Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Camden Arms Hotel 4 stars

1 High Street, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells, TN2 4PH, United Kingdom

#7 of 19 hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 519 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous comfortable friendly hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not find anything to improve on

    Wonderful stay, very welcoming, friendly family feel. Could not have asked for more other than to be able to stay longer!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    We had a comfortable room and the staff were greAt, but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood. It was nice and safe, but there was nothing to do.

    We had a comfortable room and the staff were greAt, but the location was bad for us-nothing much right around the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Loved the location, staff and facilities. Would highly recomend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    The location is great, easy to get to and plenty of parking. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Room was well set out and spotlessly clean. Location was quiet, so slept well. Breakfast spread was comprehensive, could not ask for more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice family run, friendly pub/restaurant/hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice pub. Room was nice. We ate dinner there one evening which was lovely. Breakfast was good too. Staff very friendly and attentive but without being "in your face". Would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention to detail, parts of our room were quite dusty, and 'awkward' areas of the bathroom could have been cleaner, ie shower hinges., towel rail. Disappointed with the breakfast, bacon looked very undercooked and anaemic, scrambled eggs were quite tasty but looked pale and uninteresting. From the reviews I thought we were coming for something special, not the case. Very poor value for money, we have paid much less in other establishments and got so much more.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    We’d stay in this historic accommodation again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For evening meals Hte restaurant was quite disappointing.

    The bedroom was quiet and comfortable. It was very clean and the servicing of the room was excellent. The breakfast was excellent and the position of the hotel in relation to Royal Tunbridge Wells, Hever Caste, Chartwell and surrounding area is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay at The Camden Arms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    We had a great stay. The staff were very welcoming, the meal we had in the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced and our room was very clean and comfortable. We loved the garden area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Our outstanding memory of our stay will be the huge evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I

    Our outstanding memory of our stay will be the huge evening meal menu which we could have eaten there for a month without repeating ourselves and the standard was so high.Rooms were fine and the breakfasts were excellent.We look forward to a repeat before too long.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious quiet comfortable room with chairs and a table as well as beds. They arranged for us to have breakfast early to fit with our need to leave early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Would definately stay again if visiting the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bonus for us was being allowed to check in at 1130. This allowed us to prepare for the wedding we were attending at 2pm. The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. An excellent breakfaston Sunday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.2
    Overrated and overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure why this place was rated so highly be others. I had a very basic small room in a pub extension that needs updating. Mattress of poor quality. Heating via electric wall heater. The lighting in bathroom was inadequate in wash basin / mirror area.

    Pub dinner was tasty and good value - though they tried to charge me for other diners' meals at checkout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Lovely old coaching Inn, fully updated with most needs for the casual traveler or families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely large comfortable bed, attentive staff, happy to please, and good range of food and drinks etc. Good parking area and bus-stop close by if required, and village or country walks on the doorstep, (if good weather)!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Not overly impressed and would not go back. Have stayed in nicer and friendlier places for less mon
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was in (14) had a light shining through the window which made it difficult to get to sleep. When I mentioned it to the staff in the morning, it was not taken very well as apparently no one had mentioned this before. A member of staff went and looked and came back and said that there was no light and they did not understand what I was talking about. Felt that as a customer I was not spoken to very nicely. Felt the rooms were overpriced and I would not really have said they were deluxe. A glorified pub not a hotel.

    A nice size shower. Bathroom well decorated, and nice fluffy towels. Closeness to the hospital.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    The room was comfortable and very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable and very quiet. There was a good choice of hot and cold food at breakfast. The car park is big and we had no trouble finding a space. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It feels tired and in need of updating. A lot of clutter in the public corridor. The staff were efficient but lacked good customer service skills they also looked tired!

    It was located in a quiet area but close to the places we wanted to visit. It had a nice bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff forgot us at our evening meal as we were ticked in a far corner. Had to go and find people at end of meal.

    Friendly atmosphere. Good breakfast. Coffee in room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    The room was excellent greeting when we first arrived was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting 20 mins for desert menu then another approx 20 for bill

    The room was excellent greeting when we first arrived was also excellent evening meal was lovely but service was a bit below par, breakfast service was first class though

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Good for an overnight stop - will check the pub next time - looked good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room clean and comfy, nice and quiet, off road parking in the pub carpark. Breakfast included was plentiful and good service. Free wifi if that's needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    Good,but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st Day breakfast the layout for breakfast was very good,food was hot and the choices you had for either continental and cooked was good.2nd Day totally different continental and cereal,toast juice was the same but there was no cooked food reason given all other guest left early,which is a good reason.Was then told if we wanted cooked food it would be cooked fresh which was also fine until it was served up fresh scrambled eggs don’t usually come in a solid block,and you could tell the bacon and sausages had been kept warm or reheated.The owner was a bit off putting by the way he stood at the bar watching us as if waiting for us to finish.

    Staff were pleasant,room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Surprisingly high standard of accommodation and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was with thoughtful extras, such as the Nespresso coffee machine and lovely toiletries. We ate there in the evening and the staff went out of their way to accommodate my numerous food intolerances. The food was served quickly, was a good quality and there was plenty of it. I had requested an alternative milk to dairy and soya for my breakfast when I booked, not expecting it to be provided, but it was. Would happily recommend and return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Lovely friendly English hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our host and owner James was wonderful.He obviously enjoys what he does and was a pleasure to talk with.He also went the extra mile to make our stay even better.One evening we were trying to get an Uber to the train station and instead he offered and took us himself.On the last morning of our stay he copied some paperwork we needed.We stayed here for one night a couple of years ago and that good experience brought us back.We highly recommend this hotel.The food was excellent too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Perfect
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    Friendly place to stay and staff and management could not have done any than they did to make may stay anymore wonderful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    I will stay there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar closed a little earlier than some facilities I've stayed at. But service and personnel were very pleasant and accomodating. Very clean and comfortable updated rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Liked the fact the rooms were a long way from the pub area. Overall a very pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom were rather cold on arrival. Admittedly it was cold outside and the heater had been left on but it was still extremely cold on arrival.

    Very comfortable room with excellent facilities. Good restaurant on site, pleasant and attentive staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, very welcoming
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded to a four poster room on arrival, the staff were all superb and really friendly. Had an awesome meal in the restaurant. We were travelling to a family funeral and were made to feel really welcome in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Excellent value, near to our son & daughter in law, who were unable to put us up for a family event
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the above fit the sort of hotel, which was a pub, with faded charm. We thought it was excellent value for money and would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.5
    Excellent all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable, the shower the best I have ever experienced in a hotel and the breakfast superb. The bar has a welcoming feel and the staff friendly. we will return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely family run Hotel/Village Pub, with lots of character. Lively pub atmosphere along with good home cooked food and reasonable prices and good house wine!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Excellent Pub/Restaurant would stay again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place has been recently refurbished and tastefully done. However the furniture and the doors in the rooms are very dark and do make them look a bit dingy.

    Breakfast was excellent, choice of real ales at bar were good. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving to come home.

    From the moment I turned up the place had a very friendly feel to it with the warmest welcome I have had in all the hotels I have stopped in. The country pub the hub of the community buzzing all week long. The room was exquisite the four poster so comfortable.the room was clean, spacious had a nice size tv. Everything you want from a room and so quiet.the breakfast was to die for so so good with the host James and wife carol attentive to your every need. There was a continental to start with everything from croissants, lovely selection of fruit, yoghurt, ham, cheeses toast, jam, honey, cereal ect then followed by one of James's award winning breakfasts so so good using locally sourced good quality produce. All staff members so friendly could not do enough for you. Would definitely be staying again. Stopping there as in close proximity to Pembury hospital spent 6 nights there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    The Camden Arms more than met our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Room , was a little dated, but still had character and all the usual amenities.

    A Family run hotel of the highest standard. We stayed for seven nights and it really felt like home for this period. Exceptionally large menu, using fresh local produce. We ate there every day and used it as a base to entertain friends and family that we had not seen for many years having moved out of the UK ten years ago. Most definitely on our next UK visit list as a good place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    The food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have liked easy chairs in the bedroom as there was no lounge.

    The food was good. An excellent choice for breakfast. The coffee appeared promptly. Everything else was self service so no waiting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hi , we enjoyed our stay and , your staff were friendly , had a walk around the area , the church is very nice . Hope to stay again God willing . Regards Ray Upson .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent stay in a family room, a booking problem on our part was quickly and helpfully resolved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful and cheerful, management were pleasant enough though might have smiled a little. I understand it's a tough undertaking but just a little warmer might have been nice. Just a little gripe.

    We thought the evening meal was good, the choice and quality was very good for both the main menu and the children's menu. The room was well appointed, facilities included iron, hairdryer. Clean and spacious room good shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    The staff were super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super friendly and helpful. The room, Facilities and bar were very cosy and just what we were after. This is a lovely country pub/Hotel and I certainly recommend springing for the four poster bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Excellent - nothing more to say.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike. A lovely old coaching inn which had been renovated up to a really good standard. Would definitely stay there again if visiting that particular area of the country.

    The room was very pleasant, a lovely bathroom with large walk in shower. Breakfast was excellent. Dining room had a lovely ambiance. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, superior Stay with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scrambled egg a bit to Firm like a cake, but this was just a small disappointment..

    This was the most pleasant trip and stay I have had for a long time, The Staff and Facilities were excellent,The Room was well equipped and comfortable bed. Trouser Press, Iron & Ironing board, Hairdryer, and the Bathroom was luxury with a Large Power Shower was a welcome dream. The breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Excellent breakfast, many choices, full English, continental.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold room at arrival, no heating. Electronic heaters only work when key-card is inserted. When we got back late at night, cold room again. Breakfast during weekends only from 8.30 AM which was to late for us.

    Excellent breakfast, many choices, full English, continental... Good service. Large room, large bath room No noices what so ever from other rooms, pub or restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Little gem. Great access to Tun Wells & great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a wet room. that did not drain, so going into the bathroom required shoes.

    The facilities and service were excellent. Particularly the breakfast and the friendly team. Our room was quiet and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    good value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I prefer windows I can open as fresh air is important to me and the windows were nailed closed. I guess for security as it was accessible ground floor. Ok for chilly night we stayed but would be an issue in the Summer months?

    very nice staff. Helpful and friendly. Quite a busy pub but accommodation is away from the pub area so that isn't an issue. Comfortable room and good value for money. Nice shower plenty of storage for clothes. Great choice for breakfast in the nice old pub area.Very handy for Tunbridge wells.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    I would stay there again
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was that for some reason the wifi didn't work in our room but in the restaurant and bar it was good

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We did not eat there in the evening but the self service breakfast was the best I have had and at 84 I have had a few.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Good location, food and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The rooms are on the ground or first floor and are spacious with great bathrooms and everything you need for a short stay. Breakfast is a help-yourself buffet with lots of items available, including cheese, cold meat and fruit salad. The hotel has a pub and restaurant, which is very popular and busy. It has an extensive menu and catered for two of our party's vegan diet. Pembury is a nice place and there is plenty of on-site parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel/pub. Clean & comfortable with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't think they make children very welcome anymore. We have stayed before & felt more comfortable in the past when my grandchildren came to the hotel & used the garden & facilities, however the last time we were there the vibes were not good I'm afraid - we felt that they were in the way! We are not alone other parents have felt the same. Think they would like it to be adults only.

    Lovely comfortable room. Good restaurant in bar area. Excellent breakfast choice. Nice garden with live entertainment on Sunday evenings during the summer months. Short distance by car into Tunbridge Wells, with it's lovely bars & restaurants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Fine for our purpose, which was to attend a family wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dark decor in bedroom; a bit depressing. Most important of all, as a disabled person, I was astonished that the room (which was advertised as fit for disability and has a call-cord in the bathroom) does NOT HAVE any TELEPHONE in the room. No means therefore to call from bed. To expect that every guest will automatically have a mobile phone of their own is ridiculous.

    Friendly Staff; good choice of Menus for Lunch and Dinner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    The hotel was like home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we had the perfect stay.

    The breakfast was the best we have ever had the cooked breakfast was perfection. lunch and evening meals were great. the room was comfortable, clean in fact perfect with attention to detail in every way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and cosey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told breakfast was sterved until 10 o'clock and staff weren't happy that we turned up at 9:40 which was plenty of time, we thought

    Room was quiet and bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Lovely quiet place, but clearly popular. Will definitely go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to quibble with anything!

    Great family-run pub with modern, quiet hotel rooms to the rear - not above the pub. Seemed very clean, comfy bed, good en-suite (with spacious shower and heated mirror) and good service for breakfast. Breakfast food was excellent (mostly self-service buffet, but fried eggs cooked to order), given small size of hotel - 15 rooms. We got better value for money than other hotels we looked at.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel for a fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a bit remote and nothing to see at walking distance.

    Staff was great and really friendly. The hotel has a nice enclosed garden where you can sit and enjoy a beverage or food/snack from the hotel. Breakfast was basic but very organised and quality was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Apart from evening dinner, the stay was pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is part of the bar area and although large felt crowded: the menu is extensive but the quality of the food and presentation is poor - in fact I sent my meal back and ordered an alternative which was equally as disappointing but at least edible

    The rooms were pleasant with comfy beds and good ensuite facilities. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice to suit all tastes. Location was easy to find and car parking on site had plenty of room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    4.2
    Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast times finish too early for the weekend. Rooms very small, hot and dark, so putting on make up was an issue. Ran out of toilet roll and only there for 2 nights. Public areas and outside very tacky and didn't l;look clean. The outside patio was not swept so full on cigarette ends on the floor. Staff used this area to go and have their own cigarettes which is very unprofessional. An argument broke out on 1st night and no hotel staff cam etc remove the guests. Had the pork belly for dinner which was mostly fat with very little meat. Chicken wings not good.Drinks at bar very expensive. All in all this is not a value for money hotel - there are lots of better ones around.

    Parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Comfortable and homely especially considering it is a pub hotel. Charming bar/dining area. Good size rooms, very helpful staff (even at 00.15). Very good breakfast. Room was ready early as requested. More than ample parking. Couldn't fault it for the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent food , with friendly staff in a pretty village location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The M25

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food provided both as an evening meal and at breakfast was excellent , be warned the spare ribs are massive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    A delightful find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could find no faults.

    Small and friendly, great atmosphere and excellent value for money. Our room was supplied with everything that you could need for your stay. We have stayed at 5 star hotels and have had to ask at reception for an iron, but here they had thought of a guests every need.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ensuite bathroom was well fitted but there was an over-whelming musty, damp smell in there. So had to keep bathroom door closed so smell didn't pervade the room.

    Good location, convenient for Tunbridge Wells. Quiet room, comfortable bed. Breakfast OK. Not much choice of hot dishes when we came in. .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Single night business stop over.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single night business stop over. Country pub / hotel. Room was very clean, usual in room facilities. Good pub atmosphere and the owners good hosts. great food. Would stay again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    It did exactly what we needed - comfortable, unfussy, accessible - with better-than-expected food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We particularly liked the way the Hotel and Pub aspects of the place were integrated in the public areas. Ample parking. The bar area friendly and open without being noisy (the clever wall covering had much to do with that), blending seamlessly into the eating area. Oh, and there was either no or only very discreet background music!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    value for money without a doubt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No air con but had fan just blew hot air around

    very good choice for breakfast but no fried eggs?. Room was very nice bed made and room cleaned every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Quiet location in small village location close to local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two very minor things - bathroom toilet seat had traces of limescale which had not been cleaned properly and the shower fitment was loose. Overall standards very good.

    Quiet location in small village location close to local amenities. Did not venture outside of venue for anything as no need to. Room based in a quiet area away from public bar and facilities so no noise. Facilities within bar very good and large garden if needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    We all had a pleasant, restful & contented stay which we should be quite happy to repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I suppose the only thing we found surprising was the pressure shower system: it was not possible to vary the pressure (one doesn't need to be in a car wash ALL the time) while the temperature varied from icy to possibly scalding, the exact gauging depending on what one was prepared to experience. A satisfactory shower could be had, but it needed some practice to hit it right and as this was a room for the disabled, one could imagine some unhappy events if a user had limited arm movement. Not the fault of the hotel, of course, but of the shower designers who couldn't foresee the effects of poor design. The proprietor told me when I remarked on this to him that the shower pressure was one of the features most praised by guests, so perhaps my own belief that a shower is wetting oneself, turning off the water, lathering up all over to get rid of the dirt & then rinsing off, (when perhaps a bit of pressure as a stimulus might be good) is too naïve & practical.

    The rooms were very quiet, assuring a very good night's sleep, the beds comfortable & we were given the extra sheet we requested to avoid our having to sleep under any sweltering duvet (which there wasn't, luckily). The menu was very comprehensive and met our needs enjoyably, the wine list was very satisfactory,and the service staff were without exception cheerful & helpful . The proprietors were most considerate in all respects. We were impressed by the outdoor spaces for eating & drinking and the comfortable interior restaurant & bar areas. It was hard to believe that a fairly busy main road was just outside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    A Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The changeable English weather - Ha, Ha

    Convenient location for touring around the Tunbridge area. Lovely Hotel with lots of charm & excellent friendliness staff throughout. In all, a relaxing time was had

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.0
    Don't expect a friendly welcome
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not welcoming verging on rude. The room was stifling hot. When we called to say that we would be a later than exepected, they told us to try our best to get here on time as they close up at 11:30. Unfortunately it was roadworks which held us up.

    Lovely room. Good Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Excellent and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and approachable . The full breakfast was delicious and there' was plenty to choose from. The meals were delightful and presented beautifully.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Stopover for a concert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very hot with windows open as exceptionally warm night. Fan provided but AC would have been perfect.

    Very helpful staff. Lovely garden and bar area. Right on A21 so easy access to concert venue at Bedgebury Pinetum.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Awesome place to stay! Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast start time was a little late for us so we missed out on the hot food. But they were so kind to have a continental breakfast ready for us earlier. The room was a little bit warm in temperature for us.

    All the staff was very friendly. There was a little mix up with our room due to a special request, but it was handled quickly and professionally with sincerely apologies. The food in the restaurant was incredible. Great price! Easy to find. Easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay. We drank in the garden to start with, and then dined. The staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were sitting for the meal by the window..it was a shame that we couldn't open the window as it was abit hot!

    There is nothing to say. While we were there, it was hot so the night was hot! The bathroom was nice. Food were nice but maybe a bit oily.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.8
    A very enjoyable stay in Kent for National Trust places but hotel a bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not reflect the website photographs. The room was dark and needed a thorough update as does the hotel. Nowhere to relax in the evening . The bathroom had mould around the shower cubicle. We were offered out of date biscuits in the room. The floor was creaked badly which is a nuisances the middle of the night when one goes to the loo; it wakes the other person.

    Accessibility to places of historic interest. The

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Outstanding quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was only 4 days at the hotel. Should have been a longer stay.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Made my stay great with the personal touch. Outstanding

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of a dislike, our one night stay was super and really good value.

    Diner was delicious, plenty to choose from and really decent portion sizes. Breakfast was also delicious. Loads on offer and as much as you could eat! All staff were pleasant and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Pleasant hotel/pub, with car park, well sited for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled egg at breakfast! But, to be fair, they had breakfast ready for us at 8 although normally not until 8.30 on a Saturday.

    Room clean, bed comfortable. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Great Stay for exploring South East, including Canterbury, Chartwell and Hever Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very comfortable with all you could require. Breakfast was lovely. We had dinner there every night. Food terrific with a large choice menu.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel but beware when booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major problems arose because I had paid for the room by PayPal to Booking.com. It seems the owners of the hotel have opted out of using PayPal and did not understand that I had paid already - even though I was able to produce a copy of the confirmation of payment from Booking.com. It seems that you held onto my money from the time I booked the hotel - I did this on 1st March - and the hotel only got the money when I left their hotel i.e. 7th May. They kept saying they had not received any money when I arrived and then when I left they thought I would have to claim it back from you as they entered the account number they had received presumably from you - which they thought was mine. Despite repeating many times that I had definitely paid they did not accept this and it caused a lot of frustration and upset. At one point I thought I must have paid the money to a scam website. On departure they did finally apologise and say they were embarrassed it had happened - for which I was grateful - but it seems they do not understand at all how the system works with you. They say their policy is to take money ONLY when a guest leaves and they thought the account number they had was mine rather than yours. They said it was the first time this had happened in ten years. I am now reluctant to pay Booking.com in advance when choosing a hotel through them in future.

    Spacious attractive room with good tea making provision and comfy beds. In the twin room we had (which happened also to be suitable for disabled) there was a large bathroom with an excellent shower and towels. Well maintained public house with many nicely furnished areas and also lovely outside area. Also very good self service breakfast with varied choices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    An excellent place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely comfortable & quiet. The staff were all very efficient & friendly. The breakfast was varied & plentiful & excellent quality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, the water in the bathroom was cold and the windowsill inside was filthy, it was meant to be a deluxe room but there was nothing deluxe about it.

    The breakfast and the friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    I'd highly recommend a stay at the Camden Arms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like

    Easy parking, friendly helpful staff, classy well equipped rooms, attention to detail with cleanliness, great choice of food & drink.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    4.6
    If your in a wheelchair don't bother the doorways are very small until you get into the room section
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    no disabled parking as owner was parked in it (no blue badge displayed) , needed the extra space getting my husbands into his wheelchair. OWNERS REFUSED TO TALK ABOUT IT.

    the wet room was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: