Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carnoustie Golf Hotel 'A Bespoke Hotel’ 4 stars

8 Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD7 7JE, United Kingdom

#6 of 7 hotels in Carnoustie

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1180 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not cleaned properly. Dirty marks on mirrors and furniture.The staff are not trained to even a basic standard. Scraping crumbs from a breakfast table onto the dining room carpet unacceptable. Leaving details and comments with reception staff and not receiving any form of acknowledgment.

    The location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Error in the booking as breakfast was included in the original booking I made. Receptionist was not in the least bit interested even after I explained this was not the first time I had stayed and always book breakfast. Reaction was a shrug of the shoulders and told to take it up with booking.com, who I will not be using again. To make matters worse after paying £30 for two breakfasts the food was very poor quality and a very small portion.

    Lovely room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    £7.95 for two (2! ) scallops was outrageous-almost an insult. Always ask how many-but I expected at least 3 if not 4 for the price.Two tiny scallops on a large plate! I complained-passed to the chef I hope. 2. our room 106 on first floor overlooked the reception glass atrium and roof outside was dirty and moss-covered. this could be improved with some flowers and planter tubs.

    HOTEL HAS BEEN REDECORATED INSIDE AND OUT IN READINESS FOR THE OPEN GOLF CHAMPIONSHIP IN JULY.THIS WAS BADLY NEEDED AS INSIDE WAS LOOKING WORN AND SHABBY AND OUTSIDE BADLY STAINED LAST YEAR, STAFF VERY WELCOMING AND HELPFUL. ROOM WITH WALK IN SHOWER PROVIED AS REQUESTED. BISTRO MEAL, AS DINNER TAQBLES WERE FULLY BOOKED, WAS GOOD BUT NOT OUTSTANDING.WINE WAS REASONABLY PRICED AND SERVICE EFFICIENT

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy from setting up for the Open but not too bad. No Lemon Curd or Strawberry Tarts available with the afternoon tea we had which were the things my wife was most looking forward to!

    Great food and service, brilliant value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New mattress, cleaner facilities and no construction,.

    Mattress was stained and sagging and seemed an inconvenience to change it, shower was very leakey, lots of construction going on around hotel, swimming pool had dirty plasters lying around, sauna was broken, small breakfast portion.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Golf View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally I’ve not got any complaints

    The staff were first class my fiancée had a pretty nasty cut on her hand albeit not in the hotel but the first aider on duty was superb in the attention given

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room with a view of the golf course, which I can recommend. The hotel has a friendly, laid back vibe, and we left feeling more relaxed than when we arrived. Location is lovely, ideal for walking. We also enjoyed the outside seating area - perfect for a cool drink in the afternoon. PS we are not golfers, you don't have to be to enjoy this hotel !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything. The staff were all lovely and welcoming. The leisure facilities were great although the sauna was out if order. We relaxed all afternoon by the pool on the lovely loungers.

    We upgraded to a twin room overlooking the golf course. It was beautifully furnished..plenty of room..large bathroom..very comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the Open preparations there is a lot of upheaval at the moment, building being painted etc, however that has to be accepted I guess

    Location ideal for our needs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place had a really nice buzz about it, but was also very relaxing. Great facilities with my favourite Jacuzzi so far. Staff were genuinely pleasant and helpful. Outdoor and indoor bar areas were very nice with great views. Lovely breakfast after a relaxing swim. Loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    when I arrived in the room there was a leak in the bathroom within 5 minutes they had moved me to another room excellent . The staff & service were great enjoyed the stay !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms hot - no air conditioning. Sound-proofing between rooms exceptionally poor. Noisy corridors with doors slamming. Did not sleep well at all.

    Staff were welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor assistance and attitude different bar/restaurant waiter waitress

    good location extremely good breakfast poor assistance and attitude different bar/restaurant waiter waitress

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that by May there really sjould be a duvet change in the rooms as ours was so thick we continually woke up sweating

    My wife loved the window in our room the view was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing.

    The food was as described, good varied choice. I asked for an alternative to an item included in my choice as I could not eat it and it was no problem. Bread good quality too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff, great location, we had dinner & breakfast both of a high standard and at a reasonable price. The pool area was enjoyable for a relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame but scaffolding did take some shine off it as we could not take photos of Hotel. Now the reason why with the Open 2 month away needs must.

    Struggling health wise at this time and really needed a break even if it was 1 night.as we have stayed at the Hotel before it became our priority to go again. My wife and I really enjoyed ourselves. We will be going back again for sure. Thanking you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast appeared a little pricey should we had chosen to eat there.

    we have stayed at this hotel twice now as near to family living in Carnoustie. The first stay was at Christmas in a higher grade room. (which had a lovely view to the golf course and beach). However we were equally satisfied with the quality of our less expensive room this time around. Will defiantly recommend and stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bonus would have been a fridge in our room - but that didn’t impact on our enjoyment of the overall experience in this hotel

    I particularly liked the helpful and friendly staff who did everything to make our stay happy and very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed every little detail that was put into our stay. From the room through to dinner. We are getting married in September and thinking of booking a suite for our wedding night before we go on our honeymoon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded room sadly spoiled by shabby railing on false balcony, visible from room. Pity the balcony doors couldn’t slide open but appreciate there is the issue of safety.

    Beautiful bathroom, and bedroom decor was lovely tartan tweed style. Super king bed was a treat. Good range of items at the buffet for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were inattentive and appeared disinterested in guests. They should all go on customer service training.

    The quality of the food both at breakfast and in the evening was average at best. The restaurant food was overpriced and of poor quality. I wouldn't recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Black Pudding at breakfast was very dry and the poached eggs were overcooked. My husband is disabled and we were told there were no disabled rooms available and we accepted the room we were given. With a wheelchair it was very congested and had difficulty getting into the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff who said they were unable to provide change unless we made a purchase.

    The receptionist, Sarah, was awesome. Did all she could to ensure we had a great stay. One highlight, of several, ensuring we had a packed ‘lunch’ for our departure prior to breakfast service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too short a stay

    The staff from the moment we arrived were very polite and helpful. We had a light lunch, then we went to the spa for treatments, the staff there were very professional and extremely nice. The rooms were spotless. Enjoyable experience Restaurant, service good, food very good, nothing was too much bother , staff friendly but not in an intrusive way. Bedrooms good size, toiletries lovely, all in all very good. Going back later this year

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a couple of very small things - fan in bathroom would be good and a few more beds by the pool.

    Excellent hotel. We had a refurbished double room which was fantastic - great wifi and TV, comfy bed, great tea and coffee (a welcome bonus to get Earl Grey teabags in the room!), heating etc. Only issue is could do with fan in the bathroom. Great room. Then hotel facilities wonderful - excellent spa (maybe a few more beds?!) - pool, spa bath, steam and sauna all excellent. Bar and food great and breakfast one of the very best. Finally the location - perfect - all highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Take a bit more time to freshen the room, i.e clean the bathroom rather than just change to towels, make the bed rather than throw up the duvet and runner, replace the dirty mugs and glasses rather than just topping up the tea/coffee.

    The view from my room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like!

    The genuine friendliness and professionalism of the staff was very welcoming and reassuring. Sarah in particular shone like a highly polished diamond, and put everyone at ease. What an asset to the hotel. The breakfast staff were friendly and very efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of staff on occasions, poor product knowledge and the buffet breakfast which was warm, even when we were first in the restaurant.

    Excellent location, and the size of the room was fantastic. The food in the restaurant in the evening was good. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeping staff. I heard one start to unlock our door so I shouted out “hello, room occupied” we weren’t due to check out till 11am and it was just after 10. My husband was just coming out of shower. House keeping staff proceeded to unlock door and open and again I shouted hello people in here. They popped head in and asked if we needed extra towels? Furious as this could have been more embarrassing had she been earlier . Patio doors had bird poo down them which was a bit off putting

    The breakfast was amazing. Breakfast staff very friendly. Loved the pool too and the little bits of golf theme ur golf ball on keys and club in bathroom for towels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast items, ordered at the table were served too quickly; this made breakfast feel a bit rushed as it didn’t allow time to eat yogurt/fruit/cereal.

    The bedroom was a good size, with comfy chairs...perfect for relaxing in. Beds were very comfortable and staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting guests staying overnight from wedding held at hotel.no sleep from 1230am for rest of night.several complaints to night manager with a negative result.currently seeking vomp for ruined stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General staff friendliness

    The rooms were really good. No issue there. The Buffet Breakfast although plentiful was left too long and was overdone and then allowed to go cold. The fruit was also not as good as you would like.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was rather small for size of hotel. There was a large outside seating area but not on a rainy March day! More seats would mean more people able to enjoy a drink, we couldn’t unless we stood.

    Very welcoming and friendly staff. Nice location on sea front. Limited places to eat nearby but in-house bistro was better than most and no more expensive than typical hotel rates. Booking our stay ahead, out of season offered very good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows were dirty and there was trash blowing around the car park. This gave a bad impression of an otherwise very good hotel at that price point. The staff were very good and friendly. The room was comfortable with a good bed. Breakfast was good. We played Carnoustie links and the hotel is right at the course.

    Right beside the golf course.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool area not great, very noisy. The quality of food at dinner time wasn’t great either, came out cold, small portions.

    Nice breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Short dressing table/desk in room. Some splashes on walls ,skirting boards and shower door,stain on carpet.

    Spacious room. Comfortable seating and table. Lovely large window to take in view. Shoe shine polisher in hall. Very friendly staff in dining room and check-in desk. Lovely swimming area. Good dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked not to be notified by email as this was a surprise for my husbands 70th birthday and any contact was to be done by phone but unfortunately this didn't happen an email was sent saying they were looking forward to our booking on12th March which my husband read spoiling his surprise.

    Everything was great so relaxing just what was required.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was far too small. Sofa was too hard. Menu options for dinner were severely limited. No Sky Sports on TV.

    Breakfast was excellent. Wifi was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice restaurant, leisure facilities and bar. Although bar area could have more seats. Building work disturbed early morning sleeping & spoils the view a little

    Warm breakfast wasnt very warm. Building work on the course disturbed a long sleepin

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area and pool was absolutely freezing both days. Very noisy room next door on the Friday night - had to phone reception at 11pm to ask them to sort it. Lighting very poor in the room with no main lights and only a couple of lamps.

    Hotel staff were lovely- very helpful organising a birthday dessert ! Room was large and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no character. Although freshly repainted the walls were bare. A picture or something on the wall would have added to the room

    The property has recently been redecorated. It's very fresh and relaxing. The views are amazing especially over the 18th hole

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture a little tired in the lounge and could do with a smarten up. When the weather is cold and windy it is very exposed so bring warm clothes. The bedroom was not over warm and I thought that the 1 radiator in the room was not quite enough. It will not be long until the rooms will need a little TLC if the hotel wants to maintain its standards.

    Lovely location and big spacious rooms. All you need for a short break and a wonderful golf course. Nice bar and reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I went for the golf which didn't happen due to the weather but my wife came for the spa and was disappointed with it as was I. There is all you would want, gym, pool , sauna , steam room, Jacuzzi but no rest area or café facilities and it was too cold to sit about even if you got one of the 3 beds. Bespoke Spa, No.

    The room, staff, location, food, gym.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room last time one of the best this time we had to put towels on window, extra heater as draft was so strong , during the beast from the east . menu would become a problem after 3 days as limited

    Food great well priced, pool good, all but one staff member v v good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower mat should be more suitability located, ie in one of the corner of the shower tray not tucked away in a corner behind the waste bin.

    Brilliant staff, good food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception efficient and helpful. Room was well appointed and comfortable - great view of the golf courses. Lounge area and bar excellent with friendly staff. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t be to critical only the lift broke down one night.

    The hotel was brilliant value for money the best I’ve tried. Comfortable bed . Great food. Great facilities Location .Beach championship golf course all in one place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was mania. The dining room clearly unable to cope with the numbers in the hotel so people were stacked in the bar area and allowed in for breakfast as tables became available.

    Haggis spring rolls really fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Sarah on reception was fantastic liked that she phoned the room say twenty minutes after we arrived to make sure we were happy with everything and she said do not hesitate to call her if we had any queries made me think we mattered to her which was a really nice touch. Food was excellent and hot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of anything we didn't like, but make sure you book for dinner, as the restaurant can get quite busy.

    We have often stayed at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel, and always enjoy its location, comfortable rooms, super breakfasts, helpful staff and large car park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative side with my current visit was allocated bedroom being directly above porch to entrance of hotel restricting any outlook whatsoever. On other occasions this has not been an issue with good outlook from bedroom window.

    This property maintained to a high standard. Hotel in situated in good location and very accessible. Outdoor sitting area tasteful with perfect golf course views. Great breakfast choice and very tasty. Very relaxing and comfortable lounge/bar area with perfect outlook over golf course. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    The room was fantastic overlooking the 1st and 18th tee the swimming pool and the buffet breakfast on Sunday was super also had a meal in restaurant was lovley

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed to be a bit of noise from pipes adjacent to our room...but other than that no issue

    We’ve stayed at the hotel for a lot of years. We got married there and have seen the hotel come and go through difficult times. Glad to say it certainly seems to be on the ‘up’ again....we had a great time there. Clean, comfortable, good food, nice friendly staff and great facilities...we will def be back again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not the best especailly ehen partner has a bad back

    Place is beautiful friendly staff and amazing accomodation very special place to us we got engaged this year on carnoustie golf course while staying here on 3rd jan 2018

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful room with excellent view of golf course. We upgraded to ensure we got a room with this view. Very clean and comfortable. Will be returning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was outstanding and i can just say excellent stay. Food is incredible delicious, so tasty 😋 would totally recommend to my family, friends and everyone else.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food in the buffet breakfast was not really hot, one morning we tried breakfast in our room via room service and I must say the scrambled were about the worst I have ever had far too sloppy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed a bit soft for our liking, but no major issues

    hotel is being refurbished, but didn't cause any issues. Nice large room with plenty storage, seats, table and tea/coffee facilities. breakfast can be busy, but no issues once seated. Used the leisure centre on both days of our stay and didn't have any issues. 10min walk to train station is a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upgraded to a golf course view but room very dated and tired looking. Strong draught coming in bottom of French doors. Room was large enough but sparse. We found the mattress too hard for us but that is individual preference. Basic tea and coffee facilities, nothing 'special' for the grade of hotel.

    All staff were friendly and accommodating. We reported that the room carpet had not been hoovered (eg hairgrips, etc on the floor), we were immediately offered another room. However, as that room was smaller and in not such a good position, we declined.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was aware the hotel was having renovations done but thought it was to rooms and not main lobby. The price should have reflected that or even a room upgrade as I was there for three night

    Friendly staff nice location clean comfortable room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no cocktail menu at the bar which was very disappointing. Also the atmosphere within the hotel was very flat at all different times of the day. We spent most of our time at a pub around the corner! Our bathroom bin hadn’t been emptied from the previous occupants and it wasn’t very pleasant to have that left.

    The bar area was very attractive. Our golf course view was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as no pets allowed and we left our dog in kennels to hear a dog barking in next room. Spoke to staff and it was dog friendly

    I liked the location of the property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was average had better at lesser hotels , coffee at breakfast was average personal taste though

    Room exceeded expectations, clean and roomy , with good views ,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our puddings was not up to standard, a small thing but not very good, if you want to get to 5 stars then don't serve frozen profitteroles that are dry and hard

    It was a nice help full and cosy atmosphere, staff were pleasant and helpfull

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thhe rooms were spacious, comfortable and the hotel overal was tastefully decorated and furbished

    Enoyed our stay and excellent value. Have stayed in hotel many years ago and thought it needed some attention. I Heard that the hotel had a makeover and it certainly has!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I find that mattress is a bit too fine for my back as I have different one back home

    I liked everything about that place, perfect place, was so quiet and people was very nice and welcome :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All a bit old-fashioned and impersonal. Bed was very soft, mattress was too small, didn’t fit the base and collapsed on one side.

    This is the only hotel that provides leisure facilities in the immediate area - gym, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, pool. Food was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast in the heated counter wasn’t very good I’ve stayed at the Carnoustie several times & had nicer breakfast

    The room was well equipped and n8cely decorated and clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our booking was advertised as a room with a view unfortunately the view was a dirty roof from the main entrance with litter and tooth brushes lying for us to look out to and the car park much better views available there. Also the room was a jack and jill room so we could hear people in adjacent room as there's a doorway from one room to the other.

    We have visited this hotel several times and always been very happy the staff are great breakfast good as well. Rooms are spacious and well decorated and cosy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Work was still going on in the corridor where workman’s tools was left in the corridor Untidy Potential tripping hazard .

    Room had just been renovated Clean and position of sockets close by mirrors was a plus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some cleaning matters ( thick dust collated on headboard of bed) leisure area a bit dusty and not maintained. A general attention to surface dusting would be better. Cooked items on breakfast were not as well prepared as evening meal foods.

    The responsive and empathetic staff that were approachable and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    choice of white wine "by the glass" poor - no choice at lunchtime and choice of two in evening. Evening food was not great for price paid. Vegetables hard (I was brought another portion and still impossible to get knife through) and portions small. Being Scotland basic hearty soup dishes would be good as opposed to curry flavoured!

    location and openness of reception area. Breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that I gave them a detailed feedback review that was pretty much ignored other than an automated 10% discount offer on next booking. Albeit some petty stuff around the slow & pretty ordinary breakfast and ambivalent (yes hardworking possibly but unattentive & uninterested) staff. Also no cooked vegetarian breakfast on offer?? Hello? ... gave up expecting any garnish or décor on the smoked salmon & scrambled eggs .... always frustrating when you can knock something better up at home than these places. No new ideas here. If they think I'm being harsh wait til the Americans come in the summer...

    Cost was fair but was based on availability. Room was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy in nearby rooms/corridors for first two nights, ridiculously so on the first night (assuming several rooms travelling together & partying together), when it would've probably been quieter to try & get to sleep on the Tay Bridge. Appreciate that's partly outwith the hotels control. Also need to be aware of considerable building works taking place nearby (Clubhouse) & refurbishments nternally within hotel rooms (banging).

    Decent value stay with breakfast & leisure included. Great breakfasts, although dining room/staff seemed a bit stretched at times. A step up from our usual budget hotels (HIE etc) with kids. Nice rooms, staff & facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: