Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Captain's Club Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Wick Lane, Wick Ferry, Christchurch, BH23 1HU, United Kingdom

#7 of 18 hotels in Christchurch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 486 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything in the breakfast and bar area always great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small point of stained carpet in room. Granted it might have been shampooed in an attempt to clean, but then needs replacing.

    Everything in the breakfast and bar area always great. Rooms attractive and comfortable. Location exceptional. Facilities in rooms awesome. Loved our time here

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.8
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired the kettle had a brown scum all over it the curtains were torn we booked a table in the restaurant when we made the booking but were told we were eating in the lounge bar after having to insist show our booking on the phone begrudgingly given table but not the best way to start the meal but the real problem was given a different room than the one we booked given a suite not an apartment but claimed it was booking .com not there fault the duty manager marcin was very rude and abrupt and no apologies at all a take it or leave it attitude which is a shame as we stayed here before and it was 10 out of ten it would only rate a 2 now though spoiled a special weekend sham☹️

    The view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Dire
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited ages for cooked breakfast but didn't mind too much as was expecting top nosh. 20 minutes later a plate of greyish fatty bacon; dodgy looking tinned mushroon; a decaying tomato and an oily dirty looking egg. I told the waiter to return it untouched and I requested a fresh one; which was presented 5 minutes later. Although somewhat presentable from the previous plate of leftovers; still tasteless and doesn't stand up go rave reviews. Chef needs to learn how to cook. Very disappointing and will not return. It was a top venue 2 years ago with impressive food. Hotel now looking tacky and standards dropped.

    Lovely location. Nice views from restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Smart hotel on the riverbank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a mini fridge in the room for water and milk.

    Smart modern hotel right by the river. Uber friendly staff. Lovely little spa pool and sauna open to residents - but ring first as only 8 allowed in at a time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent for visiting the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location in centre of Christchurch, right on the river. Breakfast and dinner were both excellent made with with very fresh local produce. Reception staff and management were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    After looking forward to my stay a collection of little things made it a little disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con didn’t function which was a massive disappointment, also despite us having a suite room there was no mini fridge. Another disappointing fact was the curtains which didnt reach the floor so let quite a lot of sunlight in. Our room was above the bar and outdoor seating area, making a great view but also the windows did little or nothing to cancel out the noise. Finally the cooked breakfast was considerably over cooked.

    Great location/facilities very friendly staff, pleasant room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows are too big and too hard for me,woke up with headache and stiff neck.Breakfast was very good apart of my omelette with was tasteless.For such level hotel you can make effort and put fresh eggs and bit of salt and pepper in it.

    I like everything excluding pillows:)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We waited over 40 minutes for our breakfast order with no communication from the staff, who were plentiful. It made me think they were short in the kitchen.

    Great location. Friendly efficient staff. Beautiful apartment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative, if you don't like dogs ,the barking can be tedious from ones being exercised on the small beach opposite. This of course is no fault of the hotel.

    Friendly helpful staff. Clean hotel. Restaurant and bar food good. Bar menu available anytime.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    I wish we could have stayed longer than 2 days. Its a fine Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was a great experience in a top Hotel which we will be sure to return to and recommend to our friends. The whole experience over our 2 night stay was unbeatable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    One Night Stay on the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was ideal i could not fault anything.

    Just like the T.V programme, Location Location Location, staff friendly breakfast superb. Unfortunately did not take the offer of dinner and ate in Christchurch itself, but will the next time and that visit will not be too far away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice venue, but let down by lack lustre service, no complaints process and tired rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were a little dowdier than I would have expected for this price. Nice size and positions, but the shower was a mixer head over a bath. It has no power, was hard to control the temperature and it was too low with too little pressure to get under it. And it leaked from behind the bath screen all over the bathroom floor. Uncomfortable bed and pillows. But all would have been acceptable if the staff had been trained and knew how to serve. No issues with the staff at breakfast (and the breakfast was very good) but it was impossible to get service sitting outside. There seemed be three people on duty doing their very best not to catch anyone's eye. In the end, I gave up after 30mins, went to the bar myself. What I wanted had to be found from a fridge elsewhere but instead of asking me to sit and they would bring it, I waited at the bar for 10mins whilst it was brought out. This is self service and not what I expected. Same occurred in the evening. Wanted a couple of cocktails. We found the outdoor waitress and asked for a menu and told her where we were sitting. We watched her with interest for about 20 mins and then went to the bar to order for ourselves. This is extraordinarily poor and I am afraid these failings took the shine off. I complained on both occasions but no response. Just dismissed. The staff really need to be told how to serve properly. We travel a lot, mostly abroad, and this would have been managed so differently in the rest of Europe.

    The location is excellent with lovely views across the river. A busy river, too, with lots going on. Boats to and fro the whole time and lots of entertaining dogs on the opposite bank. There is plenty of parking, the public areas are stylish and attractive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    property was fine . the service was awful for a resident.. it seems tbey more interested in outside people's business .. very disappointing

    close to amenities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay, great room and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a dripping noise from the building outside (metal structure) when there was a little rain which did make a continuous noise that disturbed my sleep. The hotel is aware of this and dealing with it but it is annoying! Shame there isn’t a steam room and the spa was very small.

    Lovely room with a great view of the river. Staff very attentive and made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    It was a family celebration and the venue fitted the bill perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room could have been better. When it came to check out we had in excess of £200 added to our bill - not by us! Although I have to say when pointed out to the receptionist it was very speedily amended and apologies offered.

    Beautiful spot for the hotel, great staff and great atmosphere !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    A perfect get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - it was all excellent

    The beds were really comfy and the location is fantastic, right on the edge of the river. The meals in the restaurant were really good. When we arrived, the room we were given smelled of cigarette smoke, even though they are all non smoking. Within 5 minutes, Juliette the Guest Relations Manager was with us and moved us to a suite which was great. All the staff were brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay - will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking initially very limited (food festival?)

    Spacious room, lovely river view, very accommodating and friendly staff, great location for access to walks and the town centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    A good modern hotel that understands the principles of hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy in bar/lounge area at night when hotel is busy and in restaurant when a couple of large parties were in. Ceilings low and internal sound absorbancy could be better. Enjoyed the "buzz" though.

    Room comfortable, well serviced and in super position overlooking river with passing boats, swans and swimming dogs. Staff very efficient and pleasant. Sun shone all weekend. What more could you desire?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful Hotel, can’t wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains had lots of ink/paint on them. Spongy/wobbly by towel rail. Towel rail very hot. Lots of marks on walls, needs paint touch up.

    Spacious room and bathroom. River view, great breakfast and excellent staff in restaurant at breakfast and dinner. Great location, lots to do within walking distance. Loved coffee maker on room, and WiFi speaker.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Would definitely go back if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The whole ambience, very modern, comfortable, the staff were really welcoming and happy to see us. The room was excellent, very comfortable and well equipped. The views were fabulous. The food in the main restaurant was very good, well served and presented, the food itself well seasoned and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Would not of wished to stay anywhere else for our anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing location on the river Store. Hotel was clean and staff friendly. We had an upgrade due to our 35th wedding anniversary, the room was more then we could of expected, they made us very welcome. Sunny days on the terrace looking over the river having lunch and a drink, just wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who all seemed happy to help and happy in their work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two comments I have is that the lighting in the room could have been brighter, or, the option to put on a brighter light at least. The chairs could also have been a little more comfortable. It was glorious sitting looking out over the river but the chairs weren't that comfortable.

    Everything was wonderful. We went for the weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was lovely to be so spoiled.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Let down by bar service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at bar was incredibly slow and unorganised. Some easy fixes in the room let it down (loose drawers/handles for example)

    Location was excellent. Breakfast was good. Concierge very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous weekend away in a first class hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here a couple of times now and can’t rate it highly enough. Such a lovely relaxed atmosphere, great food and lovely friendly staff. The rooms are clean and modern with nice bathrooms and fabulous views over the river. Plenty of activity on the water to watch. The bar is a great place to relax with a drink. Can’t wait to return,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable hotel with fab riverside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Uncomfortable beds. Rooms just starting to get a bit worn. Shabby carpet and curtains in lounge area. Flickering LEDs in hall. Very unhappy at being seated in the worst table in the restaurant having booked weeks in advance. We were next to a table with high seats so our neighbours bums were at our head height - had to move. Food OK but rather "style over substance"

    Superb location on the river. Huge 2 bedroom apartment for just the two of us. Staff were very welcoming and attentive without being intrusive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Will go back like a shot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was grea couldn’t fault otley

    All the staff were amazing and said it was a lovely place to work and this was reflected in their manner and attentiveness and genuine desire to make our stay a real treat. The Jazz Sunday lunchtime was terrific and the hotel and staff was welcoming without ostentation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    We were given an apartment on the first floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks were a little pricey (£9 for a small cocktail).

    We were given an apartment on the first floor... Outstanding in itself but made perfect by the wonderful views over the Stour. Staff were welcoming and helpful yet very professional. Food was of a very high standard. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful location on the river with a superb view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the bathroom basin. Don't want to see the plumbing and it never looks clean after use.

    Coffee in our room was much nicer than coffee in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and special. Wonderful hotel, staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing to dislike about my stay.

    The room was huge and beautifully arrange. They have really thought about the customer experience. Comfy, huge bed. Nespresso machine and chairs overlooking the river. All very special. But most important, the running of the hotel and the staff. Excellent. Will definitely visit again soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant way to spend a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a small thing, the maps make it appear that you can drive around the hotel however it is a one way through the carpark. Ensure you arrive by Wick Lane otherwise you are a bit trapped if you come in Sopers Lane which is the exit.

    All the staff were friendly and ready to help but not intrusive. There is a good variety of food available all day and the breakfast is excellent. The location is great with a relaxing changing view of the River Stour from your room or the patio. Five to ten minute walk into Christchurch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely view of the river from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom radiator was on so hot it stopped the air con from working. We managed to switch it off for 2nd night which was better. Apart from that, a fantastic hotel and we would book again.

    Lovely view of the river from.our room. Breakfast was lush.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Would certainly recommend a stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of walk in shower in bathroom

    Staff were very friendly, and helpful Service was excellent and enjoyed the food in the restaurant Location of hotel is excellent Place was clean and tidy All rooms over looked the river stour

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Memorable time in a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to control the heating in the room it was very hot and some of the resteraunt were not very friendly

    Location is fantastic room was a really good size and the view is amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff at the desk were very helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the desk were very helpful.I turned up a little early for check in & they monitored when the room i had booked was cleaned & ready for me.I had a drink at the bar & managed to gain access an hour before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely evening and meal at the hotel, but the weather rather detracted from our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Other guests have mentioned that in heavy rain there is a continuous tattoo beaten on the metal balconies through inadequate/non existent guttering. This is a serious fault and we had no sleep after 3.30 am. There was no shower gel and a member of staff seemed to think that body lotion performed the same function. The reception staff could have been more 'receptive' re. concerns expressed.

    The location, ambience and river views are excellent. Food also very good. Waiting staff attentive and helpful. Bedroom spacious and bed very comfortable. In fine weather this is a super hotel......

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    great hotel, great location to the river and town, very nice rooms, spa and massage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no Gym, only a pool, jacuzzi and sauna room, it could do with a steam room and a gym

    great hotel, great location to the river and town, very nice rooms, spa, and massage. Makes for a nice long weekend or 2 day break

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Most relaxing and friendly stay, all positive experience from arrival to departure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ran out of some spirits which seemed a shame given the general management of the facility.

    Very relaxed and comfortable. Busy bank holiday but staff cooed very well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    A clean and comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom only had lamp lighting, i.e., no ceiling lights, which wasn't light enough at times at night time. There are metal over hangs on the outside of the building, probably to shade from the sun but unfortunately when it rained it was very noisy, which was a shame as the rooms are very well sound proofed from neighbours' rooms.

    The river view was beautiful especially with the floor to ceiling window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You do need a different postcode, as the one showing on booking.com is incorrect, a little difficult to find in the dark without correct one, I'm only writing this because I can't think of anything else negative to say

    Excellent, such a lovely hotel, one of the best we have stayed in, in the UK The staff were so pleasent and welcoming. The breakfast and Dinner was excellent, very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    We had a really lovely weekend and the service we received was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The master bedroom was quite noisy due to the rain on the Friday night hitting the metal bars that were outside on the building. The room was also quite noisy on the Sunday due to the people in the harbour with their boats in the morning.

    We had one of the suites and we were overwhelmed with the quality and the size of it. The facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel and great food, definitely recommended
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hotel, I was recommended to stay here by a colleague. Staff very friendly and helpful. The food was brilliant plus there is a great selection of wine so we got a bit carried away! Will definitely stay here again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Booked the hotel from a get away from it all point of view and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower over the bath could do with being changed. We're both tall and struggled to stand underneath it and the bath was particularly high so it was a challenge getting into it. Maybe think about a walk in shower instead.

    Very relaxed atmosphere - staff were particularly efficient and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    An enjoyable, relaxing break, in a lovely hotel with a river view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smashed avocado was a bit too " slushy" at breakfast , but everything else was excellent.

    A contemporary hotel ; very well positioned , with good facilities. A Spacious and really well equipped room with smart tv, good quality coffee maker, and lovely toiletries in the bathroom.The river view was relaxing and the bed was very comfortable. A very good range of lunch options available and tasty. Likewise, breakfast offered a good selection of juices, cereal , fruits, pastries, in addition to cooked breakfast options ( made to order) Staff were very welcoming, friendly and attentive within the bar area; especially during the evening , when ordering drinks and so forth.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting, loved it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to be critical the pillows were too soft for my liking and the air conditioning was a little noisy, even when switched off. The bed was a bit creaky

    A beautiful room with a really pretty view, there were a couple of comfy chairs so that you could sit and watch the boats, people and world go by. The bathroom was gorgeous, the room was really clean and large, very bright and airy. The breakfast was really lovely, first class.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    loved the bar area (great cocktails) and restaurant - felt our main courses were not up to the standard of the rest of the meal/experience. my main course linguine was very small portion and my husband's lamb was very fatty. Spoiling an otherwise excellent evening.

    Very friendly staff, great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    The staff were excellent - friendly and eager to adapt to any specific needs or adjusted timings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The low level lighting was suitable for watching TV but it was insufficient light for reading in bed. The bathroom needed a shaving/make-up mirror - a magnifying one would be preferable.

    Spacious room, good sized bath, extra bed covers if needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was inadequate lighting in the room and restaurant for us more mature residents. The medium sized slippers were like flippers on my wife!! Waiting for the use of the spa facilities should have been explained to us before we visited the facility.

    Location with a beautiful view over the river. Room was more than adequate. All the staff were very professional and polite, with a good knowledge of the facilities and the surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    I wish I had found this before - briliant night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    lighting in the room made it difficult to see the heating controls properly - my eyesight is not the best

    attentive and helpful staff; lovely setting; excellent accommodation; very good breakfast options

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel which provided us with a memorable enjoyable weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower controls - it may be an 'age thing'.

    The hotel design takes much from the model set by Accor/Novotel and then sets a standard that the French company can only aspire to. This is amplified by the attitude of the excellent staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    First class service, beautiful location. Room service breakfast is worth the trip alone - amazing!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A favourite place to stay - undoubtedly the kindest and most friendly staff in the world: nothing could be too much trouble for them in terms of making my disabled husband and elderly dog comfortable - and in helping me in the process. Truly a restful treat for all. Bless you all and thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Simply can't wait to go back! A lovely hotel, beautifully situated in Christchurch.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little uncomfortable and the pillows not at all up to expectations - but we are terribly picky about pillows.

    We have often visited Christchurch and walked up to the hotel and thought it looked lovely. My husband's birthday seemed the perfect opportunity for an impromptu visit. The Captain's Club is brilliantly located in Christchurch just a short walk from the town centre and the Abbey and right on the river. We stayed in one of the apartments which was big enough to live in and immaculately clean. The views over the river were lovely and even on a cold, wet, Winter's day, it was incredible to just sit and watch the world go by outside the window. We had our little dog with us and she made herself right at home. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have done more. They even greeted Lily (our dog) and made a huge fuss of her. All of the hotel staff were friendly, courteous and helpful and they did everything to make us feel at home. We enjoyed a lovely dinner in the restaurant with an excellent bottle of wine from a region in France that we weren't familiar with as recommended by the sommelier (he was so friendly). Breakfast the following morning at our window table watching Christchurch awaken was a real treat and the sun even came out out for us - I'm sure that the hotel staff probably arranged that too! One of the most enjoyable short stays I've had in a hotel in years. Thank you to everyone at the Captain's Club. We can't wait to come back...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    We'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no points that could, in my view, have been improved.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, the breakfast perfectly cooked and plentiful. The staff very friendly and helpful and willing to go the extra mile. An excellent hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Great location right on the river with the river...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope, all good

    Great location right on the river with the river ferryman/water taxi on the doorstep. Great food and excellent cocktails. Late checkout on the Sunday 👍

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    A luxury break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the spacious room with beautiful riverside views. I also liked the pleasant and courteous staff. The location is great. A few minutes walk and you are in the town. A short drive and there are several beaches. The new forest is also fairly close.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in a super spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome from the receptionist and all staff very polite and efficient...we ate in the lounge area with a choice of two menus and the food was delicious. It was lovely to wake up to a view of the river and sit in our room by the window enjoying the view ...we would definitely recommend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Good but next time will get a bigger room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the captains club hotel but for me this time the bed was really uncomfortable it was 2 singles pushed together and the room was smaller than normal That the breakfast trolly couldn’t get to the table and chairs by the window which was disappointing

    The food and drink are amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our stay and dinner in restaurant. Staff lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking could prove tricky at times.

    Staff incredibly helpful. Upgraded us due to Xmas party below our room on one night. Could not be more helpful. Beautiful place and view. Rooms lovely, comfortable and roomy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in great location with helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing other than would have preferred it if reception area was away from bar area

    Lovely riverside views with floor to ceiling windows. Free upgrade to a suite which was luxurious. Staff went above and beyond what we expected extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    It's a great hotel, in a great location with friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff went out of their way to ensure that we had vegan options available - from the biscuits in the room, to creating a special dinner, to having sausages at breakfast. This made our stay so easy and enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Excellent Breakfast with wide range of items on the buffet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better lighting in the bedroom, it took me several minutes and a torch to fine the on/off switch on the coffee machine, also the coffee was at best lukewarm. The water flow for the bath was very poor. With a large bath it took a very long time just to get a reasonable depth of water.

    Excellent Breakfast with wide range of items on the buffet and hot food cooked to order. Very friendly, cheerful and helpful staff. Our "superior" room was well equipped and the view onto the river Stour was lovely. Even though the hotel is not inexpensive we thought it was good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    This was our second visit and both have been very enjoyable - highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our original room was not set up as a twin so we had to wait to be moved to another. This wasn’t really a problem, so not a serious criticism🙂

    Excellent friendly service , well maintained facilities, easy parking (f.o.c.), good food, lovely location. I stayed at the hotel with my elderly mother who particularly enjoyed the river view and watching all the activity.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to stay longer!! :-)

    The Captains Club couldn’t have made our stay more special! We had an AMAZING suite to get ready in for my wedding day. Staff couldn’t have been more welcoming, it was perfect. Thank you! X

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    The Hotel delivers on it's advertised promises. A great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't find fault. This was our second visit and we weren't disappointed.

    A smart and comfortable hotel in a great location. The staff are attentive, friendly and professional. The menus cater for most tastes. The crab sandwich and the Sunday roast were both excellent. Overall a great experience. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    good nearly perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too dark, cannot read or see in mirror to dress put on make up, had to fashion taller light by bed from rubbish bin and lamp to be able to read in bed.

    View and nespresso

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    More parking, we had to wait a while for a space to become free.

    The hotel room was fantastic, the location and view of the river was lovely. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    The breakfast was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel evening meal was a bit too pricy for us, but it was no problem to walk into Christchurch for something to eat. Lighting in the room was dim, which was difficult for reading. Wifi in the room was a bit hit and miss.

    The breakfast was very nice. Very comfortable and well equipped room with a large TV and Nespresso coffee machine. The location was perfect, with a great view of the boats and river. Nice local area to walk around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    location on the river and good breakfast choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived the hotel car park was full , luckily we were allowed to park in the rowing club opposite, or the other choice would have been the public car park further down the lane.

    location on the river and good breakfast choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    4.6
    Expensive, not worth the stay except for the view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't particularly clean. The hotel, overall, is quite scruffy. Water in fridge for first night but was not replaced. Body Lotion had been used by a previous occupant, not replaced with a new tube! The hotel did not honour the dinner allowance of £30 per adult per night. The dinner we had was not up to the standard expected of a hotel that has allegedly won awards. All in all a great disappointment.

    The view of the estuary was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For £300 per night this is complete rip off. Hotel is tired and rooms need serious upgrading. Broken shower, mound in bathroom, broken lamp etc. Cob webs in bar area. Hotel should charge 50% less until it has been sorted out

    Location Staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The service is absolutely fantastic from the moment we arrived to the time we sadly had to leave. Excellent attention to details in every aspect. Niccy, Alex, Kelly, Abi and many more were amazing!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Our stay was for our ruby wedding anniversary & we were made to feel special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing missing was a steam room in the spa.

    breakfast was excellent ,plenty of choice & all the food was so fresh & top quality. Room was lovely . Very nice toiletries ,excellent view of the river. Good walks around without having to use the car. Staff were very polite & friendly .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Just a wonderful couple of days, with good food, and great atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to watch the young cleaners....

    Lovely setting on the River - something to watch all the time - whether from the terrace or from your full length window room. Not a big hotel, another advantage. But fantastic 'suites'/apartments.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Relaxed luxurious class
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool 🏊 for swimming or kids. Car park is too small especially with functions & is not really managed

    Location & views, spotless everywhere, staff Uber helpful & lovely decor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel for a long weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No real problems at all

    The rooms at the hotel are very spacious and have great views over the river. The position is ideal for the town centre which is a very pleasant 5 minute walk away. The restaurant is excellent with a very good menu and excellent wine list. All the staff are friendly and make you feel very welcome. At weekends the restaurant is very busy so pre-booking is essential. It can be a little loud in the restaurant but only when very full.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Couples would love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel offered a perfect venue for couples though frequented by others groups.

    The ambiance of the hotel was perfect, a busy but quiet feel with friendly staff. Good sign of a good hotel is it's used by local residents,, adding to its perfect setting.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: