Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edgerton Hotel 3 stars

86 New North Road, Huddersfield, HD1 5NE, United Kingdom

#8 of 12 hotels in Huddersfield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 650 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    Overpayed basement room and we've payed the regular one
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We've got a basement room opposite to kitchen and we have payed for the regular room. They started to prepare brekafast before 6 and that was very loud and smelt. The bed was so small - not for two people.

    The bathroom was very nice as well as the room decoration.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Edgerton hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort, friendly polite staff, the owners were very helpful , and courteous. hotel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very nice, plenty of choice from continental, to cooked. location is just right for visiting the local and surrounding area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Refurbished and pleasant hotel, convenient for the town and countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good choice of breakfast items. Pleasant staff. Lovely room and comfy bed. When toilet wouldn't fill up, help was quick and efficient. Nice big car-park but access was a bit more difficult; one side narrow and the other round the back road. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff were so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staircase leading to the rooms on the upper levels (the floor which my room was on) was extremely narrow and would not suit babies or young children with strollers. Due to it being a listed building, these staircases can not be changed, so would recommend those with small hand luggage to use these rooms and those with larger suitcases to use the rooms on the lower floors.

    Staff were so friendly. Location was not far from town centre and the beds were clean and comfy. Staff and reception always available 24/7.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would give the breakfast a miss. Bacon has to be requested but don't bother. Microwaved pretend smoked rashers.

    Bathroom was great. Lovely hot water. Handy fridge in room. Bed very comfortable. Was clean and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Hard to judge from one night only - would need to know that things had improved before booking again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have two 'bites' which I can only attribute to the overnight stay at the hotel, this happens I know but not what I expected. The Breakfast was a mediocre self service offering and the breakfast room surroundings were like a transport café rather than a hotel lounge. Clearly the accommodation is used by the local authority for accommodation of other tenants - an 'interesting' experience - being 'interrogated' by other tenants wasn't terrible - I'm from a humble background myself, but not perhaps what I'm looking for when I'm away from home and wanting a quiet get-away for the evening before a hard days work. Getting in to the property was a bit like trying to gain entrance to a Local Authority Institution, only by virtue of a buzzer linked to the reception and then waiting to be let through the door.

    The room was very acceptable, very well proportioned decorated and the facilities were great. Good en-suite facilities all clean and new looking. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    The Edgerton has the "Edge"👍😊
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment to make

    The price,the room,the cleanliness&the staff:overall i could not fault the Edgerton.And if i'm ever in the area again i know who i shall be contacting first.10/10.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    We were visiting a friend for surpirse 50th birthday, the location was great and the room was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was fantastic big walk in shower, nice new towels. The only thing possibly missing were any products like shampoo etc. but we had taken our own anyway so not a big issue.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Due to unforseen flooding at the property we were unable to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we couldn't stay there because of an unexpected flood.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. On the day we arrived the hotel had had a major flood, and we were unable to stay there. However, the staff had booked us into the Travelodge down the road at no extra cost to ourselves.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    The staffs are friendly and served warmly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a typical British house. The room that we stayed is spacious and the bothroom was refinished with modern facilities. We enjoyed our time at Edgerton Hotel very much.

    The staffs are friendly and served warmly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Short overnight stay, great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choice of breakfast was quite limited.

    Comfortable clean room with good wifi connection. Shower was hot and powerful Staff friendly and helpful Plenty of parking available

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Every thing was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't very hot but there was a microwave to heat in up if you wanted

    The bathroom that was wonderful . Comfortable beds best ever . Staff very helpful very plight the

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Huddersfield Egerton hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast could have been hotter and for 7 pounds it really would have been expected to be cooked on order. Not buffet style. All other elements were great.

    Room was amazing and shower was powerful. Really lovely. Tea and coffee was in your room. Great staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    3.3
    Could not sleep because of the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was scaffolding going on could not sleep because of the noise. The staff were very rude and if I asked them a question they'd just brush it off. I rang back to enquire about something and asked the staff for their name so i knew who i was dealing with and who was dealing with my enquire. But the staff refused to provide their name. I found them extremely rude.

    The bathroom was extremely clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked as it said 25 min walk to John Smiths stadium but hen we got there the receptionist said it was more 1hr or with a child as i had could be 1.30 i wouldn't have booked if this was stated online as getting back was a night mare.

    Staff were lovely,the manager himself was really friendly,reception staff where very friendly. Hotel was very clean and rooms were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    The price, for what was on offer, was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room (Room 27) was on the ground floor right beside the reception desk. This meant that it was noisy..... all the time. I was woken up several times each night by (A) the telephone at reception ringing (B) People coming in late and talking to the night porter. If you are thinking of staying here, AVOID this room.

    The price, for what was on offer, was fine. No argument. The room was a bit "tired" although the bathroom was excellent. It was impersonal and really should be described as a B&B not a hotel. Not complaints simply observations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and friendly stay, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too noisy in the corridor at night but to be fair, that could have been a one off and could have happened anywhere!

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable, spacious and clean with lovely facilities. The breakfast was a generous buffet breakfast and meant that overall the stay was excellent value for money. 😃

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    A madcap week in sumptuous z
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit strange to have a huge domestic fridge in the room. Bathroom not ventilated so steamed up easily. Seemed a bit petty to be charged for a late checkout when the cleaners hadn't even got to our rooms yet.

    Smashing beds and shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    Decent hotel but noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise levels. I presume there is no sound insulation, so unless everyone in the hotel keeps quiet at night, or you're a heavy sleeper, you're not going to get a decent night's sleep.

    Room was large, convenient location near the centre of Huddersfield. Breakfast was quite good -- you can have as much as you want.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.0
    i wouldn't stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't see how this hotel got the ratings in the past it dons't look like any of the photo's on their wbsite and although is was clean it still needs a deep clean to get all the places that are miss on a daily clean. The staff were ok but after i booked in no one spoke to me again throughout my stay, well only to ask which room i was staying when i went to breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    The room size and facilities were Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was Great.

    The room size and facilities were Excellent. Lovely breakfast (except that bacon is an option and when it arrives you wonder why you bothered). The check in staff and everything else was Excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice Hotel, Great Staff and Comfortable too :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance and exit ways to the car park are extremely thin, I just squeezed My car through (Mercedes-Benz S600L) There are no vending machines and no evening meal facilities. I would still return as a very nice place to stay :)

    I met the Owner, His Wife and some staff, all were very polite and engaging, I was pleasantly surprised :) My Room was fantastic, Clean and bigger than expected too! I would definitely revisit this Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice and clean easy to find, staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t too organised. Understand they’re chef had just started so can’t be critical.

    Nice and clean easy to find, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Fab hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an attic room and it was the hottest day ever. The window didn't open very wide so it was extremely hot. We had a fan from reception but it didn't work too well.

    Everything else was great. Clean room. Comfy beds. Powerful shower. Lots of towels and toilet rolls. Lots of mirrors whij waa great for getting ready in. Great idea for a fridge freezer for our drinks ans ice. Lovely staff. Ample parking. Great location. We didn't try the breakfast buy it smelt good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    3.3
    Would not recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from a nearby property very early the next day. The fact I had pre booked breakfast and wanted to cancel on arrival (night before) and wasn’t allowed to.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    The family room was very large and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the builders woke us up at 7.40am in the morning, hammering repeatedly. Eventually got dressed and went to reception and they asked them to stop. In all honestly it was not the builders fault. The hotel did not advise us that there was major building works happening directly outside our bedroom and we should have been informed prior to staying.

    The family room was very large and spacious. One double and two twins. The ensuite has a large powerful shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Quite a pleasant 1 nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car parking was a bit of a nightmare to get into and out of narrow driveway, however, there was more parking available via a different access. The buffet breakfast was disappointing, it would appear that the hot dishes had been cooked quite a while before the guests arrived, I was looking to heat up my cooked breakfast but the microwave had been put away. Plenty selection though.

    The bedroom was adequate a lovely modern bathroom, however, rather a little too narrow, but very well equipped with soap and shower gel dispensers. It was reasonably priced and the location to the town centre was very good, with a bus stop outside it. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    We stay to allow us to attend The Monkeyclub festival, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave to go home

    The Hotel owner, spoke with us personally on the morning, which was a rare delight, adding that person touch, the room was amazing, the staff couldn’t help enough.. I would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable room, great shower, good price.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people above me were noisy at night/evening. This was other guests and doesn't really reflect on the hotel.

    The shower was very powerful. The room was a nice size and the bed was a double rather than the single I thought I had booked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    A perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous large room with great on suite facilities. We initialy booked for a single night but extended for a further night due to the quality of the service & facilities. This hotel is pergectly placed for exploring West Yorkshire and it's extensive range of local attractions. We will visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    2.5
    Shocking customer service negliance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kept awake late then early (5 hours sleep tops) in a ridiculously situated room on the ground by noisy fire door, reception, other guest and kitchen staff. Receptionists incapable of processing any manner of complaint and deficient in basic people skills -- far more interested in personal messages on their phones and outright rude. Lied about the availability of other rooms to move into (evidentially available from two booking sites). Breakfast terrible and no staff on attendance to help me prize the eggs that were dried onto the metal trays. Staff appeared over 15 minutes after my arrival. Stay in a hostel instead for a third of the price -- better service and sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is quite small

    Friendly staff, good location. Nice room - good size and very good value for money. Would definitely stay again. Actually I feel the room pictures don’t do it justice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money and clean
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid £7.00 extra for breakfast had a full range of cereal but If you wanted a full breakfast there was sign up saying you had to ask for bacon to be cooked extra, there was none on the heated self service trays! Everything else could be picked buffet style not sure why this was but didn't have time to wait for bacon to be cooked separately. Room was on a main road which was noisy with traffic until 1.00am,also I think they had long term residents there who played music all night which was not loud and didn't bother me particularly but may be a problem for other people hotel needs to remember needs of travelling guests when housing people there Also I was visiting a relative who lives in Huddersfield and I was told on arrival that they had to wait outside as no guests were allowed in the rooms, I can understand this rule at night but really !! A bit petty !!

    Hotel was clean with lots of facilities in room, fridge ironing,hairdryer good for the price big room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.6
    Apart from being charged for 2 rooms the hotel is pleasant and well situated to the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a week before, had difficulty doing it online so mistakenly booked 2 rooms, rang to check was told I had only booked 1. Call form the hotel on the day to say that I am being charged for 2 rooms as that's what I booked. Explained that I had rung to check to be told I had booked 1 room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Close to town (within walking distance or can catch a bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative side was we only had one pillow each on double bed but this was easily resolved as we asked staff for more

    Close to town (within walking distance or can catch a bus for those that don’t like walking). Plenty to eat for breakfast. Rooms were lovely. Staff lovely & friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    It met all our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downer awoken early by workmen banging and hammering above our room.

    It was spotless, the room was big and accommodated three of us comfortable.Beds were comfortable and bed lining was white and clean. Adequate space in wardrobe , but for a longer stay will need more hangers. Loved the bathroom ,all modern, clean with a large walk in shower. Staff was friendly and very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Sammy and Normans review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just silly guests and noisy guests slamming doors until small hrs but absolutely no faults with hotel it was fab

    It's had a complete new look for freshness and modernisation but still has a lot of original features like the windows and staircases it's lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Old on the outside, modern on the inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink a little too small. TV was a bit slow. Bit of a noise at night, either the fridge or the fuse box. Plus, there was a fire alarm on the second night. Bit annoying having to buzz in to get in each time. Perhaps a card reader on the main door is an option?

    Quiet but friendly staff. Stylish bathroom, shower excellent. Nice soft carpet. Fridge in the room were handy additions to standard room facilities. Good for keeping water cool. Plenty of plug sockets and USB charging points.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    A good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that was a downer for me in this room was the bedding. It looked as though it hadn't been changed. Really, really screwed up and it put doubts in my mind about the cleanliness of the hotel. I am not talking about the kind of lines a ironing press could make but hundreds of small 'screwed up ness' Perhaps it hadn't been ironed at all. One of the pillow cases was the same. The only other thing was there was a flight of stairs from the car park that I wasn't aware of and as I have some mobility issues it was not a good 'surprise'.

    Friendly staff. Comfy bed Newly installed en-suite Clean Iron and ironing board in room Safe in room Decent hairdryer Huge new fridge, great if you are staying a few days Lots of sockets Very good price Nice high ceilings. A lovely building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Great. Totally worth the money!
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet flush was broken, luckily i know how to flush from the inside of the toilet, but if someone didn't that would have been a rather embarrassing experience.

    Staff were lovely, room was lovely and clean. We felt very safe and secure and it worked perfectly for what we needed at a great price. Exceeded expectations!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall stay was ok - pity about some noisy "guests" and the hotel's "payment in advance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Hotel requires full payment upon check-in - despite having full credit card details in advance. This "policy" should be mentioned prominently on the hotel's Homepage and also on the booking.com site. ( Hotel actually stated room could not be held past 1.30 p.m. on 2nd day of booking unless full payment was made in advance). - Hotel also seems to accommodate a number of "interim guests" booked here through local authority/agency - some can, unfortunately, be loud /disruptive. - Problem with WC flush, unfortunately no lasting solution found, problem ocurred repeatedly. Room was a little noisy due to location close to reception / main entrance - and the behaviour of certain guests.

    Good location. Problems mentioned were dealt with quickly (althougth in one case it wasn't a lasting solution). Staff friendly and generally helpful - also via telephone prior to arrival 24 hr Reception Fridge in room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    the whole place was spotless massive ensuite nice friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they took a deposit from my account and as of yet its not gone back in my bank

    the whole place was spotless massive ensuite nice friendly staff will be going back deffo

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Stay at the Edgerton hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok,but there was no bacon,and the sausages weren't great

    It was very clean, the member of staff was lovely and very friendly, and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Very good staff who wanted to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The question who I am traveling with , I am annoyed you don’t place wife in the category as we have been married 32 years she isn’t my partner, that’s no lady she is my wife as the joke goes.

    The shower was very clean as well as the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Will stay here again, my " dont like" comments were just for information, not complaining
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or resteraunt, hotel at the top of the hill,nearest eating places a good mile away,me at 72 years old always required a taxi

    Helpful and friendly staff, clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.2
    The cerial
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like been in the basement room was very cold had to ask if we could have the heating on told us it was on a timer and wouldn’t be on till 5.30 due to the room being very cold the bedding felt very damp and the shower needed a step to get into my partner couldn’t get into it. the cooked breakfast consisted of anemic sausages and rock hard bacon just thankful there was some cereal and toast all in all couldn’t wait to leave we left just after 9.00 am plus the bed felt like you was sleeping on the floor it was so hard would definitely not be staying there again also if you want to use your phone you had to go upstairs to get a signal

    The cerial

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay but not great. Very good that yoghurts etc were in fridge, not often you see this

    Room and whole building beautiful, staff and owner lovely and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good hotel and good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Could hear cough/sneezes/snores as well as conversations from neighbouring rooms. However if not planning to spend most of the day in the room it may not be a big issue.

    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable and very functional room (even the small details like power sockets in the right places). Recently renovated by the looks of things, modern bathroom with excellent shower water pressure!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    A short walk from the town centre, parking (if a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside light but no plug near enough to use it. Slightly dark room as downstairs.

    A short walk from the town centre, parking (if a little tight), good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.6
    I wouldn’t choose to stay again for the price it costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the bedroom came on and off they didn’t even try to sort it. The breakfast was horrid. Half of the food wasn’t cooked.

    Pretty from the outside not so much from the inside

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Clean and comfy hotel but ultimately disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediocre as was the breakfast room with nasty tables that looked more like a youth club than a hotel. Nowhere to put dirty dishes. Coffee was dreadful. The place lacks heart. A pity because it is in a beautiful listed building and could be stunning. Although refurbished to a high standard the fine details are missing.

    Big rooms, comfy bed, clean and attractive bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    It was a lovely property, huge room and toilet, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was facing the road and it can be quite noisy during the night.

    It was a lovely property, huge room and toilet, nice atmosphere, lovely staff and all the amenities are in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Amazing stay, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish we could have checked out later, we didn't want to spend £20 extra per hour.

    The staff were really nice and helpful. One staff member even lent me some scissors to cut my fake eyelashes for my night out haha! The rooms were very nicely presented and the bathrooms were nice and modern. All info was cleared with us with the staff member. We were a bit worried about staying as it was myself, my boyfriend and a friend and because we are young sometimes hotels might assume we would be messy but they were really unbiased and sweet. We would all definitely stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay and as base to explore Yorkshire!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Perhaps a microwave in the room - but I am being rather particular now - actually no complaints.

    Very clean, comfortable and spacious rooms (my son and I have allergies and we had no issues at all with sleeping or dust) - considerate and pleasant, friendly staff who made us feel welcome and accommodated our varied needs with regard to food etc. Loved the atmosphere, and enjoyed our stay here very much - will def return when in Huddersfield or close by. Much better option than stressful stays elsewhere - great base for peace, comfort and calmness to explore further afield and return to recharge and rest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Very basic for £45 considering the very small rooms. It was, however, clean, which is important.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm 8 months pregnant and had a lot of bags with me for a conference. I had to move to a downstairs room because there was no windows in my first room, but nobody helped me move. I struggled through 2 doors and down a very steep flight of stairs with not so much as an offer of assistance..I found this pretty bad to be honest 😑 I think breakfast should have been included for the price, as the room was very small.

    The shower was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Room was nice, clean and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being next to the reception desk proved to be a little noisy.

    Room was nice, clean and warm. Bathroom was lovely and towels were soft and very white. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Easter treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were really welcoming and were keen to meet any requirements. Really good location and excellent value for money..we did not have breakfast as we met up with friends..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    2.5
    I was ill after my stay here due to the chill in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel for my boyfriends birthday. Our room was unbearably cold and when we mentioned this to a member of staff they told us this was because it was cold outside and that they were cold too (they were being paid to be there however not paying to be there so excuse me for having little sympathy....) I believe if you can’t keep the rooms to a reasonable degree of warmth due to cold weather you should close the hotel and provide a full refund. After hairdrying under the covers to try warm the bed we were still freezing all night (when I drank my water in the morning it was like I had just got it out of a fridge) I was looking forward to a hot shower.. unfortunately we had no running water. After 40 minutes of waiting for a solution to this problem we were told we could use the equally cold room next door to shower. We were offered a free late check out, which considering we waited a while to have a shower, didn’t seem like much compensation, we also did not want to stay there any longer than we needed to. After pushing further with our complaints we were given a partial refund (less than 50%) which we still were not happy with. Won’t be going back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    very comfortable beds in a room with plenty of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plates used to serve the cooked breakfast were cold which made the otherwise well cooked breakfast unappetising.

    very comfortable beds in a room with plenty of space. Good ensuite and a fridge should you need one.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    It was a lovely place with what looked liked newly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    It was a lovely place with what looked liked newly refurbished rooms. Close to town and surrounding areas. family room in the basement was ideal for us & breakfast was nice too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    4.6
    SATISFIED
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Massive whole in the window, very cold room, was very loud at night. Did not get a proper night sleep. Toilet seat was broken

    Room has a full set of everything you need

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Good location for town centre.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't close the window in the room but the Staff, who were very apologetic moved us to another at their suggestion very quickly. Unfortunately the new room was quite noisy being located next to the plant room and the fuse box in the room had a continual buzzing noise and with the corridor being stone, all footfall and voices echoed. With hindsight I should if stayed in the original room. Staff welcomed my feedback as constructive. I would still stay again.

    Rooms were spacious and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. Staff are helpful and friendly. Bathroom very modern and clean with a great shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Adequate, and comfortable met our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being by the back door was a downside as it didn't close properly, we must have had to close it at least 20 times after others went out. I have never been asked 4 payment on arrival it is usual to pay on departure and after all they have you cstd details already.

    We thought the bathroom's clean modern & warm. The room itself could have been warmer but this was a weekend of extremely bad weather!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cold even though staff did give us a small heater ..i noticed the thermostat in reception was only on 20 for the downstairs where we were amd it was minus 5 outside.

    So clean fantastic breakfast good staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with a warm welcome, reasonably priced. We definitely hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight draughts coming through bedroom window and under the back door. (It was a very cold, windy, snowy weekend). We were not given a menu at breakfast, just told that there was full English or the buffet. Other guests were later given a menu.

    Room (in basement) was beautifully clean and comfortable. Lovely bathroom and shower, good water temperature easy to control.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Friendly hotel near town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room was next to the kitchen which was noisy and meant being awoken far too early on a Sunday morning. The hotel's sign for its car park is too small to be seen properly and we went past the turning before realising.

    Upgraded from single to nice double room. Friendly staff. Location 10-15 min walk to town centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Very satisfactory stay good bed, facilities and generous breakfast. Would definitely book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the guests set off all the smoke alarms by smoking in their room (5 am), but you do get fools wherever you go! So one has to say efficient safety alarms!!

    I booked a single room (single bed); I was slightly apprehensive as am over six feet 4 and have a tendency to back problems. The single bed was very comfortable. Room though small was faultless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    lovely, clean and comfortable. More a Bed and Breakfast than a Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very cold in Huddersfield that night so the hotel could've left the heating on a little longer in the evening and morning - if not left it on all the time allowing the customer to change the thermostat on the radiator rather than switch off fully. I asked for an extra duvet and the friendly staff brought one up straight away - but the room was cold. Someone smoked in their room and it set off a loud alarm at 5am! Not happy about that, but realise it was the fault of another selfish individual! However, in the future, a new alarm system that isolates rooms could be looked at. A small thing, but it left me exhausted throughout the day.

    breakfast was lovely, and the room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Good but could of been better with easy fixes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of room. 1st next door to reception. Then next door to the kitchen. Sheets were wet then replaced with wet sheets. Room was cold until 4.30

    The room and bathroom was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    3.8
    Location is good, breakfast is good for £6.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise is bad -- there seem to be a number of drunken guests making noise in the early hours (staggering around and falling over by the sounds of it). It's not continuous but you're bound to be woken up as there is little sound insulation. If I was guessing, I'd say that the hotel is used by social services for some temporary homeless accommodation (several of the guests looked like they were in that unfortunate position). Not all the electrical points in my room worked and it was fairly cold. Shower was lukewarm and the wifi unreliable. Room itself, whilst it was perfectly well-decorated, was very cramped even for one person.

    Location is good, breakfast is good for £6. The hotel itself is potentially a good one -- I've stayed in it several times and generally been very happy with it -- but it looks like either I was lucky the first few times or it's going downhill. Room 30 is bad but Room 4 is good. Room 4 is one of the newer rooms I believe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant and convenient hotel to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standards of fit and finish of the furnishings and room in general were excellent. The staff were friendly and frequently asked if we were happy with the service provided. It's clearly a hotel striving to provide a high quality package.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Wanted to rest between long drives from and to home and mission was succesful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm an "old country boy" and there was a smell of cleaning products or washing powder but opening the window solved what was a minor problem

    Staff pleasant, easy to find and slept well

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    Room was clean and bed comfortable (a little harder than I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in room 31. The first night the room was freezing as a window had been left slightly open. The bathroom has no form of heating at all and was absolutely freezing throughout my stay. The fridge in the room actually works as a freezer.... even though I turned it down it froze my food/milk overnight?

    Room was clean and bed comfortable (a little harder than I am used to)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Definitely will be coming back x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely property in a lovely quiet area but close enough to town...staff were helpful...friendly and discrete..nice to see the owner in attendance...and 6aking an interest in your experience x

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    Sleepless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise... barely slept our room was at side of 24 hour reception and the noise An constant conversation drove me mad

    The staff couldn't be more pleasant An polite

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Edgerton Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: