Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4 stars

The Precincts, Canterbury, CT1 2EH, United Kingdom

#2 of 16 hotels in Canterbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1459 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Staff very professional and welcoming - not stuffy - they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are quite big and found the bed a little small but that is our problem not yours. Wanted to take some pictures of where we stayed as our room faced on to the Cathedral but could not because the windows did not allow us. I can understand this because of safety and security but just a little disappointed.

    Staff very professional and welcoming - not stuffy - they were excellent. We accidentally set off the alarm in the bathroom - disabled facility - and they came really quickly to check that all was ok. We are not disabled but our parents are and it really gave us peace of mind that they would be safe in this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Superb location in the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We actually stayed in room 302 which is in the apartments behind the lodge. Not a quiet room as it overlooks the working courtyard with the refuge men emptying the bins at 7.00 am as well as the drone all night from outdoor fans. Would stay again but ensure we were in the lodge and not the apartments behind.

    The room was very comfortable with settee & chairs and tastefully decorated. Bathroom could do with a little updating ie; shower would be nice. Apart from that everything was catered for. Room had hairdryer, coffee, tea making facilities and iron and ironing board.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful location, could see The lighted Cathredal from our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful experience!

    Wonderful location, could see The lighted Cathredal from our spotless clean room at night. Very special place to stay , we were able to attend a service at the Cathedral. All the staff we had contact with were excellent..all questions answered with patience and a smile! The full breakfast was amazing, along with a elaborate breakfast bar. We were able to park on site,5 pounds... made things so convenient. Beware our GPS missed the narrow entrance... missed the sign so had to circle , found it second time around . Wonderful stay, had hoped for additional night but was previously booked. Overall a ten rating, can’t imagine staying any place else!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    For discovering the city and Cathdedral this is an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, breakfasts were delicious and all foods were freshly prepared, Lovely library where you could sit and relax. Location amazing - so clise to Cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location, good accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    The accommodation was good and in an excellent location within the cathedral grounds. Nice and quiet with excellent views of the cathedral. All the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    301 has Cathedral view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a bit softer than we like and after flushing the toilet runs water without filling the cistern for over an hour.

    Great location and you get a good view of Cathedral from 301

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    The location is fabulous, not having to travel really helped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is fabulous, not having to travel really helped with our stay. And having entrance included meant we could spend as much time in the Cathedral as we wanted on all three days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Really fantastic, special, unique place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great and highly recommend a trip here

    The location was superb and staying in the cathedral grounds was a very special experience. The staff were fantastic and so incredibly knowledgeable and helpful throughout both the lodge and the wider cathedral. My husband especially enjoyed his early morning chat with the gardener about the lovely herb garden Breakfast was excellent with so much choice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Very relaxing very enjoyable stay would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beds very comfy a great nights sleep room spotless clean and very comfortable , all members of sfaff very professional and very helpful, breakfast really good we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay from start to finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the Cathedral lodge is absolutely brilliant. We had a cathedral view room which was spectacular and you have free entrance to the Cathedral throughout your stay. If you need parking, email the hotel and arrange a space onsite if it is available. The room was very modern and clean. The breakfast was cooked to order and was first class. A stay at this hotel is a one of a kind, truly memorable and relaxing experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Mixed views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent the night with no hot water and no heating. 😒 I didn’t care for the attitude of the maintenance man called out to see why we had no hot water or heating in the middle of the night. He made us feel as if he was being inconvenienced. Didn’t get a shower till next day in another room had to make do with this extra loud pounding as the shower was turned on which ran through the building. Only when we were leaving the heating was turned on. That part of my stay was quite stressful.

    The location was perfect and how spacious it was the beds were super comfy, staff right from checking in were really helpful, polite and courteous😃

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    It was an enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a top sheet. It was a very warm night - too warm for a duvet. Was not prepared for the amount of building work in progress in and around Cathedral. Scaffolding did mar the view!

    Close proximity to the cathedral and the free pass

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful for enjoying the cathedral, grounds and city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls in economy bedrooms situated on second floor outside building

    Bed very comfy, breakfast wonderful, extraordinary location with private parking. Feel privileged in every way to stay here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Great accommodation good breakfast and love the staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was confused how to get through to the accommodation because you have to get someone's attention otherwise people think your pushing in to gain entry to the catherdral. I think when booking they could make that clearer.

    The staff were super friendly and helpful. Accommodation was lovely and spotless had a lovely views of the catherdral.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel in good situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I hadn't had to climb stairs to room (had problem between booking and arrival - sure they would have helped if they could)

    Staff very welcoming. We had booked a parking place and finally found our way in! All was ready. Super situation. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    The location is exceptional of course but the high standards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is exceptional of course but the high standards throughout and the good modern design make it the only place to stay in Canterbury. And you get free admission to the cathedral. Don’t miss the garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay with a view to die for,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only 2 things I can find fault with - the first is that the bathroom floor gets waterlogged after a shower, you will need to lay towels down to soak up the water. We were given the disabled room so maybe this has a different shower to other rooms?. The other thing I will mention is the milk and yoghurts were warm at breakfast.

    The staff at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge were very friendly and attentive, it is situated in a great location in the heart of the city. Staying in the hotel gives you free access inside the cathedral (saving £12.50 per person). The bed was comfortable and the quiet grounds ensure a pleasurable nights sleep. There is a large choice of breakfast items available, both hot and cold. You can leave your bags with reception if you arrive early or are staying in the city after checkout hours. I would choose this hotel again if I were to return to Canterbury.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and the staff and free enterance to church were excellent . But the bedroom in the upper floor not face the church was very noise especially in early morning there were many trucks and people did something related uploading goods.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hassle with parking inside the Precincts. The noise coming from inner city life (renovation works, youth hanging out).

    Perfect location. Great breakfast. Luxurious and comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    A very unusual and thoroughly enjoyable stay but would specify the main lodge building in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main building much better than annex. I had been warned about the stairs but was disappointed that our room was situated at n a separate and much older building. No lavatory brush in the bathroom and the shower was very cramped despite the bathroom being large.

    Unique central location. Very helpful and friendly staff. High quality breakfast, well served.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Dew days away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms and bathrooms and no bath Do not stay here if you are not part of a wedding party at weekends

    Excellent location for the town and Cathedral. The breakfast was very with individual service rather than total buffet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    A perfection location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and they did it out of the way to prepare a birthday surprise for my daughter's 10th birthday! The food at the restaurant was superb!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Canterbury cathedral stay almost as a resident of the cathedral grounds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fabulous!

    The location was fabulous. The hotel is located within the precincts of Canterbury Cathedral and had fantastic views of the cathedral. Parking within the cathedral grounds was arranged for me by the reception staff which saved me having to use a public car park. Evening meals are not provided in the hotel but you are entitled to discounts at a number of restaurants in town, when you show your hotel guest card. The cathedral grounds are closed to the public at 9pm so if you are out in town for a meal you are given a pass to let you in through the rather grand cathedral gatehouse! The breakfast exceeded my expectations by the choice and quality that was available and the beauty of the surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Stayed before and will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In very hot weather the room was uncomfortable warm.

    Room and lodge spotless, breakfast plenty and tasty and attention to detail . All staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Unexpectedly Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little negative to write for the hotel. The section where we were had a flight of stairs and no lift, but more accessible areas are available.

    The staff were incredibly helpful. The facilities were clean and far better than I'd expected, based on the price. The location is amazing, in the cathedral grounds, which is closed other than to residents after hours, so it's quiet. There is also free access to the cathedral while you stay in the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Peaceful and quiet break with lovely staff and fellow guests in the centre of Canterbury .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the whole experience,so peaceful! All the staff were excellent, polite friendly and helpful .Staying at The Cathedral Lodge with a window facing the Cathedral is the best experience anyone can wish for! Being able to park our car in the Cathedral Grounds was an added bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff: always smiling and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the annex and the bed there was too soft for our taste.

    The staff: always smiling and helpful. Made us feel really welcome. The location! It was great to walk around the Precincts in the evening. The breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    This is a beautiful hotel within the cathedral vicinity,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem was the heat. We stayed in July during a heat wave and there was no AC in the room. So it was a bit sweaty.

    This is a beautiful hotel within the cathedral vicinity, very peaceful, quite and serene. The Gothic cathedral is beautiful and surrounded by gardens, old trees and a lovely garden. Breakfast is excellent and the staff are super-friendly and helpful. A great place to stay in Canterbury.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous Canterbury - great hotel in a prime location, comfortable and reasonable for such convenien
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the noise, as above. Everything else was great.

    Hotel in the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral! Could see the Cathedral from our lounge window. Stayed in a 2 bed apartment with an enormous double bed and two singles, small lounge, kitchen and bathroom. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Only grumble would be the noise from the street outside - hardly the hotels fault, but did marr an otherwise perfect stay. Had the weather not been so hot we wouldn’t have opened the windows so maybe wouldn’t have heard the noise so much. I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. Right in the centre of Canterbury with its eclectic mix of shops, restaurants and sites. Brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Everything, staff so friendly and very helpful, location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Everything, staff so friendly and very helpful, location was brilliant, breakfast excellent, rooms very clean, everything you could want was provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Lovely stay, beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot , air conditioning would have been a bonus! Also bottles of water in the room would have been good!

    Beautiful location in Cathedral grounds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    The view of and location of the cathedral and its grounds ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom conference standard rather than luxury hotel. Bedroom and bed rather small for a double room.

    The view of and location of the cathedral and its grounds Stunningly beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for my son’s graduation. The staff could not do enough for us. They were incredible and even kept the restaurant open late so we could have a graduation dinner at the hotel. Excellent location in the grounds of the cathedral - stunning! Great food and fabulous staff. Will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    A thoroughly enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have a fridge in the room.

    The staff were excellent - very welcoming. Room was large, clean and bed was very comfortable. A very relaxed atmosphere. We had breakfasts and an evening meal and all were superb. The food was perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the main building and would thoroughly recommend it. We would not hesitate in returning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Accessable room exactly what it says.
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessable room exactly what it says... The room was accessable... But couldn't move around it. Could not get wheelchair past the first corner to get to make tea, to other side of bed, or to window.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Location was great, a nice walk around the Cathedral grounds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can hear the other rooms through the doors and the windows. The blinds do not keep the light out

    Location was great, a nice walk around the Cathedral grounds before anyone else was allowed in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Civlised, immaculately clean and beautifully located - at a truly excellent price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because it was very, very hot, the room in Burgate was very, very hot. A highly efficient fan was provided and all the windows opened, but because the older part of the hotel overlooks a loading courtyard, when the glass recycling lorry arrived just before 7am it was... noisy. However, I was up anyway and it has to be done some time. This isn't really a criticism but if you can get into the main part of the hotel, I'd recommend you do.

    This hotel is an absolute gem. It is located in arguably one of the most impressive sites in England, nestled in the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral. Most rooms have a view of the cathedral; some don't, but they tend to be in the older, separate part of the hotel which is perfectly fine but not quite as modern as the central building. The staff are excellent, the breakfast is superb and you get free entry into the Cathedral too - which you HAVE to take advantage of because it's stunning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Stunningly beautiful and totally relaxed , especially in the pretty garden and the comfortable libar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in our lovely room could have been positioned on the other wall to completely take in the beautiful view of the Cathedral whilst sitting in the bed !

    Breakfast was excellent . Perfect poached eggs and little herb bread roll were delicious . Amazing spectacular view of the Cathedral .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    tricky to find your way in and out of the grounds with your car, but more than worth it.

    Comfortable, quiet and great breakfast. Incredible view of the Cathedral and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the bed too firm but my husband said it was just right- all a matter of preference!

    Lovely hotel, lovely staff, central location, perfect surroundings - fantastic holiday,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Will stay in main accomodation next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise level in the Annex is much higher than anticipated. it overlooks an area where bins are emptied, deliveries made and young people congregate.

    Lovely atmosphere, great location, nice breakfast and I suspect the rooms in the main part of the Lodge are very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, but check if your room is in the main hotel or the annex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the old annex, not the main hotel, which I was unaware of. No lift yet on third floor. Room very, very hot. Fan available but not any good. Very noisy room as it was adjacent to an area where very early morning shop deliveries were made.

    Location was excellent. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, could not be better for the Cathedral or for the town. Pre booked parking was very easy with simple directions. Very secure site. Rooms had ample space and were well equipped. Breakfast was waiter service with ample to choose from that would suit most tastes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a very good time in Canterbury and the cathedral and the location of the hotel was all part o
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not warned that there was no lift in the part of the hotel where we were located. Getting our luggage up the long stairs was a pain.

    Location and parking we're brilliant, breakfast was good, staff were helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Curate's egg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was the smallest I have ever had to pay for! It was too narrow for an average couple and too short for anyone taller than about 5'9''. For the second night I slept on the floor - the staff were very understanding and offered me quilts and pillows to pad the carpet! Tip from front desk - ask for the twin room and they say that two single beds will be joined together on request.

    Excellent location. Privilege to be free to walk around the precincts of the cathedral when closed to the public. Free cathedral access.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Delightful stay with wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better organised, scrambled egg not the best and bacon very fatty and could have been cooked longer . Bread availability could also have been better

    the staff were so friendly and helpful, good to have the water machine available in the lobby too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. Staff were extremely helpul and accommodating, and made us aware of local discounts which we didn't know about. The facilities were excellent, and the breakfast was good. I would recommend to anyone, and I'd definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Quite a magical experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy party/disco in the adjacent Conference Centre on a Friday night which spoilt the tranquil setting enjoyed the rest of the time. Service for cooked breakfast was slow

    The location is amazing within the Cathedral precinct and very tranquil. Free access to the Cathedral. Very close to the town. Parking was also very convenient in the Cathedral grounds and was booked on reservation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Our bed was so hard the carpet on the floor was softer for my 74 year old mum to sleep.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never got any sleep we were wreaked the next day the bed was something else however I believe we may have got a special mattress something to do with maybe pressure points as we were in a disabled room with a lovely plastic sheet which didn’t help the experience. But it was hard like a board with a thin bit of foam maybe. However my mother who I had travelled with half way around the world wouldn’t let me complain to change rooms. She slept on the floor and we were both wreaked the next day. Everybody at breakfast looked ok so we realised we must of had some special disabled room. It would of been nice to been asked in the morning when checking out I did say it was an extremely uncomfortable night but was fobbed off with so people like a hard bed. But this was beyond anything I have ever experienced. Disappointing considering it’s beautiful surroundings.

    It was quiet breakfast was good and it was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Short but sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only stayed one night. Too short.

    My husband enjoyed the firm bed. Breakfast and service was outstanding. Access to the cathedral was a definite plus. Lovely library. Bb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Travelling sports mum
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had difficulty finding how to get to the hotel as we had to go through the main gateway to the Cathedral grounds first .

    The hotel was situated on the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral , we had a lovely view of it from our room . The staff were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble as I had asked if the chef could make my daughter a packed lunch for her England basketball training as it was very early on a Sunday morning and he was happy to help .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Cathedral views dusk to dawn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the entrance to the lodge itself was complicated (but ultimately worth it) and had not realized we needed to reserve parking space on site.

    The lodge location was superb and our room with the view of the Canterbury Cathedral was great! Would stay for more than 1 night next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excellent in every way. Would definitely stay here again!
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The staff went above and beyond to help. And were extremely friendly and easy to approach. My view from my room was stunning (cathedral view) and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. The lodge is well presented and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing loved it all

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. The room had a lovely view of the cathedral. Very central to everything. Wonderful stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff were nice, breakfast great. Room not so. Wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 302. The ensuite was set in the rafters so there was no shower as such because you couldn't stand up so if you wanted to be clean you had no choice but to have a bath whether you were physically able or not. The ensuite in the room next door was against the wall next to the bed in 302 and the wall was so thin you could hear literally just about everything that happened in that ensuite. Needless to say it was not a peaceful or pleasant night. The rooms in the Burgate annexe are on the top floor after a LOT of stairs. Make sure you understand where the room you are booking is as there is no lift in the annexe.

    The room was a good size and very clean. Location right in the Cathedral grounds was lovely and easy walking around the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    The hotel, the staff, the food, the surroundings, the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was exactly next to the reception and we could hear every single check in throughout the day...until midnight as if the people were standing next to us. Very unpleasant. The the room location was terrible.

    The hotel, the staff, the food, the surroundings, the room decor, free wifi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location and so quiet for the heart of Canterbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm at 8.15 on a Sunday wasn't great, but not the hotels fault. More waiting staff at breakfast needed - it was lovely but as a lone traveller I had to ask for everything at breakfast multiple times.

    Great location and so quiet for the heart of Canterbury. Lovely well thought out rooms with great views. The garden is a must if the weather is kind to you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    I'd like to point out the breakfast - if you want to try...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I want to say that it's not a hotel problem but I had a little issue with crossing the gate one time. I arrived at night (around 23:00) and didn't know about the system of going out during the day (before 18:00 you must come and go from another gate). So first day I went through the Christchurch Gate, showed my pass, they let me in but behind my back one worker on this gate told loudly another something like "what's wrong with no English speaking people, why they always come though this gate". Well, clearly, I understood him but didn't say a thing (I don't like drama) but it left a bit of discomfort for the rest of my stay. For my opinion it was really rude.

    I'd like to point out the breakfast - if you want to try the real traditional English breakfast, it's the best place for it. Eggs Benedict are on top. This place supports local farmers so everything you eat is fresh and it's definitely a good thing. Also I'd like to say that night porter Tom was very kind and helpful. The location is great and window view was tremendous, also restaurant and other discounts were really useful. Overall it was a great stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Superb Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - wonderful stay

    Outstanding stay, staff simply want to make sure to enjoy your visit. Being able to wander around the grounds during the evening was a bonus without tourists around. Breakfast great choice, location fantastic. Couldn't fault anything, great little find.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Can't beat the location
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms smaller than I had thought and building a bit bland especially after some of the older hotels in Canterbury

    The location was absolutely fantastic and breakfast great too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested an early check in but this was not possible due to the prior guests checking out late. This was no fault of the hotel though.

    The property is in a fabulous location, with beautiful grounds to wander around. No need for a car as it is situated right in the centre. All the staff were so cheerful and friendly and the beds were super comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful location and comfortable accommodation made for a relaxing and enjoyable three days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a room suitable for a disabled person, although neither of us is disabled. The shower threw water all over the bathroom!

    Loved the library and the garden! The breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Already booked again to back in the summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a bar, you could get a drink but you had to go to reception to purchase. It would also be nice to have a restaurant .

    Ideal position, set in the grounds of the cathedral ,very pretty ,clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast is excellent, more than my expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only impeccable thing is the bath. My room is on the top floor and the roof is inclined. I cannot stand straight when taking a shower... and the shower has nowhere to be fixed and I have to hold it...

    The breakfast is excellent, more than my expectation. I can see the cathedral directly from my window, and visit there as many times I want. It was definitely the city center but extremely quite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff , location and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent staff , location and comfort...would highly recommend, and would stay again... Thank you to all staff who dealt with queries immediately and very helpful , Including Parking staff. Stunning views, beautiful sounds coming through my window the of choir in the Cathedral.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Canterbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing was if you had a lot of luggage the room was up 2 flights of stairs. Luckily we only had small cases. They can't do much about that and I am sure they would help if needed.

    Very centrally situated. Easy walk from the train station. Great that price included entrance to the cathedral. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Loverly area nice and relaxing
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From my point of view the bed was a bit on the soft side but that is a personal thing.

    The rooms are very smart and clean. The shower was fantastic. Staff were very polite and eager to help

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    Staff very friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very very dated, especially the annex building. For the price, I expected more from the hotel. Won’t stay again.

    Staff very friendly and professional. Hotel clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in a lovely setting right next to the Cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I had elderly parents with me , I would like to have had an evening meal in the onsite restaurant .

    Breakfast was great and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    The beautiful surroundings and the thrill of staying in the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend did not enjoy her full English breakfast and left half of it, I enjoyed my eggs benedict

    The beautiful surroundings and the thrill of staying in the Cathedral grounds, the ease of parking and the lovely staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great, and they had a vegetarian option. The staff was very friendly. We had a cathedral view and it was outstanding, and quiet. The room was spacious and comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location if a little small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room, bed and storage facilities were small. More geared to an overnight stay than a few days away.

    The breakfast was excellent and location could not be bettered. Good attentive staff and the library is a good place to sit

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful lodging by the Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is directly adjacent to the Cathedral, on the grounds...which I didn’t see in the directions. Took a while to find🙁

    Clean, well appointed. Very modern building amid the historic ones. Great location, although took a while to identify. Breakfast was very good and service was brilliant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    I was looking forward to visiting the cathedral for the first time and to stay within the precincts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was cold and snowy the night I stayed and the duvets weren't quite warm enough would have preferred a bath rather than just a shower but not a big issue

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very special location The breakfast room was bright and welcoming

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would like to see a Restaurant where you could get an evening meal in the hotel and a glass of wine

    The bed was excellent but the pillows uncomfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Canterbury Cathedral Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: