Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The New Dundee Carlton Hotel 3 stars

2 Dalgleish Road, Dundee, DD4 7JR, United Kingdom

#23 of 23 hotels in Dundee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 199 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.8

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    6.2

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    3.3
    Rubbish
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only time we saw anyone was to book in, my mum locked her key in her room and it to neumerous phone calls to get anyone , we left key on reception , it felt like the hotel and it visitors were afterthoughts, it was room only and there was no where to get breakfast , the owners were no help at all .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    3.0
    Worse stay ever - I wouldn't stay here for free, but since I paid I stayed, but honestly should have
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    I never book without checking a few reviews, had I, I would have never booked. This place is worse then the reviews reveal unless you are already living in filth. I had to clean the bathroom myself. There is no positive that can be added here.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    3.3
    This was a horrible experience, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is very run down and dirty. There was no option to have breakfast. The stairs were dangerous, not flat but sloping so that we felt like we were going to fall backwards when climbing, likewise a section very tricky to come down. The toilet smelled and everywhere was just not clean. The price was £65. I would barely expect to pay £35 for this, but there are number of health and safety issues

    There is nothing positive I could say about this property. I did receive a call from the temporary staff manning the desk to ask when we would arrive, but this was because she wanted to go out. At least that was thoughtful not just to be not there when we arrived.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Faded Dundee Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like to see some more pictures on the walls, perhaps old maps of the area, a history of the hotel.

    The hotel is a little run down but the new owners are working to improve the facilities. The price is very competitive and staff are very friendly and enthusiastic. The parking in front of the hotel is convenient and there is on road parking as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    Barely budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures online Do not represent the hotel to be honest it's a little dated The Wi-Fi was useless The tv kept freezing The shower was limp and the screen did not stop the water going everywhere even if you had it pointing down the floor was sailing!

    Bed was really comfy and it was really close for everything that was Dundee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and the lady in the bar were fine but the room was dated, needed a good clean. The beds were uncomfortable, pillows were thin, the duvets were awful and the bathroom en suite was tiny and needed cleaning and updating. At £100 a night room only it was definitely over priced. The whole place needs gutting and refitting. We were let down by our original accommodation and this was all we could get. Would not book this place again. The pictures of the hotel are misleading. Our weekend trip was spoilt.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    2.5
    Worse experience so far with booking . Com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I already tell you before. All of our family backs were aching this morning and whole day.

    There was nothing to like. This was our worse experience with booking . Com. I have been staying hotels you advertise for last few years but I hand never been to a hotel like this. The room was too dirty. The beds and mattresses were in their worse shape. The carpet was too old. The leather sofas was very old and rotten. The towels were smelly. The toilet sink was blocked. The shower was not working properly. Booking . Com should not compromise on it’s quality. I mean I am staying in this craigmonie hotel Inverness tonite. Best hotel and on the other hand that was the worse one. So please don’t send your costumers there any more or send somebody fromyour company for a visit. Regards

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.3
    Hotel from hell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was unappealing from the moment we drove up to it. Weeds in flower pots by the entrance. Litter and broken chairs at the seating area at the front. Very untidy gardens. Rickety loose handrails at front door. Dirty dingy reception area and worse the further into property we got. Would never stay here again. Was filthy.

    Nothing to like about this property

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    The young boy that was running the place was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in had dust that had probably gathered for a month, there were 3/4 used and 1/2 used toilet rolls lying on the floor and shelf. There was a mens dove shower gel lying in the shower which clearly hadnt been cleaned and we were told to leave the shower on the floor as if we stood it up it would start leaking, i dont think the carpet had been introduced to a hoover either as there were a pair of socks lying under the bed that didnt belong to us. I definately wont be back here to stay. I felt sorry for the young boy that was cleaning the rooms / running a reception / being a chef, that is the only reason i never complained.

    The young boy that was running the place was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.4
    I would rather have paid an extra £40 to stay in the premier in closer to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The river view rooms have a busy 4 lane traffic road do very noisy. The standards are very poor. Wall paper peeling on the walls, the bath panel all came apart while running the bath. The windows were rally dirty and bedside table had not been dusted in a while. They state to have B&B but they don’t serve breakfast at all.

    It was close to the city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    It was novel As I have a sense of humour but we won't be back!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Email from owner day prior to arrival saying that payment preferred was cash on arrival and 2.8% surcharge for credit card. I refused to pay receptionist cash or let him use credit card details in system on arrival, stating surcharge not lawful and I would pay by debit card when leaving, as I was discouraged by ambience on arrival. Were barely in our room when receptionist returned - owner of hotel on mobile and asked why we hadn't paid on arrival! I have never experienced anything like it. He then said that there was no surcharge if I paid by credit card and I did so to keep the peace. The place is extremely tired and in urgent need of improvement.

    Room only as hotel being refurbished so can't comment on food. Very few staff but as helpful as could be, provided extra little milks, much appreciated. Kettle, iron and ironing board provided in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    3.3
    Our 11th wedding anniversary and my birthday destroyed by complete dump of hitel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Explained to owner i wanted a refund said no chance you didnt book through hotel see booking.com

    This hotel is filthy disgusting shocking that booking.com has it on the site.hotel isnt staffed during the night however doors are open so anyone can get in so worrying for theft and firestarters.no one there to book you out in morning just a nitice saying leave key here.my husband sometimes contracts away from home he said if boss out him in something like that dump it would be last day working for them

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.8
    Dusty dive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust everywhere in the room including the cups and kettle. Pillows were paper thin. Toilet made really loud noise after it had been flushed and seemed to back wash into the bath slightly. The tv had no reception and when it did it lasted for around ten mins. The room was suppose to be river view and you could see anything because of the dirt on the window and the massive trees across the road. Should not he advertised as river view in my opinion!

    The wifi was free

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable, relaxing, cosy stay with everything you need and we had an Excellent sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lifts and quite a lot of stairs.

    Beds were extremely comfortable & cosy, the family suite has everything you need and is so spacious. The owner couldn’t have been more attentive nothing was a bother. Definitely will go back to stay with the children

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Booked it last minute while working up here, staff were...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked it last minute while working up here, staff were excellent with us and couldn’t have done anymore. Great friendly place and owner was great! Would have been better if we found out about it before the last week of work 👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    It was easy to get to and
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was useless. The door did not close properly and the shower was hopeless as it did not fit on the rail like it was supposed to. The TV was too far away from the bed at the other side of the room.

    It was easy to get to and

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Great staff, couldn’t have been more accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the blinds on the window didn’t work

    The staff were so lovely which made the experience so much better. More than happy to put me up for an extra night with a couple of hours notice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.0
    Yo get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very run down, shower was a disgrace all covered in mould etc! Needs cleaned!!

    Cheap accommodation ideally located for an event I was attending! Good off street parking!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Staff are exceptional and made my stay what it was. This will now be my go-to hotel when I travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was pretty quiet but being January can understand. Place has a lot of business potential with the space they have, ie birthday parties, theme nights etc

    I loved the personal customer service from the staff, all very approachable. One member of staff suggested I leave the car in car park after check out due to extreme weather coming and I am glad I did.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Had a great sleep, will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really a problem or a complaint: the restaurant was not open when i stayed (new years), would have loved to try it but maybe next time!

    Absolutely lovely room, recently done up by the looks and feel of it. Loved the view of the docks. Plenty of parking and easy to find. Was given a later check out which made all the difference to my trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.8
    would not advise another visit mould in bathroom and freezing cold shower first thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower did not work on hot even after leaving on for half an hour to try heat up mould around almost every part of the bathroom bedsheets felt like paper beds creaked everytime you moved waking you from the sleep noone at front desk when checking in noone at front desk when leaving not much shown to us when room was shown to us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Great for a last minute stay & pleasantly enjoyed our evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sat Nav took us to the street behind the hotel - not the hotels fault.

    Decor of the room and size was great. Tea making facilities available. Discount for hotel guests at the attached Malaysian restaurant. Proprietor is attentive. Short drive to Broughty Ferry. Asda & Aldi near by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is under refurbishment, the bar / restaurant...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a little dated but are clean and will be getting renovated, a bit of patience while the refurbishment work is being completed is something I can live with.

    The hotel is under refurbishment, the bar / restaurant is complete and is fantastic, modern and the food is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.4
    Room was basic but it was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security was very poor and the building was musty, could be to do with renovations but still musty

    Room was basic but it was clean The wifi was good strength, I've been in top hotels with poor wifi in the rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Needs TLC
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is getting renovated. However meantime it looks unkempt. Front garden a mess. Just cut the grass!? Also first thing you see is a room on right full of chairs piled up. Bad first impression.

    Staff good. Location decent. Room large and bed comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    this was great value for money and although basic it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this was a budget price and probably was in that category although owner did say that he was going to refurb in near future.

    this was great value for money and although basic it was perfect for our needs - the staff were really friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    bed comfortable, pillows good, fairly clean
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor condition decor, paper thin walls, very noisy, no telephone to reception, reception not manned, payment on arrival, not good value for money, worth about 50% of price. Bathroom okay but poorly stocked, no shower gel or shampoos.

    bed comfortable, pillows good, fairly clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    Updates needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needs to be updated, the bathroom facilities were small and tight. The kettle didn't fit under the tap. The blind had holes and no cord to pull open or closed. Needs updating.

    Staff pleasant, out side looks good. Cheap room rate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing like what was advertised! I cried it was so bad! car park advertised was under construction, no license for the restaurant and pots of paint, dust sheets etc all over, hotel was having a refurb, appreciated that, but should have been closed until finished. Rooms were not clean, carpets were dirty, holes in the walls, shower was filthy, sorry but i would not recommend.

    Bed was comfy and bedding was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    I would stay there again and would recommend it to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comments as it was just taken over by a new management who were working very hard to get the place looking great.

    We were upgraded to a bigger room which had a very comfortable bed, clean room and nice big bathroom. We were quite delighted to try the Penang cuisine which was personally catered for by a Malaysian from Penang. The customer service was good and staff friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Clean and cheap, but poor facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception was not well staffed - I had to ring a mobile number to get attention. Restaurant was being refurbished and so was out of action. TV was on the blink.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    2.9
    Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    blinds didn't fit windows big lights buzzed when in use the room was dusty the tv was not connected to an ariel and therefore didn't work the windows were not secured into place and therefore whistled in the wind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.7
    The cost of the room and the location was what I was looking...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A new mattress was needed. The room was 'tired' but acceptable for the price.

    The cost of the room and the location was what I was looking for. Good enough value and surprisingly quiet at the back of the property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    2.9
    An extremely disheartening experience in an otherwise lovely holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is extremely dirty from the entranceway to the rooms. The stairs and hallway are unsafe, the bed linens were unclean, the mattress little more than a thin foam slab and the bathrooms were grimy and mould-covered.

    Absolutely nothing to recommend this property. If the Dundee Tourism Board was to review/inspect this property, I would expect they would revoke any applicable licences offering tourist accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    3.3
    Low point of our trip. Booking.com should vet these hotels. They are destroying your reputation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was undergoing refurbishment. Was dirty with tired facilities. Windows were duct taped shut. No soap. Carpets dirty. No lift. It was difficult for my 80 year old mother to get up the steep stairs.Photos on website bore NO resemblance to reality.No bar, no lounge area, no welcoming reception. Empty beer bottles and fag ends at front of property.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the room in general wasn't clean no handle on bathroom door gaffa tape on Window 6 year old cut her leg on nail or sumfin share at back of sofa no breakfast Even low it was stated at time of booking

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.0
    Expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really walking distance to city. Looks to be under construction. Not very clean, only "surface clean" ie clean sheets and hoovering done but skirtings dirty and table dusty etc Not great. Rooms are nicer than you will expect them to be based on first impression. No breakfast available. Bar restaurant not in use.

    This property was close to where we had to be (friends house in residential area)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    St Andrews
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff what we saw of them were very nice, but I found it a bit strange that no-one was there to check us out in the morning. I was told just to leave the room keys on the r3ception desk.

    The room was a good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money think it will be improved once they have finished working on it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough coffee/milk for the morning. We were meant to have a river view however there was only a view of the trees in front of the river so slightly misleading. We thought this hotel was getting renovated as there was paint pots and the bar/dining area was not accessible. There needs to be better signposting as we drove past the hotel twice looking for it.

    The bed was comfy and the room was nice.Would go again once the work being done has been completed.good value for money.stayed in the superior king room. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.8
    Spacious room for me and kids.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors couldve locked from inside. Didnt feel safe with them not locking properly. No breakfast with the amount i paid for the room. Room advertised as £70. But added £15 VAT wasnt impressed

    Spacious room for me and kids. Bathroom was lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.4
    Unacceptable. Not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I made the reservation I should have been informed that breakfast would not be provided and that the cable TV was not working. This is simply unacceptable. The reception desk was never manned. Arriving guests are required to phone a mobile number.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay in a nice hotel 😎
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant still under development so had to go to city centre to eat, not for those that find it difficult with stairs

    Staff, room helpful and really nice, bus service on door step to get to city center, good parking. Room nice and clean, with shower really comfortable bed like the room a lot. Considering next to main road very quite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Wait for the renewal - if there will be any (at least don't take room #2)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going into detail, I found a lot of dirty and ugly details. Construction behind the toilet was broken, load street noise through the bathroom window, towels did not seem to be clean.

    Big room, pretty nice at the first look, huge bathroom. Very friendly welcome at the reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    The member of staff I dealt with was very helpful as I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The member of staff I dealt with was very helpful as I missed check in. He went out of his way to get in contact and make my stay as helpful as possible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    A comfortable night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasnt clear from the booking app that the restaurant was closed so there was no breakfast included but the price remained the same. The tv had few stations and the view wasn't really as advertised.

    The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nice and big and roomy. The shower was good. The receptionist was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was OK, bit tired, but they are in the process of renovating the hotel. Restaurant was closed for renovation. I'll definitely stay again as back in Dundee in a few weeks - and hopefully restaurant will be open..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    3.5
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival we had to ring a number as there was no one on reception. He came downstairs with gloves still on as though he had been cleaning toilets. Room was not clean window sill was black window in bathroom would not close. No breakfast on offer and no bar facilities. To me it should not be a hotel wil niver stay here again extremely disappointed its disgusting and the room smelled of sick.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.8
    Wait until renovations are complete
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no attempt from the hotel on Booking.com to explain that there wouldn't be any breakfast available.We were none the wiser and had to go and catch a bus to find a cafe. A lot of door banging around 6 am repeatedly for an hour or so. When the restaurant is finished they would be a good option but no attempt was made to warn us.

    Reasonably clean. Room was adequate. Wifi good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    3.3
    POOR!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite poor all round and to add insult to injury we were charged twice; after contacting the hotel and told we would hear by the end of the day about our refund we have heard nothing yet!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    3.8
    Cheap, and at best 1 star .....not worth for vacation, just about ok for overnight sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel had not advertised properly that it was being renovated, but very haphazardly. So no breakfast or meals available. New Paintwork was extremely poor. New and old furnishings mixed up. None of the usual modern hotel features were working - eg using yale lock on room doors when they had a card system on the door - but not working . Walls and stairs worst I have seen for a long time. Owners obviously not around to oversee renovation or dont have the budget to make the best of it

    Good location . comfortable bed and a good water supply, but nothing more.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    Slept well competitive price well done
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in the middle of being renovated but it did not affect the room itself

    Everything you could want was there the bed was comfy and that means a lot and the manager friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    3.3
    Ideal for workmen working away from home as long as you don't mind not having breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was obviously a run down b&b that has been refurbished very cheaply, it has no breakfast even if you wanted to pay extra

    Would class it as very basic, not somewhere I would go back too

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.9
    Need a car for this one or use taxis
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under remodeling, will eventually have a restaurant and bar. Buses were hard to understand and ecoensive

    Big spacious room and bathroom, big windows facing waterfront

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    5.8
    could do better for the money paid elsewhere....sorry!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very small, needs redecorating throughout, blind needs replacing, amateur decorating, tiny basin with a powerful tap (not a good combination)......extremely noisy toilet system and toilet seat not fixed properly. good powerful shower but in a tiny shower cubicle and shower room

    the bed was comfy......powerful easily used dismountable shower....staff were helpful and welcoming. lots of parking space...nice view from front of hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.1
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the lights by the bed was broken. There was no stopper in the washbasin. There was no breakfast available as the restaurant was closed.

    There was plenty of space. There were facilities for making a drink and a small refrigerator.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    2.5
    Carlton hotel is closed for renovations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was closed for renovations

    The carlton hotel was shut and we had to stay across the road at a guest house.luckily the stay at the guest house was a good one.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    3.8
    Unbelievably poor Rooming house. Not a hotel by any stretch of the imagination.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of Security,eg, a front door that didn't lock. Lack of even basic customer service. Lack of information regarding local eateries.

    No food available,no staff available.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.9
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom had a slight smell to it and the walls between bedrooms were paper-thin. I could hear what was being said in the next bedroom at 4 am.

    Comfortable bed. Good parking. Helpful, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.3
    beds were comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there were holes in the walls, heater wasn't working and interent wasn't working ! plus every time you flushed the toilet it made a weird noise!

    beds were comfy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.1
    Cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast available even though we had booked it. The hotel looks run down and basic fixtures where broken and in need of repair.

    Very cheap comfortable room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    5.4
    No staff and no attention!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception was ALWAYS empty, with no way to contact the staff! The WiFi didn't work in my floor, so I had to be on the second floor stairs to check my mails. And although there was a cafeteria prepared for breakfast in the hotel, no breakfast option was given.

    The room was really big, with a huge bed and a decent bathroom. The stay was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    2.5
    Dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one was there to meet us when we arrived just the key and a piece of paper saying my name. The blind was too short for window so I had to trap a towel in the window to get privacy in the bedroom. Chair was broken. Chewing gum on wardrobe. Dirty marks on bathroom floor. Sea view I think that misdescription ! Definitely avoid!!

    The room was big.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    2.9
    House of horrors
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi, I booked as it had free wifi, no breakfast available, no one on reception, room was cold and dirty - An absolute disgrace this hotel I am shocked booking.com let people stay here

    Nothing - it was shocking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    3.8
    Thanks, but no thanks!
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been batteries in the tv remote. The Tv was so high up on the wall you could not reach it. Shower was dirty and old, room bare, a kettle but no cups, though we booked through your website as no breakfast the hotel's own site advertised the possibility to get breakfast- which then did not exist.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    4.6
    It's in Dundee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    blocked toilet - tiny room (although room 2 was empty & available??? ) no breakfest option - stairs dodgey and key just left in reception for you

    It's in Dundee

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    4.6
    Horrible bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literaly couldn't sit on the toilet due to it being so close to the sink. Not an expression. You actually had to sit sideways. I know it's not most expensive hotel in the world but one expects a certain minimum standard in their room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    2.5
    Don't advise any other customers to go here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody on reception on arrival, 2 phone numbers on pieces of paper and nobody answering either, man from restaurant next door tried to help (no hotel restaurant and bar as advertsed) owner eventually appeared, got room. Nobody in attendance after this as owner left. Had to order in a takeaway for supper, no room service as advertised. DIY Breakfast was a feckin joke. Frozen out of date milk, so no milk for cereal nor coffee, no butter for toast, had to take kids to MacDonald s for breakfast so had to pay for this in addition to accommodation. Nobody available to complain to in morning, owner had my card details so have been charged for bed and breakfast without breakfast so feel I have been cheated big time. If he hadn't had my card details through the booking system I would have went elsewhere before we had even checked in. Daylight robbery, spoiled our family break from the start.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooked breakfast,very dirty and no receptionist to talk to.window in the bathroom did not Close.no remote control for tv.the water was pooring through the sealing

    The room was warm

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    2.5
    Absolutely filthy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely filthy. This hotel should not be allowed on your site.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.4
    Ok but premier inn would be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and very dated

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    2.5
    Not pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was filthy, had holes in the walls, stains on curtains and furniture. Was definitely not worth the money.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Dundee Carlton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit cold

    Super king bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host was friendly and helpful. Bed was confortable and clean. Nice dining experience close to hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Fresh town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short walk from the centre of the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.3
    Curtains in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains in the room. Damp and dirt around bathroom window. Carpets dirty. Generally tired and dated .

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: