Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4 stars

Mill Lane, Cardiff, CF10 1EZ, United Kingdom

#18 of 48 hotels in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3127 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

  • Paid WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    We booked a suite, and it was amazing apart from one thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a suite, and we was slightly disappointed as we felt the bathrooms was showing its age.

    We booked a suite, and it was amazing apart from one thing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.8
    It was a in a lovley area for easy shopping and local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for room with breakfast got to the hotel and we was told it wasn’t included then was suprized that we was asked to pay £105 then an extra £50 deposit wich was lucky we never done our shopping before checking in! Didn’t mind to much about the breakfast as it was the facilities and the room we was more Interested in, ready to jump into pool in swim suit and towel for us then to be told that we wasn’t aloud to use the pool only the gym bear in mine I’m nearly 36 weeks pregnant, in the end we actually didn’t stay we checked out. Definitely wouldn’t go again!

    It was a in a lovley area for easy shopping and local restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Also very efficient checking in and out.

    The rooms were spacious and extremely comfortable. Location is perfect for railway station, major venues and shops and plenty of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Perfect for a night out
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything I didn't like about our stay at the hotel

    Superb location, smack bang in the thick of the nightlife, well presented room, clean & welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thermostat was broken and the window in the room didn't open (we were going through a heat wave and it was very uncomfortable in the heat).

    Location was great. Bed was comfortable and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location but that's all , there are newer hotels close by to take into consideration next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place needs a revamp , stayed here about 15 yrs ago and the bedroom was exactly the same as it was then , did not have breakfast to expensive cheaper to have it elsewhere also car parking prices were extortionate ,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Helpful and friendly staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst perfectly clean and tidy I felt the rooms are rather tired, particularly the bathroom, for the price I paid.

    Helpful and friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Close to the station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug sockets/ docking station near bed to charge phone Lack of amenities in the room - no mini bar, no slippers/robe The building is in need of repair- damp on the walls in the corridors

    Close to the station Large comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    fab stay, comfy bed, friendly staff and beautuful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the additional cost for parking, hotel residents should not be charged but also if you are going to charge i think £18.00 is way too much

    great setting, driendly staff and bedautiful hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    Not a very enjoyable experience, room by the noisy lifts, poor view. Nice food was the only plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old burnt out light on the roof, air conditioning dial was broke so couldnt use it, our room was by the lifts which we could hear all night resulting in a very poor nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    It all depends on what you want from your stay.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very old fashioned. The aircon is older than myself and didn't work in my room. Staff were nice enough to move me to another room and the main lights didn't work in this room. Also the hotel is expensive enough without having to pay a daily rate if you are u fortunate enough to need Wi-Fi. Very disappointing in this day and age.

    Location is second to none and the breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    Tired,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were ridiculously old fashioned and very tired looking. Very old wooden cabinets etc and disgusting old chipped bath. The price was hiked up ridiculously because of the Ed Sheeran concert and it was not worth any where near the money we paid! We were expecting a very nice hotel and this is one of the worst hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. The restaurant and lobby looked nice and a bit more up to date.

    The staff were really welcoming and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge wasn’t as described upon booking. Poorly stocked. Check in wasn’t ready, not apologetic and unsure when room would be ready Breakfast not included as per booking. Bed uncomfortable, air con didn’t work. On speaking to reception about these issues, was informed they were aware “hotel was not currently at Marriott standard” No offer to rectify any issue, just for it to be accepted as is. Disappointed in a highly over priced 30th birthday surprise for my fiancée.

    Location great central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    The room was adequate for our needs
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism I have was that the room could have done with a bit of sprucing up. It was looking a bit tired

    The location. The room was clean and the bed v comfy; as always with a Marriott hotel. The staff were pleasant. The breakfast was also good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent will return to this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The unexpected hot weather meant the air con hadn't been on for a while or tested so our air con unit made far to much noise to be left on during the night which caused the room to be a little warm.

    Excellent location and facilities, very polite welcoming staff throughout the hotel providing excellent service. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    My 22 year old son was locked out of the hotel. He gave his name and mine but got the room number wrong. He was left outside for 30 mins waiting for the duty manager to sort. As a member of the Marriott/Raddisson/Sheraton and Hilton chains who travels a lot I can say I have never experienced this before and hope not to in the future. I have received an apology via email which offered and upgrade on my next stay. A phone call would have been appreciated.

    Location and room were great. Food and beverage was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    The Rolling Stones Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location. We would like to particularly praise the Food and Beverage Manager Samantha and Lenka which checked us in. There was an issue over pricing and Lenka handled the initial enquiry well and then Samantha managed the solution quickly and fairly leaving two happy guests - well done!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    I was interrupted in the early hours by another guest...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was interrupted in the early hours by another guest checking in and entering my room, I was then interrupted again by the manager knocking on my door checking the room, I had to be up at 6am for work, this disrupted my sleep, Very disappointed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    A well located hotel in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were noisy at night as the hotel is located opposite a night club which goes onto 2am. The Hotel rooms only have secondary glazing😐

    It was in the city centre close to the Principality Stadium and the shopping centre and cinema. The Executive lounge was great too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a queen room and had 2 double beds so a little cramped as of course my husband and I wanted to share a bed!! Parking was a tad pricey as you had to.pay for the 24 hours.

    Nice room, clean throughout, excellent location for the centre of Cardiff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.5
    relaxing love Cardiff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub broke, it was hot but no bubbles, so disappointed as it didn't work last time we visited. Please could you sort the problem out.

    Lovely location.. clean room .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    A nice hotel to relax in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn’t work so had a restful nights sleep. No fridge in the room which would have helped.

    A pleasure to stay at this hotel being so close to everything. Nice helpful staff and relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Okay for one night if cheaper
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is basic and outdated, basically good for a 3-star, I was quite disappointed with the quality of our deluxe room and also the spa. The view from our bedroom was not nice either.

    The location was great, the bed comfortable, staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Tired hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired rooms...no aircon. Not very good value for money. For a Marriott i would expect more. A refurb is long over due!

    Staff were great. Great location. Walking distance to city centre, trains, stadium.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    We thoroughly enjoyed and a great experience for our 6year old little boy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool side needs attention. Few tiles broken, plastic on jacuzzi was broken. Piles of used towels in the changing room. Didn’t stop us enjoying and using the facilities but needs attention.

    The staff were very polite and professional. Helpful and ready to answer any questions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    OK but not great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ultimately expensive for what we got. E.g v small room, no stand out facilities and ultimately quite average. Would have been good at half the price.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from bars over the street. Charged for wifi unless you sign up to their reward scheme. And pillows were uncomfortably soft/puffy.

    Breakfast was amazing. The pool is lovely. Good sized rooms and comfy mattress. Requested a travel cot on check in and it was in the room in 10 mins.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    It was a surprise for my wife and myself on our anniversary an excellent place to relax in style 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing totally spot on 👍

    Fantastic first impression greeted by Richard the consiarge and the recepionist they were both very impressive and made us feel more than welcome i have recommended this hotel to my freinds and customers as i have a local car body repair shop and my wife felt the same as soonas we approached the main reception ,an amazing place to stay and excellent value for money 👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel with fantastic staff but over priced
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far too expensive, especially that the price didn't include a cooked breakfast! £12 each on top was a bit extreme when you can get a cooked breakfast two minute walk away for £7.50, we would have preferred to eat in the hotel.

    Location, great staff, comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.0
    The bed was rock hard came away with a bad back and rather...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rock hard came away with a bad back and rather grumpy from lack of sleep. Should have slept on the floor it would have properly been comfier!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful staff and amazing comfortable bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tea and coffee facilities and no prosecco glasses!

    The bed was really comfortable and the room was clean and staff were very polite and made me feel special

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Happy happy happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed clean room friendly staff

    Reaĺly enjoyed our stay. Location briilliant. Breakfast just wonderful. Stayed many places around tne world very friendly in Cardiff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked an executive room which gave us access to the executive lounge. What a let down that was only alcohol was wine and beer plus coke. No lemonade or shorts. Not worth the money

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay very friendly staff and immaculate clean and very comfortable bed and lovely towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meal choices in bar area could be better.Fish was a little hard and uncrispy batter which was a shame as usually good when we have stayed before.

    Excellent friendly staff on reception and in bar area and breakfast room who made our Anniversary night extra special by providing us with a gorgeous bowl of freshly prepared fruits with chocolate anniversary piping and Anniversary card in our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    We stay away a fair bit and found the CARDIFF Marriott one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay away a fair bit and found the CARDIFF Marriott one of the better city centre hotels. Whilst the infrastructure is a little dated and rooms basic, the staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. One example. On reception the young lady took the time to ask about our visit and offer us a tourist map, tell us all the places to visit and best way to get there. When we checked out she remembered us and enquired about our visit. These a the little things that matter and we will definitely stay again, and use Marriotts more often.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike

    Excellent staff and attention to allergies and intolerance to certain food , ceoliac sufferers are safe here with notice. Friendly staff at all times. Really close to st David's shopping and food outlets. With a short distance to motorpoint arena.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Will stay here again as it is so convenient to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking isn't free.

    Hotel located in city centre. Secure parking available. Great choice of breakfast, gluten free available and requested when booking was placed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Good all round hotel for Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel room was very dated in appearance - far below what you would expect from the Marriott brand (especially given price)

    Great location, really helpful staff, very clean, great breakfast & plenty of car parking given city location (paid)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Simply amazing !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our first wedding anniversary and they upgraded us, we had an anniversary card and a plate of fruit; this was a lovely touch and was so unexpected !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location in centre of Cardiff is good with adjoining car park. Staff were very obliging and helpful. Road signs to hotel were very good, and needed to be with high traffic in city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    It was central so easy to walk to restaurants and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very expensive for what it was and rather tired. Paying £18 on top for parking after £140 for a basic double room was a bit steep - shall not stay again

    It was central so easy to walk to restaurants and shops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    It was convenient and central for everything,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was disappointing and not showing the local foods at there best.

    The bed was very comfortable, room was clean, and the television was big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Business trip - central cardiff hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the lifts wasnt working which looked like it wasnt recent a recent event. Therefore lift took ages.

    Service, staff, swimming pool, location, coffee,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were perfect and staff were friendly. Even had a little birthday present off them. Great location of the city centre with everything in just your hands reach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff were very friendly and customer focused which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of its location, it was noisy - take earplugs! The beds were extremely uncomfortable, the springs were coming through the mattress. Not what a customer expects when spending £150 per night!

    The staff were very friendly and customer focused which is rare these days. The size of the room was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Central location, really good for going to the motorpoint...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few hidden extras costs, the onsite parking seemed expensive and Lack of free wifi in the room is a real bone of contention as we paid £95 for a room.

    Central location, really good for going to the motorpoint area, and pubs and restaurants. Breakfast was great, as we're the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall it was amazing! I would highly recommend staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't sleep very well as our room was located near the lift area. One of the lifts were out of order as they were being up graded which was a little inconvenient as there was a longer wait.

    The staff were so warm and welcoming and very efficient!!! I particularly liked that it was my husbands 40th birthday and as a surprise, without prompting the staff brought fresh fruit and happy birthday written in chocolate, on the plate around the fruit. They also got him a 4pth birthday card!! It was very thoughtful and we felt valued.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall it was amazing! I would highly recommend staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't sleep very well as our room was located near the lift area. One of the lifts were out of order as they were being up graded which was a little inconvenient as there was a longer wait.

    The staff were so warm and welcoming and very efficient!!! I particularly liked that it was my husbands 40th birthday and as a surprise, without prompting the staff brought fresh fruit and happy birthday written in chocolate, on the plate around the fruit. They also got him a 4pth birthday card!! It was very thoughtful and we felt valued.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Beds and breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor of bedrooms dated. Only 2 out of 3 lifts working and could not find staircase which meant long waits on landings.

    Beds and breakfast good. Public areas attractive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    It was very convenient and the staff were lovely .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift wasn’t working properly which was a problem considering we were on floor 9 . Also the car park gate wasn’t in working order so it was awkward getting out . The hotel seems a little run down and needs some TLC .

    It was very convenient and the staff were lovely . The bed was very comfy and rooms nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    The bed was very comfy and the room clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the very small bath

    The bed was very comfy and the room clean. its dated in décor but staff excellent . Bath tub very small and the sink was cracked but loads hot water , toiletries and all well maintained. would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.0
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just cost

    I did think £320 was expensive for myself and my grandaughter for two nights without breakfast and we had to share a bed. She has stayed before with her boyfriend and was only charged just over £200 so i was very shocked

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    A great overnight stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like most hotels, the bar only seems to cater for the dry palet, all wines being dry. Please start catering for those who prefer sweet wine.

    Comfy bed. Very clean. Central location. Excellent staff. Lovely breakfast. I must thank the staff for the wonderful afternoon cream tea I won on Facebook.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    love this hotel, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast in the exec lounge is a very poor choice and considering the price of an exec room I think it should be a lot better. There is no harm in doing a full english up there because it wouldn't cost the hotel to provide that in the lounge instead of just scrambled eggs and toast. Otherwise exec customers should be allowed the option of choosing breakfast in the main restaurant without additional charge.

    Excellent location for both shopping and drinks out. Rooms are loved and pillows and bed are really comfortable. I love the exec rooms and being able to use the exec lounge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    The stay was only marred by having only one working lift...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One working lift of three available

    The stay was only marred by having only one working lift which meant considerable waits getting to and from the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Marriot Cardiff 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 lift working in a very busy hotel meant long waits or a lot of stairs, some damp patches with flaking paint in hotel corridors although room was in very good condition. Hair dryer wasn't working nor temp control in room unfortunately neither was the phone so couldn't call reception to report this, however it wasn't vital and only stayed 1 night so didn't bother queuing again to go in the lift to report this. breakfast not included although it was stated on booking.com that it was at the time of booking, once confirmation was received it then said breakfast was available for a fee.

    Great location. Room was clean and spacious. Hotel bar was great and not too expensive. Check in and out very friendly and efficient. Room was nice and quiet even though the hotel was very busy and a great view from the 6th floor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and we enjoyed the use of the gym and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was clean but a bit shabby , bath panel etc but lots of hot water and soft towels.

    Good variety of breakfast to cater for all preferences.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Really helpful staff, great location, brilliant breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected the spa facilities to be a bit newer for a 4* hotel but that was just down to personal opinion, nothing faulty with them so to speak.

    I put in a special request as we were visiting for a night away for my boyfriends birthday, and in the room they had written a birthday card from the front staff, prepared a plate of fruit with happy birthday written in chocolate and a thank you note from myself which was a really great touch to our trip. The spa facilities are a little dated but still lovely to enjoy and relax in on a well earned night away. Breakfast was great, every selection was there from cold meats to pastries and cooked breakfasts, the food was delicious and plenty to choose from which wasn’t what you usually get in such a high rated hotel. The room was great, Air Con didn’t seem to work very well but the facilities were great, bathroom was very clean and the bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    No complaints here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, pillows and breakfast. Friendly, helpful reception and waiting on staff. Minutes from the Motorpoint arena, the purpose of our visit. Comfortable, clean room with all facilities and very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast, good choice of hot and cold food, superior to other establishments we've used over last twelve months.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel now feels a little bit tired. I have been going there for 30 + years and not much changed. It could do with a refurb

    Location excellent and staff v friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    That will be are last stay at the Marriott cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t regulate heating , the room was uncomfortable way to hot . lots of drunk people up and down corridors . We won’t be staying here again , rooms need updating , Radisson Bly and Mecure Holland House much better value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    We keep coming back so they must be doing something right.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff not all as friendly as reception staff. Noise from pubs but we were offered a room higher up so hotel not to blame. Room had 2 double beds but only one bedside table.

    Staff at reception always very friendly. Lovely view from room on 5th floor of millennium stadium and hills in the distance. Ice bucket and ice available. Free wi fi if you join up to rewards. Comfortable beds. Spacious room. Products in bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Amazing staff and food.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in Cardiff party central zone, very noisy bars and restaurants very close by, fine if you want to join the revellers, but not so good if you want a quiet nights sleep.

    Amazing staff and food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in room 314 was loud and did not cool the room on the coldest setting

    The bed was so comfy, I always take my own pillow everywhere I go but I forgot it for this trip but the pillows were fabulous!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable would and have stayed here many times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We upgraded to suite but room could do with freshen up .Only real gripe we had was the cost of overnight car parking, if this was reduced to a more non rip off rate then it would be perfect

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, location spot on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    1 night stay for a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location near train station and the city centre. Spacious clean room with lovely view of the city and a comfy bed. Room also contained large flat screen tv. Buffet breakfast was wonderful with a selection to choose from. Only improvement would be to see vegetarian sausages/bacon available, that aside there was a wide range available for vegetarians. All staff were very friendly, overall we would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    The bed was very spacious and comfortable. I had the best sleep! Breakfast was lovely with a wide variety of food. Leisure facilities were great and all staff were lovely. The best location for Cardiff city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    We will try another four star hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Robotic check in, had more care and better service at a Premier Inn. Not the usual four star service. If we hadn’t been staying here for years and it had been our first visit it would have been our last. We were promised free WiFi. Didn’t get it, phoned down to query and no answer from Reception this is not acceptable. Also, noisy guests in same corridor.

    Location excellent. Breakfast super. Parking so handy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location, ambience of room could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very hot, especially at night. We tried to use the air conditioning which did not respond or seem to work, though the fan was clearly working. When we mentioned this to Reception, we were told that not all rooms had been switched over from a winter setting (heating) to cooler (summer) air conditioning, this was not helpful.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The whole experience was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    I happen to mention it was my friends birthday and when we returned to the room there was a present of fresh fruit and a birthday card for her Such a kind gesture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    100% will be returning! The food was out of this world and so were the staff.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue which is out of the hotel hands was the route to the hotel. You have to drive away from the hotel and come back around on yourself then down a one way system, all this because Cardiff council put buss lanes everywhere and make it impossible for an easy enterance if you don’t know the area.

    Everything, from being checked in to the point where we were checking out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.8
    Unlikely to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to use the pool and that’s why we booked it!! :-( Not warned about the bus lane one way system so ticketed. Room expensive and not plush.

    Bed comfy. Gym good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Very average indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel and rooms could do with a revamp, better hotels available in Cardiff for the price. One toaster in restaurant for a 10 floor hotel.....ridiculous! Hotel bars always charge a premium for drinks but this place is not far short of highway robbery.

    Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Nice comfortable and relaxing place nice breakfast and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was out of order paying £18 to park at the property when yr spending the night there and use the bar and restaurant etc and it was not nice to wake to cleaners cleaning at 8 30 in the next the whole thing is about relaxing and enjoying a lay in there should be a set time to start cleaning in the morning it's not on others.

    Nice comfortable and relaxing place nice breakfast and the staff where great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Convenient for the train station and city exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening food was very average and took ages to arrive, asked what drinks we wanted without being given the list, first glass of wine my husband was given was undrinkable.

    On arrival Staff were welcoming and very polite, room a bit tired but had a big comfy bed, there were nice toiletries plus large fluffy bath towels in the bathroom . Restaurant staff great and resolved wine issue quickly. Very convenient for train station and good value would return.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cardiff Marriott Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: