had available. Perhaps 20 minutes each way. We did not mind being asked to choose our fry up breakfast items the night before, but that course arrived while we were still collecting orange juice and tea and making toast (ask for a little delay). Saturday morning was buffet so not such problem.

    We had dinner on two nights and the quality was excellent. Unfussy food but perfectly cooked. Very responsive thermostatic radiator valve so we could cool the room somewhat to sleep and warm it quickly on waking up. The bar and spacious dining area appeared to have been recently renovated very attractively.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing was the level of noise coming through to my bedroom from the function room. Normally this wouldn't have been a problem for me - I love a good party too. But I had been travelling from very early morning and by 11pm the noise was just too much. Maybe a little soundproofing would solve that problem.

    Food was amazing and wished I had time to try more menu choices. Staff first class, totally professional but extremely friendly too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was raining!

    The room was clean and cosy. The food was first class and the breakfast was good self service and tasty. All staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bed!!! it was terrible we swapped rooms with the other couple who stayed the 2nd night they were not happy with the bed either The mattress needs changing and soon I did not pay all that money to get no sleep

    Because the bed was so uncomfortable I didn't sleep well I didn't have an appetite the toast was either animic or burnt the cooked breakfast looked horrible with tinned mushrooms and tomatoes the coffee was terrible and the tea was stewed it's premade and put in flasks disgraceful the money it cost to stay here I would have expected better

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self service breakfast is OK, provided all the items are out - no bacon for 20 mins on the Sunday we stopped Poor shower in room 8

    Good evening meal. Comfy beds. Smart bar. Nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a hotel directory in the room or an A-Z of facilities at the hotel and the immediate area.

    Breakfast was good. Room was clean, tidy and functional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self service breakfast lost its personal touch this time now more intested in getting the customers than one to one with guests

    Everything was what I thought it would be as I'd been there last year a mark improvement also isn't the layout

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot

    The staff was very friendly and helpfully . The food in the resturant was lovely . The family room we stayed in was lovely and clean and plenty of room for 4 of us .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some area's need some TLC - but should sort in time. Last food order is 8:30pm which is a bit early when on Business.

    The location is obviously being renovated and you can tell the staff want it to work

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the bedding a bit too hot. My son was fine with it, though. I'm a bit fussy!

    The porridge was excellent, and my son really enjoyed his fried breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A working WC would be great.

    The bed was comfortable and the food was lovely. Our main problem was the room and shower room size, The WC was badly in need of a plumber, it took ages for it to flush and steadly got worse. We did report it when we left

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and bathroom suite could do with some uodating.

    Myself, my wife and our 5 year old son stayed in a family room, 2 double beds and room was still spacious enough. Room and bathroom were very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms small, water pressure average. 4 poster bed squeaks with every little movement and bed hard as a rock, pillows very hard too. Breakfast included but didn't get separate table, sat at table with other guests. Must be a hotel that contractors stay at regularly as there were quite a few staying & had a special menu for them. Bit of a pungent smell in hallway outside room doors

    Good sized room, free parking onsite. Breakfast included. Friendly staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly however the wait time in the restaurant was horrendous, the rooms very very old fashioned and poorly decorated and the shower was horrendous with temperature choices of scolding hot or freezing cold.

    Staff were friendly and a good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to early start for an event in which a few customers were participating, breakfast was served from an earlier time than normal. Very thoughtful and appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seemed a little disrespectful to the guests to carry out speaker installation in the bar at tea time whilst customers were present.

    Good location with friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible bed. Four poster that squeaked horribly. Really uncomfortable. Remote for TV didn't work. Shower hot but not powerful Disappointing hotel

    Clean and good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay for everything separately instead of one bill at the end. Also had to order breakfast the night before!! Finally, big party/disco going on so quite noisy. Probably OK on a "normal" night

    Staff friendly & cheerful and a good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast on Sunday bit chaotic but the only waitress tried hard . Can I suggest need marmade ( not jam ) for breakfast with

    All aspects of hotel acceptable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and my suitcase was extremely heavy to lug up the stairs but no help was offered. There was no hot or warm water to have a shower or a shave, it was stone cold and after travelling all day we had to go out for our tea all sweaty which was quite awful really. In the evening we had a drink at he bar and the few soft chairs to sit on we're taken so we had to sit at the dining tables. The bed was harder than a goats knee. The next day we had an emergency at home and we had to leave forfeiting our last nights stay. My wife sought some recompense but, no chance, in fact they took more than was agreed.

    The breakfast was nice. The room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside door being locked at 10pm - however we were given a key to let ourselves in.

    The bedroom was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. We had breakfast which was well presented, ample quantity and good quality

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed at 10pm. Breakfast not served till 8am. Owner very grumpy and not willing to open bar for a drink after our 5 hour drive.. or open half hour earlier for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double booked and put into adjoining accommodation. The double bed was 2 beds put together and barely any room that could just open wardrobe door as it rubbed against the bed

    The main hotel reception, parking facilities and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff did not seem interested that we were staying with them (the lady serving breakfast was at least more pleasant and polite). When we left we got little more than a grunt as we handed in the key. There was a very loud disco going on until midnight which meant we got very little sleep.

    The location was great for an easy walk into the town centre and there was plenty of onsite parking. Breakfast was tasty although we had to ask for toast which then took a long time to come.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was ill during the night. I had eaten at the hotel the night before but am not sure if this had caused my sickness. I had to cut my business trip short and return home. I left the hotel early and called out of courtesy later to advise that I wouldn't be wanting breakfast. The owner took the call but when I explained what had happened only enquired whether I had paid, no enquiry into how I was . I am currently I Dumfries, staying at a different hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have appreciated a lift however I managed, I don't think it would stop us returning.

    The food was so good, staff very friendly and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue that I had was finishing touches such as paint touch ups and repairing the plastic in the shower but other than that there were no faults that hindered my enjoyment of my stay!

    Was very cosy with comfortable furniture and great facilities - loved the peace and quiet!! The staff were wonderful, accommodating to myself leaving early for a competition by making me a packed lunch, couldn't thank them enough! It's very underrated for facilities and food - I will definitely be returning!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here 2 weeks ago and enjoyed it so much we booked for our last trip. As before everything was excellent, the bed, the quiet, the food, the cleanliness. It is a really lovely place to stay

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was lovely. The room was beautiful and everything we needed was provided. Very clean & comfortable. The beds were so comfortable. The breakfast could not be faulted, it was piping hot and ready for us two minutes after we sat down. It was delicious

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faultless , room was spotless and staff were excellent throughout my stay , would certainly recommend anyone going to Dumfries , and will be back when in the area .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was spotless. Nice white bedding and towels. Service was great couldn't do enough for you. Had dinner two nights and really enjoyed them. Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being checked in at the bar, very unprofessional. Being asked when checking in to chose breakfast for the following morning. No option at breakfast for vegetarians, some hotels have a separate menu, veggie sausages, bacon, hash brown etc would have all been welcomed. Oh and the very large spider that was in the bathroom!!

    Good location, comfortable bed and spacious room. Evening meal was lovely with a good selection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi did not work in the room at all :( - I am also still waiting for a copy of my VAT receipt that was not ready in the morning. I was told it would be emailed to me and to date it still has not.

    Price was within my usual budget and close to the place I was working at.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room and bathroom could have been cleaner, a few cobwebs etc. Massive door keyring and overall décor was a little dated. Duvets supplied were too heavy for the time of year and the old double glazing was not strong enough to withstand the wind outside so room became very hot and stuffy in the night.

    Good sized room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, in the middle of a housing estate with no views. Felt "closed in".

    Good selection of drinks, breakfast and dinner were very good. Parking safe and plenty of it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Food wow factor very surprised Hotel more 5 star Everything in the room you couldn't ask for more Staff couldn't be more helpful friendly I'm very very happy with this Hotel Breakfast well fantastic choice I'll be back next year

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no rail to hang the towels in shower room and smoke drifted up from people smoking outside front door if you had window open

    Very good breakfast nicely presented

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses were extremely thin, and you could feel each individual metal coil spring in the bed. There were two beds in the room, and I considered stacking the two mattresses on top of each other to potentially make one comfortable bed.

    Very authentic, country B&B feel to it. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the whole experience was excllent no complaints

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants and pastries not available at breakfast, although this was not a big issue.vv

    Ideal location for visiting family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No interakshon with the guest

    Room ok to much money for wot it was

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left my shower gel

    All round comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room needs renewed

    Food was always piping hot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant menu very good.meals were delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean family room excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff - breakfast excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: