Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure

St Just, St Just, TR19 7NL, United Kingdom

#6 of 9 hotels in St Just

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 614 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Cape cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great just the beds a bit to hard for my liking.

    Absolutely stunning views very clean and everyone warm and welcoming nothing to much trouble. Excellent stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    The area was in close proximity to tourist sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was in close proximity to tourist sites. The superior room we stayed in was comfortable and cosy, upgraded at no extra cost. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and quality food noted at the restaurant. special mention with the yummy bap they have if ordering one for breakfast, their bread was really soft. We also liked the idea of breakfast being serve and made after you order for it. The area was with indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi and the view at the golf course was spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    A lovely stay in beautiful surroundings and staff who will do anything to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room

    A lovely resort with excellent customer care and service. However we wished we had booked a better room. Our room was horribly small so if anyone else is thinking of coming here make sure that the room you book is suitable for your needs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Terrific 3 night stay for a wedding in St Just. Stunning location and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar seems to close at a different time every night. A standard closing time might be more helpful. especially when out and trying to decide whether to stay out or head back for a night cap.

    Stayed in what we were told was the smallest room but it was perfect for 2 of us for 3 nights. Comfy and cosy. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful all throughout our stay. Location is beautiful. Would definately stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan or air con in room, stuffy and musty. Couldn't understand soup served with stale 1/2 frozen bap instead of sourdough as advertised. We were told they ran out at breakfast?

    Location was peaceful and great scenery. Nice clubhouse.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms absolutely stunk of stale water - even the staff had to open the windows and door to try and air it.

    Good location. Property and location has a lot of potential - they could make a lot more of it. Great drinks at the bar and good prices. Lovely swimming pool and jacuzzi - perfect for when it rained one afternoon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    A short overnight stay, not very comfortable, over-priced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed mattress not very comfortable. A greater choice of menu for the evening meals.

    The website gave a much higher impression than reality. Room very basic, food menu very limited, However, a good breakfast was served.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Stunning location and very welcoming with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small but serviceable. The approach road was awkward with few passing places for vehicles travelling in opposite directions.

    The food was excellent. The restaurant service at dinner and breakfast was excellent.The location was stunning. The reception staff and bar and restaurant staff including the owner were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Quiet break in beautiful countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fine only complaint was one bedside light needed new bulb!

    Fabulous setting for coastal path walks, good food, very comfortable bed and quiet location. On site pool now open.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    All staff except one were fab, not worth the price, disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little information in the room about facilities: breakfast, pool, golf, no check out times. Booked for dinner, menus not ready had to wait ages. Had to change barrell for drinks., waited again. Very limited expensive menu no vegan, linguini on menu twice. No sides offered. Bottom half of shower was filthy and mouldy. Rest of the room was immaculate. Went to swim at 14.55 were told we could not as had been booked out at 15.30, and should have pre booked. Explained we were resident, said ok but was not worth letting us swim for half and hour! Which would have been fine for us. Then told as we were staying we did not have far to go back to our room. Second day at breakfast went to sit in window with nice views same person, told us we could not as she had not yet completed setting table ( there was another table and was not reserved) we could easily have grabbed our cutlery and moved. Later on people wandered in and sat at these tables. Gave husband wrong breakfast on first day and no juice left. No coffee on second day. Felt this female member of staff was treating us differently than other guests. Not worth the price, seemed chaotic.

    NB WE BOOKED AN EXTRA NIGHT. Great location, good room, staff were great except one who made things difficult for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Great position for visiting Lands End area and well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom didn't have a view but a minor detail.

    The welcome from Ben when we arrived, all the staff without exception were cheerful, helpful and accomodating even when under pressure, special mentions for Bethan & George. From the outside with the Cornish stone etc it didn't look exciting and the rooms are fairly basic but clean with a large modern bathroom. All the extras were there with tea, coffee, biscuits etc. My friend used the spa as unfortunately forgot my swimwear! We ate in the restaurant both nights we stayed & the food was of an exceptional standard. Great views from bar, restaurant area looking out to sea & Cape Cornwall.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    3.3
    Can not comment on the golf court but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms disappointing- lot's of mold in bathroom and in sleeping room, humid smell of mold in room with fixed carpet. Just the bare essentials in room like teakettle, but no tea , no water. Bar, dining area no character, pool with strong chloor smell. Young receptionist brings us to room, does not offer to help wife with luggage. Very poor Wi-Fi in room.

    Friendly and efficient breakfast staff. Easy parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.8
    It did not live up to expectations and I felt I paid far too much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness could have been a lot better, this let the overall stay down. Some of the staffs attitude was an absolute disgrace!

    The views were incredible and decor was fine .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Arriving at CCG&L you get the feeling that you do not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arriving at CCG&L you get the feeling that you do not belong to 'the club'. It is after all a golf-club with rooms for visitors and naturally you are not recognised as local or a member. There was no friendly welcome (at all). Having been advised of a 1500 check-in by Bookings.com we arrived at 1415. We simply got 'you are too early to check in'. No 'Welcome to CCG&L I'm afraid your rooms are not quite ready yet; can we get you pot of tea while you wait'. That would have been fine. As it was we placed our own luggage in a corner and with our 83 year old mother ordered our own tea, which we paid for, and waited. We were then taken to our rooms by a much-more pleasant younger man who did have hospitality skills, but the first older man obviously had no training or could just not care. Our overall rating is a 4 as by the second day out of three we were obviously more relevant and recognised and staff were a little warmer, and you get to realise what this place actually is; a golf club set-up for locals with rooms for visitors. But the training and guest experience is poor and if the place wants to continue to attract people to stay then I do think external staff visits to good B and B's and hotels would help tremendously. The room was fine albeit with a very slack mattress and an annoying (emergency?) light in the ceiling which stayed on all night and did nothing for good sleep. Breakfast was fine but when asked if I wanted two eggs and said yes, I got one and when queried I was told "we don't serve two, I asked you how you wanted your eggs". But I had already said "Fried" to that question. Strange and again a lacking of training in appropriate response to a paying guest. Buffet breakfast not always replenished until asked. Prices at the bar were reasonable with the exception of wine at £5.80 a glass,a little pricey perhaps.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Overall it’s a very good place to stay. Small things can make a big difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the end of a long, hot, dry spell and the water trap in our shower seemed to have dried up allowing smells to back up from the drains, really not very nice at all. We left the light permanently switched on in our bathroom to keep the extract fan running during our stay. Tea/coffee supplies in the rooms could be improved, the small glass kilner jars in our room had perished rubber seals and rusty hinges/catches. Sachets would be much better.

    Staff and facilities here are right up there, the swimming pool is new and looks great, shame we didn’t have time to use it.. location is great too, marvellous views along the coast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location. Walking to the headland of Cape Cornwall reveals amazing views. 15 minutes walk to St. Just and 30 minutes drive to St. Ives. The staff was friendly and the room was nice and clean. Beautiful and relaxing, would definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Fabulous location, customer experience could be so much better at little extra cost!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cape Cornwall has a confused identity. Room rates indicate a 4 star property. In reality it is a golf club with a motel attached. Rooms are basic but clean; Premier Inn and the newer Travelodges offer better value and better beds! Breakfast is a bit minimalist, limited cereals, fruit, good yoghurts and orange juice plus a cooked option. Porridge is not considered a cereal, so porridge and cooked eggs was not permitted. My wife cannot drink orange juice and requested an apple juice. This apparently has never been an option and never will be (or cranberry, grapefruit etc). My request for an alternative to orange was considered rude and upset the waitress; apparently the owner does not allow any divergence from the available menu and applies this strictly!!!! The menu which states juices will now be reprinted with Juice. Owner's dictats apparently take precedent over customer service; a real shame, Cape Cornwall could be so much better, given the location.

    Swimming Pool, spa, restaurant and bar were excellent; and the location, spectacular at Cape Cornwall.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a loud piercing noise in the room that did not stop, we found it stopped when we ran the tap, so some issue with the water pipes I would think. We paid booking.com and when we arrived we were asked to pay , I wasn't sure what was going on but when I arrived home and checked booking.com I was correct, we had paid. Had to contact hotel for a refund

    The views were fabulous, the breakfast adequate, and the room very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Great location, lovely facilities, yummy food. Good for a peaceful getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very noisy door slamming of other guests in corridors. Woke us up a lot and went on into the night. I would recommend that this hotel say it is not for children. The majority of the guests were quiet and there for the same reasons as us.

    Great location. Lovely friendly staff. Brilliant indoor pool and Jacuzzi. Very comfortable accommodation, modern facilities, great shower and nicely furnished. Gorgeous food in restaurant. Megan was a sweetie at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast had a good choice of food I would have liked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't really anything not to like about the hotel. My only issue was that the room we stayed in had very little ventilation and in the heat we've had it was very hot and stuffy. Not the hotels fault really though.

    The breakfast had a good choice of food I would have liked more variety with the continental breakfast buffet but with the cooked breakfast available I may have not had anything from there anyway. The pool and jacuzzi area was very clean and the pool was a good temperature for swimming. Very pleased overall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Atmospheric location, great food, comfortable beds, spotlessly clean and really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was the green light from smoke alarm which kept me awake at night . Probably a health and safety thing to mark exit but a bit annoying.

    Lovely staff, comfortable hotel and great food. Also enjoyed the pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice for a 2 night break but somewhat remote, and in need of some tlc in and around the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the chairs in the bar area were uncomfortable needed reupholstering as material was grubby. In the bedroom the bed was very squeaky and not very comfortable(The Crowns) If it had been hot, then there wouldnt have been much ventilation as no fan provided and also the pillows were extremely thin and I had 3 and my husband only had 1 in the end . The milk for the coffee wasnt replenished on the second day so that was annoying .The outside of the property needs some attention in that the signage was very old and faded and hardly readable. There was a lot of junk strewn around outside near the terrace and entrance which made it look messy . It needed a tidy up.I would imaging playing golf must be difficult because there is always a strong wind blowing I suspect !

    The evening meal was very good, lovely steak although sirloin not rump available. This hotel has some great views and the room we had was spacious although no sea view. Breakfast was good also. There was a nice pool which we didnt use.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Location was beautiful and exactly what we needed for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property window was broken and could not be opened resulting in a very hot and stuffy room especially during this heatwave. Also bed was very small for being a double.

    Location was beautiful and exactly what we needed for our road trip to Land’s end.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Sunset lovers paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good especially unlimited coffee.The staff were friendly and attentive .It was very quiet and beautiful at Cape Cornwall and close to lots of stunning places.Sunsets were amazing especially at Lands End.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Ideal location for the reason of my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the price was too high for the property, the room had several scuff marks on the walls, doors and skirting boards, there were a couple of places on the ceiling where the plaster had chipped off, the bed wasn't particularly comfy. Jacuzzi was broken. No breakfast menu. Had the sense that they preferred local people and local golf players than visitors

    I liked the location of the property as it was right on the coast. Pool was nice although it seemed a little cloudy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was overpriced

    Beautiful location, comfortable and clean rooms. The food was nice but overpriced. Apart from that we loved the place and will come again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Great overnight stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noise early evening from nearby cottages which seemed to be being renovated.

    Excellent location for our stop over before flying across to Scilly Isles. Food very good, both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff were helpful and it was in the location we wanted for our short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we had been staying longer we would have wanted somewhere to put suitcases and bit better clothes storage. There was an unpleasant smell of drains in the en suite when we arrived. It did clear after we left water running in shower for a while.

    Room was stylish. There was no remote for tv in room but this was resolved by staff quite quickly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    The location was beautiful and relaxing, unfortunately we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was beautiful and relaxing, unfortunately we had 3 days of fog in this area so could not take in all that the area had to offer. The hotel was clean and comfy. Modern bathroom with nice walk in shower. We ate in and the meals were really tasty. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a new swimming pool which looked warm and inviting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    A really memorable visit to Minack theatre to see 'Hamlet' and stayed on for round of Golf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a recently converted room, Senna, in an old cottage block . It was great. Attention needed:, the loo seat is far too small for the 'pan'. Never seen that before, awkward to use! Someone did not check the rooms before signing off the work of the builders...basic error [scam!]

    The location was a real surprise...beautiful and at the beginning of the historic and interesting 'Tin Coast'. The Golf course was great fun too, we really enjoyed that. We had glorious weather however!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent quality but needs baked beans! Pillows in the room need to be more plump, two flat pillows made for neck ache. Staff were excellent. Food in the restaurant lunch & dinner superb

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location on Cape Cornwall coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some things which could have made this stay so much better. Coffee in room was hardened & stale, so was unusable. A fridge for keeping some cool water would also be great. Staff were helpful when needed but there were too few of them. Breakfast seemed a little disorganised, & while the cooked breakfast was well done, the cereals etc would have been better complemented with some fresh fruit etc. With a little more focus on the customer this stay would have been a lot more memorable and better value.

    Great location close to beautiful clifftop walks & scenery. Room reasonably comfortable & appeared to be new. Good breakfast included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic had to ask for butter and some brown toast and sugar!

    Venue was disappointing...in need of some tlc....shame as lovely location but felt like they knew they had a good location so didn’t have to try to hard with anything else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Take time to look around and enjoy the view, its free
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed a bit hard for me but i did sleep

    The staff were very helpful , friendly and would go out of their way to help in anyway they could. There is a lovely short walk to Cape Cornwall which we did as soon as we got there. The pool was relaxing with a spa too. My 12 yr old loved the pool. We had the family room and its BIG , clean and welcoming . The breakfast was plenty of choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been there over a bank holiday weekend and supplies ran low due to missing delivery... No fruits, no yoghurts for breakfast... This could have been better planned, and of course one would expect that a professionally run hotel does not take bank holiday as an excuse, but simply arranges quickly for replacements, e.g.: The big stores/ supermarkets were open even in that area and we were able to get our own supplies...a hotel should be able to do the same! One great guy (Ben) made up for all of this. He was really super friendly, tried his best to make us/ my family, including the kids, feel at home. Thanks Ben! There was also a waitress on the first evening/ at dinner, who was very friendly and kind, unfortunately don't know her name. Not the same friendliness was true however for two of the other service personnel at breakfast, who came across a bit grumpy; maybe unable to cope with out group of 8, including kids.

    Great location. Good food (congrats to the chef! Some too small portions though!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the shower was very disappointing, more of a dribble than a shower.

    Wonderful location. Food a bit pricey but absolutely delicious. Room very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Very warm welcome and friendliest of services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Hotel is located in a very remote area which gives one a chance to relax in a quiet atmosphere. The entrance road can be rather challenging when meeting oncoming traffic, not advisable for inexperienced drivers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    A niggly and disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The superior room was very small indeed, with an equally small window looking out onto external stairs which meant it was very difficult to get any privacy from the Venetian blind and we were visible from people walking up or walking down the stairs. The room was dark and there was very little noise insulation so we were disturbed by other guests going ordinarily about their business, watching TV etc. Once dark, the hallway lights stayed on which made the room too light to sleep in! The cleaning could have been more thorough - I found a lid from the complimentary toiletries on the bathroom windowsill. I had paid extra for a superior room over a standard one but I don’t know what could have been less standard than this room. It had been warm the previous few days so the heating was off in the complex making the dining room particularly cold. The staff obliging put the heating on but it made little difference as the room is very large and open plan. The spa facilities were out of order and we were not allowed to use the pool until after 6.30 pm as it had been hired out. It was also booked the following morning straight after breakfast. The food was beautifully presented but there wasn’t much of it and it was pretty pricey as a result. Overall a niggly and disappointing experience.

    The staff were great - very accommodating The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    AMAZING!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything!

    This is a great place to stay and could easily be an amazing place to stay with a few minor tweaks. Lovely to have tea and coffee in the room so, would be better with a choice of single packaged tea bags, decent coffee granules and indiviudal sugar packs. The spa and swimming pool was great to relax after a 20k walk - a bit more could of been made of this area i.e more plants, cold water dispenser, loungers and piped relaxing music, would give it more of a 'spa' feel. FInally, they have an amazing veranda overlooking the Cape of Cornwall where you can watch the sunset. A lot more could be made of this area with comfy seating, plants/flowers, covered area in case of rain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful one night stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A one night stay at Cape Cornwall we won't forget! We really enjoyed such a delicious breakfast while admiring the ocean! A wonderful location and a very friendly welcome! Thank you for all!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    A lovely relaxing few days, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Facilities- golf, swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, spa treatments excellent. Room very spacious and comfy. Food excellent too. Fantastic views. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced and dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Paid more for a double room, got put in a twin room (cheaper on booking.com) - Spent 1.5 hours waiting for main course after starters and watched 3 tables who ordered after us get starters, main courses and puddings within our very long wait. Staff did nothing to resolve, said pasta takes a long time to cook compared to the other meals... Pasta takes 3 to 12 minutes - not 90. - Vegetarian breakfast is one tomato, a few mushrooms and 2 eggs, no substitutes or extra portions are added to compensate for the sausage and bacon on the full breakfast - Absolutely not worth the £110 paid. - Dinner was also not worth what we paid. If it had been in a more accessible location we would have cancelled the mains and left. Unfortunately as we'd had so many drinks whilst thinking our food would turn up neither of us could drive!

    - Pool area was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    excellent food stunning views friendly welcome - will return !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was not a hairdryer in the room - I didn't ask as our room was away from reception and there was no phone in the room to contact them.

    the friendliness, the pool and the food ! stunning views too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Could have been great - fantastic setting and good facilities, but only for leisure, not if working.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast didn’t start till 8 which was the time I had to leave to get to my work commitments. Therefore I was unable to have breakfast on 2 mornings. I mentioned it the night before and was told by a helpful and friendly member of staff that the cereals would be out early, but unfortunately they weren’t. Also, the pool was not open before 8 so I couldn’t have an early morning swim, which had been one of my reasons for choosing the hotel.

    Beautiful setting. Nice room, and pleasant indoor pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    ☆☆☆☆☆☆
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is outstanding! Rooms are beautifully clean and comfy .. and the hospitality of the staff is so welcoming! Summer, Harry, Ben and Candy keep up the brilliant work you do.. we had a wonderful stay!!! We will be back ♡

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Golf resort that felt like a B and B!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to see sunset views from property however, access to the cape is a short stroll away.

    Peaceful location, lovely staff, beautifully presented property that felt more like a B and B as opposed to a resort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Liked everything but the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was limited In the restaurant and overpriced for what was on the plate. The cooked breakfast consisted of one sausage, two rashers of bacon, one egg, couple of small mushrooms and half of a cooked tomato (could have been a lot better with baked beans and hash browns etc.) I have stayed in other golf clubs within Cornwall and had a lot better breakfast and food in general.

    Good golf course, great location. Facilities nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay on Cape Cornwall - easy access to many coastal sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior belies the modern, well kept interior.

    Excellent location in Cape Cornwall. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Laid back and felt like home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar restaurant open on Sunday evening! Although we think it was a temporary staffing matter. No real problem, Village close by.

    Relaxed unpretentious atmosphere, hard working, cheerful and genuinely friendly staff. Great walking on the doorstep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay even if you have zero interest in golf!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to think of something. If being picky, there were a few cobwebs in our room and the windows in the restaurant were dirty (but it is an old converted barn so cobwebs will appear, and is right on the Cape so will get salty from sea mist and spray on a daily basis).

    Large room with king size bed, sofa and full size bathroom, (we stayed in "the Crowns"). Swimming pool and hot tub, great location to walk coastal path.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    There was a birthday party on at the resort which meant that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a birthday party on at the resort which meant that all dining facilities were unavailable for the evening. I think this should have been pointed out on booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    A really enjoyable stay in a beautiful part of Cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of people moving around in the room above early in the morning did wake us up. Not much light or windows in our room.

    We really enjoyed the cooked breakfast and dinner at the hotel. The nearby views and coastal paths were stunning. We also liked the swimming pool and sauna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was the potholes on the drive, but am sure when the weather picks up they will be addressed

    Great location, stunning scenery. Pool just opened. Will be back. Summer on reception and Ben in the bar very interactive, friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    GREAT FIND - WE WILL BE BACK!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    LATER CHECK OUT..

    VERY FRIENDLY WELCOME - RELAXED AND ACCOMMODATING - BEAUTIFUL LOCATION - ALSO SPOTLESSLY CLEAN. ENJOYED A LOVELY DINNER AND BREAKFAST AND WERE IMPRESSED BY THE STAFF FOR WHOM NOTHING SEEMED TO BE TOO MUCH TROUBLE..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and staff. Sad that the pool was not yet ready to open, as it was advertised on their website. Pillows old and room a little damp and slightly tired round the edges. Good value for money out of season. Cute and cosy. Spectacular location. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location, yummy food, a hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For me the bed was too firm, it would have been better to go for a middle ground on this. Dare I say something like a Hypnos bed that Premier Inn use. The room was big (which was great), so the TV in the room was too small - one night it was snowing and very cold out, trying to watch a movie was difficult. Some fresh fruit in the morning would be good, it was the only thing that was missing in the morning.

    The location is amazing, a hidden gem. The hotel is modern, but stays true to the location. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The evening meals were very good, fresh and locally sourced sea food. You can see that the owners are aiming for something special, and they are on the correct path for this.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value. Great surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in the morning. We were informed that there was a problem with the boiler, so we appreciate that couldn't be helped. However, we didn't get hot water out of the shower either (though that may have been user error!)

    The person who greeted us at check-in was very helpful and friendly, and gave us advice on where to go and eat. Beautiful location and well-decorated, comfortable rooms. Great breakfast. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    The food was very well cooked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The twin room was quite small and the pillows were a bit flat.

    The food was very well cooked. We were able to get dinner when we arrived in the evening off season. The bathroom was modern and spacious. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    A delightful stay in a beautiful location by the sea. Would recommend for a relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the swimming pool and leisure suite were under renovation so not able to use. Should be available in next few weeks.

    Beautiful location by the sea, staff friendly and helpful. Opportunities for walks with super views and playing golf. Although quiet and not many residents due to bad weather we really enjoyed the peaceful, tranquil time to unwind and relax from our busy lives.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    very quiet great food very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stayed out of season so not fully staffed but they couldnt have been more accommodating. Fantastic food nothing was too much trouble for these guys. Dont think theyve had it long wish them every success for the future

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Great short break in comfortable rooms, lovely countryside and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (put a sample menu in the room We may have opted for dinner! also on your web site).

    excellent value for money. Really enjoyed our stay. Would happily recommend or stay ourselves again. excellent local produce for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing breath taking views and plenty to do and see happy calm and beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is a hidden gem the surroundings are breath taking the food was lovely and so was the staff and always felt really welcomed the room was superb absolutley beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value and comfortable for a night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, the signage is a bit weathered and worn and it needs sprucing up a bit. Also the car parking area seems a bit rough and ready - doesn't give a good first impression. Breakfast was tasty and you could order various cooked options, but there was no extras like fresh fruit, croissants etc. Breakfast was served in the main lounge/function area. A large group of golfers were getting themselves organised for their matches and were quite loud. I would have preferred to have been in a quieter more purpose built area.

    The room was a good size, nicely decorated and very quiet. The bathroom was modern and spacious and the bed was comfortable (on the firm side). Heating was good. Staff were very pleasant. The swimming pool is currently being refurbished and so out of use and we didn't have an evening meal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location, good company from our hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately no food available on a couple of nights due to kitchen refurb.

    On arrival met by Gary and George {owners} with a very warm welcome. We had a choice of rooms, having arrived during a quiet period. They have done extensive refurbishment which are nearly complete. Great location, great views and lovely food, will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Short Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good, nothing really bad a little bigger TV for people with bad eye site lol

    Car parking, clean modern rooms, good views, friendly staff, warm room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Lovely and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet place to stay. Easy to find. Very nice welcome when I got there told all the information about breakfast and where to go. Shown to my room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.2
    We would not have stayed there if we add nown the bar and restaurant was not going to be open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist said thay would email me when she as spoken to the manager.that was on Sunday 21/01/2018 we have not herd eny thing from them .not even an apology

    The room me and my wife was in was not to bad but the room my son and partner had was very bad no hot water the shower came off the wall and light bulbs did not work and the coffee and sugar was very hard in the jars.and to cap it all off the bar closed at 6 and the restaurant did not open in the evening

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Room in converted farm building down a lane behind main building ,in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was accessed via a badly lit lane,it was a bit small and storage wasn't sufficient for a three night visit. There wasn't room for a dressing table so I would have liked a shelf under the mirror to put bits and bobs on.

    Welcoming staff and good food, contemporary surroundings in granite buildings, in a stunning location. The owner treated us to cheesy chips one evening as we sat in front of the cosy logburner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Wish we'd stayed another night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to get to the property is very narrow and winding, take it easy. Though it's like many other roads around the area - just be prepared!

    The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and walked us to our room. The room itself is very spacious, and very cozy and comfy. I was impressed with the heated towel rack, as it was an extra I wasn't expecting. The shower was glorious - so big, and great pressure and so warm after being out in the cold most of the day. The food is great - if you order breakfast, you get to choose from a menu and it's cooked fresh for you, in addition to cereal, toast and jams and juice you can help yourself to. Well worth spending the little bit extra for!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful locatoin,great accomodation ,lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our short tip it was not enough to discover that beautiful area

    We like the kindness,helpfulness of the staff,the room was quiet and big, the bed was comfortable, enough plugs in the room ,nice bathroom. we had a Cornish breakfast, it was tasty and lovely.Dinner was big portion and delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Stunning location , amazing food , kind and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few teething problems with their new pool not being ready and some things that had been missed in the family room, but as soon as I mentioned them , they acted quickly and kindly

    The staff were amazing helpful kind and friendly , the food for breakfast and in the bar at night was out standing ! The views and location were out of this world !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic staff, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The road to get in needs some love! And it was a bit remote from anything, so having a car is (I think) necessary, but this may suit people who are after a relating chilled holiday.

    The staff were very friendly, attentive and generous, they gave us a free round of drinks to wish me happy birthday which was a wonderful gesture. Breakfast was lovely and included in the price, which made this a very budget friendly holiday! The dinners were also very good, not too expensive, and there is a nice big lounge beside a fireplace which was great to relax in after a big day exploring.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Great, highly recommend it, for a relaxing weekend away or for golf lovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable. Also during our stay it was quite windy, hence there was quite strong draft coming through the door. I think with better isolated doors, it might make the winter stays more pleasant, by keeping the room warmer and quieter. Even though, the hotel itself only 15 minutes far away St.Just's, it is challenging to walk by foot to the centre, as there is no pedestrian path at all and the roads are tiny.

    Its unique location with stunning scenery, also the staff were very friendly and helpful. In addition, the ease of access by foot to the Cape Cornwall and to the coast made it extra special for long hikes. The rooms and the bar/restaurant area very cosy and staff were very friendly. It is a great place for ramblers and golfers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Location couldn't be better. Had a fabulous time. Will definitely be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a shame the pool wasn't open, but was out of their control. Look forward to returning with it open.

    The location was amazing and the staff were always so lovely! Had a fabulous stay and will definitely be returning!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    fantastic place to stay to benefit from the beauty of Cape Cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing just wish we had stayed longer.

    Beautiful place a real hidden gem, very accommodating staff and lovely breakfast with wonderful views over Cape Cornwall. The family room we stayed in was fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: